Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Jackson Glacier Down Parka

Write Your Review

4.2 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Jackson Glacier Down Parka

4.2
True To Size
March 1, 2020

Worth it!

At first, I had a hard time choosing between this jacket and the traditional Down With It parka. I deliberated in the store for FAR too long trying on each one over and over again. I was worried that this wouldnt be as warm as I needed it to be, but I was happily proven wrong. I ended up choosing the Jackson Glacier Parka mainly because of the fit,... Read More and the DWR exterior. I found that this fit way better for traditional sizing than the down parka, and I didnt need to size up. For reference, Im 30 y.o., 5 ft 7 inches,140 lbs, 32b, and I carry most of my weight in my lower half with a smaller upper body. I got this in a small, and it couldnt be more perfect. I am plenty warm enough with just a long sleeve tshirt, but I can also fit a more bulky sweater/sweatshirt underneath if need be. I live in CT, where we have very temperamental New England weather. This has been great in all weather, and held up in wet conditions better than just a down jacket could. It keeps me warm in under 20 degree weather no problem. I have plenty of room in both upper body (arms, chest), and lower body (hips, butt, thighs), without anything squeezing. Absolutely love it, and so happy with this purchase!

January 15, 2020

Zipper Malfunction

I loved this coat so much. It’s super warm. I go to college in Northern Indiana where it’s pretty much in the negative wind chills all winter. I got this coat last winter, and almost one year later it’s broken. The left side zipper must have been stitched incorrectly because the stitches are all coming up, and I am no longer able to zip my coat up.... Read More The right side is fine it is only the left zipper that is completely messed up. I’m very frustrated because this is not a cheap coat, and I would have hoped it wouldn’t malfunction in one year of use. I will now be cold and unable to zip my coat up all winter at college because it would take them four weeks to get me a new coat, but I need a coat. I won’t be able to get a new one until spring. Very upset with Patagonia for the first time ever.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Hi Hazel. We're really sorry to hear the left side of your zipper has rendered the coat unusable. Please feel free to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy) it back to us under warranty, and we'd be happy to get you a new coat as soon as possible. We went ahead and emailed you with the necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

January 7, 2020

Zipper doesn’t stay zipped

I’ve had this jacket for a few weeks. Recently, the zipper will open mid- coat when the jacket is zipped up. It’s incredibly annoying, especially since the nearest store is not close. Wish the zipper would match the price tag and quality of the rest of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Ashley, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with the zipper not staying put. That isn't typical quality for us so you're definitely welcome to return it under warranty. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance!

January 2, 2020

Warmest Parka

Love the clean look, warmth and wind resistance.

December 26, 2019

The best coat I've ever owned

Can't believe it took me so long to find a coat this great. It fits beautifully. I don't look like walking marshmallow. It's also so warm. Been wearing it recently in 20° weather and haven't needed a hat or gloves (the pockets are lined). Even on warmer days, I find excuses to wear it.

December 26, 2019

LOVE

Another win from Patagonia! I live in Vail, CO and this jacket has proven itself in the latest cold spell, when temps were in the single digits! For a parka it’s super flattering. The regular fit is awesome.

December 11, 2019

Fits a little large but

Fits a little large but medium was too small. Hood not warm or comfortable

December 3, 2019

Such a great, long, warm

Such a great, long, warm down women’s jacket. Going to be my go to jacket this winter!!!!

December 2, 2019

Non Functional Hood

This is a well made, warm and water resistant jacket (this jacket should be waterproof IMO) I got this one to replace an Old Down with It parka because the seams are bonded and hopefully the feathers won't come out as with the Down with It but the hood just doesn't work. It's too small, and the side drawcords don't cinch in plac... Read Moree which makes them pointless. Wore in the snow for the first time yesterday and I had snow coming in from the face opening down my neck since the jacket also does not have a collar as the hood is not removable. Not sure if it will even be good in really cold temps with wind as the hood offers no protection for the face. I'm disappointed since I was expecting better performance from this jacket and I may end up returning it. For this price point this jacket should be fully functional.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi Luzmin, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the parka. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 24, 2019

Great Jacket!

My favorite winter parka yet. I've had the Down with it Parka for years. As do my mother and sister. The Jackson Glacier is much more comfortable for layering and I love the sleek non logo look that it has. Very warm, good length, not too heavy. Absolutely love it and I recommend. Great investment.

November 19, 2019

p.s. They read the reviews.

Whoops: this 2019-2020 winter's version of the parka is what I love.

November 16, 2019

They read the reviews.

Kudos to Patagonia for incorporating last winter's reviews into the production of this winter's (2018-2019) version. I've been looking at this parka for over a year but had been hesitant because of issues mentioned in earlier reviews. The changes (for reference, I'm 5'2 1/2", about 135 lbs, with an athletic build; I li... Read Moreve in New York City):--pockets seem bigger than a review mentioned were true of last winter's parka. I can fit my entire hand plus my smartphone in each pocket, though not much more. (Before going further, nope, I don't work for Patagonia. Never have. Just think they deserve credit for revising this parka for the better.)--the issue with the top of the zipper scraping the chin has been solved. The several parkas I tried on in the store, plus the one I ordered, haven't had this issue.--the neck part is quite roomy (but not too roomy; just enough for a scarf) and isn't stiff.--the bottom half of the parka doesn't sink between my knees. Warmth:I get cold easily, but so far this winter, this parka has performed well when it's ~35 degrees Fahrenheit (~15 mph winds, low-20s with wind chill). I'm comfy with a tank top and leggings underneath, plus a hat (but see note below). Looking forward to seeing how warm I am in it when it's colder and even windier, but I wanted to write this for people searching for winter coats now. ALSO I haven't tested this parka when it's raining / snowing out. Sizing (yeah, I tried all these sizes in the store):--XS: fits snugly (but not too snugly)--S: pretty roomy with just a baselayer underneath. And I have pretty broad shoulders for someone my height. Snug with a fleece and a baselayer underneath.--M: roomy. Also roomy with a fleece and baselayer underneath. Without the fleece underneath, the parka looks way too big.--I chose the small, which hits three-quarters of the way down my knee. It's not perfect:--when sitting down, the parka does balloon a bit around the waist for a second (till I push it down), then all is well. Not a big deal for me, but others might care.--when it's been windy, sometimes the wind has gone under the bottom of the parka and up to my waist, so my bottom half is less warm, BUT I was wearing leggings as pants when this happened. When wearing fleece pants, my legs are warm.

November 14, 2019

Cozy

Great jacket for standing at the base during ski races or for staying warm on a winter walk.

November 14, 2019

Warm and comfy!

Tested this in a snowstorm in Chicago and it kept me warm! The zipper issue doesn't bother me because most of the time it's not zipped all the way (I did zip it all the way a few times but I tucked my chin behind the jacket to stay warmer, so wasn't an issue). The pockets are fleece lined and kept my hands very warm! Love the coat!!!... Read More

November 14, 2019

Great customer service. Love the

Great customer service. Love the color.

November 13, 2019

Perfect coat: great fit, waterproof, and WARM without bulk

I've been looking for a new down coat for about two years and this one couldn't be better. It's about twice as warm as my old Spiewak & Sons coat, and not any bulkier. It's also totally waterproof, down to the zipper. There are a lot of really smart cuts and details (hidden toggles on the hood, hidden zippers on the pockets,... Read More etc.) that make it as chic as a puffer can be and adding functionality at the same time. I wavered before buying because of reviews talking about zipper issues and the top poking into their chin, but neither of these things have been remotely true for me. I did size down; I'm normally a S in Patagonia, but since this was a regular (not slim fit), the S was a little baggy and the XS fit perfectly. Can't wait to wear this coat for years and years.

November 6, 2019

Excellent quality and design

Excellent quality and design

October 26, 2019

Fabulous not Frozen!

Wow. I love this coat. Why? I wanted a ‘great frozen north warm coat’. This is one piece, warm, wind proof, attached good so no leaks of cold air. It’s the big bad coat to fight the wind chill in January, or brushing off snow from the trees in October or April Heavy wet snow, or the one to stand at the sidelines at dark cheering on kid sports. This... Read More is that real winter coat. While it’s not a ‘fashion statement coat’, I am way ok with that when warmth overrules fashion! This is functional! I live in Colorado and travel north. Fiona or Nano Puff are fur style, this is for deep cold warmth!

September 25, 2019

Waiting til its real cold (in 60 days) to really, fully rate the glacier coat

It's lighter weight than I expected so I hope it performs -- I'm counting on the reviews of others from northern climes that say it does. The fact that there's no baffle by the zipper is a little concerning -- I hope cold air doesn't cut through. But it feels great on (in the house) and its comfortable. While fairly form fitting... Read More, I have room for additional down vest or sweater underneath should I need it.

January 28, 2019

Sara from Maine

Someone from MN wrote, "While this jacket is warm, it is unwearable. When zipped up, the zipper and collar are very stiff and jab the wearer in the chin making the coat quite uncomfortable to wear. " That person is spot on. Not only is the collar too stiff, but the whole hood and baffle portion is too small. Please consider making the col... Read Morelar less stiff and also taller so when the hood is pulled up, the person wearing the jacket doesn't feel like their neck is being compressed. I love the warmth, but I'm disappointed.

December 28, 2018

MBS

This is my first long jacket ...It looked great on in the store but I found when I started walking the coat seemed to sink in between my knees and hips looking very strange! I was wondering if anyone else experienced the same problem...

December 28, 2018

Wonderful Winter Coat

I have been looking for a warm, down parka style jacket that is not too bulky. This one fits the bill. I like that it is 'fitted' in the waist while still allowing for layering underneath. It's warm, easy to move in, and relatively stylish for a down parka. The zipper is two way which is nice, the hood is spacious, and the pockets ar... Read Moree lined with a fleece. I wish that the outer material were a bit more waterproof for snow but it's a minor complaint. There have been some complaints about the collar- I like that if fully zipped it covers my mouth (if I do this I wear a smaller scarf or buff) or can be left open a bit and worn with a chunkier scarf. I have no complaints about that part of the design. It's warm and every time I put it on, I smile!

December 22, 2018

POCKET problem

I am only leaving this review because I hope that Patagonia will read it and consider a design change. The pockets are way too small. If I have my phone and light (running-weight) gloves in my pocket I can barely fit my hands in. I have small hands too. Terribly frustrating when I am out walking my dog and I want to slip an uncovered hand in. Oth... Read Moreer than that it is beautiful

December 19, 2018

Womens Jackson Glacier Parka

While this jacket is warm, it is unwearable. When zipped up, the zipper and collar are very stiff and jab the wearer in the chin making the coat quite uncomfortable to wear. I live in a very cold climate and need to be able to zip up this coat. I tried the Down with It Parka previously and that coat was not warm enough. This coat would be perfect i... Read Moref one could zip it up. I am returning it.

December 12, 2018

Perfect Long Down

I purchased this jacket as a replacement for another long parka that I had worn for a few years. Talk about an upgrade! I’m twice as warm, found the jacket to fit extremely comfortably without restriction and it’s attractive. I spend a lot of time outside in the winter, after being in -5 temps with wind this weekend I would recommend this jacket to... Read More anyone... especially for the price point!

December 11, 2018

Great warm jacket

I moved to Boston last year and spent a year FREEZING in a lightweight down jacket. I finally pulled the trigger and invested in this jacket. I have been SO happy every single time I put it on. Every detail is thought out to keep you warm, dry, and happy. It doesn't ever even seem too hot, which was a concern that I had. This is great.

December 10, 2018

love love love.

My husband bought this parka for me as a pre-Christmas present at the beginning of November, and I literally live in this thing. I'm 5'5 and 125lbs and I went with a small. When I initially tried it on, I was only wearing a long sleeve shirt underneath and thought it was a little roomy. However, since I live in WI where temps drop all too... Read More often below 0 in the winter, it turns out that it's the perfect size to add some toasty sweaters and even a vest underneath without it looking too bulky! My husband and I have tested it out on walks where it's already been all of 10 degrees (even colder with wind) and it's been fantastic. It holds up wonderfully in wet snow/sleet (it repels all moisture!) and is the coziest jacket ever. Some have said that the zipper is rather odd, and, while it is different, I think it's just fine. I've never had any issues with it and appreciate that it's not metal as those get so dang chilly on cold days anyhow. I also read reviews about the hood being weird. Personally, I love it. The last thing I want is a floppy hood that looks nice but does a horrific job at protecting your head from the bitter wind, sleet, or snow. This hood is fitted enough that it does all of the above. Yeah, it doesn't look like your typical winter hood, but it actually works! A bonus note - I ride horses and during the winter barns are notorious for smelling pretty gross (i.e. horse pee, poop, etc.) as you can't open up windows and doors to air things out like you can in the summer. Typically, you go in the barn with any piece of clothing, and if you're not out in 3 minutes your clothes will reek. On multiple occasions I've worn this jacket to the barn to drop things off, gotten stuck talking to someone, and this coat has never, ever picked up even the slightest trace of barn smell. It's absolutely magical. I know this situation doesn't apply to most, but I think it's a fantastic bonus! :) All in all, it's a pricier jacket than the other parkas Patagonia offers, but I think it's absolutely outstanding and worth the extra $. This will be a winter staple of mine for years and years to come.

December 5, 2018

Winter Wonderland

This is an amazing parka. I am 5'6, 135lb with an athletic build, I got it in the olive color and this is a perfect coat for me. Patagonia's women's clothing tends to fit very tight across the shoulders for me (for this reason I tend to go down a size and buy mens) but this parka is just fitted without being restrictive. I have a 6 m... Read Moreonth old puppy that likes to jump up on me and the coat has lasted well so far- showing no signs of wear. I bought it because of the water resistance as I am moving to Seattle soon but run very cold (so I like to bundle up). One warning I do have is, while the coat is amazing, you definitely can't layer too much underneath because of the closer fit and nice down. The zipper was a bit stubborn at first, but has broken in well and hasn't given me any issues since my first few times wearing it. Overall, I'm looking forward to a warm and fashionable winter!

November 24, 2018

Great jacket, but.....

I recently bought this and was really excited about it. It has one flaw, though, and for me it is a deal breaker. The zipper stops (not sure what you call them) come to a very sharp point under my chin. If I have the coat zipped to the top, it is like two pencils poking me in the neck non-stop. I don't know if it is my particular jacket or the... Read More way I stand or what, but I didn't notice it in store. I did see that at least one other reviewer mentioned this, so it isn't just me. I would say you should definitely check this if you are trying it on. I've called Patagonia and their customer service was great. They encouraged me to write this review as developers do look at responses when making modifications to future designs. Otherwise, it is warm, a great material, pockets are nice, sleeves work for me etc. I personally would want it about 2 inches shorter, but that is just a personal preference thing. The zipper itself works very well, especially when compared to other longer jackets I tried on. Half of them were impossible to zip. Also love the feature that this can be unzipped from the bottom for driving.

November 16, 2018

Happy so far

I'm 37, and this was my first "serious" winter coat purchase. Most winters I wear a combination of ski jackets and longer coats that are more fashion-oriented than they are practical. I spent a long time searching for a quality coat that's warm, but also sleek. I have yet to wear this in temperatures lower than the mid 20s, but ... Read Morebased on how warm I was at that temperature without a sweater under it, I'm confident it will be warm enough for Boston winters. Over the past 24 hours I've had the pleasure of testing it out in rain, sleet, and snow, and I stayed nice and dry. The coat itself also dried off incredibly quickly once inside. Overall, I'm thrilled with the coat. The only negatives for me are the same issues I have with most clothing - the sleeves could be a touch longer, and the waist isn't as snug as I'm used to. I don't count these as points off because these issues have more to do with the shape of my body than the coat itself. For reference, I'm 5'8", 135-140 lbs, with a narrow waist and wider shoulders and hips. I considered a medium to accommodate my hips and shoulders, but ended up going with my usual small and I'm glad I did. It fits very well, looks good, and I have room for a sweater under it. Another thing I considered before purchasing this coat is the lack of fake fur around the hood, which is standard for Patagonia. Most of my other coats have had this, and it looks gross by the end of the winter, and I especially hate when it gets wet and matted. That said, it does help to keep snow out of your face, so I was a little apprehensive to buy a coat without it. My walk to work this morning included windy sleet, and the "visor" portion of the hood kept it out of my eyes. My lower face still got wet, but given the weather, I think that was inevitable. The hood is warm, adjustable, and does what it's supposed to do. Also, I'm happy to own a coat that's stylish without promoting the look of fur. I chose the Smolder Blue color, and it's beautiful. When I started my coat quest, I knew I wanted something that was grayish blue - enough color to stand out from all the black coats, but not so much that it would feel inappropriate for certain situations. For some reason, most brands make men's coats in this color, or short women's coats, but it's hard to find long women's coats in it. There were many coats I liked that came in gray or navy, but not a combo of the two. So thanks, Patagonia!

February 10, 2018

Love!

I have been watching these parkas to go on sale for the past couple of weeks and I bought the gray one as soon as the price decreased! Although it's too warm in SC to currently wear it,I LOVE IT! It has a great fit and will be perfect for cold days. I will be taking a NYC trip next winter and was looking for a warm jacket that was more dressy ... Read Morethan my down sweater jacket but could be causal too. I definitely found that in this parka. I can't wait to wear it! I got a large to have plenty of room to wear a sweater under it if needed - it is a great fit with some room to spare!

January 25, 2018

Just meh

Things I liked about this coat: matte,minimalist design,no huge Patagonia logo,cuffed wrists,ample hood. What I didn't like: Not warm enough in the shoulders and upper back. I was cold in that area. Pockets are not big enough for a gloved hand. (I'm talking knit gloves,not thick mittens.) When fully zipped,the neck garage scrapes agains... Read Moret your chin. It's weirdly huge under the arms yet not big enough in the bust area. (Same deal with some of their other jackets,including the Ultralight Down Hoody,but not the Nano Puff or Nano Air.) This obviously isn't a climbing jacket so I'm not sure why it would have so much room in the underarm area. I'm 5'4",118 pounds (36-27-37) and the XS was too snug ' except in the huge underarm area ' and the S was too big to work with,even with layers underneath. I returned it and am still looking for a long,warm coat.

January 18, 2018

Bad Zipper

I received this parka as a Christmas gift after I had been wanting it since I first saw it. It was fantastic,lightweight,warm,cozy and it looked fantastic to boot.... the perfect winter parka. That was until the zipper snagged at the bottom. I tried to wiggle it loose (sometimes this happens with normal use of zippers),but was unsuccessful. In the ... Read Moreprocess of trying to get the zipper free,the zipper ripped.... and I was left with a zipper that wouldn't zip. I returned the parka to the retailer for a refund,because I figured it would be faster than going through the whole warranty process. In the meantime I am still without a parka in -30 degree Celsius. Other than the faulty zipper,I recommend this parka for all the wonderful warmth that it was.

January 11, 2018

Great winter parka

I tried several jackets so I thought I would give the comparison in case others are searching for the same. I have been looking for a longer parka for winter that is warm,blocks the wind,and allows me to move easily as I wanted to wear this on long dog walks and on commuting to work. I liked the Patagonia Stormdrift Parka,it has good length and i... Read Moret is warm with good wind protection. I didn't like how stiff it was though and while it would be better in rain/snow,I didn't feel like I could move well in it to make it my main winter coat. The Patagonia Vosque 3 in 1 parka has a slim fit and was too tight in the hips. I also wanted it to be longer. The Patagonia Transitional Parka was a decent fit but I didn't feel that it was very warm or that it did well in the wind. Finally,I tried the Jackson Glacier Parka and it really fits what I was looking for the best. It is a great long length,hitting at my knees (5'5''). It is warm,even in the wind. The exterior is very soft and seems like it is a thicker material than the Patagonia Transitional Parka exterior. The fit was also better on the Jackson Glacier. It is slimming but roomy enough to easily move in and layer with thick sweaters. I really like the gusted cuffs to keep the cold out. The hood is also comfortable with and without a beanie. Bonus,it's recycled down that is washed and dried so even though I'm allergic to feathers,I'm able to wear this without it impacting my allergies. I plan to wear a rain parka instead if it's really pouring since the Jackson Glacier Parka is only water resistant.

December 31, 2017

Perfect coat for college

I was looking for a sustainable,fair trade parka for college and I found it in Patagonia's Jackson Glacier Parka. I originally ordered a large in black because I was between a medium and a large. I am 156lbs and 5'8". It ended up being too large so I returned it in store,and it was by far the easiest return I have ever made. I picked... Read More the medium in the gray and I love it. It hits just above my knees and is ever so slightly longer in the back. The double zipper allows for easy adjustment. The gray color is lovely. It is perfect for -30 degree winters that we've been suffering through in the Midwest.

December 30, 2017

almost perfect

I bought this a week ago and I'm happy with style and fit. The size is perfect,not too big not too small. Warm and cozy for every day wear. Love the material on the outside. Arm length is good - most of the coats and jackets which I tried had too short sleeves. What I miss are buttons to close it quick. The zipper is a bit sensibel - addition... Read Moreal press buttons would be perfect! I really appreciate that Patagonia is responsible with all materials and the environment.

December 15, 2017

Will keep you warm!

Love this jacket. It keeps me warm and goes great with both casual and work outfits. I'm 5'7'',140 lbs,with an athletic build and the Small fits great. Definitely recommend!

December 6, 2017

another sizing failure

just got this parka for early christmas and once again its too small...I hate to give patagonia a bad review- I love their company,and their products are of the highest quality. I have been buying patagonia for 40+ years. I still wear my original baggie shorts and synchillas. But now the patagonia womens sizes never ever fit me,even the larger (?) ... Read Moreregular fit. I am 5'4" and 150lb,usually a size 10-12. Patagonia mediums fit my shoulder and upper body,never my hips and I'm not that hippy,and the large size is swimming on top and the arms down to my knees. Its so disappointing that I think I won't try to get patagonia for myself anymore. I feel that this company only makes clothes for tall very thin women ...bummer. I will still purchase for my tall and lean son and husband. (quality of this parka seems excellent but if you have a slightly curvy body- forget it)

November 21, 2017

The Perfect Winter Coat

This year I turned 30 and had a baby,so I decided I was ready to upgrade from my Down Sweater coat to a long,puffy parka with a hood,or what I like to call the New England Mom Coat. I will never look back. This coat is perfect. It keeps me completely warm and toasty and it looks great. If you're on the fence because of the price,I say go for i... Read Moret. If you live somewhere with real winters,you will get your money's worth out of this excellent coat.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches