Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Vest

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 119 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Better Sweater® Fleece Vest

4.2/5
True To Size
February 4, 2021

Nice but run small

Nice material but run small return

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Roque! This vest is a "slim" fit so you may wish to size up or select a different fleece vest that is "regular" or "relaxed" fit in your usual size. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return or exchange it.

January 23, 2021

Great, versatile vest

This is a perfect vest for layering or wearing over a medium shirt in cooler weather. I wear it often when walking the dogs or working outside. It is so comfortable and well made.

December 28, 2020

warm and comfy

i love wearing this vest its super comfy,just the right fit and keeps you warm

December 17, 2020

Good layering vest

If you're looking for a thin vest to layer over a fitted t-shirt, I recommend this product. I went with an XXS (my normal size would be XS) and it was the perfect length and fit, as I didn't want a bulky feel. Good for 60-70 degree temperatures.

December 17, 2020

Very comfy

Love it! Very comfy. I usually get a xs but decided to get xxs. Glad I did. It fits perfectly. Im 50 and 105.

November 20, 2020

Comfortable

The vest was very comfortable. Nice casual piece to wear for walk or just when dressed down casual.

November 17, 2020

Cozy

I work in the medical field and I love wearing it to work because its always cold there. Perfect for scrubs and perfect for anything!!

November 13, 2020

Very warm!

Love the product. Fits a little roomier than I expected but is still wearable. Love this vest!

November 12, 2020

Great vest

This vest is true to size and warm. It looks sharp, too.

November 12, 2020

Nice

Just what I was looking for!

November 10, 2020

Versatile vest

I purchased this to throw over my business casual wear. I did opt to go a little bigger so that I could have room to wear it over clothing comfortably. Im traditionally a medium top. Its comfortable and warm- definitely a great value!

November 9, 2020

So happy with this

Ive had my eye on this vest for a while and decided it was time to buy one for myself! Super comfortable - just a tad too big it seems in chest. I suggest to size down unless youll be layering with something heavier.

November 7, 2020

Should not have sized up!

Since this is a slim fit I opted for a small (5'4", 112lbs) but unfortunately it was too big, especially around the armholes. A pity as the xs is unavailable at this great sale price. Go for your regular Patagonia size and it's a steal.

November 5, 2020

I returned this vest. It was very small for being a medium.

I returned this vest. It was not attractive and was entirely too small for me.

September 15, 2020

Perfect vest

I love this vest so much I bought one for my SIL and my mother. They both love it! It is a slimmer fit so can wear under almost anything or on its own. I wear it at home, hiking, skiing and general out and about.

September 15, 2020

warm without feeling bulky

My go to vest for activity and leisure. I will wear it almost year round!

September 15, 2020

Mid layer

I have SO MANY Patagonia vests, including 3 of the Performance Better Sweater, which is an outer layer. This is a mid-layer or "around the house" fleece. I wear them all, perfect for the Pacific NW year around.

September 15, 2020

Super warm

It is exactly what I want. I actually bought a half zip sweater in same material. Then I knew I love it.

September 13, 2020

Warm and convenient

I wore to work with a casual black long sleeve and it was so warm, absolutely didnt need a jacket and I was comfy. I love Patagonia and what they do to help the environment. Definitely a brand worth buying...

September 12, 2020

Classic piece

This was purchased to replace my 20 year old Patagonia fleece vest (which, incidentally still looks really good so I continue to wear it as well). Very nice fit, looks sharp but still cozy and practical. I hope to wear it for 20+

September 11, 2020

Zipper kind of flimsy

I was surprised zipper was not more sturdy, given the price. I've seen better zippers on Patagonia sleeved fleece tops I already own.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Hi there! We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the zipper on this vest. All of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at any time.

September 10, 2020

My favorite

I love this.

September 10, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Vest has a slim fit yet has room for a medium weight shirt underneath. It is true to size, so no need to size up or down. It is soft and comfortable. During the winter, we keep the thermostat low and the vest does a good job of keeping me warm.

September 9, 2020

Super Versatile!

I love my sweater vest for just about all outdoor activities. Its great alone on a cool spring or fall day, and its not bulky so it fits nicely beneath my coat for extra warmth on frigid days. Its well made and super easy to care for!

September 6, 2020

Layering for warmth

Comfy, cozy vest adds the perfect layer to take away the chill. Stand up collar keeps all the warmth next to you!

September 5, 2020

Comfy and warm for fall

I was not sure whether to buy XS or XXS. I usually wear XS (5'4", 110, 32, 25) and wanted to leave enough room for a long sleeve layer underneath. Finally ordered XXS and glad I did. Plenty of room to layer and even more. A little boxy, but its super comfortable and great for cool fall mornings.

September 4, 2020

Great vest

I have 6 different colors of the better sweater vest. Great fit, very comfortable and my husband says I am spoiled. Maybe, but I don't care? I would definetly recommend this vest.

September 4, 2020

Great for every occasion

This is the 5th better sweater vest (all different colors) I've bought. Even more comfortable than fleece vests and in nice heathered colors, they are perfect for all kinds of occasions.

September 4, 2020

New sizing?

I was so excited that this vest was on sale BUT disappointed in the fit. Im 56.5 and the vest was too long. Nice for warmth but not flattering. The arm holes were also too big. Maybe it was just the vest I received, disappointing to say the least.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2020

We appreciate the feedback on the fit of our Women's Better Sweater Fleece Vest and have passed this information on to our Design Team. In the meantime, if you'd like to make a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) please feel free to do so.

September 3, 2020

What happened???

I own this vest from a few years ago and love it and wanted an extra to have since I wear it so much. Plus I have 3 better sweater sweaters. This best is nothing like the Better sweaters I have. Its cheap feeling, weird trim, was wider cut. I am so disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Hello, thank you for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear that you weren't a fan of the Women's Better Sweater Fleece Vest. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time. We've passed this feedback on and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience.

September 3, 2020

worm

I love Patagonia's Better Sweater fleece jacket is a cozy sweater. I'm happy with this buy.

September 2, 2020

Very comfortable

I really like to wear vests and this one is perfect for everyday wear.

September 1, 2020

Great fall vest

Love this vest in the light grey color. Length, fabric, fit are all spot on!

August 15, 2020

aesthetically appealing but poor quality

I am a huge fan of Pataginia, their mission and products; however extremely disappointed in this item. I've noticed the quality is lacking. I purchased a similar item years ago and it still holds well but this vest is thin and doesn't compare. I hope quality isn't compromised to have merchandise put together in areas where labor is c... Read Moreheaper.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

We're sorry to hear that this vest has been a disappointment, Bonnie. Please know that our products are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return it!

September 13, 2019

Nice vest

Chose this vest because I loved the color. Unfortunately, it was too big & boxy. The armholes had a peculiar cut. The overall quality looked good. If it came in an xxs I’d order it again.

Response from Patagonia
September 25, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the fit was not quite right for you. Please note, you are welcome to initiate a return or exchange at any time [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 5, 2019

Best products ever

I've owned several Better Sweaters over the years, and as my weight has fluctuated, I've had to downsize, which isn't a bad thing. I adore them, they're comfortable and easy to wear while still being stylish! I LOVE them. Thank you, Patagonia!

August 29, 2019

Sweater Vest is just right!

Great vest. Keeps your back muscle warm but not hot on a cool morning.

August 24, 2019

Great vest

It's warm and snug without being tight. The arm holes are big enough that you can wear a thick shirt underneath.

August 15, 2019

Fits great, great quality

It fits snuggly without being too small and the pockets hold lots of stuff.

August 11, 2019

sweater vest - grey

Could not love this product more. Fits great, looks great. Another quality piece from Patagonia.

August 11, 2019

Perfect for Travel

I enjoy vests and the look. The Better Sweater Vest was the perfect layer to have when studying abroad in Peru. It's thin enough where it doesn't feel like heavy weight, but thick enough to keep me warm throughout the nights when camping. The large zip pockets were perfect to fit my phone and passport without worrying about them.

June 27, 2019

Need to Reinstate Previous Sizing

This is my second sweater vest. Loved the first one, but this one, in the same size (S), had arm holes that were much bigger and the fit was boxier; didn't look like a slim fit. It also seemed like the material was of a lesser quality; it felt that it was thinner than my first. Loved the color.

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2019

We are so sorry to hear the sizing and fabric didn't work out for you. Please know that we will always do our best to help out our customers. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) your item back to us and we will take care of you.

June 18, 2019

Great vest with one design flaw

I love this vest for its warmth, lightness, style, and versatility. However, the men’s version of this vest has a zippered cell-phone pocket, and the women’s version does not. Please offer zippered cell-phone pockets in all of the hoodies and vests, not just some of them.

May 8, 2019

Best Vest

I purchased a better sweater vest and love it! It is comfy and super practical for life in Ohio. The weather is up and down all the time-so this vest is the perfect weight for chilly days-

May 8, 2019

Great comfortable and warm vest.

Great comfortable and warm vest.

April 5, 2019

Neeed some brighter colors!

I have a couple of better sweater vests from prior years. This year's color selection is boring. For example I have a women's better sweater, long-sleeve sweater in a great orange from this season. Orange seems to be a color that many women are learning to appreciate as I get a lot of positive comments on it. How about at least adding tha... Read Moret great orange to your line of better sweater vests?--Thanks--A devoted Patagonia fan looking for color (Remember your bright orange , green ad other colors that were in your fleece vest line of by-gone years?)

March 31, 2019

Poor quality fabric

I bought a second vest after loving the one I have had for 3 years. After less than a few months, and just a few washes, the front has pilled, a lot. I won't wear it out in public as it looks cheap and worn already. I would expect better fabric at this price.

March 31, 2019

Poor quality fabric

I bought a second vest after loving the one I have had for 3 years. After less than a few months, and just a few washes, the front has pilled, a lot. I won't wear it out in public as it looks cheap and worn already. I would expect better fabric at this price.

March 20, 2019

Very bad pulling after only a month

I received this item as a gift. I was very excited because it actually came in XS size. However, after only a month of wear, it began pilling very badly under the armholes of the vest. I believe the polyester fabric, although it is warm, is low quality. I am very disappointed.

January 4, 2019

This vest is not as fitted or well finished as is used to be :-(

I just bought my second better sweater fleece vest and am disappointed that it no longer has same fit. This vest now has a very boxy fit with extremely wide armholes. It also lacks the piping around armholes and along the zipper that the older version has. I will wear it around the house, but not in public. Nothing nice about it.

December 20, 2018

Great vest

I purchased this in a medium. 5’4” 122 lbs. It fits perfectly on my 64 year old frame. The gray is a nice basic color and the vest is soft and comfortable. I like that the collar folds down. So many vests have high collars that bug me, but not this one. It’s great to wear in the house just for another layer - not hot like many puffer vests. The fir... Read Morest one I purchased had a defective arm hole- seemed stretched out, so exchanged it for a different one which lies flat.

December 17, 2018

Better sweater

I love this sweater vest! So comfortable and warm. Highly recommend.

November 27, 2018

Love this vest

I wear vests a lot and this is one of my favorites. It's comfortable and warm without being bulky. I am 5'3", 120 lbs and I got the XS. I couldn't fit a bulky sweatshirt under, but it fits great with just a long sleeve tee shirt underneath.

May 14, 2018

Very Comfortable!

Bought this in raspberry on sale. Loved it so much I came back for the black and paid full price. Wear it a lot! Perfect for work over long sleeves on a cold foggy morning that turns warm in the afternoon. Fits true to size. Nice length and stretches due to the sweater-like fabric. Gave it 4 stars because of the price.

January 23, 2018

Great Color!

I love everything Better Sweater and own a couple of the vests,pullover,etc. I love the Pelican color. It goes with everything,I get compliments on it all the time,and most importantly it's comfy and does it's job of keeping my core warm!

January 6, 2018

Warm,great fit,versatile

I love this vest! It's warm without being TOO warm,so I can comfortably wear it all day. Super versatile piece - dressy enough for work but casual enough for winter hikes. Purchased in Birch White but will probably add another color to my collection at some point soon!

September 25, 2017

Love it!

This vest is awesome. I used to have it in black,and this time I ordered the grey. Love the color and fit,and it's the perfect amount of warmth while still remaining lightweight. I just wear it casually over long sleeve shirts,but I'd imagine it's perfect for hiking & climbing in chilly climates because it's not bulky.

September 16, 2017

Super warm

This vest is comfy and warm. Although I never know when to get XXS or XS with Patagonia. I'm 5'2 ans 110 lbs,I got an XS vest and it feels big.

May 23, 2017

Pills something fierce

I bought two of these on sale because my old plain solid-color fleece vests were getting old. These have a knit "sweater" exterior. I thought it would look nice. (The other vests were multi-color and a little hard on the eyes,to me.) Well,the knit sweater part has pilled really badly. It feels awful to the touch. Additionally,the fit is... Read More bigger than before. (I bought medium.) The employee told me that Patagonia has increased the size of the women's tops. I'm so sad,because now it gaps out a lot at the arms and it bulges at the abdomen. I'm not happy about the fit at all. A small vest fits in the arms and torso better,but then it's too tight around my hips. Drat. I thought it would be a nicer vest than plain old fleece,but the plain old fleece actually feels and fits better. Sigh.

May 13, 2017

Love it!

First Patagonia vest! Will be purchasing more items in the future. Thank you Patagonia for sustainable clothing.

April 29, 2017

Great look!

Bought it a couple months ago have had a cool spring. Looks great nice weight.

April 22, 2017

Great fit!

The color and fit are great on this. Love the shape and can wear it casually or hiking!

March 25, 2017

Great vest!!!

I received my first vest as a gift at Christmas a year ago. Like it so much,decided to buy another in a different color! They are slim fitting,but I like that feature and wear an xs! The cool Patagonia logo really helps wearing different long sleeve T's under the vest! Great quality,style and warmth! I could use it to workout in,but like my ot... Read Moreher Patagonia nano puff vest for that since easier to pack if overheated

March 25, 2017

Best vest I ever bought!

I love this vest . It fits well,is light yet warm. I wear it to work and to yoga; very versatile

March 25, 2017

I love my first Patagonia purchase.

This sweater vest is everything I hoped it would be. It is very well constructed,stylish,and I love the two-toned neutral color (raw linen). I normally wear a small,but only medium was still available (at a great sale price). It turns out to run rather small so the fit was actually perfect.

March 18, 2017

Three Women's Vests

Bought three Women's vests about six weeks ago. The style is perfect and I find I wear the black one all the time. The off white and raspberry colors were not quite what I expected & I see why they were on sale. If the raspberry had been more towards burgundy and the white more towards oatmeal I would be more inclined to wear them. Also th... Read Moree 'sweater' outer surface is not as nice as the older fleece model you had fifteen years ago.

March 12, 2017

Love it!

I love the vest. I have 2 Better Sweater jackets and this is similar in fit. Runs true to size. I am 5'7 140 lbs and a medium fits me perfectly. I initiated had a large but it was too wide.

March 11, 2017

Loved my old one but this one is huge...

I received one last year 2105 for a gift and loved it so I ordered two more in different colored and sizes. Washed them up stuck them in my suitcase for travel and looked like I was wearing someone else's clothes while on my trip. So disappointed as now I have two vests that I swim in. Wish this year's version 2106's was the same siz... Read Moree as last year's 2015.

March 11, 2017

LOVE

Good looking,beautiful colors,adore them; just Great !!!

February 27, 2017

Perfect for a light spring layer!

What a beautiful extra layer for this year's early spring weather. I love it!

February 25, 2017

Perfect vest!

I bought this a month ago. I love it! It fits true to size. Perfect to wear inside during colder days and goes with many outfits!

February 18, 2017

Sweat vest

I love the sweater vests and would like one in each color.

February 12, 2017

My daughter lives it

I bought this fir my daughter fir Christmas and it fits great ( is a slim fit) My daughter usually wears an xs but I did have to exchange fir a small .

February 4, 2017

So comfy

Liked it so much...just ordered another in a different color. A staple in North Idaho. Will wear in Spring too when golf starts up again.

February 4, 2017

Love this!

I had the sweater so was motivated to grab the vest. I love it. I wear it apline skiing and love how closely it fits under my ski jacket and the zip pockets are very convenient. It's slightly warmer than my usual fleece - or at least it feels cozier. Also have worn it hiking. Again,the slender fit keeps things from getting bulky when layering.... Read More

February 4, 2017

Vest

I have worn my new vest several times. It compliments many outfits and very comfortable

January 28, 2017

My everyday vest! Needs improvement,however!

I have wanted this vest for over a year. I finally did so over the holidays. There is really no other vest like it. I am 155# with large chest and a medium fits snug but well. Pros: warm,fits well,Runs slightly large ,goes well as an exercise outfit or for more stylish occasions. After a few washings,it has not pilled. Con: price point is too hi... Read Moregh,given that IS NOT LINED,a little too thin. Also,the reviews for TOO BIG ARM HOLES are correct. The arm holes pucker at the chest. Overall,I enjoy the vest! But I really wish it had a liner (looks quite cheap without it) and that the arm holes did not pucker.

January 28, 2017

Total score!

Love this vest I bought earlier this month - color,fit & fabric is perfect.

January 22, 2017

Nursereeder

Excellent Christmas gift... would definitely recommend

January 16, 2017

Great color and fit

This vest was a well received Christmas gift. Lots of compliments.

January 12, 2017

vest is a bit dressy looking

well made and dressy enough to wear to work. too nice to wear hiking.

January 12, 2017

My go to vest

I won several vests from different brands and this is by far my favorite. It goes with almost everything (I bought the light gray),and I have not noticed at all the large arm hole problem other people have mentioned. I am very petite and this vest works well with my body type.

January 11, 2017

Loved my better sweater vest

For Christmas my parents got me the better sweater vest. I absolutely love it,it fits me well not to big. I really like the vest because it's a good layer when I am skiing and I also like wearing it with collard shirts to make it more dressy.

January 11, 2017

PERFECT

Slim-fitting,comfortable and not bulky (I'm a 38DD--bulk is no good). So warm...great layering piece...huge pockets.....exactly what I wanted. Washes (and dries) beautifully. Can't wait to order 1 or 2 more.

January 11, 2017

Warm and fits great

My sister had one and I fell in love it. It was an awesome purchase

January 11, 2017

Poor Quality

I bought this vest as a Christmas present for my daughter and am very disappointed with the quality of it. She has only worn the vest 3 times and the sides are all pilly. I would not recommend purchasing this. And wish I could return it.

January 11, 2017

Love love love

I've had this vest for about 2 months and love everything about it. It fits great and keeps me warm.

January 11, 2017

Soft Classic!

Proud owner of 2 of these! Warm,soft,and fits nicely. Fabric pills a bit after lots of wear; thus,my second purchase...

January 11, 2017

Great Vest

Bought as Christmas gift for my daughter. She loves it. Great quality. Purchase was easy and item arrived promptly.

January 11, 2017

Was better

I own several of these vests but the sizing has changed and I'm not happy with the results. I ordered a small and had to exchange it for an xsmall. I received the xs yesterday and am debating whether to return it.

January 11, 2017

favorite vest by far!

I have a pretty long torso but I bought my normal size (S). Surprisingly,it fit perfectly!

January 11, 2017

The perfect vest

I bought this vest a couple of months ago and it is perfect for me. Because the description stated "slim fit" I purchased a large and it is just right. I generally wear a medium and/or size 10 in my clothes and this vest fits the bill by going up a size. It's perfect for our Alabama winter days. So happy I made the purchase.

January 11, 2017

I love it!

makes my outfits look so cute and fits very nicely can always be wore to dress up or down an outfit I love it so much

January 11, 2017

Great vest!

Purchased for my niece and she absolutely loves it. She wears all Patagonia.

January 11, 2017

A winter must have!

I purchased this in Nov. and was stuck with this color. It was a great deal and so I took it thinking I wouldn't really wear it very much. Boy was I wrong,I wear it at least once a week with the cold,snowy winter we have had in Montana. Still not my favorite color,but I am learning to work with it. The thing I love about this is the fit,the po... Read Moreckets and warmth. I am 5'7" tall and 120 lbs and this is a nice slim fit. Since it is so warm I can wear just a light under layer and sometimes I add a scarf. It is also fitted enough to wear under my down coat. It was definitely a win/win and I would buy another.

January 11, 2017

Exactly what she wanted

Bought as a gift for a teenage girl (of course she picked it out) and she loves it.

January 11, 2017

Lovely gift

My mom loves her gift. She wears it everywhere. It's cozy comfort in an awesome looking vest.

December 30, 2016

Runs large

I'm 5'5",130. I tend to wear a small or a medium in tops. Small because I have a small waist+bust,or medium in some tops because of my shoulders and upper arms. I would certainly wear a small in any vest,but a small in this vest is baggy on me. I had to return and order an x-small (and no one likes to pay for return shipping). Order ... Read Morea size smaller than you usually do if your have a small bust and waistline.

December 29, 2016

Too loose and arm holes way too big

Purchased the raw linen color and when I tried it on with other white clothes it appears to be yellowish and isn't appealing. The arm holes curve onto the back and the fit is too boxy. Wouldn't recommend if you're trying to find a casual vest

October 25, 2016

Arm holes to big

I did keep this just because it fits pretty well except the arm holes are way too big!! Wish it had the piping around the armholes as well like previous seasons!! Hoping when I wear it the shirt under it camouflages this flaw! For a reference I'm 510 and 175 pounds and I bought the large and it fits perfectly .

October 8, 2016

Super soft,but weird shape

The vest is made well,love the green color,and the material is amazing! However,like other people said,the shape is weird. The arm holes are way too big so there is some shoulder poof action happening. Definitely order on the smaller side. I'm 5'8 and 145 and usually wear a 10 and mediums,but in outer-wear I sometimes order larges (due to... Read More having hips and a booty). I had to get a medium in this. it is flattering around the sides and bells out on the bottom for the booty,but the arms are funky. if I have a baggier top under...it looks fine,but if I wear a tighter thermal it's noticeable. It's a great under layer and for runs

October 8, 2016

Dressy Vest

I purchased this one in navy,size M,about a month ago and have worn it a couple of times...it dresses up a plain shirt or t-shirt with jeans and,while providing warmth,it give me a more put-together look. I purchased it in gray last year but in a size L (because it said slim fit) which proved to be more roomy (but totally wearable). It washes well ... Read Moreand keeps its looks.

October 2, 2016

Poor fit,arm holes way too big

I am between sizes in this vest - a Small was too tight at the bottom when zipped so I purchased the Medium but the arm holes are way too big and stick out. I will try to have it professionally altered because I like the fabric but I am disappointed to have to do this,especially since I paid full price.

October 1, 2016

Pretty green

I got a green at on sale price. The color surprising pretty. The vest is also comfortable and looks nice. Really like it.

September 22, 2016

Cute fit,but gets covered with pills when washed

Received as a gift. So cute but pills when washed as directed. Was able to exchange for a vest that stands up better to washing. Thanks,Patagonia! :)

June 14, 2016

Arm holes too big

I bought this to replace my old Patagonia Better Sweater Vest that I have lived in and loved for many many years. I was disappointed in how the cut/fit has changed. Prior version had piping around arm holes,which I prefer. However,bigger problem is that the arm holes themselves are almost 2 inches larger around than earlier version in same size (me... Read Mored). Arm holes also changed so that they cut in further across back and stick out more under arm. The fit through torso and across chest is tight. I normally wear a small and the med is snug on me when zipped. This amplifies the problem with the large arm holes which gap up and out when zipped. In short,I feel that the body fit is a little too small and the shoulder/arm fit is too big. Keeping it because it is always the perfect layer to add when there is a chill in the air and I have not found anything comparable from competitive brands,but very disappointed to see changes from prior version which was 5-star perfect!

June 14, 2016

Arm holes too big

I bought this to replace my old Patagonia Better Sweater Vest that I have lived in and loved for many many years. I was disappointed in how the cut/fit has changed. Prior version had piping around arm holes,which I prefer. However,bigger problem is that the arm holes themselves are almost 2 inches larger around than earlier version in same size (me... Read Mored). Arm holes also changed so that they cut in further across back and stick out more under arm. The fit through torso and across chest is tight. I normally wear a small and the med is snug on me when zipped. This amplifies the problem with the large arm holes which gap up and out when zipped. In short,I feel that the body fit is a little too small and the shoulder/arm fit is too big. Keeping it because it is always the perfect layer to add when there is a chill in the air and I have not found anything comparable from competitive brands,but very disappointed to see changes from prior version which was 5-star perfect!

June 14, 2016

Arm holes too big

I bought this to replace my old Patagonia Better Sweater Vest that I have lived in and loved for many many years. I was disappointed in how the cut/fit has changed. Prior version had piping around arm holes,which I prefer. However,bigger problem is that the arm holes themselves are almost 2 inches larger around than earlier version in same size (me... Read Mored). Arm holes also changed so that they cut in further across back and stick out more under arm. The fit through torso and across chest is tight. I normally wear a small and the med is snug on me when zipped. This amplifies the problem with the large arm holes which gap up and out when zipped. In short,I feel that the body fit is a little too small and the shoulder/arm fit is too big. Keeping it because it is always the perfect layer to add when there is a chill in the air and I have not found anything comparable from competitive brands,but very disappointed to see changes from prior version which was 5-star perfect!

April 7, 2016

PERFECT Vest

I literally love this vest! I am 5", weigh 108-110 pounds, and I purchased the XS and it fits AMAZINGLY! Form fitting, but not tight. I have the "Beryl Green" color and it's so cool! I am beyond pleased with this vest. It's very warm, yet lightweight! Fantastic purchase! :)

March 22, 2016

Please bring back last year's fit

I've always loved my Better Sweater Vests,but when I ordered 2 more this season I was very disappointed. The cut has changed. It's boxy,with armhole openings too large,an unflattering look overall. I'm sadly sending them back and not re-ordering.

February 25, 2016

W's BEST Sweater Vest

I own a dozen Patagonia products,and this one is by far my favorite! It's comfortable,cute,and flattering. Whenever I wear it,I get tons of compliments. I'm 5'4,135 and wear a Medium. It's still pretty roomy,but I prefer my Patagonia products that way. Love this and would totally recommend.

February 12, 2016

Casual Office

I live in a rainy, northern fishing community and this is my new favorite casual office work uniform. I specifically shopped for a warm, but not padded form-fitting vest with zippered pockets that I could wear in place of a light coat and leave on indoors in our typically mediocre weather. These are perfect and the pockets are right for keys, cell ... Read Morephone, chap stick, and random items. I got two--wish I'd gotten to the blue ones before they sold out. These pill a little too readily for a vest in this price-range, but I'm glad to have them and will buy another when new colors come out.

January 29, 2016

Best Sweater Vest

I have the Fall 2014 version of the vest, and I have to say Patagonia is being overly modest - this really should be called the Best Sweater Vest. I am in love with mine. I got it to supplement an old fleece vest, using the excuse that "if I had two vests I could swap them out", but I haven't pulled out the other vest all season. I j... Read Moreust love this one too much. It's like a warm hug. I also get a ton of compliments on it. I love mine so much that I'm going to get one for my mom for her birthday. Mine has been through several washings already (since I wear it pretty much every day), and it's pilled a bit but really looks no worse for the wear. I am 5'5, 110 lbs and the XS fits perfectly -- snug and flattering but not uncomfortable or tight. I've been able to layer it over bulky sweaters without any problem. I hope Patagonia continues to make these for years to come! My vest is from 2014 - I haven't tried the newer version, but it sounds like some people have had trouble with the new fit.

January 18, 2016

Disappointing

I own two XS Better Sweater Vests. Terrific layer ... I wear them everywhere,from a layer skiing to the office with a scarf. As a birthday gift to myself,I ordered a third in Raw Linen. The fit is nothing like prior years. The vest fits like a medium; no longer slim fitting and 'boxy' looking. The arms are way too big. The vest is too lon... Read Moreg for an XS. The material is definitely not what we expect from Patagonia. This vest is a completely different garment than the two in my closet. Returning immediately and not re-ordering.

October 24, 2015

Everything Vest

Great vest for any time you want your chest to feel warm. Looks good and feels good. I use it all the time, even when I'm not outdoors because it gives warmth without bulk. I wish it didn't pill and had a 2 way zipper.

October 23, 2015

Poor Quality, looks Cheap, Changed fit

Nothing like my Better Sweater from last year. The new ones are cut wider than my old one. The red vest "wings" out slightly on the bottom. NOT a flattering fit. The bottom hem on last years vest is fitted close to my waist keeping out the cold. Also, I could see in the armpits that one side stuck out farther than the other. I measured an... Read Mored the right panel on both vests was almost 1/2 inch wider than the left side. The material feels thinner to me than the black one I have from last year. The red color was also too "orangey" for what I was looking for. Sending back PRONTO.

October 16, 2015

I've owned a Better Sweater

I've owned a Better Sweater Vest for several years and it still looks great. Before a recent trip I ordered another one in raw linen. I probably wore it a half dozen times. On the side where I carried a small purse the material is roughed up and looks completely different than the other side. It's very obvious. I certainly wouldn't s... Read Moreay the purse material was abrasive. I expect more from Patagonia clothing. I'm disappointed in this purchase and will be returning the vest.

August 24, 2015

All purpose vest with a sense of style.

Love this vest! It goes with me to the gym, mountains, travelling or worn around town. Well made and looks good. Dress it down for the gym or up with a scarf.

August 8, 2015

Perfect for Everyday

I love my Better Sweater Vest! Its super comfortable and perfect for everything from hiking to taking a walk around town.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches