burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 451 Reviews

Clear All

Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

4.7/5
Kinda Large
February 4, 2023

Extremely Comfortable

The cold is not so cold anymore. Has awesome pockets that I can fit a ton of stuff in and is insulated very well. 10/10.

February 2, 2023

Great Quality, Very Warm

Fits great. True to size. This is a heavy coat that is very durable and warm.

February 1, 2023

I live in Maine and don't have a ranch but I do have a small maple syrup operation. It is fine to call the product a ranch coat. farm and small sugar shack opperation.

The jacket is warm but not too warm for me because normally I don't get cold easily. I really like the gussets behind the sleeves that give me lots of easy arm movement.

January 31, 2023

Excellent jacket, runs large

The build quality and design of this jacket is awesome. Love the durable hemp-blend fabric, the handwarmer pockets, and general sturdiness of this jacket. It also looks great. I'm 5'10, 190 lbs. and have a slight middle age paunch. (No one will call my build slim - I'd say average build at best). I wear a large in Patagonia's re... Read Moregular fit outdoor recreation and casual wear (Better Sweater, Down Sweater, Nano Puff). This workwear relaxed fit is much different and involves ruminating on your use and personal preferences. I very rarely wear a size medium, but that's my preference for this jacket. I will primarily use this jacket for casual wear, hikes in brushy areas, and ranch visits. If I expected to do day-to-day serious work or wanted to do significant layering underneath, I'd go with my normal size of large which would be quite roomy for me. I also found that shrinkage for this garment, even using hot water and a hot dryer (which is probably not recommended anyway) led to quite minimal shrinkage. Point being, don't buy excessively baggy expecting significant shrinking to happen. If you can dial your size in, this is a helluva of a great jacket that should last for years and years in all kinds of conditions. I expect it only looks better with the patina of age and heavy use.

January 31, 2023

A comfortable cherished blanket of a jacket.

I really like this ranch jacket. I bought it in the Pinyon Green. Its a beautiful shade of green. Not too bright, not too dark. A very natural, well, pinyon green. Like the pine tree the color of it is influenced by. It feels like wearing a warm soft blanket. Its really a great jacket. When you pick it up it feels like quality. Has a heft and wei... Read Moreght to it that feels nice and substantial. The material and design of the pockets and what not; everything about it has a very rustic feel to it. Yes, as in related to the countryside outdoors, work, etc. It seems very purpose built. Ive worn it to work most every day this winter. Goes great with a hoody under it, or just by itself. I feel it fits true to size. I usually wear a size large in jackets. I wear a size large in this. It does seem to be made as to facilitate layering other clothes under it. Its not a snug fitting garment. Its very comfortable. This material gives me the impression that over the next few years itll most likely form a nice (I dont know if its the right word for it since it isnt made of metal, but youll get what I mean) patina to it with repeated use. Theres a few jackets my Dad has had since before I was born that I would wear in my teens, many years ago for me now. But I cherished those clothing pieces that belonged to my father very much. I really hope this is one of those types of clothing pieces that can last a very long time and maybe catch the attention of one of my kids one day when theyre digging through my closet, and I then see them wearing it from then on. My first Patagonia purchase. Im very happy with it.

January 27, 2023

The fit isn't actually huge

Compelled to write a quick review. This is certainly one of the best jackets Ive put an arm through. The quality and details are what I might find in a jacket of twice the price. After reading some of the reviews, and experiencing how large the workwear vest is, I was apprehensive about the fit. I found the fit to be just fine, and not as overs... Read Moreized as some have mentioned. 5'10" 165 lbs. here, and the Medium is the goods. There is just enough room to layer a vest underneath. Or an average hoody. With room to move. Arms were perfect length; if I had 'sized down' like several others have posed it would have not been a good fit. Its perhaps a size "Medium + 1/3. The vest, and Farriers shirt are more oversized, from my view. And I have to admit, I bought this used (aren't we supposed to try and do that?). The thing was obviously lived in for several years. Had been washed several times. And-- it was no worse for wear. No fraying or stressed seams. And the Thermogreen puff insulation wasn't packed down. A lifelong jacket, even on its second owner.

January 24, 2023

almost great

Great piece for mild to somewhat cold weather. I have the hemp chore coat which is unlined as well. The Ranch Jacket adds a fairly thick lining, but still leaves enough room for a medium weight sweater. Two things are keeping me from giving it 5 stars: 1) the collar is not lined or protective enough for the cold; corduroy or fleece or sherpa with a... Read More throat tab would be a great addition; 2) the zipper is one-way--a two way zipper would be much better for this piece. Otherwise a fine jacket (although I'm not sure how I'm going to clean this piece since I don't dry clean.

Response from Patagonia
February 1, 2023

Hi Dan, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. To launder your Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket, wash in cold or warm water with a mild detergent and hang to dry. You can also machine dry on a low heat setting.

January 23, 2023

This jacket is super comfortable

This jacket is super comfortable and a perfect fit. Feels already broken in right out of the box. Rugged for work, looks good casual - my new favorite coat I will wear for years.

January 18, 2023

Favorite Coat

My new favorite coat. This thing is rugged, and I expect to have it for many years to come. It's been awesome in a variety of temperatures and is built to work hard and last long.

January 14, 2023

Comfortable and warm

Bought this jacket at the store very nice design warm and comfortable to wear at any time.

January 13, 2023

Comfort

Really love this jacket! It gives a comforting feeling of security! I don't what I will do in the summer without it!!

January 12, 2023

Perfect jacket

I'm 6ft, 185lbs and the medium fits perfect. great for any activity whether working in the garage, going to work, or just being outside. movement is easy and the jacket is super warm. highly recommend.

January 12, 2023

Warmer than I thought.

Its warmer and more rugged than I anticipated. You can easily layer underneath. The only drawback is its inability to keep you dry when the weather decides to take a turn.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2023

Hey Camillo, thanks for the review. We're glad to hear you're overall enjoying this jacket. If you're interested in some insulated and waterproof options, we recommend checking out [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-jackets-vests?prefn1=features&prefv1=waterproof).

January 12, 2023

overall, good design

Good design with nice deep pockets without debris catching opening, quality construction & material.Biggest fault is tight cuffs & sleeves making it quite difficult to get my large hands in & out. Actually painful with my arthritis. Hoping will loosen with use.

January 11, 2023

Crazy comfortable!

This jacket is by far my favorite item in my closet now, It is super comfortable, flexible, and warm. I would recommend this jacket for anyone!

January 11, 2023

Phenomenal Work Coat!

Good looking, great fit, warm! A +

January 10, 2023

Perfect work jacket, runs a bit big

Ordered a large which I usually am and had to return for a medium. If you order the correct size this is an amazing jacket for working outside in the cold weather. Love the pencil pockets and the feel of the hemp canvas material.

January 10, 2023

Awesome Jacket

I ordered the large and it was too big. The medium fits me perfectly. I wish there was a stash pocket underneath the left chest pocket for a phone. The chest pockets are not big enough for one. It would be nice if the hand warmer pockets were zippered to keep sawdust out when running a saw or debris when busting through brush. Finally, if you could... Read More make the liner removable, it would make the perfect coat for multi-seasons.

January 9, 2023

Perfect

I bought this as a Christmas present for my brother. He hasn't taken it off since! Beautiful gift, and super useful.

January 9, 2023

Great Jacket!!

I bought this jacket for outdoor chores in the winter. Its perfect. Super heavyweight, warm, and seems like it will be incredibly durable. I'm 6'1", 175 lbs, and the large fits perfectly. The only issue I'm having is its such a nice jacket, now I don't want to get it dirty...

January 4, 2023

Very warm nice jacket.

Love this jacket. Nice for all occasions. Very warm

January 4, 2023

Great Material, Runs Large

The hemp cottage on this jacket feels incredible, not as stiff and heavy as other brands. Still very large in the body. Im 5-11, 170 lbs and I wish I had gotten a small. Only other complaint is theres no adjustment to tighten the bottom of its windy.

Response from Patagonia
January 19, 2023

Hi Scott, please feel free to begin a [complimentary exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for size at any time.

January 2, 2023

Good quality

Great quality. Only (Small) complaint is that the neck and swing back wrinkles and a lot, other than that, I loved it.

January 2, 2023

Comfortable and durable coat

Wear this coat for the warehouse job I have and for everyday use in colder temperatures. Very comfortable and durable.

January 1, 2023

Great coat

Great coat

December 27, 2022

Great jacket, to big in the body

Jacket is very well made, top notch quality, but its a bit big In the body. My shoulders fit great, but LOTS of extra room in the gut belly area. Could have a better fit

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2023

Hi Jason! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. The jacket does feature a relaxed fit so it is a bit roomy. That said, we appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 27, 2022

Work Horse

Super warm and durable coat for chores around the farm and the house.

December 26, 2022

Great Work/Casual Jacket with 1 Minor Inconvenience

Very warm and rugged work jacket, have worn this jacket in windy 10F-20F and stayed plenty warm with proper layers. Shell feels like a comfortable broken-in jacket straight from the box. Hand warmer pockets are very soft and quite spacious, was able to keep a thermos and insulated work gloves in the pockets. Only complaint is the arms are narrow, c... Read Morean't really layer with a thick wool flannel and undershirt for even colder temps. Overall, I can see myself using this jacket for the next 5-10 years easily

December 23, 2022

Solid and tough

Tough material that is burn resistant. Easy to clean and dirt seems to rub right off, no break in. Wish there was a way to close the jacket around the neck, cold slips through unless wearing a turtle neck. Also, I find the cuffs to always be in the way when wearing any kind of winter glove and especially if wearing a watch. Wish they removed those.... Read More Good range of motion and warm when active, use 40 degrees and below, layer as needed.

December 21, 2022

Disappointing.

This is a beautiful, very high quality disappointment. Great materials and fit. I actually love the feel, weight and cut of this jacket. Unfortunately this is a fashion first jacket. Seemingly designed for checking the surf and little else. With ill conceived and poorly executed design in regards to pockets/storage for a work jacket. And it would s... Read Moreeem a complete lack of thought as to the actual ergonomics, functionality and technical features of design. Issues , hand warmer pockets . The placement is to high and the angle of entry is much to vertical or upright. This makes for an unnatural and uncomfortable hand and arm position . If you relax or rest your arms in the pocket it creates pressure on your arm and both the top and bottom seems of the pocket. Guaranteeing failure of seems with moderate use. Also small opening making use wearing gloves a problematic. Then there is the complete failure to recognize that a cell phone is a critical piece of equipment while working. You need convenient , practical and easy access and storage for your phone. Breast pockets are to shallow so no way to secure your phone. Also breast pockets are small not to practical and almost impossible to access with glove on. Interior zip pocket is good and bad. The Good, size and placement are spot on for a secure pocket. The bad, no easy access to phone if you use pocket for phone storage. You have 2 zippers and buttons to get thru to access pocket and then you have to fish your phone out. And lastly , no drop pockets, or interior storage at all. Fail. Drop pockets and interior storage are absolutely necessary in cold weather work environments . A Place to keep things out of weather that are easily accessable is a must. Unfortunately It would seems more attention was put into style and esthetics than the actual technical features of this jacket. Which is very surprising for a Patagonia product. I'm Born and raised in Ventura. I live about 2 miles from Headquarters/GPIW. And I Have a ton of Patagonia gear. Granted mostly from the 80's and early 90's . And I can honestly say this first time I have ever been disappointed in a Patagonia product. Not the quality but the execution. I Will sadly be returning this jacket. And Hoping for a product update.

Response from Patagonia
January 4, 2023

Hi Andy, we're so sorry to hear that the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket didn't meet your expectations. If you've yet to do so, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

December 21, 2022

Feature packed and tough

Love this coat. The weight of the outer shell is just right so it moves easily and with the gussets feels like it's already broken in. Hand pocket angle and insulation are perfect. The sleeve fit is great, no adjustment at sleeve end is interesting and makes it great without a watch or something slim, or I've found it keeps a bulky watch ... Read Morefrom getting inside the sleeve so it's easy to see without hiking up my sleeve. Speaking of sleeves, pet peeve of mine with similar jackets is fleece sleeves which makes slipping them on a chore. This coat's sleeves are smooth so slipping clothed arms into it is easy. I think I talked myself into buying another color! BTW, a cold weather version of this would be a great addition to the offering, Patagonia - hint, hint.

December 20, 2022

Great all around jacket

Mainly use this jacket for outdoor chores rain or shine. Have had for a year now and has held up great! Very comfortable! When I put it on, its like pressing the go button for loading firewood. If there was one thing Id change it would be adding flaps to the pockets so they dont fill with wood chips and sawdust so easily.

December 20, 2022

Iron Forged

I really enjoy the ribbed knit where the wrist meets in the sleeves. Also, lifting up the collar helps keep the cold off the neck. The position of my stance when I put my hands deep into the pockets, gives me solid feeling of comfort. As much as the name describes as tough and rugged, and it is, what I feel is warm and cozy.

December 19, 2022

Runs large

I love the pockets the weight and the warmth but you might want to order a size smaller unless you are wearing something bulky underneath.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2023

Hey Keith, thank you for the feedback. We'll share your thoughts on fit with the product team. If the jacket you have is still in new condition, you're welcome to exchange for a size down on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 18, 2022

Comfortable and Perfect Style

This jacket is universal. Good for outdoor work but it has the style to look fine in any setting. Its warm but not too warm. Perfect for 40-50f with a t shirt on. The pockets are comfortable and provide lots of storage. Perfect for tools, ammo, or even sneaking candy into the movies. The medium runs perfect for me (6.1, 175lb). Good for concealing ... Read Moremy leather holster for my 38 special. Overall a perfect jacket for someone who needs something heavy, durable, comfortable, practical, and stylish.

December 14, 2022

Nice

Great coat. First time into the workwear line and Im enjoying it. Gotten several comments on it and showing interest in getting one for themselves.

December 12, 2022

Not available in correct size

Returned item was too large. Could not replace with smaller size none were available. Can not recommend as I dont have one to test.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2022

Hello Manuel, thank you for the review. We looked up your order and see that you originally purchased the XXL. We checked to see when there would be a restock of the XL and it looks like the tentative date is set for early February. If we get to that point and you're still not seeing it, feel free to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) for an updated timeframe. We recommend signing up for restock notifications by going to the product page, selecting the color of interest, selecting the size and clicking on "Join Waitlist" just below that. From there you'll enter your email address and you will be emailed as soon as there are more in stock.

December 12, 2022

Five stars very comfortable and

Five stars very comfortable and warm

December 12, 2022

Incredible Work Jacket

I ordered this jacket for daily work on the farm. So much to say, but let me start with it is incredible durable for tough farm work. The pockets are plenty large for tools, and the lined hand warmer pockets are absolutely what's needed when you need to work without gloves. The jacket is quite warm even on damp, breezy days, and I'll admi... Read Moret, when it's clean I like wearing it out to grab a coffee or beer. It looks great with boots and jeans! All in all, and I've owned many, best work coat on the market!

December 12, 2022

Sterling Jacket - warmer than expected

I'm sort of a weekend-warrior with a hobby-farm/woodland thing going on. I've only had the jacket a few weeks but am impressed. The outer fabric notable, it is pliable (even soft in its own way) and feels strong. The fit-and-finish is top-notch. The color (green) is great. For sizing - it runs large/roomy as noted in the product descripti... Read Moreon. I sized down due to my lean build. Still movable enough for me. If I was laboring full-time, I might choose the suggested size. The jacket is heavier/warmer than expected, even for a guy who gets cold. With the right layering it can probably get me through much of the Virginia winter. The problem is, now I am looking for something less warm. Eye is on the Hemp Canvas Chore Coat, waiting for a re-stock.

December 11, 2022

Very comfortable and warm. Love

Very comfortable and warm. Love cuffed sleeves and warm pockets.

December 11, 2022

Solid Jacket

Great weight and warmth. Very comfortable yet durable. New favorite coat. Is relaxed fitting so recommended one size down. Normally wear a large in all Patagonia but it was way too big- returned for a medium and it fit perfectly.

December 11, 2022

Farmer Approved

Ive never written an online review before but I received this jacket as a gift almost 2 years ago and have been very impressed. I didn't plan on using the coat for work but it was so warm and comfortable I was always throwing it on. I was worried that it wouldnt be very durable because of how soft it was new. The other brand Canvas jacket I h... Read Moreave always wore were great but took some time to break in. This jacket was ready to go out of the box. It is comfortable. It is warm. It is durable. I have wore it countless times while working on machinery, snagging it on sharp corners while crawling around under implements. The canvas has never tore. The jacket has been put to the test and has impressed me enough that I plan to buy the canvas overalls.

December 10, 2022

Vey Impressive

I have room in my wardrobe for one winter work jacket, and was sceptical when I placed my order that this this would be it. As soon as I tired it on, I knew I was keeping it. I've got a smaller frame, and a lot of work jackets look like they are swallowing me. This one has a workwear fit without being oversized. It's got great range of mo... Read Moretion, and great pockets. The zipper and snap buttons make it easy to open and close with golves on. I bought the green, and the color is surprisingly rich. I have not had the chance to wear it for ranch work yet, but I'd definately even consider it for a casual daily coat. Patagonia: Nice work! I would love to see this style in an unlined version for warmer days, or something similar with a zip closure.

December 10, 2022

Outstanding!

Exactly what I was looking for. Its surprisingly warm for its size. It does run a tad large which is perfect for layering. I highly recommend it!

December 9, 2022

Best Jacket Ever

Literally one of the best things I have spent money on ever. Incredibly durable, mud and dirt just fade off of it without washing it and it looks like brand new. Jacket seems indestructible, pretty warm, I've worn it for work in -15C with some layers underneath, and after a little bit of moving around I have to unzip it. Jacket looks really go... Read Moreod too, I always get compliments on it. I am 6'1, 165lbs and size M fits me perfectly, plenty of room to move around and layer up with, and not too big if I only had a T-shirt on underneath. Perfect jacket, I am now a huge fan of Patagonia.

December 6, 2022

Comfortable

Just received this as a gift from my wonderful fiancee. Pinyon green is darker than appearance online. That was a happy surprise for me. Super comfortable and feels burly. I dont find this jacket as big as many of the reviews made it seem. Im 6,2 with broad shoulders. A wool sweater is a tight fit with the medium. If you want it fitted order a size... Read More down from normal. If you need to layer and have 100% range of motion get your usual size.

December 5, 2022

So Cozy!

This is the most comfortable jacket I own. It is also the heaviest. It feels like a weighted blanket. Not necessarily for outdoor / active use. This style also runs large. I normally wear a Patagonia XL, but had to return it and swap it out for size Large. Great jacket nonetheless.

December 2, 2022

Good coat that could be great

This is a well-designed coat that could benefit greatly from just a few changes: Cinch snaps along the bottom hem would help the fit and keep the wind out a bit. Making the insulation a removable liner, or at least thinner to allow for layering, would turn this into a true three-season jacket. And adding zippers to all pockets, inside and out, woul... Read Mored make this more useful for the job site. But overall love the material, the design, and construction. And the company, of course.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2022

Hi Kurt! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team to keep in mind for future seasons.

December 2, 2022

Better than Carhardtt

Just like my title says. It's a much better jacket than any Carhardtt youre gonna buy. It's like it was worn in before it gets to you. Unlike Charhardtt (which is a great brand, dont get me wrong) being a tough jacket at first until you break it in. It's super soft but dont let that fool you from its durability. I absolutely love thi... Read Mores jacket. The hand pockets are warm with the fleece liner. Nice inside pocket. I like the pen/pencil pocket too, nice touch. I dont find myself cold in this jacket. Very durable too as I stated earlier. Wouldn't be afraid to go through a briar patch with this jacket. It does run big, I usually wear a large jacket with Patagonia. I exchanged for a medium and im glad I did. Usually the shoulders are tight but with this jacket being designed for some give in the shoulders the medium fits perfect. My only complaint with this jacket is the hidden elastic cuffs at the end of sleeves. I wear a watch and it seems to tight to check the time. Maybe it'll loosen up as wear continues. Overall, im very pleased with this jacket. Nicely done Patagonia!

December 1, 2022

Great Jacket

this is a good garment, not just for work. warm, decent looking, feels and looks durable. snap and zipper front gives a choice for venting, pencil slots should have a buttonhole about half way down, pencils don't stay big very long. the only thing you might consider adding is a snap on hood. I'm about 6'1, 170 fairly fit and the med.... Read More fits well, just enough room for a mid weight hoody..

November 28, 2022

Feels warm runs large

I take a large in every other jacket, I listened to the reviews and ordered a medium and the fit was perfect. feels worm.

November 22, 2022

Best coat ever?

Maybe it is. The side pockets are perfect, the coat is extremely comfortable and cozy. I got it a little larger than I normally would so I can layer it over a sweater or another light coat.

November 22, 2022

Looks great, feels great

This is one of my favourite coats to wear on occasions or just to chill.

November 21, 2022

Nice Twice

I liked this jacket so much that I did get the green color too. Layering with hoodies a Small has a chest of 23.5", myself being a naked 170 lbs 6'2".

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2022

We're so glad to hear this one is working well for you! That chest measurement on the size small is across the front, from armpit to armpit or side seam to side seam. We just wanted to mention it in case any other customers might think we meant the circumference. This "relaxed" fit design in size small should fit someone with a 37" chest with room to spare. Thanks for the review, Matthew!

November 20, 2022

I hope you like scarves.

Pros: The cuffs are perfect. No tabs, no snaps, no gimmicks, just elastic cuffs that work every time. The fabric is quite stout. After a couple of seasons of decent wear it's starting to show in the usual spots, nothing bad. If anything, it looks better than new. The collar, strangely, seems to be wearing at least as fast as the elbows or poc... Read Morekets. The zipper looks dainty but works every time, no snags, and the tab is just big enough for a gloved hand. The fit is generous in the body. I can get a M's Large down vest underneath it. Which brings the con: You'll have to wear this buttoned up all the way all the time. The insulation stops well-short of the zipper on each side of the front leaving you with a nice big cold stripe from belt to chin. The uninsulated collar & uninsulated storm flap don't do much to help. It's a shame because the relatively heavy material of the coat is generally excellent, it's just not in all the right places. If you were looking for a true winter coat to use with no other outer layer, I'm afraid this isn't it, not even in the mid-Atlantic.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2022

Hey Matthew, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear that this isn't working out for you. We'd be happy to have a conversation with you to figure out how you're planning on using the jacket and in what conditions so we could offer alternatives. If you were looking for something Workwear specific, the [Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-barn-coat/27795.html?dwvar_27795_color=DKAS&cgid=sport-workwear-mens) or the Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Hooded Jacket might be a better fit for your needs.

November 17, 2022

I'm impressed

I was looking for a durable jacket/coat that also looks good and makes me want to wear it. They nailed it with this one. It required zero break-in, and is soft out of the box. The hemp canvas seems to be a winner and exactly what they advertised. As expected from Patagonia, it is seemingly high quality and well-built. The cut is great and fits me s... Read Moreo well. I'm 5'9" and 190lbs, and the Medium is perfect, allowing for some layering underneath but feels just fine without layers also. I have gotten so many compliments on it. I'll be wearing this thing for years to come and it will end up replacing half the other jackets I own.

November 16, 2022

Classic Patagonia Fit and Feel, Perfect!

The "ranch" in this products name threw me for a loop thinking it was going to be thick and heavy and stiff as would be typical for ranch type of clothing - similar to Carhartt. But I was pleasantly mistaken; it's so comfortable soft and warm. I'm currently wearing this in 30-40F weather with windchill and it's kept me perf... Read Moreectly warm. I've only had a short sleeve capilene t-shirt underneath! I'm 5'8" 155lb guy and the S fits me perfectly. One thought about this is if you have a thick watch, it might be unconformable to wear with this jacket on. The cuffs have little wiggle room and having a thick watch will make it snug. Very happy with this purchase!

November 14, 2022

Such a great Jacket

First off let me start off as why I put kinda large. Its alittle long goes past my waist which I dont mind at all, Im 5,8 around 180 if that helps anyone. Ive officially had this jacket for 4 months now and this jacket gets the job done! I take it with me when i go hiking but I mostly use it for work, I work in a bread freezer breaking down shipmen... Read Morets. Its a warm jacket but I do need to layer because obviously its a freezer but all the pockets it has is perfect for me and my job. If you are on fence about getting it just get it, its warm, I can move around in it, it looks good. Best jacket I have.

November 14, 2022

Great Jacket

Warm, nice weight, comfortable Small fits me great 5'10" 155.

November 14, 2022

Great jacket for working around the yard

This jacket has a great weight that to me reinforces that it will stand up to some punishment. It fits kind of large and I downsized to a Medium which gave me a perfect fit. The insulation can get a bit warm depending on the intensity of the work, but reassures me that it will still be warm enough on those colder days.

November 13, 2022

Bought an older version of

Bought an older version of this jacket back in the 90's. Great jacket but it was not sized correctly. It ran a little snug. My wife took it over and uses it as a barn jacket and loves it. Seeing her wearing it made me think of checking to see if you still made it. To my surprise you not only still offer it, you improved it. This jacket is size... Read Mored correctly and it's even better than the 90's version. It's my farm/ranch and you name it go to jacket. Great product. Looks like it will last forever.

November 12, 2022

Very nice

I really like the material used for this jacket. It feels like it will last me many years. I normally wear size medium but after reading reviews I purchased a small and was very happy with it. I believe a medium would have been too baggy and create a much larger silhouette than I prefer. I am 5'7" and 180 lbs for reference. It's also... Read More warmer than I was expecting so that's a plus. I also received many compliments on this jacket in the two weeks I've had it. Would definitely recommend.

November 12, 2022

Almost Perfect

This item is near perfect, super heavy and warm, durable and I hope lasts my lifetime. Only feedback I have is that the forearms have almost no room on a Medium. It fits me slim and well everywhere else as I like a tighter fit, even though I wear a large size in all shirts. Larger arm openings would be great!

November 11, 2022

Superb jacket, cut above the rest

This jacket is beautifully constructed. I had always worn LL Bean jackets but really felt dissatisfied with their quality over the last few years. The jackets from them were starting to feel thin, cheap, and just not the style I was looking for. This Patagonia is a truly amazing jacket. The stitching and materials are of really high quality, and t... Read Morehe sheer weight of it is awesome! It's so heavy and thick, and will keep me really warm this winter I think. At 100g of insulation, it is 20g more than my hunting jacket, which I wear in the dead of winter, sitting still in a windy tree stand. My only issue was with sizing. I wear a Med or Large coat, depending on fit and such, and had to order 3 separate sizes to determine my best fit here, which was tricky because this jacket is constantly out of stock. After about 2 months of back and forth, I figured out a Small was the ideal size, which seems wild to me, but this jacket definitely runs HUGE. Sleeves are a bit tight, ironically, but I'm a tall, lean guy and I'm OK with them, but bigger buffer dudes might want to size up just for sleeve size - the Medium had much more roomier sleeves. Great jacket. I hope it lasts me a long time.

November 10, 2022

Fitted Warmth

I bought this jacket as a light coat to wear out. I was gladly surprised with its superb warmth and fantastic feel. It runs a little large making it suitable for those layering months.

November 10, 2022

Hempin'

Overall great work jacket. Form and function work well, simple yet of good style. I find I like the hemp materials of construction more as time goes on, being soft yet durable. With layers, the jacket is good and warm, but I would not consider it heavy on its own. I need to test it further, but so far I look forward to each time I use it. I agree m... Read Moreetal teeth in the zipper may be the way to go in stead of the plastic, but then again we hope to see more and more how the function stack up to said classical metal.

November 4, 2022

Way Too Big

I am 6ft 5in and 230 lbs. I have not purchased a single item of clothing smaller than an XL since I was a child. This jacket in an XL is entirely too big. Fits well in the shoulders and arms but from the rib cage down it is a giant billowing mass. It leaves such a large opening around the bottom I find myself cold when I wear it as there is so much... Read More room for cold air to enter. I love the way the coat looks otherwise. The materials and construction seem top notch. Unfortunately the jacket is almost useless to me.

November 2, 2022

Runs really Big

Bought a Medium originally and exchanged for a Small which fits me (5'10" 160lbs) perfectly. Mediums in the daily shirt and cap crew are also a great fit for reference. This jacket is nice and warm, has a great weight to it and my wife tells me looks really good. Would definitely recommend.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and all the details of fit and comfort. Like almost all of our [Workwear](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/workwear), this jacket has a "relaxed" fit design that will feel more generous. We're glad to hear that sizing down worked well for you, Sam!

October 28, 2022

Super comfortable out of the box

This jacket is amazingly comfortable right out of the box, and a practical chore jacket that also looks good when running around town. The jacket does fit kind of large which could be OK for layering, but I ended up sizing down for a perfect fit.

October 24, 2022

Runs very large

I wear L in all other Patagonia items I own but this Large jacket was the same fit as an XL. My brother came over with his XL jacket and tried it on and fit him great. Had to ship back.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2022

Hi James, thank you for submitting this review. Yes, the Canvas Ranch Jacket is cut with a "relaxed" fit, which will be larger than a "regular" or "slim" fit. We're sorry it didn't work for you, but happy to see you've returned it. Please let us know if we can help you with other options!

October 22, 2022

More Sizing Options for Gender Neutral Folxx

Wish this fit had more variety for different sized bodies. The mens fit is not designed for AFAB bodies. The woman's style highlights the waist. As someone looking for sustainable high quality clothing, I wish Patagonia had more gender neutral options.

October 21, 2022

Great jacket

I usually wear an XL in most jackets (6', 215lbs). Large is a perfect fit in this one. Extremely comfortable to wear. Well made. Looks great.

October 20, 2022

Perfect for Archery Hunting

This is a great hunting jacket! VERY comfortable and quiet. Perfect for archery. It does run large so keep that in mind when ordering. I am an XL and the L fits. Love the jacket!

October 16, 2022

Warm and great looking

The jacket looks great, is incredibly warm and is perfect for fall work outside (and campfire nights). The XS fits perfectly, and I usually wear a small, so I would size up if you are between sizes.

Response from Patagonia
October 18, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the comfort and fit. Like most of our [Workwear line](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-workwear), this jacket has a "relaxed" fit design so some customers choose to size down for a closer fit. Thanks for your review, Martin!

October 9, 2022

Gap Around Waist

I am 6' feet tall and weigh 150lbs and the medium jacket fits my arms, chest, and shoulders very well! However, there is a large air gap around the bottom hem of the jacket. I have decided to have the jacket "taken in" so that I can keep it, but it is slightly frustrating there isn't a size that fits me better. Keep this in mind... Read More if you're my size and considering this jacket.

October 6, 2022

Great Fit

Barn Coats are a must in New England. This one is the best I've owned. Comfortable, tough, and warm.

September 28, 2022

Good oute shellr material

This a nice coat that is perfect for a skinny person my size. The sleeves and body and the right length but I am a working person who could not wear long underwear and a shirt with this coat. Two pairs of long underwear would be impossible. The sleeves are too skinny for a worker's arms and the added pockets look stylish yet are not usable for... Read More any purpose I can think of. A flannel liner would also be an improvement. My waste size is 34 and I have almost no fat on my stomach or anywhere else..

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

Hi Garrett, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 19, 2022

Prime time

The jacket is super warm and fits great. This jacket is prime time.

September 18, 2022

Warm but not too heavy.

Warm but not too heavy. Great weight. Not bulky.

August 24, 2022

Beautiful jacket

Seriously the pictures don't do it justice. Just timeless style with a perfect, very natural looking color. I'm a climber, but I don't always want to wear a synthetic puffy while working on my truck or cutting wood outside (risking grease or tears in the nylon). It also won't melt near a campfire or stove. This thing is bomber a... Read Morend water resistant enough for Seattle winters. Does seem to run a full size large though. I normally wear Patagonia XS, so I can't go any smaller with this. I might try to wash it to make it smaller.

August 9, 2022

Excellent all time warm jacket

This jacket is really made very well and seems pretty warm. I couldnt use it because it ran pretty big on me.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2022

Hi Mohinder, bummer to hear that the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket was little big. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

July 29, 2022

tight arms and cuff

I usually wear XL but sized down because of the recommendations. Torso fit ok but the arms were tight (not short) and difficult to get my hand through the cuff when taking it off. There were no Range Coat XL in stock so I went to the Barn Coat XL with the different cuff which fits well.

July 17, 2022

One of my Favorite Patagonia Jackets

I've bought various Patagonia jackets over the years i.e. M's Down, Nano Puff, Isthmus, Better Sweater, Trucker Corduroy - but this jacket will quickly become my "go to" daily jacket. It's tough fabric is durable for work (but looks good for casual wear as well), runs true-to-size giving me good shoulder stretch/movement, a... Read Morend has those quick snaps when I don't want to fully zip it up (I REALLY like that in a jacket). I also like the placement of the deep front pockets, although an additional inside-zip pocket would have made it more functional. The only issue I had was how long it took for my tan color jacket to arrive - popular enough to be on back order for awhile - but the wait was sure worth it !

April 23, 2022

Great Features and fabric

I bought this because I was getting so tired of all of my other insulated work wear being so stiff and binding. People who have worked in insulated Cotton Duck built clothing will know what I am talking about. This jacket is very soft and flexible. Not soft in a way that it seems like it will wear out or rip but soft in a way that I do not feel lik... Read Moree I am fighting my clothes all day while working. Very pleased with my purchase.

April 18, 2022

Oh this is how Bougie people never are too hot or too cold

This jacket blew my mind on so many levels. I have been searching for this holy grail of jackets my entire life. Being born and raised in Wyoming and running hotter than the Morningstar's decibel, finding a jacket that is well made yet doesn't have me sweating in 5 minutes is impossible. Or has me freezing when im out in the elements too ... Read Morelong. This jacket is just hands down perfection. Its incredible heft and craftsmanship is only paired by the details put into this garment. If you are T framed and blessed with a barrel chest with narrow waist, this jacket is also your go to. I ordered a XL first, even contacted customer service because the chest measurements state 44 for a large and im sitting high and tight at a 49. But when I got it... was way too large and looked sloppy on my frame. So I returned and ordered a large and BAM. Perfection. If you are able to, I would highly recommend trying on sizes at a store first because I could see how this could wildly range for different frames and body types. But don't think twice. Buy this jacket. You won't regret it. From the amount of compliments alone to the rugged build. This is a for life part of your wardrobe. From the office to the trail, it's built for it all.

March 26, 2022

To wide around body

Shoulders and sleeves fit good. Around body is to large, I am 215 pounds but looks like xl should be my size. I would like to replace it.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right on this jacket. The design is a "relaxed" fit, which is more generous than our "slim" and "regular" fit styles. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss a return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 6, 2022

Great jacket

Heavy duty but soft. Very comfortable and warm.

February 28, 2022

Great fit

Fit is just right. Love the color, the feel of the fabric (inner and outer), and all the pockets. Quality of materials and workmanship is superb. If the jacket was a woman I would marry it.

Response from Patagonia
March 7, 2022

Thanks, Sam! We're pretty sure marrying a jacket isn't legal where you live, but we totally get it!

February 26, 2022

Sleeves Too Short

I love Patagonia products and purchased many. The quality is exceptional and they last forever. One problem I have consistently always had though, is sleeve length. If I buy a garment with correct fit in the torso, the sleeves are too short, necessitating that I go up to the next larger size but results in the chest/waist being way too big. I live ... Read Morewith it. My suggestion would be to make sleeve lengths an inch longer. For some, this may make the sleeves too long but I would maintain that it is far easier to compensate for a sleeve that is too long, than one that is too short. Time to lengthen the sleeves or creat tall sizes.

February 26, 2022

Great work Jacket

Look it runs a little big but Patagonia tells you that upfront. This jacket is top notch. Every detail is amazing. Im 6 foot 2 solid build medium is what you want trust me. Overhead reaching or bending over is no problem. The drop tail has your plumbers crack covered. The jacket allows for full shoulder/arm movements. I work in a refrigerated wareh... Read Moreouse 40hr/week. The jacket is extremely abrasion resistant which is the main reason I bought it I keep ripping shelled jackets open. 100g insulation keeps you warm when your moving. Add a hoodie under this or a fleece? Forget about it! I think I enjoy the hidden cuffs on wrist. The pockets are amazing. The snap closure upfront will protect your zipper well from impacts. I can bear hug a wooden pallet now and man handle it and this jacket just eats it up. Thank you for keeping this one under $200 for me Patagonia! Long time customer. Keep this iron forge line coming baby.

February 19, 2022

After 2 years of wearing it...

Figured itd be time to finally write a review Ive owned the jacket for 2 years now. Keep in mind I am a farmer and am extremely tough on my clothes. If it wasnt for the ironclad guarantee and me being 30 mins away from a store, the jacket would be a tough sell because of price vs. durability. The good: Very warm, very comfortable, and non restri... Read Morective. Fits well - meant to be layeredso it doesnt wear well with just a t shirt underneath. Pockets are big and deep (but thats also bad). The bad: The front hand pockets are so high that your arms put a lot of stress on the stitching at the edge. Its been ripped and repaired, but needs another repair. The ribbed cuffs are kind of nice - but after a year they get stretched out and annoying, and you cant wear any type of warm glove without fighting them - Im going to see if they can remove them. The inside pocket is practically unusable because any hand bigger than that of a small child wont fit inside. The chest pockets are nice, I just wish the were an inch bigger so i could fit a phone or something useful in there and close the pocket. The cuffs are starting to fray - and I imagine theyll be toast by the end of the season - not sure how theyll repair that. The zipper has almost ripped completely off and will need repair as well. Love the jacket, love that its repairable, and love the thoughtfulness in the manufacturing.

February 14, 2022

Warm and Comfortable INK BLACK

I'm 5'11" weighing in at 165 lbs and opted for the Medium based on reviews (normally a Large) It fits well with a tight long sleeve base layer and a long sleeve t-shirt. If you plan on layering, I would order normal size and NOT size down. Sleeves are plenty long and mid section is not overly bulgy. More of a slender cut, especially ... Read Morein the shoulder area. Length is great, especially for down sizing. Very comfortable with absolutely no break in time needed.

February 8, 2022

Good for Everyday Use and Work

I love this jacket for everyday use and for work when I need it, it surprised me during the snowy weather on the days it did snow but once the snow melted I quickly had to wipe the snow off with a paper towel because I wasn&#x27;t sure if it would seep through into the inside part of the jacket. It&#x27;s not a bad thing but I just wasn&#x27;t sure... Read More if it would be bad for the jacket or not. Overall it's hard to find a bad thing about the jacket and measuring and comparing your measurements to the size chart was key and it fits me well and I'm a happy customer owning 2 separate jackets but in different colors... Good work Patagonia <3

February 4, 2022

Runs big, consider sizing down

I&#x27;m 5&#x27;10&quot; 175 lbs and I bought a medium. I use this to work on my van conversion in cold weather. I wish I had tried on a small. The medium fits, but there&#x27;s a lot of room around the middle. Like, I could gain 50 pounds and still fit in this thing. I can see it getting in the way leaning over the workbench, table saw, etc. Not i... Read Moren a dangerous way, just an annoying way. That, and I look kind of portly walking the dog, and to be honest, that bothers me more.

February 2, 2022

Durable and Comfortable

The fit is all around great! It has room for layering so I would not recommend sizing up. It is super durable and holds up to rubbing elbows with sticks, branches, and brush in an orchard setting. The hemp blend allows it to feel broken in right from the package.

January 29, 2022

Super warm super heavy

I love this jacket! Its super warm, and doesnt feel stiff like most canvas duck jackets. Time will tell on durability but so far I think it will last a very long time. One note is this thing is super heavy. Like wearing a weighted blanket. Nice and cozy. It fits baggy which is kinda nice for layering underneath. I wear a large for most Patagonia pr... Read Moreoducts for reference (r1, better sweater, etc. ) only minor complaints are I wish it came with a hood and it would be nice if it had elastic or draw cord on the waist to keep the draft out

January 28, 2022

Warm Durable Jacket

This is my favorite jacket for winter. Its heavy but in a great way as it almost feels like armor for the cold. A sweater and this jacket and I am good down to about 10 degrees. The insulation in it is a nice touch and helps make the jacket feel very comfortable as the jacket moves with you. The hand pockets in the front are perfect, they are soft ... Read Moreand help keep your hands warm but you can also fit a surprising amount of stuff in them when you need to. Ive had it for two years now and worn it frequently in the winter and see very little wear. I did size down one from my normal Patagonia size and I also ended up cutting out the spandex cuffs around my wrist because it was fighting with the cuffs on my gloves.

January 28, 2022

Excellent quality and OK fit

Would go 4.5 if possible. Very nicely made with good attention to detail. The fit is a bit bulky in the body. I know its workwear, but I would like it a bit slimmer/athletic fit and/or make it in a tall.

January 27, 2022

My ultimate winter work jacket

I purchased this jacket to work around my homestead and wear while building my house. It has exceeded my expectations. The fit is generous, so I can layer if I need to. I have long arms so that&#x27;s usually an issue but not with this coat, sleeve length is perfect. The hemp fabric is tough but has a Broken in feel right at the start. I like the i... Read Morenternal cuffs as well. It's a very comfortable jacket and is my go to jacket this winter. I find the jacket to be very warm but not too warm for working outside. The pockets are minimal but very useful, maybe a couple more would have been nice but not a big deal. The ruggedness comes at a price, this jacket is heavy, not noticable working but not a jacket I would take hiking. It does everything I wanted it too and it looks great.

January 24, 2022

Rad jacket!

Warm, comfortable, tough and simple. Works great with layers, wont melt standing by a fire and is warm without being crazy bulky. Love this thing!

January 20, 2022

The Best Jacket

Short and sweet: this is the best heavy jacket I've ever owned. All the details are perfect and I love it.

January 16, 2022

I'm happy, don't change a thing

I'm happy. It's nice and warm, the cuffs work well in an unheated machine shop where you want to stay warm but Big coats/ jackets are a suck-your-arm-into-the-spinning-machine HAZARD.

January 13, 2022

Rugged material, will last if you take care of it.

Lovely price, thick material to keep the wind out, while allowing flexibility. Im 5'7 and i initially got a medium to try and found it way too big. Not only was it extremely loose and baggy but the arm sleeves were too long. I returned it for a XS and the fit is perfect assuming you dont layer too much.

January 11, 2022

Great fit and warm

Ive received so many compliments on how nice this jacket looks on me.. im 5&#x27;10&quot; 180lbs and I bought a large. This will be my work jacket so we will see how it handles multiple washings and wear and tear. Fit is a little loose but that is fine for when its super cold out and I need a base layer. I really like the pocket arrangement. Ive ow... Read Morened Red Kap and Carhartt work jackets and this is way better craftsmanship.

January 8, 2022

great feeling rather small though

I got the XS, read reviews to go down 1 size and so I did. It feels really comfortable adding a hoodie is possible but it is slightly packed depending on your torso. Been outside working in the car and I gotta say I'm impressed.

January 6, 2022

High quality and rugged feeling

Very high quality feeling jacket and very well made. Materials feel very high end compared to other work wear (Dickies, Carhart, Duluth). Fit is good for layering, enough space to wear a sweater or vest under and long enough to keep the wind out. It is a bit heavy (good or bad depending on what you are looking for) Feels high quality because of th... Read Moree weight but its also a bit heavy if you're working in it all day.

January 4, 2022

Warm and comfy

Perfect jacket, lots of compliments

December 29, 2021

Comfortable and Warm

Bought the jacket for my husband and he loved it. It does run wide, so hes returning it for a 2X

December 28, 2021

Awesome, warm, durable

Bought the large, Im usually a large for casual fit apparel from Patagonia for shirts. Large was way too big, Medium was amazing.

December 26, 2021

Son-in-law Was Thrilled

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son-in-law, and he was very pleased!

December 22, 2021

GREAT PUFFER COAT!

The coat fits my physique very well. I am 5'.11" and weight 190 lbs and the coat is not too big or too small. I like the zippered interior pocket.

December 20, 2021

Beefy

This is a much more substantial jacket than I had thought, this thing can take abuse. Like others have said it does run big, like it's designed for a sweater underneath it. Its about 40 degrees out and this jacket with a sweater will have you sweating its so warm. This is not a thin hipster jacket, this is a serious coat.

December 20, 2021

Awesome but a bit heavy

I work around barbed wire and needed something that would hold up which this does. I do not regret buying it for one second but compared to other brands, it does tend to be a bit heavier than others. I really like the double cuff which prevents things going up your sleeve.

December 19, 2021

Could be warmer

I&#x27;m a small woman and this fits well except the sleeves are long as you would expect. Women&#x27;s similar styles just didn&#x27;t fit right. This style is nice with the bi-swing back that gives you room to move around, snaps as well as zippered front, and the rib cuffs help keep the wind out. The insulation is somewhat thin. The material is r... Read Moreeally nice, lighter weight than cotton duck, but feels like it will last. Overall a really nice jacket.

December 19, 2021

Comfortable

Nice jacket fits perfect

December 19, 2021

Great looking, sturdy, comfortable, and warm

I am really enjoying this jacket, especially in cooler weather. It feels great and keeps me warm. I also like the large pockets. It is slightly large but that gives me mobility and room to layer up.

December 19, 2021

It's a great jacket but one little thing bugs me

The only problem is I've got an old Carhartt jacket that is somewhat similar to this and the outer zipper has metal teeth while the Patagonia jacket has plastic zipper teeth. I can understand that the flap would protect it but the contrast between a hefty metal zipper and plastic teeth just bugs me I guess.

December 18, 2021

So well made

Super product. Great sizing, so well made, great feel. Really like it a lot and environmentally friendly. Highly recommend.

December 18, 2021

Great Fit and Feel

Having only used this jacket for a month my thoughts on this jacket are that it fit my needs exactly. The hemp material is already broken in, it feels like i&#x27;ve owned this jacket for years. the interior lining is soft. it keeps you plenty warm in the cold and chill. i normally wear a Tall size so the extended length is really appreciated. only... Read More time will tell how this jacket will hold up but i wont be hanging it up anytime soon.

December 17, 2021

Not actually relaxed fit

I usually wear size L or XL, but sized down to a M based on the recommendations for this jacket. The jacket would fit great if I didn&#x27;t wear anything beneath it at all, but the sleeves are so tight that wearing even a T-shirt underneath it is ridiculous bc the shirtsleeves get really bunched up and uncomfortable beneath the jacket. Other than ... Read Morethe sleeves it actually fit really well, but they were so tight that if I did anything other than keep my arms resting by my sides, I felt very restricted. I also tried sizing up to the L, and the sleeves fit well, but were still quite snug for a relaxed fit work jacket, and the rest of the jacket swallowed me like a dress. It felt more like jumping three sizes than just one. I really like the look of this jacket and loved the feel of the material, but I ended up getting a jacket from another company that I honestly like less, but will actually be able to wear.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2021

Thank you Hunt, for your feedback on the fit of the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket. We're sorry to hear that neither the medium or the large ended up working for you. If you'd like to give a different jacket a try, we'd be happy to provide measurements should you ever need them. To do this, you'll want to reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

December 17, 2021

Rugged, yet stylish

Living in San Diego, this jacket isn&#x27;t needed most of the year, but it is more than enough and I am glad to have it. I wore it to a gathering where a friend, from Oaklahoma, who has everything (so I thought) commented how much he wanted one after trying it on. He may not have one now, but will soon. I can finally say, i found &quot;the perfe... Read Morect gift".

December 17, 2021

Warm and cozy, rugged

The coat lives up to my expectations. Among other considerations, I did not want to purchase a similar product made less expensive by undue destruction to the environment and use of essentially slave labor. I got that and a better jacket too. Another bonus, secure pockets: Details are all well attended to. I do wish there was a tall medium or simil... Read Morear size for people built like me (skinny, tall, and with long arms).

December 16, 2021

Fit Perfectly

I bought this for my husband it fit him perfectly! We only returned it because it was very warm, which we liked, but he already has a warm jacket for these months. We wanted to see how heavy the lining was and it just wasn&#x27;t exactly what we were looking for. However, it&#x27;s a lovely jacket and something we would have kept if it were a need.... Read More

December 14, 2021

Pretty solid

Im a mechanic by trade and own a small farm. I had been searching for a good carhartt style work jacket and figured i would give this one a shot. Overall i love the jacket, you guys make top of the line gear usually i am a small but had to exchange for an xs in this particular product because the midsection/chest had about 4 to 5 inches too much ro... Read Moreom, i guess they figure us blue collar boys are generally a bit more round haha. I DO like how warm and well built the jacket is and do not regret buying it at all, i would buy again in a heartbeat BUT i dont like the extra width in the torso compared to the length, the proportions are kinda weird. Also its not a deal breaker BUT the inner elastic cuff deal is kinda weird, makes it awkward when wearing a watch. But again these are minor details and i would buy again, plus its patagonia, their products are awesome and their customer service is even better!

December 12, 2021

The jacket I was looking for work.

Amazing jacket warm, flexible and looks good. Can ride a snowmobile and swing a hammer with it very easily.

December 12, 2021

Great style and fit - runs large

So glad I read the other reviews before ordering. Im 511, 165 with a slender build. I went with a small and it fits perfect. 20 years ago, I never had to question Patagonias sizing, but I always pause now with fishing related goods and other items. Kinda frustrating, but I sort of get it due to the mobility they expect the users to have in some of ... Read Morethese products. I do expect to work around the house in this jacket on brisk days, but itll be hard to be too rough on it with how great this jacket looks on around town. Im terms of warmth, Im not all that impressed. I was recently out in 45 degree weather with a heavy flannel underneath, and I was still pretty chilly. I could probably just use a little more fat on my bones, but I think I would have been just as warm in my nano jacket. Overall though, great job Patagonia. Appreciate the label being more muted too. I yearn for the day when all this obnoxious labels are minimized. I love Patagonia, but I always feel like Im wearing a damn badge on my chest.

December 12, 2021

My favorite jacket

I love this jacket. You can just feel it is heavier than a normal jacket. I&#x27;m guessing it&#x27;s the hemp and durability of the material. Super soft (not stiff) outer and it has a nice liner. I ordered a small, since the reviews said it runs large and am completely satisfied with the fit. I was able to wear a hoodie underneath and movement wit... Read Moreh the jacket did not feel restricted at all. It was warm in 30-degree temps while doing yard work. I am somewhat slim and love the quality of the jacket. The sleeves have a built-in knitted cuff which helps keep the cold out. The zipper is easy to use with gloves and felt like butter. The snaps help keep wind away from the zipper and the reinforced elbows will allow plenty of use. Overall it's a great jacket for cool/cold temps and the materials are great. Read the note about workwear at the bottom of the item. It will help you decide if you should choose a size smaller or not depending on your body style.

December 11, 2021

Warm

Heavy and durable

December 10, 2021

Nice jacket but too wide for me.

Im quite lean so the length was perfect but it was just too wide and bulky for me.

December 9, 2021

Terribly Odd Sizing

as others have mentioned, this thing is absolutely gigantic. very bad / odd fit. very boxy, enormous open arms, and fits about 2 sizes too large. i wear a M across the board in every brand and article of clothing with regards to tops / jackets / shirts. i am somewhat slender, but honestly average weight at 6&#x27;3&quot; and roughly 180lbs. this wa... Read Mores the worst fitting jacket i've tried. it seems of ok quality but i've no idea how anyone would ever size it correctly.

December 9, 2021

Nearly Perfect

This is shaping up to be a great work jacket for ranch, field and ranger work. Im three weeks into wearing this jacket for its intended purpose of fall to spring outdoor work in open spaces. The slightly loose torso fit is great for layering a long sleeve over a thermal with a vest as needed to regulate temperature swings from teens in the morning ... Read Moreto 30s by mid day. The hand pocket are generous and swallow electronic measuring tools while still allowing room for a hand to get out of the wind. I call it nearly perfect as there are two items Id modify if given the chance. First, Id open up the elastic a bit at the cuff as its tight on my size 11 hands, and Id add a double snap closure on the outer layer to accommodate various types of gloves. Second, a double ended zipper would be appreciated so when sitting on equipment the jacket wouldnt bunch up around the waist. My work around at the moment is to leave the zip open and use the top three buttons to close the front.

December 7, 2021

Sturdy and comfortable

Im 59 180 pounds and the Medium is perfect. Its a heavy jacket, not fitted, but super comfortable. I actually like the heft of the jacket. I can fit a T-shirt or hoody just fine underneath it. Its very warm, so I wouldnt plan on wearing it unless its around 40 F or below.

December 6, 2021

Great for work and casual wear

This jacket was fantastic from day one. Its amazingly comfortable and soft. No break in needed. Ive been working in freezing temperatures for construction and its been great. Roomy enough for layers. Pockets are good size to hold items but not too big to be flopping or get caught on things. The pencil slot is a favorite. I think I want another in t... Read Morehe dark color!

December 6, 2021

Very Warm

I really am enjoying this jacket. I'm on the bigger side, ~300 lbs, and this fits perfectly. The jacket falls right at my hips, the perfect length. The pockets are also huge. This is my first Patagonia purchase and I will definitely buy here again.

December 5, 2021

So far great jacket!

I read a lot of reviews on this jacket and most of them said they run large in size. So true. I ordered up based on these reviews and glad I did. I can wear layers underneath and shes the jacket through the day. Very pleased.

December 5, 2021

Best work coat out there

Material is just superior compared to the competition. After wearing carhartt for years Ill never go back. Material is softer and more flexible while being just as durable. Cuffs on the sleeves are way too tight. I cut them out because I wear a watch and dont like tight sleeves. Personal choice most people wont mind them. Its been a good work coat ... Read Morefor Michigan winter with a base layer and a heavy hoodie under. Sleeves are tapered so snug on the forearms when layering but still not to restricting. The black ink color is a deep grey. Beautiful coat. As it wears it lightens up. Zipper isnt some huge heavy duty metal zipper like on other brands. This is absolutely a plus. In freezing temp those big zippers cut into your chin. This is a nice smooth smaller ykk zipper. Sizing is large. Its made for layering. I wear large nano puff and medium in this coat is perfect and can still layer

December 2, 2021

If you want it to fit like the model, size down.

I&#x27;m 5.8 light build 160, ordered a small as I get in other Patagonia jackets without fail. But swam in it. And arms were annoyingly too long, and yet oddly tight? Extra length an annoyance when bending over. For a good fit/length with no layers size down. To layer with a hoodie like in the video, even sizing-up might be too tight on the arms. ... Read MoreJust saying...But plenty of room for layers in the mid section. I ended up sizing down to the XS and the fit is amazing! Coudn't be happier. Seems like ordering two and sending one back your best bet once you determine if you plan to layer or not. Hope this helps someone out there. Well made. Great detailing. Great material and aesthetic. Smooth lining allowing ease-of-movement inside while also insulated puts this jacket in an elite category.

November 29, 2021

Great work coat I can still wear out on date night

I&#x27;m 5&#x27;11&quot;, 155 lbs, wear 30/31 in Patagonia pants/shorts, wrist to wrist 59&quot;, 40 regular in a suit. Got the Ranch Jacket in a small. Fit is tailor perfect in shoulders and arms. There is plenty of room in the torso area to layer a down vest on wicked cold days. Alternatively, I could wear a thin sweater/sweatshirt but it can&#x2... Read More7;t be too thick otherwise arm movement would be restricted.

November 23, 2021

Great All Around Jacket

I was looking for a good canvas jacket and this was perfect. Canvas is softer and already has a broken in feel. The insulation is perfect for fall days. I've been wearing it everyday.

November 23, 2021

Great fit and feel!

Ive been looking for a multi use canvas jacket for 5+ years. After trying a few other brands I finally bought this jacket and I am very impressed! I work in agriculture so I have to be outside but I also need to look professional and this jacket is great for that. Insulation is very warm without being stuffy. Very glad I found this jacket and decid... Read Moreed to try it out... I will be buying more Patagonia clothing in the future!!!

November 23, 2021

Comfortable and well made

I am usually a large and definitely glad I listened to reviews that said size down to a medium. It is a heavy coat that feels well made and stays warm. The hemp canvas is soft and felt broken in right away.

November 22, 2021

Great coat... to a point

I love this coat and have from the moment I opened it and pulled it on. It feels solid, tough, and is warm. It does run large, so keep this in mind when ordering. So why only 3 stars if I love it? I found a hole in the pocket after a month, and not having put anything into the pockets except my hands. It&#x27;s not the end of the world, but for a c... Read Moreoat from Patagonia, and one that costs as much as this one does, it's a disappointment to have issues so soon, with so little wear and tear on it.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

Hi Paul, we're sorry to hear about the hole in your Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket. We’d be happy to help out with a complimentary repair. Feel free to begin your repair order here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

November 22, 2021

Its warm.

Not as warm as the other Patagonia insulated jackets.

November 21, 2021

Best Jacket Ive owned

Im 6ft 195...the jacket fits perfectly. I can fit a sweater underneath if i needed to. I got the blue one and it goes with anything. I've worn it a couple of times and had to take it off because i started to sweat. Super warm.

November 21, 2021

Needs improving

Like the cut , outside fabric, pockets. Cuffs are pretty tight for my hands. Dont like the slick plastic liner because it just radiates cold. Have to wear thin wool sweater or wool vest to keep warm. Not as warm as my wool coats. Use it when the work get really dirty or greasy.

November 18, 2021

Insanely comfortable

From reading the reviews I was excited for this jacket. Previous work jackets from other brands were stiff and uncomfortable when they were new and had a break in time. Not this one. Right out of the box this thing was soft and comfortable with a worn in feel. But this thing is still surprisingly tough! Im excited to see how it holds up. What other... Read More reviews say about the sizing is true. This coat runs large. I normally wear a large in Patagonia sizing but opted for a medium on this one and it was the right call.

November 14, 2021

Best coat I own

Best all around coat for fall and colder weather. Great flexibility and awesome that its hemp.

November 12, 2021

Perfect for the farm!!

I purchased this for my husband to support hemp production and processing We recently moved do the family farm. He LOVES everything anout the appearance, comfort and quality of this jacket.

November 11, 2021

Love the coat

As others have said, the sizing runs larger. 6'0" 190lbs and the medium fits perfectly. No break in necessary! Warm and perfect for fall weather!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches