Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Work Vest

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 26 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Burly Man Work Vest

4.2/5
Kinda Large
August 31, 2021

Very comfortable

Very comfortable and warm fits to size

July 8, 2021

Vest

Nice vest, but front zipper didnt hold up (should be a heavy metal zipper). Our outlet replaced the vest.

March 12, 2021

Snug fit comfortable multipurpose good quality

Has lots of pockets and are deep feels secure and is made of good quality comfortable

March 8, 2021

A very good work garment with two exceptions

I have owned this vest for two years. My conclusion is that this is well constructed, warm, and durable garment. I am pleased that I purchased it. In temperatures around freezing to into the upper 30s, it is warm enough to start and not to warm once you start to work and exert your self. One of the reasons I purchased this vest is the "back po... Read Morecket" for storage which is a great idea in early spring weather when its cold in the morning and by late morning warm enough to stow gloves and such. Two exceptions and the reason only a 4 star rating. A minor thing is that the phone pocket is too small if you have a cover protecting your phone. If you are like me, a phone cover is essential especially working out on the farm. The second is that the back pocket when filled makes the fit tight, makes layering problematic, and a bit uncomfortable especially when driving. I will try a size up then adjust, but I intend to own this vest for a long time.

February 1, 2021

Warm and functional

Perfect for working out on the farm in cold weather. Surprisingly warm, and the big pockets make it easy to store and retrieve tools and gear with gloves on.

January 5, 2021

Great looking

Great vest fits good and is warm

November 17, 2020

Another superb Patagonia product

Classic, superb Patagonia product--Burly Man coat is also superb and perfectly sized for multiple layers underneath.

November 8, 2020

Runs big

The large was huge. My sizing: 43 chest, 34 waist, 6,1 - went down to a medium. It is now fitted snug and comes to belt line. Still room to work. Vest feels and looks great. Lots of compliments. Hoping it holds up for what I plan to do to it.

November 5, 2020

Poor fit

Fit was poor, too loose. Also didnt like the collar. I have returned this item.

September 2, 2020

Functions as Intended!

The vest is durable and resistant to the elements. If you are carrying tools or a cell phone holster on your belt, there is plenty of room for concealment even when zipped up. The vest is not skin tight or restrictive. The zippers are made of high quality material and will not fail like some lower quality products. The only thing that I have an i... Read Moressue with is the collar chafes the neck at times. Otherwise, this vest is functioning exactly as intended when I ordered it. Great product!

January 3, 2020

Burly Man Vest

So far I really like the vest. Haven't experienced very cold weather yet. The pockets are placed well making it comfortable to stick you hands in and keep them there. Only thing that bothers me is the collar. When I'm not wearing a shirt with a collar the vest's collar is uncomfortable on my neck. It might get comfortable once I get ... Read Moreused to it, until then I'll probably make sure I'm wearing a collared shirt under it.

January 3, 2020

Stay away from the Camp Fire in this vest

Cool vest, loved everything except it melts easily. Smallest campfire embers burn right through this vest. Same with sparks from an angle grinder. Not for work.

December 29, 2019

Great quality but not-so-great fit

This vest looked great and felt great. But once it was on, it had a bit of a boxy fit.

December 20, 2019

Great material, great pockets, great

Great material, great pockets, great sizing

December 11, 2019

Absolutely love it!

Extremely happy I read the reviews. This vest is definitely sized to be layered with bulkier articles of clothing so if you’re looking to wear it more casually, with maybe just a flannel underneath, I would recommend going one size smaller than you would ordinarily. Fantastic vest!

November 11, 2019

Burly Vest

Vest runs a bit large - purchased an XL (for a generally XL sized man) and returned for a L; sturdy and stylish; easy return and exchange procedure

November 8, 2019

5’11” and 195 and still

5’11” and 195 and still some room.

August 10, 2019

Perfect all around work vest.

Perfect all around work vest. Tough, durable with freedom of movement. On a scale of 5, I give it a 10.👍

May 8, 2019

Burly Man Vest

Great vest, and what I was looking for. I wear Patagonia's fleece vests, but wanted something with more protection in the wind. This softshell and fleece lined vest does the trick for the harsh New England weather.

May 8, 2019

Burly Man Vest

The fit is great! I’m in my late 40s and a fishing guide and have a few extra pounds from the last 5 years in my mid section. The outside fabric sheds stains and the fleece inside is very warm and dense. This is perfect to wear on a 45 degree morning under an SST shell steelhead fishing. I was able to layer it with lightweight Capiline next to my s... Read Morekin and a lightweight fleece hoody for the perfect combination I have been looking for. This way I did not get too warm by the end of the day when temps would rise into the mid 50s. This one is a keeper and will wear it around town on a Fall day or use it for extra core warmth in the Winter.

May 8, 2019

Great Vest

Was looking for a functional vest that looked good as well. This vest checks all the boxes. This is roomy, warm and comfortable. Would like to have an inside pocket though.

January 28, 2019

Sizing

Order xl as all my Patagonia are. Description states relax fit, mine was tight. Nice vest but returned.

November 14, 2018

Ok - size is finally right.

I’m 6-6. I ordered a 3x and i was swimming in it. Replaced with a 2x and it was tight. Returned that and asked if they happened to have another 3x for me to try and it fits perfectly. The first vest may have been mislabeled but was way larger than the same size (label) that I’m keeping. Rare misstep for Patagonia but their customer service and stor... Read Moree staff helped me to get it right and I applaud them for that.

November 13, 2018

weird sizing

i'm 6-6. big guy. i have a workwear jacket that is 3xl and it fits fine. i ordered this vest in 3xl and was swimming in it. i exchanged for an xxl which is tight. sleeve openings on the 3x were massive. sleeve openings on the 2xl are what you would find on a technical midlayer and kind of tight. This vest is not very stretchy so that's a ... Read Moreproblem. Normal increments from sizes are at most 2 inches but this jump is from 28.5 across for the xxl to 31.5 for the 3xl. that winds up being 6 inches around. that's way too much without sizes in between or a smaller 3xl. I have a lot of Patagonia gear and i love most of it, but if you're going to push out sizes for bigger guys who need to work in it the sizes need to make sense. this just doesn't. Jacket collar when zipped does not correlate with the other dimensions. It would be great if the Patagonia Stores carried this stuff so people could try them on without so much hassle.

April 19, 2018

Functional,Tough Vest

I love this vest. It keeps my core very warm despite being fairly slim. I love the extended back and the back zipper which I have used to store gloves,magazines,and anything else that can fit. The front zipper compartment on the left side is very handy as well. Great design and look! I am 5'9,185lbs and medium fits perfect with room for a hoo... Read Moredie or flannel underneath.

January 4, 2018

Burly man vest

I bought this in the fall and wore often while selling Christmas trees outdoors in New England. I like the combination of softshell and fleece,collar,back and chest pocket,and zippered front. I would prefer zippered front pockets; these opened up when storing gloves in them and at that point would catch on things. The open design also makes them su... Read Moresceptible to accumulating snow or other material. I am normally a Patagonia Medium (5'9 and 155#) but the relaxed fit on this made it a bit too big for me. I am keeping the vest but put on more layers than I normally would when I wear this vest.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches