Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

Write Your Review

4.72 /5

Filter Reviews

All 173 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

4.72
Kinda Large
July 20, 2020

Great Jacket

I was amazed on how soft and supple this jacket was upon arrival. Outside material is durable and insulation is warm without being bulky. Sizing was a bit large, I typically run XL or Large Tall, so orderd a XL initailly but was very large around the mid-section, swapped out for a Large and that fit great. Could possibly even fit into a Medium, but... Read More I have pretty long arms and torso.

June 27, 2020

Solid however flawed

This is a well made, thoughtfully designed coat. The lining is a nice touch. The exterior fabric feels like its going to last a few winters of log splitting. Two knocks against the coat are the plastic zipper and lack of hood snaps. I took my coat to a tailor and replaced the plastic zipper with a sharp stainless steel. When the wind is ripping the... Read More lack of a hood is confusing on such a coat.

June 24, 2020

Great style but wearing out to fast

Im a huge Patty workwear fan. The style, and warmth are there but the jacket is coming apart way too fast on me for how much I paid for it. The inside of the pockets are coming undone and seems on the jacket are coming undone that's why I gave it only three stars.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

We are sorry to hear this and we appreciate the feedback on this. We expect much more out of our product and hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us under our warranty.

June 17, 2020

New favorite jacket

I usually wear a size small/medium. But I was looking for a tighter fit since I dont plan on layering much, so I purchased an XS and Im very happy with the way it fits. The quality of the materials and the craftsmanship are top notch. Cant wait to put it through hell.

April 16, 2020

Good work jacket

I am 6'0" 210lbs and ordered this jacket as a medium. Even so, I usually wear a t-shirt and a micro-fleece vest underneath comfortably. It is not very warm in the chest area but has a comfortable cut. I have been wearing it through some serious chores and found it durable and comfortable.

April 1, 2020

Pocket seam tore out in first season

So Ill start off by saying I truly love this coat!! Ive worn it primarily around our farm and while working in the shop. The coat is so warm and the insulation inside is soft and slick unlike other brands so that dirt/sawdust doesnt get caught in or stick to the inside. The hemp fabric is very durable which lead me to believe that this probably wo... Read Moreuld be the last work coat I would ever buy until the other night. I made a trip out to the barn and reached in the pocket when the seam just tore apart. Yes it can be repaired but when I pay for a top quality work coat I dont expect the seams to come apart in the first season. Im hoping that Im the only person who has found this fluke. Because like I said before I really love this coat.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Sorry to hear about the torn pocket, but we really appreciate the great detailed feedback, Lee! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the coat to our main service center for repair, merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

February 18, 2020

The Last Work Coat I'll Buy

I've had this jacket a few years now. One of the best work jackets I've worn, and the last one I'll buy. It has weathered time and use really well. It has enough space for layering during deep cold, so is great for all seasons. The pockets are deep and warm. It's sharp enough to wear right out of the shop, so it's a corners... Read Moretone of my daily wardrobe.

February 12, 2020

Great jacket made better with beeswax

I love this coat. It’s simply the most durable piece of clothing I’ve ever owned, and the seams and cut make moving around and doing real work easy. I made mine waterproof and windproof with bee’s wax. Simply melt the wax, paint it on with a cheap brush, and soak it in with a heat gun or blow dryer. The wax makes it stiffer, though it will be ready... Read More for nearly any weather. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is it’s a bit short in the torso and I get a cold breeze up it when really moving around (e.g. climbing a tree to cut branches or some other means of bodily contortion).

February 10, 2020

Awesomeness

I’ve had mine about a year now with a couple of washings (ink black is beginning to fade which looks great). The durability is outstanding! Tough as they say but you can wear it in dinner date with your significant other. Really goes well with just about anything. Originally I ordered a small seeing how the cut is relaxed fit but it was too tight i... Read Moren the arms to allow much underneath (5’9”, 165lbs Athletic build). Medium is a bit large but I guess I’m a tweener in this style. I can easily wear a thick sweatshirt comfortably underneath. The sleeve length is just right being somewhat longer than most of my shirts (medium in flannel). Short story-you’ll love it.

February 6, 2020

Warm and Big

Got this for Christmas. Much larger and warmer that I expected. I was thinking it was going to me more along the lines of a shirt jacket. Its not it much thicker and warmer than one. I have yet to be cold in this, and can tell it is durable to work in. I wasnt looking for a new warm work coat, but I got one and I am happy as can be. Now I hope one ... Read Moreof the lighter weight work jackets is as good as this.

February 1, 2020

Home Run Patagonia!!

OMG, got this coat for Xmas and it is fantastic , the quality and craftsmanship is amazing. It really is the best coat i have ever owned.....the urge to put a big peace fabric sign on the back is huge but it’s just perfect the way it is. So I’ll add the peace sign to my Patagonia fleece jacket instead!! In fact i already have!!

January 16, 2020

Tough and Cozy

Love this jacket! It keeps we warm with very few layers needed underneath. Love all the pocket options as well!

January 13, 2020

Love this jacket

This jacket is great. Well made and super warm. I originally bought a large but exchanged for a medium. I'm 6'0 190lbs.

January 13, 2020

My new favorite jacket

I wanted to try something non-fleece for a change, and this is my new favorite jacket for everyday use. It's very comfortable, it's warm but not so warm that I am constantly having to take it off to avoid overheating (as I would be with a medium to heavy weight down jacket), and it seems durable. It's not meant to be a high-performan... Read Morece mountain jacket (and it isn't), but it is sufficiently warm and wind-breaking that (with a fleece under it) I've been comfortable motorcycle commuting in 40 Farenheit mornings (sometimes with heavy fog or brief soft rain) which is impressive to me, given the windchill effect from sustained highway riding. I would reiterate, however, that this jacket is ideal for common everyday uses, not for outdoor activities more strenuous than walking. It is heavy, bulky, and does not breathe well (hiking with only a t-shirt under it resulted in the inner sleeves sticking to my arms, which was uncomfortable). Also note I live at ~1,500 ft. elevation in the central Sierra, so when I say the warmth is appropriate, I mean for being outside in ~30 to 60 Farenheit.

January 13, 2020

Worth the price

I used to work in Alaska where Carhartts' rule, but this jacket beats any of my Carhartts coats hands down. It is far more comfortable and has way more attention to details that make it a pleasure to wear, not just 'work clothing'; and it is warmer. The fit may be a bit tricky, but once dialed in correctly, it is damn near perfect.

January 8, 2020

Excellent Jacket!

I ordered this jacket on 11/4 and it arrived 11/6 -- which funnily enough was my birthday (thanks for that @Patagonia!) Things I like about this jacket: * Warm with layers, warm without. * Made from Hemp -- I really liked the fact that it's made of a more sustainable material. * Blocks wind -- Even when it's incredibly windy out, I don&... Read More#x27;t feel a thing. * Sleeves are tapered on the inside similar to a sweater, keeping the wind out. * Excellent for layering. Things I don't really like (that are honestly pretty minor): * Pills a little bit, but it's honestly really minor. * I wear a watch, and the friction between my watch and the sleeve opening creates a bit of pilling. This can easily be fixed with a disposable razor, but it's overall a minor annoyance. * Some loose threads, but I was able to remove/fix them. In regard to the pilling of the outside, this (apparently) is something normal for this jacket. I chatted with a customer service rep and they went and looked at an actual jacket to confirm this -- and I really appreciated that they did that instead of reading from a script. In regard to the fit and finish, it's listed as "relaxed fit" which I think is a very accurate description of this jacket. I normally wear a medium sized jacket and I was looking for something I'd be able to layer with. If you're not looking for something to layer with, maybe go a size down if you want it to look less "relaxed" and more form fitting. Overall, I've been wearing this jacket almost every day since I got it and it looks and feels great -- 10/10 would recommend!

January 2, 2020

Solid Jacket

I own many jackets, but I am so glad I purchased this jacket.

January 2, 2020

Amazingly light, flexible yet warm

Size S fits my 5'10" 147 lb husband well. He can still wear a medium layer underneath for when our Montana winter gets chillier. The outer canvas is nubbly, yet flexible, not like the duck canvas on similar-looking coats from that other company. This is also lighter weight than those other coats which he also appreciates.

January 1, 2020

The coat seems well made,

The coat seems well made, but ran a bit large in my usual medium so I went down to a size small. Not real roomy but comfortable to chop wood.

January 1, 2020

The jacket is great and

The jacket is great and I love it. It had to be exchanged, though, for a smaller size as it runs large.

January 1, 2020

Pretty Good

I like this jacket. Wife doesn't, everyone else says nice jacket. It's possibly not the warmest. I have a wanaca down jacket. It's not that jacket. The cuffs are the only problem I have with it. Making gloves not the easiest to fit and put on. I'm a fatty, usual size large shirt. But the medium fits me. If I upped my donut intak... Read Moree. I would need a large. But that's a large Marge. So get the medium.

December 31, 2019

Good looking jacket and warm, too

Bought 3 of these jackets as Christmas presents. My gift recipients love them! They are the perfect amount of warmth for snow or cool weather in California. Good looking jacket as well. My son normally wears a Mens Medium and my husband wears a Mens XL. But I read the reviews that the jacket runs large so I bought a size smaller for both and they f... Read Moreit perfectly.

December 31, 2019

Great jacket!

My husband loves it and wears it everywhere! Quality is typical Patagonia...amazing!! Very soft, warm and durable! The fit runs true to size and not bulky!

December 31, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

I purchased the ink black color and have gotten numerous compliments on the great casual look/style of the jacket. I am 6 ft., 165 lbs. and the medium size fit is perfect. Take note that the fit of this jacket is a little relaxed which makes it great for layering. The jacket is also very well insulated…. I have worn it in 20 to 30-degree temperatur... Read Morees and it kept me very warm for hours when using a sweater as a mid-layer.

December 30, 2019

Warm Jacket

Great jacket, and very warm. The only issue is the sleeves run small around the wrist area. This results in discomfort if you wear a watch (Garmin).

December 30, 2019

Bought for my son and

Bought for my son and he loves it

December 30, 2019

Love it!

This jacket is perfect to keep warm without being too bulky. My husband has worn it everyday since Christmas. Couldn’t be happier with the quality, fit and design.

December 29, 2019

Warmest jacket

My husband loves this jacket! He wore it on our recent trip to NYC and didn’t change jackets the entire time. It’s the warmest jacket he’s ever owned, and it paired well with his outfits. He only wishes there were some type of hood on it, but it’s still a wonderful jacket. He also noted it’s not as heavy as he would expect a jacket that warm to be.... Read More

December 29, 2019

very warm and fits comfortably

very warm and fits comfortably but sleeves are a touch too long.

December 28, 2019

More then expected

Of course Patagonia has always offered great looking clothing. That’s why I purchased this jacket. But once I put it on, the warmth and durability became immediately obvious. This will be my go-to jacket for my harsh Chicago winters.

December 27, 2019

Tough and soft. Kinda like

Tough and soft. Kinda like me ;). Love the jacket. Really have no complaints but if your looking for a suggestion perhaps right side inner vest pocket.

December 27, 2019

Soo comfy!

This jacket is awesome! Bought it for my boyfriend, he had never even tried it one and it fit true to size. Great fit and look. The upper back has the extra folded fabric that allows for more arm movement without lifting up the jacket and without looking odd in the back. Zippers and pockets are crafted very nicely. Dress it down, dress it up or go ... Read Moreto town in the yard with it!

December 24, 2019

Well made, comfortable everyday jacket

Fits well, tough to date, roomy fit, perfect for sweatshirt underneath. I’m 6’0” and a svelte 220 (LOL) and wear a XL

December 21, 2019

Perfect

Very good quality. I never Wright reviews but I am now because it is that good of a product. I am 5’9. 220 and I ordered a large. The sleeves are a little long but the stretch cuffs at the end make up for it.

December 19, 2019

If you're on the borderline between Medium and Large, try Medium first

I find a lot of Patagonia clothes fit pretty tight and I was debating between Medium and Large so I first ordered a Large. I ended up swimming in the Large so I exchanged it for a Medium and it fits perfectly. I also was considering getting a Carhart work jacket instead but I know Patagonia's warranty is awesome and I love how they really car... Read Moree about the whole lifetime of the jacket so it was an easy decision to spend a little more for that.

December 17, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp

I’m not the only one that loved this jacket; I have 3 friends that are ordering the same for work!

December 17, 2019

Amazing quality in every sense.

Amazing quality in every sense. Durable and heavy. Would recommend to any and all

December 17, 2019

Better than expected!!

You can never go wrong with Patagonia wear! Decided to splurge for my 15 year old and provide him with some warm wear. So happy to say my son loves the jacket and it will surely keep him warm during the winter! Thank you bunches!

December 15, 2019

Durable

Durable

December 10, 2019

Iron Forge Ranch Jacket

This is my new favorite go to jacket. The canvas is soft, durable and the jacket is warm for north east winter weather.

December 7, 2019

Best coat on the planet

Best Montana jacket I have bought!! Bout to buy the pants too!!

December 6, 2019

Great Jacket

Well made jacket. I’m 5-10, 185 and wear a large in Patagonia micro puff and all other jackets. However in this jacket, a medium fits perfectly. I understand their workwear line is made to fit layers underneath, so take that into account. Very warm and only wear it on <40ish degree days.

December 5, 2019

Since I read the reviews

Since I read the reviews before buying, it’s worth chiming in for the next person. I’m a broad shouldered male, pretty much a medium always, but the medium for this jacket was generously cut. Baggy and the trunk was like a bell. Good for layering a lot of things underneath, but without a waist cinch it was too big. More like a carhartt jacket, comf... Read Moreortable but designed for someone...big boned. The small is much more trim and means less layering options underneath, but it looks good and the arm movement doesn’t diminish. Wrist opening, as others have mentioned, is a little snug. Shirt plus base layer plus this works fine. Otherwise, the other reviewers are spot on., Well made, heavy, good zippers and fabric. It’ll age well and serve as a three season layer barring the cold days. Still seems a little too new and nice to do mucky work in. As our planet drowns in plastic, it’s nice to wear real materials-this jacket plus a wool mid layer keeps the conscience clean(er!).

December 4, 2019

Absolutely in love, better in

Absolutely in love, better in person.

December 3, 2019

Great jacket!

I don't normally write reviews, but I really like this jacket. It feels sturdy, and the fit is great. It does, though, feel like a "California winter" jacket - in that it is insulated, but not the equivalent of a Carhartt bomber winter farm jacket. I would love it if Patagonia made this jacket with 2x or 3x the insulation for folks w... Read Moreho do winter outside of CA, like in Alaska or Northeast

December 2, 2019

Love it!

I bought this for my husband and he told me it was the best jacket of his whole life. It's very sturdy and fits great. I would definitely repurchase again but probably won't have to since it's great quality and very durable. I will most definitely recommend this jacket to friends and family!

December 2, 2019

Phenomenal Jacket

While we are far from farm owning - wood chopping - barn building - cattle wrangling folks, we loved the look of this jacket online! I bought it for my husband (6ft 185lbs - bought medium) because we liked the cut and color of the black. This jacket is an absolute rockstar! Feels so incredibly well made and super super warm. While we'll mainly... Read More wear it with a thermal or a plaid shirt for our california winters - we'll test its limits on our trip back to England this winter and have no fears it will keep him toasty!

November 30, 2019

Heavy, durable, well-made coat. Lots

Heavy, durable, well-made coat. Lots of warmth and heft to it, which is what I was hoping for.

November 29, 2019

Perfect

Best jacket I have ever owned. It is super heavy and warm. The wind does not even come close to cutting through this fabric. Money well spent

November 29, 2019

Order the smaller size

The hemp jacket is absolutely amazing. Quality is phenomenal. However, I am 6 foot tall and 190lbs and the medium size fits loose. Do I really need a small?

November 29, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp Ranch Jacket

Great jacket, durable abrasion resistant hemp material. Interior pocket is a little small, it would be better if there were 2 additional lower quadrant interior pockets to accommodate a walkie talkie and/or a flashlight.

November 27, 2019

Exactly as advertised

It is a tough, warm coat. Perfect for working outside in New England winters. Normally a medium in Patagonia but sized down to a small based on the reviews and it fits perfectly while still being able to add a layer underneath.

November 27, 2019

Great jacket. Looks good and

Great jacket. Looks good and warmer than expected

November 26, 2019

Perfect Jacket

Warm, comfortable, and enough room for a layer underneath.

November 25, 2019

Love it

As always Patagonia delivers. Very warm. I love the weight of it. It’s heavier than it looks, but great for it’s function as a work jacket.

November 22, 2019

Awesome Jacket!!

I'm 6' 2", 250lbs and after reading reviews I reluctantly went with the XL. I had planned to get the XXL since I rarely find anything in XL that fits properly. Well I'm glad I went with the XL. It fits great. I don't know that I'd be able to wear a think layer under it that comfortably but that's ok for me because... Read More the jacket itself does the job. The inner cuffs on the wrists take a little getting used to but they seem to do well at keeping the cold from blowing up the sleeves. I've worn it in mid 30's temps with just a long sleeve collared shirt under and it kept me nice and warm

November 22, 2019

M's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jkt

I got this jacket as a small originally and switched to an extra small. I am a little chubby with a BMI of around 28, if that matters. the extra small could be a little smaller still. There is another review which is true about watches getting caught by the cuffs and that is a little annoying. The jacket pockets are nice, they are big and even when... Read More flipped upside down, my coins don't come out.

November 22, 2019

Amazing Products

I’m always pleased with Patagonia’s quality and attention to detail. Also, being a leader in ethical eco responsibility. You can’t go wrong with this company. Mom, you know what I want for Christmas this year :)

November 21, 2019

Love it!!

Great jacket, warm and durable. Love love love it!!

November 21, 2019

It's amazing!

I was somewhat hesitant about this item because I wasn't sure it would be warm enough for Wisconsin in winter. So glad I decided to pick it up! My new favorite jacket, bar none! Fits great, looks amazing with everything, warmer than expected, deep, functional pockets, overall a stellar design!

November 21, 2019

Durable and warm! I’m a

Durable and warm! I’m a wildland firefighter and use this jacket on cold days around the garage and working in the field. I’m 5’10 and the medium fits perfect with room for a hoodie underneath as well.

November 20, 2019

I Love This Jacket

Despite Patagonia's poor marketing message with this jacket (you've surely read the comments across social from working men and women.) this is an awesome piece of gear. My career doesn't involve working outside or using my hands, but I do love spending my free time outdoors, camping and hiking. For me this jacket is: • Warm - I... Read More can wear this stand alone easily down to 20 without any physical exertion • Functional - 5 Large Pockets (I would have liked a 2nd chest pocket) • Very Comfortable (cuffs feel great, body length is nice, fabric comes super soft and supple, not stiff) • Stylish - It just looks good! I'm happy to wear it into the office, around town, while camping, and any other activity that calls me outside The only 'Cons' I can possibly think others may have are the following: • Price (many are sensitive to this for a 'workers' jacket) • Weight - while I enjoy the heft of the jacket, there are far more functional pieces just as warm, but this one's built for work and to be durable. Your puff jacket doesn't serve as a 'working' jacket. • Poor Marketing Communication - Patagonia got a lot of flack for poor safety and general work demonstration while advertising this line of product. If you can get past that this is an amazing piece of gear! Also worth mentioning, I bought this as a stand alone jacket, not to be layered with several other articles of clothing. Order DOWN 1 full size if you want it to fit like a normal jacket. I'm a Large normally, but a Medium fits perfectly. 5'8" 178lbs 44" Chest Hope that helps!

November 20, 2019

Almost great

Love the jacket. Nice fit and look. Bought it for the field cruising rough terrain with lots of bramble. Only issue so far is the interior cuffs were sewn in asymmetrically so the right one is way out compared to the left which bugs me a bit and also gets snagged on thorns. We'll see how it holds up over the winter.

November 20, 2019

Heavy Duty Warmth

Pleasantly surprised with this jacket. This jacket is heavy duty, warm, and looks pretty darn good. The jacket has a good "heft" to it and seems like it will hold up over time. Great casual jacket that still looks great enough to wear for a night out!

November 18, 2019

Just what I wanted

Fits well, thick enough but easy to move in.

November 17, 2019

Love it.

The material is really sturdy, yet soft. The arm length and length to waist is perfect (XS) but the shoulders sit too wide and the opening for the neck is still a bit big. However, excellent range of motion in my arms. I bought this for work. Wish there were snap button adjustments at the waist to keep out the draft.

November 17, 2019

This Works...

Excellent jacket with great build quality.

November 15, 2019

Fantastic New Addition

I've been searching for a more rugged jacket that is warm and yet functional. I could not have asked for better from Patagonia. The quality is what you'd come to expect and the pictures on the model don't do it justice.

November 14, 2019

Excellente!

This jacket is a lifestyle of comfort and warmth. Used to hate going outside, but now I hate going inside. With this jacket, you'll think you can conquer anything and look good while doing it.

November 11, 2019

Great jacket. Weather still to

Great jacket. Weather still to warm to wear outside but had to wear it anyway.

November 11, 2019

Great cold weather jacket

Perfect blend of warmth and rugged construction for outdoor work or play. Looks great too. Size is on the larger side.

November 9, 2019

Ranch jacket

The picture really doesn’t do this jacket justice. When ordering I had no clue how durable and heavy it actually was. It’s an amazing jacket fits true to size and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a awesome jacket!

November 8, 2019

Great coat!

Nice fit, great attention to detail. Finally an XL size coat that is just right for me. The sleeve length is perfect and the collar lays just right when zipped all the way up. The insulation is perfect for these frosty mornings. I'm quite impressed. Great Job Patagonia!

November 7, 2019

Solid Jacket

Solid Jacket

November 7, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

I am very happy with this jacket. It has a great feel and fit and I know it will be with me for a lifetime.

November 5, 2019

Sweet jacket for chicks to

Awesome jacket been wanting one like it for years. I’m about 5’6 with broad shoulders/arms & a men’s xs fits great, a small would’ve been perfect over my lady hips :-). I love Patagonia men’s stuff. I actually just love Patagonia.

November 4, 2019

Durable, warm, and true to size

I am 6' 4" and 200lbs and after reading all the reviews that said it runs large, I decided to get a medium which turned out to be way too small. Had to return that one to get a large which fits me perfectly. I wear a large in everything and this jacket was not an exception. The sleeves are a bit tight and can be tough to get a big watch t... Read Morehrough. It's super durable and warm and I imagine I'll be wearing this jacket another 50 years from now.

November 4, 2019

I like it.

It is a little large for me. I chose the smallest size, so if it can be made smaller, it would be great. However, I like it because it is warm and practical. I like that I can store things in the pockets. I like the color and texture.

November 3, 2019

Sweet Jacket

Fits great. Very warm. Lots of Style

October 30, 2019

Great Jacket

Very impressed with this jacket. It’s much warmer than I expected and the material is supple, while also seeming very strong. I’ve been wearing it for a lot of chainsawing and brush clearing and it shows no signs of wear. A game pouch on the back would be a nice addition. I am 6’-2” and 220, the large fits nicely.

October 29, 2019

Great. Jacket,perfect fit

Great. Jacket,perfect fit

October 29, 2019

Heavy duty, warm and good

Heavy duty, warm and good pockets

October 24, 2019

Dream Jacket

I work in a field where I'm outside a lot. Tree plantings, river and stream observations, and working on riverbanks. I've found that clothes that are able to perform in those conditions, and help me look the part in the office are not a dime-a-dozen. This jacket is the highest quality of this standard that I'm looking for. Its kept m... Read Moree warm and dry, and has held up in some tough environments. 11/10 would recommend.

October 24, 2019

6’3 195lbs

Hey, So I was hesitant on buying this. But Im glad I did. Sizing is off so order one size under. Im 6’3 195lbs toned body, so the Medium fits me perfect. Not to loose and baggy and not balls tight. I own 4 carhart canvas jackets that have a similar look to this one but with the sherpa lining. Weight wise they match up, warmth wise not sure yet....T... Read Morehis jacket is sharp looking, and adding the zipper plus buttons helps a lot when you're working. Shell out the extra cash because this one is worth buying.

October 21, 2019

Forge hemp jacket is insulated

Forge hemp jacket is insulated it is not cardboard leak and I have many many help work wear shirts and pants. I’ve been wearing them five days a week as a tile layer and they stand the test of time. 3 yrs to date. My other pants get holes in the mean within six months. Keep making hemp please.

October 20, 2019

Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

Love it. Very warm yet doesn't fill heavy on you. convenient pockets. Perfect for working outside on a cold day. It's my number 1 coat in my rotation.

October 17, 2019

Love This Jacket!!!

This is the jacket I’ve been searching for! It’s rugged and well made, fits true to size, and looks good too! I wear it constantly to work (I own a construction company and spend a lot of hands-on time working in the field) but I can also brush off the diet and wear it out on the weekend.

October 16, 2019

Good value for the price, but too large

This jacket seemed like a quality product. It just ran large in size and needed to be returned.

October 15, 2019

Ms Iron Forge Hemp-In Singapore!

Great jacket, Very hard wearing and absolutely fantastic speedy service to Singapore! obviously the jacket is not for here! Ive sent to a local seamstress and had the cuffs removed just because I want to wear other items under my jacket and the cuffs would be an irritation. Love it.

October 15, 2019

Great for any situation

Amazing for any sort of situation. I´ve had mine for the past few days and I haven´t taken it of once. Im 6,2 92kg and the L was perfect for me, It is kind of loose but in a good way, I can fit an extra layer beneath it. I am waiting to take it to the Crag and see how it does with the elements.

October 15, 2019

Love this jacket. It comes

Love this jacket. It comes exactly as advertised.

October 6, 2019

Very comfortable

This jacket is very comfortable and warm with a good fit to wear a hoodie or long sleeve under when it’s cold. The arms/ forearms are a little tight but it helps keep the sleeves out of the way. Definitely sized big but knowing that it’s okay. I’m about 5’10 and weigh 165 lbs.

October 4, 2019

Great Jacket

I purchased the ink black in medium. I am 5’11 185 with a 42” chest. Fit perfectly. The hemp fabric seems robust and will likely hold up just as well as my other cotton duck work clothes. I think I will have to purchase it in the tan as well...

October 2, 2019

Durable, comfortable, looks great!

I'm loving the Ranch Jacket! The insulation provides just the right amount of warmth when working and the hemp is super durable. I like the shorter cut as it allows some heat to escape from the bottom when I'm more active. The fit allows for some layering when it's real cold or windy and the collar is great for some extra protection ... Read Morefrom the wind. I'm going to be living in this thing all winter.

October 1, 2019

3 Season Jacket

Contemplated this for awhile, loving it so far. Warm, easily a winter jacket here in SW CO when layered. Bought it for the warmth and the sutainable materials and lifetime guarantee. Whether you're outside moving firewood, tending horses or enjoying natures beauty, this jacket will keep you warm

September 21, 2019

True to size

I sized down and that was a mistake, the jacket is true to size unless you want something my slim fitting. It is however workwear and should be slightly oversized for movement and layering. Very warm and high quality construction. Should have included a snap button on the sleeve for it is very tight getting your hand through.

September 21, 2019

Prawly gonna wear it every day it’s above 15

Ordered online, and my first impression was that it was bulkier than I wanted. I’m 6’2” 180lbs with a lean torso, and I got spooked by other reviews. But I tried it on a second time and decided actually I did like it, and would give it a shot. I haven’t taken it off since then, except to sleep. I’m mostly a medium in jackets and that’s what I got. ... Read MoreSleeve length is perfect for my long-ish arms, and the torso has enough room to layer a down vest. This isn’t a James Dean canvas jacket it’s good looking and functional. The sleeves felt narrow at first, mostly from insulation and it’s packing out some. Stretchy cuffs bothered some reviewers but I don’t mind, that’s like other coats I’ve had for similar uses. No need to worry about snow or shavings or hay going up the sleeve. The pockets will definitely accumulate snow on contact, so mental note: don’t keep my phone in them. But the pockets are roomy enough for a sub sandwich or a 9mm or any tools you want to have handy. It’s a little heavier and burlier than a nylon-shell puffy, but the thermogreen insulation gives the jacket some body without weighing it down, and I don’t expect i’ll Have to worry about holes from bonfire embers or poky tree-parts or loose nails. And the hemp canvas is also less hefty than a comparable canvas duck jacket, . I’m interested to see how durable the fabric is, because I want to love it and am optimistic that it will live up to my needs. I’ll be rolling around under trucks from time to time, getting grimy and carrying wood. But I’m also going to wear it to the (recreational-oriented) office or on the morning dog walk for most of the winter, at least if it’s above 15f.

September 5, 2019

Love at first wear.

I received this as a gift upon drooling over it for months. I put it on and fell in love straight away. I am a 180cm tall 67Kg climber. I have average shoulders, small rib-cage and particularly long arms. This jacket fits great around the shoulders and general length. The only downside for me is that I feel it could do with 1cm more on the arms for... Read More my specific anatomy. As this style of clothing isn't very popular in England, I have been getting constant complements on how great it looks on me. If you're seriously considering this jacket, just get it.

September 3, 2019

Comfortable fit

Nice looking, rugged. Comfortable fit. Other reviewers were right - they seem to run large. I bought medium because I'm sure a small would have been to small (I am a 42 chest, but short 5--7"). But it'll do. Note - this jacket is heavier than I expected - which is great - will make a nice fall/winter spring coat in all but the most f... Read Morerigid days.

September 1, 2019

Love this jacket, the pictures don't do it justice!

I am 21 years old, about 5' 11" and just under 160 lbs. I typically wear this jacket for casual wear. When I first saw this jacket online, I really wasn't enthused about it. The pictures make it look somewhat boxy and unflattering and don't do the jacket justice in terms of its fit, style, durability, and warmth. I wasn'... Read Moret planning to purchase until I went in to a store, tried it on and instantly fell in love with it. It's stylish, extremely durable, and all you need on a frigid Seattle day to protect you from wind and weather. The sales rep in the Seattle workwear store told me he wears it nearly every day in the winter months and doesn't feel the need to add any other jacket. Pros: Looks great! It is a simple and stylish jacket that keeps you warm and dry at the same time. It's durable! The outer layer is thick and tough, and the hemp material provides that extra durability. It's warm! The multiple layers serve as a wall to keep the cold out and the warm in. It's comfortable! The inside is lined with a cozy material that feels good against your skin. The sleeves have a snug hem at your wrist that is soft and resides under the hemp outer liner. This keeps the cold out of your sleeves. It's not constricting! The flaps in the back allow you to move your arms freely and not feel like you are wearing a straitjacket. The hemp is pretty tough and not very stretchable so the flaps give you some much-needed mobility. Cons: Runs a little big for me. I usually always wear a Small in Patagonia jackets and shirts, I sized down to an XS for this jacket. The XS fits perfectly for me. Not fully waterproof. The outer layer definitely holds up to a little drizzle but at the end of the day, you might get a lil' wet. I am thinking of adding a wax to the outside to make it more waterproof, I just have to talk to Patagonia customer service to figure out the best way to do that. To be continued... Not a whole lot of color selections. Definitely a small point but would have LOVED an olive green colorway in this jacket. Who this jacket is for: People doing construction or labor outside. In the winter it will definitely stand up to the weather and the work. People looking for a stylish winter jacket. Looks great with a hoodie underneath or just solo! Who this jacket is not for: People who run very warm. Some people might find that the jacket runs a little too warm when fully zipped, but they can always unzip a little or unbutton a button or two. I would definitely recommend to a friend! Hope this helps!

August 15, 2019

Great Jacket

Sizing- I’m 6’0, 200lb, and I normally go in between sizes for Patagonia, M and L. I took a M in this jacket, and I think it was the right way to go. The jacket feels solid. It’s got a good weight to it. Not extremely heavy, but definitely heavier than it looks in pictures. I like the sewn in elastic wrist covers, they keep the draft out. I was... Read More pleasantly surprised with the fit of this jacket- not as boxy as the description made it sound. At my size, I can still maybe layer a flannel shirt or extra long sleeve shirt underneath, but thats about it. Overall, I feel this jacket is a great value and it’s a piece that will remain in my closet for a long time to come.

August 12, 2019

Great 3-Season Jacket

I'm not a fan of the elastic inner cuff, but I can get used to it. Otherwise the jacket looks great out of the box, looks like I've owned it for years without looking worn out. It fits well, and roomy enough to allow for light layering on the colder days.

May 13, 2019

Great Jacket

Love the jacket. Wish it were slightly smaller. It fits a little baggy. I'd go one size smaller than you need. (but not sure if it would be too small)

May 9, 2019

Nice stuff!

Outstanding quality. Accurate sizing. Nice company as well.

May 9, 2019

Cuffs

The cuffs on this jacket should be buttoned or snap. It is a tight squeeze trying to get my hands through that snug opening. Otherwise an excellent comfortable work jacket. But there is not a time I put this jacket on with out wishing for a buttoned cuff.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the cuffs on your jacket, this sounds frustrating for sure! We will reach out to you privately to give you all you need to return, just in case.

May 8, 2019

Excellent

Perfect fit, solid construction with thought given to details. No nonsense.

May 8, 2019

Love it

Had to return for a smaller size, that was a first. Great quality and very comfortable. Embroidering our logo was difficult but still looks sharp. Coat works well for the weather in Alaska.

May 8, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket

This jacket I know will outlast me! tough, strong and fits great! Could not find any washing instructions. Unfortunately as soon as I got the Jacket it became too warm to wear it but I have had everyone who comes over to put it on to feel the warmth and strength of this jacket!

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2019

Hi Timothy! We apologize that the washing instructions were not made clear. You will want to machine wash the jacket on cold, do not bleach, tumble dry low, and warm iron if needed. Feel free to reach out to us if you have any additional questions or concerns.

May 8, 2019

Love it.

Bought it late in the season so haven’t had the chance to work in it. But it is super comfortable and exceptionally warm which I wasn't expecting. It could pass for a light winter coat. I would downsize. I am 5’6 160 lbs and the small fits perfectly

May 8, 2019

Dressin' it up

Everything I own is either puffy or made of synthetic filling and very functional for everything from skinning to biking to fly fishing, and they are all awesome and keep me warm. But, sometimes you need to dress it up a little. This jacket is very comfortable and very well made. The pockets are where you want them and the zippers are heavy duty. I... Read More get a lot of compliments and people want to borrow it. Even when it smells like a campfire or two stroke.

May 8, 2019

Don't let the look fool you

It looks like a stiff solid jacket it the photos. Don't believe it! it is a very great fitting, tough jacket that I wear on the farm daily. It is really soft and flexible, more so than some of my worn in jean jackets. When I let people know that it's made out of hemp, they are all surprised and want to touch the fabric. A great jacket, an... Read Mored a great start to healing the planet. A Hemp Farmer in CA

May 8, 2019

Hemp Jacket

So thankful for this purchase. While I haven’t had a lot of opportunity to wear it yet, I can already tell it’s going to be a close companion for a long time.

April 22, 2019

Great Jacket Overall--except for the cuffs

I've had this jacket for six months now, and it has spent a cold winter in Bend, OR. I'm 6', 180 lbs and like most people, sized down and bought the medium, which fits great. The jacket is overall very warm, especially with a layer or two underneath. The material is durable and wears nicely. So far its held up great to bushes, rocks ... Read Moreand general use. I also get lots of compliments around town; this isn't a big deal, but I can wear it out on the town if needed. I do wish the hand warmer pockets had a snap to keep dust and things out, but that doesn't really bother me too much, since I get crap in all my pockets regardless of closure. My BIG beef with this jacket are the cuffs and size of the forearms. The taper going into the cuff is quite small, and as someone who wears a watch for work and life, it's always getting caught on the cuff, along with putting lots of pressure on my arm, very, very uncomfortable. Though I don't have huge forearms, as a climber it would be nice to have a better ratio where things didn't feel so tight. I even considered cutting out the internal cuffs. I hope that in future iterations of this jacket, Patagonia will make the wrist/cuff area a little larger. Overall though, I do love this jacket, those damn cuffs though...

April 3, 2019

Solid coat

I've had this jacket for over a year now and I'm very satisfied. The canvas exterior is very, very strong and fits comfortably over a hoodie or other lighter jacket. The front hand pockets are very deep but don't bulge out like other jackets. The buttons and zipper on this thing are insanely sturdy. Still looks like when I bought it ... Read Moreafter almost a year and a half of tree nursery labor. It is a bit heavy, but so are other canvas work coats.

March 29, 2019

Great Farm Jacket

I'm so impressed with this jacket. I love the quality and broken-in feeling. After reading all the reviews, I too purchased one size smaller and took a chance (usually a SM in this brand) and it fits perfectly. Even in the smaller size, I can still wear a shirt and hoodie underneath (layering is important over here in WA). I'm so impresse... Read Mored, I'm now thinking about getting the work wear vest.

March 14, 2019

Great!

I purchased this about 4 months ago and waited to write about it until I’ve put it through the ringer. First off, I’m 6’4” but really lean and ended up with the L as a perfect fit. Based on other reviews I started with the M and had to swap it out (without any trouble) because the length in the arms wasn’t quite there. I live on a farm and work in ... Read Morea wood / steel shop. I’ve worn this jacket pretty much every day since purchasing and it’s held up better than anything I’ve had in the past. It’s super comfortable, good looking and rugged as hell. The generous pockets let you keep a pair of gloves in there all the time and a carpenters pencil in the chest is great for me. My only real beef with it (and it really isn’t a big deal at all) is that my hands are always pretty torn up and there’s something about the inside lining of the pockets that catches on all my scrapes and callouses. Overall I can’t say enough good things about this coat. It’s become like a wallet to me: I just never leave home without it.

March 6, 2019

My Favorite Jacket

My parents got this for me as an incredibly considerate xmas gift, and I've worn it nearly ever day for the three months since then. I'm outside a lot for both work and hobbies and this bundle of warmth has exceeded my expectation. I wear a size Large, and at 6' 200lbs it may be just slightly big on me, but more by puffy-ness and not... Read More length. The hand pockets are lined and keep bare hands protected from the elements well, and the coat holds up very well in the rain and snow that I've been caught in. I'd highly recommend it for any surveyor/outdoorsmen or anyone looking for something to wear while doing simple outdoor chores in the colder months.

March 3, 2019

Can't Say Enough (A++)

As great of a purchase I've made to date through Patagonia (big statement there). This jacket is fairly loose fitting (I prefer size L), so those of you who may prefer something more form fitting, I'd consider sizing down yet bear in mind that while this jacket is highly fashionable, the intention is more work related. That said, the extr... Read Morea goes a long way with range of motion plus affords the opportunity for painless layering underneath. I've only been wearing this jacket for about a week, so longevity and durability has yet to be revealed, but I feel that this jacket will be a go-to staple in my collection for many years to come. Thoroughly recommended.

February 17, 2019

Best coat I have for ranch work

I am considering stockpiling. This is hands down the best coat I have. Feeding horses, fixing fences, putting up hay, clearing brush, harrowing pastures, this is my go to coat. Yesterday filling water troughs I got a lot of mud on me, this coat barely gets dirty and wet mud just beaded off. Love it.

February 12, 2019

A suggestion

A true "ranch jacket" only has pocket that have a flap over them to keep such things as hay and dirt from filling them up. Great looking jacket but not for a working ranch, or yard for that matter...close but no cigar...This is a comment only, I do not own this jacket but just noticed the pockets. Every item made by Patagonia that I have ... Read Moreever owned has been extremely well made. I am sure this is a great coat, just not "ranch ready"....

February 9, 2019

ProduceFarmer

Literally best work jacket you could ask for! Well done Patagonia.

February 8, 2019

Long Lost Jacket

I was skeptical about buying this jacket as it is fairly expenisive. I read every review about 2-3 times to get an idea of what others thought about it and to help me decide. This was one of the best jackets I have owned in my life. The fit is larger, I usually wear a medium in patagonia but a small in this style fits me almost too perfect. For ref... Read Morerernece I an 5'10 147ish pound with an athletic climber build. My wingspan is also 5'10 and the sleeves fit perfect even as I raise my arms over head. The jacket does not really need to broken in but the longer you wear it the softer the material gets which is very nice. The mobility is great as I have never felt very restricted wearing it, shoulder rotation is nice. The only things I wish were different are the pockets and length. I wish there more inner pockets and that the inner zip pocket had a larger opening. It would also be nice if they made a hoody version. I would also like if the jacket was an inch longer at the bottom but that's just me being picky. All and all this is a great jacket. About everytime I wear it out I get a compliment on it which is usually by a female if that matters to you.

February 3, 2019

fit not write

I have always done well with Patagonia's XL jacket sizing in the past. I am 6'4", 240lbs. and athletically built. So I was surprised when I had to return my XL and request a XXL. The new work wear line is not the same sizing as traditional Patagonia sizing, so consider this when you purchase. My XL was too short in the sleeves and sh... Read Moreoulders (first time ever with Patagonia). I got the XXL, and the sleeves and shoulders were great, however the neck line and waist/gut area was HUGE. I live in a very windy area and drafty coats are useless, so this fit is a problem. I am writing to make readers aware of the size changes, and encourage Patagonia's new line to follow after Dickies.com and offer a Tall and Big option. I rated this product at 3 stars only because of the fit. The exterior is durable and heavy (weight) which is similar to other outer workwear, though more stylish, durable, and environmentally friendly (thank you Patagonia). The interior is very warm and well constructed (typical Patagonia). Overall the jacket is awesome and i would still recommend this to someone, as long as it is a good fit. I would give it an easy 5 stars if it was a better fit for me. Patagonia, PLEASE offer a XLT (tall) options like some of the other work wear competitors! I love your products and would keep this shirt if the fit was better!!! thanks.

January 10, 2019

Very warm!

I'm 6'3", 180 and am routinely in-between an M an an L, so I ordered both (and kept the better-fitting one). The M fit great in the body and sleeves, had room for a hoodie underneath, and was *just* long enough. The L didn't add much in either sleeve or overall length (maybe a half-inch, at most), but was absolutely *massive* in... Read More the body. Lke, almost a full 2" wider when laid flat. I'm pretty sure I could've been wearing the jacket, had my wife stand in front of me, and zipped both of us into it.

January 9, 2019

Great Jacket

I bought this jacket mainly for casual use but It definitely is not restrictive if mobility is needed. The jackets materials feel durable and high quality. I love the hidden cuffs in in the sleeves as well as the pencil pocket in the top that I use to hang my sunglasses off of when indoors. Overall, this jacket is well made with many convenient fea... Read Moretures! (Side note: as far as fit goes I am 5”10 with shoes fairly muscular with wider shoulders and a large gives me a nice looser fit that is easy to layer underneath. The cuffs in the sleeves also I think help with the length of the sleeves which fit me perfectly.)

January 7, 2019

Absolute Unit

Went through many jackets from Carhartt and Walls but was never satisfied. Finally landed on this one and I'm blown away. I build wooden furniture outside year round in Louisiana. I wanted something that was warm but flexible in our constantly changing weather. I wanted something that looked awesome. I wanted something that I could use for man... Read Morey years and was willing to make an investment. This achieves all of these check boxes. Its durable as hell, looks beautiful, lifetime warranty, has excellent movement, keeps me extremely warm with just a thin shirt on underneath, and i don't get that freezing "wet cold" that i got from other jackets. Super soft as well. The ONLY things I may have an issue with is that the for arms are tight and the bottom is about 2 inches too large in circumference, which is for layering i assume. Forearms are a personal problem with everything though because i'm an active person who climbs/boulders 3-5 times a week and does CrossFit in 4 times a week at least so I have more mass there. I bought a medium and i'm a 5' 11 175lb athletic build. 10/10 would buy this sexy thing again. This will be my companion for the next 15 years.

January 1, 2019

Classic Look with the Toughness to back it up. Needs better design for warming pockets.

Cons first: Zipper needs to be upgraded and fleece lining needs to be removed from pockets. Hay likes fleece more than a magnet needs steel. The "Hand warming" pockets are pretty much useless until each piece of hay is plucked from them. Sleeves need to be widened for layering and the elastic cuffs don't fit with a watch. Suggestion ... Read Morefor warming pockets. Move them up like the triolet alpine jackets. (That was and still is the best jacket you have ever made). Moving the pockets up will keep hay from falling in when you hike up the the bale to move it. Even with all of these issues, it is a great jacket overall. Tough as hell and plenty warm for Wyoming winters.

January 1, 2019

Awesome Jacket

I went to my local retail store to try this jacket on as I’m usually between a medium and a large. I’m 6’1 175lbs. Ended up going with the large to accommodate my broader shoulders plus I knew I wanted to layer underneath. The medium definitely fit better in the body (I have a 32 waist) but was just too tight across the back and shoulders. Given th... Read Moreis jacket is meant to be worked in, I went for the extra room. After a few wears I still wasn’t keen on how baggy the body was so I threw the jacket in the wash and dried it in the dryer. AWESOME fit. Shrunk up just a little but enough to make it feel more tailored in the body. Worked out well for me and the jacket is super comfortable. I own a few carhartt jackets that have all been retired for now as this jacket is my new go to. As with all Patagonia goods - you won’t be disappointed.

December 25, 2018

Incredible Jacket

5’9” 174 lbs Athletic build. Got the small - which fits but it too tight thru the chest and going back for a medium. That said, the gusset back opens wide for range of motion (even though it’s too small on me!) Sleeve length was perfect on the small so medium may be slightly too long. Due to tightness there was no room for more than a tee shirt und... Read Moreer the small with my build. Material is exceptional and the “weight” of the jacket is nice. Can’t wait for the replacement!

December 23, 2018

Nice jacket

This is a really nice jacket. I like the weight and fabric. The only thing I can hit it on so far. Is the zip up pocket on the inner left side of the jacket. If it could be made with a wider opening so my hand does not get caught in the zipper. I would like to keep my cigarettes in that pocket.

December 12, 2018

A Perfect Winter Jacket!

I have one of the older Patagonia canvas barn coats (uninsulated), so I got this one for winter wear. I need a durable bomb-proof warm jacket as getting firewood is a daily chore. The insulation is perfect for our cold New England winters. Using zippered front (plus buttons) is a great idea which blocks wind and makes closing the jacket faster and ... Read Moreeasier. I don't know what they did to the canvas fabric but it very soft and is not stiff, like normal canvas. Combined with the action back, it has great freedom of motion. I may try skiing with this! I am 5'8", 150 lbs and typically wear a MED but went with SM based on the reviews. A perfect fit. And there's enough room inside for a down or fleece vest. I have bought a lot of Patagonia stuff over the years but this jacket is as close to perfection as it comes.

December 11, 2018

Forearms

I love this coat... BUT... As this line is aimed at the construction industry, it would be good to widen the forearm area. My forearms are sausaged into the sleeves when I'm only wearing a T-shirt. Every other part of the coat fits well and leaves room for layering, but the forearms are so narrow I cant wear it when it's cold outside. I h... Read Moreave to have a seamstress cut and sew in a gusset from the elbows to the wrist.

December 9, 2018

Not for ranching.

First off I am a big advocate of all things Patagonia and a significant percentage of my wardrobe have been your clothes for decades. I bought two of these "Ranch" hemp jackets as gifts for two friends who are actual cattle ranchers in North Dakota. Within a couple months of daily use on the ranch both zippers blew out. Ranching involves ... Read Morea lot of wrestling of heavy equipment and occasional animals. The jackets are beautiful, the fabric has held up just fine and will likely last a long time. But whoever specified a narrow gauge plastic zipper on the front of a jacket that is expected to do actual manual work probably has never been to a ranch before. So now the jackets are effectively useless and no longer worn. My friends otherwise like the jackets, and one talked about trying to have a metal zipper sewn in the next time they go to Bismarck. Being the company you are I wouldn't be surprised if an offer to replace the zipper were offered. If you are willing to with a proper heavy gauge metal zipper like all most all other work wear have it would be much appreciated. Regards

December 7, 2018

Like a warm blanket

Put this jacket on felt like it was a long lost jacket found again, amazingly flexible for canvas, now i will sit here eagerly hoping the make some insulated bibs with the same construction. Jacket is plenty warm great for layering Bare in mind this is not your typical Patagonia product this is clearly built and aimed at the construction industry i... Read Moret's gonna run large to allow you to stuff two hoodies under it.

December 7, 2018

Awesome Coat

Love this heavy duty coat. Very warm and durable for the long haul. Also a generous cut to layer when working outside in freezing temperatures. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great coat.

December 4, 2018

It fits really reallly good

My wife bought me this jacket and it fits really good. Like I’ve been missing this jacket my entire life good. Enough room to layer tough/heavy enough to work in when I’m milling/woodworking/choring. If the rest of the jackets in this collection fit this good I may buy another.

November 26, 2018

Excellent Work Coat

I purchased this coat to replace an old Carhartt work coat. I am a carpenter and work outdoors during the cold Northeast months. The ease of movement with the hemp fabric has been a huge upgrade over the stiffness of the Carhartt duck canvas. Based on the fit of the Farrier shirt I ordered a large which is a size down from my usual XL

November 23, 2018

Great jacket

I got a small. 5 11" 168lbs. climber build. Fits perfect with a tee shirt. If you want to layer go up a size. Super soft..

November 22, 2018

A solid 4.5 star!

Before buying this jacket i read most of the reviews and they were right on the money for quality and fit! As a contractor i need a "Carhartt" jacket but they just dont fit me right, and leave me feeling restricted. Iam 5'8" 180lbs athletic build, and the Patagonia Ranch jacket fit PERFECT in a Medium. First thing i noticed slip... Read Moreping the jacket on was it was softer than the stiff Carhart material, but still rugged.....and heavier than i expected. The next thing was how comfortable it felt when i zipped it up and flet that silky inner lining, and the soft wrist collars that snugged around the wrist as well as the freedom of MOVEMENT in the arms! You can put you hands literally above your head and the this jacket wont move its position on the waist! amazing fit,and freedom. I haven't tested it in the cold as of yet but iam confident it will be as warm or warmer than anything comparable. I also liked the extended cut over the back side by just a couple inches really will keep the draft out of your lower back. ( i prewashed mine then extra dried it just to shrink it to fit and it worked out perfect, they run a bit large)

November 21, 2018

This may be my new daily

5'9"/180. Fits great. Works well even with a light weight hoody underneath. Multiple shirts and a heavier hoody would make the fit a little tight for me, but i wear my weight in my mid section.

November 19, 2018

Great coat, Iron Forged indeed

Once I received the coat, it was much heavier than I anticipated which was a good thing. I really like the ribbed elastic wrist feature which allows for easy hand movement and keeps the cold out. Overall great jacket for working, hiking and stylish enough to wear out on the town. It goes without saying that Patagonia is the market leader in making ... Read Moresolid, quality products with minimal impact to Mother Earth.

November 10, 2018

New go-to jacket

5’11”/175 lbs and the medium fits almost perfectly. Arms a little bit long, but otherwise it’s one of the best fitting PTG jackets I’ve had and it’s way more insulated than expected. Looking forward to pairing it with some jeans for the perfect backcountry kit.

November 8, 2018

Great jacket.

First off great service! Ordered on Election Day and they were closed but able to order online. Really appreciate the value the company places on good stewardship. Ok the jacket review. Ordered a M and fit is perfect. I’m 5’10 and an athletic 170. Usually wear a large so sizing down a size worked great. The quality is excellent as you would expect ... Read Morefrom Patagonia.

October 30, 2018

Great Jacket

Excellent jacket. Fit is a little wider through the middle, but is appropriate given the utility. Materials and fabric looks like it will hold up well for years of use.

October 30, 2018

ImagesM's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket, Coriander Brown (COI) DEFAULT-EXCLUSIVE M's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket, Ink Black (INBK) DEF

Just received this jacket. At 5'11", 160 lbs I generally would go large, but ordered medium based on other reviews. The medium fits great, if anything it's a little roomier than I'd like, but will be good for layers. Overall great first impression.

October 24, 2018

Great Jacket, Great Fit

I really like canvas workwear jackets, they're stylish and they last a long time. The problem is I'm a thin guy. I'm 6 ft and weigh 150 or so. Most workwear is constructed with a really broad back, which looks goofy on a guy with narrow shoulders. I was worried that I might run into that problem with this jacket even if I sized down ... Read More(as is suggested by Patagonia if you don't want a "relaxed" fit). Not the case. This jacket fits perfect, looks good and is HEAVY (get a wood hanger). I am really picky when it comes to jackets, and I looked a long time for the right one. My only problem now is I bought one in the brown as well, because the black was so great. So I'm out another hundred and eighty bucks. Worth it.

September 24, 2018

Runs very large.

I love the jacket, however it's just too big. I used the sizing guide, and it said i need a XXL. I am 6'3" 260lbs and it is just 1 size too big. I live in Germany however so I have to figure out how to exchange it for a smaller one now.

August 21, 2018

Great jacket!

Just received this jacket for my husband yesterday. He is not easy to please with the clothes. But he was happy with this one like a child, he almost slept in it :-) He says he loves how soft the material feels, the pockets are deep and lined with soft to touch material. You can put the collar up for a fancy look. The sleeves have a sock like mater... Read Moreial around the wrist so the wind wouldn’t get in. The jacket is lined inside with the soft polyester material with Patagonia logo on it. It goes well with the cargo pants(not double knee) and the tin shed hat. We would recommend this jacket for all around wear.

June 12, 2018

Not a real work jacket

I like this jacket but I feel that a real work jacket like this needs a hood. If you're actually using this to work in the outdoors then you know how nice a hood is when it begins to rain or snow. I don't know if I can use this as a real work jacket now.

June 5, 2018

I dig it.

I'm definitely buying the hemp hype. I bought this jacket late in the season,but still had time to put it through it's paces as winter lapsed into spring here in New England. It was warm,tough,and flexible - the three things I hoped for most out of this jacket. On days when I didn't need a full waterproof shell,this piece was a trust... Read Morey companion. Looking forward to pulling it out again in a few months. The fit is dead on what I would hope for in a work jacket like this. I think it's very well designed,actually: roomy and comfortable,but without being a billowy mess. Pencil holes (because work jackets should come with them,why that isn't an industry standard is beyond me). Storm cuffs that are nice and soft,if a little snug beneath a watchface. The hemp blend is soft and giving out of the box,but still somehow feels bulletproof. I do wish there was some contrast to the collar. I think it would be a bit,well,better-looking. But that's about my only thought for how to make it better. Otherwise,I'm not sure you could.

June 5, 2018

I dig it.

I'm definitely buying the hemp hype. I bought this jacket late in the season, but still had time to put it through it's paces as winter lapsed into spring here in New England. It was warm, tough, and flexible - the three things I hoped for most out of this jacket. On days when I didn't need a full waterproof shell, this piece was a t... Read Morerusty companion. Looking forward to pulling it out again in a few months. The fit is dead on what I would hope for in a work jacket like this. I think it's very well designed, actually: roomy and comfortable, but without being a billowy mess. Pencil holes (because work jackets should come with them, why that isn't an industry standard is beyond me). Storm cuffs that are nice and soft, if a little snug beneath a watchface. The hemp blend is soft and giving out of the box, but still somehow feels bulletproof. I do wish there was some contrast to the collar. I think it would be a bit, well, better-looking. But that's about my only thought for how to make it better. Otherwise, I'm not sure you could.

April 2, 2018

Good fit,warmer than expected

I'm an ecologist and do field work all year long. My old cold-weather work jacket proved inadequate this very cold winter in the Northeast,so I figured I'd give Patty's new workwear line a go. This jacket is heavier/beefier than I expected,and much warmer. It feels like it'll hold up to field work for a long time to come. Good f... Read Moreit too (I'm 6'1'',49 inch chest,41 inch waist,and the XXL fits perfectly). My only gripe is with the cuffs. The elastic/rib-knit cuff on the inside is a plus,but it stretches out too quickly. Loose cuffs are a major annoyance for me,so I'd prefer an adjustable cuff that I know will keep its shape. That being said,I'll still wear it and put it to work next winter.

April 1, 2018

The Answer

Like others,I owned a Carhartt jacket for heavy work before being given this beaut for Christmas. This thing fits excellently right out of the box,though I did note that it runs a little large. However,I actually quite like this as it permits me to layer up more underneath. I don't have the same issues with pockets as others have experienced... Read More,but I do woodworking and so a place to shove a knife or bottle of glue with easy access is a must - though I can easily see how running anything dusty would fill the pockets,it's just not a concern for me personally. I find I can fit everything I normally would take with me when out buying material: phone,notebook,pencil,tape,etc. with no issues. And when I wear it just out and about the pockets are more than suitable to fit my gloves,toque,etc. My wife likes it so much she begs me to clean it up and wear casually,so there's that,I guess. Overall,I think this workwear line is a huge plus for Patagonia,and for guys like me who want good fitting and comfortable workwear. The tracing of the making of it and the ingredients are sweet,too. One thing to note: if you heat up when working like I do,then perhaps something with less insulation is for you. That cannot be a complaint. Suffice to say,I often start for about an hour with this jacket on and then have to strip it off if I am moving about much!

April 1, 2018

The Answer

Like others, I owned a Carhartt jacket for heavy work before being given this beaut for Christmas. This thing fits excellently right out of the box, though I did note that it runs a little large. However, I actually quite like this as it permits me to layer up more underneath. I don't have the same issues with pockets as others have experien... Read Moreced, but I do woodworking and so a place to shove a knife or bottle of glue with easy access is a must - though I can easily see how running anything dusty would fill the pockets, it's just not a concern for me personally. I find I can fit everything I normally would take with me when out buying material: phone, notebook, pencil, tape, etc. with no issues. And when I wear it just out and about the pockets are more than suitable to fit my gloves, toque, etc. My wife likes it so much she begs me to clean it up and wear casually, so there's that, I guess. Overall, I think this workwear line is a huge plus for Patagonia, and for guys like me who want good fitting and comfortable workwear. The tracing of the making of it and the ingredients are sweet, too. One thing to note: if you heat up when working like I do, then perhaps something with less insulation is for you. That cannot be a complaint. Suffice to say, I often start for about an hour with this jacket on and then have to strip it off if I am moving about much!

March 10, 2018

Great jacket

I'm very happy with my canvas ranch jacket. It's great in the yard or with jeans,but I can also wear it with a slightly dressier outfit (I got the dark grey color). Compared to a similar jacket at Filson,the quality seems fairly even and the price,therefore,is great value. I'm 6'3'' and got the Large. The arms are jus... Read Moret on the edge of being too short,but they work fine. There's plenty of room--maybe too much--for another layer underneath. It's heavier and warmer than I anticipated and will get a lot of use in my Minnesota winters. Glad to see Patagonia is doing more with canvas now--a nice middle ground between Filson and Carhart.

March 8, 2018

Good fit and mobility.

The large fit me great 5'10" and 180. The arm rotation is great. Looking forward to putting this to the test.

February 2, 2018

Great working and looking jacket

I bought this jacket and have been thoroughly impressed with its fit and warmth. I'm big across the shoulders and usually wear an XL in Patagonia coats and jackets,but the large was good in this model. The jacket is a lot better looking work casually than I expected too in the black.

February 2, 2018

Finally!!

Received this for a Christmas present to replace a Carhart that I gave to my son because I hated it. The fabric has a wonderful hand to it and has none of the stiff abrasiveness of the Carhart. So far,it's held up to everything I've thrown at it,from the workshop to walking dogs to re-stacking firewood to burning brush. Warm and exception... Read Moreally so when layered with a light fleece or sweater. I'm 5' 6" and 195 built sort of like donkey kong and a large fits me perfect! The only recommendation I would make is to add a tab on the underside of the collar so,when the collar is lifted,the collar can be buttoned on the opposite side to seal in the neck of the jacket. Other than that,this jacket is perfect for the way I use it.

January 26, 2018

Dig it. Only 2 suggestions..

First Ill start off by saying I dig the jacket. I have put it through the ringer these past 5 months or so and it has held up quite well. I work on a Vineyard on the western slope of CO and it has handled the cold and all Mother Nature has thrown its way. I only have two suggestions that would improve the design of the coat.. 1. The two hand pocket... Read Mores need a zipper. The way the opening is angled it allows everything to fall right in the pocket. If you are working with a chainsaw forget about it. Your pockets will be full of saw dust in a hot minute. 2. The Collar is a bit loose and allows heat to escape. It would be awesome If the collar went up a little higher on the neck and were a little snug fitting when zipped up all the way so the heat would stay in. Kind of like the collar on all the Puff Jackets (not exactly but you know what I mean.) Those two things aside this is a great work jacket. Excited to test out the other Work Wear products.

January 25, 2018

Better watch out Carhartt

I have owned the the most popular brand of work jackets for almost 40 years. I was skeptical at first but I decided to take a chance with this jacket. When I received it I was happy that I did. This jacket is comfortable,well-made,and "tough as nails". The fabric is stronger and more abrasion resistant then the major competitor's. Th... Read Moree comfort of his jacket blew me away! It's softer and more comfortable than the other work jackets that I own. They are 10 to 30 years old and have been washed countless times. The double reinforced elbows are a great added feature. The handwarmer pockets are positioned in a comfortable and useful way. My only suggestion would be to that they would be lined with flannel or fleece. The insulation is the bomb... extremely warm and windproof. The internal cuffs in the sleeves are a welcome addition. The zipper is excellent quality. The full-length placket that snaps is a plus. This jacket definitely has some weight to it but so does a concrete block. This jacket is sizing is very similar to the major competitors jacket. I ordered my regular XXL size. I'm 6'4" 250 lbs. Because of the relaxed fit I have plenty of room to move or add layers if necessary. Great job with this jacket Patagonia! It's nice to see you guys making burly stuff again! I now own two of these jackets.... one of each color. I'm quite certain that they are going to outlast me.

January 22, 2018

Excellent work jacket worth the price.

I'm glad I picked this up. It's going to be my new daily work jacket in the colder months. The material is softer than it looks but you can tell it's strong. All the stitching is rock solid and it feels broken in right out of the box. The zipper is substantial and I like being able to button up the front as well. The collar is one of... Read More my favorite features because it stands up solidly and really keeps the wind off your neck. The insulation seems fine. I haven't had it out in heavy wind so I can't speak to that,but it has held up well enough in freezing temps. There is room to layer if needed. Sizing- I' 5'11" 180 and I bought a Large (my size in all Patagonia jackets). Despite recommendations in the reviews,I opted to not size down,and I'm glad I made that choice. The jacket is slightly large on me (or at least larger than I would usually wear),but it doesn't look goofy by any means. The sleeve and body length is perfect and I have no trouble in the arms or across the shoulders while bending or stretching. It's the internal volume that is the large part of this jacket. I don't mind this at all,as it leaves room to layer. If I sized down,the sleeve length would no longer be optimal and it would be tighter across the shoulders as I've experienced before when sizing down in relaxed fit items. Obviously it would fit everyone differently,but if you're buying this jacket for work purposes,I'd recommend not sizing down. If you want to wear it as a casual jacket,you'd be fine going one smaller.

December 7, 2017

Rare miss

This jacket is a rare miss from Patagonia for me. I'm 6'2" / 185 lbs and the large was very ill fitting. The arm and body length was fine but the chest and internal volume of the coat was ridiculously large. Even with a thick hoody on I was swimming in it. The material was also disappointing. It looks like a tough canvas in the pict... Read Moreures but it is actually a softer cotton like texture that was already pilling upon arrival. I can't imagine how it would look in a year. I LOVE my other Patagonia barn coats and will just have to wait for a worthy replacement.

November 22, 2017

Exciting piece

Overall I am very pleased with this jacket. It is definitely well built and the fit and features are well thought out. I give it four stars because of the fleece lining in the pockets. Micro fleece has a tendency to catch on dry skin or cuts; also,why add a synthetic material when you don't need to? This jacket is proof that natural materials ... Read Morecan be rock solid; while the green insulation does seem phenomenal. A flannel lining in the pockets or even sticking with the hemp canvas would make this jacket even more comfortable

November 19, 2017

Amazing jacket- super warm

I love this jacket and wear it daily. It was a bit heavier than I was expecting but it is super warm,looks great as a casual jacket and most important is super warm. The lined pockets are probably the best feature. It does run a little big but not too large.

November 15, 2017

Not exactly what I was expecting

Nice jacket,and a well designed set of features. The pockets are great. As mentioned it does run large. At 6'6" and 215 lbs the large fit really well. But I ended up sending it back. I don't really like the material. I wish it was stiffer and not so soft/pliable. The material was shedding little bits of stuff. Maybe it needed to be w... Read Moreashed more times,not sure. Plus,what is the end-of-use for a blend with 2 natural fibers and a synthetic (recycle vs. biodegrade)? It's a good product,but not for me.

November 15, 2017

Tough,transitional coat,but heavy

Great for Fall and Spring temps,and warm in the winter,with some layering. Very tough work coat; toted several bags of mulch on my shoulder recently,and no slippage or damage. I followed the advice of other reviewers and got a smaller size than I would normally get,that worked out well,great fit. The only down side to the jacket is weight,and I m... Read Moreean how heavy it is. If you think this will be a typically light Patagonia garment,think again; it is very heavy. This is not an issue when you are wearing it,but it is if you have to carry it around. It has broken a couple of coat hangars.

October 17, 2017

New Favorite Jacket,worth the price!

I love the jacket so much that I purchased another one in the other color. The jacket is heavy duty and built tough,while being insulated,already broken in,and very comfortable. I took everyone's advice and sized down to a S (I'm 5'10' and 175lbs) and it fits perfectly. I would recommend sizing down as well. This is my new favor... Read Moreite piece from Patagonia and anticipate it to last a lifetime.

October 2, 2017

Job well done

Just have to say a job well done with all the Workwear collection ! I own a few pieces now and have to say I love to see Patagonia making tough rugged outdoor clothing again There is a time and place for light stuffable pieces There is also a place for rugged get the work no nonsense pieces like all the workwear collection ! I can finallly wal... Read Morek through a a pricker bush patch again and not have to worry about tearing my jacket to pieces ! The jacket is great from the fit to the size of the pockets and the overall design is very well thought out. Just like to echo a post from another how about a bib next year Thank you so much for bringing rugged tough clothing back !!!!!

September 16, 2017

Very Impressed!

I bought this jacket the moment I saw the first advertisement because I knew they weren't going to be around long. The fit is excellent (small) and I'm 5'5" 150,the toughness is exactly what i needed up here on the north coast. I am a fisheries technicianby trade which means i must traverse the woods with no trails and often mus... Read Moret cut through large berry patches. the jacket has saved me with no wear to the fabric. Pleae make overalls and ill never buy another brand again! Thanks, a former employee who shall remain anonymous

August 15, 2017

Nice

Perfect in every way... i usually wear a large but they were right,a medium was spot on.

August 14, 2017

Amazing Jacket

As soon as Patagonia announced they were making workwear I donated my old work jacket and went to the SoHo flagship store and picked one of these up (even though its the middle of summer at the moment). Construction is really great and the Jacket looks very good. If you've got a climbers build and are used to your clothes being more fitted or ... Read Moreeven less baggy you will need to size down. However,I got a small and the fit in the body is great but my forearms are too big to layer with this jacket. If you rock climb you may need to stick with a medium depending on how big your forearms are. Gets a little tight on the lower arm with a couple layers.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches