Back to Product

Patagonia Men's City Storm Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 65 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's City Storm Down Parka

4.4/5
True To Size
December 1, 2021

Might not be for everyone

Keeps me really warm, I have to get to work early and it's usually in the 50°s in the morning. Very comfortable. Except apparently I'm allergic to it. I started getting itchy and developed a rash a week after wearing it.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hello Gestre, we are terribly sorry to learn of your reaction to the jacket. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. If you are allergic to down, a synthetic insulated option such as the Men's Isthmus Parka or Men's DAS Parka.

November 17, 2021

Warm, Sleek, but not Functional

The pockets in this jacket do not comfortably fit your hands, as they must go in through the top. This means my hands are either freezing or I have my wrists at an awkward angle while walking.

November 3, 2021

Nice coat but a couple of things to note.

I have been wearing this jacket for a while now and applaud how well made it is. Everything about the code feels like it will last a long time. I'm a big fan of the magnetic snaps on the pockets. The pocket orientation is fine with me, however others have noted the preference for a side entry hand warmer pocket. Not an issue for me. I do have ... Read Morea couple of issues. First, this is not an overly warm jacket. I find I need layers on cold days. Second, the sleeves just start very long. I'm 6'3 and wearing a large, and I just can't understand why the sleeves aren't an inch longer. If you're a long-armed gentleman, be advised. I also find the body of the jacket to be slightly bulky. I have an athletic fit and wish it was just a little bit slimmer. All together, this is a great jacket to own, but if you really like your sleeves long or your body more fitted might not be the perfect jacket for you.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

Hello Derek! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the length of the sleeves and the bulky feel of the jacket. We appreciate these comments as its feedback like this that helps us improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you find that you're unhappy with the jacket you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 9, 2021

Great coat

Really solid coat that functions as advertised and looks great. So far I have worn it in snow and rain and stayed warm and dry.

March 8, 2021

Bulletproof for weather, Hood has some challenges

The coat fit is fantastic and you feel like a tortoise in its shell whenever you encounter inclement weather, protected, dry, and warm. Other reviews mentioned the vertical pockets' "awkward fit," but that's overblown. An angle would be better but I have had little problem with them. The chest pockets are a great changeup as wel... Read Morel. There are only two real frustrations with the coat, both are with the hood. The hood brim pokes you in the back of the head when not in use, which can feel like having too tall of a collar, but it's manageable. I'd rather have the brim when I need it rather than get rid of the feature. When wearing the hood it's hard to hold a conversation because the hood muffles all sound. Again, it's manageable.

March 8, 2021

Perfect fit and warmth

This feels like the perfect winter coat here in North Carolina. I use this for my 30 min walking commute and walking my dog. It keeps me 100% dry and warm on the coldest days. When it is slightly warmer, I wear it open and I never get too hot. The only complaint I have is that it has no easy pockets for my hands to rest in. The top pockets are a bi... Read Moret too high and the bottom let the water in if I used them. I wish it had side zip pockets on the bottom too. Otherwise I am very satisfied.

March 7, 2021

Great cold weather coat!

Fits well and keeps me warm when outside for extended periods. The mid-thigh length also helps to stay warm. I miss having side entry hand warming pockets though.

March 4, 2021

Shortcomings

What really surprised me was the color. The description on the website, color shown on the website, YouTube video showed a darker grey color. However, what arrived was very light grey, that is contrary to information provided prior to purchase. In addition, the amount of feathers did not seem enough to withstand the colder temperatures. The parka a... Read Morelso gave a very loud strange sound during wear, probably due to outer fabric specifics. Overall, the product did not meet expectations. However, customer service was absolutely amazing. And I will be a repeat customer for other items. Thank you, Nick

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you so much for this valuable feedback, Nick. We're glad that you were helped out already, let us know if you need any additional assistance and always feel free to reach out with any questions, color descriptions, or specs before purchasing in the future!

March 4, 2021

My second Patagonia jacket

This jacket has less puffery than my previous Patagonia purchase, but is just as warm. It came squished in a little box, but the wrinkles disappeared after a couple days of wear. Love it!

March 4, 2021

Disappointed

I bought this parka for my disabled son to use on long winter walks during the pandemic. First off, as you would expect from Patagonia, the quality of the materials and construction are superb. However, the sleeves are short and narrow leading to compressed down and cold arms. There really isnt room to add layers. A wider, longer sleeve with a sto... Read Morerm cuff would be better. As other reviewers have noted, the hood is too small. With a stocking cap on it barely covers half your head and constantly slides back. We've had it outside in 0 F but had to head in after twenty minutes due to the shortcomings. This parka might work for commuters in mild winter but not here up north.

March 1, 2021

Very warm, great hood.

This coat fits me great, but Im a bit thin. Im 6 feet even, and weigh 160, and wear 32 waist Levis. I couldnt wear a thinner cut coat than this. The collar-hood fit is great. I never need a scarf or neck gaiter. When out walking in sub 20 degrees weather, I wear a wool hat under the lightly insulated hood. The hand warmer pockets should have side... Read More entry. They are top entry with flaps .

February 28, 2021

Warm and light

This is an excellent coat that offers tons of warmth for the weight. I'm 6' 2'' and 170 lbs, and the M fits well. I struggle to get other Patagonia coats to fit, because the L is always to bulky and the M too short. This one fits me perfectly. My only complaint is that the coat lacks side-entry pockets. The front pockets are fin... Read Moree for phone, wallet, etc., but I find it awkward to warm my hands in them. I find this to be a bizarre oversight, but the coat is fantastic in every other way.

February 28, 2021

Perfect three quarter jacket!

Very warm......not too heavy and comfortable jacket.....not bulgy! Color gray is perfect! I prefer a jacket that is longer.....this is perfect! Great deep pockets.....I can. Zipper jacket or snap....highly recommend this jacket...

February 28, 2021

Perfect!

I was looking for a thigh-length jacket that was water repellent and warm. This parka is ideal. Its not heavy though its warm. I comfortably wear a t-shirt only and head out in temps below 25 and its ideal. And its been great in rain. Its a comfortable snug fit for me (56, 160lbs). Hood is also a nice fit - not loose or too tight. I love everything... Read More I own from Patagonia though I usually dont splurge because I can find a comparable product for significantly less. In this case, there was a sale and I know that I wouldnt find anything that would match in terms of quality.

February 27, 2021

Plenty Warm

Plenty warm for PA winters, protects from wind. Sheds water and keeps you dry. Great length for long periods out & about. Only knock is the vertical pockets are awkward, but I'll get used to them.

February 26, 2021

awesome

easily the best winter coat i've ever owned. Well designed and well made. Can handle anything new england winter's throw at it

February 25, 2021

Fabulous Parka

Super happy with this purchase, as I am with anything I have bought from you guys (and Gals). Coat fits well and is very warm. Would not change a thing.

February 25, 2021

Nice Update

My first parka is from 1993/1994 the Guide Shell. This hood is not as good but the H2No is absolutely amazing. Warm enough, for city/suburbs. If you are not on the move this may not be enough as a single layer. For me its great a a single layer parka, Id size up if you got long arms, wide shoulders and need to layer up. So Far I love it. The hood w... Read Moreill hopefully lay flat in the days to come. Stop reading and but it already . . .

February 25, 2021

Super Warm and Versatile

This parka is the best I've ever owned. It is so warm especially for being outside for long periods of time on cold Vermont days. Vermont has had several days below 0 F since I bought this parka and with some gloves and the hood pulled up, I was completely toasty. The pull strings for tightening in the waist, hood, and bottom are really helpfu... Read Morel for keeping the wind out. I've used it to be active and to sit/stand still in below 0F temps and felt totally fine. Definitely a great buy.

February 25, 2021

Toasty coat.

Finally - a warm functional parka that isnt boxy and has a hood for a head, not a helmet! This parka is well worth the money and fits perfectly over a layer. Just went through -5° in Wisconsin with no complaints. Can be worn to walk or for work. Might consider it for skiing, but not climbing. Double zipper is appreciated and Im not sure why its not... Read More on all longer coats. Well done!

February 24, 2021

Stays warm in any temperature

Extremely pleased with this purchase. This coat kept me super warm in even below zero temperatures. It fits great and would buy it again.

February 24, 2021

Not the warmest but looks sharp.

It looks great but by no means its super warm. I live in NJ and work in NYC. You would never go out wearing just this in NYC cold. You will freeze. I have to put on a woolen sweater layer or something similar to feel cozy. I had the 2004 Model of the commuter parka which was a lot heavier than this new model. Id say for the price of 350 it should f... Read Moreeel a little heavier than this. The real pro is it looks awesome for a city commuter coat.

February 24, 2021

Like a hug on a cold winter day

I got this jacket just before a month of snow in NYC and it was a lifesaver. Ive literally worn it everyday. The down is padded and soft and still fits nice even on a tall guy like myself. The sleeves could be an INCH longer but otherwise zero complaints. I was ready to invest in a pricey winter jacket I could wear forever and this was the ticket!

February 22, 2021

Great stylish parka

Really happy I got this parka. I live in Chicago and it's made this winter's arctic weather totally manageable. It's very warm and keeps out the wind, rain, and snow. When it's in the teens or colder and I'm going to be outside for a while I'll usually wear a sweater underneath, but most of the time I can get away with... Read More throwing this on over a shirt. My biggest hesitation before buying this was the pockets, but turns out the drop-in style isn't so bad. Nothing falls out of them and they're at the right spot for putting your hands in. My one big wish is that the pockets were insulated like the rest of the jacket. The soft inner lining of the pockets is nice but not very warm so you have to wear gloves if it's freezing. The rest of the pockets are great. The hood is very snug, maybe a touch too small but overall good. I haven't had any problems with feathers poking out. The owl brown color looks just like the photos, great in person. Overall, I definitely recommend, especially for city wear. I wanted a stylish and warm parka and this delivers. I like that it has a minimal look and isn't covered in bulky pockets. Great parka!

February 21, 2021

Good fit, very warm

Hi... I don't usually write reviews but to safe folks time on the sizing... I'm 5'9" and 150 pounds... based on reading other reviews, I ordered a S. It was definitely too small and I had to return it for a M. The medium is a great fit for me. I'm also very happy with the coat -- warm, good pockets, good hood -- it's j... Read Moreust what I needed for cold winter walks in new england.

February 17, 2021

Taking on Chicago's winter like a champ

I wanted a jacket that would keep me warm in Chicago's nasty winters without being too bulky, and after the last three weeks of single digit temps (with wind chills around -10) this jacket has been fantastic... I am someone who runs cold so I always layer up; however, when taking our dog on 20 minute walks I am completely warm wearing only a t... Read More-shirt underneath this jacket, as my arms and torso never get cold. I had some pause before buying because some of the other reviews said it keeps them warm in 20 degree weather, but this has no problem down to 0 degree temps too. I would recommend this to anyone.

January 31, 2021

A Forever Jacket

I have been searching for a jacket that I could keep forever and I really did my research before I purchased this coat. I love the deep front pockets and the chest pockets. Not only does the material look nice but its also good quality! Overall I would for sure recommend this jacket to anyone who is looking for a forever coat!

January 25, 2021

Best jacket Ive ever owned

This coat is easily the warmest coat that Ive ever owned. I have 2 other patagonia down jackets (I dont remember which models they are but at least one, if not both, are the down sweater jacket) and this is easily much much warmer than either one of them. I go to school at the notoriously windy and cold Bowling Green state university and this jacke... Read Moret works phenomenally. Temperatures often trickle down into the single digits and occasionally negative Fahrenheit with windchill and this jacket has never left me feeling cold. I only have one minor gripe and that would be with the cuffs. I wish that they were elastic storm cuffs of some kind because I find that if youre not wearing gloves or mittens, you occasionally find your wrists getting a little cold from drafts of wind getting up there. Other than that I love this jacket. The front entry pockets with the magnetic closure is brilliant especially when wearing gloves as you dont need to fidget with a zipper or take your gloves off to get your hands in. I cannot emphasize enough how warm this jacket is even when worn with minimal layering underneath. Very much worth the price.

January 3, 2021

Keeps you dry and warm!

Bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband, its awesome!

January 2, 2021

Perfect!

My son who is 6ft 5in was in search for a warm, longer jacket. This one is perfect! I researched so many other brands and am so happy I decided on this one. He weighs 230lbs and the fit allows for layering if necessary. I would highly recommend this jacket!

December 29, 2020

Great style and warmth

Living in Chicago near the lake means winters get cold, so I wanted a jacket with good form and function, and have been happy with the City Storm Down Parka. It's not singularly going to provide protection with -30F wind chills, but I can layer it with a thick sweater and it gets pretty damn close -- wearing it with a t-shirt in the past month... Read More's ~20F temps has felt fine, with no problems. I'd absolutely recommend this jacket.

December 25, 2020

Great everyday functional parka

Perfect for everyday use or light hiking. At first it seemed like a very thin parka but after the down settled it filled out nicely. It's very lightweight but will block a lot of wind and protect you from the elements, huge plus. As a photographer who likes to spend time out in the elements during the winter months, I've found this to be ... Read Morea favorable piece of equipment for it's functionality and simplicity. The two way zipper is great for quick access without having to take your parka completely off. The side pockets are magnetic with warm felt lining - another plus for functionality and simplicity. I also like the length as it stops right at mid thigh level. The hood also will completely protect you from the elements and keep you warm. There are draw strings throughout for making adjustments.

December 19, 2020

Great Winter Coat

I bought this parka last year after trying on dozens of coats in many different stores. I actually bought the Frozen Range first and after 1 day, I had to return it, was to warm for walking around NYC. If you plan on going to Antartica, buy the Frozen Range. It's amazing. Now back to City Storm. Its windproof, waterproof and has a decent amoun... Read Moret of down fill which keeps you very warm. One of the best features is the 2 way zipper, which I open often when I'm feeling to warm. The hood has down fill as well, which really makes a difference and the interior pocket always comes in handy as well as the easily accessible lower outer pockets. There is a also a small interior zipped pocket on the inside of the left lapel. It's the best light weight parka I've ever owned, even though it doesn't have built in storm cuffs.

December 10, 2020

Fits great but color was lighter than expected

I wish this great jacket came in more colors. I purchased the gray for my husband thinking it would be the same shade as the womens parka I bought for myself a few weeks earlier but this one is a very light gray. Otherwise it fit him perfectly and is very warm.

December 9, 2020

Topnotch Parka with everyday convivences

This is easily the warmest jacket/coat I've ever own and the best thought out one as well. All the pockets and pulleys to adjust your jacket to the right size is prefect for anyone who is using this for casual wear.

November 11, 2020

Warm

Perfect!

November 4, 2020

Great for, amazing heat retention

I love this coat. I never knew what I was missing out on until I had a coat like this. It fits me perfectly, and I am toasty in it. I have already recommended it to a number of people. I hope they get it, because it is worth it.

September 16, 2020

Weird fit

The jacket is very warm and high quality but there are certain fit features I really don't like. The hood is pretty small and doesn't block out much wind on those chilly windy days and the arm sleeves are short. The front pockets are also vertical entry which is a very awkward position and especially frustrating when you use them a lot. A... Read Morepart from that the jacket is great!

February 26, 2020

Great parka (if you can stand the feathers)

I needed a warm waterproof coat for casual wear and commuting in cold rainy weather and this coat checks all the boxes for me. It keeps me warm and dry in PNW winter weather with just a t-shirt or light sweatshirt underneath. The coat is lightweight and not too bulky, the waterproofing is great, and the handwarmer pockets with magnetic flaps are th... Read Moreoughtful details. Overall the quality feels excellent. Like others have mentioned, it can be a bit noisy in quiet environments due to the 'scratchy' feel of the outer fabric but it doesn't bother me personally. The only thing I don't like about this jacket is that it sheds tiny feathers like crazy. Every time I take the coat off, I'm covered with little bits of feathers - so much so that I started packing a lint roller in my work bag otherwise people will start thinking that I live with a family of ducks. It's especially annoying if you wear dark colors. However, I love the rest of the coat so much that I'm willing to accept it. If you think you can't handle having tiny bits of feathers all over you, I would look at other coats.

February 22, 2020

Beautiful coat just not warm enough

im grin Boston and I really wanted to like this coat, it looks great, and the its made from really high quality fabrics, BUT, it just wasn't keeping me warm enough, although I layered up. Patagonia, please make it warmer.

February 21, 2020

Pockets are the downfall

As other have mentioned, the top entry pockets basically ruin an otherwise warm and stylish parka. They're awkward to use, aren't very warm, and if there is any precipitation and you're using the pockets, expect the inside to get wet. The dual chest pockets are strictly for small items (too high and small for hands), and could easily... Read More be replaced with a single vertical breast pocket. I also think the cuffs are a bit wide and could use a thin layer of fleece or something to warm wrists/overlap with gloves. I'll be returning this after winter fades. This needs side entry pockets.

February 11, 2020

4.5 Stars

Reason for purchasing: I am a craft beer aficionado and as such spend time waiting in line to buy beer. This more often than not involves lining up in the wee hours of the morning and standing in line for several hours until the brewery opens. It was important that I have a warm coat since standing around doesn’t generate a ton of body heat and you... Read More get cold really quick (especially when it’s windy). Style: The coat is very stylish, and I have gotten lots of compliments on it. The “brown” color is more of a green in person. I actually like it better, so I wasn’t disappointed. It would be nice if Patagonia updates the picture on their website to more accurately reflect what you’re getting in the mail. I have a very high-end monitor and it’s calibrated correctly so I don’t believe it’s an issue in how I’m viewing the content. One thing worth noting about this coat is that It is LONG! much longer than most other coats I tried but for me this is a big plus since it covers my rear and the upper part of my thighs from wind. Function: Front Pockets: The coat has 2 large pockets in the front that are great for either warming your hands or storing things like a hat and gloves. One downfall of the pockets is that they don’t have enough lining in the front so if it’s really cold or windy the backs of your hands that are against the exterior of the coat tend to get cold. I personally carry gloves with me, so this wasn’t a huge deal but something I felt deserved mentioning. The pockets also have a magnet clasping system which holds them closed. I initially thought I wasn’t going to like this design, but it makes keeping things secure effortless and is a very nice addition. Zipper/Storm Flaps A lot of people didn’t like the zipper on this coat. I will admit that it takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, I don’t think it’s a problem. It feels heavy and I honestly liked it better than the zippers on several more expensive competitors’ parkas. The front of the coat has snap buttons the secure the storm flap. All the buttons beside the top and bottom are hidden under the material. In my opinion this makes the coat look uniform and the bottom button looks especially out of place. I would have preferred that they hide all the buttons to give the coat a cleaner look. Hood The hood is very nice, a lot of parkas I tried had hoods meant to fit ski helmets which made them massive but not this coat. It adjusts on the sides and the back and is insulated and quite warm. I would have preferred the hood be a little deeper when tightened since my face is kind of exposed, this isn’t a major deal breaker though. I’d say the biggest downfall of the hood is that it’s very noisy when it’s over your head. I think this is because the material in general is kind of noisy on the coat which doesn’t bother me with the hood down but it does kind of stink to not be able to talk to people while walking with the hood up. There is also an inner pocket that I use for my phone. I have an 11 pro max and it easily fits in. The pocket is also situated at a nice height so that it’s easy to access. Warmth This jacket is very warm but not a furnace. I wore it last weekend in NYC where it was windy and in the high twenties most of the time and was very comfortable. The extra length definitely serves to protect you from the elements. I was comfortable with a better sweater on underneath as well as just a long sleeve T-shirt. One thing I really liked is that I didn’t seem to overheat while indoors even with a base layer on. This is generally a problem for me with most other heavy coats. There are a couple things that keep me from giving this 5 stars. 1. The exposed top and bottom button look odd 2. The sleeves have buttons. I think for the price it would have been nice to have an elastic sleeve like most other high end parkas 3. It would be nice if the bottom had a drawstring. There is a drawstring for the middle but on really windy days it would be nice to be able to cinch the bottom. This is really a minor issue since the coat is sufficiently long to keep wind out on most occasions

February 7, 2020

Just about perfect

The parka really delivers as it makes you toasty n nice walking around in 30 degree weather. I did try to wear it during a uptempo hike and it was too warm...I'll stick with the down sweater for that. My one complaint, as was mentioned in a previous review, the laminated visor can poke the back of the head/neck in an annoying manner. A quick w... Read Moreorkaround is to fold the visor portion into the hood. No biggie really. I'm 5'8 at 175. A medium feels fine with enough room for a mid layer. My goal is this beautiful efficient looking parka lasts me 20 years. I think it could!

January 29, 2020

Perfect NYC/Coastal City Parka

This coat is absolutely ideal for a coastal city that holds the possibility of wet weather all the time. In NYC we are constantly harassed by chilly winter days between 40-25F, with sleet and rain more than snow. The City Storm has just the right amount of insulation for these around-freezing temperatures, and fends off the moisture with a shrug. T... Read Morehe box baffling means no cold spots, and the insulation is spread evenly with a minimum of bulk or puff. I'm a slim 5'10" and 155 lbs with a 38" chest, and the Small fits perfectly, though snug if I wanted to layer much underneath. If you're facing daily temperatures in the single digits and below, I would look at Patagonia's heavier parkas, but the non-bulky and flattering fit makes this coat a real winner in Manhattan.

January 18, 2020

The Men’s city storm Parka is exactly what I was hoping for

Just received this jacket today from the Patagonia we store and it’s great. The jacket fits perfectly and is very sturdy, the sturdiness is something that is important to me as I’ll be using it for various outside activities. I also wanted something to keep me warm when hiking as it gets very cold here in western Pennsylvania. There’s a huge differ... Read Moreence of warmth between the city storm and the isthmus jacket and the only reason I know is because that is what I was using initially this winter. The Thigh length of the city storm is also something else I’ve been wanting. When I go hiking I typically just wear jeans and hiking boots, I never liked using thermals or any baselayers and never really felt the need to unless the temp drops below 30 degrees. With the city storm Parka I won’t have to worry about that at all now as the part of my legs that get cold will be completely covered, that’s a huge plus! Everyone in the customer service department at Patagonia has been very helpful and nice towards me, and I really appreciate it. That’s a very uncommon trait to have these days! Thanks again for everything

January 16, 2020

Feathers Everywhere

I purchased this jacket on backcountry.com and I was very pleased with the fit, warmth and the fact that it was not bulky. Unfortunately this jacket leaked tons of feathers, if I wore it for longer than 30 minutes I would be covered in feathers like legut everywhere which didn't seem normal. I went to the patagonia store and they were extremel... Read Morey helpful and gave me a new one no question but unfortunately the same issue arose with the new one. One minor problem I had was the hoods length as I found it to be kind of short and didn't reach my forehead. Overall nice non bulky warm parka but for me the feather leakage was just too much of an issue.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the shedding of feathers you are experiencing with this jacket. Though it is normal to have some shedding occur with Down products, we certainly don't expect them to be causing this much of an inconvenience. Please feel free to return that to us and we'd recommend going with a synthetically insulated jacket as these will not shed.

December 24, 2019

Warm, stylist coat

This coat is not bulky but certainly packed its punch in warmness. This is a stylist coat. I am very pleased with this.

December 16, 2019

Love the Parka

It is exactly what I wanted. It is super warm and thick, but not too heavy to make it a burden to wear. It feels durable and weather resistant. Perfect.

December 12, 2019

Perfect City Coat

Commuting in NYC made easy! If you live here or have been here, in and out of the subway can be hot, cold, hot and cold. This jacked keeps you warm in the wind, but doesn't cook you when underground. It is also sleek enough so you don't become that big puff ball taking up lots of room in the subway.

December 7, 2019

Amazing coat!

Love it! Perfect fit, very warm, comfortable, and stylish!

December 4, 2019

Fantastic parka

Fantastic parka

December 3, 2019

Ms City Storm Parka

While I love this Parka, a couple things I would change if I had to design it. I use it for hiking and wildlife photography here in New England. The first thing is the hood. I find it kind of stiff and small. Its tough to wear a baseball cap with it because the brim keeps knocking the cap off when the hood is down. The stiffness of the brim does it... Read More from the back of my neck every time I look up. You can alleviate this by tucking the hood inside itself. It would be great if it was detachable on this model. The second problem I have is the small wrists it has. Even with the snaps on the wide settings I cant get larger gloves tucked inside the wrists to keep cold air out and the gloves are to small to go totally over the wrists. So thats is problem I still am trying to solve. Other than that the Parka is warm and very light. I look forward to using it for many years and I’m sure it will be fine in the long run….. I own other Patagonia products and I love em !

December 3, 2019

Backcountry reliability with slick urban style

I have had this jacket for over a year and put it through many adverse conditions. It has held up immaculately, and looked good all the while. The length of this jacket is well designed for urban travel in cold, rainy conditions because it offers extended protection, and the dove tail makes movement easy. It works well riding a bike or siting on a ... Read Morecold train seat. The pockets are well designed. The two breast pockets are solid for train tickets or small items, and the larger hand pockets are just the right size. Note: the clamp mechanism (which is magnetic) sounds weird at first - as if you dropped something - but once you get used to that you understand that the snaps are great for when you have gloves on. The hood is great over a beanie if you're really cold. The dwr maintained it's edge over a winter season in Oxford England (with trips into Austria) and was recently refreshed after a wash. This was my go-to jacket for any outing last winter, and I consider it one of my most solid pieces. If you needed to, you could ski in it, but I think where it really shines is harsh urban conditions - e.g. England in the winter - where you want something to keep you warm and dry for hours at a time.

November 27, 2019

Lots to like, but with a few shortcomings.

There's so much that's perfect about this jacket. It's one of the few nice looking options for those looking for an XS. It's warmer than less expensive options, although not quite as warm as I expected. I usually wear a shirt and sweater underneath, but you may want more layers when temps reach the 30s or even low 40s . Also, fo... Read Morer those not familiar with down (like me), be aware that you will have white feathers all over your clothing after a few days of wearing this jacket. I almost returned until I was assured by friends that all down jackets leak. I wish I had been warned ahead of time. In the end, I'm keeping the jacket, but the constant clean up is annoying even if standard. Next time, I might try a synthetic option. In summary, there's a lot to like about it, and if you keep your expectations in check you'll find this a solid jacket for cold and wet weather.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

Hi Michael! Thanks for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with those feathers shedding. As your friends assured you, this is normal with down products, but there are a couple tricks to minimize the amount of shedding. When you see a partially exposed feather, simply pull it back in to the jacket and massage the area to help the hole close. We also recommend washing new jackets to help the down settle more quickly. To wash, use cool to cold water on a gentle cycle, then place your item in your dryer on a low heat setting with two dryer balls. The balls will help restore the loft of the down and ensure that the item dries evenly. Please note, drying down items can take a while, so you may need to use more than one dry cycle.

November 27, 2019

Nice coat, 1 flaw

Very good coat. Warm, stylish, and good materials used. Only flaw is that the zipper is cheap an is not high quality. Wish it had a real heavy duty zipper.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi John! Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you're unhappy with the zipper on this jacket. I went ahead and passed your comments along to our product designers for consideration. Please note, all Patagonia items are backed by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee#searchterm=ironclad), so if that zipper ever fails, you are welcome to send it in for a complimentary repair or warranty return.

November 20, 2019

Solid jacket for winter in the city

I have been extremely pleased with this jacket so far. Very comfortable in 20 degree weather. Very simplistic look and just gets the job done. I wish there were side entry pockets though, still getting used to the top entry hand warming pockets.

November 20, 2019

Not Worth It - Bad Pocket Design and Annoying Fabric

I got this parka because I liked the look more than the Jackson Galcier but ended up returning it. It is warm, that's not an issue; however, the shape of the front pockets is not well designed and the cold sneaks in from the sides. If you don't mind using gloves it shouldn't be a problem but I'd expect a better design considerin... Read Moreg the price of the parka. The other issue with the City Storm is the material used. The fabric is scratchy and attracts lint. It is imposible to move with it without hearing the friction of the material. I guess this parka would be acceptable at a lower price tag but at this price range there are better options.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

Hi Raul! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the design and fabric of your parka. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 16, 2019

So warm!

I’ve only used my parka once so far, but it was so warm and comfortable on a freezing evening. I especially love the insulted hood and mid-thigh length. My only slight issue is the arm holes could be larger. I do have larger than average upper arms so I can wear a long sleeve t-shirt but not a sweater comfortably.

November 14, 2019

Don't like the pockets

I bought this jacket for my husband. We live in the NE and it can get pretty chilly. This is a great looking and functional coat to wear on a chilly commute. The only downside is that the pockets are in a really awkward spot and not really meant for hands. Also, the material attracts lint. Otherwise, the jacket works well.

November 13, 2019

A sold winter coat with a few minor flaws that add up.

This is my main winter coat for commuting and walking about in the city during the winter. It looks great and is extremely warm for how thin it is. I hate puffy coats and this thing holds up in cold and windy conditions despite being relatively thin. 20 degree weather with only a t-shirt underneath and it will hold up fine. Repels, rain, wintry mix... Read More, and snow very well. Dual chest pockets are great, as is the interior zip pocket and interior mesh pocket for gloves and whatnot. On the downside, the coat is a bit narrow through the waist and restricts mobility if you need to bend over and/or down. The magnetic closings on the two external lower pockets are ok but I'd prefer snaps to ensure things don't fall out (nothing has fallen out yet but i feel like it will. Also makes it easier for those pesky city pickpockets). This coat is also missing side-entry handwarming pockets. My old winter coat had them and I didn't realize how much I'd miss them. Really wish this coat had hand warmer pockets. Finally, the visor on the hood is aggravating when the hood is down. The visor does not stay flipped down, so when the hood is down the visor pops up and rubs the back of your head. Pretty annoying. It needs a button or Velcro or something to keep it down when the hood is not in use. Overall a solid coat for city commuting. Very warm, keeps you dry, not too puffy, and seems durable. A few minor tweaks could really improve the coat overall and make it 100% worth the price tag.

November 9, 2019

Like wearing a sleeping bag

Like wearing a sleeping bag

November 8, 2019

Great coat, could use a few improvements

The coat is obviously very high quality: the fabric is strong and beautiful, fine details on the cut of the cuff and center show craftsmanship, and the down is perfectly warm and breathable. Yet there are a few things bothersome about the jacket that I would like to see improved: 1. The handwarmer pockets are great but as they open vertically and n... Read Moreot on a diagonal, you're left with your arms in awkward positions when using them. Ideally there would be slim diagonal underneath the main handwarmer pockets for a more ergonomic fit. 2. The hood is small. Not so small that it's not functional - in fact, it fits very well when I'm actually wearing the coat - but it hangs higher than expected on your back and the firm bill will rub up on your neck/head, especially when wearing a backpack or when seated. 3. The coat's fabric is fairly noisy. Not a big issue, but when wearing the hood it's going to be significantly harder to hold a conversation or listen to the environment around you (cars, etc.). Overall, great jacket but could be better for the price.

November 5, 2019

Customer service

One of my items was lost during shipping and Patagonia instantly sent a replacement product. The CS team takes care of their customers!

February 27, 2019

Versatile, lightweight, and warm

I am 5'9" and 175 pounds and the jacket fits perfectly. It is surprisingly warm for how thin it is. The styling works business or casual. I've been in -20C weather numerous times with no issues. I have also been skiing with my small children and while obviously not designed for skiing, I got through the afternoon with no issues. Also... Read More I was able to fit a pretty thick wool sweater under this jacket. I've the magnetic close pockets which is a great feature when fumbling with keys and wallets with winter gloves. Keeps your items safe and secure. Front chest pockets also useful for quick access to a thin wallet, cash whatever. If you are looking for a looser fit, I would go with a size-up or a different jacket altogether. Only improvement in my opinion would be traditional pockets behind the top entry pockets to make it more comfortable to walk with your hands in your pockets. Kind of awkward to do that with top entry pockets. Also the neck is too tight for my liking when zipped all the way up although it does do a good job keeping out the weather. Could be cheaper to a make it more affordable for us Canucks!

November 26, 2018

BIVEK

Perfect Fit for me. Height- 5'7 , Weight- 155 lbs , Body Type- Average build Great Jacket for a casual wear in cold weather conditions. Works on multiple weather condition. Rain, Wind or Snow just move on !!

October 15, 2018

Perfect winter parka

I’m 6”1’ average built and the M fits just perfect. Love the look and feel. The magnetic pockets are fancy and the quality seems to be exceptional. Dont forget they give you a lifetime warranty. You wont climb to the top of Mount Everest but I think that’s why they call it City storm parka. Get one before it’s too late.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches