burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipses50th logo50th logo50th logo50th logopro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary profilenavigation primary profilenavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Product Safety Recall

Due to safety concerns about the snaps on the Infant Capilene® Midweight Set, we are implementing a recall of units purchased between August 1, 2021, and January 12, 2023. For more information, including how to identify this product, how to return it and how to get a full refund, please click the link below.

Learn More

Earth Is Now Our Only Shareholder

If we have any hope of a thriving planet—much less a business—it is going to take all of us doing what we can with the resources we have. This is what we can do.

Read Yvon’s Letter

Free Shipping on Orders Over $99

Orders are shipped within 1-2 business days and arrive within 3-10 business days. Need it sooner? Concerned about the environmental impact? Flexible shipping options are available.

More Details

Back to Product

Men's Steel Forge Puff Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Steel Forge Puff Work Jacket

4.7/5
True To Size
March 21, 2023

Warm, tough & comfortable

This is a tough warm jacket that runs large, just as the product description indicates as a relaxed fit. LOTS of room for layering compared to regular fit Patagonia jackets of the same size. For me it was not so big that I wanted to size down. Perhaps I would try on the next size down if I knew I would never need to layer. Overall the description i... Read Mores not lying when it says relaxed fit, runs large for layering, etc. I live in Tahoe and primarily use this for snow removal. I do tend to run warmer than most, so take that into account. I wore it with just a t-shirt in 24 degrees and was comfortable doing snow removal. I wore it with just a t-shirt in 36 degrees and was in a full sweat running the snowblower and digging out cars etc. A layer or two would probably be nice if I was just standing around or going to work or whatever depending on the temperature. I dont think I would wear this jacket if it was above 40 degrees, unless I was sitting around a campfire or sitting in a beer garden, something very low energy. The lack of two way zipper that others have mentioned is not a big deal for me. If the jacket was any longer perhaps it would be. I guess it would be nice to have, but no big deal for me. Overall, I love the jacket. I would recommend it to a friend. I would buy it again.

March 10, 2023

One of the best puff

One of the best puff jacket.

March 9, 2023

Warm and utilitarian

Warm, comfortable, and functional jacket. Simple design and been durable thus far (approx 1 month of ownership). Fairly waterproof. Quite warm down to low 30s, additional layering needed below 30 if outside for an extended period of time. Would be cool if they made an 'arctic' version with a higher fill.

February 9, 2023

Warm and Roomy, allows for layering

This is a great jacket for extended periods of time in cold weather. It is warm but has plenty of room for layering underneath. It does not bind or pull during activity and is super comfortable and light. Blocks wind and moisture. Great as an outer layer and works well under my ski patrol jacket which is a shell.

February 8, 2023

Surprisingly warm

I've only had it a couple of weeks, but it's definitely the warm work coat I was looking for. Much warmer and better fitting than the Carhartts I've worn out in the past. In fact, I was pleasantly surprised by the volume of insulation. I would not call it overly bulky, but it's got more insulation than I had expected. I was comf... Read Moreortable down into the single digits with minimal mid layers. I noted that many of the reviews mentioned the lack of a two-way zipper, and they are right--that would be an improvement, but I don't find excessive bunching when bending over or squatting. Like most of the WorkWear line, it runs pretty big. I'm 6'2" and 225 pounds and a large fits perfectly. I'll update the review down the road, but the exterior fabric feels pretty study and smooth, so I have high hopes for durability.

February 7, 2023

Breathable, fashionable, durable

This jacket is surprisingly light weight for its size. When the mail man handed me a small light box I was doubtful my jacket was in it, but it was. Very fluffy and warm- keeps the wind out. It is very comfortable, I look forward to wearing it. Jacket has a great print on it, very stylish. I have received several posative comments about the jacket.... Read More I even got caught in the rain, I didn't get wet and after ducking into a coffee shop, the jacket dried within minutes. Steel Forge Jacket is a solid piece of gear. I am glad I bought one.

February 1, 2023

A "work" jacket that is so muh more

This may be considered by Patagonia to be a work jacket, but it is so much more. I bought this work in the yard when it gets cold, but it looks so great that I immediately recategorized it as a causual Winter coat. It's very lightweight but still quite warm, and while it is called a puff jacket, it is not bulky. For example, I took my dogs out... Read More this morning when the temp was 11 degrees. I wore just a t-shirt underneath and was just fine. Add some Patagonia layers underneath, and you will be good to go down to pretty darn cold. As others have said, it also bocks the wind really well. Put the hood up in the wind and your head will stay warm too. I admit that I have worn it while doing some active work in the yard (cutting up and dragging fallen limbs, etc.) and it has held up well without even a scratch or snag. The subtle gray-on black pattern is also stylish. My buddies who are Patagonia junkies are shocked when they see the logo over the pocket. When I tell them it's from the Workwear line, most of them say they have not heard of it! There is nothing about this coat that I would change. So, anyway, great job Patagonia, on another great product.

January 24, 2023

The perfect cold-weather work jacket

This jacket is a perfect marriage of Patagonia's work wear and their more traditional outdoor gear. It's super warm on cold mornings when I'm out feeding our livestock and the freedom to move prevents cold air from getting in. It's weatherproof enough that I'll wear it in the snow and wind for hours and never think about ne... Read Moreeding another jacket. Hay sheds off this jacket easily and I never worry about reaching over barbed wire due to the tough outer shell. Truly a breakthrough in work wear that has me leaving my more traditional work jackets on the coat hanger.

December 29, 2022

Warm and comfortable

I love everything about this coat. It's not too heavy, but has kept me warm when it's been very, very cold out. Plenty of pockets. Isn't "noisy" material like some other coats.

December 21, 2022

Great coat hurt by poor zippers

I was so excited to receive this coat. Its true to size and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the plastic pocket zippers are very fragile. I was closing the pocket zipper and the plastic zip broke in two. I am disappointed at the malfunction after two days of use. Hope to get it fixed.

December 16, 2022

Tough and warm

Great all around winter coat. Tough outer shell is water and wind resistant and briar proof. Love the look also.

December 11, 2022

Love this jacket

It's perfect for me. I tried on several different Patagonia jackets at a local store, all XXL regular fit. They all fit okay but would not have been able to layer. This Steel Forge (XXL Relaxed fit) is perfect. Not too big, but I can comfortably wear a hoodie under it. I love that you can zip or snap the front. The outside pockets are excellen... Read Moret, big, roomy and warm. I also love that it's not like every other guy's Patagonia jacket I see locally.

November 8, 2022

Best all weather jacket that I own today

I'm 6,2ft or 190cm (because in Europe we use the superior metric system) and had to choose xl because I don't want to short arms on my jacket. The fit is perfect, you can fit easily a pullover or a sweater beneath it without feeling feeling constricted. I use this jacket mostly for working outside and for hiking. Isolation against all we... Read Moreather conditions is superior. Above 15° of Celsius I won't recommend wearing it, too warm. The build quality is superior but I'd suggest to patagania to include in a refresh of this jacket a second inlay pocket on the right side. Besides this I strongly recommend to push the availability of these product line to Europe. I had to import this product through a friend from the United States into Europe. Local restricted availability are anachronistic.

October 10, 2022

Relaxed Fit, Warm

Haven't worn it that many days but it is definitely warm and seemingly windproof and water resistant. I like the loose fit for layering but would like a draw cord at bottom to stop the gales from blowing up my back.

May 7, 2022

Bring On Winter

Although this jacket won't be worn while fixing fences or building roads, it will keep me warm and dry while walking behind a snowblower in January. The materials, fit and construction are as ever Patagonia-excellent.

April 20, 2022

Almost Perfect

Gotta knock it one start for the almost unforgiveable sin of no two-way zipper. This makes the mid-section bunch up weirdly when shoveling, shoeing a horse, or sitting. Almost made me want to send it back. Lovin' the incredible freedom of movement (5'6" and 155# the fit is roomy with room for layering). Very light but warm with well ... Read Moredesigned pockets and hood. Fabric seems somewhat durable and nicely water repellent.

April 13, 2022

Great jacket that keeps you warm and looks great

I am loving this jacket! It is lightweight and yet provides excellent wind-protection and warmth. Bonus item - it also looks great.

April 13, 2022

Really durable!

I love this coat! Runs big. Im always a large in Patagonia stuff. Had to return it and get a medium. Very durable

April 4, 2022

Great Jacket with Layering

So far, I've been able to use this jacket while working outside. It moves well across the shoulders. It's a relaxed fit, so I was disappointed that it doesn't have a waist drawstring to help manage the draftiness (very open at the waist), the cuffs are not adjustable, and neither is the hood. These are 'standard' details I ... Read Morehave come to expect from a Patagonia product. I'm not going to return the jacket but I hope I can feel more confident wearing this as part of my daily work gear next fall.

March 30, 2022

The best and warmest jacket I've ever owned.

I learned about Patagonia workwear online, but couldn't find any YouTube reviews of this jacket, which was strange but I was intrigued. I visited the awesome new Patagonia store in my neighborhood and tried it on. Immediately I knew I had to have it. I purchased it online the next day. This jacket fits and feels so good. It's understated ... Read Morebut interesting looking. It fits and feels great (runs a bit big - size down). It completely blocks out any wind, and is cut with a slight tail to cover your rear. The hood sinches down and is very comfortable. I haven't seen anyone with this jacket and there is a lot of Patagonia running around NYC. I find it close to perfect and I hesitate to give it the 5 stars it totally deserves just because I want it all to myself, lol. Seriously, it's probably the best jacket I've ever owned and I have zero regrets. It's very affordable for the quality and functionality you get. Great job Patagonia!

March 27, 2022

extremely warm and not bulky

The jacket is my winter everyday wear, we live in Northern MN, temps ranging from 10 to -40 all winter, and it's more than enough to keep me warm, well worth the purchase.

March 12, 2022

Great Jacket

This is a great winter jacket. It runs a bit big, but I like loose fitting jackets. It's also fairly warm.....I run hot, but this coat is too much when it gets above 35 degrees.

March 9, 2022

Better than I expected

Im so surprised with this jacket. Its warm, and well built. I wear this in NYC. The fit is relaxed. I usually wear a medium but sized down to a small and its perfect. I would recommend this jacket

March 2, 2022

my new jacket

I own an earlier nano puff H2No jacket which i love but very scared to get a snag as I wear it at work for most of the day (N.H.). I bought the 'new version' as it is supposed to be more abrasion resistant. there are several features that I miss in this new jacket: the two way zipper for more comfort while seated driving or walking, and t... Read Morehe inside mesh pocket which was large enough to put hat and mittens (or the mail..) into. Otherwise this jacket does its job when it isn't horribly cold.

March 1, 2022

Pleasantly surprised

I live in NYC and I needed a great coat to work outdoors. And this coat fit the bill. Im pleasantly surprised with the warmth of the jacket. I love the outer shell. You will need to size down one full size. Great job Patagonia with a great jacket.

February 26, 2022

Comfortable & Light

This coat fills a gap between my parka and jacket. I wore it today while shoveling snow, 26 deg F. with light wind; good warmth. Another day walking the dog above 32 deg F in moderate rain; worked well. And it is big enough to wear a down sweater underneath. Good buy!

February 24, 2022

just great

I love this jacket. I bought it for work as a water operator in the Colorado mountains. It is so warm and breaks the wind. I have snagged it many times without it ripping. My only complaint is the tiny cinch clips for the hood have both broken off and popped the spring while washing even on delicates. Otherwise a really great and warm work jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Hey there Michael! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that the cord lock has broken on your Men's Steel Forge Puff Work Jacket. Please feel free to either send that item in for warranty evaluation or repair and we would be happy to help take care of you.

February 24, 2022

I absolutely love this stuff!!

I absolutely love this stuff!! I have a ton of jackets and base layers and they are so warm and comfortable!

February 24, 2022

Functional but peculiar appearance

The light weight combined with good insulation makes this a good winter work coat; the rain resistant material is a plus. However the coats exterior design pattern is peculiar-not a solid color but covered with pixels

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the warmth, fabric, weight and features of this jacket. The fabric is a blend of nylon and polyester for strength and durability. What you're seeing is the typical grid pattern of rip-stop weave. Thanks for the review, Jon!

February 23, 2022

Great Work Jacket

This jacket is a good work jacket, very warm and durable. I usually wear size L shirts and jackets from Patagonia, size M fits perfectly with room for layers beneath. 4 stars because its missing some good features found on other Patagonia jackets such as the elastic on the back of the hood, and elastic or cinch waist.

February 23, 2022

Old so soon and smart so late

Hey! Really like the hooded jacket! I'm retired now and pick my fights a little better, but sure wish I had this coat in my 20's when we worked through the winters in northern Wyoming and southern Montana. If you didn't work, you didn't get paid. Frozen lunches in lunch boxes that rode in the back of the truck were part of the d... Read Moreeal. Grabbing a hammer and level rod instead of standing behind a surveying instrument in the wind and cold was a good strategy to stay warm when surveying mining pits, access roads and railroad beds. Helping neighbors feed cattle by hand with the small idiot hay bails was also a common task. The best features about the jacket are the hood and neck protection and fit (great design, good material choices and execution), the warmth for the light weight, the many well though out pockets, the windproof material, the snaps on top of the zippers, the comfortable cuffs and hopefully the durability. For too long I equated warmth with weight (not so) so it's really nice to have warmth without a cumbersome amount of weight. A large size was a good choice for me (6' 1" and about 195lbs), plenty of room for layers which haven't been necessary yet and room for tasks like shoveling snow and cutting wood. My only grump so far is the outer cloth is "noisy". Have to be extra careful when closely approaching wildlife cause they hear me coming (swish/swish)and spook. Maybe the cloth will become quieter with wear. And the earlier mentioned grump, sure wish this coat were available 40 years ago when I needed to be outside year around. I may provide a later review after getting some more miles and days in this wonderful coat. Great job!

February 23, 2022

Great work Coat

Very nice, durable and warm. Hood is oversized. Will not disappoint.

February 23, 2022

Great jacket!

This became my go-to jacket. Perfect for Northern California weathers, great for being out in the hills or walking the kids to school. Has stood up well on rainy days also. Looking forward to this jacket being the staple for a while. I wear a Large in normal Patagonia jackets. Ordered a large and medium and the large was way too big. Medium fits we... Read Morell while still allowing room for a shirt and another layer underneath.

February 23, 2022

Extremely warm and lightweight

I wish I found this jacket a few years ago! Unbelievably warm for it's weight, nice deep pockets and the hood really keeps you protected from the cold winds. And I am really happy with the way it fits

February 22, 2022

Fantastic warm final layer

My only fault with this great coat is no waist grommets that would have been preferred

February 22, 2022

It is wonderful

Lightweight, warm, seems very well made and durable. Highly recommend. My brother has been eyeing it with lust.

February 21, 2022

Warm Jacket

First I want to say I usually size up to a XXL with most other brand of jackets so I can layer up properly. This jacket is great as an XL with plenty of room for layers. The jacket is warm enough to handle Minnesota winters (sun zero temps). I plan to use the jacket for work and casual wear. I would highly recommend this jacket for anyone who is lo... Read Moreoking for a warm winter jacket.

February 18, 2022

Almost Perfect

I bought this as a daily wear general purpose cool weather jacket, and for that use it is almost perfect. The materials, cut, fit and overall design are excellent, as one should expect from a premium priced product. But a couple of minor niggles keep this jacket from being everything that I hoped it would be. The lesser item is the elasticized wris... Read Morets. I would have preferred adjustable Velcro closures. I also would have preferred seamless shoulders. I worry about leaks in the future, especially when worn under pack straps. A more serious oversight though is the lack of a two way zipper. This may seem like a minor thing but it prevents me from using the jacket comfortably in a couple of very common (for me) daily use situations. I really like the longer length of the jacket. The one way zipper works just fine when standing, but when sitting, driving in a vehicle, or (all the time for me) riding on a bicycle around town, the jacket does not conform well to this body position. A simple two way zipper would have easily prevented this by just unzipping them bottom a few inches so the longer jacket breaks comfortably at the waist. Soooo close. Can a two way zipper be retrofit?

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We rely on comments like these to improve products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew. Also, we're sorry to say that our repair team doesn't offer alterations. That said, we'd encourage you to take this to a local tailor to see if this is something they could assist you with.

February 14, 2022

No Surprises

Really nice jacket, roomy where it should be, warmer than it looks, and sturdy feeling. Pockets are well thought out, good is nice and tall, but a little noisy. If you even think youre between sizes, choose the smaller option, theres plenty of room. Just what youd expect from this brand and price, and makes working outside in a Midwest winter a lit... Read Moretle less miserable.

February 6, 2022

Great jacket

Awesome coat, super comfortable and wind resistant. Fits great with plenty of mobility for working on the boats.

February 3, 2022

Almost a home run..but not there

I use this as a work jark around our ranch. I use a lot of nice climbing-oriented jackets here with the horses. From the best of the makers in NA. This one is a wonderful jacket for weight and warmth. Pockets are great. And lots of them. Perfect sized, normal person, hood. Nice stand-up collar, just a little short. Love the cuffs. Really like the... Read More cuffs. Don't like there is no draw string on the bottom hem. Length is just a little too long to have it without. Could do with one in the middle while you are at it. Lack of the bottom one puts a distinct limit how you wear the jacket. Bigger errors made by the design team? (Like really? do you guys ever actually wear the prototypes? So we have to point this chiit out? ) The sizing is crazy big. I typically can wear a large from Patagonia in your climbing clothing. Or a XL is good if I want to layer. This one in a size large, is huge on me. Much bigger than a typical XL. I was wearing a micro puff and more under my jacket today and still had plenty of room. Nice if you need to layer but silly sizing that makes no sense. It is simply too big for just about anyone that orders their typical Patagonia sizing, and the sizing no way resembles your recommended size chart. The worst error by far that might have saved even the bogus sizing on this one this one...because I really do like it? It is the zipper. Mentioned previous in at least one review. Someone was totally clueless (and I know you have never actually worn this jacket because of it) to stick a single slider zipper pull in this jacket. I like the jacket enough to take it to my local tailor and the replace the zipper. But shame on you guys! My suggestion is give your "work gear" to your climbing team for R&D prior to production. You'd have a lot happier customers if you did. This is the second "work" jacket I have gotten from you recently. Both have major design flaws that could have so easily been avoided.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2022

Hi Dane! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointments like the fit and the zipper. Your comments are truly appreciated as its how we improve things for future seasons. We'll share this with our design crew.

January 31, 2022

Good Overall Coat

Coat is very warm and the fabric is much more durable than it feels/looks. Sizing is a bit big. Only negative after 1 yr. of use is the cuffs are just elastic. IMHO they should be a snapped or velcro type cuff.

January 26, 2022

So far so good

I havnt gotten to wear it much at work yet but the few times I have I really enjoyed it. Very warm and lightweight. I do think it runs a little big. I am 511 and around 180 pounds. I am able to wear my normal work clothes as well as a light carhart jacket underneath this coat

January 26, 2022

great fit, super warm, tough

bought this for jobsite wear ...i am a design builder in the rocky mountains...perfect all the way around!

January 21, 2022

Super warm

Was honestly surprised at how warm I was despite the jacket being really light to wear. Highly recommend.

May 9, 2021

Feels great on, nice and warm, easy to move around in

This is a big warm work coat. Durable, water resistant and tough. Perfect for the real world.

March 3, 2021

Warm, great details.

I'm 5'6", 155. A small fits well enough that I'm not wondering if I need to size down, and I know I'd be swimming in a medium. It's plenty warm, and takes layers nicely if needed. I really like the drop tail. I can get close to the ground and my backside stays covered. I appreciate the glove-friendly zippers and snaps.... Read More I would suggest tighter elastic at the cuffs - it would keep the sleeves off the backs of my hands when not wearing gloves. The pen/pencil pocket reduces the main pocket to the point where it's not useful to me. Maybe 2 internal pockets? Overall, one of my favorite Patagonia purchases. I picked up the matching windbreaker for warmer temps.

February 22, 2021

Good Overall Coat

I bought this coat for winter work. It appears to be well made and is functional. Unfortunately, there hasn't been much weather to test how water repellant it is, but it is warm. The hood is sized for fitting over the head, not too big and droopy! Only complaint is there is not an adjustable wrist closure which in my opinion is a complete over... Read Moresight?

February 19, 2021

Great jacket for a great price

This is a very well made jacket that is super tough and warm. It also moves well and is super comfortable. I'm very happy with it.

February 11, 2021

Runs large. No draw strings

Nice, warm jacket. However, it seems to be sized up to a Large. Nothing to cinch in the waist so it allows cold air to come up inside.

February 6, 2021

Steel Forge, super warm, near perfect fit

Of all Patagonia shirts, jackets, I wear a medium. The medium was quite large for me. The small was a good fit but a tad small, but I went for it anyhow. I just moved from CA to Denmark and needed a good outdoor hiking/ work etc jacket. I love all the Patagonia gear, big fan of the mission, brand messaging and products.

February 4, 2021

Great, Durable, all around Jacket

I searched a long time for a good jacket that would last and was made ethically. This jacket is definitely durable and given Patagonia's reputation for making sustainable and ethical clothing, this jacket met my needs. I own several Patagonia garments and I like most of them, so it was a no brainer for me. It's not too tight or too loose ... Read Morewhich I have a hard time with because I'm so skinny. It doesn't look too "fashionable " which I like too. It holds up well to snow and low temperatures and repels water nicely. It's practical and works well casually and can withstand abuse at work. The only two cons I have are; the hood is a bit small, which I'm ok with because I don't use hoods that often. The other con is, I wish there was a drawstring around the bottom to trap heat in, sometimes there is a draft. However I remedied this and put a few button snaps on both sides of the jacket. Rather than send it back for that reason, I modified it to fit my needs, because that's how much I like it.

February 3, 2021

Light, warm and comfortable

I'm 5'11" and 175 pounds, I usually wear a large (my old patagonia winter coat was a large) but this coat was huge in size L, so I had to send it back and get a medium. The M fits me very well. Love everything about this coat, like the pockets, the hood, the fabric, the lightweight, and it is incredibly warm. I also like that it is h... Read Moreip length, and longer in the back to keep me warm riding around town. The only thing I'd like to change is I wish it had a 2-way zipper. Highly recommended!

February 3, 2021

Durable quality

I bought this coat for outdoor work, dog walks, and standing around in cold temps in NW Colorado. It is excellent for those things. I use a different down coat for cold days backcountry skiing. This coat ran large for me, mostly in the belly and chest area. Plenty of room for layering I suppose. Otherwise, it feels like it will last for a decade, ... Read Morehas nice large pockets, durable zippers, big hood. It comes in any color you want as long as it's black!

February 3, 2021

Solid jacket

Bought this as my around the house jacket. Used it several times to shovel snow or run errands in cold temps. Definitely warm. Wish the waterproofing was a little better but I know its not really designed for rain or falling snow. The relaxed fit is very literal and I wish it was a little bit more slim in the waist. Still a great jacket that I plan... Read More to keep for many years

February 1, 2021

Nice Coat

Warm and a good price. Seems sturdy (it's new- hasn't been challenged yet). I wear a big mid layer and the fit is excellent.

February 1, 2021

Tough and warm enough

I tried this jacket out through a 2ft over 24hr snow event. The thicker shell is a definite improvement.

January 31, 2021

Fits great, very warm just what I need

Very happy with this jacket

January 30, 2021

Great all arounder

Was looking for a replacement for my 30 year old Patagonia fiber fill jacket and finally found it. Windproof, warm but not too warm. Layers well. Deeper hand warmer pockets with wider access a plus as doesn't have interior drop in pocket. Great for layering for winter fly fishing.

January 30, 2021

Great Material

Love the material and the look just way too baggy. My intention is to try the same jacket in large. Seems to run much bigger than my nano puff jackets.

January 29, 2021

Crazy Warm

This is the by far the warmest coat I have ever had. The only change I would make to the coat are as follows. 1. Make both breast pockets the same as the one on the right breast. 2. Add a second interior pocket just like the one now but on the other side also. 3. SOME VENTILATION, as I said this thing is crazy warm and unzipping causes the coat to ... Read Moreblow around become to loose, it needs some pit zips or something. Crazy nice and comfortable coat and I would purchase again if I ever need a new one.

January 29, 2021

Mostly good

A little big in the sizing - also I really wish two way zippers were still a thing - this jacket could really use one

January 17, 2021

Light Weight and Super Warm

This jacket is very warm and keeps the wind out! I was looking for something versatile enough to tackle the variations that come with midwest winters and this jacket did the trick. It holds up in 30 mph winds blowing arctic air, waterproof/quick dry in snow and sleet, and compact for stuffing somewhere if the weather warms up. It also looks classy.... Read More I was a little hesitant about the print but it works! It's the Patagonia quality but with a unique look that is different than all the other jackets I've seen. The only improvement would be adjustable cuffs to allow for more efficient donning and removal of gloves.

January 12, 2021

Great overall jacket

Love this jacket. Fits true to size and the warmth is perfect for the Chicago cold/wind.

December 8, 2020

Very nice winter coat

This coat is very light, comfortable and warm. A lot of room in the shoulders without looking like the P doughboy. The hood is a bonus

December 2, 2020

Amazing Jacket

Although I've only worn it a couple of time, I am really enjoying this jacket as it has enough room to layer with another sweater underneath for the colder work days. I like that it seems soft on both the out and inside of the jacket but it has resisted abrasion against pieces of wood and thorns nicely. I mostly bought this for work and I enjo... Read Morey the warm hand pockets and the roomy and soft chest pocket which I store my glasses. After working on dirt for a couple hours, I love that dirt seems to not stay on the jacket which might be the DWR finish helping. Also looks nice for just wearing it casually anywhere. Overall very happy with the jacket.

November 26, 2020

A winner

Excellent product. Rugged style, tough exterior. soft interior, room for layering underneath. I like it so much I also bought the Steel Forge Shell.

November 25, 2020

Soft and WARM

If you are wondering, the fabric is soft and pliable. It is also very WARM! I ended up returning this jacket due to the extreme warmth. I dont live in a climate at the moment that sees very cold weather otherwise I would have kept it. It is a nice jacket and if you spend a lot of time outdoors in below freezing weather this thing is the way to go. ... Read MoreWould work great as a casual jacket or work/hunting jacket. Patagonias work wear line has such great fitment for me. My shoulders and lats are always begging to rip open the seams of most jackets. I have a down sweater and needed an XXL because of this. I have a nano stretch storm and a Pack in jacket in size XL. This Forge Puff I ordered in L and it was spot on. Size down if you never bought something in the work wear line.

November 14, 2020

Liking it

I have only wore twice in 30 and 40 degree days. Anxious for some colder snowy weather to test it out. Very comfortable and light weight.

September 11, 2020

Light,tough, and warm

My new go-to jacket. Kudos to the design team! A light weight, tough, warm, and amazingly comfortable jacket that should be able to handle just about anything you throw at it. Roomy pockets with zippers and snaps in all the right places. Comfortable easy adjust hood that doesn't restrict movement or vision. All the benefits of a burly work jac... Read Moreket. It almost feels like a lightweight technical jacket when I'm wearing it. It should be really warm with 50% more thermogreen insulation then my Hemp Ranch Jacket. Roomy torso and sleeves. I could wear it over my Nano Puff or better sweater and still have freedom of movement with room for even additional layers. I know it'll be windproof and moisture resistant. Excellent build quality. I really like the new steel forge zipoers. If you don't want plenty of room for layering I suggest going down one size. I really tried to find something I don't like about this jacket... I'm happy to say that I failed!

September 7, 2020

Perfect for me

I have had difficulty finding jackets because I have broad shoulders. This jacket fit perfectly with spare room for layers underneath. Im looking forward to using it this winter on my trip to Colorado.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches