Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Coat

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 72 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Coat

4.5/5
Kinda Large
September 1, 2021

Good for three seasons

This coast fits me well. I like the fabric and the cut. I plant to wear it fall, winter, and spring. (I live in the SF Bay Area where the winters are warm.)

August 28, 2021

Warm and Cozy

Nice weight, with hood and pockets. Great go-to cover-up for a walk or errand or for just being outside when it's chilly!

August 27, 2021

Love it!

Its a bit big but add another layer under! Love the feel and look

August 19, 2021

Cozy

Super cozy and comfy. A standard fit where I could wear a big sweater underneath.

July 5, 2021

Nice looking jacket- short sleeves

This is a attractive jacket with a roomy hood and warm fabric. I returned it because the buttons were not ideal (stiff and took too long), the sleeves were a tad too short, and the elastic around the wrists seemed incongruous with the rest of the jacket. The fit overall felt off to me so back it went.

July 3, 2021

Perfect

By far the best cool/all weather jacket Ive ever owned. So comfortable and versatile, this really well fitting jacket is definitely my go to for most days. It provides just the right amount of warmth without being bulky. I feel really privileged to own one. Thanks for making a great product!

June 11, 2021

Love it!

My all time favorite Patagonia product! Love it!

May 29, 2021

Perfect fit and practical jacket

Love this jacket. I live in SoCal so I wouldn't need any layering underneath so I ordered an XS which fits me PERFECT! It's also a little fitted so very stylish. Big pockets and a generous hood make this a perfect three season jacket. (Very well made also)

May 19, 2021

Warm and stylish

Customer service was excellent

May 12, 2021

Great everyday coat!

Its a great weight for an everyday coat! Very comfortable and love the hood! I have it in two colors!

April 29, 2021

My Go-to for an extra layer

I love to have this available when I need an extra layer. It's also perfect for those spring days with a little chill in the air. The length is perfect. The only thing that could be better would be the length of the arms, they seem a tiny bit short.

April 23, 2021

Medium weight

Nice weight for So Cal cool mornings

April 8, 2021

Very cozy

I like to wear a size bigger and not feel tight. Love the fabric and it doesnt itch at all. Is a very comfortable and soft jacket!

March 28, 2021

Beautiful Style but pilling already

I love the style of this jacket! Perfect for being outside on a chilly day! The fit is awesome! After only a few weeks of wear, the cuffs are already starting to pill. Sad, I thought this company would use a really great knit that would hold up like the rest of the jacket!!!

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Thank you for the review on the Better Sweater Fleece Coat. Unfortunately, pilling is possible with any knit garment and the culprit is friction. There are ways to prevent it with extra care, but over time it's inevitable. Try using a sweater stone to remove the pilling, we have this [handy guide](https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Remove+Pilling+from+a+Patagonia+Sweater/19439) to help. If you give that a go and find that you're still unsatisfied with how the sweater is wearing, feel free to send it back to us!

March 19, 2021

Love!

I love this jacket I use it all the time I live in the northwest where it rains alot the hood comes in handy and it is nice and warm!

March 16, 2021

Well made & snuggly!

Love this warm, longer sweater & fits perfectly under my light jacket for extra protection when needed. Also great around the house on a cool evening.

March 14, 2021

Ordered wrong size

This was a beautiful purple coat in size S and I hoped it would fit. It was too big. There were not coats in that color in XS. I like the better sweater material. I like some of the colors but the grey is drab. So, I'll wait and see what is available next year.

March 12, 2021

Just right for casual errand day or a day at the park

Perfect jacket to run errands or leave in the car for emergency. It is a little frumpy looking due to the material is quite thick.

March 11, 2021

So comfy and warm!

This is super comfortable and warm. I wear it around my house and out to run errands as a jacket on the not so freezing days. It does run large.

March 11, 2021

My favorite coat

I love this coat and I get compliments all of the time.

March 10, 2021

Comfortable

I love this sweater jacket! It's nice and comfortable and warm too!

March 4, 2021

Wonderful Warm Hoodie Coat

I needed a lightish fleece to wear during pregnancy that would mostly cover my belly and help me make it from car into the doctors office for prenatal visits. All my other many patagonia fleeces were too small to cover my gargantuan belly, even the ones in extra large. But I wanted this one to work during and after pregnancy so I ordered a size lar... Read Morege, and although I've had my baby, I cannot be happier with this fleece before and after. I have a broadish back and this doesn't feel too tight or too loose. Wearing it with a tank top and sweatshirt is as comfortable as with just a long sleeve shirt. My only complaint is no zippers on the pockets! Come on Patagonia! As a now mom of 2, I need to close up my pockets properly to keep track of keys, masks, gloves, bibs, etc. Otherwise I love this and will wear it for a long, long time to come!! As help for size, I wear bra size 34DDD/36DD right now, size 30×32 levis jeans, and size 8/10 (between a medium and large) shirts.

March 3, 2021

Cozy, warm and stylish!

Originally ordered large - my usual size in a jacket, I needed to return it (awesome service) for med. my new jacket arrived in a week - fits perfect! Had been eyeing for a long time, happy I finally purchased! I wear it for everyday casual use - might try using for a hike/walk. Washes well too - doesn't lose its shape.

March 3, 2021

Great quality

Warm and casual with a hood for windy beach walks

March 2, 2021

Beautiful Sweatercoat

This is a beautifully-made sweater coat, it does run very large.

February 28, 2021

Cozy

Initially I went by the size chart on the website and bought a M size. This was big for me. I got it exchanged for S size and now it fits very well. This product is super comfy for mild chilly weather. By the way Patagonia's exchange policy is super easy.

February 28, 2021

Looking for a coat style for spring

Unfortunately... nothing worked with this coat. Too long in the cut...not length and over all too big. Buttons were a bit much on my small frame. Color was fair. Had to return.

February 28, 2021

Love this jacket!

Love this jacket!! It is so great that I have bought two of them in different colits.

February 28, 2021

Better Than Expected

This sweater jacket is so well made. I expected it to be baggy and light. It was not. It is a fitting style and fits perfectly. I absolutely love it!

February 26, 2021

Warm, comfortable, and stylish.

I was going for a medium, but was sold out. Tried on the small, and it works okay. I feel like the arms could be a little longer, and I don't think the coat would fit as well f I have a bulky shirt/sweater under it. I think a medium would have been a little better for my build. It's quite warm and comfortable. The buttons give it a classi... Read Morec charm, but still modern. Color is more like a wine (purple/burgundy).

February 26, 2021

Nice quality

Great light jacket. I was hoping for a little slimmer fit in the middle. Recommend sizing down if you dont plan to wear heavier shirts underneath

February 26, 2021

Cuddle type warmth....and cute

66 year old grandma who likes her warmth...and a bit of fashion, too. This sweater does both! Because of the cut, I can wear a small ( I'm 5'2" and weigh 128) I like the thigh length of this sweater, too. It keeps me warmer while wearing workout attire and running into the store for a few groceries on the way home. Love it!

February 26, 2021

Yuck

It had no shape and was very large in body. Sleeves were very short. Returned

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hey Dana, we're so sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the Better Sweater Fleece Coat. If you want the same material but more fitted, you could try the [Better Sweater Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-better-sweater-fleece-hoody/25539.html?dwvar_25539_color=BCW) or Better Sweater 1/4 Zip Pullover. Though these are not the "Coat" style, they will have more shape to them. We've passed your feedback along to our Design Team about the Fleece Coat and hope to not disappoint you in the future.

February 26, 2021

Super Cozy with Feminine Style

Ive had other better sweaters before and have appreciated their durability and warmth. However, I love that this one has more feminine styling with the seams and oversized hood. I have a large bust and also like that this jacket is roomy enough that I can wear layers underneath and its not too tight across the chest (a common problem in jackets for... Read More me). Its the perfect weight for our Pacific Northwest springs and falls.

February 26, 2021

Love it

Wear it almost every day. Must have.

February 25, 2021

Super comfortable

I like wearing this sweater coat. It can be dressed up or dressed down.

February 25, 2021

Very soft & Warm

As others mentioned, the buttons on the jacket are misplaced which causes bulging between them. Either a zipper or more buttons are needed. If it wasn't for this, it would be great, but every time I wear it I get frustrated with it.

February 24, 2021

Comfy, casual, but sleeves are very short

I usually order a Small and am fine with sleeve length. However, to ensure the sleeves were long enough, I ordered a Medium - and sleeves are sadly very short. Other than that, this is not a coat - it's a spring/fall hoodie that is great for wearing from home during Covid.

February 22, 2021

Perfect mid weight jacket and warm

I purchased this Better Sweater for an everyday casual mid weight jacket. I read over the reviews and ended up ordering a size small because of the reference it runs a little big. I would typically order a size medium in my other Patagonia clothing and jackets but took a chance. The small ended up being the perfect size with room to layer. So I wou... Read Moreld say due to the style of the coat it runs a little bigger than the other jackets and clothing. Overall I love the jacket and its very warm. I wore it out and about today in 33 degree MI weather and it kept me warm. I do have a Patagonia parka for longer outings though. I already suggested this coat to others!

February 11, 2021

Great jacket

I was nervous because of the mixed reviews but overall I think this is a great purchase. I am 54 and 113 lbs. I ordered a size small and am happy with the fit. Its not fitted but I dont feel like Im wearing a sack either. Theres definitely room to layer which is perfect for hiking. Especially since this is a thinner jacket and not a winter coat. Im... Read More very happy with this purchase.

February 5, 2021

Great purchase

Not too hot of a jacket, but keeps you warm. Its not all the way casual, it can be dressed up. Lastly originally I ordered a XL as I have been all winter, and it was two sizes too big. Ended up with a medium. Fast and smooth exchange!

February 4, 2021

Great light jacket

I usually wear an xs and this actually runs a little big. I like it though because I can layer underneath still if I need a little extra warmth.

January 17, 2021

Stylish casual

I really like this sweater/jacket. I typically wear medium, but the small fit great. I feel a little more dressed up in it than a 1/4 zip style.

December 31, 2020

Sleeves run short

The item was beautiful and just what I was looking for. I am very petite and the jacket fit perfectly thru my body. Unfortunately I will be sending it back as the sleeves are very short. Covered only up to my wrist.

December 26, 2020

Very comfortable

My favorite Patagonia sweater. Super comfy and warm!

December 2, 2020

Warm but fits larger

Love the better sweater line but this one fits like a medium and a zip front behind the front buttons would have been better. For reference, Im 50, 100 lbs. and bought a Small.

December 1, 2020

Love it!

This is a lovely warm cozy hooded sweater. I like the length, thickness, and fit for the Bay Area fall-winter wear. I do wish there was an internal pocket or that the external pockets had zippers or buttons for safekeeping. Otherwise, it's perfect.

November 20, 2020

very cozy

so nice and cozy jacket

November 13, 2020

Very warm and comfortable, yet light weight.

Fits true to size. Light weight and warm. Great piece of outerwear for the fall season.

November 12, 2020

Snuggly comfortable and Warm.

Purchased the plum colored fleece coat. Very attractive material. Stylish yet very comfortable. Perfect for fall and early winter in Pennsylvania.

November 4, 2020

Lovely color, noisy material under buttons

The hyssop purple is lovely and is what drew my attention to this coat. The fit is slightly boxy but only enough to allow me to wear something heavy underneath it, which is fine with me. The reason I dropped one star is that I don't like the material that lines the button area and the outer rim of the hood. It "rustles". The rest of ... Read Morethe fabric has a soft sound or no sound at all, but this material actually makes a bit of noise when touched/moved. It has the appearance of material that's typically placed on the outside of a water resistant garment. This material looks a tad cheap too. If I were Patagonia, I would have gone with a different option for this area.

November 4, 2020

Perfect length & looks.

Perfect fall/early winter coat. This is yet another better sweater winner.

October 29, 2020

Perfect everyday jacket

I purchased this jacket for my 12 year old daughter. She loves it. Fits perfectly. Covers the back for extra warmth. This jacket does not restrict movement. She spends house practicing lacrosse on the bounce back. All around a great fall jacket.

October 9, 2020

Runs big

I am 5'6" and weigh 230lbs. I purchased the XL assuming it would be to small and fit me in the spring. (I am working on loosing weight). It fits a little loose and will fit normal with a sweatshirt underneath. I purchased a XL other patigona coat which I could not even zip up, so I feel this runs really big. It was also not very warm, no ... Read Moredifferent then a sweatshirt.

October 1, 2020

Too big

Too big and unflattering.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Hello Shenbaga, we're very sorry that the sizing did not work out. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

September 5, 2020

Loose fit , and hip length

Love it ! I got it on sale . Love the fit. Fits Alittle longer and loose. Perfect :)

September 5, 2020

Happy girl

The style & material is exactly what I was looking for.

September 1, 2020

Great fall color

Great fall color. Can't wait to wear it this fall in my mountain home. Feels nice and warm for lighter weight jacket. Super cute.

June 22, 2020

Heavy sweater jacket

Good fit and quality except the cuffs are not the same color as the jacket. A flap covering the buttons would have enhanced the sale or having a zipper. This may be for a younger woman than I am.

June 19, 2020

Nice jacket

I bought this jacket for my 15 year daughter and she can't wait to wear it in the fall when the temps start to cool down. Loved the great sale price!

June 17, 2020

Cozy

Can't say enough about this jacket. It's comfortable like a hoodie and yet a little dressier. The fit and sleeve lengths are perfect for me and I'm an average build. Great for fall weather in Michigan or the cool evenings we get in the summer.

June 17, 2020

Warm

The jacket is casual and a great piece to wear on cooler nights. I like how the jacket provides style and warmth all in one!

June 17, 2020

Soft & comfortable

Stylish, cozy hoodie with buttons instead of a zipper! Runs a bit large but not a problem if youre into comfort clothing. For work & play.

February 27, 2020

Gonna get a 2nd

I absolutely love this coat! Very comfortable, and fits like a dream. I found it very true to size, with plenty of room at layer as well. By far and away, my favorite casual jacket!

February 20, 2020

W's Better Sweater Fleece Coat

The fleece is soft, the pockets are useful and well-placed, hood is a nice size (tho a little hard to put up w/the top button done). I agree w/other reviewers, calling it a coat is kind of a stretch, but it's a great long jacket! The fit isn't too boxy and is a little big in the body. But, I think that's a plus bc I can wear somethin... Read Moreg thicker than a t-shirt underneath. It's a perfect jacket for spring and fall and I've received many compliments on it. For reference, I'm 5'10", 135" and normally wear a 4 or 6. I am usually a S in Patagonia regular fit and M in slim fit. I got this in a M and am happy with the ability to layer underneath. It's comfy w/out looking sloppy. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 bc the material between the buttons doesn't lay smoothly when jacket is buttoned. But, it doesn't bother me enough to send it back.

December 31, 2019

Super comfortable!

Great for, and super comfortable to wear

December 30, 2019

Patagonia snared me with the

Patagonia snared me with the advert talking up recycling material. I bought this for my wife, she loves it and it fits perfectly.

December 16, 2019

Please bring back the old better sweater long coat from 2015!

I agree with the first reviewer and I am so disappointed in this new coat especially when compared to the 2015 long peplum version. It’s not really a coat more like a longer jacket... I loved the previous longer mid thigh coat from 2015 both in women’s and kids. My daughter has one too and I really wanted to get her another one as she’s has outgrow... Read Moren her previous one. But I can find it anymore. We went to try on this new style and it’s just not the same, it’s just like a sloppy longer version of the better sweater jacket. I also don’t care for the hood, and prefer the big collar in the older style. Please Patagonia if you are reading this please being back the old version or another long mid thigh better sweater coat! If you are just looking for a better sweater jacket then this I suppose is fine. The material is still soft and same as previous versions and the navy is a beautiful color.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Mimi, we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this new design! We are always redesigning our products based on many factors (including customer feedback), so this helps us immensely. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 18, 2019

Awesome!

I love this fleece jacket. It's cozy and stylish and the perfect cut for what I was looking for.

November 11, 2019

Cute and Cozy

Worn it a couple times so far and I like it. Comfortable and casual.

November 5, 2019

love the fit, love the style.

this coat fits very true to size, and runs only a bit boxy in the body and arms, which is nice for fitting sweaters under on colder days. the coat is warm enough to wear out with a tee underneath for fall days. i've received many compliments on the coat already, and look forward to getting a lot of use out of it in years to come.

November 1, 2019

I love this jacket!! The

I love this jacket!! The fit is perfect. It is warm and very stylish. Would highly recommend.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches