Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Soft Shell Hooded Work Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 75 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Soft Shell Hooded Work Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
May 4, 2021

Very though

I think this jacket will last forever . It feels heavy but it's because the materials and constructions are thick. Well, that's why I bought it

April 19, 2021

Good concepts

This is the perfect work jacket. Great in the elements, hood is hard-hat compatible (different fit than climbing helmet). Pockets are deep, but could use a flap to keep rain, sleet, snow out. What makes this jacket amazing is the back pocket. Slip a tablet / laptop into that while climbing onto a roof. Doing wifi site surveys in outdoor facilities ... Read Moreand adjusting APs while on/off bucket lifts & forklifts is a perfect fit...but its got me thinking...what if you slipped one of these zippered pouches into some of the R1/R2 brushed fleece hoodies or a vest? Taking a laptop to a coffee shop for a meeting, want to read the news on an iPad down by the beach, but dont want to walk/ride carrying it or dont want to carry a full pack, these pockets could easily be stitched into garmets with little weight/bulk/cost gain and would make a great addition to functionality from outdoor gear to urban-option. (Please and thank you)

Response from Patagonia
April 20, 2021

Thanks for the super detailed feedback Michael! We'll pass your ideas along to our design team.

March 21, 2021

poor quality

Patagonia left its roots in functional gear for fashion and sustainability. This jacket could have been a home run, but instead you get cheap thin nylon pockets hanging inside instead of taking the time to sew them into the jacket so anything you put in your pockets flops around against your body, the nylon is so thin you are afraid to put anything... Read More substantial inside of the pockets. It also could have used another inside chest pocket. If they had used a gore-tex liner and merino wool for the liner this would have been amazing.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Thanks for the design feedback. We'll pass these suggestions along.

March 3, 2021

Full of functionality

Another quality "tool" from Patagonia. Bought for work and it excels in every area. Warm without being too bulky while driving, laughs off light precipitation, ignores rough wear that would destroy lighter fabrics and holds a ton of stuff. Beyond work I find myself grabbing it for everything from chilly dog walks, a quick shovel session o... Read Morer loading up the back pocket with "beverage of choice" and heading for the fire pit. Yes, fit is slightly loose and just a touch long on me (5'10", 165# size M) but I wouldn't want it any other way. Function over fashion and this jacket absolutely nails it.

February 25, 2021

Well-thought out work jacket

I purchased this jacket for two reasons: to have a heavy wind and water-resistant jacket for the Oregon coast and for work in Truckee, CA. I've found that it has a lot of really well thought out features for a work jacket. First, a note on sizing - many people are saying that it runs big, which is true when you compare it to most Patagonia a... Read Morepparel. In reality though, it fits true to size if you're going to use it to work. If I went to a M, it would be too tight to move in freely, especially with the thick material. A large allows for me to layer underneath and move freely. Now to the features: - lined sleeves work super well for putting it on over other layers, making sure that the sleeves underneath don't bunch up over your forearms; this is genius and works amazingly - rear access pocket is great for storing gloves, hats, etc. and also works as a decent lumbar support if you get the chance to sit down - normal pockets are roomy, but not too roomy - chest pocket is adequate - hood is decent; I don't use hard hats for my work so I can't speak to that capability; it gets a little drafty without a hard hat unless the jacket is fully zipped There are however, a few things that I think Patagonia could improve on with their next iteration: - it's not terribly warm; this could be because it fits pretty large around the waist which allows for drafts to enter or because the insulation isn't super comprehensive; however, since you can layer under it so extensively, this isn't a big issue but temperature control can be a little tough - it keeps you warm enough as long as you're moving - the cell phone pocket is a great thought and works well for my smaller iPhone; where it lacks is in keeping your phone warm enough to hold a charge. Since the phone sits in your pocket, with insulation between you and the phone, your body heat can't keep it warm. I think this could be solved by either (a) putting the cell phone pouch on the inside of the jacket, with a slit cut and hemmed in the pocket to access the interior cell phone pouch or (b) adding a bit of insulation to all sides of the cell phone pouch so that whatever body heat makes it through the insulation doesn't get lost in the cell-phone pouch.

February 24, 2021

Replaced 3 layers

I bought this jacket for a weather resistant work hoody. I am a groundskeeper who works outside all year round in the NE. It has surpassed my expectations in every area. It replaced three under layers while being more breathable. It has kept me warm into the low teens and is water repellant. The first day I was wearing it I walked into an exposed ... Read Morebolt with my head. The material dampened the blow enough that the bolt didnt cut my head and didnt even tear. Love this coat. 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

February 20, 2021

Patagonia Does It Right

I work predominantly outside as a field geologist in one of the northeastern states in the US. This winter 2021 has been especially cold. This here product paired with the insulated bibs has provided me with plenty of warmth and durability the past months. This is a piece I wear everyday in the field. I can rely on it, and as an added plus its fash... Read Moreionable, I love also wearing it out on my own personal time. My only critique is the hood is a little stiff and too pointy for my liking, however the amount of pockets, and insulation more than make up for that. If you are on the fence about purchasing this take it from me you will not regret it one bit. Stays true to size.

February 19, 2021

Slo ranger

Great jacket its my go to on The daily.

February 19, 2021

Great Work Jacket

I purchased this jacket for work. I work for a municipal water system and needed a warm jacket that could stand up to the rigors of repairing water mains and laying lines in all types of conditions. I chose this over Carhartt because it was less bulky and I liked the longer tail on the back of the jacket that doesnt ride up when working overhead. T... Read Morehe pockets are also great with plenty of room and the back zip pocket is great for gloves or a rain shell. This jacket has performed great for my job and I also wear it around the house when chopping, stacking and carrying wood in for the wood stove. It runs a little big but thats by design so you can wear layers underneath. I pair it with an R4 fleece and a long sleeve T-shirt when its below 30 degrees and stay toasty warm. Ive been working it pretty hard and it still looks like new so the durability is there for sure. I would highly recommend this jacket to someone looking for a tough, versatile and warm winter work jacket with less bulk and more refinement than your standard work jacket.

February 11, 2021

Saved my life?

I bought this hoody for work. It eliminated 3 layers without losing any heat retention and increasing breathability. Here is how it COULD have saved my life. I was shoveling snow around my house the day it was delivered. I was not paying attention when I walked into an exposed bolt on my janky clothes line. The rusty threaded end impacted my skull... Read More dead center and scraped for two inches. I was wearing the hood and it took the full force of the blow. My head and scalp were relatively unscathed. Without the hood I almost certainly would have had to get stitches. This hoody at least kept me out of the urgent care.

February 4, 2021

I love it so much

I love it

February 3, 2021

warm

warm but light and not bulky

February 2, 2021

Burly Man good

The jacket is another Patagonia winner. The xl sizing is great, not tight fitting which leaves room for another layer if need, it is warm and wind resistant, I wear it every day I am out. The pockets are the bomb with plenty of room for whatever I need to carry while surveying, back pocket perfect for maps, hammer or extra layer. Another great Pata... Read Moregonia design plus, the sleeves are lined to prevent bunching of shirts or sweaters while putting the jacket on. All in all a perfect Patagonia product.

January 31, 2021

Very comfortable

Warm. Excellent movement

January 25, 2021

Burly and pretty sweet

I wish the sleeves were a touch longer. The cuffs will also pile if used with gloves that have velcro on their closure. Jacket is boxy, which is good for layers but won't show off your figure. Great pockets for fishing or work.

January 19, 2021

Perfect for my husband!

This coat fits perfectly, is nice and warm and very comfortable! My husband had been shopping for a jacket for a long time and we gave him this one for Christmas. He wears it every weekend! A keeper!

January 11, 2021

Awesome work jacket

Wind & water resistant. Perfect jacket for ranch work with vest underneath. Longer length. Only drawback is front/main zipper not heavy duty enough -- needs to be heavy-duty metal zipper.

January 1, 2021

Ordered a Medium and a Large - Kept Both!

Great jacket. After all of the reviews I ordered both a medium and a large. The medium fits me great with light layering with something like an R1, R2 or flannel. It would seem small with any kind of medium/heavy layering. The large fits me great with heavier layering like an R1 AND maybe a nano, micro puff, fjord flannel etc. this makes the jack... Read Moreet fit me perfect which I believe it was designed to do. Love the previous review about wearing the Medium to Whole Foods and the Large to work on the farm. So Very true. With all that said it is one of my favorite Patagonia items, and that says a lot. Quality material, super handy back pocket and comfort. Hope this helps you find the right fit.

December 26, 2020

Great gift!

This was a fabulous Christmas gift for my avid fly fishing son. Looks like a great thing for the mountains of New Mexico. He loved it!

December 26, 2020

Heavy Duty

Great jacket, nice and heavy - I wear it to and from the gym when its cold. Works between 25-40 degrees F, has plenty of room for some layers underneath.

December 22, 2020

My go to work hoodie

Love this hoodie. Warm, spacious and does well to hide the dirt. Deep pockets and fleece lining. Daily grime washes out.

December 17, 2020

Love this jacket

Unlike a lot of Patagonia garmets which seem styled for long and slender builds, this fits me perfectly. As with all Patagonia products, the workmanship, detailing and ergonomics are first rate. Expect to be wearing this jacket for years to come.

November 26, 2020

True to size if you are looking to work!

63 190lbs athletic build. I hope this review helps. I have always been a size large in any Patagonia product, but due to some of these other reviews warning of how oversized these WorkWear products are I decided to go with the medium. The medium was definitely more form fitting, and caused restriction of movement. By sizing down you are not utili... Read Morezing these products how they are designed. If you want to look good and impress people at Whole Foods go ahead and size down. If you need this product to help you on the job, then go true to size!

November 22, 2020

Super warm amazing quality

Great quality and good materials.

November 20, 2020

great jacket!

This jacket is perfect for ranch work -- calving, moving/gathering/working cattle, etc. Wind proof, water proof, & great lining. Only drawback is the main zipper -- coat is heavy duty; zipper should be too -- and zipper should unzip from top & bottom. Great jacket though,

November 17, 2020

Great "in-between" jacket

I do grounds maintenance at an apartment complex, so I need something in between a sweatshirt and a heavy-duty work coat. Honestly, this Patagonia jacket and a heavy duty sweatshirt underneath provides more than enough warmth in all but extremely cold (single-digit and below) conditions. Deep pockets are an excellent feature of this jacket. Haven&#... Read Morex27;t really tested the DWR feature or the abrasion-resistant fabric, but everything else is spot-on.

November 14, 2020

Nice quality jacket

Decently warm, body runs a little big and arms run a little short. Large size purchased I am 62 and 190 lbs

November 12, 2020

High Quality

This jacket is high quality and warm. Definitely order a size down as I have many other jackets in large however the medium is perfect. I'm 5'9 180.

November 3, 2020

Excellent

Fantastic work coat. Rugged and warm. Pretty simple.

November 3, 2020

Okay

I have a similar coat from over 10 years ago without a hood that was my favorite and was excited to see this available. The original I purchased was a large and always a bit long in the sleeves so I purchased a medium this time and it is much larger than my old coat. I will have to wear a sweatshirt or other layer below it to fit properly which is ... Read Moredisappointing.

September 13, 2020

Perfect fall jacket and more

Roomy fit is ideal for adding base layers. Rear pocket holds frisbee for when I'm playing with my dog. Sometimes stash a camera in it. Really well thought out garment.

September 13, 2020

Very comfortable jacket

I like it very much, it has great pockets and I can wear it with just a shirt underneath, its what I was looking for .

September 10, 2020

For work or play?

I usually buy a medium from Patagonia. But from what other people put in their reviews I gambled and got a small. I am 511 and 175lbs. This hoodie/jacket is the real deal. Went camping in Michigans Upper Peninsula and some nights it was in the high 40s sitting by the fire. This jacket is wool lined and very warm. The pockets on front have riveted c... Read Moreorners and are set at the right angle for easy use. This jacket has a pocket on the back which I stashed a set of work gloves in. Also the hood comes in handy when the wind picks up off Lake Superior. I did not get wet in this jacket so I can not speak to its permeability in the rain. I would buy this coat again in a different color. More expensive then Carhartt but should last as long or longer for work wear.

September 8, 2020

Quality

I haven't had a good opportunity to use this jacket, but will now that the weather is getting cooler. It's a quality made jacket that's warm and durable. Perfect for walking the dogs, hauling wood and working in the yard during fall-winter-spring months.

September 7, 2020

Burly it shall be.

Fits as expected, slightly large for the size. Hood could be a little bigger, or at least adjustable some how, to fit over standard construction hard hat. Looking forward to seeing how it holds up during the upcoming winter season.

September 6, 2020

Well made

I had heard this jacket runs large but being that I dont wear my clothes tight I thought it was an excellent fit. I recently was displaced by the CZU Lightning Complex wildfire in the Santa Cruz mountains in California and this jacket arrived the day I was evacuated , so along with some photo albums and a duffel bag of clothes for my son and a duff... Read Moreel for me this was the only cold weather piece of clothing I had and it didnt let me down. I highly recommend this jacket

September 6, 2020

Burly indeed...

Great sweatshirt / coat, definitely runs big, I am 6 195lbs and the medium fits great, normally I am a large. Look forward to putting it through its paces this fall and winter.

June 25, 2020

Not abrasion resistant as stated

Scratched up pretty easily.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this got scratched up and we really appreciate your feedback on that. If you decide you are unsatisfied with the purchase, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

May 7, 2020

Really big fit

I'm 5'6" and ordered a size small. It fits really, really large so I had to return it. I would love to get a smaller size but they do t make one! Please make an XS!

February 10, 2020

Great Work Jakcet!

This Jacket is great for farm work and even leisure time! it is every warm and stylish. I'm really impressed with the style and material! it is very true to size.

February 3, 2020

Great Jacket

Will last a lifetime. This jacket is that well made. 3XL with room for layers.

January 13, 2020

Hope to wear for life.

Love this jacket.

January 2, 2020

Outstanding jacket for warmth and

Outstanding jacket for warmth and work

December 19, 2019

Great work jacket

Roomy warm jacket built for a layers underneath. The slick lining in the sleeves help keep the base layer sleeves at the wrist. Big pockets and a massive one along the lower back. Another plus is the cuffs are tight so they are not in the way when working

December 11, 2019

Great Coat!

I bought this coat for my dad as a present for helping me fix my automatic transmission in the winter. He had a torn up hoodie and never complained. He loves this coat, the back pocket really excites him, he wonders why all coats don't have it. The length is great, with the tail coming down, the pockets are all great, and the weight of the fle... Read Moreece is perfect for winters out here. It's highly mobile also, since it's still a soft shell jacket regardless of the weight of the fleece. And the hood, where some people in the reviews says it hangs down, I'm not used to climbing gear or mountaineering gear cause I don't buy it much, but when it comes to work clothes it is completely perfect. The cord system, where the pulls are inside the neck, is great. We spent a good half hour going through all the little parts of this coat, and even now he runs up to me and gives me a new one. The coat is built so well, the seams are strong, the material is though, I couldn't have asked for a better purchase for him. Also, the loose fit is great, he got a size Large which is normal for him, but more specifically, the sleeves are great. My family has naturally long arms, a couple inches longer than the norm for our height, and this coat works great for him. Also, we have wider shoulders than we should to go with it, and this coat is great across the shoulders, tons of movement. I could write so much about this coat. When we got it we were working on the car, a UPS driver walked up, gave me a package, I turned and handed it to my dad. He immediately put it on and has loved it ever since. Thanks for making such great work clothes that are vast improvements to what I've had to buy from other companies for years, I always thought, when patagonia starts making work clothes they'll wiped everyone out, and you're proving me right! thank you!

December 11, 2019

Best work Jacket for Chefs

As a professional chef, I spend 2-4 hours a day butchering fish, chicken and meats in 32 degree walk-in. This jacket holds up to riggers of my job. Designed well not to restrict my movements. Love all the pockets, keeps my iPhone warm, back pocket stores my gloves and hats, removing them out of the front pockets. Cleans up well and easy

December 1, 2019

Excellent choice for a hooded

Excellent choice for a hooded winter jacket. We live in Northwestern MA and winters are long. Bought this jacket for my husband but I’ll be borrowing it !!! Lower pockets are very big and the elastic cuffs work well. It’s stretchy fabric and insulation fleece are cozy and very comfortable.

November 22, 2019

Toughest jacket ever!

I bought this on a whim with some credit, and it has been my favorite Patagonia purchase out of probably 50 lifetime that I've made. For years, I've worn the Down Sweater Hoody, which I still have, but have made the Burly my go-to ever since I received it in September. It's similar in terms of warmth to that jacket, but doing things ... Read Morelike working around the house, camping, snow removal, projects in the garage or in the yard, I don't worry about the fabric catching on something and tearing. This jacket is tough, doesn't show much dirt, but still has a classic Patagonia look. The rear pocket is great for keeping a buff or pair of work gloves for easy access. The only thing constructive feedback I have is that it's definitely not a slim fit. I'm 6'3" and 185, and usually wear the slim XL or regular L in Patagonia stuff. This one I had to go with the L, which is a bit roomy for me and just long enough. I'd like to see this jacket with a slim fit, and I'd go with the XL, but that's just a skinny person's problem. I'll still be wearing this one for a long time to come.

November 20, 2019

Good construction hoody

Great build quality and materials. I was sceptical about the hood size upon reading reviews. I like to wear my hood over my hard hat to block the wind and keep warm. After 2 weeks on the job it is awesome. Hood could be bigger. A little snug when wearing over a hard hat but you get used to it. Just needs another chest pocket and a bigger hood and i... Read Moret would be perfect. Fit is roomy enough for a insulation jacket underneath. I am 5'10" 230 and have good room with a large. Keeps you warm in the low 40s with a t shirt. Add an mid layer and you will stay toasty as the temps drop

November 12, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

Very well constructed jacket! I’m hoping for many years out of it! The only thing I wish it had is a drawstring at the bottom. If it’s possible, and anyone reads this, I would pay extra to have a drawstring put in!

November 12, 2019

Great Product

Love it

November 10, 2019

Hooded Jacket

Initial impressions are good. Fits well. Useful pocket in the back, good for stashing gloves.

November 1, 2019

Rugged

Fantastic durability and warmth.

October 30, 2019

Nice jacket, not perfect

Overall a really solid jacket. Definitely runs large so consider sizing down 1 size. I'm 6'-3", 225lbs and a large fits with room for another layer under it (say a hoody for additional warmth). Sleeve length was a concern of mine, but after wearing I'm happy with the length at a size large. An internal gaiter at the waist would ... Read Morebe nice to block wind, or a cinch cord around the bottom hem. An internal pocket would be nice as well, but overall really pleased with this jacket, looks like it'll last for some time. So far I'm diggin' it.

October 9, 2019

My burly hooded jacket review.

I bought this mainly because of the hood and the description mentioned it was not slim or regular fit. It is definitely burly, and at first I didn't like it, but it will be a perfect jacket to wear tailgating, cutting trees, fall leaf maintenance, basically any outdoor home project. I haven't needed it yet, but am comforted with the fact ... Read Morethe jacket is at the ready.

May 8, 2019

Great Coat

I purchased the burly man coat for my father and he loved it. I then purchased one for myself. Its a great work jacket, with room to have layers on underneath. It keeps the wind out and is water proof enough

May 8, 2019

Burly Man Jacket

Generous in size, waterproof and warm. Wish Patagonia offered more options in 3xl, my son’s favorite brand. His go to favorite jacket!

March 6, 2019

Major failure on hood/face area

I have been using old climbing jackets for years to work in. I was excited to see a climbing gear company develop a work jacket. But the hood and face area is a major failure. Will not fit over a hard hat, my face will not fit in the jacket when fully zipped and if I have anything more than a stuble it pulls the hair out of my neck. The rest of the... Read More jacket is nice. I guess Patagonia does not know how to collaborate the desingers in the climbing department with the designers in the workwear department.

December 19, 2018

Quiver killer hoody so long as it's not fully raining...

This hoody does what it says it will. Warm, water repellent, tough as nails, and overall comfortable. However, the "soft" shell exterior is pretty stiff, as you might expect for it to be a durable work jacket. This stiffness causes the hood to come off pretty bulky behind the neck if you're wearing it in a car seat or other high back... Read More chair. That being said, there's a lot to like about this jacket. The oversized pockets are super cozy and convenient, but be careful if you're wearing this on the slopes as they have no closure mechanism and are snow magnets. The full sized hood and chin coverage are great. The interior phone pouch is a plus and holds my over-sized iPhone just fine. While a hem drawstring would have been nice to keep wind from creeping in, it's not a deal killer. I would agree with others, however, that the zipper allows more wind through than expected. On sizing, I'm 6'5" and 230 and the XXL fits well. It certainly isn't as big or boxy as some have described, but it also isn't so big I could fit multiple layers underneath comfortably. Overall, I see myself grabbing this for both everyday winter use and for those medium-cold days on the hill where the temps are in the 30s but there's not a lot of wind or precipitation to worry about.

November 23, 2018

Awesome Jacket

Super well made and warm. I got a small at 5 11" 168lb climber build and I can still get another hoody under it.

October 25, 2018

Outstanding build quality

Another great 3XL piece of kit. The quality is felt and the attention to detail show in this Burly Man jacket. Thanks Patagonia for making great gear for the larger sized people. Will continue to buy Patagonia. Been a customer since the late 80’s.

October 10, 2018

Nice but WAAAAAAAAAAAY to big

This coat is nice but ridiculously big. Nothing in my full closet is a size Medium except this coat, my entire wardrobe is in size L, even a few XL's, i'm 6-1 and 180-185 and am not a Medium. This is a hassle for the customer,the Fit Finder even said a size L. The "cell phone" pocket located inside the right big pocket will fit ... Read Morean old Apple 5 or 6, not the 6 or 7 plus, this could use an upgrade.

September 7, 2018

Warm jacket, except for the zipper

I have been wearing this jacket when I was working on a research vessel up in Western Alaska. The jacket is very warm. The only issue is the zipper. As soon as you are facing the wind, you can feel the wind chill just drill into your body. It honestly needs to be redone to have a zipper cover or a lining on the inside to prevent this(like most othe... Read Morer jackets). The jacket runs quite big, but workwear always does. I would’ve recommended this jacket to a friend, but the zipper is such an issue.

June 9, 2018

Seriously Amazing Patagonia!

Although I have only had a couple months on this piece,I sense it is already headed towards my personal Patagonia hall of fame list. I have been wearing Patagonia for 30 years,and it's truly that good! I sure appreciate the generous cut,as I have returned most of my recent Patagonia purchased due to constant sizing shuffles. I wear this jacket... Read More almost every day in the cold weather,and it's an awesome jacket in the boat. The soft-shell keeps me dry in light rain/snow,but would recommend something else to stand up to exposure to heavy precipitation.

April 10, 2018

Burly Man a Patagonia winner

I've had this coat through this past winter into spring and it rocks. I don't usually write reviews on clothing/coats yet wanted to pass it on that this coat was more than I expected in warmth,durability,lightweight,and water repellent. Pockets galore,good hood over the forehead,and snug wrists. For really icy cold days a down vest fits e... Read Moreasily underneath. You can't go wrong with this coat. Also priced right.

March 24, 2018

Another good Patagonia product

I just received my burley men's jacket . It was back orderd wasent suppose to get it till April but i got it early . I got a large I'm 6'1 200 pounds and jacket fits perfect . Only thing I don't like it how big the hood especially when not having it on it looks bulkly on your back. Other then that great product .

March 5, 2018

Smooth and Warm

A recent addition to the stable of stuff I have used over the years from Patagonia. I am going to give it praise where applicable then some comments about needed upgrades. Pros: Warm,wind and a bit water resistant. The fabric is very heavy duty,most things retained brush right off. The sewing is very tight,wonderful attention to details. Cons: The... Read More pockets either need flaps or a snap closure or both. When I am in the barn feeding the woolies haylage the pockets accumulate spillage very easily. The pull tab for the chest pocket is too flat and is hard to get to wearing gloves. As another reviewer brought up the lack of a wind flap I will have to say I agree,it is needed. Another nice feature would be a double pull zipper so you could open up the lower section of the jacket when sitting on machinery. As it is now it tend to buckle up around the waste when you sit. The sleeves could be at least another half inch longer but then I have long arms! I hope this jacket goes through some metamorphosis in design features and it would be a solid five. Until then,I will give it a four star rating.

January 5, 2018

Well build and durable

Overall exactly what the description states but a few comments: 1) not the typical Patagonia fit. This is for larger guys & fits more like carhart than typical Patagonia. Waist draw string would have helped. 2) the zipper has iced up on me forcing me to warm up and thaw out before being able too get it open. (Or use it like an anorak). A zippe... Read Morer flap would have helped 3) unless the jacket is zipped fully,the exposed zipper is scratchy. Again,zipper protection would have helped. It's insanely warm (a good thing) and stands up to all kinds of conditions.

December 12, 2017

Well done - a must have if you're working outside!

This is another home run for Patagonia. The fabric is tough and the construction bomb proof. It resists wind superbly (40+ mph don't cut through it). The cut is generous,allowing layering without being baggy and in the way. Drop back/length is great and the sleeve cuff allow for an easy interface with glove gauntlets. It sheds water and snow. ... Read MoreHood is awesome (same fabric). Zipper doesn't disappoint. In short,it is not just a make believe work-wear,it's the real deal. Don't expect to wear this in mild temp tough,it's just too warm. I would have liked another pocket like the stretched pocket for the cell phone,in the left pocket,to protect eye-ware. Also,I am 5'10" with a rather long torso (30" inseam for pants),I ordered a Medium and could have used 1/4" longer sleeve. Well done Patagonia!

December 9, 2017

Just Awesome

While I can see how some might feel stiff in this jacket,I absolutely love it. The material feels durable,it's warm,does great in the rain and is superb in blocking wind. It's been my go to and favorite jacket so far. I'm 6" and about 165lbs (slim) and the medium fit me perfect.

December 5, 2017

Solid piece of work gear. Ready for punishment.

Received this today for the winter work season and I am pretty darn excited to use it. Jacket is indeed quite burly being heavier and more dense than expected. Outer softshell fabric feels as if it is a hybrid between traditional canvas and softshell weave. Inner material feels as high loft fleece will and is very soft and warm. I have no qualms ... Read Moreabout running saws in thicket while wearing this jacket or staying warm in 10 - 20 F while running heavy machinery. Sizing feels appropriate according to the guideline. I wear an XL in most outerwear,ordered an XL in the Burly Man and feel like I have excess space to layer/move around in. I typically don't like a tight fit so the extra space is no problem to me but if you want to be more snug I could see ordering a size down as necessary. For reference I am 6'3 200 lbs with an athletic build. I haven't used Patagonia in many many years for work and am pretty stoked that they have designed a work line. I'm ready to see how long this thing lasts.

November 27, 2017

Great coat just not for me

I dont want to bad mouth the product i think its a great coat but for me i couldnt freely bend my elbows. Plenty of room in the back and shoulders but when i bend my arms to say 90 degrees it was extremely tight in the elbows which caused me to return it. Im 5'11' 235 (husky) and got a XL

November 13, 2017

Super

I wear this jacket daily for work. All of the pocket placements were well thoughtout and resourceful. The jacket is warm and protects me from the strong cold winds off Lake Superior on the north shore of MN.

October 11, 2017

Technical and Stylish

Picked up this jacket because I wanted something I could wear around town this winter as well as use as a work jacket out on the water guiding that was more weather appropriate than the Patagonia canvas jacket I already own. Plenty of room to layer underneath for the very cold days and being 6'2" about 205 the large is pretty roomy. The D... Read MoreWR finish allows light rain and drizzle to bead off no problem and moves nicely while rowing a boat. Hood is as burly as the jacket which I love,can't stand jackets built of one material and the hood is something lighter/different,not a problem with this jacket.

October 8, 2017

Great work jacket

Haven't got a ton of hours in this jacket because the temps haven't dropped,but looking to use this jacket as an addition to my fleet of Nano Puffs this winter. Love the brown color,great for hiding dirt,love the large pockets for tools. Inside fleece feels dense but great,the exterior shell feels a little stiff out of the box but guessin... Read Moreg it just needs some mileage to break in. For a medium there's plenty of room underneath for another layer ( not as form fitting as nano puffs ).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches