Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Reversible Bivy Down Vest

Write Your Review

4.57 /5

Filter Reviews

All 67 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Reversible Bivy Down Vest

4.57
Kinda Large
March 26, 2021

Super Warm!

I love my vest!

March 16, 2021

Super warm and durable

Super warm and durable vest. I have no regards if I have to work outdoors in it. Provides adequate warmth and perfect for layering clothes.

March 16, 2021

Warm

The vest are great, but I just wish they werent as long as they are, and the pockets are so bulky. I

February 25, 2021

Comfy and Warm

Like I said, this vest is comfy and warm. It's also 2 vests in one which makes it practical too. I ended up returning this item because the sizing is on the big side.

February 15, 2021

Very warm but big

I really like how warm it is and how it looks, but I shouldve gotten a medium. Its really big for a large. I wear large in every top, but this one is bigger than I expected.

February 3, 2021

Warm & Stylish

Bought this for my bf for Christmas (his height/sizing included in review) and the M was perfect. He said its very warm and he wears it alone with a long sleeve underneath.

January 26, 2021

Love almost all of it

Love it... but the solid blue size has a ugly size tag... when you remove it some still shows.

January 15, 2021

Great durable vest with design flaw.

As everyone says, this is a very warm puffy vest with a durable outer fabric and soft inner. The one knock on it is that I find the arm holes huge compared to the competition (draft area). Even with wearing a bulky sleeve sweater or flannel shirt. The other knock which they have corrected in the lastest redesign is a draft flap behind or in front o... Read Moref the zipper. Would have been ought vest in non reversible model to get flap, as I haven't found the reversible feature an added value.

January 5, 2021

Wonderful gift

I bought this for my younger brother and he loves it. It looks great, fits great and feels like the material is built to last. I ordered him the blue and lighter blue combo. So fresh I just might get my own!

January 5, 2021

Warm warm warm

Love the warmth it provides. The filling is dense but not puffy. I love the reversible feature and wearing the vest.

January 5, 2021

Great buy

He loved the gift and it fit him perfectly!

January 2, 2021

Great vest

I bought this vest to replace an LLBEAN down vest. The quality of the Patagonia vest is awesome. It fits extremely well and is sharp looking. I would highly recommend

December 30, 2020

Super heavy

It feels like someone is constantly giving you a nice hug when you wear it.

December 28, 2020

Excellent quality , super warm!

Despite all the good Patagonia does, they make quality products. This vest is super warm and I pop it on just about anything to get a layer of warmth. Im thinking of getting a second one.

December 26, 2020

Never Disappointed

We are never disappointed in Patagonia products. My husband and I are still wearing fleece that we purchased before our son was born 25 years ago. The vest fits and feels great. Looking forward to putting it to good use over the winter.

December 22, 2020

Amazing Vest!

Love this vest! I just wish there was a loop to hang it on a rack.

December 3, 2020

Comfortable and warm

The vest is warm, but light, and puffy, but not bulky. Colors matched what I saw online. Service was great. We are having a mild winter in NY so far, and the vest over a shirt is just right for it.

November 28, 2020

Nearly perfect vest

Great all around down vest with a couple things I'd change. The build quality is excellent, looks great with jeans, fits true to size for athletic build and is quite warm when paired with a hoodie or flannel shirt. I just wish there was a zippered chest pocket. Would also be great if the tag near the neck was hidden in a pocket. Still my favor... Read Moreite winter vest.

September 14, 2020

Nice fit

Very comfortable and practical. You get 2 vest in 1 with the reversible option

September 5, 2020

Good Fit

The Large (L) size was a bit larger than expected but I compared the size to a M that I purchased a while back from Cabela's. The L size will allow me to wear a light sweatshirt underneath comfortably during the winter time.

September 2, 2020

Well made

Got this for my husband who usually wears a large but due to comments I got him a medium and it fits perfect. A large would have been too big. Very well made and good quality. I wish they had o e for women with the same material and quality.

September 1, 2020

Super warm

I love wearing this on cold summer nights in the Jeep, perfect fit, definitely warm enough to wear over a sweatshirt in the snowy winters

September 1, 2020

Goes with Anything

Its the best vest I own now. It being reversible is a huge plus.

June 19, 2020

Warm and cozy

True fit and fits well to my build.

June 17, 2020

Very Comfortable

Vest, very comfortable & has that old fit & style. I would definitely buy this vest again, maybe in a different color.

March 20, 2020

Awesome vest, but...

I love this vest. Its super comfortable, warm and fits similar to another Patagonia down vest I own. However, there is a product design flaw that needs to be corrected. The vest is reversible and yet there is an exposed tag on the top of the vest below the neck. I have to carefully remove this tag without damaging the vest otherwise the vest can ... Read Moreonly be worn on one side. Why not have this tag on one of the inside pockets?

February 26, 2020

super warm, super comfy

highly recommend

January 11, 2020

Company worth supporting.

Excellent down vest from an environmentally responsible company. Keep up the good work.

January 4, 2020

Perfect fit and look

Exactly what I was hoping. Great fit and look, very warm and cozy.

January 2, 2020

Does not fit to size

I ordered a large and it hangs on me like a potato sack. I have never had to wear a medium with a 43" chest and 45 arms. I'd send back to replace but I already cut off the tags. BAD purchase.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hello Lee. We're sorry to hear your vest ended up being too big. Please note that you are still welcome to return that even if you removed the tags. We see you were able to do so and received its replacement. We hope this one did work out! Thanks for your feedback.

January 1, 2020

This item is super warm

This item is super warm and looks great. It seems like it runs a little bit larger than my other Patagonia vest but that’s probably the style of this one. Overall I’m very happy with this item.

December 31, 2019

Awesome vest if you don't have a dad bod

I have always wanted one of these, so late last season I splurged. The vest is the best I've ever owned and perfect for the northeast U.S. The problem for me is that I can't zip it if I'm wearing anything besides a t-shirt. As a result, I've only worn it a couple of times. I would have exchanged it, but a larger size wasn't... Read More available in the same color.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2020

Hi William! Thanks for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you love your vest and want you to get some more use out of it! If your size is available in a different color, you are more than welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that item.

December 29, 2019

Down vest

Perfect fit for my husband. He had a vest similar to this that he wore for 20 years lol. It had to go last year. I found this one. I hope it last as long as the old sears one he had.

December 22, 2019

handsome, fit, warm, vers

5"9 wear M is perfect, looks so nice and very warm of course. like it, recommend it.

December 10, 2019

Perfect gift

Perfect gift

December 9, 2019

awesome vest. very warm and stylish

love love love the reversible vest. it is so warm and great looking

November 27, 2019

Love it ...For the forest or for going for a coffee...Just a part of me

Very comfortable, easy to wear, and really warm. Perfect with a nice flannel shirt. I am 210 and 6'1 the L was perfect. The M was too tight. Love that vest.

November 26, 2019

High end

Awesome vest I am 5'11 170 lbs I ordered a medium the medium doesn't run large for my size I put that they run large because my regular size in everything is large not medium so if you order a size down you should be great to go!

November 23, 2019

Reversible Bivy Down Vest

very nicely made. would prefer that length did not extend beyond the belt line or have zipper where pressure at the waist can be relieved by 2nd zipper by unzipping up. reverses nicely. would prefer solid colors in navy and true red

November 22, 2019

Our grandchild loved this product.

Our grandchild loved this product.

November 22, 2019

The lowdown on the Bivy Down

A good choice as an over layer of a fleece or sweatshirt ( A bit bulky as a mid-layer). Sturdy construction, would withstand minor abrasive exposure. Warm. My only complaint is that as an outer layer, I would always like internal drop pockets. In sum, a good, reasonably-priced piece choice for colder weather.

November 17, 2019

Stylish, high quality, and warm.

Really enjoy this vest and plan to have it for many years.

November 16, 2019

Perfect Warm Vest!

I have 4 vest now that I own. This is by far my favorite. It is warmer and thicker than all my other vests, and the fact that is reversible is great. I bought 3 new flannels to go with it. I run warm, so a flannel and this vest is all I need.

November 7, 2019

Love this vest

Love this vest

October 27, 2019

Terrible quality vest

Very disappointed with this vest. The feathers have started coming out after a few weeks and the zipper got jammed and won’t close/open now. For this price point I must say terrible!

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear about your vest. Feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 24, 2019

Stylish, warm, quality

I wish I could give it a 4.5/5. I couldn’t give it a 5 because I wish it had a loop to hang on a coat rack and an internal pocket of some sort for a cell phone. I can totally understand why those features were left off because it’s reversible but just being honest. I don’t regret the purchase at all. I feel like a Greek god when I wear it.

October 14, 2019

Nice...very!

Very well constructed and very warm, looking forward to wearing it when it gets cold. Also, it’s like getting two jackets in one!

October 12, 2019

Beautiful vest

Love the reversible vest ! Fit is excellent quality everything you expect from Patagonia!

October 9, 2019

Just looks cool!

I love the look of this classic vest - almost can’t wait for the front to become stained and worn as it just fits the style! Warm and chunky - this is my everyday piece for cool days.

August 12, 2019

Love this vest!

My only (minor) wish is that it would have a loop for hanging on a hook. I guess it doesn't have that because it's designed to be reversible. But I only wear it on one side, with the smooth material on the inside.

May 8, 2019

Warm, rugged, reversible

I went from needing camouflage in the deeps woods when hiding from ruthless raiders of the dark Knight, to needing dapper style at a hipster Cafe in Bucktown, Chicago and this vest not only got the job done well but it also introduced me to my future best friend, my boxer mix named Hank.

April 5, 2019

Awesome vest

I don't usually review anything, but I thought it was worthwhile to review this vest. I wanted one for years, and finally got one. I have basically worn it everyday since receiving it. It is super comfortable and gives the exact amount of warmth I am looking for. I am looking at getting rid of a bunch of my other clothes now, because I don&#x2... Read More7;t need them now that I have this vest. I seriously am ready to go down to like 10 pieces of clothing and live a less cluttered life now that I have this vest.

April 4, 2019

Great jacket!

Great jacket!

April 2, 2019

Luv this vest!

I have loads of Patagonia gear, including several lighter vests but this reversible warm heavier vest is now my favorite! Very cozy and wonderful freedom of movement. Both sides are great. On cold nights I'm sleeping in it! I'm 6'2", 220 and first ordered an XXL which felt bulky so reordered an XL which fits perfectly...Patagoni... Read Morea's return policy is painless! Stylish, well made and reusing old down... Oh how I luv Patagonia!

April 2, 2019

light weight down vest

This was a gift for my adult son. He loves it.

March 19, 2019

Some of the stars

Man, I really wanted this to be a 5-star piece. Like some others, this was kind of an impulse buy to replace a very old, very tired Sears Roebuck vest that served me for years. I knew I wanted a vest, but I have to admit I didn't do much comparison shopping because I liked the colors, and the fit and quality were good in the store. After a y... Read Moreear or so, I've had plenty of time to evaluate it, and here's what I've come up with: - It is warm. I've worn it hunting in December, walking the dog in 30+ mph winds, shoveling snow, and just around town - and it works. Blocks the wind pretty well and is insulated just enough for it's size. - Build quality is pretty good. I've been careful with it, but so far no loose threads or other issues, something I can't say for every garment I've had similar expectations of. - It's a little weird that there are snaps on one set of pockets and zippers on the other, but I assume there was a good reason for that. - Whatever the two-tone fabric is, EVERYTHING sticks to it. Maybe it's just me and my especially furry dog, but I can't even look at him without this thing getting COVERED in hair. I am not a lint roller kind of guy but I bought one, just for this dang vest. - No hanging loop? I get that they're not the most fashionable feature, and since this is reversible there's no collar tag...but what a bummer. The only other outerwear I own that doesn't have a hanging loop is a wool dress coat. Seriously. I would still recommend it to a friend with no pets that only went places with coat hangers.

March 21, 2018

Great,except one flaw

Everything about this vest is great,except the fact that if I zip up all the way,zipper head feels really cold on my chin. I wish there was a cover,just like the down sweaters. Maybe it's not possible because this vest is reversible(?)

February 2, 2018

Awesome vest !

Picked one of these up as a present for myself in Big Sur Blue and I'm not disappointed. Get many compliments about it. Although I live in North Carolina we do get many winter nights in the low 20's or teens and daytime temps in the 30s and windy. The vest is very toasty with a nice zipper. I'm 6'1" and about 170lbs. I got ... Read Morea large and am very happy with the fit as I normally wear a flannel shirt and hoody or sweater under it. Just bought another for my son in the White Mountains of New Hampshire,who I'm sure will appreciate the warmth and good looks of this vest. Nice pockets too !

July 16, 2017

It's my new favorite

The best feels great,is pretty brawny,and just looks awesome. I would absolutely but it again.

June 11, 2017

Love it!

This jacket is perfect for the cool summer mornings and evenings here in the Pacific Northwest! I love it!

April 15, 2017

Versatile Vest

Fantastic vest offering comfort,style and just the right amount of warmth.

January 13, 2017

I like it

I like this vest. I've been wanting one for a while and finally decided to spend the money and get the Glass Blue vest in size Medium. I'm 5'11" and I ordered a Medium. The fit is right on. The length is right on. It's really warm too. A good vest overall. Two things I'm not crazy about,though. 1) The fabric holds hai... Read Morer like crazy. Like velcro. And the fabric pills up,so you're constantly picking off tiny fabric balls. Pretty annoying. Makes the vest look dirty/trashy. You're constantly having to clean it up. 2) I've had some of the fill poke out through the inner side (reverse side) of the vest. It's a pain to try and get it to go back in. You can't just pull it out either because it's not just a single feather,but fine fill that will just keep coming and coming and coming out,so you have to stop it and get it to go back in.

January 10, 2017

Just missing one thing

Bought as a daily wear winter vest. Love the bottom hem and the overall cut to the body. It's just missing a "loop" to hang it. I get (since its reversible) you can't put one on the collar but how about on the bottom hem or out of a pocket?

January 6, 2017

Solid Vest

Purchased in tan color back in November. Weather has finally been cool enough to wear. This vest is solid. I'm 5'10 173 lbs. Tried in L and was a bit too big/wide. M fits almost just right... Medium-and-a-half would be perfect. Can wear over hoodie or fleece with a snug but comfortable fit. Construction and warmth are heavy duty. I'm... Read More glad I got it. Expect it to last for years.

January 5, 2017

Great Vest - Not Great Colors (IMO)

I was super excited about this vest,and loved it when it arrived. Recycled down,super warm,well built,tough exterior,lined pockets. Awesome! The only thing I did not like is that the "carbon" color,which I interpreted to mean "a shade of dark gray or black" is,in fact,green. I looked at the alternate colors in the store to see... Read More if I could exchange it,and honestly all of the colors seems a bit odd to me. So,this is obviously one person's opinion about the colors,(though I did get several other folks to confirm that the "carbon" was really "odd,dark green") but I would recommend looking at it under good light to be sure you like it. The vest itself,however,is awesome. If it came in a color option that I liked,I would buy another in a heartbeat!

December 17, 2016

I wear it quite a bit. Move the tags!

I've been wearing this the last few weeks. I have barely taken it off. I love the warmth,the tough exterior,the soft interior. The line pockets are amazing. Except,the tags. They put them all in the left hand pocket. Centered where you enter with your hands. Instead of amazing soft fleece. You have a handful of oversized tags. Other than that.... Read More This is a great vest. I plan on having this for years to come.

November 14, 2016

Nice outdoor vest with good insulation

I love this vest. I like the zippers as opposed to the buttons in the previous models. I'm a 5'11" 167lbs. and ordered a medium. It feels slightly tight especially when worn with my Patagonia Better Sweater but it's not bad at all. The large would've been too loose i think. Seems to fit better with my Patagonia micro d flee... Read Morece. I love the fleece lined pockets but wished that both sides were zippered pockets. I also wished that the neck tag wasn't there when i want to wear them reversible. I guess i could take the tag off but the look would be weird so i haven't worn them inside and out yet. overall,happy with the purchase

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches