burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Out Yonder Coat Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 110 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Out Yonder Coat

4.6/5
True To Size
June 16, 2022

Warmer than expected

Not heavy for canvas/wool but kept me warm in 20-30 DF in Canada while walking around for a few hours. I wore Patagonia Women's Capilene Cool Trail Tank Top for core baselayer (wicking), long sleeve cotton tee shirt and the Out Yonder Coat. With room for more layers, depending on thickness. This is a well made Work Coat that looks nice (Smolde... Read Morer Blue). The description is straight-fit silhouette/regular fit (see Fit Guide) so it is a bit boxy as work coats are made for movement. It can be cinched at the waist for a trimmer look. For reference I am 5 ft 4 in, 130 lbs, purchased size S. My fit guide sizing: Formfitting = M Slim fit = M or S Regular fit = S size Relaxed fit = XS size Always check the Fit Guide

April 19, 2022

My favorite casual go to jacket

This jacket is perfect for the crazy weather we get in MI where it can be 30 degrees in the mornings and at night and then 60 during the day. I wear it to drop/pick up my kids from the bus, doing spring and fall yard work, running errands, hiking in the woods and around campfires at night. The lakeshore can get really cold in the summer nights and ... Read Morethis does really well with keeping me warm. It is a boxier fit so I can wear a flannel or sweater with it comfortably.

March 18, 2022

Great fit

So pleased. Really didnt think it would be so warm but indeed it is. The fit is perfect and I can wear the coat with a bulky sweater with no problem

March 16, 2022

Sleeve length discrepancy

Ordered the size xs. Sleeves were borderline too short. On top of that, one sleeve was 1/2 inch shorter than the other. Returned and reordered the size small hoping for longer sleeves. One sleeve was okay but the other sleeve was 1 1/2 inches shorter than the other. Seems to be a design flaw, at least with the sage color coat. I was devastated as I... Read More loved the style but had to return both coats. For reference, I'm 5' 7" 120 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

We're so sorry to hear about this discrepancy in the sleeves. We hope that our Customer Service team was able to take care of you and make the return process as painless and efficient as possible. Thanks for your review, Lisa!

February 27, 2022

such a great work coat - and cute for around town, too

love this coat, great fit through the body, pockets where you need em. perfect weight to layer if its really cold or on its own when its above 30. the collar is still a bit itchy after a month and the sleeves could use another inch (on me) but all in all 5*

February 22, 2022

Perfect for Hiking

I got this jacket for Christmas. I really love it, so I got one in a different color for my daughter for her birthday. This jacket is perfect for hiking or just taking a walk. It keeps out the wind (even in Wyoming), but it is not so airtight that you get all sweaty and wet from the inside. The length is great, I don't get a cold back, should ... Read Moreit get colder I can wear an additional light sweater underneath. Concerning the size - I wear small and medium depending - usually small would fit tighter for me. Wonderful product, can only recommend it.

February 4, 2022

Warm, Durable Jacket

Bought this for my wife as a winter coat. I was nervous because many people said it wasn't warm enough. They were wrong! Wife says it is extremely warm and she gets compliments on the style / design of the jacket often. I'm extremely pleased with the jacket and expect it to last for many winters.

January 30, 2022

Camping casual

Perfect fit still room for layers and perfect length. I love it

January 28, 2022

Wonderful

Was excited to get this jacket. It has a loose fit which is great in my opinion. Colors were true to picture. The jacket is not to heavy though still keeps you warm.

January 26, 2022

Amazingly Perfect

Bought this for my Little Lady to wear around town and work on the land. She loves it and I must say is Smokin Hot while wearing it! We have many pieces of technical Patagonia wear that fit in our outdoor pursuits and this fits in perfectly for what its made to do...!!!

January 25, 2022

OUT YONDER JACKET

I saw this jacket on a friend and it was not available in this years' model. But I found some on the website and am very glad i DID. i purchased 2 sizes (S & M) and depending upon the underclothes, this works well. Love it.

January 24, 2022

Cozy & Cute

Love the inside of the jacket it is incredibly comfortable. I love in Wisconsin and it can withstand that cold weather as well. I have also received many compliments on it from people that say it looks great!

January 22, 2022

Very warm, but light weight.

This jacket is my new favorite jacket. My husband surprised me with it. We both love it. Very good material, very warm, but still light weight! Perfect jacket!!

January 22, 2022

Runs large, warm, slightly heavy

I am 5'4" & 180 lbs & the medium was slightly roomy. This is definitely a more loose/oversize fit. I couldn't have sized down as Small would've been too tight so I just kept the Medium. It's fine if I were to layer. It's a great, good quality coat but can feel heavy if wearing all day or if you've layered ... Read Moreunder. It's also very warm.

January 10, 2022

Super comfortable!

I love the jacket so much and I am wearing it so often that I bought a second one in the same color scheme.

January 6, 2022

Unique Coat

I was trying to decide whether to order a small or medium, and I went with a small based off of the reviews others left. I'm glad I went with the small because it is still larger than I would prefer. With a sweater, there is still a few extra inches of room in the coat, however I am pretty flat chested and 130 lbs. The fit isn't the most... Read More flattering. There are draw strings to cinch in the waist, but the material is stiff so it looks a little odd. Maybe with time the material will soften up and look more relaxed. I don't find the neck to be itchy like others mentioned in their reviews. It is also possible to fold down the collar if you do find it irritating.

December 31, 2021

Great deal

Got a super deal. Yay. I recommend this coat the color is great

December 30, 2021

Loved it so much, I bought 2 more!

Perfect coat for cooler winter mornings/nights in South Florida. Not heavy but not light, roomy enough to do work around the ranch. Bought one for myself and ended up buying 2 more for my best friend and sister in law. Its comfortable, functional, and stylish.

December 24, 2021

Seems durable

Not flattering in the slightest and doesnt do a very good job at keeping you warm.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2022

Hey Brittany, thanks for the review. Our Out Yonder Coat is more of a casual and stylish option, but as you mentioned, it will not be the warmest. We're not sure what conditions you're working in but we'd be happy to have a conversation to figure out what would work best! Please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

December 16, 2021

Perfect in between

Its the perfect in between weather coat and great for layering with a little extra room but not too much. Great in between length as well! In love : )

December 15, 2021

Warm and cute

Super cute and warm great fit but the collar is a little itchy with with wool fabric being on the inside collar!

December 15, 2021

Yep. Yep. Yep.

I got this on sale and am so happy with the product! I am an XS in all Patagonia jackets, and this still fits exactly how I wanted it to: with enough room for layers, but not too snug. I bought it for a more rugged winter jacket and have worn it about 5 times. I get lots of compliments on it and love it so far!! Only thing I can think of is that th... Read Moree inside lining of the pocket is a bit thin; I'm afraid keys could rip it or something.

December 9, 2021

Truly comfortable

It says its a straight fit but there are draw strings to help enhance a curve. I have a long torso and often jackets are short, this one fit perfect also I get lots of comments, Ive never seen a Patagonia coat in that style. The material is at carheart level which is great. I am a basket weaver and working with some of the material for weaving can ... Read Moreleave a coat or shirt torn up and this coat is very durable. So far my favorite coat. Oh also I am 5/10 125 lbs and I bought a size small. Fit perfect. Even enough room to wear a sweater underneath. Also, I am pretty much flat chested so that might play a part with the fit.

December 5, 2021

warm and casual looking!

N/A

December 2, 2021

Nice overall coat

I really like this coat. I usually wear an XL and fit pretty comfortably in the Large. The only thing I don't like it that it is a bit snug around the hips and the collar rubs on your neck alot especially not zipped up.

November 26, 2021

Really warm

Super warm coat. Fit is a little boxy and the collar is kind of itchy, but other than that its a perfect coat

November 26, 2021

Great coat

This coat is great. It is cozy, fits well, and is plenty warm for almost winter weather in the south. The quality seems great as well. So glad i purchased it!

November 20, 2021

Not warm

Loose fit and not very warm

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2021

Hey Asif, thank you for the review on the Out Yonder Coat. This coat has a regular fit and 100 g's of THERMOLITE ECO92 insulation. We're always happy to help you decide on what will work best for you, your lifestyle and the conditions you live in. It sounds like you need something a bit warmer, and you'll likely use the jacket casually. If this is the case the [Women's Down With It Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-down-with-it-parka/28441.html?dwvar_28441_color=TOPB&cgid=womens-jackets-vests) would be worth looking at. It has 234 g's of down and a slim fit.

November 16, 2021

Super comfy

I love this coat!! It is so comfy! The front pockets are super big ! They will hold a lot of stuff!! I have gotten so many compliments on it! Roomy and warm!! Best coat I ever bought especially for the price!!

November 16, 2021

Perfect weight

Great coat that has a nice weight and warmth!

October 29, 2021

Warm and comfortable

The M fit but I prefer to size up so I bought an L. The navy is coat is beautiful and it has waist drawstrings so I can cinch them. I love the style of the coat and I like that it has a nice collar that can be zipped up which adds more warmth. Great purchase, and on sale!

October 15, 2021

Warm, comfortable, and gorgeous

Warm, comfortable, and gorgeous

October 5, 2021

Like the jacket!

I was looking for a Carhart type jacket but not as stiff! I love this! The only thing I would add is a hood. I like the length. For reference Im not chesty and weight about 175.

September 30, 2021

Cute and comfy

I get compliments everywhere I go- love the warmth, weight and throwback look.

September 24, 2021

Warmest Jacket I own

I first purchased the green one and it was so warm I decided on the beige jacket too. I also purchased the beige micro fleece to go with it. The colors are warm and look nice together. I fish all the way through December so this will be my warm coat this year for sure along with the green one. It runs a tad big but I like lots of room to wear layer... Read Mores in the winter. I am a true medium.

September 24, 2021

Neck Area & Arm Lengths Larger Than Expected

I'm petite, but I have a long neck. Still, the neck area seems to hit me right at my chin, which I don't experience with other jackets. The arms are longer than expected, but the width is okay, as I'm obese yet petite and needed a coat to cover my flaws. Initially, I ordered my usual size in XL, but then I found that to be too big fo... Read Morer my petite-yet-obese frame, so I exchanged it for a size L. The size L barely fits, but I do plan on losing weight, and I did wash and dry this coat in the machine (gentle cycles), and it seemed to hold up. The green color (#26895 Color: SKA) is what I purchased, and I love the colors, which is true to what's on the computer screen. The style could use some improvement, and perhaps introducing petite sizes would be beneficial (so long as the arms aren't too short). It would also help to have English words on the labels to describe how to properly care for this jacket. Overall, I'd recommend this jacket for a thin, tall person. For short, petite, and/or overweight persons, this jacket might not be the best fit unless you don't mind some minor flaws. I decided to keep it, since it is my first Patagonia jacket ever, and I purchased it for sentimental and political reasons.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on fit. We're always happy to provide garment dimensions in the future. We're working toward extended sizing so we'll let our design team know you're looking forward to petite sizing.

September 10, 2021

The Beth coat

Im calling this my Beth coat because I feel like Im part of the cast of Yellowstone when I slip it on. I really like the slick lining which makes it easy to slip on and off, the deep pockets and the stand up collar. The fit is just right for me; loose enough to bend and stretch around our ranchette, warm and cozy. The wool panels mean that I wont b... Read Moree wearing this to feed horses but I have an older slicker Patagonia parka for that twice a day task. This is a great mountain town jacket; good for long walks, outdoor happy hour, swigging whiskey while sitting on the roof watching stars.

September 8, 2021

Extremely Warm

I bought this along with a beige contrast Micro D Snap T and wore it fishing last week. While bland in colors, for me, the fact that it was warm and the fleece made the outfit. I did get fish blood on my jacket early on in the day and rinsed it in cold water when I got home and it came out right away. I was so happy and I did not have to wash the e... Read Morentire jacket. Great wear Patagonia and I love how your colors can innermatch for the season. Patagonia is known for their quality, looks and backing of their products. Being warm this time of year is also very important so I don't miss out on my weekly fishing trips! Thank you for making me look good and feel good!

September 7, 2021

Nice and warm

Feels and looks great. Keep me warm. Light . Im 51 and wt 130, medium just right size. Comfortable

September 7, 2021

Cute & warm, but not that flattering

I was excited by this jacket, but when I preferred small was large and cinched in at waist making bottom of coat pucker in strangely. I sent back and got an extra small its much better however its still cinches strangely around the waist. Cute and warm but not as flattering as Id hoped. Im 54 117lbs

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Hi Hezzy, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the coat. We really appreciate this feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 6, 2021

Cute coat, good but not great.

Its cute, its warm in the 45-50 degree weather. The wool is soft and nice and it feels well made. I rode horses in it for a few hours and it was quite comfortable, although the sleeves are tight in the biceps and shoulder area, but thats a lot of womens tops and jackets, as apparently we cant have more muscular arms and shoulders. Only other compla... Read Moreint, with the collar zipped down a little, the canvas corner rubbed on my chin and made it super red and raw. The unrounded corner is very rough.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thank you for the detailed feedback Heather. We'll pass it along to our design team. If the jacket isn't working for you, you're always welcome to return it.

August 31, 2021

Not as rugged as it looks

I really wanted to believe that this was the perfect fall coat for the upper Midwest, but I wore it on the first 60 degree evening we had in late summer and could tell that its just not going to be warm below about 50. It looksand sounds, from the wool contentlike it could handle 30 degrees without issue, but wind bites right through the canvas sle... Read Moreeves, which are not as tightly woven as they could be. I will say that I tend to run cold, so maybe someone else would have better luck, but overall I dont think coat is up to much other than looking cute in an apple-picking photo on a temperate October day on Instagram.

August 30, 2021

Runs Large - Plan on Exchanging to Size Down

The sage color is amazing! I'm petite and overweight, so my typical size is XL (about a 16 to 18, depending), but sometimes I have to size down to a Large. In this case, the sleeves were super long and the sizing all around is bigger than expected. The boxed style is flattering for those who have love handles and want to hide some bodily flaws... Read More like I need to. But if it's too big, then it just looks like you borrowed your father's coat. I will try a Large, if they can exchange this for me.

August 28, 2021

Classic Fall Coat

Love this coat fits well and will be a good jacket for all my fall activities!

August 18, 2021

Great looking coat

I really like the looks of it, and I think it will be warmer than expected. Really well made. The length is good and fits well around the middle and chest. Wool is soft, not itchy. I am 53 and about 150. My only complaint, is the same as with most womens clothes, is that jackets are made for little noodle arm folks. It is a little tight in the bice... Read Morep area and shoulders when I move my arms around. It would be hard to wear a sweater or sweatshirt under it, but fits beautifully everywhere else. Ima fraud a large would be way too big. Also maybe Im going blind, but I cant find cleaning instructions anywhere.

August 16, 2021

Temperature Ratings, Plz!

I thought I read the description for this product, but must have missed where it was described as perfect for fall. (My partner found that in the description after I received the jacket and couldnt figure out if it would be warm enough for Midwestern winters.) It is a boxy fit, so it looked and felt too big. I like its style; would like it more if ... Read Moreit was a more narrow fit.

Response from Patagonia
August 16, 2021

Hey Anna, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We unfortunately cannot temperature rate our garments because, simply put, everyone's bodies are different! Due to the subjective nature of comfort, and each person's individual body temperature fluctuation (some folks run hot, and some run cold), we cannot put a number rating on a garment. Body temperature also changes with movement - whereas we can temperature rate a sleeping bag since there is minimal movement and our temperatures don't fluctuate as much while we are sleeping.

August 10, 2021

Well made, runs big

Love the coat. Very well made. Runs large. Model is definitely tall because coat hits me mid thigh, but still looks cute and will be great in fall and spring when dont need down coat.

May 1, 2021

Versatile and warm, my new go-to jacket

This is the perfect spring/fall jacket! Its not fitted but I like that it runs a little large (57, 125 lb and usually wear small tops), its something different and its so comfortable. A vest adds just the right amount of additional warmth and it comfortably fits a fleece without restricting my arms, which is perfect for using binoculars and fishing... Read More. Im in the Midwest and with its versatility I think it will be great for many different seasons. I was initially looking at lighter weight puffer jackets but couldnt decide on a hip length or something longer, then I came across this jacket and I couldnt be more pleased. It fits comfortably in my waders and also provides just the right amount of additional warmth with the length just past the hips. The pockets are very roomy and an inside pocket is always a welcomed addition. I dont find the collar to be overly scratchy as some have stated but I usually have a higher tolerance for wool scratchiness. Overall I am very pleased and look forward to using this jacket for years to come!

April 19, 2021

Fits well, seems durable from the outside

Purchased for outside tree and project work. I like the length and fit (longer and leaner than carhartt), the wool and canvas seem durable for outside work. However the pockets are kind of a let-down. The inside pocket is just one layer of a thin material and I don't feel like I could safely put heavier things inside of them. For a work coat I... Read More want to feel like I can put tools and stuff in them. I'm going to return this jacket and keep hunting!

April 9, 2021

Warn and stylish

Love the fit and the quality!

April 6, 2021

Warm

Material good quality but it's heavy

March 30, 2021

unique and awesome

Super warm and unique coat. Most puffy costs are great, but feels like everyone has one. This is such a great look whether commuting in the city or out hiking in nature. Resilient and fashionable.

March 28, 2021

Just ok

Warm mid weight jacket good for in between months. Pocket linings felt cheap like they might rip eventually. Definitely needs a two-way zipper as when I sit it kind of is tight on the hips but otherwise its a cute jacket that will do the job.

March 24, 2021

Nice fit!

Love it! Fits well and for a small short person, I don't disappear into it.

March 16, 2021

Love the Out Yonder!

Love this jacket from the cut and color to the deeper pockets. It is a fan favorite of mine and everyone always loves it when I wear it out. Great for every day and work wear

March 8, 2021

Surprisingly light and warm

Feels surprisingly light and roomy without looking large. A really nice alternative to ubiquitous puffer or wool jackets while still being as practical as either. Im tall and its just long enough for me, which is a relief, but I dont think it would be too long for a less tall, non petit person.

March 4, 2021

Unique and different

Really like this coat for those in between seasons. March, April, October, November. Its a warm coat, but wouldnt feel it would be warm enough for those really cold days. Its really different and unique than my usual Patagonia coats. Bought the green and it look great with jeans and a turtleneck. Very happy with my purchase.

March 4, 2021

Perfect Weight

Looking for a mid-weight jacket for hiking in Michigan weather. I felt like Goldilocks looking for the coat that was, just right. This is a great jacket! It is a perfect three season staple that can be layered on a snow day and block the wind in the fall or cool spring mornings. It is a sturdy canvas-like arms with a softer body that can be cinched... Read More at the waist or loosened for a nice fit over a sweater. Great quality zipper, snaps, stand-up collar and interior pocket met and exceeded all my expectations. I plan to use it as my go-to for years to come.

March 3, 2021

Loved it so much I bought it in another color!

Loved it so much I bought it in another color!

March 2, 2021

Coat for an Idaho Spring garden!

What a surprise find this coat is! It is very broken-in kind of comfortable. It does run a little large, by design probably, since it gives me plenty of room to move around in while gardening. Great coat!

March 1, 2021

Warm and durable

Great coat without being bulky. Love the vintage style and pattern.

February 27, 2021

The Perfect Casual Coat

Im 53, 150 pounds and this coat fits perfectly with enough room to fit layers - a Better Sweater, etc. - underneath. I love the detail on the collar and the cuffs. Theres also an interior pocket which is nice. This coat is also extremely warm! I absolutely love it.

February 26, 2021

too big

I am 5ft, 105 lb and the xs was too big on me, I am xs in radalie jacket and all other patagonia jackets, but this one was super big

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Hello Anabelia, we're sorry to hear this coat ended up being too big. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

February 26, 2021

Great coat

Got this on sale. Great all-around in-town coat. Warm, comfortable, good in/outside pockets. What a deal!

February 26, 2021

cool colors but boxy and unflattering

I ordered a small and a medium in this jacket since I have some Patagonia items in small and some in medium. Both sizes were too big (especially in the shoulders) and very boxy. I really wanted to like this jacket but it just doesn't look good on (at least on me!)

February 25, 2021

GOOD VALUE WITH ROOM FOR LAYERS

LOVE THIS JACKET...THINK OF IT AS A BARN JACKET...LOTS OF POCKETS FOR YR PHONE...KEYS...SMALL WALLET...WHATEVER...IT WORKS! STYLISH...WARM AND FUN!

February 25, 2021

Cozy, roomy, and stylish

I love this jacket. Its super warm. Somewhat boxy but not bulky. I layer a puffer jacket under it on extremely cold days. The lining is so soft to the touch I love putting my hands in my pockets.

February 25, 2021

Very good looking. Dressy or casual.

I bought this jacket one size larger than I wear so I could fit vests and sweaters under. It is a beautiful fit and a sturdy, good looking coat. I really love it!!

February 25, 2021

Warm lightweight sustainable & lovely

This is my favorite jacket. I hope to keep this jacket for years. It keeps me plenty warm in Alaska when its in the 30s and above. Lightweight dog approved! Built beautifully. I love the giant pockets too! Thank you Im in love

February 25, 2021

Easy to wear, my new favourite coat

A sturdy coat for daily outdoor activities. Warm enough for freezing temperatures. Good for hiking, skating, long walks, working outside. Durable material, easy to wear. Huge pockets hold heavy mittens or a thick knit hat.

February 24, 2021

Perfect ranch/riding jacket

Purchased as a barn coat and works perfectly. Fit is true to size but the wearer is able to move freely. beautiful design.

February 24, 2021

Ive gotten a bunch of compliments

I love this jacket. I typically wear a medium in Patagonia but based on previous reviews, I bought a small. It fits well everywhere but is a little tight in the shoulders. Ive gotten a number of compliments on this jacket. I love the look. The pockets are huge but when filled arent bulky. Overall, love this jacket.

February 24, 2021

I liked it so much I got 2 different colors!

I liked the jacket as soon as I saw it. Decided to order the Sage and the Tan and pick one. But when they came I decided to keep both, since they were on sale. I could really use an XXL but it didn't come in that size so I'm making do. It fits, but just snugger than I like. As always (for me) the sleeves are a bit too long but the jacket(... Read Mores) are perfect for most winter days in southern Colorado where we rarely get super cold temps. The jackets do a pretty fair job blocking the wind as well. They were a splurge, but I'm happy that I was able to decide not to decide when it came to the color.

February 24, 2021

Midweight Wonder

This coat is so cute on! Two of my nieces bought them and I was able to snag this one at a terrific price, too! A great weight for Fall and Spring (in the Midwest) and enough room to layer. My shoulders are narrower than my niece, but the coat fits both of us great. Highly recommend this casual but snazzy jacket.

February 23, 2021

The best!

I'm a standard M in Patagonia gear with the occasional L. This is a little oversized but perfect for extra warmth with the nano puff underneath. I'll likely wear in 30-45 degree temps here in CO. It's a winner!

February 16, 2021

Warm and Rugged

I have wanted this coat for a long time. I finally was able to get it from the sale and I am so happy I did! I'm 5'8 170lbs and got a large. I wear a sweatshirt underneath the jacket and it fits perfectly. It's long and my hips fit which is rare for Patagonia products. The waist has a cord you can tighten but it's uncomfortable ... Read Moreso I don't use it even though I have a small wait. The neck has the wool fabric which is itchy but with the protection with the sweater it isn't a big deal. Overall it's fantastic, warm, rugged, and ready to be worked in!

February 12, 2021

Amazing Coat

Im 53, 150 pounds and I purchased the small. It fits absolutely perfect with enough space to layer a fleece or a Better Sweater under it. The sleeves come down to my mid hand and it covers my entire bum for extra warmth. It covers what needs to be covered in the cold winter! The sleeves also roll up to reveal a cute detail so it definitely works fo... Read Morer a petite frame as well. The collar can be flipped up to cover up to your chin or rolled down for a more relaxed look. Also love the inside pocket for stashing a phone or cash. Its incredibly warm as well. Yall hit this one out of the park. Dont hesitate, just buy it!

February 9, 2021

Cute jacket love the color but I wouldn't get it unless you are tall...

I was so excited to get this jacket.I love the style and color. I was pleased with the weight of the coat. However I will have to return it. It's way too long and feels like a dress. I would have loved to know how tall the model was in this photo. The sleeves are also way too long. It's an adorable jacket if you are 5'5" I think... Read More it would fit you well. I wish I could submit a picture to show you how it fits on a smaller person.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Women's Out Yonder Coat! We appreciate your feedback. We're actively working on getting model stats on each product page and thank you for your patience as we sort it out. In the meantime, we're always happy to provide measurements if you reach out to Customer Service. It sounds like a size down could help with this, if you haven't already, feel free to start an [exchange here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 29, 2021

Beautiful jacket, looser fit, decently warm

Overall: This jacket is beautiful and I have gotten lots of compliments. It is easy to throw on feel just a little more polished than a typical puffer coat. The wool is recycle which is awesome. I would recommend this coat! Fit: This jacket runs a bit larger than I have found most Patagonia, but I think it is just a looser/boxier fit. I wouldnt ha... Read Moreve bought any smaller than my usual size but I can fit a fleece jacket and a sweater underneath, so it is good for layering and not fitted. Amenities: The closing is a zipper with buttons over top so you can do both if you want to look really crisp! The pockets are lined and warm, there are even interior pockets which are good for extra gloves or your phone (or dog treats in my case)! Negatives: For whatever reason, it is a little wrinkly, maybe it needs to be pressed but I havent yet. Also there is no hood which is fine, but the neck part comes up very high when fully zipped. This would be fine except its wool and very itchy, might need to wear a little scarf or not zip all the way.

January 26, 2021

So unique!

I have loved the look of this coat since I first laid eyes on it. I ordered a medium and exchanged it for a small as I thought the coat ran a little large.

January 24, 2021

My new casual

So glad I got this jacket for every day wear. Its warm but not too hot and doesnt look bulky. I did buy a small first but exchanged it for extra small because it did run a little big.

January 19, 2021

Love the Jacket But...

I loved this jacket but it's not good for layers underneath. The fit in the torso is fine but it's tight in the shoulders and the arms if you have any type of sweater/fleece/sweatshirt on. It's fine with a long sleeve t-shirt but not with layered winter wear clothing. I really wanted to wear this in the winter but consider it more of... Read More a spring/fall jacket as my winter attire makes it too tight in the shoulders and arms. I'm 5.5" 140lbs with a slightly athletic build - not muscle bound at all.

January 19, 2021

Very warm and stylish!

I have received many compliments on this jacket and it is very cozy, would highly recommend

January 18, 2021

Very good

I purchased this for winter work around our 6 acre property. Looks good, very warm, so far very satisfied.

January 17, 2021

Very warm

Its so warm and looks great!

January 8, 2021

Cozy and stylish

Pictures do not do this coat justice!! I bought my daughter this coat in the tan/dark blue/green combo and it is gorgeous. She loved it. It is lightweight, yet keeps her so warm. She is a petite 24 old year who is always cold but no complaints in this coat!

January 2, 2021

Very nice product

Love this coat. Super cute and great for everyday wear.

December 31, 2020

Soooo cute!

This coat is perfect for casual wear. It is boxy - but it's shown that way in the pictures. Perfect for layering and comfort. Haven't tested for warmth yet, but it is a bit less insulated than I thought it would be. Still super cute and just what I was looking for. Fast shipping, too! Love.

December 28, 2020

Great product, well made

Great product, well made. Not stiff. Material is soft. Super cute. And shipping was very fast.

December 22, 2020

Beautiful and WARM

Bought this because I was tired of wearing a puffy every single day and wanted something a little different for casual wear that was still super warm. Warmth-wise, Im warmer in this than in my down sweater and Arcteryx shell. I walked around town all day in 7 degree weather with the better sweater underneath and was perfectly warm and comfortable. ... Read MoreSizing is disappointing. As always, even though I love Patagonia and continue to buy their clothes, I always have a really tough time with the boxy cut of the clothes. Everything is huge in my shoulders while being fitted in the hips. In this coat, it was significant enough that I took it to a trailer to be taken in at the shoulders and arms. Also, I'm disappointed because the cuffs are lined with the blue wool, but when I do fold them up once, the lining spills out and looks frumpy- it looks like whoever chose the dimensions for the liner was just sloppy? Lack of attention to detail? Poor planning? Idk. Overall, I love the jacket. But a few things about it annoy me enough that I may continue to look for a coat to replace this one if I come across the right one.

December 22, 2020

Great look!

I love this coat! I originally bought a large but when it got here it was too big. It is a boxier style so that is probably the reason. I exchanged for a medium and it fit perfect. My only con would be the wool collar it is a bit scratchy but I can live with it.

December 20, 2020

Functionality combined with style

I work outside for a 20-acre park in CT, and this coat has been the best purchase I've made. I have so far done a lot of brush clean up, climbing through brambles, and getting jumped on by muddy puppy paws in this coat. It has held up it's shine despite all the dirt and outdoor elements it has encountered thus far. It's durable, warm... Read More, and roomy. I can have a midweight fleece on underneath it and still move my arms around with out restriction. Super happy with this coat, keep this style around for years to come please!

December 10, 2020

Love this jacket

I tried on this jacket last year and fell in love with it. However, at the time I needed something warmer and went with a different jacket. But, then I found this on sale and snagged it up. I am a size 8-10 and the medium fit great (I tend to wear a large in other Patagonia mostly due to my chest). The jacket itself is sturdy and will hold up well.... Read More It is not overly warm which is fine but if that's what you are going for I suggest something else. This reminds me of a Carhartt jacket but cooler, obviously.

December 1, 2020

Really cute!

Love this coat! I wear it for everything. I walk outdoors in the cold weather on the roads and hiking. This coat keeps me warm, is Sturdy enough that I dont feel it will tear while hiking, and looks really cute on! I fit into a small but bought it a little bigger so I could layer underneath, if needed.

November 18, 2020

Just perfect

I live in Oregon and while it's practical to have waterproof/repellent winter coats, it's nice to have an alternative. I was looking for the opposite of a princess-seamed coat and this fit the bill. It hits just below hip-length on me, has substantial pockets, and is insulated well for cool winter days.

November 12, 2020

Beautiful warm fall coat

This is beautiful warm fall coat. It fits great and the colors are amazing

November 6, 2020

Light(er) weight

This jacket is very cute. True to size, with sleeves that are slightly long (typical Patagonia for me). The jacket is definitely a lighter weight than I thought it would be but overall nicely designed and well-made. I was on the fence between the Sage Khaki and the Owl Brown and while the Sage is nice I am still undecided.

November 2, 2020

Great new Design!

We have been Patagonia members for many years. My children and grandchildren now purchase Patagonia products. This jacket and color remind me of warm campfires and the kind of values We all cherish. Back to the start of simple and productive living. Will purchase more items with a similar bent.

October 28, 2020

Style and color; Great for all events.

I originally purchased a small but found that the lower area of the coat was wider than I anticipated.I returned for an xtra small ( not my usual size ). I love the design and fabric. Was surprised on how warm the jacket was. Perfect to throw on when you dont know what the climate is like. Did I mention dog walking coat! Great.

September 9, 2020

Very boxy

I loved this jacket but in person it was not very appealing. This runs big so if you are looking to add some layers, it would be ok And very boxy fit. If you are buying for a stylish look, it is not for you. Perfect jacket around farms and farm work.

February 12, 2020

Gorgeous coat, generous pockets

Just received this beautiful coat in Owl Brown. Planning to use as a 3-season work shirt layer around the farm. As stated, it's a boxier/straight fit with plenty of room for insulating layers. Surprisingly warm for the low bulk/lightweight nature of it. Really appreciate all of the pockets that are thoughtfully designed (especially the two ext... Read Moreerior breast pockets with snapping plackets... essential for keeping my smartphone from falling into the stock tank or worse, porta-potty). The cotton duck is sturdy but not stiff out of the package. Sometimes the stand-up necks on Patagonia gear are too tight for my liking, but the Small is perfect (for reference I am 5'3" and 129 lbs, average shoulders and long torso). Love the generous length; all these breezy cropped work coats with open pockets this season baffle me. One suggestion: the inside of the stand-up neck is lined with that gorgeous blanket wool, which is elegant but a little scratchy for next-to-skin. Fortunately the neck is cut large enough for me to wear a fleece-lined neck gaiter or scarf to keep the itch down. The insides of the cuffs are also lined in wool, which does not irritate my skin but I'll be interested to see how this wears as this is often the first part of canvas work shirts that blows out for me. So relieved to have a work shirt where form and function come together so elegantly (and not in pink/purple/aqua, thank the gods). Overall, a beautiful versatile shirt-jacket. Also, not sure where the washing instructions are posted for this mixed-media piece but as best as I can tell from the symbols on the tags, the jacket is machine washable on delicate in cold water, lay flat to dry.

January 4, 2020

Love. It

Fast delivery. Amazing coat. Better than anticipated. Fit as expected.

December 27, 2019

New favorite coat

I got this coat as a Christmas present and I love it! It’s long, warm and really nice looking. The medium fit pretty boxy, but the room in the shoulders and sleeve length was right. I ended up having it taken in a little bit and now it’s perfect. I love the length and get compliments on this jacket every time I wear it.

December 16, 2019

Make a men's version please

Across the catalogue, the Women's Patagonia styles are WAY COOLER than the men's. Please start using more textures/patterns/colors with the men's clothing as you do with the women's. As a slim guy, I tried this jacket on and loved it. ALTERNATIVELY: Start marketing women's outerwear items with some male models, and some of ... Read Morethe men's outerwear items with some female models.

December 7, 2019

Beautiful yet practical

Love this coat. I sized up one and can fit my down jacket underneath for cold days but don’t have worry about it ripping from my mannerless puppy or work outside. I’m a forest ecologist and anticipate using this on cold days in the Sierra Nevada.

October 31, 2019

Fall weather coat, fits nicely

Fall weather coat, fits nicely over layers too

October 30, 2019

Great Everyday Coat

I needed a jacket outside of my down sweater hoody that would cover my whole back side. It was roughly 10 degrees with wind today, and I stayed plenty warm. I am typically a small, but ordered a medium so I could wear my puffy underneath on colder days. I am a student in ecology that spends a lot of time outside and I am not worried about snagging ... Read Moreor damaging the canvas, it seems to be holding up to the minor abuse I've already put it through. I ordered the Bearfoot Tan and I'm loving the color combos. Thanks Patagonia for making more than pink/purple/teal color options.

October 23, 2019

Short Sleeves

I love this coat overall, but the sleeves are so short for a small, have to exchange for a medium just for the sleeves. Everything else about it is incredible though!

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Sorry to hear about the sleeve length. We're always happy to help you with a [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) for a refund or merchandise credit.

October 19, 2019

Nice jacket!

I typically wear a size medium in Patagonia. This fits true to size. Really like this jacket!

October 9, 2019

You need this coat!

I'm so glad I purchased this coat - it's absolutely beautiful, surprisingly warm for how light it is, and excellent for daily wear. I typically wear a small in Patagonia (for reference I am 5'6" and 128 lbs), but found the small to be a bit large on me overall, so sized down to an extra-small, and it fits very well. The sleeves ... Read Moreare long, which is good for me as some of Patagonia's items tend to run short in the sleeve for me, and the body is roomy enough to layer underneath. Perfect to dress up or down, you'll get a ton of compliments on this coat while staying comfy and warm as well.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches