Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® 1/4 Zip Fleece

Write Your Review

4.36 /5

Filter Reviews

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Performance Better Sweater® 1/4 Zip Fleece

4.36
True To Size
February 21, 2020

Better sweater

Wore this for a month and the stitching around waist started to unravel.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we are sorry to hear about the stitching on your pullover. We'd encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us so we can get you a refund or replacement.

January 20, 2020

Smaller than Patagonia's usual.

A lighter weight than the 'regular' Better Sweater, which is great, and proportionally similar. The main difference is that mine is about 3/4 of a size smaller. Given that the 'regular' one I had was about 1/4 size larger than their other fleeces, this one is still smaller than I expected. Tighter in the sleeves and across the s... Read Morehoulders (I have bigger shoulders than most climbers, and have done fine in Patagonia Large size for about 25 years) If you're at the top end of a size, I would recommend ordering up. Otherwise, it's holding up well after real outdoor use for three months.

January 3, 2020

Stylish and functional

Very pleased with the look and fit of the Performance Better Sweater. Fits great and very comfortable and warm.

January 1, 2020

Very nice Quality , fit

Very nice Quality , fit and look

December 31, 2019

awesome product

awesome product

December 30, 2019

Ms Performance Better Sweater® 14-Zip

given as a gift to my granddaughter, she was excited to receive it! Seemed to be of good quality...

December 29, 2019

Nice fit

Comfortable and good looking. Only complaint is to sit down you have to pull up the bottom of the sweater; otherwise it is uncomfortable. Perhaps the elastic panels should stop short of the hem.

December 28, 2019

Great!

Bought a large for my 6’2”, 168 lb son. Looks and fits great.

December 25, 2019

Medium fit

I have other Patagonia sweaters. Sizing isn’t consistent - sometimes I need medium. In this particular case I need a large. Will be retuning/exchanging.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Geraint! We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you. The Performance Better Sweater 1/4 Zip is a slim fit item, which might be why it felt different than your other Patagonia garments. We would recommend checking out the [Better Sweater 1/4 Zip](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-better-sweater-quarter-zip-fleece/25523.html?dwvar_25523_color=NKL&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=better%2Bsweater&lang=en_US&start=1) as this version offers a regular fit. Of course, you are welcome to return any items you are unsatisfied with [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 23, 2019

Love it

Love it

December 10, 2019

Dig it

I’ve had mine for a couple weeks and really like it so far. The jacket fits great. I’m 6’ 2” and 185-190 lbs. slimmer fit which I prefer. Would definitely buy another.

December 7, 2019

Warm

First Patagonia fleece and it's as warm as most of my coats! Keeps me warm on the mountains of VT and streets of CT!

December 6, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

December 2, 2019

Mens jacket

great quality and delivered quickly ! Very satisfied. My grandson loves it!

November 30, 2019

Nice quality piece

Nice quality piece

November 21, 2019

Love this Sweater

Can’t say enough good things about this sweater.

November 11, 2019

This is a wonderful sweater.

This is a wonderful sweater. My first one of this line. I love it!

November 9, 2019

Awesome Sweater

I love the color and fits great.

November 9, 2019

Performance Better Sweater

Great looking. I can use it as a sweater for work or a good base layer for a hike. It is on the slim side.

October 17, 2019

Perfect lightweight sweater

Love the color, form fitting look but stretchy and comfortable! I’m 5’9” 160lbs and ordered size M.

October 7, 2019

Perfect fit, great quality

I decided to get a Patagonia fleece for the first time after years of other brands. The quality is excellent. It's so much nicer than any other I've had previously.

September 3, 2019

Good stuff!

I needed something slightly *fancier* than an old sweatshirt for when it's freezing in our office and this fits the bill perfectly. It looks nicer than a sweatshirt & feels better too.

September 1, 2019

Poor fabric quality

I own a Patagonia Better Sweater and absolutely love it. I needed something more sporty so I decided to give the performance better sweater a try. Mistake. The fabric is completely different form the regular Better Sweater, within a few days it had developed tons of tiny mothballs which made it look worn out and old. In addition, the color complete... Read Morely faded with the first wash. Stick to the regular better sweater.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We're very sorry you're disappointed with your purchase. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

August 31, 2019

Better sweater

The fit is perfect the color is exactly what I wanted. Too warm to wear this time of the year. I have purchased Patagonia clothing for over 40 years and I’m always impressed.

August 29, 2019

Stylish AND functional

Often one has to compromise one or the other. Once again, Patagonia has nailed it with their casual apparel which allows me to be an active dad, teacher and homemaker without needing to change my polo...

August 15, 2019

Better Sweater=Best Sweater

I love the performance fit of the better sweater. It's classy and fit's well for being active at a full-stride.

May 8, 2019

Comfortable

This fleece if very comfortable and great for moderate temperature days. Have received many compliments on it already as well.

April 16, 2019

Excellent

I am 6'4" and bought this in Large. I found that it is an excellent 1/4 zip for everyday use but I bought it for skiing. It fits well under my jacket and moves with me. On warm spring skiing days I wear this with a base layer and it is very comfortable despite not being windproof. It feels very durable and I know that it will last a very ... Read Morelong time. This fleece would work well for just about any activity where you need some heat.

January 6, 2019

XXL Slim Fit

6'4" 230 pounds athletic build and this sizing seems to be perfect. Plenty of arm and torso. Have R2 in same size and it fits larger, but 8 years older so who knows. This was purchased so I can add a company logo to it and wear for work events. It felt a little snug with a t shirt and button down on but not unbearable.

December 27, 2018

Thinner than Regular Better Sweater and Poor Quality

I own several better sweaters and got this one as it appeared to have a more slim fit and I wasn't too satisfied with it due to a few things. The material of this sweater is thinner than the regular Better Sweater and so I felt it wasn't as warm. I ordered this item from a authorized reseller and when I got it, I noticed that the stitchin... Read Moreg on the bottom cuffs were coming off in several locations, the stitching on the bottom border is only a single layer and is thin and not reinforced so it started to come off, I really didn't expect that to start happening on such an expensive sweater. Luckily I was able to get it fixed as I didn't want to pay the return shipping to send it back nor send it in for repairs, but I was disappointing that a brand new sweater had stitching that was coming off already..

November 21, 2018

Great style & function. Perfect sizing!

It is so nice to buy clothing from a company that does not indulge in 'vanity sizing' these days. I'm 5'8" 144lbs with a 37" chest as measured, and the small sweater fit me perfectly. This is in contrast to many other outdoor outfitters whose sizes have crept up to the point that their 'small' articles are no... Read Morew sized somewhere between medium and large (EB I'm looking at you), which is a problem if like me you truly are small. Anyway, I'm extremely happy with the style and quality of this garment, and will continue to give Patagonia my business.

October 31, 2018

Not for dog owners.

Dog hair weaves right into this thing. Can't even get it off with a lint roller. Unwearable.

May 5, 2018

Exquisite quality - slim fit

I'm 5' 10 1/2" and weigh 152 lbs and size medium fits me well - I doubt size small would have worked for me: this is definitely slim fit through the body and chest. The quality of construction,materials,and design is outstanding. I may buy another one.

November 15, 2017

Excellent 1/4 Zip

I own three of these and wear them all of the time. I also own original 1/4 zip better sweater,but I am a convert to Performance Better Sweater. I had to go up one size from Original to Performance. Would highly recommend.

October 7, 2017

Great mix on the classic sweater

Definitely a slim fit- but very cumfy and has a cool look to it

June 4, 2017

Good substitute for tall size

I'm 6'6" with a 6'8" wingspan/athletic build. Size XL was a fantastic fit.

May 21, 2017

Good quality sizing not great

I bought x large which is what I usually wear but this product needs xxl then because of the larger size it is too long kept it anyway nice pullover but sizing is not accurate

May 7, 2017

Too slim and rectangular

I am an athletic individual,and this did not come close to fitting me. Waist was fine,but the shoulders were tight and tiny,and the chest was skin tight. I'm not overly muscular,but this was clearly made for an individual with no muscle or upper body strength.

April 15, 2017

It's everything I expected

I love the sweater. It's the perfect all-around sweater. I can wear it as a mid layer for skiing,or for just casual wear around town.

March 22, 2017

Best Better Sweater Yet

This is the real deal. Even better than the original because of the better fit (not as huge) and performance stretch sides. Still looks like a sweater but performs like an active base layer. I immediately bought a second color and would like to grab more. Please keep it just like it is. More colors,like navy,would be great.

March 21, 2017

New and Improved

This is where Patagonia shines---technical but looks great in a work setting I've used these as a base layer snowboarding in Tahoe and fishing in Minnesota in the fall. No limits to its use

February 12, 2017

Great fleece line,but why...

I really like this new performance Better Sweater fleece line from Patagonia,and this is my favorite piece since I spend most of winter in fleece zip-t's. The knit fleece is cozy and very warm,and the PowerStretch sides are nice - one of my all time favorite outdoor fleece materials. I really like the elastic cuffs and hem on this piece,and wi... Read Moresh Patagonia would do this on every fleece they make,especially the R2 and R3. The only thing I wish Patagonia left off here,and would stop putting on everything they make is the outside chest zip pocket. I've never once used it on anything,and as this piece in particular is more for around town,I'd really like a less 'technical' look that it gives it. otherwise the off should seams are great and all around this is a nice piece. I also appreciate that they have good-looking solid colors,and not all the contrast color zips that they seem to want to put on everything too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches