Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Isthmus Jacket

Write Your Review

4.79 /5

Filter Reviews

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Isthmus Jacket

4.79
True To Size
January 19, 2021

All Purpose Jacket

I had my Bean 850 for about 5 years and really took it to task and I really was looking for a change away from the lofted coats that seemed to get soggy in the rain (and were hot when active). Decided to switch it up and really enjoyed the comfort of this jacket, to me on par with a light weight down, maybe a tiny bit heavier. The water resistance ... Read Morewas worth it as it totally beaded up and kept me dry. The jacket also was surprisingly light for how warm it was, but didnt leave me feeling clammy. This jacket combines the best of all worlds and only a slight increase in weight. I was looking at the Arcteryx Beta AR and went with this instead. Pound for pound and much stronger buy.

December 26, 2020

Mid-Atlantic Warm

This jacket fits okay without anything in the pockets - and it is difficult for my husband to get his 2nd arm into the jacket. Zipped up it looks fine but getting it there with previous arm surgery is difficult. And putting anything - glass cases, sets of keys and cell phone - in the pockets is so tight that it doesn't look good. We like the ... Read Morejacket but would like to have a Large!

December 26, 2020

Christmas coat

Super warm, fits perfectly, love the make and color. It was a christmas gift from my parents.

December 23, 2020

Great Jacket

Great jacket for any outdoor activity. I live in Chicago and it is warm enough for all of the weather I experience in the city. It is a tiny bit short, but I am a very tall individual so I expected it to be.

December 18, 2020

Good casual jacket.

Great if youre looking for a fall/spring >40 degrees casual jacket.

November 9, 2020

Comfortable and warm

I bought this jacket for my brother who was traveling to the U.K. and he said it is great. The fit was true to size and it kept him warm they the changing weather.

September 1, 2020

One of the best Patagonia jackets

These are great jackets. I have one in each color. I especially like the exterior material which is more durable than what you find on many synthetic jackets. I also like that the hood is insulated and detachable.

August 13, 2020

Great Jacket but Brushed Jersey lined Collar wears out

This is my 2nd Isthmus Jacket and my everyday go to jacket. AND the Brushed lined Jersey Collar WEARS OUT...over time. Patagonia need to use mid weight fleece that holds up over time. This could be a 5 star jacket but needs to have the jersey collar fixed and add Velcro adjustable cuffs instead of metal snap cuffs

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on ways to improve our gear. We've looped our design team in regarding your suggestions. We are so sorry to hear that portions of your favorite jacket aren't lasting over time. All of our gear is backed by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

December 31, 2019

Great jacket. I’d say a

Great jacket. I’d say a little thinner and a little smaller than I expected but great nonetheless

December 20, 2019

Nice - a keeper

Really like the look and feel of this one - compared it to the isthmus parka and this one was far better overall (and better value!). The fit was just right, and the materials in the jacket are all solid. Definitely a good jacket from a great company.

December 16, 2019

Fits well and works great

I always have a hard time finding jackets small enough for me so that I don't lose most of my heat. This jacket fits perfectly and doesn't impede my movement either. It's warm enough, though the sleeves seem to be much less warm and are noticeably thinly lined. The outer fabrics seems to be a higher quality than similar jackets I hav... Read Moree tried on. Even though it is a parka, it's not that long which I like, and I love that I can use the second main zipper to make the front open more, which helps me get into pockets and move my legs more.

December 13, 2019

Very good jacket.

Very good jacket.

December 8, 2019

Very happy with my new Isthmus

I try other brands and always come back to Patagonia. Fits perfectly, looks good and I am proud to wear it.

December 5, 2019

Versatile - great for midwest dadventures

30-50˚ F temps seem to be the norm in the Cleveland area and this jacket is great for that range. The material has a durable exterior and soft interior - it is warm enough but not too heavy. Has been extremely durable and hasn't hel any stains. The double pockets at the bottom front are excellent: keys and junk in the top – hands the others. I... Read More also have kids and a wife who always seem to give me something to carry so those buttoned pockets are used more than I could have imagined. The negatives: It's a kind of noisy jacket material on the outside. Not a deal-breaker but worth pointing out. It seems especially noisy when wearing the hood. Also: there was a definite scent that has lasted quite a while - also not worth knocking off a star but might bother some.

December 2, 2019

Great jacket!

Great jacket!

November 28, 2019

Gift for a hard-working friend

Though I can’t speak to it’s feel, the fit and look are great on my friend and he loves how warm it is. Overall an excellent value and a great gift.

November 17, 2019

Great lightweight winter jacket!

This jacket fits me so well and is so lightweight I was surprised at how warm it keeps me

November 17, 2019

Good

Good jacket

November 16, 2019

It's Great

I live in California and don't do too much cold weather stuff, so when I had a trip booked to Montreal and realized the temps were going to be in the teens, I went searching for an appropriate jacket. I am about 5'8" and 150 lbs. I bought a medium and it fits great, with enough room underneath for layers like sweater, vest, shirt, et... Read Morec. This is a very well made jacket and I like that so many of the materials are recycled and it is fair trade sewn. I always feel deeply compromised buying clothing made with synthetic materials in sweatshops. Other aspects I like are: pockets you can put your hands in also pockets with secure flaps above the hand pockets for gloves, hats, etc. inside pocket hood has no string to get messed up later. hood stays securely on your head as long as the jacket is zipped up. water repellent, so I can use it in California coastal winter.

November 12, 2019

New Favorite Jacket

Definitely the new favorite. I live at 8200' in the Colorado mountains and this jacket has been great for anything above 20 degrees and still good below that with layers. Better to layer in this climate as the temps swing widely. I really like the abrasion resistance and quilted interior. I'm bored with puff jackets and never cared for th... Read Moree delicate material so this fits the bill. I'm 5'8" with slightly broad shoulders so the large fits better than the medium. Sleeve length is perfect and so is the overall jacket length. A taller person might want something longer.

November 9, 2019

Thought it would be "thicker"

This is a really nice jacket for like 30-40F. I thought it would be more of a deep winter jacket, but it is very light weight and cozy.

November 9, 2019

Great quality jacket

This is a great jacket. I'm 6'0", weigh 165 lbs, and a size medium fits me perfectly. I like the outside vertical pockets on it that come in addition to the hand warmer pockets. The jacket is a little lighter than I was expecting but it is still very warm. The zippers and buttons are all great quality as you would expect from Patago... Read Morenia.

November 7, 2019

Best Winter Coat Ever?

Fits like a glove, so happy I sprung for this coat!

November 7, 2019

All around a great jacket

All around a great jacket

November 2, 2019

Great mid weight

I have a 30 year old heavy duty Patagonia winter coat that will last another 30 if I do. I have several other lightweight up and this Patagonia slides right under my heavyweight and has kept me toasty warm so far. Great length and weight. Excellent design on the pockets and has an inside zipped pocket I love. The hood actually fits pretty well and ... Read MoreI can tweak that adjustment still. You can't go wrong with this one or with Patagonia in general.

October 30, 2019

Versitile

This jacket hit all the marks for me. Being a Californian, real weather doesn't happen all that often. I needed a jacket I could use for those few months of the year in a more casual setting. I didn't need another micro puff or other technical piece. I just needed something for getting the kids to school, going out for a beer, heading to ... Read Morea conference, etc. If course, I wanted something made to last, with a lookAnd construction that will last me years, if not decades. This jacket had done all that. Save the technical jackets for technical weekends.

October 24, 2019

Very warm for a light

Very warm for a light jacket

October 23, 2019

Runs Small

This medium runs smaller than typical coats - recommend sizing up. I had to return a medium. 5’-10” 180lbs. Rating does not have any assessment on the actual performance of the coat.

April 13, 2019

Great jacket

I've had mine for a year now and it holds up well to the wind, rain and snow.

February 26, 2019

Stylish yet functional urban / daily wear jacket

This is my third Patagonia product. Normally i was buying a size S (I am 165 cms tall with chest size of 36 inches and waist measuring 29 inches and i weigh 69 kg) but this time i decided to size down and i can say the XS fits me so much better. Even with a base layer / t-shirt and a woollen sweater the fit is snug without being tight. I still have... Read More room to add another inner layer. The sleeves are a tad long by about half an inch or so but with the snap button option on the cuff opening this is not a problem. Would suggest sizing one size down if you prefer form fitting jackets. If you like your jacket to be more roomier and baggy then i guess stick to your standard size. This is a very stylish urban setting jacket which i guess you can wear to more dressier occasions as well since the fabric and fit is very stylish. But it also looks and feel rugged enough for a walk in the woods. This brings me to the Sediment color which i opted for. I had read several reviews from people not happy who felt the color was more military olive green than brown. Actually the color in the picture on the website is absolutely a true reflection of the actual color. This is not a typical brown. However its also not also olive green. But because the fabric used has a sheen i can well understand why some people have said its more olive green than brown. But in truth it's sediment color as clearly mentioned on the website. Its a stunner and i just love it. My wife saw the jacket and immediately said she loved the color. The pockets have a soft jersey lining and the zips are very sturdy. Enough space to carry a small bottle in one external pocket and gloves plus keys in another. That still leaves you with an internal pocket which can easily hold a mobile phone and wallet.

February 12, 2019

Best jacket I own

This jacket is Amazing. Currently living in Chicago and wore when it snowed with mild wilds, temp at 30s with a short sleeve t-shirt. It’s really warm. Have to layer it with maybe a sweater in 25 below. Still a amazing jacket though.

December 28, 2018

John

Excellent jacket. It’s light weight, warm and it has a much more abrasion resistant exterior than most jackets. I’m 5’9”, 170 and the medium jacket fits perfectly.

December 21, 2018

Lightweight but still warm

Nice jacket. It is light and comfortable but is still warm. Wore in weather in the mid to high 30's and in the 40's. My activity was minimal but I was still warmer than I was in my previous jacket from Bean's that was a little heaver weight. Fit was good also. I also like the fact you can remove the hood. Overall a nice jacket.

December 13, 2018

Stylish and Functional

As a new resident of the Pacific Northwest, I was looking for a functional jacket that provided warmth and weather-resistant material. I decided on the Isthmus Jacket and I'm so happy with my decision. The jacket is well crafted, a perfect fit, provides plenty of warmth, and does well repelling the Seattle rain. Not only does the jacket look g... Read Morereat, but it's also incredibly functional with its large top-entry pockets, hand-warmer side pockets, and detachable hood. And it's made by a legendary environmental champion to boot? If you're looking for a versatile jacket, do yourself a favor and choose Patagonia's Isthmus jacket and support the environment in the process.

April 16, 2018

My 12yo son loves it,dark ash color is green

My adolescent son wears a coat all the time,and he is really particular about which coat he wants. Coat shopping is a stressful task given all of his requirements: slick liner (no fleece!),lots of large pockets,fits a lanky kid,can withstand serious abuse and constant wear. After rejecting several other jackets,my son loved this one and started we... Read Morearing it immediately. He chose the dark ash color,which we called brown,but it's actually green as other reviewers noted. Wishing this came in a bright color,since he commutes on his bike to school every day. The XS fits him perfectly; he's around 5'5" and 115 lbs. I used the sizing tool on the Patagonia site to decide. Fingers crossed that this jacket can withstand the abuse for a couple of years!

March 13, 2018

Nice but the color is not right

As other reviewers have said,the Dark Ash color is definitely olive green,not brown as shown in the photo. Patagonia definitely needs to fix this by providing a more representative product photo. Despite the color issue,it seems to be a nice,durable,warm jacket. I was looking for a less-technical jacket to wear around town and this seems to do th... Read Moree job. I just wish it was brown,not green.

March 1, 2018

Dark Ash is definitely Green.

I haven't had a chance to wear the jacket yet,but I wanted to second what Lenny said. I ordered the dark ash thinking it would be a shade of brown (as it looks in the pictures). It's definitely green. I like the green enough to keep it,but I was a little disappointed. It'd be nice if they'd take some new pictures that show the t... Read Morerue color. The fit is nice,though,and I think I'll love the jacket once it gets cold enough for me to try it out.

January 19, 2018

Great, stylish jacket but a WARNING

I didn't have a ton of time with this jacket and I'll explain why in a minute, but for when I did use it, it was very warm. I was out in maybe 25 degrees and perfectly fine. It looks great, the style is timeless. Fit is a bit large but still fit fine, I am somewhat between sizes. I liked that the wrists had adjustable tabs, I did not expe... Read Morect that. The material seemed very durable and possibly weather resistant, could probably shed a light shower. Here's the issue: I ordered the dark ash, expecting the deep tan you see on the screen, kind of a ranch style rugged color, what I got was clearly a hue of green. It wasn't the wrong shade, no no, it was a completely different color. Wrong shade I could have lived with. This green does not show up from the colors listed, but I found what matched it almost exactly, on the Isthmus Parka, the industrial green looks exactly like it. I had no desire to look GI draped in olive drab, I wanted a brown work coat, and this is why I promptly returned it. If it had come in the correct color, or even better a lighter shade of brown, I would have undoubtedly kept it, everything else was exactly what I was looking for. So because it was my personal opinion and really not an issue if you know ahead of time, I am still giving this 5 stars.

December 13, 2017

Excellent all purpose winter jacket!!!

I was looking for a new go-to winter jacket. Something for when the weather was a bit colder,but not extremely cold. Something with more durability than a puffer. Something all purpose. This is what I chose. It was an excellent choice! This jacket is comfortable yet rugged enough,it has kept me nice and warm in very cold days,but not overly warm so... Read More that I overheat when it's borderline warm out. I think it is a great deal price wise too. Very versatile,great fit,has everything I need. I'm so glad I purchased this jacket,and I highly recommend it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches