burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight Better Sweater? Jacket

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight Better Sweater? Jacket

4.2/5
Kinda Large
April 26, 2022

Nice

Fits perfectly and just the right weight.

April 9, 2022

Great Sweater

I love this one and wear it all of the time at home. My only complaint is that pet hair sticks to it like glue and is nearly impossible to remove with lint roller. My go-to house sweater. Only wish I could wear it in public!

April 4, 2022

Better Sweater

This is my third better sweater and it is a nice jacket, very functional as a under-layer or a light weight jacket. I love the double zips, however the fit is a little offit is too loose from the elbow to the wrist.

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2022

Hi Jonathan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the fit feeling off from the elbow to the wrist. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design crew.

March 24, 2022

Good, but not ideal for thin people

I think this is a solid product, but it didn't work for my thin body type, despite being a "slim" fit. The shoulders and arms were the right size, but it was rather large/loose in the gut. I'm going to go back to wearing my R2 fleece which has always been exactly right.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Hi Evan! Thank you for writing us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the sweater was a bit baggy in areas. This feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us to improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2022

Great sweater. Size up!

Ordered this one for something with breathability. Quality and function are great but this is slim fit to the extreme. Im already of a slim build and I probably should have sized up to a M.

March 15, 2022

Pretty good, but fabric is odd

Background: Minnesota. Almost 6'4" and pretty slim body build (about 210 lbs). This is a slightly trimmer fit than some other Patagonia tops I have like the R1 Techface Jacket, Uprisal Hoodie, and Nano-Air jacket - all of which I wear in size XL. The Good: The XL fits wonderfully, although it's juuuuuust long enough in the sleeves a... Read Morend body. The lightweight is much preferred to the standard Better Sweater which I find to be way too bulky, boxy, and hot for casual wear. I like the collar which stands on its own, or folds down if you want. I really like the dual chest pockets with hidden zippers feature, as well as the zippered side pockets. All around good fit for me, has a refined look due to the slightly trimmer cut, and has tasteful features that work well in a casual environment and don't scream, "I'm a technical garment!" The Bad: The fabric is kind of odd.... it almost has a velco-like quality which grips any loose hair that you may come near - from the couch, from other people, whatever. I'm constantly picking hairs off of it. Kind of hard to explain, but it also seems like it's a dust magnet that traps and holds pet dander, airborne allergens, etc. It's really quite noticeable and can make it uncomfortable to wear by the end of the day. I don't know if that's caused by the fabric itself of the weave. I might actually be returning this one unfortunately because it's really that bad - which really bums me out because at 6'4" it can be difficult to find things that fit this well.

February 21, 2022

Just right for cool days casual or hike

I like the feel of this jacket.it looks great as casual attire but performs just a good on cool weather hikes, etc. Perfect companion to my other Patagonia jackets.

February 19, 2022

Buy only if you are over 6 feet

For us smaller guys this is way big, length wise - arms and torso. It will be well below your butt and even at 150lb it was snug. This will fit you perfectly if you are over 6ft and weight less than 130

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

Hi Juan, thank you for sharing your feedback about this jacket. That's very helpful to both our customers and our product designers. We're very sorry this jacket didn't fit properly, and we're glad to see you've been able to get it returned. If you'd ever like specific measurements on a product you can contact our Customer Service Team with any questions, so that you can feel confident about your purchase.

February 16, 2022

Wanted to like...but the fit was WAY to small

While I knew the fit was "fitted", I thought at 6'3" and 190# a large would fit. No dice...just way to tight. Back it went. Wanted to like it but couldnt.

January 20, 2022

Warm

I am 5 6 tall and weigh 143 lbs. my arms are 28.5 . I tried the fleece in both medium and small. Both were way too snug and the sleeves were way too long.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

Thank you for writing this review, David. We're so sorry neither of those sizes was the right fit! Please know you are always welcome to return anything that doesn’t work out for you, so if you haven't already you can start that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). If you'd ever like to get specific measurements on any garment you can reach out to our Customer Service Team via phone or secure chat and they'll be happy to help!

January 2, 2022

The Best

Comfortable,Warm and Fits Great!

December 30, 2021

Great jacket.

Keeps you warm and very breathable. I usually run warm so this jacket is perfect for casual wear or business casual when going into the office. Very stylish with the slim fit.

December 9, 2021

Fit form function!

warm, light, snug and serves its purpose very well!

November 2, 2021

Versatile and Slim Sweater

Love this as a spring/fall jacket or winter layer. Fit is somewhat slim (great for layering), but length is perfect. Has lots of stretch and is very soft. Breathes better than the original Better Sweater. Works great with a collared shirt or t-shirt underneath.

October 26, 2021

Good for Fall day, crisp morning

Its a little stiff, but give it some wear and after a bit is more flexible to form.

October 25, 2021

Great product- love it

Love this product. I'm 6'1, 190, average build, and got a size L. It fits perfectly. Not too baggy like the normal Better Sweater. It's quickly become my go-to zip-up for layering during the fall months in Chicago. Seams feel great, it's warm but breathable, and I love the look of the dark navy with a pair of jeans and a t-shirt... Read More underneath on the weekends, or thrown over a polo shirt at work if my office gets too cold. I love this so much I'll probably buy a second one if they ever release it in a dark gray or black.

May 21, 2021

Bring back the Performance Better Sweater

This is not a bad product, but I find the fit a bit boxy and the two chest pockets are awkward. This seems to be the successor to the Performance Better Sweater, but in that regard it pales in comparison. PBS had a more athletic and comfortable fit and a better silhouette. Id go back to one chest pocket and a trimmer fit.

May 11, 2021

Trim fit

Not baggy like every other.

May 8, 2021

Garbage

Way too tight and too many uncomfortable seams. The seams inside are not flat and rub with every move. Can't wear anything under it since it clings to it. The cut is either for very narrow shoulders or maybe female, or guys who like to look like a sausage. Regular better sweater is decent, this one goes to trash, not worth even trying more aft... Read Moreer wearing twice.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on our Lightweight Better Sweater Jacket. It sounds like perhaps a size up could help with the issues you encountered, if you'd like to begin an exchange please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Otherwise, you can begin a return on that same page.

April 23, 2021

Great product

Gift for my husband ~ he Loves it

April 20, 2021

Very comfortable

This zip up replaces a much worn Arcterex zip up that has been discontinued. It's warm, breathable, and very comfortable. While slightly thicker than what I was originally looking for, I've come to love it. I'm going to order another in a different color for some variety.

March 3, 2021

Warm and fashionable

Warm and fashionable is the best way to describe this jacket. It is a great light layer for cool but not cold days. It is also a very environmentally conscious purchase if your goal is to reduce your carbon footprint.

February 16, 2021

Great Purchase

I bought the regular better sweater first and that is definitely a boxier (but not bad) fit and much warmer than this. In fact, it may be one of the warmer things I own so I grab that when truly cold. But I also find myself overheating in it at times. I definitely prefer the Lightweight most days, since I don't really overheat in it. I've... Read More taken it hiking in 50 degrees with some wind and the wind definitely cut through the arms and made me cold there with just a t-shirt underneath at first but turned out to be the right level of warmth as the hike went on and was breathable under the arms. I'd love to own another of these in a different color at some point. It's great.

January 12, 2021

Great Product

Got this for Christmas. Great style, great fit. 4 pockets. Two are chest are handy. Have gotten lots of compliments. Im definitely getting another one. Have to wait till February.

December 31, 2020

Looks good!

Immediate happiness!

December 17, 2020

Typical high Patagonia quality

I like the design, the fit and the build quality of the (and all) Patagonia garment.

December 9, 2020

Love it!

Great!

November 11, 2020

Comfortable

Comfortable and fits well. Usually wear an Xl in Patagonia jackets but this fits better for me as a XXL.

November 3, 2020

Super comfortable

Great jacket! Warm and soft

April 18, 2020

Awesome jacket with one odd quirk

This is a great jacket. I wear it whenever its cool outside and I find that it does a good job of keeping me warm in the morning as I ride my bike to work. One issue I have with it is that the elastic wrist cuffs are quite large. They don't seem to really do anything at all. I also have the hoody version and have noticed that they are the same... Read More. I notice with other Patagonia products that the elastic cuffs are more snug which I like. I am curious if they are intentionally larger on the better sweater.

March 10, 2020

Great every day sweater

I've had this sweater for about a week and am really enjoying it. Fit and warmth is very similar to the older "Performance Better Sweater" that I traded in for this, and the fit is much more flattering and less boxy than that of the regular Better Sweater which works better for my body. I mostly use this for casual hanging out but ha... Read Moreve also worn it as a layer for skiing and walking, however this piece would not replace the technical fleece mid-layer I usually wear for winter activities. I've worn this at 30F and 65F with just a shirt underneath and it does a good job of keeping me warm anywhere in that range, unless it is windy.

March 5, 2020

California Approved

I bought this jacket to wear indoors at work in the hospital. The lightweight version is light enough that I don't overheat even if I'm inside all day, yet warm enough as I walk from parking into work. The sleeves are a bit on the long side which works for me because I'm tall, but I could see this jacket not working well for someone ... Read Morewho is not tall. I dig the double chest pocket for holding a phone, tucking away some headphones or some pre-drawn medications. I've had several iterations of the better sweater over the years: this is by far my favorite one.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches