Back to Product

Patagonia Hose-Down Slicker Jacket - Waterproof

Write Your Review

3.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 20 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Hose-Down Slicker Jacket - Waterproof

3.5/5
True To Size
May 4, 2021

No range of arm motion

I'm a commercial rod and reel fisherman and received this jacket as a gift. Im not the type of person to look a gift horse in the mouth, but I need to raise my hands above my head without restriction from the sleeves... after 2x exchanges I ended up with an XXL. Whoever designed the jacket has never worked a day at sea.

February 18, 2021

Not like I expected

This was a replacement of a lightweight pack able rain jacket that I loved for its fit and small packing space. Unfortunately it delaminated and needed replacement. All your jackets run smaller so I chose this one. It looks and feels LIKE A TENT! I have not worn it fishing yet. Based on the price I paid for the original one, I sure hope it will be ... Read Moreokay

February 17, 2021

Replacement rain jacket

Had a lightweight pack able rain jacket for fishing when it de laminated This was the closest to the fit my husband needed. Looks and feels like a TENT. havent worn it fishing yet hope he wont be disappointed

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

If for whatever reason your husband ends up being disappointed, you're welcome to send it back to us and [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can find you another option.

January 16, 2021

WORTH IT!

Fishing 160 days a year, its inevitable not to get caught in some foul weather. I grab the hose down slickers when its get nasty out!

December 26, 2020

Keeps Me Dry

After using Patagonia alpine gear for years but eventually getting wet when being in the rain for 8+ hours I decided to try these slickers. 35-40 degree rain storms went well ,the cuffs on the jacket and bibs get soaked through and transfer water to whatever is underneath so high boots are a must. The structure of the sleeves prevents this in the j... Read Moreacket but the fabric still appears waterlogged. I purchased a small jacket due to overall fit but the neck and jawline are a little tight ,a minor trade off but worth it in my case. These are very roomy ,made to wear over clothes ,but with no venting the buildup of heat/ condensation at low temps. with hard work is a problem for me. Wiping out the hood periodically helps with condensation accumulation. The venting problem and heat buildup I solved by just wearing base layer top and bottom , T-shirt and a neck gaiter. No pockets or interior access makes a chest pack necessary for gear storage, in my case a two way radio, blue tooth speaker, box cutter, pen marker, work keys and phone. The zipper should be a double one for interior access as well as venting while worn in warmer rain conditions. The snaps on the exterior storm flap are strong and allow the jacket to be worn open but fastened at the neck for comfort in warmer weather but are plastic and eventually will fail. That about covers it . Hope my insights are helpful.

December 8, 2020

Great Work Jacket

I bought this as a true waterproof jacket for work. I work for the Forest Service doing back country fisheries surveys in Montana and Idaho; my work requires backpacking into remote areas, lots of bushwhacking, and standing in rivers for 6-11 hours a day. Not only is it surprisingly light, but it's very waterproof and the most durable jacket I... Read More own. I usually go through a Goretex jacket every season due to how much bushwacking we do (and I'm pretty hard on my gear), but this jacket barely has a mark on it. I'm constantly sticking my hands in the water for surveys and the wrist gaskets do wonders for keeping the water out. I've stuck my arm in up to my shoulder multiple times on multiple surveys and barley any water gets through. I also like how minimalistic this jacket is. My only complaints with this jacket is that it is bulky for how light it is and it runs large. I'm 5'8", 160 lbs, and an athletic build; I bought a medium and it's huge on me even with a big puffy on underneath. The bulkiness can make backpacking with it a little annoying too. It also takes a while for the material to wear in. This makes sense with how durable it is, though. The good: Very light, very waterproof, insanely durable. The bad: Bulky for it's weight, runs large. Would I recommend to coworkers: Absolutely, best jacket I've found for the job.

November 30, 2020

Bulky, stiff, uncomfortable

Hoped this jacket would work for me, but sadly, it did not. Working as a landscaping pro, it felt too stiff, the collar too restrictive (thinking looking down while you work but having what felt like a stiff piece of cardboard poking you in the neck). The fit is pretty generous for extra layers, I imagine, but it was a bit much. Great fabric that f... Read Moreelt durable. Nice colors both the grey and orange.

December 17, 2019

It isn’t even waterproof

I work as a municipal arborist and do long days working in the rain. I was excited that Patagonia was making rain slickers. Now, I just feel ripped off. This thing is no more water resistant than a basic nylon rain jacket. What a rip off!

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2020

Hi Elias! Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear that this item did not work out for you. Please note, we are happy to accept [returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on any unsatisfactory Patagonia items. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

December 15, 2019

I've worn it in the

I've worn it in the rain for light work and it performed as expected. It's definitely an upgrade over the yellow poly rain slickers, but at the price it should be. Patagonia's guarantee was the motivation for paying extra. So far so good, I expect it to hold up much better than other work rain gear. The medium is a little tight in th... Read Moree shoulders; clearly more fitted than most work rain gear

November 14, 2019

I returned it.

I really wanted to like it and add it to my arsenal of favorite gear. The fit was weird. The hood covered my eyes.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Adam, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. The slicker is a relaxed fit and the hood is a little roomy but it does have a cinch on the back so you can adjust it. Nevertheless, we really appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future season. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

October 28, 2019

Just what i was looking for

I bought this for work. I am a carpenter in southern New England. I wore this all day in a Northeaster. Kept me bone dry. Very comfortable.

August 31, 2019

Add Vents like your Neoprene 80/90s

This jacket is good and would be better with vents along the chest and back. In the late 80’s or early 90’s during Patagonia anti Gore Tex phase I bought your rain jacket coated with neoprene on the inside. It had vents in front and back where the fabric overlapped. Wore it from hiking to ice climbing. Finally a couple of years ago the fabric gave ... Read Moreup.

August 12, 2019

Fishing gear.

Super lightweight and 100% rainproof. Love it and it is holding up great so far. Have always felt bad for using my Grundens that do the job but are so bad for the environment when made....

July 21, 2019

luv it

Have to agree with the others... if you want a tech fishing jacket buy the river salt or sst jacket.... this is a simple commercial style jacket and has just the right amount of extras.. adjustable internal cuffs.. and cinch hoodie. happy to see patagonia come out with this.

May 8, 2019

Hose Down Slicker and Bibs

I wanted a waterproof jacket for tropical ocean sailing and the Hose Down IS waterproof. (Breathable jackets are NOT waterproof when the fabric becomes saturated with saltwater.) The problem with the Hose Down is that the cut and hand of the fabric makes it feel like I am wearing a tarp. I am not looking for style in my rain gear but the Hose Down ... Read Morehas absolutely no fit whatsoever. And a pocket would have been cool. It doesn’t work for me, but I’m not giving up. I will find a truly waterproof jacket in the Patagonia line that keeps me dry on the ocean and doesn’t feel like I am wrapped up in a trash bag.

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment with the design. If you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), we'd be happy to assist you with that process.

May 8, 2019

Slicker Jacket

The purchase of the Slicker Jacket was a big hit with my colleagues since they had not seem such a functional jacket. Patagonia is always at the fore front of style and functionality of their products. Great purchase.

April 16, 2019

Fantastic jacket...

Commercial fisherman love this jacket. There were never any claims by Patagonia that is was going to breathe. It's TPU Laminate! Spend 3 times as much for Gore-Tex if you want it to breathe. This is a tough workingmans's jacket and that's what it claims to be.

April 11, 2019

workwear?

no pit zips/ventilation or pockets??? It's 2019 patagucci........

March 15, 2019

Epic jacket.

I use this for fishing and escorting outrigger canoe races in Hawaii. Epic jacket. Thank you Patagonia for coming out with this style!!! Only thing is that the size runs large. I cant remember if it says unisex, but I also got a small for my wife. She is 5'7" and it is WAY too big for her.

March 9, 2019

Get bigger

I recently wore this gear commercial fishing. It is great for rain and wind but, unfortunately it doesn't breathe. You end up very moist inside the garment. Also, the sizing may be on the small side,at least for the jacket. I would recommend a size larger and the bib sizing seems fine. I would recommend these for someone looking to keep the he... Read Moreavy rains and winds away.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches