Back to Product

Ms Better Sweater® Shirt Jacket

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 93 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Better Sweater® Shirt Jacket

4.8/5
Kinda Large
June 14, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

Bought this for a jacket its warm enough to be a light coat. Next winter Ill layer this and go without a coat most days. Great product!

May 9, 2022

Good product and nice and warm

Good product. The only thing negative is the side seam besom pockets would be better if they were moved farther away from side seams and perhaps slanted a bit for easier access for your hands.

May 3, 2022

A kcaj Shirt to Kill the Chill

A layer to use to brave the outer or inner chill. Nice!

April 23, 2022

Love it!

Great product. Have one in blue and one in grey. Perfect fit and comfort.

March 28, 2022

Super Versatile

Cool looking shirt. If you ever owned a better sweater garment you know what you're in for, if not, be sure to try it out. It's casual for the office and perfect for a nite cap at your favorite brewery. Didn't realize from pics but to my (happy) surprise it's got hand-warming pockets perfect for keys when stepping out of the hou... Read Morese. Twice this week, while traveling for work, I showed to the tennis court with no sporty warm layer and the shirt stepped up and regulated temp like a champ. Rest assured it will show up for whatever you throw at it.

March 25, 2022

Would be 6 stars if the sleeves were lined

Really great. Would love it more if the sleeves were lined. It's a little bit of a fight to pull it on or take it off over long sleeved shirts. I was a little nervous about getting medium but it fits great. So, I guess it's runs "a tad" large.

March 19, 2022

Fleece shirt jacket

Love new fleece shirt jacket. Fits nice and looks great. Perfect for dogs walks in morning.

March 18, 2022

Very comfortable

Perfect over a button down shirt or long sleeve T. Typical quality from Patagonia.

March 16, 2022

Great functional shirt

Love everything about this shirt except for the long sleeves.

March 16, 2022

great jacket

well constructed jacket. fit is great and looks great as well. strongly recommend.

March 16, 2022

Versatile and super warm (purchased the grey one)

I love their fleece attire and this one is just so cozy and comfortable, and very versatile. Can wear it as a shirt or open with a shirt tucked into jeans or a skirt. Good for a professional or relaxed environment.

March 15, 2022

Good Looking Jacket

I love the look and utility of this jacket. It is very similar to other better sweater models (as far as warmth) except for the button closures and open side pockets. Works great as a layering piece over a shirt or hoodie. I seem to get compliments every time I wear it.

March 15, 2022

Comfortable, plus versatile from casual to lounging.

Comfortable & great for cool days, for whenever need to take the chill off and/or to just lounge in. Great for chores, getting mail, taking walk or just chilling. The fit allows unrestricted motion, (new the shoulders tended to be stiff & boxy). More I wore the fit soften & improved to me. Great to keep by the door, for any unplanned o... Read Moreutings. I do suggest adding a secure pocket, that at minimum can fit your Cell Phone.

March 14, 2022

New favorite

I tried it on and couldn't take it off. Better Sweater felt like warm soup on a cold day. I wore it over a long sleeve shirt on 50° days. Fit is perfect. I'm 6FT 190. You could walk into a steak house and look good or haul dirt to the dump. The only drawback for an older dude with arthritic hands is I found myself unbuttoning it a few tim... Read Morees a day, which can get tiresome. On a serious hike, I'll use my patagonia zip jackets.

March 5, 2022

Always wanted this. Now I've got one

I have about 6 of the regular better sweaters. some half zip some full. Never the button up version. Looks great fits true to size and the sleeves/pockets have really nice accents to them. I like that the pockets are no zip, my full zip ones usually had pocket zippers. This looks like a more formal version. Something you could wear a shirt and tie... Read More with and look great on a date or professional type of event. Wish I had a couple of these

February 24, 2022

a cozy jacket

This is very comfortable and warm. It fits wide so definitely not slim fit. Some additional feedback is: 1. The collar corners tend to bend up. I curl the collar corner under the collar to attempt to reshape the bending collars. 2. The jacket is warm but not appropriate for windy environments. The fabric is a somewhat loose weave. 3. You should pr... Read Moreobably get a fuzz remover for down the road. The jacket does end of having little balls of fabric that accumulate over time. I generally wear this at night when I'm huddled against the computer screen.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Andy! You can help prevent some of that pilling by washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than using the dryer. To remove pilling that has already occurred, we recommend using a the kind of battery-powered fabric shaver you mention, which is gentler on fabric than a sweater stone.

January 18, 2022

Great shirt

Love the shirt.

January 7, 2022

Cozy

Great, warm casual wear. Can wear it around the house, out or when doing some outdoor activities.

January 6, 2022

Stylish, cozy and versatile

Bought this for my husband (62 and 195 lbs). He loves it. He wears it buttoned up as a cozy shirt or open as a casual jacket. Its a nice thick material without being bulky. I definitely recommend.

January 5, 2022

Super Warm Jacket

Would wear it 24/7. Fits true to size. Took out of the packaging it was shipped in and let it hang before wearing. I love this !!

January 4, 2022

Very nice

Very pleased

December 16, 2021

Love, love, love!

I have these in both colors and wish Patagonia made them in even more colors! It is cozy and provides just right warmth! I can wear it in my classroom and not get too warm and then go outside, button it up, and be cozy. I generally wear men's sizes because I am a bit broad-shouldered and though the sleeves are long for me, they are easy to fol... Read Mored up. I've been wearing it very regularly in the last year and it's showing no signs of wear. Highly recommend it and hope Patagonia comes out with more colors!

November 29, 2021

Love! Must get!

I got this as a gift for my bf. He absolutely loves this. Wears it for zoom meeting and pretty much has it on all the time. Material is nice, stretchy, warm and comfortable. It checks off all the boxes. Would definitely recommend getting this!

November 23, 2021

The best sweater

I love it. Will buy one in every color.

November 18, 2021

Excellent midweigh jacket

Fits well

November 4, 2021

Really Nice Shirt Jacket

Nice weight and very soft. I use this working in shop and trips around town. Great for chilly mornings and evenings. Fit is very good.

August 22, 2021

Great quality

I purchased this for my husband but he didnt like the fit because it was kinda wide. He likes a slim fit kinda fit so I had to return but overall great quality!!!

March 27, 2021

The Even Better Sweater

My family and I have the Better Sweater Jacket and have been wearing them all winter long. The Better Sweater Shirt Jacket is even better since its a little more stylish for Business Casual wear and still functions the same as the Jacket. We love these Better Sweater products and will buy more colors to add to our wardrobe.

March 16, 2021

Fitss perfectly

Nice and warm for spring and fall days. Works as a nice warm shirt with jeans any time.

March 14, 2021

Great Shirt

Great purchase. Very good quality shirt. Warm and soft. Great to wear as a shirt or a light jacket.

March 11, 2021

Looks good, needs a cheeky phone holder to be perfect

Hey it looks great, fits great, and gets compliments. So nice I bought it twice. To be perfect Patagonia needs to consider phones and how to store them in their clothes. Its the future what can I say? What this needs is a zipper inside the left chest pocket so that I can slip my phone in and out of the front pocket with just my right hand.

March 8, 2021

Comfortable and breathable

Fits well and is good for just about everything.

March 4, 2021

nice and warm, comfort from light rain/breeze

It's pretty much an all around comfortable non binding material and fit. Usually like other Patagonia items, enhances your image. I'm very pleased, 395 Jason..................

March 3, 2021

Mega warm

This is a fantastic item. Fits and looks great. Extremely warm

March 2, 2021

wonderfully comfortable.

This casual wool shirt seems to have the perfect warmth level for wearing around the house in the winter and outside in the spring.

March 2, 2021

Classic Patagonia piece

Classic Patagonia jacket; quality in every respect & fit perfectly for 63 205lbs athletic built.

March 1, 2021

Warm and comfortable.

This is my third Better Sweater. I have pretty much given up on wool sweaters. Hard to launder. This garment looks like wool, and the button up front looks a little more dressy. The upper pockets are too short to hold my phone safely. The fit is perfect for me.

March 1, 2021

Warm, comfortable, stylish

Great as a casual jacket or can be used as an outer layer. Very comfortable and warm. The button front can make it appear dressy if needed. Really like the material and fleece like components!

March 1, 2021

Super Comfortable

Super comfortable, I have Retro-X and other fleeces from Patagonia but Better Sweater Jacket is the most comfortable.

February 28, 2021

Sleeves too long

Ive worn Patagonia shirts and sweatshirts for years and was so excited about this one! Unfortunately, while it seemed like an awesome shirt, the sleeves were too long by about an inch- never had this problem before so I was bummed!

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! We're always happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

February 28, 2021

Exactly what I was looking for

Warm, soft, looks good. This jacket is great and would buy again. This is my go to jacket.

February 27, 2021

Warm & cozy!!

I really like this flannel/shirt-jac/sweater!! Color is superb, tons of compliments about it, very cozy & warm, and I luv the pockets on it!! My only critique which is just personal preference and didn't keep me from purchasing it is the 2nd button from the top is too low in my view. I find that I get cold and would perfer more coverage in... Read More my upper chest. I recognize that that's the way it was purposely designed--I had a button added to it and it works works perfectly & the way that I perfer.

February 26, 2021

It is comfortable to wear and can be worn fashionably.

It is comfortable to wear and can be worn fashionably.

February 26, 2021

Very nice

Runs slighty big but, I may on the smaller size of medium. However, the fit may be intentionally baggy? No matter, I still like it.

February 26, 2021

Great jacket

This is great as a casual jacket, warm and comfortable, but a little nicer looking than a pullover. Its also great as an extra layer at home because it is so flexible and never binding.

February 26, 2021

warm and stylish

I have had several Better Sweaters over the years, as they are a brand staple and a reliable buy. This is the first one I really relish wearing because it's just as great a sweater, warm, comfortable, well fitting, but also has an unusual form factor and brilliant color (ochre).

February 25, 2021

Boxy cut that didnt fit me well.

The cut of the shirt was very boxy and didnt fit my form very well. It isnt a very flattering shape for me. Quality of craftsmanship seems good.

February 25, 2021

Great addition

This is an excellent addition to the quiver of light weight fleece wear that fits just right for the southwest winter. Great material and warmth for the cool mornings both inside and outside the house. The real beauty of this piece is its unique jacket/shirt style, which offers a new dimension to my wardrobe. Instant hit in my book. I am a Patagoni... Read Morea medium across the board for tops and this fits me true to size.

February 25, 2021

Great Wardrobe Addition

Ive been considering a shirt jacket for some time to use as a casual piece on weekends, but is still professional for a work setting. This is it! The piece is well made and looks great. The fit is perfect, slightly tailored, but relaxed enough for a long sleeve shirt. I was a little hesitant to buy because of the price, but its 100 percent worth it... Read More!

February 24, 2021

Great quality per usual

My new go to... splitting wood, walking the dogs, jacket while going out, clearing trails in the woods, another great product that I will wear hard and expect to last

February 24, 2021

Good Fit

I often get a large in my Patagonia purchases, but based on the comments on the webpage for this product, I thought a medium would fit me better, and it did. I like my Better Sweater® Fleece Shirt Jacket very much.

February 24, 2021

Super Comfy and Warm

A warm-hug of a comfy sweater. A lot warmer than I thought it would be.

February 23, 2021

Sits Strange

I'm 6' and average size, the way the jacket that I have sits strange on my shoulders, leaving it fitting in a way that gives a turtle-ish look. I haven't worn it enough to see if it just needs to settle, but right now it doesn't feel comfortable and not a look that I'm thrilled with.

February 19, 2021

Super comfortable

Exactly what I was looking for, a casual layer to keep warm inside during the winter!

February 12, 2021

Instantly one of my favorite articles of clothing

First had the gray color and didn't love the color as it was a little too light. Swapped it for a navy which is perfect (and a really nice, deep color). I absolutely love this thing. It looks great, it fits great, it's super comfortable, it's warm enough for must situations in the PNW, especially if you put a vest over it. I love shi... Read Morert jackets and have several but I find myself wearing this all the time. My only gripes/suggestions are 1) the tips of the collars seem to want to stick out/up after a few washes and looks goofy. Not really sure what to do about this but no big deal. 2) I'm really surprised the better sweaters don't seem to have any stretch built in at this point. I want all my clothes to have some stretch and adding some elastene, etc would really make all the better sweaters perfect.

January 29, 2021

Super comfy and stylish, runs a bit large

I'm 6'2" and 230 lbs. I normally wear XL shirts and flannels from Patagonia; however, I usually feel like I'm swimming in their XL jackets. I initially ordered an XL Shirt Jacket thinking it would fit more like their flannels, but it was quite big on me. I sent it back and got a Large. The large fits just right. It fits over a s... Read Morehort sleeve shirt and over a flannel really well.

January 29, 2021

Warm and comfortable

As noted in other reviews buttonholes do require stretching, I used a blunt tapered spoon handle rather than outright cutting them larger. Order a size up if youre going to wear a heavy sweatshirt underneath. Otherwise nice sweater shirt. A step warmer than flannel. Will fit under a same size nano puff or down sweater jacket for layering.

January 25, 2021

Warm and loose

Love this! I usually wear large (as better sweaters go) but I intentionally ordered an xl, it can be worn over and layered, and big enough to be super comfortable lounging around the house. I love that there is no zipper and it doesn't have to go over head. I have long curly hair so I like to avoid static.

January 22, 2021

Warm

I luv this shirt --jacket but the placement of the buttons are my only complaint, leaves it too open at the top. Only way to keep your chest warm is to button the very top button, don't know about other's but I come from a generation that that makes one looks like a dork--not that I'm not a dork, but try not to look like one!! lol

January 9, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I purchased this for my guy, and he raves about how warm and comfortable it is. I like that it is tailored on the bottom, so his shirttails arent sticking out.

January 7, 2021

Love this style

I bought this as a gift for my husband. He has a lot of pullover or zip fleeces and jackets. This style and different and very functional. He loves the front and inside pockets and the button front. He wears it mostly around the house to stave off the winter cold but I expect he will also wear it out when we go walking or hiking

December 26, 2020

Difficult to button/unbutton

Nice shirt,fits well, good looking. Nice fabric too. Button holes are too small! Had to use a razor knife (very carefully) to rebutton two places.

November 22, 2020

Relaxing & comfortable fit

Comfortable & warm.

November 4, 2020

Nice Jacket

I have only worn it twice now but i have had multiple complements on what a nice jacket it is.I love it it is plenty warm for south Georgia winters.As with all patagonia gear i have owned previously living in NY it is my favorite jacket of all.

November 2, 2020

Terrific Quailty and looks Great

Very happy with my purchase. Love the styling. Its plenty warm but sized generous enough to wear a fairly thick sweater underneath.

September 16, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Great shirt for those chilly fall days.

September 6, 2020

Awesome jacket

My mom bought me this jacket and Ive worn it almost every day. Its aweome. Fits true to size. I love it.

September 6, 2020

Comfy Classic

Great all around heavy shirt or light jacket. Versatile inbetween jacket. It gets a lot of use.

September 5, 2020

Comfortable for around the house and outside.

The jacket is perfect for indoors, work, and outside activity. Would purchase again.

September 4, 2020

Love!

My new favorite fleece. Great for the office and just hanging out.

September 3, 2020

Warm and comfy

This sweater is the real deal. Its quite warm for the thickness; havent needed a jacket for the colder NW nights since buying this thing.

September 1, 2020

Very Warm and Inviting

We ordered this for the Son-In-Law for his Birthday. He is an attorney who loves to run 5 miles or more every day. On those brisk mornings he takes it with him. It is a prefect fit and he loves it.

August 15, 2020

Amazing

Another fantastic product from Patagonia. Warm, light, and stylish. The perfect Fall accompaniment. I normally wear a Large in Patagonia products, but bought this in an XL so it could be worn over flannels and the fit is perfect. Fits just like a Fjord flannel does. As a fan of Better Sweater pullovers and vests, this was a great addition to my clo... Read Moreset. Buy this now. You wont be sorry.

August 10, 2020

Best Better Sweater

I often where a size medium but I ordered a small because I dont like my clothing too baggy. It fits perfectly over a t-shirt with plenty of length in the sleeves and body. Its much warmer than I expected. I live in Western Washington so its the perfect weight sweater for 10 months of the year.

January 3, 2020

Ckk

Comfortable Shirt jacket a daily wear

January 2, 2020

love this shirt

it's "dressier" than other patagonia products, but still the same great quality. Fits great.

December 26, 2019

Perfection

5’9”, 165lbs. Athletic build/lean. Medium is perfect if a bit snug layered with long sleeve flannel.

December 25, 2019

Perfect!

I bought this sweater for my husband. It’s light yet warm. It fits him well and he really likes it.

December 23, 2019

Best Quality!

I’m 5’10 athletic build/former athlete and bought a Large. Quality is comfortable and really perfect. The sweater/jacket is a smidge big but I can fit what I need under it and really have no complaints. Ideal for AZ winters, airports and when I travel to the Midwest and back East. Won’t leave home without it.

December 16, 2019

Perfect Gift!

Typically I would not spend this much on something like this, but Patagonia never disappoints with quality so it was worth every penny. Multiple pockets allow for functional use as well as comfort. Loved it so much I considered keeping it for myself rather than gifting!!

December 13, 2019

Great

Love it. So smart. Great for around the house. To the office. Or out to dinner.

December 6, 2019

Warmth, quality and durability.

When I put it on it felt like a weighted blanket. The fit and size was perfect. It looks nice, almost like a pea coat. I am allergic to wool, so fleece is perfect. It is well made and designed. I wish it had a zipper pocket on the inside instead of an open pocket.

November 25, 2019

Clothing

You guys have the best gear out there! Absolutely love your product, customer for life.

November 22, 2019

This piece ROCKS!

This is a substantial piece. Much more thick and a heavier weight than expected. Purchase a Large and I normally wear an XL. Feel it’s built oversized. But such a great Shirt-Jac that is non Cotton.

November 22, 2019

Great Shirt Jacket

I live in Austin, therefore our winters are mostly mild and short. A shirt jacket is the perfect all around answer to a chilly day or evening out. Great looking, stylish and ton of compliments. It wasn’t avail in our local Patagonia store, which is weird because it’s perfect for our climate, so I ordered it from the Patagonia website. Arrived withi... Read Moren 2 days. It’s my primary sweater shirt for this winter.

November 12, 2019

Good style

Good style

November 10, 2019

So nice!

Replaced my ten year old (I don’t even know how old) Patagonia fleece with this. I feel less like a dirtbag and old ladies don’t cross to the other side of the street when they see me.

November 7, 2019

Take the bite away from the cold

Warm, stylish and comfortable. Its a great fit for the body and SE Alaska!

October 24, 2019

Great piece

Exactly what I was hoping for: kind of a shirt, kind of a fleece, kind of a sweatshirt-all rolled into one.

October 11, 2019

Bought this for my husband.

Bought this for my husband. He loves it!

October 5, 2019

Stylish, comfortable, and really warm

This sweater shirt jack feels, and even smells, like it was made by my grandmother in the best way possible. I received compliments the first day I wore it, and it dresses up or down very well.

September 16, 2019

Love it! Super warm and

Love it! Super warm and typical Patagonia quality!

August 11, 2019

Have been waiting for this to come back

A little heavier than previous versions buttons at cuffs are difficult. Love the pockets and nylon trim. So four plus.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches