burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Hose-Down Slicker Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

3.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Hose-Down Slicker Jacket - Waterproof

3.4/5
Kinda Large
January 22, 2023

Rain coat

If youre looking for a basic shell this is for you. It is very crunchy and stiff.

January 4, 2023

like wearing a stiff garbage bag

Not the greatest product- fit is way too large, and the fabric is very stiff and noisy. Needs a few pockets.

December 26, 2022

Awful material

I thought this coat was the perfect rain coat for my husband, however we literally laughed out loud when we took it out of the box. The material looked like a stiff garbage bag. There was no way he would ever wear this!

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2023

Hi Sarah, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We're sorry this jacket wasn't what you or your husband had expected! It's actually not designed to be a rain coat, but rather a protective and waterproof shell for people who need work gear that can be hosed down when it gets dirty, like commercial fishermen. For a raincoat better suited to regular use, you would probably be happier with something like the [Torrentshell Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-torrentshell-3l-rain-jacket/85241.html?dwvar_85241_color=BLK&cgid=root). Please let us know if we can help with that return, or in finding an alternative!

December 24, 2022

The construction material used proved

The construction material used proved difficult to use and adjust as it was very stiff and lacked compliance. I had to take off my gloves to make adjustments and line up and operate the zippers and snaps. Uncomfortable to wear.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

We're sorry to hear that our slicker was uncomfortable and difficult to operate with dexterity. We encourage you to return it to the Patagonia-owned store in your area or contact our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help get that back from you under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). Thanks for taking a moment to review it, Thomas!

December 5, 2022

Unbreakable Jacket

This jacket is probably made of chain mail. It is so burly! I got it as an end all to rain - the most waterproof jacket I own and can do serious work in Always great to have the correct equipment

December 5, 2022

just so so

TPU material is like wearing a stiff trash bag. Does the job of keeping me dry but its fit is ridiculously baggy. Also, the material is a miss. I get that you tried a version that isn't as bad for the earth as PVC but PVC works and this doesn't and so probably better to have the worse material for a jacket that gets used and is valued vs ... Read Morethis one which didn't deliver on the value it promised. I get its supposed to go over layers and my bibs but come on Patagucci - you missed on this one!

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

Thank you so much for writing this review, David. We also want to extend our sincere apologies about the troubles you've had with this jacket. Please know you are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this product at any time as we want all of our customers to be completely satisfied with their Patagonia items.

November 22, 2022

Not Gortex - Doesnt Breathe and Doesnt Keep You Warm

Wore this as a shell, and yes in a torrential rain storm, in the middle of spring this is a great jacket, it is like wearing a plastic bag, you will get sweaty underneath, and in the cold weather you will feel it every inch... even over a down puffer of varying sizes...this is not a shell for winter..its a fishing jacket like on a lobster boat not ... Read Morethe creek, maybe for spring...not summer, you will roast, not fall or winter you will freeze..would like pockets...but those are extra I guess...also runs very big...dont oversize...

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are also very sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with this jacket. Please know you are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) an item as we want our customers to be completely satisfied with the items they purchase.

November 12, 2022

Great water protection

I bought this for farm/ranch work in the PNW. It gives me the waterproofness I need to work in the rain in comfort. It reminds me of light foul weather gear for sailing. It runs large so I sized down to a medium. I'm 6.3. An outside pocket would be great for future models.

September 24, 2022

Good for commercial fishing

I've used this top for two seasons commercial fishing in Alaska, both in Bristol Bay and halibut long-lining and purse-seining in southeast. Previously I've used Guy Cotton and Grundens and have to say I prefer the Patagonia for the lightweight, waterproof, and durable material. I've seen some of the previously mentioned fishing bran... Read Moreds blow out within a few months of hard fishing and happy to say the Patagonia slicker has held up very well. On the downside, I've found the zipper does let water in down the front when piling gear on the seiner. Other brands have a double flange on the inside and outside of the zipper that helps repel water on the inside. Otherwise very waterproof in all other applications. Selfishly I'd like to see a 'long and tall' option that was narrower in the chest and longer in the arms. I 'm 6'4" and found my gloves pulled past the cuffs when extending my arms to reach. The coat seems extra wide and a little short. I did not go for the bibs for the same reason, found them too wide in the legs which can be dangerous when baggy, excess material can get caught in winches and lines. Also would be nice to see a mechanism to keep the hood pulled back. I found I have to always wear a billed hat to hold the top of the hood from hanging down in front of my eyes. Overall, I think it's a good coat and I would recommend to others looking at it for commercial fishing.

September 12, 2022

Great step into the world of wet, Patagonia.

This is a great first crack at slicks. Ive done more than ten seasons in Alaska and have worn Grundens, Healy Hanson and no-name rain gear. This jacket is sweet! Ive worn it fishing, as a warmup over my wetsuit for surfing and just working around the property. Some thoughts: -Lightweight and compressible yet WAY more waterproof than goretex. Ive r... Read Moreead some of the other reviews. Note that this is NOT for active pursuits! Wear it over warm layers as foulies. -nicely sized. Im 5 10 and the small fits great. Good, loose fit for fishing. Cons: -Soaks through, especially around wrists. I recommend just wearing some goretex underneath. This is a worthwhile payoff in my opinion for the lightness. -wrist gaskets could be burlier. I hope on the next gen, Patagonia can use some thicker recycled wetsuit materials to make them a little less flimsy and more water resistant.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2022

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback! For [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) on this slicker, we recommend machine wash cold on a gentle cycle with mild detergent, then hang to air dry naturally. We hope this helps to keep it in good condition for years to come. If you have any issues with it, please reach out to our Customer Service team, as your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. Thanks for the review, Andrew!

September 9, 2022

Rugged and absolutely waterproof for power washing

I have not used this jacket yet but look forward to the next power washing job I use it for. I am replacing a goretex jacket that got soaked through after some time. I imagine this one will be sweaty on the inside but not as wet as my previous jackets got. This jacket is really well built and the orange colour even looks sharp ;)

August 17, 2022

Nice and dry

I got this jacket for an 11 day Tatshenshini River trip in Canada/SE Alaska. It was great, kept me dry on a day that rained 4". This is not a tech jacket but a hardcore rain jacket but it is lighter weight than traditional rubber rain suits. That said, it's no frills with no pockets. Rubber wrist gaskets are a nice addition but they could... Read More have been a little tighter. It runs slightly large but that allows you to wear other things underneath comfortably. I'd recommend it if you are going where it rains!

August 16, 2022

Fantastic product for what it is designed to do.

It's interesting to me that there are so many negative reviews for this raingear. I have both the slicker top and the bib bottoms and they are perfect for me. I work as an expedition river guide in Canada and Alaska. Wind driven, heavy rain is not uncommon and when those storms hit, regular rain gear won't cut it. Even the best quality ac... Read Moretivity oriented rain gear is going to fail after a couple of hours or less. The only thing that's really going to perform in those conditions is heavy duty rain gear like the Hose Down Slicker. The slicker and bibs are easy to pull on over rubber boots and multiple layers of bulky clothing. Once they're on, they keep me dry indefinitely. That's why I bought them. I don't need pockets which could create potential failure points. I don't need the gear to stretch. I don't need it to be form fit. I just need it to keep me dry. Being oversized by design, they allow me to move okay inside the gear even if it doesn't move that well with me. And as funny as it sounds, the oversized nature actually allows my body to breath in a way that a totally waterproof garment like this wouldn't if it fit too closely. The neoprene cuffs are great too because they keep water from running down my sleeves when I'm rowing a raft in the rain. I've used mine for two seasons and it's holding up well. But now that I think about it, I'm going to order a second slicker and bib to stow away for the future just in case Patagonia discontinues the product somewhere down the line.

April 17, 2022

Not functional.

The jacket is super cool. Super hip. Super functional. The tech fabric is very interesting and durable. All of that said Im returning both jackets. Why you might ask - it has NO POCKETS. Wheres that guy it the catalog gonna put his knife? Every serious fisherman needs one. Id love to hear your feedback on this.

April 10, 2022

Wet Weather Farm Protection

I've used this jacket for wet weather farm work for 1 year now ... this has worked out to a handfull of deluge days driving a tractor and shoveling compost or just moving between greenhouses and hauling whatever there is to move, as well more mild wet weather days. I can give this jacket a solid 5 stars for wet protection, mobility, and durabi... Read Morelity. My only complaints are twofold: 1) The structure of the hood, which on my jacket at least is tall and gives a conehead appearance that does not fit comfortably over hats/headwear and limits peripheral vision since the hood does not move with the head. This could certainly be impoved. 2) No pockets. One internal pocket for phone or whatever would improve practicality immensely. I'd say add pocket to the jacket and the bibs and we're good to go. Otherwise very pleased. The weight relative to other slickers out there makes this jacket + bib way more comfortable to work in and the durability has been great. All around good product I recommend. Patagonia, please improve and keep this jacket on the market for all the hardworking folk out there.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2022

Thank you so much for this detailed feedback, Lee! This will be most helpful to our product development team.

March 24, 2022

Stiff as a board

I work as a carpenter in Seattle and need good rain gear. I really had high hopes for this Slicker jacket. But I had to return it. Material was stiff as a board. Every movement was so loud it sounded like banging sheet metal trash can. The hood was poor fitting sticking up 6 above my head. I expected better from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Patrick. We're very sorry to hear this slicker jacket wasn't right for your needs. Please let us know if we can help you find something that will work better for you!

March 17, 2022

Cool design

Of all the Patagonia gear I have, I may wear this with the pants more than anything. I have a farm and when things have to get done in nasty weather, I throw this on. Also use it for fishing and oyster harvesting. Comfortable, water right, easily washed off, and durable. What else can you say? Worth the money, no question.

February 23, 2022

Keeps one dry

I am a crew and ski coach who finds myself out in cold, wet weather regularly. This jacket is perfect and has plenty of room for someone of my stature to layer underneath it. Just a heads up, it has no outside pockets.

February 5, 2022

Too big and stiff

Im a vegetable farmer and was hoping this would be my new harvest jacket. While Im sure itd keep me dry, it is way too big, very bulky and the checked pattern is much more prominent than Id like. I hope Patagonia can make a workwear jacket appropriately sized for women (or regular sized humans) sometime soon.

December 20, 2021

AWESOME QUALITY!

I LOVE this jacket! It is comfortable, keeps me warm and dry and is of great quality! Thanks for making such a great product!

November 30, 2021

Almost Perfect

Really great lightweight rain suit. Very good abrasion resistance after first year of service. The inside of the hood will destroy your ears in cold weather if they are not covered, knitted hats to cover the ears is a must. The addition of a napoleon pocket would make this rain slicker unbeatable.

November 2, 2021

Humongous

This is huge for a size small. I was swimming in it. Honestly pretty disappointed Patagonia hasnt made this into more smaller people/female sizes. I work on boats and it is difficult to find workwear that properly fits me as a woman, I was really hoping for something better from Patagonia. Other than that the materials are great and its very light.... Read More Just disappointed with the lack of more extensive sizing.

October 27, 2021

Like getting assaulted by a tarp

Got the tops and bottoms for construction work in the rain, went through one exchange from a medium to a small (I'm 5-11!) and it still felt like I was drowning in a sea of nylon. There was no way I was going to be able to work construction in this gear. The material is awesome, and the concept is great, but please please please redesign the f... Read Moreit so that wearing it doesn't make you feel like a flag flapping in the wind!!!

October 14, 2021

Less is more

The Hose-Down Slicker Jacket has no extras which means I stay drier. Less water gets in because there are no pit zips or pockets. The jacket is nicely oversized which allows me to comfortably layer under it.

September 2, 2021

Waterproof,but large

I bought these to replace my heavy duty vinyl rain gear that was too cumbersome. These definitely keep the water out and the lighter weight makes moving around way easier. But they are sized way too big. I bought a small, being 5'6" and have had to hem the pants with duct tape about 4" to keep from tripping on them. The small jacket ... Read Moreis a bit large, but manageable.

May 4, 2021

No range of arm motion

I'm a commercial rod and reel fisherman and received this jacket as a gift. Im not the type of person to look a gift horse in the mouth, but I need to raise my hands above my head without restriction from the sleeves... after 2x exchanges I ended up with an XXL. Whoever designed the jacket has never worked a day at sea.

February 18, 2021

Not like I expected

This was a replacement of a lightweight pack able rain jacket that I loved for its fit and small packing space. Unfortunately it delaminated and needed replacement. All your jackets run smaller so I chose this one. It looks and feels LIKE A TENT! I have not worn it fishing yet. Based on the price I paid for the original one, I sure hope it will be ... Read Moreokay

February 17, 2021

Replacement rain jacket

Had a lightweight pack able rain jacket for fishing when it de laminated This was the closest to the fit my husband needed. Looks and feels like a TENT. havent worn it fishing yet hope he wont be disappointed

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

If for whatever reason your husband ends up being disappointed, you're welcome to send it back to us and [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can find you another option.

January 16, 2021

WORTH IT!

Fishing 160 days a year, its inevitable not to get caught in some foul weather. I grab the hose down slickers when its get nasty out!

December 26, 2020

Keeps Me Dry

After using Patagonia alpine gear for years but eventually getting wet when being in the rain for 8+ hours I decided to try these slickers. 35-40 degree rain storms went well ,the cuffs on the jacket and bibs get soaked through and transfer water to whatever is underneath so high boots are a must. The structure of the sleeves prevents this in the j... Read Moreacket but the fabric still appears waterlogged. I purchased a small jacket due to overall fit but the neck and jawline are a little tight ,a minor trade off but worth it in my case. These are very roomy ,made to wear over clothes ,but with no venting the buildup of heat/ condensation at low temps. with hard work is a problem for me. Wiping out the hood periodically helps with condensation accumulation. The venting problem and heat buildup I solved by just wearing base layer top and bottom , T-shirt and a neck gaiter. No pockets or interior access makes a chest pack necessary for gear storage, in my case a two way radio, blue tooth speaker, box cutter, pen marker, work keys and phone. The zipper should be a double one for interior access as well as venting while worn in warmer rain conditions. The snaps on the exterior storm flap are strong and allow the jacket to be worn open but fastened at the neck for comfort in warmer weather but are plastic and eventually will fail. That about covers it . Hope my insights are helpful.

December 8, 2020

Great Work Jacket

I bought this as a true waterproof jacket for work. I work for the Forest Service doing back country fisheries surveys in Montana and Idaho; my work requires backpacking into remote areas, lots of bushwhacking, and standing in rivers for 6-11 hours a day. Not only is it surprisingly light, but it's very waterproof and the most durable jacket I... Read More own. I usually go through a Goretex jacket every season due to how much bushwacking we do (and I'm pretty hard on my gear), but this jacket barely has a mark on it. I'm constantly sticking my hands in the water for surveys and the wrist gaskets do wonders for keeping the water out. I've stuck my arm in up to my shoulder multiple times on multiple surveys and barley any water gets through. I also like how minimalistic this jacket is. My only complaints with this jacket is that it is bulky for how light it is and it runs large. I'm 5'8", 160 lbs, and an athletic build; I bought a medium and it's huge on me even with a big puffy on underneath. The bulkiness can make backpacking with it a little annoying too. It also takes a while for the material to wear in. This makes sense with how durable it is, though. The good: Very light, very waterproof, insanely durable. The bad: Bulky for it's weight, runs large. Would I recommend to coworkers: Absolutely, best jacket I've found for the job.

November 30, 2020

Bulky, stiff, uncomfortable

Hoped this jacket would work for me, but sadly, it did not. Working as a landscaping pro, it felt too stiff, the collar too restrictive (thinking looking down while you work but having what felt like a stiff piece of cardboard poking you in the neck). The fit is pretty generous for extra layers, I imagine, but it was a bit much. Great fabric that f... Read Moreelt durable. Nice colors both the grey and orange.

December 17, 2019

It isn’t even waterproof

I work as a municipal arborist and do long days working in the rain. I was excited that Patagonia was making rain slickers. Now, I just feel ripped off. This thing is no more water resistant than a basic nylon rain jacket. What a rip off!

Response from Patagonia
January 9, 2020

Hi Elias! Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear that this item did not work out for you. Please note, we are happy to accept [returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on any unsatisfactory Patagonia items. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

December 15, 2019

I've worn it in the

I've worn it in the rain for light work and it performed as expected. It's definitely an upgrade over the yellow poly rain slickers, but at the price it should be. Patagonia's guarantee was the motivation for paying extra. So far so good, I expect it to hold up much better than other work rain gear. The medium is a little tight in th... Read Moree shoulders; clearly more fitted than most work rain gear

November 14, 2019

I returned it.

I really wanted to like it and add it to my arsenal of favorite gear. The fit was weird. The hood covered my eyes.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Adam, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. The slicker is a relaxed fit and the hood is a little roomy but it does have a cinch on the back so you can adjust it. Nevertheless, we really appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future season. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

October 28, 2019

Just what i was looking for

I bought this for work. I am a carpenter in southern New England. I wore this all day in a Northeaster. Kept me bone dry. Very comfortable.

August 31, 2019

Add Vents like your Neoprene 80/90s

This jacket is good and would be better with vents along the chest and back. In the late 80’s or early 90’s during Patagonia anti Gore Tex phase I bought your rain jacket coated with neoprene on the inside. It had vents in front and back where the fabric overlapped. Wore it from hiking to ice climbing. Finally a couple of years ago the fabric gave ... Read Moreup.

August 12, 2019

Fishing gear.

Super lightweight and 100% rainproof. Love it and it is holding up great so far. Have always felt bad for using my Grundens that do the job but are so bad for the environment when made....

July 21, 2019

luv it

Have to agree with the others... if you want a tech fishing jacket buy the river salt or sst jacket.... this is a simple commercial style jacket and has just the right amount of extras.. adjustable internal cuffs.. and cinch hoodie. happy to see patagonia come out with this.

May 8, 2019

Hose Down Slicker and Bibs

I wanted a waterproof jacket for tropical ocean sailing and the Hose Down IS waterproof. (Breathable jackets are NOT waterproof when the fabric becomes saturated with saltwater.) The problem with the Hose Down is that the cut and hand of the fabric makes it feel like I am wearing a tarp. I am not looking for style in my rain gear but the Hose Down ... Read Morehas absolutely no fit whatsoever. And a pocket would have been cool. It doesn’t work for me, but I’m not giving up. I will find a truly waterproof jacket in the Patagonia line that keeps me dry on the ocean and doesn’t feel like I am wrapped up in a trash bag.

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment with the design. If you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), we'd be happy to assist you with that process.

May 8, 2019

Slicker Jacket

The purchase of the Slicker Jacket was a big hit with my colleagues since they had not seem such a functional jacket. Patagonia is always at the fore front of style and functionality of their products. Great purchase.

April 16, 2019

Fantastic jacket...

Commercial fisherman love this jacket. There were never any claims by Patagonia that is was going to breathe. It's TPU Laminate! Spend 3 times as much for Gore-Tex if you want it to breathe. This is a tough workingmans's jacket and that's what it claims to be.

April 11, 2019

workwear?

no pit zips/ventilation or pockets??? It's 2019 patagucci........

March 15, 2019

Epic jacket.

I use this for fishing and escorting outrigger canoe races in Hawaii. Epic jacket. Thank you Patagonia for coming out with this style!!! Only thing is that the size runs large. I cant remember if it says unisex, but I also got a small for my wife. She is 5'7" and it is WAY too big for her.

March 9, 2019

Get bigger

I recently wore this gear commercial fishing. It is great for rain and wind but, unfortunately it doesn't breathe. You end up very moist inside the garment. Also, the sizing may be on the small side,at least for the jacket. I would recommend a size larger and the bib sizing seems fine. I would recommend these for someone looking to keep the he... Read Moreavy rains and winds away.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches