Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.1 /5

Filter Reviews

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® Fleece Hoody

4.1
True To Size
February 11, 2020

Lint Magnet!

I really want to love this hoodie - it fits great and I like the style. Unfortunately it's an absolute magnet for lint. There is something about the fabric on this model that makes it excellent at collecting lint and hair. To make matters worse, it's effectively immune to lint rollers, as the fabric traps the lint to the point you have to... Read More pluck it off by hand. God help you if you have pets that shed. It might seem like a minor complaint, but it really makes the sweater unsightly. I have a number of other Patagonia products that do not collect lint this badly - it's something unique to the Performance Better Sweater.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2020

Hi Travis, we're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with the lint build-up on your Performance Better Sweater. You're welcome to return that under our Ironclad Guarantee, You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 24, 2019

Bought this for my wife.

Bought this for my wife. She absolutely loves it!

December 16, 2019

best sweater yet!

this is the greatest fitting piece I have. I've owned many Patagonia jackets, but these slim fitting sweaters are the best, warm, snug, great first layer, and great as a stand alone light jacket..perfect

December 4, 2019

Five star

The quality of the Better Sweater was fantastic, totally five star, but it just wasn’t warm enough to meet my needs here in Montana. L

November 25, 2019

Snug and Warm

Nice color. Snug fit and able to were with heavy jacket.

November 19, 2019

Great Hoody!

I love this hoody. It is warm and the slim fit looks great. I thought the underarm polyester/spandex material would be gimmicky, but it's legit. When there is a breeze, I can feel it get through the underarm material to cool the pits (a spot for me that normally gets too hot and leads to sweating). I would definitely recommend this to a friend... Read More. I'm 5'10" and 144 lbs.

November 13, 2019

Size small

Ordered a medium and it fits ok smaller than I thought

November 9, 2019

New favorite

Enough warmth for the chilly fall days, light, breathable. Will be a great layer during ski season.

November 7, 2019

Nonfunctional Hood

I love the better sweater fit and have several better sweater items, so I though having a jacket with a hood, for head warmth, would be good. Not so. Patagonia seems to have decided to size all hoods for helmet wear, even light rain jackets and the like. This hood is no different. The hood is so large that it would provide little to no insulation a... Read Morend certainly no protection from wind. There is no drawstring on the hood or other way to make it smaller. I returned it immediately. Patagonia: Please rethink this idea that everyone wants a massive hood that accommodates a helmet.

November 6, 2019

Warm and comfortable

Big fan of this product. Worn a few times and it works well in the office or outside.

November 6, 2019

Love the Better Sweater, love this version even more!

My new go-to garment. A bit slimmer fit, obviously more performance oriented than the Better Sweater, and not as warm as the original. The type of top layer that you will put on first thing in the morning and wear all week. Zippers look nice and blend in with the design quite well. Hood works both under and above a helmet and is cut well to really ... Read Morefit the head. Pockets are ample and not too deep. Breathes well.

November 5, 2019

Better Sweater

Love it!

November 4, 2019

Great sweater

Very comfortable and warm. Fits great.

November 4, 2019

Difficult to put on

While this fleece jacket may provide excellent warmth it is very difficult to put on. Imagine putting on jacket lined with velcro while wearing a shirt made from the mating surface of that save velcro. After struggling with jacket once when I tried it on and a second time when I intended to wear it. I just took it off, wore something else and retur... Read Morened it. It really needs some kind of lining to making getting it on and off easier.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

We're sorry to hear you had some difficulty with this jacket. It looks like your return has been processed and we've emailed you the details in case you need them. Thanks for your review!

October 31, 2019

Fits better than original better

Fits better than original better sweater for slim people like me.

October 22, 2019

Love it so much I bought another.

I live in this for fall-spring. So I needed at least one more color! Fits my tall athletic build well. 6’4 178 in a medium.

October 6, 2019

Very uncomfortable

I don’t think I’ve ever disliked a hoodie more than this one. I’m fit/athletic yet this slim cut sweater is super uncomfortable. I only own two Patagonia products, this and a pull over. The pullover is so soft and comfy you don’t even know you’re wearing it. However, this “Better Sweater” is not a joy to wear. All you can think about is having it o... Read Moren and how uncomfortable it is. I regret buying it.

August 20, 2019

Love my Better Sweater Performance Hoody

Usual excellent Patagonia quality with perfect fit and comfort. This is s slim-fit product and ordering my usual size large makes it not as roomy as the large Baggies Jacket that I recently purchased but also I can wear as an under layer under that Baggies jacket. I love it. Cozy and comfortable.

August 15, 2019

So comfortable

Best jacket ever. Lightweight and keeps me warm. The fits is perfect. I am 5'3" perfect for 50-70 degrees f

August 10, 2019

Only The Best

Patagonia day in and day out produces the top products. Everything they do is just right.

June 27, 2019

Great off season warmer

I love this “hoodie”! Its a perfect little layer for the spring and fall. The only down fall is that the wind cuts right through it. I am 6’4 235 and the slim XXL fits me perfect. Thanks Patagonia for another great product.

May 29, 2019

Very comfortable and fits great

I love this hoody, the slim fit it’s not too tight, but if you aren’t comfortable with That I suggest to move a size up. However, it will not keep you warm in a cold windy day. Anything below 12c, you will get the chills. Hood it does feel and looks weird. I would recommend this for an early fall or end of winter run, hike, etc. Definitely not on a... Read More windy day.

May 24, 2019

Bettersweater, but hood.

First off, I'd like to say, I love Patagonia and rely on its quality and durability with my life. I'm willing to say, there is enough evidence to prove, it is the most customer focused business in this sector. Moreover, I'm sure Patagonia is researching ways to resolve this issue as I write this review, because every piece of their a... Read Morepparel improves each season, disregarding one or two. So, it's my opinion, the hood needs to be a little more form-fitting, or have some sort of adjustability to tighten it more securely, so the jacket can be used as a technical layer. Ideally, I think this would be the perfect layer, if it we're a bit lighter in thickness, and had and draw cord hem. While also correcting the fit of the hood. But quite honestly, patagonia's apparel is such high quality, and great craftsmanship, I don't think I could be unhappy with any one of their products unless it was the wrong size lol!

April 11, 2019

Great hoody

I have two of them and they are great. I bought the xxl size to adjust for the slim fit. It fits very well. I use it primarily for fishing so it covers well inside waders and is not restrictive for casting. It's a great insulation layer so I wear a shell over it if It's windy. I can see why people say the hood is too big but it works grea... Read Moret for me.

March 4, 2019

Performs very well

I bought this not quite realizing the difference between it and the better sweater. I kept it and returned the BS as its color wasn't to my liking. I'll get another color later; I have the BS vest and love it. Ok-let's just get this out of the way: the hood is huge, doesn't fit well with or without a hat and makes no sense-but ... Read Moreit keeps you warm over a hat even it it's a little too big. Other than that I really love this hoody. It does an uncanny job of regulating body temp on walks and hikes. Just when I feel like I'm getting too hot, it seems to release excess heat and keeps me at a good temp. Just when I feel like I'm getting a little cold, it stops just short and keeps me warm enough while allowing a little cool air to maintain a comfortable temp. It is a little long, but I like that. It is a slim cut so expect that. The sleeves are a little long but allow for reaching while maintaining coverage. Buy it. You'll be glad you did.

February 12, 2019

Perfection!

Yay! A slim fit hoody! Those looking for something loose and casual, seek out the regular Better Sweater. If you're looking for something trim (but not too trim) this is it. I rarely wear Patagonia casual stuff because it all seems sized for folks with a beer belly so it's nice to see this. Only nit is the hood - it looks weird regard... Read Moreless whether you're wearing it straight or over a hat. Needs a re-do.

December 20, 2018

Nice garment but a bit too tight in arms & shoulders

I bought this in XXL, one size bigger than usual. The XL was unconfortably tight, expecially in the arms. As my engineering instructor said—back in the day—“Form follows function.” I like Patagonia quality, but cold weather garments need to be loose, kind of like how Patagonia made them decades ago. I’m guessing the slimmer fit looks better on the ... Read Morecatalog models or people who rarely leave the city :)

December 5, 2018

Fragile, not warm, and expensive

Overall it looks good and fits well, but that's it. It's more of a delicate fashion hoodie than anything to wear on a day-to-day basis due to its fragility. First, the good: - It fits great (slim, semi-athletic body). - Looks great assuming you like the style. - Zippered side pockets and breast pocket are nice. The bad: - Super fragi... Read Morele. Rubbing it against anything not perfectly smooth, getting it caught on velcro, etc, starts to ruin the fabric. - Not warm at all. Surprising given the brand. - Hood is actually _too_ deep and it'll cover your eyes. It's also an odd shape and won't lay flat when it's down. - Sleeves are way too long. I've never had this problem with any other clothing and have normal length arms. Actually had to get them shortened. - No inside pocket. - It's really expensive considering all of these flaws. I don’t recommend purchasing this at full price. If you can get it heavily discounted and don’t mind its fragility or that it’s not warm, maybe it’ll work for you.

December 4, 2018

Great fleece except the hood, could use thumbholes.

I have this and an R1 hoody. I sure wish I had just one mid layer, but the R1 doesn't come with a full zip and a hood while this model has a hood that is too big a weird shaped to nest under a rain jacket or bubble jacket when layering. This fleece looks great by itself and the hood is not that terrible unless I try to wear something over it. ... Read MoreIf you have big hair like dreads or sweet giant curls, this hood might be your jam. But for me, its so big that when I turn my head it covers my eye sometimes, there's no drawstring so it's like a sail on my bike and in the wind, and it hangs out of the entire front of my rain shell and my bubblejacket hoods unless I repeatedly tuck it back in- both my shell and my bubble jacket are also patagonia in the same size, and they nest perfectly with the R1 and each other/all 3. The R1 is frankly a better functional fleece but the half zip looks funny on me and I hate pullovers in general because I get hot and want to unzip down to my shirt often, so I only use the R1 for layering out in the snow. I wish either this jacket came with a hood that matched up well under other patagonia gear (and thumbholes would be nice) or that the R1 came as a full zip hoody. I might just take my R1 to a tailor and have a full zip put on and give this one away.

November 5, 2018

Constricts movement

I'm normally a Patagonia medium but sometimes a small. This hoodie in medium was too slim to wear anything but a tight-fitting base layer underneath. It restricted upper body movement and I just couldn't get comfortable in it. Also, the hood is oversized as if to fit a helmet underneath, which adds to the discomfort when wearing this casu... Read Moreally. I ended up exchanging this for a jacket in the Nano Air line, which fits like a dream.

October 12, 2018

Hmmmm....

Its pretty good. i can't complain about the slim fit because it is advertised that way but I wasn't even able to put a short sleeve shirt under this without the sleeves bunching up. This fleece is super tight and has no room for anyone that is of "average" physique. With that being said, it is warm, comfy, and does the job. Just... Read More wish they would have a regular fit for this same fleece.

September 3, 2018

It's OK

I bought the bright blue one last spring because it was 50% off - I wouldn't pay full price for this because while this is billed as a light weight fleece it just isn't that warm and while it's a nice fashion piece I just didn't think it worth the full price. The hood is crazy huge - almost like it's meant to go over a helm... Read Moreet (no I don't have a shrunken head!). It falls over my eyes and I have to pull it back a lot. Fit - I'm 6'2 and 162lbs - bought a medium and there's only room for a t-shirt underneath this. Maybe a thinner long sleeve underlayer. But as many others have mentioned the arms are tight, it fights really close up in the arm pits and bunches up your under shirt. A truly athletic fit. Otherwise fit is perfect for my frame and I fit into all other medium Patagonia products as well.

May 10, 2018

Too slim for a slim guy

I'm 5'-7" and 120lbs and am slim in the upper body. I wear an XS in all Patagonia clothing and find that with this hoody,I can only wear a tshirt or thin long-sleeve underneath without the armpits and torso area feeling too tight. The fit is very form-fitting and is perhaps geared for more technical climbing use,but I use this as an ... Read Moreeveryday hoody. The fit is definitely slim around the arms (especially the armpit),and torso. That said,the fabric is great and provides a good amount of warmth without being overly bulky.

April 24, 2018

Nice looking jacket but the arms are super tight!

Unfortunately going to return it or give it to someone it might fit better. I bought on sale and not sure I want to go to XXL because the rest of the jacket will be too big.

April 3, 2018

Sleeves are SO LONG

Loved this jacket the instant I put it on but didn't keep it because the sleeves are SO LONG. They were all bunched up around my wrist and up my forearms. If I pulled them all the way down,they almost cover my entire hands. I'm a slim 5'8" and a small fit like a dream except for the sleeve length. Those who say that this jacket ... Read Moreis too slim fitting...well,it's slim fit. The normal Better Sweater line is Regular Fit.

March 17, 2018

Good hoody but the arms are a little small

I bought this over a month ago. I've worn it skiing,around town,to work and sitting outside when the evening is a bit cold. Overall,this is a really good hoody. The deep pockets hold my phone,my ski map at new ski areas or my keys well. The hood is a great feature. A little cold breeze? Hood is up and you're warm. There is only one thing ... Read Morethat I don't like. The arms are a little too tight for me. I have muscular arms just like my father. Otherwise I'm fairly slim. No problems around the waist or chest; but regardless of what I wear under this,the arms are tight enough that I have to physically hold my sleeves to keep them from rolling and bunching up under this. A little more room would be great! I'll keep it though and wait on one of my boys or my girls to steal it. (Just like they do with the rest of my Patagonia gear.) If you have large arms like me,be sure to buy your other Patagonia gear with the thumb loops. It helps!

February 24, 2018

Very high quality

For reference,I am 6'3" 190lbs. Bought this in a large and it fits perfectly. The material is very nice and it has kept its form very nicely. Very happy with this purchase.

February 24, 2018

tight in the shoulders

I wanted to love this hoody but the sizing is weird. I am a pretty average sized 6'0/180 and got a large but will have to return it. I know it's supposed to be slim fit but i thought that meant the waist. The waist ad length are fine but the shoulders/upper back/arms are super tight/binding with only a t-shirt on underneath.

January 30, 2018

Perfect Hoody

I've had the hoody for about a month and simply I love this thing - basically haven't taken it off. Perfect over a t-shirt,does well over a flannel. I don't know I'd go much deeper than that with it though. I was a bit skeptical because of some of the reviews saying how slim fit it is,but I really don't find it to be that. ... Read MoreI'm 5'9 180lbs and the Large is about perfect. It's for sure more sweatshirt like than (on me) than something truly fitted. That said,I am a cyclist so my version of slim fit may be a bit different. Once it gets beat up (in few years) I can for sure see this as a staple of spring/fall MTB/Hiking/Running wear.

January 18, 2018

Great layer

I have used this a lot this past fall as a quick layer handler down jacket for cold commute and nights or as a light evening layer after yoga or couch Netflix. It is a form a fitting so if you don't like a tight fit this is not for you. The hood is great when needed and stays out of way when don't. Arms are tight so can't layer much ... Read Moreunderneath but soft inside so hasn't been needed. Biggest conn is my short beard gets aught in zipper soften and pulls. Annoying but not a deal breaker for daily use

January 16, 2018

Perfect for slim builds

As a skinny guy I love this piece - fits me the way the regular better sweater should. Casual enough to wear around town but technical enough to take it into the mountains. Also appreciate the omission of contrast zips/stitching - I much prefer the monotone colourways available atm. Quickly become my favourite fleece.

June 28, 2017

Great Climbing Jacket

A nice heavyweight fleece,tight around the waist,long arms,and roomy pits/shoulders make it perfect for climbing. Unless you're very slim the fit likely won't work for most casual wear.

May 21, 2017

Forearms Way Too Tight

I love your products ,however the forearms are way too tight on this item ! I gave it to my 6' tall daughter She's very happy ! I'm a bit frustrated

May 8, 2017

Nice piece of clothing

Nicely finished trim fitting garment. Great for layering.

March 1, 2017

Amazing!

This is the best jacket I've ever owned! I almost didn't buy it because of the price,but am glad I pulled the trigger. Super comfortable,light weight and breaths well. Definitely size up if you don't like slim jackets.

October 22, 2016

A hands down winner!

This hoody is awesome!!! It's is my go to zipp for any temperature colder than a t shirt would handle. Early morning commutes,alpine starts on the trail,post dawn patrol,suffering through a day in an over air conditioned building,you name it! Looks great,feels great. I'm not lying I immediately bought another in a different color after ow... Read Morening for only a few days. Now for the fit,something to truly rave about. Best fitting hoody I've ever bought. It's sleeves are long enough for me (6'3) but not a bit of this hoody is baggy. I wear a large and I am just so impressed with how well it fits and how well it regulates my temperature. It's breathable and moisture wicking with a classic look and appeal. A true winner Patagonia. Thanks

October 19, 2016

Fits perfect

this thing is awesome. might have to get another one to wear when this one is in laundry. i only wish other patagonia items were made with this fit!

September 18, 2016

Finally! Slim fit

This is a no brainer purchase. Patagonia is finally dialing in their fit. Usually I need to decide between large that is slightly baggy with sleeves that are the right length or medium that is a little too small and sleeves that are a little too short. The new cut is slim with sleeves that are just the right length,a touch on the long side. I'... Read Morem 6'2",190lbs and the large is spot on.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches