Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat

4.5/5
September 8, 2021

Did not fit me

This jacket is made for taller women probably. I'm 5'5 119lb and the pockets were waay too low for me. Still waiting for my return.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2021

Thanks for letting us know about the fit Velichka! We're sorry this one didn't work for you. You may prefer our [Women's Torrentshell 3L Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-torrentshell-3l-rain-jacket/85245.html) it's a shorter fit and may work better for you. Please reach out to our customer service team regarding your return. Thanks!

September 6, 2021

High Quality Waterproof Jacket that Looks Great!

This is extremely waterproof. The water beads up and runs off. It is not hot or uncomfortable. It fits so well and is actually quite flattering. I got it in a purple hue and it is beautiful and looks very good on. This is now my go-to raincoat.

August 26, 2021

Perfect Fit

I have despaired finding a raincoat that 1)actually repelled rain and kept me dry, even in a downpour 2) fit well 3) was designed with some style and panache. This checks all the boxes. I am 5 7, 138 lbs and the Medium fits beautifully, even with a thin sweater underneath. I love the length and slanted hem and sleeves. The blue is a lift on dreary ... Read Moredays but not so bright I will tire of it. I expect to enjoy wearing this coat for the rest of my life ( I am 74), so the coat was worth the cost. Quality product.

August 24, 2021

Just as described - true to size

Im 56 with measurements 32B, 28 waist, 38 hips and size small was perfect. Its roomy enough that I am able to wear a sweater under the jacket with some room for movement.

August 11, 2021

The perfect "city slicker"!

Super lightweight, fitted so it presents with a lot of style, hood is low profile for perfect urban look, love the length ... not too short, not to long ... just right!

July 9, 2021

Tight in armpits if you layer

This jacket is a great color and tapers very nicely so you dont look bulky. I live in Florida so I only need it for rain, but I see it could be too tight in the armpits if you layer up. The hood is really nice and stays in place. Seems waterproof to me. The zipper pockets are a plus especially the inside one at chest level. I am happy with this jac... Read Moreket.

July 7, 2021

Totally worth the $$$

I was very hesitant about the price once I got it, I would have paid it over and over again. I have very long arms and this accommodated me perfectly. Not a drop of water got on me in a huge downpour

June 22, 2021

Rainy day darling

This coat is a great length and practical for getting places without a soggy bottom. Medium is good with sweater underneath. I usually size up for outerwear with Patagonia.

June 19, 2021

A-line fit and flattering

I read a lot of the other reviews based on peoples height and weight to pick the size medium I chose. Im 55 and weight 142 pounds. It fits perfectly! You can only wear a t-shirt or one layer. Definitely cant wear a sweatshirt underneath. That may not be an issue for most people but I live in the North and some rainfalls get pretty chilly. The lengt... Read Moreh falls about mid thigh for me. And with the two-way zipper, I can open up the bottom some when I sit. The sleeve length falls exactly at the middle of my palm with my arms down. The cut of the jacket is A-line so that its fitted at the waist and flairs out a little at the bottom. When zipped all the way up, it does have a high neck like you would see on winter ski jackets. It will definitely keep the rain out.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2021

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful feedback on fit, sizing and design! For colder climates, we recommend you layer with a thin fleece, wool sweater, down sweater, Capilene Air or R1 Air Crew. Another option would be to take a look at our 3-in-1 parkas which consist of an insulating coat that zips into an outer rain and snow shell like our "slim" fitting Vosque Parka. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. We're happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 14, 2021

Beautiful jacket

This Jacket is so cute, the fit is perfect, beautiful color. All around very satisfied with this jacket.

June 12, 2021

Nice length

Good length for us taller ladies. Sleeves hit almost first knuckles when arms by side. Flattering fit, but a bit tighter in hips yet still slightly loose in stomach area, straight cut and I am have a bit more curve. ..I love that the zipper can unzip from the bottom.!! Only real complaint is the hood brim is a little bit short for me. I like a loos... Read Moreer and larger hood for my hair and I do have a very large head. Overall happy with purchase.

May 29, 2021

Perfect fit, gorgeous color, repels hard rain, perfect for dog walks

I saw the CNN review on the top raincoats and torrent shell came out on top so i thought Id try it after having 2 prior coats for many years that no longer seemed to repel rain anymore. This one was the ticket. It looks gorgeous, especially the purple color, fits nicely and I dont need an umbrella. I love the double zipper so that i can unzip the b... Read Moreottom when sitting down. The sleeves have a nice asymmetrical design to them as well. Its crinkly like most rain coats yet thats what works for rain. I am about 112lbs 5 foot 1 inch tall and XS is perfect. I can fit a thicker layer under it like a sweater if i need and its not too tight in the chest or other places. If youre over average height, the sleeves may be too short.

May 21, 2021

Fantastic Jacket

Love it! I got a large (usually wear a medium in shirts) and I'm glad I did so I can layer in colder weather. Even though I sized up a tad it doesn't feel bulky at all, the cut is perfect. The material feels so durable and very well made. I love the raised collar, partially fleece-lined pockets, and longer sleeve at the back of the hand. ... Read MoreAll really nice and functional details.

May 10, 2021

Misleading product description

This is a really nice rain jacket. It was labeled as a city coat which implied that it had a warmer layer on the inside. I was disappointed that it did not since I am planning to use this to wear in London everyday.

May 9, 2021

Noice looking raincoat

I wanted a longer raincoat that I could wear with dresses. This one is perfect.

May 5, 2021

Fits Well, Very Waterproof!

I have tried many waterproof shells throughout the years, and this one so far has exceeded expectations! I've worn it in multiple heavy spring rains without any issue. The water beads immediately upon contact. The fabric over zippers also reduces wind, and I love that the pockets are lined with a fuzzy material - I don't have to worry abo... Read Moreut anything getting scratched. I also really like the hood (what's with companies making rain coats without hoods??), since it protects my face well.

May 5, 2021

For tall, with no hips

Sleeves waaay too long, even for a nonshort person. Does not come in petite sizing. Tight around hips/rear. So loud and crunchy you'd scare away wildlife.

May 3, 2021

Perfect layer over my radalie parka

I bought this in preparation to my move to western Washington. It is a nice fit and like that the khaki color looks a bit dressy. It fits perfect over my radalie parka.

May 3, 2021

Classic and Functional

Simple, stylish and functional. Blocks wind and rain without looking like you're about to head out on the trail.

April 30, 2021

Nice cut and versatile

I didn't need a raincoat, but I wanted something long enough to wear over leggings and a tunic. My other outerwear was either too long and heavy or too short. The cut of this is perfect, and the raincoat character has already come in handy. I appreciate the two way zipper and appreciate that the medium zips closed over my biggish hips without ... Read Morethe shoulders being sloppy The one modification I would appreciate would be a way to make the hood smaller, i.e., to sit back farther on my head. My windbreaker has a tab on the back of the hood that shortens it, which makes that hood perfect for my smallish head. The drawstring in this hood helps to snug it up, but the front of the hood still sticks out way too far for my head. I might be able to improvise something.

April 26, 2021

Nice cut and a lovely color

I am 5'9, 120lbs. I always buy an XS in Patagonia gear and usually my only complaint is that the arms are a bit short. The XS in this rain jacket was too snug over a light fleece so I went with the S. The arms also could be longer on both the XS and S. But the fitted cut and longer length are great and it seems well-made.. The shoulders are &q... Read Moreuot;slim fit" and might be a problem if you are very broad. The purple color is lovely. I will wear during spring, summer and early fall backcountry hikes and runs, as well as casually.

April 24, 2021

Warweproof

It fits well and its comfortable

April 12, 2021

A Bit Too Slim

I loved the jacket and was tempted to keep it, but.. The jacket was the correct size, just too slim for me, primarily in the bust region. Hips and waist were okay. I am 143 #. My other 3 Patagonia jackets in medium fit well. Loved the length ( I don't like tunics always sticking out of my jackets like some ruffle) and that it was rain and wind... Read More-proof. The lavender color was a refreshing, light color and I was ready for it after winter and it is a lighter-weight jacket. If it had had pit zips I might have stuck with it anyway, but it was just too close overall in the top of the jacket. Could have worn only a standard tee underneath, comfortably.

April 8, 2021

Useful length, pretty color, excellent quality

I was looking for a longer rain jacket I could use for backcountry trail running and hiking. This jackets works we'll. I am 5'9+, 120 and usually take an XS in Patagonia jackets. I purchased this jacket in XS and S. The XS was fine with just a tee but was too snug with my r1 (not heavy) fleece underneath. The S was a better fit but arms s... Read Morelightly too short. I purchased the lilac color. In person, a lovely color. The jacket is flattering and fitted and will fine for hiking and trail runs in the rain.

April 3, 2021

Keeps you dry

I use this jacket for casual wear and dog walking. The length is great, keeps the legs dry. Its a great lighter weight rain jacket for those warmer days, but can also wear a lightweight sweater or thinner fleece if cooler. Ive gotten compliments on the color and fit. Definitely recommend this rain jacket!

March 30, 2021

2nd try better

I was attracted to the muted lavender purple color of this raincoat and bought it in SML which usually fits. The small had a more slim fit thru the shoulders and waist so I ended up getting the medium. I think it would be more accurate to describe this as a slim fit than a regular fit. Being 53, I wish there was a petite version because slightly s... Read Morehorter would be more proportional for me. There was a city coat that was the perfect length but discontinued years ago that I loved and this is the closest replacement I have found so far. I would have loved some pit zippers because I think this could get warm.. especially in Hawaii... lol. Still cant wait to use this on a windy rainy day...

March 25, 2021

Nice fit

Good raincoat does the job and fits well. However it came folded and the fold lines won't come out. Crinkly noise when you move, material is kind of like a hard plastic. Could have been a little more supple.

March 20, 2021

Perfect medium (for me at least)

After reading a number of reviews, I was somewhat hesitant to order a medium because a number of reviews stated the coat size ran small. I took a look at the size chart provided on the site, I measured hips, waist, and chest (although no one needs to remind themselves their hips are a little wide, haha). I even took advantage of the online chat and... Read More spoke with a wonderful rep, Ryan. He was super helpful and very knowledgeable about the product. I asked him a number of questions, one being if a fleece vest would fit under this coat comfortably and he assured me it would. I also figured if it did run small, i could return it for the large. But I had full faith in the Patagonia size chart and Ryan, so I placed my order for the Torrentshell 3L City Rain Coat - MEDIUM. Four days later the coat arrived!! I opened the package and immediately tried it on. I already had on my fleece vest that I would wear under it on chilly days and donned the coat - it fit like a charm! It's meant to be fitted/have a fitted look, but I had sufficient room in the hips and shoulders. When I removed the vest, the coat had plenty of roominess. My recommendation would be measure yourself before you order and make sure your measurements fall in the range of the size chart. Great coat, I can't wait to wear it when it's raining! Thank you Patagonia and Ryan!

March 11, 2021

perfect for layering on the raining days Great length just above my knees

have only worn this once as CA is lacking rain, but i really liked the fit and how i could layer a down vest underneath . The length is perfect for walking in the rain! Yes i recommend this rain coat!

March 3, 2021

A nice rain jacket, but not a coat.

I ordered this thinking it would be a warm coat, alas, it's just a rain jacket. I ended up keeping it because I like it a lot as a rain jacket, but I had to order something else for warmth.

February 24, 2021

Beautiful Rain Coat

Loved the Color a light purple.. It was too fitted in the waist.. I had to Return it.. Regular Fit??

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review. For future, size swaps are super easy with our exchange process. To get started on an exchange, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 30, 2021

Great rain jacket

I grew up in the PNW but currently live in the Bay Area where we don't see much rain. My old longer rain jacket is a size XS and has been very tight /unwearable with my recent covid weight. We just had a week of rain and I really needed something that would protect me while I walk my dog, plus I am finally moving back to the NW later this year... Read More so I knew I'd need a good raincoat. This one fits the bill! It is a good length, very waterproof, comfortable, and stylish. I love the blue color. I ordered a L (I am 5'4'', ~145lbs mostly athletic build with some extra tummy fat thanks to covid) and normally wear a L in tops/jackets from Patagonia. I would say that this fits like a true L. I had some room to spare inside but as I prefer to be able to layer in case it is cold and rainy, this was ideal. Definitely recommend this coat!

January 26, 2021

Perfect raincoat for rainy Portland Oregon

We don't use umbrellas in Portland, so having a perfect raincoat is essential. And this is the perfect raincoat. I wear it over a suit for business, and over workout clothes for a hike or walking to the grocery store. I hope Patagonia makes this silhouette forever!

January 17, 2021

Rainy day hikes

I am really impressed with this coats fit and easy grace from hiking at the beach to work. Nice fit overall, double opening zipper makes this transition possible. Am puzzled by the chest pocket, not much of anything fits in it easily. Love the lavender color.

January 6, 2021

Raincoat does not fit well

Sadly I ordered this coat in both Med and Large. Good thing I like the color. THe fit is just terrible. The Med should fit me like a glove, it does not. When I put a sweater under it you cannot close it comfortably. It LG fits on the top loosely but the bottom is so huge it looks like swing skirt. I kept the large as I need a waterproof raincoat, b... Read Moreut it fit is just terrible. Too much money for something that fits that poorly. Needs major overhauling.

December 10, 2020

Runs small

It definitely runs a Little small. All of my patagonia gear is a large with room for layers underneath but the large did not fit around my chest even with just a shirt on.

Response from Patagonia
January 22, 2021

We're glad to see you were able to get the larger size ordered, but thank you for your patience during the process. Any feedback on the fabric, sizing, fit and performance is very valuable for our Product Designers as well as other customers, so thank you for taking the time to submit a review, Laura!

December 6, 2020

Love this rain coat

I love this rain coat! Im 52 & 125-130lbs. I ordered a small in the purple. The color is beautiful; better than expected even. Fit is great. I love the tapered cuffs. The collar stands straight and at the perfect height as it doesnt sit too low or hit my chin. The hoodie actually covers my face from the rain and stays in place when Im rushing a... Read Moreround, which is great. Its an ideal length for providing good coverage while not drowning my smaller frame out. Its really a cute, sophisticated looking rain jacket. Its lightweight and thin but with a sweater underneath, it keeps me warm. Perfect for Southern California and our rarer rainy days and cold windy days. Would definitely recommend.

November 19, 2020

Dog Walking Jacket

I was trying to find a perfect jacket to throw on for dog walks that would keep my legs a little drier in drizzly weather. I ordered a medium, which is my normal size, but needed to size up so I could layer underneath. Love the hood, the sleeves, and the length. Wish it had pit zips as I get warm during a long walk, but understand this is not s sup... Read Moreer technical piece.

November 17, 2020

Excellent Rain Jacket

I wanted a feminine rain jacket, that had 2 zippers to allow movement at the bottom. Also wanted zipped pockets to secure my phone and keys when in the rain. I'm completely dry in this jacket. Which is exactly what I wanted. I looked at several brands and chose this one due to the above functionality. I am very pleased with my purchase.

November 17, 2020

Love it!

If anyone else is primarily sizing based on (large) bust measurements, it seems you can size down based on your other measurements and get a great fit. I'm 5'3", 120 pounds, and usually wear a size 4 in other brands (35" bust/26.5" waist/35" hips). I initially ordered the S because I was on the upper side of the listed... Read More chest measurements, but found it was pretty baggy. The XS fits me perfectly even though the listed bust measurements are 2-3" smaller than my measurements. Now that I found my size, I've found the sizing to be consistent and very thoughtful across products. I am using this as an outer shell and didn't need to "order up a size" to account for layering. I also got an XS Better Sweater (a fitted, very thick sweater). This rain jacket fits nicely if I'm wearing just a T-shirt underneath AND when I'm wearing my Better Sweater underneath. I can also switch out the sweater for a down jacket for colder temps and still have a good fit. The fit is great for a shell - it is neither baggy nor constricting with different levels of layering. I love the hyssop purple color. I was worried it would be too grey (it can be hard to tell from pictures), but it is a really lovely, soft purple color. The coat hits a few inches above my knees, which is perfect, since I am wearing it for city use and usually won't be wearing rain pants. I appreciate the attention to detail (handwarmer pockets, double sided zipper for sitting down, very adjustable hood to get a good fit). Also appreciate the sustainability mission and that I'll be able to repair it anytime I need to in the future. Very pleased! Thank you!

November 12, 2020

Sophisticated look for rainy days

I am always out walking the dog rain or shine, so I needed something that could withstand torrential downpours. This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It is very slimming and figure flattering, yet still does the job of being waterproof. It has a very clean, modern look. Im happy I finally found something waterproof that doesnt look like a ... Read Moregarbage bag on me! I read some reviews that the material is loud and stiff, but I dont find that to be the case. It is more of a substantial weight rain coat material, which to me means it works well in the rain. Im 5 foot 4 inches and typically wear XS. This fits perfectly and hits above my knee.

November 1, 2020

Fashionable and fabulously functional!

I absolutely love this raincoat! I bought it for walks with my new puppy in Boston and it has been fantastic. Patagonia always delivers when it comes to function and performance, and this coat is no exception. It keeps me bone dry after long dog walks in the pouring rain. What I particularly appreciate about this coat (versus other models) are the ... Read Morefashionable touches, such as the fitted style, the decorative stitching, lined pockets, and overall careful detailing. It's perfect for city living and casual wear. I highly recommend this!

October 29, 2020

Patagonia Never Disappoints!

I absolutely love this coat! Patagonia never disappoints when it comes to function and performance. True to form, this coat is amazing in the pouring rain. I've worn it on long walks with my dog in the pouring rain and come home perfectly dry. What a particularly like beyond the performance is the fashionable styling with a fitted form, decora... Read Moretive stitching, and lined pockets. This is the perfect balance of high quality rain gear with casual wear appeal for city living. I highly recommend this coat!

February 21, 2020

Great for rain and as a windbreaker.

Oh my gosh, do I like this coat. It covers very well, keeps the wind from getting through and is great in the rain.. The hood is much appreciated. It is roomy enough to wear a warmer garment underneath. I usually wear either my macro jacket under or my TechFace Hoody if it is cold, and if not, by itself on a windy day. I am snug and warm. Am I glad... Read More I bought this rain coat!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches