Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Barn Coat

Write Your Review

4.6 /5

Filter Reviews

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Barn Coat

4.6
True To Size
October 27, 2020

Hemp farmer in Michigan

I work on a hemp farm in Ann Arbor, Michigan and this coat stops the wind. It's flexible and warm and has great pockets. I wanted a feminine cut jacket as well as a tough work coat. This is it. Thank You Patagonia.....

October 27, 2020

Hemp farmer in Michigan

I work on a hemp farm in Ann Arbor, Michigan and this coat stops the wind. It's flexible and warm and has great pockets. I wanted a feminine cut jacket as well as a tough work coat. I bought it a little large so I can wear a vest under it. This is a great coat. Thank You Patagonia.....

June 10, 2020

It's a keeper

I bought this jacket to get a Carhartt-tough work jacket that also had a flattering fit, and this jacket is exactly that. Despite being very tall, the adjustable waist hits just right and the length is flattering. The sleeves could be a little longer, but given that Patagonia is trying to fit a wide range of bodies, the sleeves are long enough for ... Read Moreme to want to keep the jacket. Pros: Very warm, nice interior pocket, deep warm hand pockets that somehow don't add a lot of bulk to the shape. Magically, this barely snags on barbed wire and dirt brushes right off. What I dislike about this jacket has more to do with the fact that I'm horseback a few mornings a week and it lacks the features that make it a good equestrian coat, namely two-way zippers, zippable front pocket for easier phone access, and front snaps. It does have two snaps on the flap that covers the zipper, but the flap itself often folds open. Having front snaps allow one to ride with the top and bottom open for easier maneuverability while still keeping in some warmth. The jacket also lacks elastic cuffs on the interior of the canvas cuff, meaning wind can blow up your sleeve. Overall, a great jacket - more like a coat, really. I hope they make it in some darker colors, and consider some adjustments that would make it more equestrian friendly because women's working ranch clothing could use some disruption.

April 22, 2020

Love it!

Love this jacket, very comfortable fits great true to size, and looks great on. Would love to see lighter weight work pants in womans.

December 17, 2019

Coat for all seasons

The material and construction is exactly as described on the web site. I'm 5'3" and about 125 lb and medium is a good fit with regular layer underneath. I can zip it up and be warm in 40F weather. The inside of the pockets are actively soft and quite deep so it is very handy if you are working outside with this jacket on. If anythin... Read Moreg can be rugged and stylish at the same time, this coat is.

December 5, 2019

Canvas Barn Coat Rocks!

Very warm and stylish for barnyard attire. Well made of sturdy fabric and double and triple stitched. We like the inside zipper pocket.

November 27, 2019

It's amazing, warm, good fit,

It's amazing, warm, good fit, and great for chores!

November 16, 2019

durable and great looking

wow- have waited for years to replace another brand barn coat - the wait was worth it!

November 14, 2019

Best work coat ever

The fit is perfect and roomy exactly like the description!!! It is so warm and perfect for throwing on in the morning and evening to feed.

November 11, 2019

Ws Iron Forge Canvas Barn Coat

I was looking for a sturdy work coat. I work for an Environmental Non Profit, and being out in the elements when it is cold, I wanted a coat that was sturdy, yet comfortable and warm, and this coat is perfect!

November 11, 2019

Love this coat

It is so cozy to wear on a cold day. I like having the deep hand-warming pockets and all the other pockets, including the interior hidden pocket to hold another pair of glasses. I love the rustic, yet kool look and color. I am only 5 ft. tall so the coat is just a bit too long I thought, but then I got used to the look. Also had to fold up the slee... Read Moreves. I ordered a small.

November 7, 2019

Barn coat

I love that this coat has a zipper not buttons that get caught on round bale hay netting. It is warm but still allows for full movement in the shoulders. I wish it had another interior pocket, one isn't enough.

November 5, 2019

iron forge hemp

first time with Hemp...….nice material...soft ..strong.. I have found my favorite jacket....

November 5, 2019

Not for smaller women

Designed for taller women with narrow shoulders.. The small was very long with only adequate width in the shoulders - not much room for layers. I am 5'3" and 115 lbs.

November 4, 2019

Stylish and functional

Great jacket, very comfy and warm. Can go straight from working in the yard to grabbing coffee in town. I wavered between an XS and a S - the XS was a more tailored fit but ultimately too tight in my shoulders. I like that you can cinch the jacket in for a more tailored fit.

October 16, 2019

Amazing quality and trendy alternative to boxy barn coats from other brands

This coat is really great. The material is super hardy but supple so it's not uncomfortable to wear. The fit is nicely flattering. Pockets are lined with a super soft cotton, and coat lining is soft also. I am 5'4", 165lbs, busty, and the M fits perfectly. I am happy that I did NOT size down as the website suggests, but I think that ... Read Morerecommendation is really for slimmer women with smaller busts/hips. Very great coat.

October 10, 2019

Love it

Totally in love with it. Originally I ordered an XS, normally I wear a size Small but the description suggested ordering a size down. I ended up returning the XS and exchanging it for a Small. I have pretty long arms and the Small is perfect. Not baggy with enough room to wear a layer underneath for extra warmth. I’m 5’4 and 115lbs.

August 12, 2019

Rugged City Slicker

Love this jacket for the fall and winter. I'm 5'10" in a M and it's a wee tight over my 36C's but fits nonetheless! It's a great addition to my wardrobe and I love its contrast with my city wear. I live in the country and work in Philadelphia, so this is the perfect style to blend those two opposites together. I'm... Read More over fancy coats for my daily commute, so looking forward to living in this one for years to come. Great fit with a modern but classic style!

August 10, 2019

Forge Hemp Canvas barn coat.

I bought the barn coat for ranch work, it is perfect. Love the fit and you can make it a bit more fitted with the side adjustment. Highly recommend

May 9, 2019

I sent it back. I

I sent it back. I love Patagonia. I have been wearing your clothing for over three decades. I have never experienced such wild sizing. It’s not consistent. I’m so excited about the fabrics of the workwear but the cuts and the sizing are so off.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

We're very sorry to hear you're disappointed with the sizing. Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you'd like to inquire about your refund.

March 21, 2019

Love It! But it is Sooo heavy!

Love the jacket but it feels wearing it with weights

January 16, 2019

A plus

This is my work coat. It is warm, protective, and totally comfortable. I am 5’6in, 125 lbs. I hesitatly purchased an XS based on the size and fit guide, i ordinarily would of ordered a S taking layering into account. I’m happy I got an XS! I typically wear a long sleeve T-shirt and a very thin down jacket under my Barn Coat to work outdoors in temp... Read Mores often between -10- 20 degrees. This coat has served me well! As a bonus, it looks great. It transitions well into street well.

January 10, 2019

Near perfect

Just got the coat today and can’t take it off. Very warm comfortable and streamlined. Only complaint is the fabric in the pockets is too synthetic feeling(and thin), not comfortable. I am going to get it altered with corduroy. :)

January 6, 2019

awesome jacket

i was looking for a warm jacket, and this jacket fits the bill. hemp is such a sturdy material, and for cold/windy weather, this jacket is perfect. i am 5'5" and 140lbs, S worked just fine for me. i could fit a thinner sweater or a baselayer under without a problem.

December 14, 2018

Great...except the pockets

I love this coat, great for barn work. But why dies the men’s version have a flap on the pocket and this does not?!? The hay in the picket is a real issue. Other than that design flaw, I love it. I’m 5’9”, 145lbs and the medium fits me well.

November 27, 2018

Great coat!

Living in Florida, it’s hard to find a versatile coat. We go from 89* to 50* in 24hrs. That said, this jacket is WARM, not bulky, and can be worn for nearly any occasion. It was true to size based on the Patagonia website suggestion. Though FL is just beginning to cool off, I’m thoroughly looking forward to staying warm!

November 23, 2018

Great coat but could use a back vent for movement

I have liked this jacket for the most- for not too much bulk it keeps me really warm on cold winter days in freezing temps if layered. The only fit modification I would suggest is a back vent to allow better fit/ freedom of movement over hips since this coat hits right at the hip. I have a size 29 waist and 41" hips, the medium is best fit in ... Read Moretorso and arms but too snug hitting at the hip.

November 6, 2018

Women's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat

This jacket should be a five star item: well designed, no velcro, very warm, roomy enough for a warm sweater for extreme cold if you order a size up. However, the jacket needs one modification: a flap on the front pockets. For those of us throwing hay over the fence for horses, these pockets accumulate hay. After emptying the pockets outside, you p... Read Moreluck off as much as you can from the little pieces left on the wonderfully soft and warm pocket lining when you go inside. A flap on each pocket would solve this problem!

October 4, 2018

Best. Coat. Ever.

I love this coat! It's hands down the best work coat I have ever owned. I purchased this coat to wear while working on our property and wore it for the first time today to tend to my flock of backyard chickens. Not only is it comfortable and warm, but also easy to work in with no binding or tightness anywhere. I'm 5'8" and 120 l... Read Morebs. so ordered a small, which fit perfectly. The tabs on the back of the coat are a great feature and allow me to cinch the coat in a bit so it doesn't feel bulky at all. The materials and construction used in this coat are top quality so I know I will be wearing it for years to come. An all around fantastic work coat!

May 18, 2018

It's summer and I don't want to take this off

See title. But in all seriousness,this jacket is fantastic. The material is soft yet feels durable,it looks great on,it's warm,and fits great. I like the adustable straps on the back in case I want to make it tighter fitting or let it be looser for layering underneath. I'm 5'6" 130lbs and I got a small which was perfect. The sl... Read Moreeeves could be ever so slightly longer but I also have long arms so am used to that problem. I live in Idaho where cold and wind are a constant in every day Life and this jacket should be great for an every day piece in fall,winter and spring.

May 12, 2018

Great jacket,but poor fit for me

I'm giving this 4 stars,because it's a great jacket,but for me the fit was off. I'm 5'5",107 lbs. and ordered an XS. The jacket was too long for me,and it was longer in the front than the back. It's a very straight up and down cut,so I found it somewhat narrow at the hips,but quite roomy through the chest. It might fit... Read More a larger chested person about my size better (I'm an A),and that might correct the longer front length issue I had. But just with the jacket lying flat on a table,the front of the jacket is longer than the back. I found the sleeves to be just barely long enough when reaching,but about right with my arms down. My arms are about average,maybe slightly shorter than average. For reference,the XS measures approx. 19.5" armpit to armpit,and about the same across the bottom of the hip area. The sleeve is approx. 21" armpit to cuff.

December 7, 2017

Great Work Coat!

I bought this coat a little over a month ago and have been wearing it for work and chores ever since. It is soft,comfortable,warm,and functional. I am 5'8" and 140 pounds,and the size small is a perfect fit. It does have one design flaw,which is that the angle of the pocket openings,while easy to slip a phone or chapstick into,are also pe... Read Morerfectly oriented so that they fill up with hay when I'm throwing hay over fences or out of the back of my truck. Other than the hay-in-the-pockets it's a 5 star keeper for sure.

November 19, 2017

I love this coat!!!!!!

I have had this coat about a month and it is soo comfy wumfy!! And warm! and durable and beautifully crafted. It is roomy enough to move freely,including enough room in the shoulders and fit a sweater underneath. And it looks nice in a work coat kind of way and the pockets are useful. Well tailored for the job!

November 5, 2017

Great jacket!

I love this jacket. The style is great. For being a barn style jacket it is much softer than I expected. It's very comfortable and the liner is warm all over. I've been looking for something like this for a long time. I've had men's jackets before but they never quite hit the mark. I'm just to small for a men's jacket ... Read Moreas hard as I might try. My only beef with an otherwise fantastic coat are the sleeves are just a bit long (perfect fit if I keep the cuffs rolled up) however, it's possible I should have gotten a size smaller but I just like having a little extra room and I'm shorted a couple of pockets the men's coat has but I suppose it's not huge loss since I love this jacket so much.

August 1, 2017

Super Nice "Carhartt-esque" Work Jacket.

I stopped by the Patagonia store in Portland today and was so excited to see this jacket (and also the "matching" double knee pants and farrier's shirt). I love it that Patagonia created a Workwear line for men AND women,and that the women's versions are basically the same as the men's - similar colors,cuts,etc. So happy th... Read Moreat the women's versions exist,and that they are not pink or turquoise or with a silly flowered lining,etc. The only difference seems to be that the women's version has two cinch straps with buckles. And here I would ask,WHY? Just because we are women does not mean we need/want extra features like buckles. This is supposed to be a work jacket - it should be straightforward and simple. If the men's version does not need buckles,I'm sure us ladies can make due without them as well. Also,why is the women's version $20 more than the men's version??? Other than that,my only complaint is that while the size S clearly is the right size for me,the sleeves are super short. I wish Patagonia would err on the side of making sleeves and overall lengths an inch or two longer,rather than shorter. For anyone curious about size,I wear a M in most Patagonia jackets (Nano Air,Nano Puff,Better Sweater,Down Sweater,etc). In this jacket,the size M was too large (though at least the sleeves fit).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches