Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Maple Grove Canvas Jacket

Write Your Review

4.02 /5

Filter Reviews

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Maple Grove Canvas Jacket

4.02
True To Size
September 17, 2020

Great fit for a big guy

Being 6'5", 240 lbs and living in Japan, Patagonia is one of the few stores I can find clothes that fit (and can return without crazy international shipping costs if it doesn't). I work as a photo tour guide, so I am outside all of the time. This coat is great for me. It is warm enough, and fits my broad shoulders and long arms. The... Read Morere is room to layer a fleece underneath for cold days. One of the things I like the best about this coat is that it is heavy in a solid kind of way. I feel protected. I have quite a few down jackets that have gotten ripped up catching on branches or nails that stick out. After two winters of daily use, this coat is tough and has held up to all kinds of abuse. The pockets, zips and buttons are good, but the hood is useless and I don't use it. My only suggestion would be to have some sort of way to cinch down the waist. Two thumbs up!

June 19, 2020

What body type is this designed to fit?

I'm 6'2, 190lbs. Size Large fit great in the shoulders but was HUGE in the midsection. I'm used to this with most jackets and shifts, but really, this jacket seemed like it was specifically geared toward the guy with a giant protruding belly.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2020

Thank you for your comments on this and we apologize for the troubles with sizing. This jacket is definitely made to be a relaxed fit and we'd be happy to help with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a smaller size if you're interested.

June 17, 2020

Stylish and warm

It fits the body well and is a versatile jacket for many outfits or activities. Usually I order a small from Patagonia in their fleece pullovers or jackets so I ordered a small for this jacket, but it is a little tight. I recommend going a size up if you're unsure if it'd be too small

Response from Patagonia
June 28, 2020

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you're liking the design of the jacket. We are sorry however, that the fit isn't working well. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us for an exchange, please feel free to do so.

January 26, 2020

Perfect gift

I got this for my husband and it looks so nice on him that I almost feel like it was a selfish gift for myself. As noted in other reviews, the arms are long but it doesn't seem to bother him.

January 2, 2020

Great jacket, be prepared for a short torso

I'm 6'8" wearing a Large. The sleeves are the right length, the torso is on the short side. I'm okay with it and I know that a lot of trucker jackets are shorter in the torso. Just be prepared for that. Other than that, it's a great jacket that I'm really enjoying so far.

December 29, 2019

The jacket was a gift.

The jacket was a gift. It fit well, was warm and looked fantastic!

December 27, 2019

Comfy, warm, good looking

Jacket is very cozy and warmer than I expected (though not a super warm insulated jacket still). A tad bit roomier than I anticipated, but will work well for layering underneath. Well made as most of their stuff is, nice material.

December 27, 2019

Great product

I really like my Jacket

December 21, 2019

Great product

Great product

December 21, 2019

Great Fit and Style

I was looking for a more casual jacket from my most trusted outerwear brand. This jacket fits the bill, and didn’t look out of place in the city. The large front pockets were perfect for fitting an umbrella and snacks, while the open hand pockets allowed me so quickly hide my hands for warmth. The internal chest pocket is quite deep with a nice pul... Read Morel string for the smaller zipper, which makes it a breeze with gloves. I saw a few other people wearing the same jacket in the other colors, so it’s been a great hit. Thanks for another great jacket that will serve me for many years to come. Only downside... canvas material tends to collect fuzz from the newer Better Sweaters. Solution: Lint roller. :D

December 19, 2019

Great jacket, weird hood

Overall I love the jacket. It fits really well and I like the shorter length body with long sleeve length. I'm 6'3" with long arms and the sleeves are perfect if not slightly long, so just beware. Note that you can call Patagonia and they'll give you the exact lengths, which is extremely helpful for coats like this that are desi... Read Moregned to fit a bit differently. The only other thing I'll mention is that the hood is really awkward. The elastic is too tight and it's weirdly-shaped. But it works in a pinch which is the only time I've had to use it. Otherwise it's not comfortable.

December 13, 2019

PERFECT COAT

Thinking about buying another one to store for when this one wears out. This thing fits PERFECT, which for me is rare. I'm 6'1" and have the obscure body type of being slim with long arms. I bought large, and it fits me perfect. I guess if I had one criticism, the hood that's in the collar I would remove. It causes the collar t... Read Moreo be really stiff and it's not all that useful.

December 9, 2019

Great

Great

December 7, 2019

Quality Winter Jacket

It shipped fast during the busy Christmas season and aesthetically looks great while also keeping me incredibly warm. Would much recommend.

December 3, 2019

Great Jacket!

Well made, keeps it shape. Great for city living and a hike in the woods. The fit is pretty good; The only down side is that the sleeves run a little long, had to get them tailored.

November 24, 2019

My favorite!

The Maple Grove Canvas Jacket is hands down my favorite jacket. I originally purchased the grey version in Maine and now I have the green version I always wanted. I couldn't be happier! Thankfully the navy blue version isn't available anymore...ha.

November 22, 2019

Great coat

I live this jacket. I use it mostly on my motorcycle during short rides and around town etc when it’s a bit chilly. Very wind resistant and warm. I really like the slightly longer arms. Perfect for riding as my arms are bent. Looks and feels top notch. If mine was ruined I’d def get another

November 22, 2019

Great looking jacket, Not so great fit

This jacket looks great. It's warm and cozy. As far as appearance and materials go, it's just about perfect. The arms are a bit long as some have described, but as someone who has average length arms (as I believe I have), it's nothing that tightening the cuffs a little bit doesn't remedy. My one complaint is that, while just ab... Read Moreout every single shirt, fleece I buy from Patagonia fits me perfectly, jackets and coats from Patagonia always seem to run small on my XXL frame. I don't get it; especially considering that Patagonia clothing is so inclined to promote layering. The fit is frustrating, but I still do recommend the jacket. If you're a bigger guy though and you usually wear XXL, you may want to think about buying coats/jackets from another company.

November 18, 2019

Utility vs. Style

I'm 5' 11" 190lbs, bought a medium which fit well. Sleeves rolled up at the cuff and I could comfortably wear a thick sweater underneath. It is the perfect size if utility is your main concern, which mine is not. Having been an Oakland hipster too long, I can't handle having a bulky feeling with my clothes so I exchanged it for ... Read Morea size small. The small fits snug, but I can still fit a thin sweater inside. Honestly, it's less practical this way, but practicality rarely gets a fella's noodle wet, if you know what I mean.

November 15, 2019

Perfect for the Farm

Excellent jacket! The extra room in the shoulder makes alllll the difference. Perfect weight and warmth. Will be a favorite for many years.

November 12, 2019

I got the small and

I got the small and returned it. It fit too short and tight in the shoulders, but just so. Inside pocket was too small. I did not try a medium. Thought it would be too large. I’m 5’9”, 140 lb. male. Otherwise I like the color and it seemed very durable and stylish.

November 9, 2019

strange fit

Overall the coat ran small for XXL, but then the arms were way too long

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Jon, thanks writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the jacket didn't fit quite right. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 8, 2019

Almost there

Great jacket with 2 flaws , lumpy collar from tucked in hood and too long sleeves.

November 5, 2019

Great jacket, poor fit

I had to return it as did many others that reviewed the jacket. I loved the material and weight of it, however, the sleeves were way to long and the body too short. I always order my Patagonia items in medium and they fit perfectly so I feel like the designers need to modify the fit of this item.

November 4, 2019

Fantastic

I am 5’10” and a stocky guy with a 44” chest. I think it fits very well, I also chose the XL to give a little room to comfortably fit a sweater/hoodie underneath if I wanted to be very warm while hiking or shoveling outside. The sleeves on previous reviews said they were too long, I am here to tell you I disagree, here is why. With my arms extended... Read More up and out the length is perfect. When my arms are at my side they almost touch my knuckles, in my opinion that’s perfect. Gives the perfect amount of room for gloves to keep cold and snow out. For me it fits great and a solid cost overall, very comfortable and warm.

November 3, 2019

Nice warm jacket.

I am 5’ 8” tall and based on my height I was suggested Small size but when I received it, I tried it out and it’s too short. Then I exchanged to Medium size and it fits perfect but only issue I have is the sleeves are longer. I don’t know if it’s designed that way. Over all, I love it. Keeps me warm and it’s light. Thanks Patagonia.

October 30, 2019

Great Jacket

Exactly what I was looking for. Insulated enough for winter, light enough to work outside in, bulky enough to accommodate layering, and tough enough to get dirty

October 20, 2019

Really great jacket with some oddly long sleeves

If this jacket fits you, you should definitely get it. I've been looking for a jacket like this for a while. Sadly, I looked like a little kid wearing a medium because while everything else on the jacket fit well, the sleeves were about 4 inches too long.

October 12, 2019

Like others, I found the

Like others, I found the sleeves disproportionately long. I wear 34 sleeves, and the medium was more like a 36-37, hanging between 2nd and 3rd finger knuckle. Otherwise, really liked the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 24, 2019

We're sorry about the sleeves being too long! If you were looking to return this but haven't already, just reach out to us so we can facilitate that process for you. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

October 11, 2019

Amazing Work/Casual Jacket

Very happy with my purchase. I'm 6'4" 235lbs, 46L, and have a 36/37 cut sleeve. Everything about this jacket fits true to the size description. Sleeves run about 37" a little longer, but perfect for me, and fits great in the shoulders and waist. This will be my go to jacket for the winter and those cooler fall/spring days. My ... Read Moreonly wish was that the zipper teeth were metal and not plastic. That being said, I'm sure it was to limit the environmental footprint of this jacket. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I plan on wearing it into lint. Cheers.

September 28, 2019

Good Jacket

Google quality jacket that is well fitted. Everyone complaining about the length is stupid. If you’re 5’9-5’10 why would you get a large, unless maybe you are fat but that’s their problem. I’m 6’4 and the large fits great. The website even says the model is 6 foot and is wearing a medium so that should tell you how to gauge the size to order. That ... Read Morebeing said, great jacket.

September 11, 2019

Great coat and product

Great coat, love the fit and look.

February 20, 2019

Freakishly long arms

Overall this jacket is very nice, except the freakishly long arms, which force me to give it 2 stars. In addition, I would've liked the side pockets to have a zipper to secure your phone when it's in there. It would also have been nice for the body to be slightly more fitting, since I get large wind drafts from the bottom wearing the jack... Read Moreet.

February 12, 2019

Best Jacket I've ever owned!

Arms are long, but I just folded them and it looks good.

January 11, 2019

Yes, sleeves are long but I like it that way.

One of the concerns I had reading the reviews before I purchase this jacket was the sleeve length. Yes, I can say the sleeves are long. But it LIKE them that way. You see, when you're out and about doing work in this jacket you'll likely be wearing gloves in the cold temp. Having the sleeves long helps keep your gloves in places because t... Read Morehe jacket overlaps and is therefore not trying to push your gloves off. The times when I do wear this jacket without gloves I don't mind the extra length because it helps keep my hands warm. The jacket runs a little small. I'm 6'2" 220 lbs and normally get a Large, but Patagonia's sizer recommended me the XL so I purchased XL and it fits perfect! I've worn the jacket as warm as 50 degrees and as low as 5 degrees here in Chicago and it's breathable in warmer weather, but keeps you warm in the cold. I've never used the hood. The only reason I would think you'd want it is if you're outdoors and a storm picks up unexpectedly and you don't have a winter hat. The hood is minimalistic and unnoticeable if you don't know what to look for. I've had the jacket for about 4 months now and it shows no sign of wear, so I'm confident it will last me a long time. I wish the jacket chest pocket was on the outside, which is why I'm rating 4 stars. I typically keep my wallet in there and it's less convenient to have to open my jacket to access it. Other than that I have no complaints with this jacket.

January 6, 2019

Great Cool Weather Jacket, But Sleeves Are Too Long

I like this jacket very much except that the sleeves are too long. I'm 5'10", 180. Purchased a large Maple Grove jacket. Chest, waist, collar all fit perfectly, except for the sleeves. My arms measure 34", and the sleeves on the jacket hang almost to the ends of my fingers with arms at rest. The sleeves are 2 inches shorter than... Read More my Patagonia climbing jacket that is now a couple years old. Recommend the jacket with the expectation that the sleeves will be long.

January 3, 2019

Comically long sleeve length, short waist, narrow shoulders

Any positive attributes of this jacket aren't worth mentioning when the fit is so odd it's unwearable. I've been an XL for 40 years and I've never tried on a coat this short at the waist and long in the sleeves. Since it was a Christmas gift, it was passed around to see if it would fit any of the XL wearers in the family for ins... Read Moretant re-gifting or white elephant trades, but drew chuckles about different issues between our varying heights. The sleeve length was almost correct for my 6'4" son, but it was so short at the waist we joked he'd need a nicer belt buckle. At 6-1, if I reach upward it exposes a 'high ride' conceal carry weapon, yet the sleeves fall at the second knuckle of my hands. Reaching forward, it's somewhat tight through the shoulders. No takers for a gift trade, and I would have traded it for a jig saw puzzle. Good wind breaking on the outer shell, but not warm at all. The short and open waist without an elastic cuff around the bottom or sleeves gives this coat true flow-through ventilation. Made in Vietnam. Patagonia virtue signals their cotton source concerns, but doesn't care about the torture of dogs before slaughter and live cooking for their meat market in this third world environmental wreck? As a gift, it was the thought that counts. The Patagonia label was intended to impress. But it's not a product that competes in fit, function, or any practical metric. Actual rating for the overall fit: Too big, too small, just right pocket size - Possibly correct for some carnival people.

December 26, 2018

Very nice jacket, but...

I have had my eye on this jacket for about a year now and received it for Christmas this year. I am a huge Patagonia fan, love the quality of their products and generally the jackets and tops fit me well. This particular coat is classic Patagonia quality, very nice, looks great and feels very substantial. That said, the cut of this jacket is unlike... Read More any I have ever had from Patagonia. I am 6'3" with a long torso, but have never had an issue with an XL from Patagonia, until this jacket. The torso is much shorter than usual, the arm length was fine for me, but the bottom of the XL fell above my waistline by several inches and it was quite a bit too wide for me. Very bummed to have to return this, but that is what is happening. I would absolutely purchase this in the future if they offered a tall or long sizing.

December 16, 2018

Nice, but arms are very long

I have long arms and this jacket's arms went all the way to my finger tips. The torso is a bit short too but that alone would not have been an issue. I liked the jacket overall, but will have to return it due to the arms being way too long. I should have read the other reviews more closely as it is mentioned many times.

November 12, 2018

Great except one thing...

Style: I am 5'8" 168 athletic build. I went with the M with the recommendations from others. I purchased the Grey to dress up for work or dress down for the ranch. This jacket is perfect for Texas winters and working on the ranch. It durable enough to work outside and clean enough to wear over a button down shirt. Style is a 5 out of 5 F... Read Moreunction: The soft "vest style" liner is plenty warm enough for Texas winters (30 - 60 degree F). I can move around with ease and out stretch my arms without anything bunching up. Mobility and Function is a 5 out of 5. This is my favorite feature. Fit: The torso is short and arms are long. It looks a little silly when I have a layer bunched up underneath showing such as a sweater. The arm length is such I have to snap the cuffs tight so they don't flop over my hands. Being 5'8" they could be a little shorter. The torso is short even on me. Fit is a 3 out of 5. Total I give this jacket a 4 out of 5. I can get over the awkward shortness even on a 5'8" body because the style and function are strong. I would recommend this. I would even purchase this jacket again if they made arm length a little shorter, and the torso a little longer and gave it a 1" tail like most working vests have.

October 13, 2018

Long sleeves, short torso, but great jacket

A touch over 6’ at 174 with long 35” Arms and skinny athletic build, I went with a medium. The sleeves are considerably longer than most jackets to the point medium fit my arms perfect. The torso fits well around my chest but is short. I wish they add 2” in length to the body and THE jacket. Good color in Bence brown, great finish and good Incase i... Read Moref emergency hood. Great jacket, short torso.

January 21, 2018

Overall great mid-weight jacket

I purcased this as soon as it was available because I loved the look of it,and it didn't disappoint. The DWR finish works well. I've had it on it sleet and light rain and the moisture sheets right off of it. It's very warm and movement is not restricted at all. I've worn this jacket out casually and while working,and it's p... Read Moreerfect for both. I'm 5'11",180,and I went with Large. I ordered a Medium and Large to compare fit. The Medium was much too tight around the chest and left no room for layering. It was also too short given the way this jacket is cut. Large still looks great and leaves room to layer. I didn't think I'd like the hood feature,but I ended up using it I like it. You wouldn't even know it's there when stowed. I'm deducting one star (wish I could deduct one half) because of the sleeves and zipper. The rest of the jacket fits me perfectly,but the sleeves are about half an inch too long,nearly covering my knuckles when my arms are at the side. Patagonia is usually generous with sleeve length,which I love,but this is just a little too long. As for the zipper,it's made of plastic. It may be fine in the long-run,but it just feels a little cheap. I would have liked to see metal here.

December 12, 2017

Not warm

I live in Minnesota and bought this to be my warm weather coat for the winter. But I feel likes this coat drains my heat instead of preserving it. The longer I'm outside in 20-30' weather,the colder it gets down to my core. So no way this will work sub-zero. It is more like a shell then a mid-weight jacket. Wear some fleece under this one... Read More.

December 6, 2017

Overall a great jacket

I've had the jacket about two months now and am loving it,though there are a few changes I'd suggest for future models. Here's what I wanted to know before I bought it: How does it fit? Like a lot of patagonia jackets,the shoulders are a little narrow and the midsection is a little wide. But rather than feeling constricted,I feel mo... Read Morere "hugged" by the fleece interior,which makes it cozy and adds to the warmth. I'm athletically built,6'4" and 200 lbs,and the large fits great. I've had no problem layering with a flannel shirt and sweater. I was pleasantly surprised to find the jacket was longer than I expected it to be,especially on me (it hits just past the belt line). About the arms: Yeah,they're long. The cuff hits about where my thumb begins,about halfway between my wrist and my knuckles. At first I found this annoying,but as I've worked in it (reaching for tools,swinging an axe),I've come to love the extra length. The sleeves never ride up! Plenty of sleeves are either too constricting and can hinder your movement or too loose and flop around. These hit the sweet spot,allowing me to work without ever feeling like I had to overcome the jacket to do something. How does it stand up to the weather? Really well ' it's a LOT warmer than I thought it would be. I'd say the ideal temperature range for this is about 35-55,depending on your base layer (I was toasty walking through downtown Roanoke a few nights ago in the mid-30s with a sweater). It's not listed as windproof,but I haven't felt a thing through the heavy canvas,thick fleece and sleeve insulation. The DWR works great,but keep in mind the thickness of the jacket: It might not be 'waterproof' but you'd have to be standing in a driving rain for quite a while before the water got through all those layers. (As other commenters have said,the hood ' is probably never getting used,by me anyway. It's a nice thought,but it's thin,oddly small and doesn't do much more than a ballcap would.) How does it look? Awesome. My wife loves it,and I've received more compliments on it than any other item of clothing I can remember. Most of my technical pieces pull double duty as casual wear,but it's a good alternative to looking like another member of the puffy patrol. In a sea of down sweaters and Carhartt at the brewery,you'll stand out in a good way. How does it feel? Substantial,rock-solid. So many jackets are getting lighter and lighter,either for technical pursuits or because companies are using cheaper materials. This thing is heavy in in a good way; it feels like a quality piece you can put through the ringer. Nitpicks: The handwarmer pocket lining is nice: soft and inviting. But it could be so much warmer. I wish the fleece on the inside also lined the pockets. Right now the microfleece (microfiber?) lays directly against the canvas on the outside,and tends to 'hold' the cold,if that makes sense. Warm air gets trapped in fleece,and so fleece almost always feels warm to the touch,or warms up quickly. But this material always feels cold to the touch,at least to me. The front cargo pockets are as tall as they look and great for holding tools outside. But when sitting,the top of the pockets pushes inward,putting pressure across my sternum,right below my chest. It doesn't restrict my breathing or anything,but I find myself shifting around or just unzipping it entirely in the car. I think some adjustable tabs that snap on the bottom hem would help with the bit of billowiness. But overall,I'm incredibly pleased I pulled the trigger on this jacket. If you're on the fence,I say go for it: It's a warm,stylish piece that will probably last me until my kids grow up and steal it in about 20 years. And I'm sure patagonia wouldn't have it any other way.

November 17, 2017

Great jacket - especially if you're a gibbon.

This is a nearly perfect mid-weight jacket. The fleece is cozy,and the canvas does a good job of stopping the wind. The only drawback,as noted by other reviewers,is that the sleeves are ridiculously long - the size chart says an XL should have a 36" sleeve; according to my measuring tape it's 39" - almost long enough to cover my fing... Read Moreertips.

November 11, 2017

Great jacket!

Love the jacket. I am 5'5',148,and athletically built. The small is a great fit. As mentioned by the other reviewers,the sleeves are a bit long.

November 10, 2017

Great Stylish Jacket

Great stylish jacket. Looks great and super comfy with the high pile fleece inside. Love the huge drop in pockets on the outside. Let's me spend an entire day around town without a bag because I can carry so much! The micro-fleece in the handwarmer pockets is also awesome - super soft and warm. In terms of sizing - I'm 6'3" 1... Read More80 lbs with an athletic build and the medium is perfect. Oddly,the sleeves are a little too long for me - surprising since I have pretty long arms. The only issue with this jacket is the hood. It's an awkward size and wraps around my forehead pushing down on my eyebrows. It's uncomfortable. Kinda seems like none of the designers actually tried on the hood because its pretty obviously uncomfortable.

October 31, 2017

Great Jacket - Only 2 issues

This is a nearly perfect all-around jacket. Durable,somewhat warm,stylish,active,DWR finish. Fleece inside is awesome and outer material seems really durable yet comfortable. Looks great. I only have 2 issues: 1) The arms seem much longer than typical Mediums. I am 5'9" and always wear a M however these arms seem about an inch too long. C... Read Moreould be mistaken. 2) The hood tucked in to the collar is an awesome idea but it's extremely thin and I'm pretty sure I'd never use it. I'd like to see a more substantial hood option (or detachable) or just leave the hood out altogether. But I'm really happy with this jacket. This is probably the best all-around,versatile piece I've gotten since my Nano Puff 5 years ago. I am guessing it will be worn just as much.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches