burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker Work Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 25 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker Work Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
May 7, 2022

Good rip stop windbreaker

Well made, unlined wind jacket. Used daily for work outside, and in the rain and wet snow. Used with a fleece sweater underneath. Warm till about high 20's when active, doesn't look grubby. Cleans up easily. Good pockets, especially like the elastic cuffs with gloves. Nice on the ocean.

April 8, 2022

Buy the windbreaker.

I love this windbreaker. I'm 5'9" about 175. I'm slim with a large stomach. I bought the medium and the small. The medium fits perfectly with or without layers. I love it. It looks awesome and its fun to wear. I didn't get the small in the mail yet. I was thinking I might like the small when I just wear a t shirt but I&#x27... Read More;m not sure. I like the piece so much that I'm keeping them both. If the small is too small I'll give it to a friend. Awesome material. Awesome look, etc.

April 4, 2022

Great wind resistance

I havent had a chance to REALLY put this jacket to the test because its still winter here. Wearing it over a sweater or fleece is very comfortable. It is well made and big inside pockets make loading it up a simple matter. When the weather here gets a bit warmer I will make this my primary outerwear.

April 2, 2022

Versatile

Likes:good all-around shell jacket, from trail to classroom to job. Fit's my body well. Nice deep pockets with Burley but smooth easy to operate zippers. Super convenient chest pockets. Dislikes: brazenly placed Patagonia logo on chest that I had to black out with my sharpie.

March 24, 2022

nice

nice

March 23, 2022

Great jacket

Overall I really like this windbreaker. I marked the fit as "kinda large" but in this case I think that is good if you wanted to layer. I don't feel like I am swimming in it by any means. The construction is good and it keeps me warm and dry on cooler windy days and if it's lightly sprinkling. The one thing I wish it had was pit... Read More vents for when hiking or similar.

March 15, 2022

Fits the bill

Great wind proof jacket to wear in NYC. You will need to size down. Thanks Patagonia for making a great jacket

March 15, 2022

Good, needs a couple of tweaks.

Love the look of the jacket, the fabric, pocket configuration, and how durable its been so far. However the lack of any lining makes it feel like wearing a trash bag if you wear it with a short sleeve shirt and start to sweat the slightest bit. Also the cuffs on the wrist could use a bit softer fabric as well. I think the right lightweight perfor... Read Moreated lining in the upper torso and arms and a little nicer fabric on the cuff sleeves could make this a 5-star jacket that I would buy again if those changes were made. Definitely runs big. I wear an XL in the Nano Puff, Torrentshell, etc, and initially I bought an XL in this too thinking it would fit just slightly bigger than their outdoor wear, but I was absolutely swimming in an XL. Definitely size down a size from your normal Patagonia outerwear size unless you plan on wearing some seriously bulky insulation layers or gear under this thing.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2022

Thank you for your feedback on the fit of the Patagonia Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker Work Jacket. It is one of our Relaxed Fit items and you can find that fit designation right below the size line. Our relaxed fit items can run a bit larger and will often need to be sized down. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 800-638-6464 if you would ever like to discuss size and fit more in depth.

March 14, 2022

Lightweight work shell

I am a Union Elevator Constructor apprentice and bought this to wear for work. Live in the PNW so its sixteen months of rain mixed with intermittent blue sky, so layers are whats up. The huge inside and outside pockets are great for holding tools and the breast pockets hold that pad and paper for all the things you need to write down cause you only... Read More have so many brain cells left. I also wear this hiking because its light and blocks that wind really well.

March 8, 2022

Nice Windbreaker

I purchased this to throw in my backpack for hiking. On the couple times I have needed it, it was perfect. Plus it looks good. Wish it had a couple air vents under the arms, but Im thinking it will be the perfect windbreaker for my needs

February 23, 2022

Great Design and Construction

True to size for 6' male. Great Design and Construction. Especially like the length in back; keeps you covered and dry.

February 4, 2022

Perfect as a light shell

It's the dead of winter here in the Colorado Rockies, so this recently purchased windbreaker won't go into heavy rotation for several more weeks. But I've been able to test it as a shell over warm under layers, and it's worked quite well. I also like its looks. I could easily gotten away with an XL (although I normally need an X... Read MoreXL in Patagonia tops) but I wanted it loose and long to wear over sweatshirts. And it is quite loose. All the workwear garments seem to run large. The outer pockets are huge, big enough to stash a hat, gloves and lunch. It also features sizable interior pockets, and a light hood. Unlike other windproof/water resistant shells I've owned, this one isn't noisy. So, I'm quite happy. Bring on the spring winds...

January 11, 2022

Windproof and durable!

I bought this item to use as wind blocking under my base layers while working and hiking during winter. I wanted something that I could work and walk in during winter snow and spring rains and maybe not have to spend over $200 on a shell. Love the length and the protective collar and hood. While it's light weight doesn't add any thermal ... Read Morecapabilities it's great at blocking the wind.

December 6, 2021

Comfort

Runs a bit large but extremely comfortable. It has become my grab and go jacket.

September 24, 2021

Great Jacket

Absolutely love this jacket, it kept me warm and dry through 4 days of rain. My only complaint is that it lacks armpit zips. So if youre zipped up on a rainy day and youre slightly too warm theres no way besides the front zipper to dump heat.

September 14, 2021

Great for outer layer

It is terrific as an outer layer. I live in NY City, and it important that I can quickly take off or put on layers. It may be cold outside, but very warm in a store or restaurant. It is a very practical outer layer.

August 7, 2021

Anything?

This is a "ready for anything" jacket, designed, it seems, to be ready for; a trip to store in the middle of rain storm, a sudden run to the head, a midnight pet search, a crawl under the car for dropped keys, work on deck to reattach a loose jib, a protective shell in an unanticipated shower, a ground cloth for the reassembly of a broken... Read More bicycle chain, a . . .

April 3, 2021

Great windbreaker

This is a great, lightweight windbreaker to keep in your day pack for hiking and in your bike bag for riding. The fit is loose and comfortable.

February 25, 2021

Best windbreaker available

I am a tower climber and I wear this jacket daily, especially in the winter months. Large was perfect for me because I like to layer underneath depending on the temperature. The tear resistant fabric does its job perfectly against sharp metal shards on bolts or brackets. Pencil pocket on the chest is nice and the glove pockets on the inside are sup... Read Moreer handy. All around awesome jacket and I highly recommend.

February 5, 2021

Good windbreaker but bizarre fit

The jacket does a great job blocking the wind but is a poor fit for an active work jacket. I ordered my usual Patagonia size and it's ok for most use. Sleeves are a little short and waist and chest run bigger than usual. When working the problems show up. Going up a size could be awkward because cinching up a toolbelt or harness with a baggy j... Read Moreacket is uncomfortable. The shorter than usual sleeves wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the elastic cuffs which pull all the layers underneath back when being active or working above your head, so really, you'd like to go up a size. Unfortunately I didn't come to this realization until working in it, and now can't return it. Other than fit, the material seems durable. Advertising the DWR finish might be generous, as it only takes a light sprinkle for this to be saturated in and out. I own many Patagonia pieces and this is the only one I've been disappointed with. Longer sleeves or a better cuff would make this jacket a winner for work.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to review this. We'll work with you on a return, just reach out to our customer service team. Thanks!

January 4, 2021

Very happy

This was a gift for my grandson for Christmas. He's slim & the xs fits him good.

November 11, 2020

Great windbreaker

I found myself without a decent windbreaker and needed one for hiking and canoeing. I strongly considered the Houdini but decided I wanted something with a bit more strength to it and discovered this Steel Forge jacket. I ordered one in Large. I am 58 180 pounds with a large chest. It was huge on me. Yes, the description said it ran large and it... Read More did. Ordered one in medium and it is exactly what I wanted. Strong, lightweight and compressible. Wore it in a short downpour yesterday and it kept me dry for the few minutes I was out in it and certainly cut the wind. Both sizes shipped very fast! I have been wearing Patagonia gear since the early 80s....my first being an original pile jacket. The gear does not disappoint. I am taking the Steel Forge Windbreaker on a canoe trip tomorrow! Sunny and in the mid 50s. Should be prefect.

September 1, 2020

Great for Everyday

This is a great everyday jacket for wind/rain. As always the quality is great. The jacket seems to run large though. I would recommend a step down from your usual size.

August 18, 2020

My new go-to jacket

I immediately fell in love with this windbreaker the first time I put it on. The quality is superior. Whoever at Patagonia got this product to market deserves the highest praise. My Houdini will get a rest now.

March 23, 2020

Functionality

I've used this jacket out in the barn for 6 weeks. Its very wind resistant & so far has been abrasion resistant, has stood but to alfalfa bales. I'm however disappointed in its water resistance. 30 minutes in a spring snow storm & it was as wet on the inside as the outside.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches