Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Insulated Fjord Flannel Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 145 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Insulated Fjord Flannel Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
August 3, 2021

Love it

Well made, warm, perfect

July 19, 2021

Super Warm

Extremely Warm

July 9, 2021

Love this jacket.

Great quality and fit. Im 5 6 140lbs and I wear an XS. Fits true to size and its very warm and comfortable; maybe just a little tight at the bottom hem but everything else is good. Will definitely buy again.

April 26, 2021

Nice Shirt

Really good fit. The extra insulated layer is a nice touch and keeps me warm but not sweaty. Would love another in Black or Tan. Wish it was cut a bit longer in the back, but overall, a great shirt.

April 9, 2021

Great Fit

Fit was perfect for my boyfriend. We got navy, but wish it came in black!

March 31, 2021

Great idea, Excellent execution

This jacket has exceeded my expectations which were already fairly high. Great for chilly days or as a layering piece. Its not as warm as you might expect but I have found this adds to its versatility.

March 20, 2021

Good looping and warm

Beautiful, High quality and warm enough for mild winter

March 14, 2021

Great jacket!

This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It is warm and yet not too heavy. It keeps the wind out and looks great. It's easy to care for. I haven't come across a better jacket. Good job Patagonia!

March 1, 2021

Love the Fjord Flannel

I bought this jacket this past Fall and have worn it almost every day! A perfect fit and super cozy. Would love it in black!

February 26, 2021

Superb!

Great jacket, really warm. Made very well and will be a go to for cold nights.

February 25, 2021

Warmer Fjord Flannel

Same soft cotton as the regular Fjord Flannel but now warmer. I love that this looks like regular flannel. Reminds me of something my grandpa would've worn but in the best way possible. Highly recommend!

February 25, 2021

Great third piece for warmth!

I love this as third piece on cold winter days.

February 25, 2021

Big, warm, and comfy

This arrived just before that crazy winter storm that passed through Texas. It kept me very warm, and had enough room for me to layer underneath. Love the color too.

February 24, 2021

Extremely comfortable

I purchased this shirt/jacket mainly to wear while I'm sitting at my home office desk. I wanted something comfortable and cozy to wear while working and this fit the bill perfectly. I've also worn it to the sporting clays range and it makes a great shooting jacket. I only wish they made it in camo print as well then I'd have two of t... Read Morehese.

February 24, 2021

Material wasnt stiff enough

I returned this item only because the material didnt feel stiff enough for me personally.

February 6, 2021

Soft and Warm

I am between sizes with Patagonia. Its just the fit in the shoulders that always makes me need to size up. Shoulders are tight with this one so I went with the bigger size. This shirt jacket is so soft and warm, perfect to throw on when youre a little chilly. If youre a fan of flannels and want something for those 40-60 chilly days then you will lo... Read Moreve this. Ive been using it mainly around this old 1800's house in Vt while its in the 20s outside and cold air leaks inside constantly, super cozy with this thing on!

February 4, 2021

Fjord insulated jacket

Size was perfect.. I have broad shoulders, but Im thin.. jacket lays nice... also , the collar stays up for a nice look..well made, very happy...

February 3, 2021

The Perfect Shirt

This is an absolutely a perfect shirt/jacket. I have been on a journey the last 5 years of scaling my wardrobe down to an essentials only "uniform and purchased the Insulated Fjord Flannel with the goal of wearing the same black t-shirt with it every single day. It has worked out perfectly! The jacket is warm, comfortable, and versatile everyt... Read Morehing you need from a flannel shirt! The insulation is a cozy alternative to wearing a usually-too-warm-bulky-jacket or sometimes-too-casual-hoody. I highly highly highly recommend this to anyone searching for that perfect wear everyday, last forever, keep me comfortable shirt. You will not regret! One note: Patagonia, please please make this shirt in all black!! I made a personal decision a few years ago to only buy black clothes made by ethical and sustainable companies in order to prevent over-spending or over-consumption, but this shirt doesn't come in black! In the next year or so, I am looking to add another Insulated Fjord Flannel to the uniform rotation and would LOVE to see this garment in black. Please consider :)

February 3, 2021

Super Comfortable

Love this shirt-jacket. Its been great during telework, as I go from home office to the deck to throw tennis balls for the dog. Im happy to find shirts that are long enough in the sleeve without being overly blousy. Im 66 245lbs and this shirt fits great.

February 3, 2021

Great all around

Bought this for my son who is 61 and 170 slim build we ordered size Large. He likes it a lot and wears it all the time. He uses it to throw on to do chores, hiking or just around the house on cold mornings. He has 3 fjord flannel shirts size large also. What he has noticed is this is tight under the arms or shoulder area when lifting his arms. It f... Read Moreits everywhere else and would be too big if he went up a size. His fjord flannel shirts in the same size large, have more room in the shoulder under arm area then this shirt jacket has. My daughter has the same jacket in Womens and it also has the same issue in the underarm area. We are keeping it because it is so handy and soft and comfortable but please consider revising designing differently nonstretch garments with better range of motion. He might consider wearing for even more activities if the underarm wasnt restrictive.

January 29, 2021

Perfect

Perfect jacket for all. Little layering here and there or solo its just what I needed

January 29, 2021

Perfect

Perfect jacket for all. Little layering here and there or solo its just what I needed

January 26, 2021

Around the house winter survival

This has become my go to layer for any day where I can't seem to warm up quick enough. Great for both home and work... its like wearing a thick flannel with a hidden blanket inside.

January 25, 2021

Double XXL for Skinny tall guys

Im 6'2" and thin and so I bought the XL but the sleeves were too short. The XXL fits perfect in sleeves and is not too baggy in body.

January 22, 2021

Great Everyday Shirt In The Fall

I wear this shirt every day to keep warm in the fall. It's great.

January 20, 2021

Not what I expected

This flannel wasnt what I expected. The fit was more boxy than anticipated. The biggest disappointment was the quality of the material. The putter maturely didnt feel very rugged or like it would stand up to heavy brush of hiking or demands of daily work. It was a thin, soft material. The inner material was a thin, silkier material that was also le... Read Moress than expected in comparison to other lined flannels that I own. I returned this garment due to these reasons.

January 18, 2021

Comfy and purposeful

Runs a little small, bought a mens medium and had to return it for a large. Im a female though so maybe its just not cut for women. Now the shirt is comfortable but the arms are a little long. Still love the pattern and the lined flannel!!! Hard to find these days.

January 13, 2021

Awesome!

Keeps me warm, even when I keep it open on a 25 degree day! With just a T-shirt on under it!

January 11, 2021

Perfect fit

I have wide shoulders and the fit was perfect... and jacket warm enough to wear with just a t-shirt under very comfortable

January 8, 2021

Super warm and so comfortable.

My new favorite jacket!

January 4, 2021

Super warm

Terrific product, and I highly recommend it. However, I ordinarily get medium size shirts, and originally bought a medium size. It was too small, so I gave it to my son, then ordered a size large, which fits better, but is slightly large on me. I have not had this issue with previous Patagonia shirts and jackets.

January 2, 2021

Review

Sleeves are far too short.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thank you for your review on our Insulated Fjord Flannel Jacket. We're sorry to hear that the sleeve length was too short for you. Please note for future, reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) for measurements, we'd be happy to help you find your perfect fit.

December 30, 2020

Perfect layering item

My husband absolutely loves this jacket. Its fits well & gives him the ideal warmth for a hot-natured man.

December 23, 2020

Nice and warm

Great winter jacket. Keeps you warm and could combo it with a hoodie if temp drops below freezing. Really stylish as well, it gets lots of compliments

December 16, 2020

Super comfy and stylish

Love this insulated flannel! Comfy, fits great and feels/looks well built.

December 7, 2020

Very warm

Its a great shirt no issues

November 27, 2020

Size Disparity

I've purchased this jacket two years in a row but opted for the large this time since the medium was a little snug but fit a medium in most everything Patagonia. Unfortunately, there is a massive size discrepancy between the large and medium. I'm swimming in the large but constricted in the medium. Otherwise, a good casual jacket for mode... Read Morerately cold climates. Adjusting the pattern may be worthwhile.

November 16, 2020

Perfect Cold Weather Casual Layer

I'm enamored with this insulated flannel jacket. It's perfect for casual wear around town, running errands. Perfect over a t-shirt with jeans when temps are in the 50's. Good construction. Gets lots of compliments.

November 6, 2020

Great for the right body--as usual

I'm a Patagonia super-fan, and it's always my first choice for new clothingbut the clothes don't always fit me. I've got broad shoulders with a little muscle, but I'm not the long, lean "climber" body-type I often think Patagonia designs for. Medium is too tight, and a large would be oversized and baggy. Once agai... Read Moren wishing for the "large-medium" in between size. Otherwise, great jacket, seems super-warm and a key piece for a solid casual wardrobe.

November 5, 2020

Soft and Warm

The cotton is super soft and feels broke in from day one. Surprisingly resistant to wind. This is a great Jac shirt to have in your wardrobe given its so versatile.

November 4, 2020

Nice plush shirt

Great shirt can wear over like a jacket or just as a shirt. Fits great and love the warmth.

November 3, 2020

Super Practical

Incredibly well made, great for walking outside or waiting inline at the polls on November 3rd, 2020. Highly recommend voting in and wearing this jacket.

November 2, 2020

Fantastic warmth

I have been wearing this for the last month or so in the unusually colder weather weve had in Montana. We have had many days with a high below 32 degrees. While working outside I have used this shirt jacket and it has kept me warm. Use ranges from working on the property, chopping wood, felling trees and playing with my kiddo in the snow. It provid... Read Moreed warmth whilst also leaving room for activities such as chopping wood. I am very pleased with this purchase as it will provide years of warmth.

October 28, 2020

Total miss on sizing

I am a huge Patagonia fan. I bought several items from your guys in the past. I always ordered XL. I sent the XL back because it was too small. I exchanged it to XXL. XXL is basically an XL size, quality was good from a material standpoint.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

We're really sorry to hear the sizing was off for you, we've made note and appreciate the feedback. For future, feel free to reach out for any garment measurements you may need, we're always happy to help!

October 26, 2020

Tight shoulders

Patagonia sizing is always a little tough, but Im consistently a small in their tops (57, 145 lbs). The small in this jacket fits great everywhere, except its a little tight in the shoulders. I think Patagonia would have a perfect jacket here if they gusseted the armpits. Otherwise, the jacket is warm, looks good, and has adequate pockets.

October 12, 2020

size-up

i love your flannel shirts. and this is a great casual, sitting around the house, warm shirt. all the non-lined shirts medium flannels fit well. this model does not. it's tight. it's 'useable' if unbuttoned. but that pretty much defeats the purpose. and since i assumed it would be comfortable, i already washed it and can't ... Read Morereturn. size-up.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Greg, we're sorry to hear about the sizing, but definitely appreciate your feedback. Your purchase is absolutely covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please reach out to your local Patagonia-owned store or our Customer Service team to return it.

October 9, 2020

Favorite Shacket

I'm a petite woman, size 0/24/S and I love buying from the mens collection, this one doesn't disappoint. It's my favorite jacket for the fall season, I especially love wearing it after a day at the beach!

October 4, 2020

Heartbreaking Potential

I love the feel of it. When it's cold, it is the first thing I want to throw on. Love the pockets, they are brilliant.......But....It is very tight around the shoulders, very limiting in movement. I often can wear something a bit restricting, but most jacket/shirts have some give to them, and will eventually stretch out over time.....This shir... Read Moret has no give at all. I go to reach for something, and instead of feeling tightness with some give that will break in over time, with this shirt/jacket I hit a brick wall of no give, no stretch whatsoever. Fits extremely small. And it's heartbreaking because I LOVE this thing. It feels amazing, and it is the only thing I want to put on when I am feeling chilly. Not to mention the wonderful pockets. I imagine I will Hulk out this shirt before long. I almost want it to rip, just to get it to give me more freedom of movement. I almost want to cut out the armpits or something, just so I can actually raise my arm without hitting a brick wall of this thing.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

We appreciate you giving us some valuable insight into the fit of our Men's Insulated Fjord Flannel Jacket. Our heart is also breaking because your love for it is apparent, but we want you to comfortably be able to move around. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can have a look at our options, potentially an exchange for a size up could do the trick!

September 25, 2020

Size up!

I read the reviews and decided to size up and Im so glad. Im 5-10 180 and wear nearly everything in M. However I read the shoulders run a bit tight so I went large. Fits great. Its a tad long, but I wanted something I could wear a Fjord Flannel under, or a generic LS tee shirt while still having movement. Its as comfortable as anything Ive got. S... Read Moretill 75 degrees here but waiting for when its 20-50 and this will be everyday attire

September 16, 2020

Super warm

Its work just perfect ! Its warm and I love the color, I live in the desert so it works just perfectly thanks

September 15, 2020

Hopefully the tech department will read this

I'm not so much doing a review as more a suggestion. I've got a LOT of Patagonia items and through the years and trends things change for the better and sometimes the worst. I'm a fairly tall guy with long arms. Depending the task at hand I will normally buy something in a xl and xxl which kinda sucks because I haven't hit the l... Read Moreottery yet. Having said that I buy these shirts in a xxl only and they seem to fit like a tight and do to the construction the sleeves ride up high with overhead activity. No the normal fjord shirt in a xxl has plenty of run and with overhead activity don't really ride at all. It's like they take a xxl as a shell and then sew in the insulation which is understandable but for a true xxl guy to be comfortable you really should start with a xxxl shirt and put the insulation in. I hope this makes sense, and aside from that this is a great shirt like anything Patagonia makes.

September 7, 2020

Working flannel

The Fjord Flannel works, its hardy enough to endure the fall and winter on a NYC tugboat, it will work for a working man.

September 5, 2020

Substantial

This is a thick, warm, wind resistant piece. It breathes well if it warms up a bit, but is pretty heavy. I had an older version of this (was used, no idea what year but fairly recent) That was just a flannel with really light insulated lining, it was probably my favorite work shirt Ive ever owned. Could be 40-70 and that thing was awesome. I though... Read Moret I was purchasing a newer version of that- this has some really girth. Its substantially thicker than my old one. Im going to keep it because it fits well, looks and feels really quality. It even seems pretty weather resistant. But Im going to drop those temperature figures at least 10 degrees before I try this bad boy out

September 5, 2020

Shoulders narrow for how wide the jacket is

Warm, comfortable, seems durable. Issue is that size large fits but the shoulders are too narrow so I bought an XL that seems super long and wide but the shoulders fit. Wish the cut were more fitted with wider shoulders so I could actually wear the large.

September 4, 2020

Cold day go to top

This is a great addition to my "lifer" wardrobe. I love the warmth this provides, it fits great, and looks great. I know it will last because it is Patagonia, and its production has done far less damage than buying from other brands, which makes me happy.

September 3, 2020

Perfect style and fit

The quality this lined flannel is outstanding. Great piece for Fall and mild Winter days.

September 3, 2020

Versatile

Perfect all year long. As an outer layer spring through fall and as a mid layer in winter. I think I have three of them now.

September 1, 2020

Too slender for me

I wear a XL in 1/4 zip better sweater, XL tshirt, XXL nano puff, L forge denim jacket. All of those fit me perfect, I have big shoulders and chest so I always have issues with comfort in that area. I read the reviews before I bought this about the shoulder issues and it was true to me. XL didnt give me room to extend my arms forward at all, no comf... Read Moreort there. Also, it seemed to extend longer to my thighs then XL usually does. Kinda a really weird fit for my body type. I would imagine a very slim person who does not have any sort of athletic build would love this thing. I wanted to love it, it feels very high quality but it just isnt cut for me. 4 stars for all the good things and minus a star because it doesnt fit me.

July 28, 2020

Just Buy It

If you are thinking about it, just buy it. It is super comfortable; you won't want to take it off.

June 21, 2020

Great Pre-Ride / Post Ride

Spring / Fall Rides are comfortable with this jacket. The hours at the brewery on a post ride cool down are great with Thai jacket.

June 21, 2020

Killer Shoulder Season Warmth

I was looking for something warm but not overbearing for shoulder season walks with the dog, hanging out at the beach, etc. in coastal New England. This was perfect. It was warmer than I expected, killed any wind, has generous pockets and is just enough like a shirt that I don't feel that I am loading up with a huge jacket. I have spent long s... Read Moretretches out in mid-30s with light rain and wind and stayed cozy. Not bad for a "shirt."

June 17, 2020

Great Pre-Ride / Post Ride

Spring / Fall Rides are comfortable with this jacket. The hours at the brewery on a post ride cool down are great with Thai jacket.

June 17, 2020

Killer Shoulder Season Warmth

I was looking for something warm but not overbearing for shoulder season walks with the dog, hanging out at the beach, etc. in coastal New England. This was perfect. It was warmer than I expected, killed any wind, has generous pockets and is just enough like a shirt that I don't feel that I am loading up with a huge jacket. I have spent long s... Read Moretretches out in mid-30s with light rain and wind and stayed cozy. Not bad for a "shirt."

June 17, 2020

Nearly perfect

This thing is nearly perfect. My only complaint is it's a bit tight in the shoulders.

June 17, 2020

Excellent Quality

Nice looking and warm. Few complaints about any Patagonia product, the quality is never disappointing. I expect this to last for years like all of our other Patagonia gear.

March 23, 2020

Go-To Jacket

I needed a jacket that looks decent, but fun for travel. I have long arms and a tall torso, but this jacket fits really well. I dont know if Id really layer with it, besides having a small base layer. Layering really isnt necessary. This jacket keeps the wind out because of the inner liner and the outer fabric. The only problem I now have is not be... Read Moreing able to wear it when its warm. It really is that comfortable.

March 4, 2020

Amazing feel and material but too small

When I first opened the package the feel and material are fantastic... I could live in this and never take it off... but sadly the fit is off compared to other Patagonia items I have.... this is super tight across the back and under the arms.... also on the shoulders the my make like a point so it looks like a square when wearing it.... I would rec... Read Moreommend this to a narrow person... but just doesnt for me right... if Patagonia ever came out with an updated version that fit differently... Id love to try it.... I have the below items that all fit perfect Tough puff shirt Tough puff hoody Nano puff Multiple t shirts Thunder cloud down parka And some hoodies and other stuff

January 5, 2020

One of my favorites!

One of my favorite Patagonia purchases! I was surprised at how warm this flannel is.

January 4, 2020

Casual Jacket

My husband liked this jacket. He uses it as a double layer or even under a tshirt as it’s pretty warm. The only downside was that the sleeves are a litttttle short on him as with all clothes as he is 6’1”. However, no too short that made it return. Overall, it’s a handsome piece to add to your wardrobe.

December 30, 2019

Cool shirt

Love this black flannel shirt. Great for the bar.

December 30, 2019

Husband loves it

Exactly what he was looking for, which is an extremely hard task to meet! He is very particular on how a piece of clothing should fit and look. It’s warm, but thin enough to move comfortably. The fit is attractive. This will be his go to. He will be wearing this for years to come. Fantastic job Patagonia!

December 29, 2019

My dad loved it!

The perfect jacket for three seasons. Fit is great and the pattern is beautiful.

December 26, 2019

Ms Insulated Fjord Fannel Jacket

Great “Flacket”, super warm, fits nice, love the look.

November 26, 2019

Ridiculous!

I saw where one of my friends had this jacket on and as soon as I saw it I wanted to get one. I wanted something that was a bit more casual but also still did a job of insulating me and keeping me warm. This jacket does exactly that and it’s just crazy comfortable. I’ll throw it on at the house even when I’m sitting inside because it’s that comfort... Read Moreable. Amazing!

November 22, 2019

love the jacket

love the jacket

November 22, 2019

Can be worn as a

Can be worn as a jacket or shirt. Really comfortable and warm

November 18, 2019

Go to piece for cold morning

Tried the "Insulated" version for the first time and it's amazingly toast for those chilly mornings. Fit was spot on and I would not change a thing!

November 13, 2019

Great Quality

Fits true to size, super cozy

November 11, 2019

Super Warm

This is a great flannel for just throwing on and heading out to work in the yard or garage. The lining is super warm and the feel of the flannel is super soft--so glad that I got this.

November 10, 2019

Super Soft exterior and very comfortable interior

I would love to give this piece of outdoor gear a 5 star rating, but alas I can not. As far as the style, comfort, warmth, design, and craftsmanship I gladly give it 5 stars all day. Due to the fit I have to give it a 3 star rating. I wear a L in both the fjord light and heavy weight flannels. Both of those fit me fairly good, but still far from pe... Read Morerfect. I assumed I would wear the same in the insulated flannel, boy way I wrong. It was so tight in the shoulders I couldn’t drive my car comfortably. Luckily Patagonia has IMO the best customer service out their. They took it back with zero questions and sent me the bigger size the same day. They get 8 stars for their customer service!!!! I am 5’9” and I am a very fit 190lbs wearing a 32 inch waisted pants. Even going by their fitment guide the L is still tight in the shoulder and back areas, but the feeling is manageable. Due to my average height the flannel is long in the arms and torso. The pockets are perfectly placed and tailored in such a way that you almost don’t even know they are there. I assume that unless you have your hands in them passers by will never notice. My recommendation would be for the awesome Patagonia team to start a Athletic line for those men and women who don’t exactly line up with the slim 6 foot models that can wear a medium in their shirts. Overall I do love it, and I will probably buy another one in a different pattern even though it doesn’t fit correctly. It is super warm when you are outside and still breaths well enough that you stay comfortable while wearing in doors! Cheers Patagonia for nailing the overall design and style of this timeless piece of gear. I assume I will have this for years to come!

November 6, 2019

Perfect, fall piece

Just bought it.. live in Colorado but brought this along on a trip to the Rhode Island coast. Brisk, windy, clear fall weather and this Fjord (insulated) Flannel is cozy, warm and looks great. Wears a little longer than the standard Fjord flannel as it has convenient hand pockets and overall makes this a warmer shirt/jacket. Another note: this wear... Read Mores well outside in cool and windy weather and never had to take off for a beer at a local, seaside pub!

November 5, 2019

It’s great!

Super versatile. I have worn it pretty much every day since purchase. The perfect thing as my house gets a little colder in the fall/winter.

October 31, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

October 29, 2019

Love the big side pockets

Love the big side pockets for your keys, cell phone or dog treats. Great for grabbing on the way out the door or walking the dog.

October 16, 2019

Fjord flannel jacket

After reading reviews I took a chance with size large my normal size. I was concerned with the fit through the shoulder. It fit true to size.

September 23, 2019

Best jacket/sweater ever

I swear by my Patagonia gear, and this is no exception. Out of all my technical and casual gear, this is my most worn piece. It’s warm, light, packable, and generally formal enough for me to bring on ANY travel trip (work or pleasure). The insulation is warm but not puffy enough to look like you’re wearing a puffer jacket, it looks like an over shi... Read Morert. Love it. Please continue making this!

August 10, 2019

Great looking, yet very effective

Jacket looks and feels great. Light enough to wear during a brisk morning and just the right amount of layering to hang by the campfire as temperatures drop.

May 9, 2019

Nice Shirt, not a great fit

I bought this shirt as a medium, which is what I have in the Fjord non insulated flannels and it is too tight. The medium fits great with my other shirts but not this time. Unfortunately this is a problem I find with ordering online from Patagonia from time to time.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

Hi Kevin. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit. Please feel free to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you would like to return it.

May 8, 2019

Insulated Fjord Flannel Jacket

Really like the flannel. Very warm and isn't so poofy.

May 8, 2019

Too small.

I have five Fjord flannel shirts, and this jacket seems to be exactly the same size, but with an insulated lining. After a few washings, all of my shirts have shrunk to the point that they are almost too small. I returned the jacket, which was already too tight, knowing it would not fit after the first washing. I'm still waiting for my refund.... Read More

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2019

Sorry to hear that your shirts have shrunk. We always want to make sure you are satisfied with your gear so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shirts under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'd also be happy to check on your refund and will reach out to you privately.

May 8, 2019

New Favorite

So stoked to finally score a flannel jacket. It's my go-to for my evening 2mi hikes carrying my newborn in a baby bjorn pack. Keeps both him and myself warm on these 40-50F windy spring New England days.

May 8, 2019

Mens Bivy Down Jacket

Great jacket but zipper needs to be moved back to the correct side. More earth tone and dark colors should be added.

May 8, 2019

Insulated shirt

Great quality, super soft and good fit.

April 4, 2019

Love this thing!

The fabric is soft, but durable. The quilt lining provides warmth without being too bulky. The sizing is good. It allows for a shirt or two to be worn underneath, but not something bulky like a sweater. Easily one of my favorite work shirts.

April 2, 2019

useful either alone or with

useful either alone or with rain jacket. Light and packable to take anytime just in case it is needed.

February 27, 2019

One of the most comfortable things I ever put on my body

I was surprised with how comfortable and warm this jacket was when I tried it on for the first time. The inside lining is super smooth and soft, like silk. The outer shell is incredibly soft as well. In terms of fashion, it is very versatile, as it can range from casual to more formal depending on what you wear with it. I wear the XS size and it fi... Read Morets very well. Not too tight in the arms but it is snug enough to where I wouldn’t be able to layer too much underneath. Size up if you want to wear lots of layers under it. For me, this is perfect to wear over just a t-shirt in cooler fall and spring weather. When it gets super cold I can layer this under a larger jacket and bask in a cocoon of unparalleled warmth. Definitely recommend, as this is a true hidden gem in the Patagonia catalog.

February 23, 2019

Just what I needed

After an initial wash, I'm now wearing this insulated flannel shirt and it is nice and warm, looks good and fits just right. And it has hand warming side pockets. I bought it to replace another brand's similar item that is wearing out. Hard to find a good one that fits me well. I appreciate that Patagonia doesn't skimp on sleeve leng... Read Moreth on most of their items, because I need the length and that keeps me coming back as a customer despite the fact that they are a little pricy for me. But it is Patagucci after all. I got the Tom's Place Navy and my name is Tom. At first I thought it was high tech internet marketing just for me. But I guess that's just the name.

January 16, 2019

Last Year

I bought last years model of this and I love mine. The XXL fits me perfectly. Not too loose, not too tight. If you have a bigger mid section, it might be too tight on some. I am 6'6 with a 50-52 chest and 36 arm length. This jacket is something I wanted where a lot of the men in my family wore while I was growing up at the cabin. Great for spr... Read Moreing, fall or layering in winter, it is a great working jacket and I want to buy another. The only downfall is the buttons are small and can come undone while working. I am waiting for them to possibly wear out or tear off but would easily be replaced by sewing a new one on.

January 3, 2019

Amazing product

Bought one of these around the holidays, I am around 5’9” so I copped the large, fits good and looks good too, kept me warm on a 2hr30min, 7.4mi walk home from a party on New Year’s Eve 2019 all the way back to my house in sub freezing weather with light frozen rain! I was shocked at the insulation’s effectiveness, great buy.

December 31, 2018

Love. LOVE this shirt/jacket!

Instant favorite! This shirt/jacket is super comfortable and warm, and it looks great. Perfect for habitat surveys, around town, beer gardens, birding, apres surf and other activities on cool days when you don't need or want a technical piece. Layers easily over a Pima cotton or long sleeved daily henley shirt or wool baselayer hoody. The real... Read More X-factor for me are the hidden side seam pockets. You can't see them so it looks like a shirt, but boy are they great and they sold me immediately! They're perfectly situated and deep. I honestly didn't see a place for this in my quiver and was reluctant to buy it. Ultimately, I purchased it on the recommendation of Jacob in the San Francisco store, whom I trust, and I'm totally glad I did! After only 3 weeks, it's already become one of my all-time favorite Patagonia pieces - I wear it on a daily basis - and I'd replace it immediately if it suddenly went missing. Its wisely designed with back yokes so it moves well with you, and I like the long torso length and sleeves. No inside pockets, but what shirt does? It runs small. I wear medium in all Patagonia shirts and jackets, including the regular Fjord Flannel shirt, but I needed a large in this. No biggie, it fits great and little roomy is preferable for this kind of outer layer. The sediment color with orange lining is badass!

December 30, 2018

Watch ur sizes

Loved the look feel and weight but in most Patagonia I wear a large to and xl n this I had to send back n and return for a xxl

December 4, 2018

Nnnnnnice

Grabbed the Tom’s navy flannel and super glad I did. Very nice fit and finish... plenty warm for me. Fits great even with a sweatshirt underneath. I’m 6’1 190 and got the XL. This one might run slightly small compared to my other Patagonia stuff ... the XL is perfect for me.

November 14, 2018

Best casual jacket ever

I only really own "outdoors" technical clothing and was looking to have a nice shirt to wear on colder days for around town and out for dinner. This flannel checked all the boxes and I look pretty damn good in it. You can tell the construction is solid. Love Patagonia!

October 31, 2018

Love at first button

Since first buttoning this jacket, I loved it, this is a iniatil impression after just a couple of days, but the inseltation and flannel are supple. The double articulation at the back is really nice when reaching and moving around and doesn’t feel restricting at all. I got the size I usually wear and though it is form fitting expected that, if you... Read More like a baggier fit I would suggest sizing up. The pockets are more on the side than on the front, which i haven’t foun to be in the way or annoying just different. One of my go to fall jackets that looks more like a shirt but much warmer. The navy is really nice deep color, like the red as well so another may be in my future.

May 27, 2018

best flannel ever.

bring back that color scheme shown in the video. its the best looking flannel out there

March 17, 2018

Nice and warm for all day wear

The model I bought was a Fall 2017 (FA17 on the tag). I'm 5'11",about 165 pounds. Many people were saying that the fit of this ran small,so I bought a Large at first,even though I typically wear a Medium in everything. When I got the Large,though the space beneath the armpits and back behind the armpits was more roomy,the arm length ... Read Morewas long (I'm usually a 34"/35" arm length in dress shirts) and around the body was ridiculously too big. So I ordered a Medium. The Medium is just fine. Around the body is perfect and the arm length is perfect. Yes,under the armpits is snug and behind the armpits is snug,but it's not "wrong",in terms of the cut. Yes,okay,they could have made these areas a tiny bit bigger,but I think you get used to it just fine and I'm extremely please with my size Medium. Overall,the jacket is great. It's a great jacket to wear around the house and all day long. It's pretty darn warm,especially when buttoned up. I know some people don't like the pocket placements either because they say they're too far back,as they are in line with the side seams,but you get used to it and style-wise,I think that if you placed them forward more,the jacket wouldn't look as nice as it does. This way,the pockets are kind of hidden,which is nice. I would recommend this jacket and in your normal sizing.

January 8, 2018

Can't Stop Wearing It

I love this jacket. I wear it all the time. I wear it with tees,base layers,sweaters,and even double up with another flannel. It fits perfectly as a sturdy over layer. Great length and cut. I'm 5'7",athletic build,+2.5 ape index,and the xs is everything I'd dream it to be. Perfect for Seattle drizzle or shine. I've layered ... Read Moreit under a shell for alpine skiing a couple times because I didn't want to take it off. Would definitely not wear it for bc skiing or anything aerobic.

January 5, 2018

Awesome

6'4" 195 originally bought a large. Too tight in the shoulders. Re-ordered a XL and it's perfect. Big enough for a sweatshirt to go underneath or wear with just a t-shirt.

January 4, 2018

Perfect Fit

Sizing adjusted? I own a regular Fjord Flannel that runs short in the arms and torso. This insulated version is longer and fits perfectly. It's warm,and the hand warmer pockets are deep and cozy.

September 30, 2017

Wonderful jacket

this jacket is warm and cozy. I'm wearing it right now since some cold weather has come.

August 5, 2017

Not warm? Heresy!

I am pretty much good t go in the jacket department,but when I saw one of these guys in a dark blue for 50% off in my local store I had to grab it. I've always had a standby blue shirt/jacket of sorts and this filled a void that had been open a few years. I'm not the dude who claimed it wasn't warm. Perhaps he runs colder than I do.... Read More No bother,I found this thing made me sweat - it is that warm. Warmer than my nano-puff,believe it or not. Between my nano-puff and this thing I have my winter covered in spades,and both can easily slide under a parka or whatever for layering. I'll agree that it runs REALLY small. I am usually quite at home in a large but had to jump to an XL with this and even that could feel tight after a few days of beers and no skiing (!) But it doesn't much matter because I found the fit that was right for me and it was in store,so no returns or whatnot.

July 28, 2017

Not warm

I gave a few Patagonia items. After this I will not purchase anything else. Not as advertised

March 28, 2017

Go To Jacket

As many others have stated,these skew toward the small size. I'm 5' 10" about 185 lbs. and I usually wear a Medium with Patagonia (Down Better Sweater,Hybrid Better Sweater,other coats...) and I had to return the Medium and purchase a Large. After that,great fit,sleeve length is perfect and the cotton really is one of the softest thi... Read Morengs you'll feel. This jacket is heavy enough for most winter days here in SE Michigan and has become my go-to for late-winter/early-spring. **AIR DRY ONLY** I did about 15 minutes in the dryer the first time and I had a little "duck tail" because the flannel shrunk up some,but not the polyester liner. The second wash I air-dried only and it's fine. Enjoy!

March 5, 2017

Warmer than expected,could use a shirt hem.

This is impressively warm. I planned on it being a transitional jacket for spring or fall. But it's actually been standing in for my Down Sweater at times this winter,and keeps me warm down into the 25'F range. It's a bit more burly than a heavy flannel shirt,due to the insulation,but not overly bulky. Still,I think it could really u... Read Morese a mild shirt hem,as the cut looks pretty boxy with the flat bottom. I find the fit to be perfect otherwise. Quality isn't fantastic at such a high price point (this thing is very expensive,even on sale),but it's more of a lack in design than material quality. The materials are nice,but there isn't a ton of stitching connecting the layers,and the inner lining and insulation have started to bunch up in some places. If it was quilted,it would be great,but it's not. The hand warmer pockets are in an odd place. They're very far back,and not in a natural position. However,they're probably in the best place aesthetically,as the openings are right on the side seams. As such,they're hidden when not in use. I'd guess moving them forward would make them very obvious and make it look weird. The collar is a bit on the bulky side and doesn't like to fold over nicely. You have to press it with an iron to get it to sit well. A small gripe,but again,at this price point,I'm picking on it. Overall,I love this thing. I've had it for about a month now and I wear it constantly. It's very warm,looks decent,and it's very comfortable. I wear it outside for yard work,working on the car,and around town. It's not a technical piece,but nice for keeping warm as a casual jacket. My girlfriend grabs it to wear around the house on weekend mornings when the heat hasn't warmed the house up yet. It's expensive,but a nice piece,despite a few design shortcomings.

March 4, 2017

Warm,comfortable and great fit

Nice and warm...I wear this jacket down to 15-20'F with a base layer without any problem. It fits comfortably in all range of motion. Definitely recommend it if you are in the market for one.

February 6, 2017

Great Quality. Misleading Sizing.

I bought this jacket recently and i was impressed by the quality and build of it. Sizing is very inaccurate. I am usually a medium in most regular-fit Patagonia products and a large in slim-fit. This product should be considered slim-fit. Definitely recommend going up a size.

January 29, 2017

Cozy warm flannel

I love this flannel. First of all it's a great looking flannel. The rusty gold is just plain cool looking. Second it's so comfortable cozy and warm. It feels just like it looks,like golden sunshine. I've throughly enjoyed wearing this exceptional flannel.

January 28, 2017

great insulated flannel

This is a great layer for winter in Maine. I live in Bar Harbor and this work inside when chilly and outside as top layer when not super cold. The size runs small so go one up. A little disappointed that one button has come off already. Quality control is not what it used to be! Otherwise,5 stars!

January 12, 2017

Great casual

Perfect for breakfast at Tootsies in Thayne Wyoming . PFE

January 12, 2017

Comfy

Great fit. Warm and comfy. Looks sweet! Only reason this review is 4/5 and not 5/5 is simply because of the high price point.

January 11, 2017

Perfect Flannel

Can be used as casual wear or for doing something active. Warm and durable. I wear it practically every day because it just works no matter what I am doing.

January 11, 2017

Great product!

I bought this product about 2 months ago and absolutely love it. It's great for layering under in the winter when you don't want to wear a bulky jacket (I live in Chicago) and it is the perfect fall temperature jacket.

January 11, 2017

Great Fit,Very Comfortable

Love this "jacket". More like a wearable blanket. I've had this for a few weeks now,and have worn it every day. I'm 6'2",165 lbs. size Medium fits like a glove. Great as a light weight jacket,or a mid layer when extra warmth or shell is called for. Dark blue colour is very nice. Only complaint is I wish there was more ... Read Moreinventory available,I'd get the Oaks Brown as a backup.

January 11, 2017

Not what I expected.

Ordered this online in the brownish color. Looked more like yellow when I got it. Ran small despite other Patagonia products in size S fitting me well. Also didn't seem to hit the right spot between shirt and jacket.

January 11, 2017

jacket was just what I thought

I was given this jacket for Christmas and like it very much.

January 11, 2017

Nice mid weight button down.

Perfect for 20 deg pond hockey,followed by bring a cord a wood in the house on the same day. Burly.

January 11, 2017

Fantastic all round multi-function piece

I am quite hard on gear and travel to remote and often cold climates. I love this jacket. I've been using it this winter in Vermont on weekends and NYC during the week and I can't find any fault with it. It is warm but not hot or sweaty,about 80% windproof,looks tremendous and is quite rugged. I've used it with a baselayer and the Pa... Read Moretagonia Alpine Jacket for hikes or outdoor work when the temperature drops into single digits and it's perfect for driving or just sitting indoors. You just undo a few buttons to regulate the temperature. A few people have commented on the unsuitability of buttons. I have absolutely no problem with them. They're fine and work perfectly. I am finding myself wearing this Jacket/shirt several times a week and it's one of those ideal multi-function pieces that is now one of my 'go to' must take on every trip articles of clothing.

January 11, 2017

Warm

This insulated flannel is impressively warm,the pockets are a nice add

January 11, 2017

Cool look with outstanding insulation

I purchased this jacket based on the appearance and the preview provided by Patagonia. I was very impressed the quality of material and the insulation it provided,in addition to the stylish look. I now own 3 variants of the Fjord Flannel Jacket. It's good-to-go.

December 25, 2016

Pretty Amazing

I bought this on a whim and absolutely love it. I wear it as a daily jacket. The only complaint I have is when riding my motorcycle the buttons like to come undone. That can become a problem for warmth. However I wear good base layers when riding. 10/10 would definitely recommend to a friend for casual wear. I'm 5'8,140lbs and it fits nic... Read Moree. Not too snug but not too loose. I haven'y worn it doing messy labor but I feel like it would hold up to small snags.

December 9, 2016

The button struggle isn't real

I other posts about buttons coming undone seems to be user error in my opinion. You have to push them through all the way. Design note: make the sleeves a little longer!

October 17, 2016

Soft & Warm

I purchased about a month ago online and actually needed a bigger size so I took it to my local Pat store and the associate took my return and ordered my correct size so it would arrive at my house within a few days. Easy Peezy ! I do wish the shirt was a little shorter in length so it was more like a jacket and less like a shirt. Amazing quality t... Read Morehroughout.

April 1, 2016

I love it

That jacket is made to live in Qu'bec,and for all kind of winter. you just have to think about any association with an other jacket,tsirt,t-shirt,ect. Excuse my french accent .

January 29, 2016

Perfect

I now own two of these and probably will own all three colors soon. This is the perfect shirt slash jacket for me.....warm enough to wear in almost all conditions. I wear this shirt ALMOST every day and rarely take it off. When its really cold i add a down sweater and can handle just about anything. I have NO complaints. I LOVE the buttons. NO issu... Read Morees at all and ive had this shirt for over a year and like i said wear almost every day.

January 24, 2016

Warm, Comfortable, Looks great

I am somewhat of a coat/jacket collector, multiple softshells, downs, rain jackets, sweatshirts, etc. I was looking for something more comfortable and relaxed, and a little less technical, something I can wear by itself and stay warm but also something that I can wear out to a restaurant or store. The Fjord fits this and so much more. I honestly h... Read Moreaven't taken it off since I got it (3 weeks now) and have only worn a down jacket over it when it is too cold for the Fjord alone. I ordered the blue and it is a little bit lighter than the picture suggests but is an awesome color. I am 6'1 180 lbs and I ordered the medium. It is a pinch tight in the shoulders but I believe the large would be too big. The sleeve length and overall jacket length is perfect for me. It remains to be seen if it will be durable and stand up to the rigors of a campsite jacket or metro park hiking gear. I've seen reviews that suggest the buttons may fall off but I have yet to see anything to suggest they will. It is a little pricey for what I call a "shirket" (shirt/jacket) but you won't regret it once you put it on.

January 18, 2016

Size up!

The good stuff is as claimed by Patagonia: heavyweight,soft cotton flannel,very warm Thermogreen insulation,and some large hand warmer pockets,reinforced with proper bartacks. But! The sizing,as mentioned by several other reviewers here,is way off: I'm 5'11"/157 pounds,invariably take a Medium in Patagonia (and most other manufactur... Read Moreers) shirts...in this shirt,not so much. Patagonia claims this to be an overshirt,but all I can barely squeeze under it is an R1 baselayer - and even that's too tight. The problem isn't the shirt's torso,it's across the back. In the video you can see two generous pleats,but regrettably they didn't make it into production: the pleats on my shirt are very much smaller,nonfunctional,token efforts. As a result,extending my arms causes too much tension across the upper back

January 4, 2016

Buttons...why did it have to be the buttons?

This jacket/shirt had a serious chance of being one of my favorite go-to layers as it's super soft, well-insulated and is a perfect kick-around garment. That said, the buttons simply don't function (they're too small for the button holes) and the shirt is constantly coming undone/opening with any amount of movement. So, if you like t... Read Moreo constantly show off your midriff, great...if you want a shirt/jacket that stays on properly - either pass or sew on new buttons immediately after you buy it.

November 9, 2015

Very comfortable, cozy, wear-around shirt-jacket

I am 5'10", 155 lbs and the size small fits me perfectly. Some reviewers have complained about the shirt fitting tightly in the shoulders, but I don't find this to be the case at all for me. I find the cut of this shirt-jacket to be perfect. It has a nice tailored cut, which looks and functions well. It is a super soft, warm and comf... Read Moreortable jacket. The buttons are an issue, as another reviewer noted. I had to sew a couple of the button holes so they were a little bit smaller, so the buttons would stay secure - as they kept coming undone. The button issue was a bit puzzling, considering the price of the piece.

October 31, 2015

buttons beware

I've had the jacket about 2 weeks now and overall, I love it. It is surprisingly warm BUT the buttons are horrible. It is constantly coming unbuttoned. I HATE the buttons. If this jacket had snaps it would be perfect. As a side note, the hand pockets are really nice and deep, but kind of a weird design/placement.

February 6, 2015

Great top for warmer mountain days.

I just spent the week snowboarding in Park City, Utah... Towards the end of the week the temp started rising and the sun came out. This Flannel Jacket looked great over my base layer and middle layer. Plenty of warmth for what was approaching spring asking conditions. Very comfortable and looks great.

February 5, 2015

Great Jacket

Love this jacket. Just the right warmth without the bulk. Wear to work daily and to the pub at night. Chest pockets are great. Hand warmer pockets are a little odd for your hands but great for storing items. Very impressed.

January 21, 2015

quality and feels great, but...

As noted in other reviews, this shirt fits way too snugly in the shoulders. I usually wear medium tops and they fit perfectly. This shirt is tight in the shoulders and under the arms, especially for an overshirt. Not recommending it due to sizing issues.

January 15, 2015

Loved everything but the fit

This was a shirt that I REALLY wanted to keep. It is super soft and extremely warm. However, the sizing was way off for me. I usually wear an XL in most Patagonia products. Based on the previous reviews, I went with an XXL. This shirt/jac fit great lengthwise in bot h the waist and arms. The width was great around the middle. However, it was way to... Read Moreo tight in the shoulders, across the chest and around the biceps. I am not the most fit dude at 6 ft , 210lbs. but this cut did not work for me. Bummer, because I loved everything about this shirt but the cut across the shoulders and chest.

September 24, 2014

Great but a little snug

I love Fjord Flannels and come fall they are my go to article of clothing. I'm excited for this jacket hybrid. It fits a little tighter than I expected compared to the normal Fjord loose/relaxed fitting I'm used to. It's snug. I'm 5'8" 170lbs in a Medium. It seems to be most snug in the arms around the shoulders. Not ... Read Moretoo snug to be uncomfortable, but I wouldn't wear anything more than a tee-shirt weight shirt underneath it. I'm still pleased. I'd be interested in trying out a size larger for a day. I hope next years version fits just a little more comfortably. And maybe they could make a hooded version...

August 19, 2014

Nice quality heavyweight shirt. With hand pockets!

I love everything about this shirt but the fit. Although it's close enough to keep. I've noticed over the past two years that I've had to move to XXL from XL. Although my height(6'4"), weight(230), waist(34-35) have stayed the same it seems things aren't fitting like they used to. I expected a lined flannel "overs... Read Morehirt" in XXL to fit loose enough to wear over a couple layers. This shirt is too tight in the arms for me to wear over something as thick as a Synchilla Snap-T. However, it's fine over a Merino 3 or Cap4/R1 layer so that's what I'll do. It's a great shirt, built well and has a pretty decent layer of extra insulation built in.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches