Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Out Yonder Coat

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 62 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Out Yonder Coat

4.7/5
True To Size
April 19, 2021

Fits well, seems durable from the outside

Purchased for outside tree and project work. I like the length and fit (longer and leaner than carhartt), the wool and canvas seem durable for outside work. However the pockets are kind of a let-down. The inside pocket is just one layer of a thin material and I don't feel like I could safely put heavier things inside of them. For a work coat I... Read More want to feel like I can put tools and stuff in them. I'm going to return this jacket and keep hunting!

April 9, 2021

Warn and stylish

Love the fit and the quality!

April 6, 2021

Warm

Material good quality but it's heavy

March 30, 2021

unique and awesome

Super warm and unique coat. Most puffy costs are great, but feels like everyone has one. This is such a great look whether commuting in the city or out hiking in nature. Resilient and fashionable.

March 28, 2021

Just ok

Warm mid weight jacket good for in between months. Pocket linings felt cheap like they might rip eventually. Definitely needs a two-way zipper as when I sit it kind of is tight on the hips but otherwise its a cute jacket that will do the job.

March 24, 2021

Nice fit!

Love it! Fits well and for a small short person, I don't disappear into it.

March 16, 2021

Love the Out Yonder!

Love this jacket from the cut and color to the deeper pockets. It is a fan favorite of mine and everyone always loves it when I wear it out. Great for every day and work wear

March 8, 2021

Surprisingly light and warm

Feels surprisingly light and roomy without looking large. A really nice alternative to ubiquitous puffer or wool jackets while still being as practical as either. Im tall and its just long enough for me, which is a relief, but I dont think it would be too long for a less tall, non petit person.

March 4, 2021

Unique and different

Really like this coat for those in between seasons. March, April, October, November. Its a warm coat, but wouldnt feel it would be warm enough for those really cold days. Its really different and unique than my usual Patagonia coats. Bought the green and it look great with jeans and a turtleneck. Very happy with my purchase.

March 4, 2021

Perfect Weight

Looking for a mid-weight jacket for hiking in Michigan weather. I felt like Goldilocks looking for the coat that was, just right. This is a great jacket! It is a perfect three season staple that can be layered on a snow day and block the wind in the fall or cool spring mornings. It is a sturdy canvas-like arms with a softer body that can be cinched... Read More at the waist or loosened for a nice fit over a sweater. Great quality zipper, snaps, stand-up collar and interior pocket met and exceeded all my expectations. I plan to use it as my go-to for years to come.

March 3, 2021

Loved it so much I bought it in another color!

Loved it so much I bought it in another color!

March 2, 2021

Coat for an Idaho Spring garden!

What a surprise find this coat is! It is very broken-in kind of comfortable. It does run a little large, by design probably, since it gives me plenty of room to move around in while gardening. Great coat!

March 1, 2021

Warm and durable

Great coat without being bulky. Love the vintage style and pattern.

February 27, 2021

The Perfect Casual Coat

Im 53, 150 pounds and this coat fits perfectly with enough room to fit layers - a Better Sweater, etc. - underneath. I love the detail on the collar and the cuffs. Theres also an interior pocket which is nice. This coat is also extremely warm! I absolutely love it.

February 26, 2021

too big

I am 5ft, 105 lb and the xs was too big on me, I am xs in radalie jacket and all other patagonia jackets, but this one was super big

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Hello Anabelia, we're sorry to hear this coat ended up being too big. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

February 26, 2021

Great coat

Got this on sale. Great all-around in-town coat. Warm, comfortable, good in/outside pockets. What a deal!

February 26, 2021

cool colors but boxy and unflattering

I ordered a small and a medium in this jacket since I have some Patagonia items in small and some in medium. Both sizes were too big (especially in the shoulders) and very boxy. I really wanted to like this jacket but it just doesn't look good on (at least on me!)

February 25, 2021

GOOD VALUE WITH ROOM FOR LAYERS

LOVE THIS JACKET...THINK OF IT AS A BARN JACKET...LOTS OF POCKETS FOR YR PHONE...KEYS...SMALL WALLET...WHATEVER...IT WORKS! STYLISH...WARM AND FUN!

February 25, 2021

Cozy, roomy, and stylish

I love this jacket. Its super warm. Somewhat boxy but not bulky. I layer a puffer jacket under it on extremely cold days. The lining is so soft to the touch I love putting my hands in my pockets.

February 25, 2021

Very good looking. Dressy or casual.

I bought this jacket one size larger than I wear so I could fit vests and sweaters under. It is a beautiful fit and a sturdy, good looking coat. I really love it!!

February 25, 2021

Warm lightweight sustainable & lovely

This is my favorite jacket. I hope to keep this jacket for years. It keeps me plenty warm in Alaska when its in the 30s and above. Lightweight dog approved! Built beautifully. I love the giant pockets too! Thank you Im in love

February 25, 2021

Easy to wear, my new favourite coat

A sturdy coat for daily outdoor activities. Warm enough for freezing temperatures. Good for hiking, skating, long walks, working outside. Durable material, easy to wear. Huge pockets hold heavy mittens or a thick knit hat.

February 24, 2021

Perfect ranch/riding jacket

Purchased as a barn coat and works perfectly. Fit is true to size but the wearer is able to move freely. beautiful design.

February 24, 2021

Ive gotten a bunch of compliments

I love this jacket. I typically wear a medium in Patagonia but based on previous reviews, I bought a small. It fits well everywhere but is a little tight in the shoulders. Ive gotten a number of compliments on this jacket. I love the look. The pockets are huge but when filled arent bulky. Overall, love this jacket.

February 24, 2021

I liked it so much I got 2 different colors!

I liked the jacket as soon as I saw it. Decided to order the Sage and the Tan and pick one. But when they came I decided to keep both, since they were on sale. I could really use an XXL but it didn't come in that size so I'm making do. It fits, but just snugger than I like. As always (for me) the sleeves are a bit too long but the jacket(... Read Mores) are perfect for most winter days in southern Colorado where we rarely get super cold temps. The jackets do a pretty fair job blocking the wind as well. They were a splurge, but I'm happy that I was able to decide not to decide when it came to the color.

February 24, 2021

Midweight Wonder

This coat is so cute on! Two of my nieces bought them and I was able to snag this one at a terrific price, too! A great weight for Fall and Spring (in the Midwest) and enough room to layer. My shoulders are narrower than my niece, but the coat fits both of us great. Highly recommend this casual but snazzy jacket.

February 23, 2021

The best!

I'm a standard M in Patagonia gear with the occasional L. This is a little oversized but perfect for extra warmth with the nano puff underneath. I'll likely wear in 30-45 degree temps here in CO. It's a winner!

February 16, 2021

Warm and Rugged

I have wanted this coat for a long time. I finally was able to get it from the sale and I am so happy I did! I'm 5'8 170lbs and got a large. I wear a sweatshirt underneath the jacket and it fits perfectly. It's long and my hips fit which is rare for Patagonia products. The waist has a cord you can tighten but it's uncomfortable ... Read Moreso I don't use it even though I have a small wait. The neck has the wool fabric which is itchy but with the protection with the sweater it isn't a big deal. Overall it's fantastic, warm, rugged, and ready to be worked in!

February 12, 2021

Amazing Coat

Im 53, 150 pounds and I purchased the small. It fits absolutely perfect with enough space to layer a fleece or a Better Sweater under it. The sleeves come down to my mid hand and it covers my entire bum for extra warmth. It covers what needs to be covered in the cold winter! The sleeves also roll up to reveal a cute detail so it definitely works fo... Read Morer a petite frame as well. The collar can be flipped up to cover up to your chin or rolled down for a more relaxed look. Also love the inside pocket for stashing a phone or cash. Its incredibly warm as well. Yall hit this one out of the park. Dont hesitate, just buy it!

February 9, 2021

Cute jacket love the color but I wouldn't get it unless you are tall...

I was so excited to get this jacket.I love the style and color. I was pleased with the weight of the coat. However I will have to return it. It's way too long and feels like a dress. I would have loved to know how tall the model was in this photo. The sleeves are also way too long. It's an adorable jacket if you are 5'5" I think... Read More it would fit you well. I wish I could submit a picture to show you how it fits on a smaller person.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Women's Out Yonder Coat! We appreciate your feedback. We're actively working on getting model stats on each product page and thank you for your patience as we sort it out. In the meantime, we're always happy to provide measurements if you reach out to Customer Service. It sounds like a size down could help with this, if you haven't already, feel free to start an [exchange here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 29, 2021

Beautiful jacket, looser fit, decently warm

Overall: This jacket is beautiful and I have gotten lots of compliments. It is easy to throw on feel just a little more polished than a typical puffer coat. The wool is recycle which is awesome. I would recommend this coat! Fit: This jacket runs a bit larger than I have found most Patagonia, but I think it is just a looser/boxier fit. I wouldnt ha... Read Moreve bought any smaller than my usual size but I can fit a fleece jacket and a sweater underneath, so it is good for layering and not fitted. Amenities: The closing is a zipper with buttons over top so you can do both if you want to look really crisp! The pockets are lined and warm, there are even interior pockets which are good for extra gloves or your phone (or dog treats in my case)! Negatives: For whatever reason, it is a little wrinkly, maybe it needs to be pressed but I havent yet. Also there is no hood which is fine, but the neck part comes up very high when fully zipped. This would be fine except its wool and very itchy, might need to wear a little scarf or not zip all the way.

January 26, 2021

So unique!

I have loved the look of this coat since I first laid eyes on it. I ordered a medium and exchanged it for a small as I thought the coat ran a little large.

January 24, 2021

My new casual

So glad I got this jacket for every day wear. Its warm but not too hot and doesnt look bulky. I did buy a small first but exchanged it for extra small because it did run a little big.

January 19, 2021

Love the Jacket But...

I loved this jacket but it's not good for layers underneath. The fit in the torso is fine but it's tight in the shoulders and the arms if you have any type of sweater/fleece/sweatshirt on. It's fine with a long sleeve t-shirt but not with layered winter wear clothing. I really wanted to wear this in the winter but consider it more of... Read More a spring/fall jacket as my winter attire makes it too tight in the shoulders and arms. I'm 5.5" 140lbs with a slightly athletic build - not muscle bound at all.

January 19, 2021

Very warm and stylish!

I have received many compliments on this jacket and it is very cozy, would highly recommend

January 18, 2021

Very good

I purchased this for winter work around our 6 acre property. Looks good, very warm, so far very satisfied.

January 17, 2021

Very warm

Its so warm and looks great!

January 8, 2021

Cozy and stylish

Pictures do not do this coat justice!! I bought my daughter this coat in the tan/dark blue/green combo and it is gorgeous. She loved it. It is lightweight, yet keeps her so warm. She is a petite 24 old year who is always cold but no complaints in this coat!

January 2, 2021

Very nice product

Love this coat. Super cute and great for everyday wear.

December 31, 2020

Soooo cute!

This coat is perfect for casual wear. It is boxy - but it's shown that way in the pictures. Perfect for layering and comfort. Haven't tested for warmth yet, but it is a bit less insulated than I thought it would be. Still super cute and just what I was looking for. Fast shipping, too! Love.

December 28, 2020

Great product, well made

Great product, well made. Not stiff. Material is soft. Super cute. And shipping was very fast.

December 22, 2020

Beautiful and WARM

Bought this because I was tired of wearing a puffy every single day and wanted something a little different for casual wear that was still super warm. Warmth-wise, Im warmer in this than in my down sweater and Arcteryx shell. I walked around town all day in 7 degree weather with the better sweater underneath and was perfectly warm and comfortable. ... Read MoreSizing is disappointing. As always, even though I love Patagonia and continue to buy their clothes, I always have a really tough time with the boxy cut of the clothes. Everything is huge in my shoulders while being fitted in the hips. In this coat, it was significant enough that I took it to a trailer to be taken in at the shoulders and arms. Also, I'm disappointed because the cuffs are lined with the blue wool, but when I do fold them up once, the lining spills out and looks frumpy- it looks like whoever chose the dimensions for the liner was just sloppy? Lack of attention to detail? Poor planning? Idk. Overall, I love the jacket. But a few things about it annoy me enough that I may continue to look for a coat to replace this one if I come across the right one.

December 22, 2020

Great look!

I love this coat! I originally bought a large but when it got here it was too big. It is a boxier style so that is probably the reason. I exchanged for a medium and it fit perfect. My only con would be the wool collar it is a bit scratchy but I can live with it.

December 20, 2020

Functionality combined with style

I work outside for a 20-acre park in CT, and this coat has been the best purchase I've made. I have so far done a lot of brush clean up, climbing through brambles, and getting jumped on by muddy puppy paws in this coat. It has held up it's shine despite all the dirt and outdoor elements it has encountered thus far. It's durable, warm... Read More, and roomy. I can have a midweight fleece on underneath it and still move my arms around with out restriction. Super happy with this coat, keep this style around for years to come please!

December 10, 2020

Love this jacket

I tried on this jacket last year and fell in love with it. However, at the time I needed something warmer and went with a different jacket. But, then I found this on sale and snagged it up. I am a size 8-10 and the medium fit great (I tend to wear a large in other Patagonia mostly due to my chest). The jacket itself is sturdy and will hold up well.... Read More It is not overly warm which is fine but if that's what you are going for I suggest something else. This reminds me of a Carhartt jacket but cooler, obviously.

December 1, 2020

Really cute!

Love this coat! I wear it for everything. I walk outdoors in the cold weather on the roads and hiking. This coat keeps me warm, is Sturdy enough that I dont feel it will tear while hiking, and looks really cute on! I fit into a small but bought it a little bigger so I could layer underneath, if needed.

November 18, 2020

Just perfect

I live in Oregon and while it's practical to have waterproof/repellent winter coats, it's nice to have an alternative. I was looking for the opposite of a princess-seamed coat and this fit the bill. It hits just below hip-length on me, has substantial pockets, and is insulated well for cool winter days.

November 12, 2020

Beautiful warm fall coat

This is beautiful warm fall coat. It fits great and the colors are amazing

November 6, 2020

Light(er) weight

This jacket is very cute. True to size, with sleeves that are slightly long (typical Patagonia for me). The jacket is definitely a lighter weight than I thought it would be but overall nicely designed and well-made. I was on the fence between the Sage Khaki and the Owl Brown and while the Sage is nice I am still undecided.

November 2, 2020

Great new Design!

We have been Patagonia members for many years. My children and grandchildren now purchase Patagonia products. This jacket and color remind me of warm campfires and the kind of values We all cherish. Back to the start of simple and productive living. Will purchase more items with a similar bent.

October 28, 2020

Style and color; Great for all events.

I originally purchased a small but found that the lower area of the coat was wider than I anticipated.I returned for an xtra small ( not my usual size ). I love the design and fabric. Was surprised on how warm the jacket was. Perfect to throw on when you dont know what the climate is like. Did I mention dog walking coat! Great.

September 9, 2020

Very boxy

I loved this jacket but in person it was not very appealing. This runs big so if you are looking to add some layers, it would be ok And very boxy fit. If you are buying for a stylish look, it is not for you. Perfect jacket around farms and farm work.

February 12, 2020

Gorgeous coat, generous pockets

Just received this beautiful coat in Owl Brown. Planning to use as a 3-season work shirt layer around the farm. As stated, it's a boxier/straight fit with plenty of room for insulating layers. Surprisingly warm for the low bulk/lightweight nature of it. Really appreciate all of the pockets that are thoughtfully designed (especially the two ext... Read Moreerior breast pockets with snapping plackets... essential for keeping my smartphone from falling into the stock tank or worse, porta-potty). The cotton duck is sturdy but not stiff out of the package. Sometimes the stand-up necks on Patagonia gear are too tight for my liking, but the Small is perfect (for reference I am 5'3" and 129 lbs, average shoulders and long torso). Love the generous length; all these breezy cropped work coats with open pockets this season baffle me. One suggestion: the inside of the stand-up neck is lined with that gorgeous blanket wool, which is elegant but a little scratchy for next-to-skin. Fortunately the neck is cut large enough for me to wear a fleece-lined neck gaiter or scarf to keep the itch down. The insides of the cuffs are also lined in wool, which does not irritate my skin but I'll be interested to see how this wears as this is often the first part of canvas work shirts that blows out for me. So relieved to have a work shirt where form and function come together so elegantly (and not in pink/purple/aqua, thank the gods). Overall, a beautiful versatile shirt-jacket. Also, not sure where the washing instructions are posted for this mixed-media piece but as best as I can tell from the symbols on the tags, the jacket is machine washable on delicate in cold water, lay flat to dry.

January 4, 2020

Love. It

Fast delivery. Amazing coat. Better than anticipated. Fit as expected.

December 27, 2019

New favorite coat

I got this coat as a Christmas present and I love it! It’s long, warm and really nice looking. The medium fit pretty boxy, but the room in the shoulders and sleeve length was right. I ended up having it taken in a little bit and now it’s perfect. I love the length and get compliments on this jacket every time I wear it.

December 16, 2019

Make a men's version please

Across the catalogue, the Women's Patagonia styles are WAY COOLER than the men's. Please start using more textures/patterns/colors with the men's clothing as you do with the women's. As a slim guy, I tried this jacket on and loved it. ALTERNATIVELY: Start marketing women's outerwear items with some male models, and some of ... Read Morethe men's outerwear items with some female models.

December 7, 2019

Beautiful yet practical

Love this coat. I sized up one and can fit my down jacket underneath for cold days but don’t have worry about it ripping from my mannerless puppy or work outside. I’m a forest ecologist and anticipate using this on cold days in the Sierra Nevada.

October 31, 2019

Fall weather coat, fits nicely

Fall weather coat, fits nicely over layers too

October 30, 2019

Great Everyday Coat

I needed a jacket outside of my down sweater hoody that would cover my whole back side. It was roughly 10 degrees with wind today, and I stayed plenty warm. I am typically a small, but ordered a medium so I could wear my puffy underneath on colder days. I am a student in ecology that spends a lot of time outside and I am not worried about snagging ... Read Moreor damaging the canvas, it seems to be holding up to the minor abuse I've already put it through. I ordered the Bearfoot Tan and I'm loving the color combos. Thanks Patagonia for making more than pink/purple/teal color options.

October 23, 2019

Short Sleeves

I love this coat overall, but the sleeves are so short for a small, have to exchange for a medium just for the sleeves. Everything else about it is incredible though!

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Sorry to hear about the sleeve length. We're always happy to help you with a [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) for a refund or merchandise credit.

October 19, 2019

Nice jacket!

I typically wear a size medium in Patagonia. This fits true to size. Really like this jacket!

October 9, 2019

You need this coat!

I'm so glad I purchased this coat - it's absolutely beautiful, surprisingly warm for how light it is, and excellent for daily wear. I typically wear a small in Patagonia (for reference I am 5'6" and 128 lbs), but found the small to be a bit large on me overall, so sized down to an extra-small, and it fits very well. The sleeves ... Read Moreare long, which is good for me as some of Patagonia's items tend to run short in the sleeve for me, and the body is roomy enough to layer underneath. Perfect to dress up or down, you'll get a ton of compliments on this coat while staying comfy and warm as well.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches