burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Silent Down Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 213 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Silent Down Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
February 5, 2023

Noise free warm daily jacket

This jacket works as well as down sweater or thicker nano puff, minus the noise due to material. The hood also tucks in under the zipper so this is a win as I personally hate hoody. Highly recommended.

February 4, 2023

Super warm plus good looks

This is a great jacket, very light weight but super warm. It was -10 today, and this jacket did its job! Nicely cut, looks good. I like the pockets and the insulated hood that can be stored in the zipper compartment. I like the fact that the sleeves did not run short, as it is usually the case with me! I would buy again!

January 24, 2023

Perfect mid weight down

Looking for mid weight down jacket; this is not too puffy, not too thin, just right! I like that it compresses into a pocket.

January 11, 2023

Love the Blue

I bought this for our 25 year old son. He loves the jacket and wears it all the time. The color blue is perfect for him. Best jacket for Dallas winter months; so light-weight and toasty without overheating.

January 11, 2023

I bought this for my

I bought this for my husband who absolutely loves this jacket. He normally wears an XXL, but I thought he might like it a little roomier and I was correct. I ordered 3X L for him. He wears it all the time to walk our dog.

January 7, 2023

Great for a buffalo winter

great insulator under my shell coat for a buffalo winter.

January 7, 2023

Always cold on blood thinners

Always cold on blood thinners keeps me warm

December 31, 2022

Warm

The coat did its job stayed warm in cold snowy weather.

December 23, 2022

Warm

Light in weight. Flexible. Easy to move around. Hood concealed in collar, but it is insulated.

December 22, 2022

This jacket is thin and

This jacket is thin and light weight but super warm! A must have.

December 10, 2022

My dog loves it

I noticed that all the jackets at the pet stores were kind of tight, so I opted for the small silent down from my dog. It fits him perfectly, and he just loves going for walks in it five stars.

December 8, 2022

Warm and looks good

Needed a new jacket for winter, especially since I have a new pup who likes going out for long walks! Wife and daughter say it looks good. Fits pretty well, sleeves a touch long on me but the internal elastic cuffs do a good job holding them back. Its nice and warm, but still comfortable in the car. All in all a very nice jacket.

December 5, 2022

Very warm

The sleeve ends are not too tight or loose. The hoodie is a great size. I use it to go around on normal travel. Material is quiet. Overall great jacket.

December 3, 2022

Due to the oily nature

Due to the oily nature of my skin, in the neck area, the fabric will need frequent cleaning. Perhaps an absorbent type of fabric around the collar. The jacket is light,cozy and warm.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2022

Hey T, thank you for the review. We recommend cleaning with a liquid dishwashing detergent, or isopropyl alcohol if the staining is stubborn. You can check out all stain removal tips on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#asset-modal-holiday21-repair-stain-removal-accordian-modal).

December 1, 2022

Great, but could be Better

Two suggestions would make this jacket better: 1 - Two way zipper to allow better heat control by allowing user to zip up from bottom; and 2 - better inside or outside upper pocket for iPhone

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2022

Hi James! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team.

December 1, 2022

Into a fan

I didnt like how this jacket looks in person. The logo doesnt look nice. This version is supposed to be more stylish than the other down jackets. It looks like a regular hiking jacket.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2022

Hi Katherine! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the look of the jacket. We appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 22, 2022

Fantastic

We live in a very temperate climate so, this jacket is perfect for most days of the year. I chose an XL so I would have room for a sweater underneath otherwise a large would had fit just fine. Thank you Firestone Walker Brewery for this 5 year anniversary jacket.

November 21, 2022

Perfect layer

Bought this for my 15 year old son. He went from No coat to not taking off his Patagonia! He is super active and loves this coat in all weather conditions. Great purchase!

November 18, 2022

It is truly SILENT! Keeps

It is truly SILENT! Keeps me warm, great looking, really well made and incredibly comfortable. Patagonia outdid themselves with this awesome down jacket - and its back by an ironclad guarantee which they definitely live up to!

October 29, 2022

M Silent Down Jacket

This jacket is very lightweight and warm. Here where we have very cold winters I can where it for most of fall, winter, and spring. I have a little trouble getting the insertion pin in sometimes, maybe because I'm a senior, but other than that the zipper works well, and the pocket zippers work as designed.

October 26, 2022

Favorite Jacket

I have owned several Patagonia jackets and they never disappoint. This is warm, comfortable, and has great style. A classic!

October 23, 2022

Lightweight Warmth

Super lightweight but super warm and comfortable. Easy to move in is not tight and squeezing. Super excited to have found during its clearance. Great buy!

October 21, 2022

Very Nice Coat

I ordered this coat to be my everyday winter coat. I live in Northern Michigan, so the winter days can get mighty cold. Its super comfy and I have no doubt it will get the job done!

October 10, 2022

This jacket is warm, comfortable,

This jacket is warm, comfortable, light and QUIET! Love it.

October 9, 2022

Great Jacket!

Love the color and lightweight design of this jacket. The hoodie is able to be hidden away too which is nice.

September 28, 2022

Fit was never consistent. I

Fit was never consistent. I tried 3 different jackets and the fit was never right. I wasted my time and paid for shipping which was not reimbursed. Very disappointed in Patagonia since I have purchased your products several times in the past.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry about the inconsistent fit issues you encountered. We will make sure to pass this along to our Product Designers so they are aware of this issue. In the meantime, please feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at anytime.

May 3, 2022

Another Winner

I am a long-time customer and this may be the best garment I've bought from Patagonia. Perfect fit, great materials, and quality construction. Love to wear it.

March 25, 2022

Super warm super light

I wear this coat for my winter trap league. Its light weight yet very warm. What I like most is it doesnt bunch up and interfere when I mount my shotgun. The taffeta material holds up very well Great coat!!!

March 19, 2022

Works as intended

very, very warm; fits a lanky 6'1 guy perfectly well; collar sits a little funny but that's probably just my build; you're buying quality and simple design

March 19, 2022

Very Warm

I purchased it late in the winter season. Outside temperature around 35 degrees. The jacket is very warm.

March 15, 2022

OK

Fit as measured. Craftsmanship, so-so.

March 12, 2022

Warm, soft and a bit Bulky

I tuought fit was a bit large as it seems bulky. I tried one size down but it was too small. I guess my size is between s and m but i rather be comfortable so M it is. Jacket good quality so far and it is soft which i like. Very warm too! Went to NY and it was good for 30 or below with 2 layers underneath. Hoping to use it for the following 10+ y... Read Moreears :).

March 11, 2022

super warm

feels great wearing it and it keeps the wind out and the warmth in.

March 10, 2022

1 Problem

The jacket is warm and provides sufficient installation for most cold nights. The one problem is that the fabric is very delicate and holes in the fabric appear often.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

Hello Jack, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're very sorry to hear that your Men's Silent Down Jacket is beginning to produce holes. We'd be happy to help you out with a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll reach out to you privately for further assistance.

March 9, 2022

Good Thickness Relative to Nano Puff

My boyfriend wanted a thicker Patagonia jacket than his Nano Puff jacket for snow and colder weather. This is a good thickness and warmth. It doesn't have quite as much structure as I thought it would, but more than the Nano Puff. We'll see how it holds up in snow-- I'm a little worried about how it will do in wet conditions.

March 9, 2022

Quality Product

Jacket is extremely warm, comfortable, and cuts a pretty nice figure. I'm 5' 11"/210lbs and bought a Large. Plenty of room to wear a sweatshirt underneath without feeling to bulky.

March 8, 2022

Sizing is off

The XXL and 3X are sized way off, the. XXL was a tad too snug and the 3X was wayyyy to big, it needs to be just 2 inches wider from size to size like sizes S-XL.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Hi Yissenia, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the sizing trouble that you experienced. We greatly appreciate this feedback, and we'll pass this along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 5, 2022

great !

great fit and light warm

March 2, 2022

warm

wind proof hood great

February 23, 2022

Liked the jacket .... but!

I liked the jacket ... nice fit, looked good, comfortable, reasonably warm with room for a sweater. Just after I got the jacket I went out for a first test, 7 mile light hike - worked great! As I was returning to the house, the left pocket side of the jacket just caught on something and almost torn that entire pocket side of the jacket off. I didn&... Read More#x27;t even realize what had happened until I saw the down floating around my head. Great news is Patagonia's wonderful policy. I took it to our local store and was offered a complete repair or a different jacket exchange - no problem! I said I would like something not so fragile and they showed me some styles and found one I liked and bingo ... a quick exchange. Made my day and I look forward to many comfortable days with my new jacket.

February 7, 2022

Satisfied

I hope the material is tough enough to stand up to carrying a backpack over shoulders and just normal scrapes and wear as it feels very soft and good but I wonder if not too thin a material? Otherwise I love it.

January 30, 2022

Simply Perfect

The jacket is very warm and really is silent with movement. I wear it only when temp. is below 32, cause otherwise it's too warm. There are no extra pockets, only 2 side pockets, has a pullout hood. Just a very simple functional design that delivers perfect function.

January 21, 2022

I like this jacket

I bought this jacket in the Fall of 2019 for daily use. The fit and feel were perfect from day one. Good looking as well. Here in Pennsylvania winter brings cold spells in single digits sometimes with wind. I dress in layers and although adequate, in truth, the jacket could be warmer. At the coldest temperatures it works for shorter times. For my p... Read Moreurposes I am satisfied. (Probably not economically feasible but I would like to see the same style with options for more down fill). What brings me to write today is the zipper tore from the jacket. Customer service was excellent! Sending me a free patch kit to hold till spring when I will return it for a free repair. Standing behind products is hard to find these days. Thank you. Thank you . Thank you.

Response from Patagonia
January 25, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the jacket, Stuart! We do offer much warmer jackets than the Silent Down, which is more of a casual winter piece, and less technical. Warmth is quite subjective, so we don't temperature rate our gear but our Customer Service team can definitely help to steer you in the right direction. We look forward to getting your jacket fixed by our expert Repairs Department!

January 18, 2022

Warm and snug

This jacket fits like a glove and I could not be happier. Thank you

January 11, 2022

Great fit and keeps me warm.

Great fit and keeps me warm.

January 7, 2022

My Perfect Jacket

I couldn't find the one I like so I finally decide to try one of men's and see if the cutting is more to my style. Bingo! This jacket is exactly what I have been looking for!

January 5, 2022

Very nice jacket, only a few minor complaints

This makes for a great jacket. Very warm, and the stowable hood (without needing to remove hood entirely) is a great feature. My main complain is the pockets, the outside pockets just feel a little constrictive. The way that the pocket is shaped internally, a relatively narrow bottom of the pocket, makes it awkward to keep your fist close when you ... Read Morehave your hand in the pocket, it doesn't quite settle to the bottom of the pocket comfortably like it would in a more square profile pocket. My other main concern is that the insulation is very thick on the main body of the jacket, but does get to be very thin on the sleeves and the hood. A more uniform thickness might suit it better. Overall still a great jacket, and I hope to wear it for years to come!

December 27, 2021

Husband loves it!

Nice jacket, warm, fits well.

December 23, 2021

excellent wear and warmth

My past Patagonia just finally could not be worn longer. This coat is a fabulous replacement. The down has more loft and thus much warmer. The only suggestion I have concerns the sleeves. Where the sleeve ends near the wrists needs review. The inner band of the sleeve does not stay with the ending material and withdraws up into the sleeve. This wit... Read Morehdraw of the cotton wrist band leaves the nylon outer lining thin by it self thus allowing for quick wear and soil to accumulate. I believe sewing the inner sleeve to the outer material will make it stronger and less wear. For a more descriptive narrative, please call or ask for more information

December 21, 2021

Comfortable and Super Warm

Great product... only complain I have about this jacket is the pocket design.

December 19, 2021

Yes, super warm.

A very good quality product. And a very efficient and fast shipping service.

December 17, 2021

Great Everyday Jacket

Love this jacket. Can wear without getting hot, sweating inside, while staying very warm outside on a cold day.

December 15, 2021

Best jacket EVER!!

I own several pat jackets and this one is by far my favorite. Supper supple and warm for temps down into the 20s. Great outlayer and I live the chest pocket and stow away hood. I workout and wear a small in all Patagonia but I dont like my clothes to be baggy. Buy this, you wont be disappointed.

December 13, 2021

Nice fit and well made.

Super light and warm for 30 degree chicago weather. Nice design and simple.

December 13, 2021

Well made Down Jacket

Very nice jacket but wish Patagonia had added an outside zippered chest pocket as they have done on many of their other products. An outside zippered chest pocket is very useful but not found on this jacket model. Otherwise, I love the jacket.

November 30, 2021

Great jacket

An excellent mid-weight down jacket. I confess I like it so much I own 2 of them.

November 29, 2021

Super

Light weight and very warm.

November 27, 2021

It works

Not sure if the jacket runs true to size, since I have nothing to compare it to. However, it fits fine, and it fits snug at the wrists and waist, helping to keep the cold out. I recently moved from the Gulf Coast of Florida to northern New Jersey, and realized that I needed really warm clothing. The jacket was perfect, and the quality seems really ... Read Moregood. Since I have only worn it 5 or 6 times, I reserve a wholehearted endorsement, but what I have experienced so far would encourage me to return to Patagonia for future purchases.

November 27, 2021

Nice!

Just what I was looking for.

November 27, 2021

Not warm enough

I used to have a Patagonia down jacket that I used all the time it was very warm and comfortable it burned up in a house fire. But the new one is not as warm. Also I liked the inside big pocket on the old one and this one doesnt have one.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2021

Hello John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that the Silent Down Jacket wasn't quite as warm as you were hoping. With that said, its not the warmest down jacket we offer. We'd suggest taking a look at our [Men's Hi-Loft Down Sweater Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-hi-loft-down-hoody/84902.html?dwvar_84902_color=BLK&cgid=root) as its a warmer alternative.

November 22, 2021

THE BEST JACKET.

I've lived in WI my entire life and winters can get very cold. I always found myself cold and shivering when outside in the winter even after buying expensive jackets, that all changed when I got my first Patagonia. This jacket is the ABSOLUTE BEST. I literally tell me wife daily how great this jacket is even after owning it for a couple of ye... Read Morears. It keeps you the perfect temperature whether you're in your car driving or standing outside in 20 degree temperatures. The hood also fits perfectly while many other brands make hoods that fall over your face or are too small. Jacket also has drawstrings to pull the waistband in keeping the warmth close to your body. This jacket made me a Patagonia fan for life. It's like wearing a stylish sleeping bag that keeps you the perfect temperature; you'll never want to take it off!

November 14, 2021

Love it

I love my jacket. Super warm. Lightweight and flexible.

October 17, 2021

Beautiful jacket!

I bought this jacket for my husband and its perfect! Beautifully made and looks incredible! He loved it and feels great wearing it!

September 8, 2021

Just Right

Wanted a more traditional looking down coat with Warmth being the most important criteria. Didn't want an artic level coat as I tend to layer for warmth anyways. This seems like a good alternative to the many sweater type coats Not too bulky. Has a collar stored hood which makes the collar extra padded when in stored position which I really Li... Read Moreke as my neck is always cold on windy chilly days. Don't use hoods often but, great to know its there if it gets cold and heavy snow.

September 7, 2021

warm and light

Very warm, especially for the light weight. Love the cuffs and the hood that zips away. Seems sturdy though I have not worn it much yet. Great coat.

July 29, 2021

Warm but not wateroroof

Great in the winter as warm and light, but let's water through on shoulders and arms when it's raining.

Response from Patagonia
August 2, 2021

Hello Thomas, we appreciate you taking the time to share your findings on the Men's Silent Down Jacket. While the shell of the jacket is treated with a DWR (durable water repellent) finish, it is not waterproof. If you are not fully satisfied with the jacket, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. For a waterproof down jacket option, you may want to consider the Men's Tres 3-in-1 Parka.

May 17, 2021

Very comfy

Plenty warm and very comfy, I'd be careful about wearing near campfires, I don't think the outershell would hold up well to small embers, might want to wait for a sale, I feel like it could be a little cheaper. Overall, still satisfied with the purchase.

April 26, 2021

Super cozy, great color

Very happy with it.

April 14, 2021

Lovely!

I love this jacket sooooo much! It's great for most weather types that require a jacket. I can even throw on a t-shirt with it and run out the door if need be. I would totally recommend this and I feel very comfortable knowing this jacket will stay with me for a number of years.

March 27, 2021

Very cozy.

Sleeves are long enough for my long arms. Thin down, so I put a shell over it for cold weather. But also thin enough to wear inside. So cozy.

February 23, 2021

Fantastic Jacket!

Ive never worn such an amazing jacket. I love the softness, its so light-weight, and the warmth is superb. I honestly dont want to take the jacket off. Im now buying as much of my gear as possible from Patagonia.

February 12, 2021

Everything and more

This is literally the best article of clothing that I own! Super lightweight, warm, water resistant , ample pocket space... high quality zipper and the hood are my fave features. I own the khaki color and I constantly get compliments on it. This jacket is a jacket your have your whole life.

February 4, 2021

Warm and Versatile Down Jacket

I purchased this jacket for more warmth in winter than the down sweater provides me. The jacket has a hood which is concealed in the collar but easily accessible. Down in the jacket has been recycled from other outer wear. My only objection is the outer material which I don't care for as much as the outer material used for the down sweater.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thanks for the excellent feedback, Chris! The outer fabric of this jacket is what gives it the "Silent" name. You may appreciate a warmer winter down jacket like our Jackson Glacier, Hi-Loft Down Hoody, or Fitz Roy Down Hoody. [Reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have questions about returning, exchanging or trading in your jacket.

February 3, 2021

Quiet Insulation for Archery

511 245; this is a great piece - looks great for casual; can be compressed and easily kept in a dry bag for cold weather fishing; was a KEY part of my late season tree stand archery layering this past year. The silent down is vastly more quiet than the typical swishy material on, for example, my down sweater. I used a base layer, thermal layer, thi... Read Mores jacket and a specialized hunting fleece over it and was comfortable while stationary in sub 15F degrees in windy conditions for 3-5 hours at a time. Wonderful insulation piece.

January 31, 2021

Perfect puffer

Awesome! Fits perfect, very warm but dont get too hot as the temp warms. Love the matte finish!

January 27, 2021

Light but warm

I just wore it once but I really like it. It was light and I could not feel the cold.

January 26, 2021

Perfect Fit

I gave this jacket to my brother as a gift. He loves it and said that it fits perfectly.

January 25, 2021

Perfect!

Perfect Jacket for PNW late winter

January 21, 2021

Awesome jacket

I love that the jacket is lightweight, but yet super warm. I love the feature of the hood and that you stowaway in the collar. The jacket looks cool either way with the hood and without the hood. I hike a lot and this jacket has perfect mobility that I need on cold hikes. Doesnt look bad either when hanging out in town.

January 21, 2021

Just right

So far, so good. The jacket is comfortable and warm. The weather has been cold, but not very cold. I'm looking forward to seeing how it does then. I like the jacket a lot.

January 15, 2021

Warm enough for 5-10F

My main jacket is a park from LuLulemon but wanted something lightweight with the same effect. This jacket is perfect. Thin- but, dont let that fool you.

January 8, 2021

Great down jacket

Love it! Looks and feels great! Super soft and warm.

January 5, 2021

Performance Highlight

Awesome coat, lightweight, warm, very comfortable, easy to move while wearing it, wind doesn't cut through you, pockets work well, Superb!

January 3, 2021

Very Warm

Bought this jacket for my husband. He is 6'3" and wears an XL size. This jacket fits him perfectly. He wears it without a sweater - only a long sleeve shirt. He is happy with the jacket as it keeps him warm but not overheated.

January 1, 2021

Fabulous and warm and the hood is awesome!

Love the coat and its warm and perfect for an upgrade from my other Patagonia jackets

December 31, 2020

Warm winter jacket

Bought as a gift for my husband. He loves it. Something nice to wear to work when its cold out. We had the thinner version of this jacket. He wanted the next thickness up to keep him warmer on the really cold days. He is often in freezers for work. This keeps him warm when he is in one or just out on the street.

December 30, 2020

Pure comfort

Warm fit comfort Truly the best

December 29, 2020

Light weight warm

Jacket is light weight but warm and wind blocking.

December 29, 2020

My dad loves it

This was a gift to my 72-year-old dad. He absolutely loves it. The material is super soft to touch, light and warm.

December 23, 2020

Not as warm as hoped

I purchased this jacket because I was looking for something warmer than my Nano Air Hoody. Unfortunately, on the first time wearing it for a short walk in semi windy 40 degree (F) weather, it wasnt nearly as warm as I had hoped. In fact, I think the nano air may be warmer due to the ability to more tightly sinch its hood. (I switched back to the ai... Read Morer and took the same walk and felt warmer). That said, it seems like a nice jacket. I appreciate the ability to tighten it around the waist. I am 6 foot 2 inches, 175 lbs and usually buy a medium or large in Patagonia products. For this jacket, the large seemed just a tad too big for me, but the medium probably would have been too small. I think, if I didnt already own the Nano Air, I would have been perfectly happy with this jacket. But I dont really need two jackets in the same warmth class. Sadly, Ill be returning this garment and looking for something a bit warmer.

December 19, 2020

Nice jacket but...

This jacket would be fine if you only plan on wearing it to the store in cool weather. It's very soft, the fit and look are excellent and it feels weightless. I like it has ample pocket space, the cuff design is great and I certainly appreciate recycled materials being used. But this jacket is only going to keep you warm to possibly 40 degrees... Read More, it's not going to survive a winter in the Finger Lakes region of Upstate NY. I have a high metabolism and don't need a heavyweight parka to keep warm even in the coldest weather. I was just out in 16 degrees and you could feel the cold cut right through this jacket. I'm not a fan of hoods, even my ski jackets have removeable hoods and are only attached when the weather on the slopes is really nasty. So, I liked this jacket had the option of tucking the hood in the collar. The hood in this jacket is insulated so once it's tucked away, the collar is overstuffed, firm and feels like you have one of those travel pillows people have around their necks on air flights. It's rather annoying even when the jacket is not zipped up completely. The collar should be larger to accommodate the insulated hood. The outer shell feels flimsy and I have my doubts it would hold up well. And as others have indicated, I had to pluck a feather sticking out shortly after I unpacked the jacket. I have always been of the opinion you pay a little more for Patagonia products as they are well designed, of the highest quality and will be serviceable for a long period of time. I think they missed the mark on this one, particularly at this price point.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable and insightful thoughts with our team. Reviews are one way that we work on improving our designs, so we appreciate this feedback. For an alternative, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Tres Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-tres-jacket/26790.html?dwvar_26790_color=NENA&cgid=mens-jackets-vests). Not only does it come in at 177 g's of down insulation versus the Silent Down's 109 g's, it also has a removeable hood and outer shell which will do great at preventing drafts.

December 18, 2020

Excellent Soft Down Jacket

I love this jacket. It is so soft and warm.

December 11, 2020

Warm and comfortable

My husband LOVES this jacket. He had been hinting that he needed a new jacket that wasnt too heavy or too light that he could wear everyday. This jacket ended up being perfect. He really loves it, and gets compliments all the time. He said it keeps him warm without feeling too bulky, but its also not thin so you get the perfect amount of warmth fro... Read Morem it. Highly recommend for an everyday coat in winter.

December 10, 2020

Perfect jacket

My husband love it,perfect for this weather! Snow here He goes!

December 7, 2020

Patagonia Men's Silent Down Jacket

We have been big fans of Patgonia for years. Great product with equally impressive customer service.

December 3, 2020

Luxurious

I will start this by saying it is easily the most comfortable jacket Ive tried on. I say tried on because ultimately I return the jacket, BUMMER!!! I purchased this jacket originally in XXL which had a perfect fit across the chest and shoulders but the midsection was just too big, lots of empty space and room for air to get in. I got the XXL becaus... Read Moree I have a Down sweater in XXL and that fits great but it is a much slimmer fit on the midsection than usual, I buy XL jackets and L in the Workwear line. So, I got the XL silent down which fit perfect in the midsection but left the shoulders too tight and the arms too tight(couldnt really wear a ling sleeve shirt under it). WHATTA BUMMER! Did I say that already? If Patagonia could make me this jacket with an XXL top with an XL midsection I would buy two of them, even if it had the down sweater cut I would be golden. I kept the down sweater because it was just a better fit overall but I really wanted to keep this silent down jacket. This is mostly a problem with me and not the jacket, I have larger lats and shoulders so its been difficult finding the right cut. Patagonias workwear line in size L fits me great every time. Make this silent down in the workwear cut even! :)

December 3, 2020

Tight small fit

All my other Patagonia jackets I own are between a L - XL. This jacket felt like the sizing was between a M and a L. Ran very small and I had to return it.

November 25, 2020

Cozy warm

Very comfortable and with the hood and waist cinch straps you can make it snug so no drafts. That is key !

November 23, 2020

Didnt Love

I had high hopes for this jacket especially after the representative on the phone told me how great it is. I tried it on when I received it, its not too heavy, perfect weight, nice and warm but wish the black material looked nicer instead of dull and lifeless. I need a two-way zippier when I drive so I ended up returning it unfortunately. I have a ... Read Morewonderful Patagonia fleece jacket to tide me over until I can find a better winter jacket. Hopefully I can soon.

November 23, 2020

Jacket review

You get what you pay for..jacket is worth the money. Warm and not bulky

November 23, 2020

Warm and comfortable!

My favorite thing about this jacket is that it is can be worn when it is either cool out or extremely cold. Unzipped, the jacket is great for morning walks in the low 60s. Zipped with the hood up, its delightful in the 40s (I havent tested it in even colder conditions). I also really love the cuffs, which hug your wrists and keep cool air out. The ... Read Morehood zips into the collar, which looks great when wearing the jacket in warmer weather. One of the primary reasons I purchased this jacket is because it is made from recycled down, which makes me happy both as an animal lover and especially as someone conscious of our environmental footprint.

November 23, 2020

My New Standard

This is my new go-to jacket. Its versatile, super warm and super lightweight. Keeps me cozy in the 50s and toasty all the way into the low 20s. Throw a sweater under there and I bet this thing will perform well into the single digits. Lots of big pockets for everyday use. I love wearing this with a t-shirt - the fabric feels super refreshing on my ... Read Moreskin. I like this jacket so much, Ive got it in two colors. Highly recommended, 10/10.

November 20, 2020

Exactly What I Expected

Great quality, stylish look. Fit is perfect for me... I ordered size L and Im 6 feet and 200 pounds. Fill / warmth is good, but not great. I purchased knowing it wasnt going to be as warm as my Patagonia bivy down jacket (which I continue to wear after four years of heavy use). This new silent down jacket is a nice alternative for me to switch to f... Read Moreor late fall / early winter. The sage khaki color is fire! And I love the hood, which is a feature my bivy does not have. I definitely recommend!

November 14, 2020

Great jacket .. great color.

My son loves his new coat .. fit is perfect .. he is excited for cold weather now

November 11, 2020

Loving this jacket.

Super warm. Looks dope. The brown color is awesome!!

November 10, 2020

Love this coat.

My last down coat was stolen from my car. It was my favorite coat, made me so sad when it was gone. My friend bought me this coat as a gift and it is so comfortable and warm. As the days are getting colder the coat keeps getting better.

October 31, 2020

Amazing!

Very warm but not heavy or restricting.

October 25, 2020

Soft, warm, and very comfortable

Great old-school styling! I love wearing it with just a t-shirt..... this jacket is extremely comfortable. Good for the mid 30s to the 40s with a regular or long sleeve t-shirt. 20s to mid 30s with a warm base layer. I'm glad it's not shiny. The matte finish fabric is really soft. Kudos for the recycled down, the quality of materials, and... Read More the excellent craftsmanship.

September 9, 2020

Nice jacket

I bought this jacket for my husband. He lives in everything Patagonia. He loves everything they make. I think the jacket could be a little more full of down. Maybe tougher shell as well. But he loves it.

June 14, 2020

Perfect Jacket

I was looking for a replacement jacket to be waterproof, light but warm, easy to pack while traveling to cold areas such as Minnesota where I visit in the winters. Overall best jack I have ever purchased . I recommend this jacket for true to size, comfort, water proof, and style. Thank you for designing a jacket that met my needs. JN

March 11, 2020

I never want to take it off

I just bought this for walking around NYC in the cold. I was out last week with a t-shirt on underneath in 20-30 degree weather and I was perfectly warm wearing the jacket. It's extremely comfortable and love the option of folding in the hood or having it out

February 22, 2020

Size is very large

I wear a medium in everything that I have bought from Patagonia, but his jacket (which was labeled as a medium is really Large (chest, waist and arms). So if you are a big medium bordering on Large it may fit you, otherwise size down.

February 18, 2020

High-quality warm down-jacket

This jacket is soft, warm, and of medium bulk, which is nice so it can be worn as a thick layer under a hard-shell, when the weather is under subzero temperatures, otherwise, it can handle 0 temperatures with only a t-shirt underneath, blocking the wind well, and with a layer and a hard-shell, it can handle subzero temperatures easily, keeping you ... Read Moretoasty warm.

February 15, 2020

Outstanding & Versatile Jacket

Just got the logwood brown version. Looks like it was made in Vietnam. Medium fits me well, maybe a slight tad larger than expected. I'm 5'9, 150lbs, athletic build. Jacket is extremely soft and comfortable as well as light. Love the inner elastic cuffs on the arms. Love the hood and the ability to tuck it away. Love the inner pocket. Hop... Read Moreing the durability and longevity is up to par but not worried if it isn't as Patagonia truly stands behind their products.

February 9, 2020

Perfect!

Thus jacket is perfect for cold windy conditions. I love soft feeling of the jacket and that the inner sleeves wrap snug to avoid wind going in. I also love that the hooded is insulated which is very important.

February 5, 2020

Nearly Perfect, just a bit light

This jacket is great in almost all ways, unfortunately it is just too light (not warm enough). I love the fabric, it is truly silent. The fit is nice, roomy without being too bulky. Unfortunately I would deem this more of a light jacket or even sweater. In spending good money on a down jacket, I had hopes of it being a truly warm jacket, which it i... Read Mores not. I desperately they could make its fill more along the lines of the Fitz Roy jacket. That would make it nearly perfect.

January 23, 2020

BEWARE black is not black

Its a nice coat. warm but not suffocating. I ordered black but it's more of a dark chocolate. Not a deal breaker but its kinda disappointing.

January 21, 2020

My "Unicorn" winter coat!

I have been looking for the perfect jacket. One with all the adjustments with and being wind and water-resistant wind that I wanted. Hence, the unicorn jacket. I did not think it existed. I've been trying on jackets for a month with the features I wanted. Draw hem, adjustable Hood at least 700 down, water-resistant wind resistant etc. This jac... Read Moreket not only met my requirements but exceeded them. When putting on this jacket bear armed, you are instantly surprised by how freaking soft and comfortable the inside of the jacket is. It's like wearing an ultra soft fleece. It's unbelievable that they accomplished this with nylon, that and the very subtle stretching action in the material is just splendid. If I were going to say anything negative, which does not reflect in my five star review, it would be the hood is kind of a novelty, that, and I was looking for something a little more trim. This is by far the best "grab-and-go"winter jacket I have ever owned! Thank you Patagonia.

January 6, 2020

Bought for boyfriend, and he

Bought for boyfriend, and he won't take it off! Feels like the softest down comforter

January 5, 2020

Love it!

Love it!

December 30, 2019

Perfect jacket

Perfect jacket

December 29, 2019

Looks great!

Looks great!

December 27, 2019

Great fit and warmth!

This jacket fits perfectly, is true to size, and keeps me warm. It's just what I needed for watching soccer games this winter.

December 26, 2019

Not as good a Sweater Jacket

I was not impressed with the Silent Down Jacket as much as I was with the Down Sweater Jacket. The Silent Down's Jacket material was to loose and the collar would not stand.

December 26, 2019

The jacket is very good

The jacket is very good looking and warm. The delivery and notifications were top notch.

December 25, 2019

M’s Silent Down Jacket

Amazing jacket! Sizing for medium size was a bit off but my son loves it! Great for MN winters!

December 23, 2019

Very narrow in shoulders

I'm 6-0, 170 lbs and needed an XXL because of the extremely narrow shoulder and back width, but as I bought it on sale and use it only indoors for lounging around and sleeping, it's fine. Much too wide in the rest of the body for stylish street wear, and not especially useful in freezing weather owing to the odd overall fit . But very sof... Read Moret, quiet and comfortable, with a pleasant "sage khaki" color.

December 23, 2019

Great light weight coat with

Great light weight coat with lots of warmth!

December 22, 2019

Color was a little off

I ordered black, but it is closer to a charcoal, or a brown rather than a jet black.

December 22, 2019

Great jacket for winter

Great jacket for winter

December 21, 2019

Jacket

Very nice and we’ll constructed. Giving as an Xmas gift.

December 20, 2019

Tear once I got it! :(

Amazing jacket, light and warm, but once I got it somehow it got a little hole on the sleeve... fragile? I love it.. but I guess I have to wear it like that...

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2020

Hi Gerardo, we're sorry to hear that your jacket has a hole. We'd be happy to do a complimentary repair for you. You can start that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=repair.

December 19, 2019

Warm without bulk

Purchased for my finicky college son who hates puffy jackets, but complains of being cold. He absolutely loved it. He is 5’10” about 160, got a medium. Fit was perfect and he loved how warm it was without the bulk of most puffies. And yes it was silent too. No swishing sounds with arm movement. Unfortunately he wore it for just about a week before ... Read Moreit went missing. He is so bummed about it as am I. :/

December 19, 2019

Great jacket. Keeps me warm

Great jacket. Keeps me warm and it’s not as bulky as it looks in the photo. Very pleased with my purchase.

December 18, 2019

Outer shell is not durable

We ordered this coat a couple weeks ago. It has been worn twice. On the second wear, the outer layer was easily snagged and ripped while walking in the woods. I would not recommend using this coat for outdoor activities other than traveling to the office on city streets.

December 17, 2019

Jacket colors are wide open,

Jacket colors are wide open, seems like they will never get closer to the neck unless you zip them

December 16, 2019

Outer shell is fragile

The coat is nice and warm however the second time the jacket was worn it snagged down the front. Shell is too fragile for active outdoor wear. The jacket may be good for just going to work in an office. Nice jacket with a duct tape patch the second time it was worn :(

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that the jacket snagged so early into owning it. We'd recommend that you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us as we are sure you aren't loving the look of the duct tape patch. We are happy to help with this and appreciate the feedback.

December 16, 2019

Great

Great

December 16, 2019

Great jacket

This is my first puff-style jacket so I can’t compare it to anything else but I love it. Very comfortable and keeps my body at a great temperature regardless of what the temp outside is

December 16, 2019

Loved the coat, hated the holes

I bought one for my husband and one for me, it is light weight, toasty warm, beautiful colors and modern looking. Within the third wear, my coat sprouted two holes in the arm and my husband had a hole on his within the first week. Sad because Patagonia usually has durable long wear products.

December 16, 2019

Perfect coat

Lightweight, surprisingly warm and comfortable.

December 15, 2019

GREAT JACKET!!!!

Perfect down jacket - not too puffy and fits perfectly - super warm and not shiny !!!

December 15, 2019

great customer service

got me into what I really wanted very helpful

December 15, 2019

Awesome jacket

Lightweight and very warm! The built in hood is nice because you can zip it up or have it hanging. Wore it in big bear with freezing temperatures and was cozy. Great jacket as always!

December 15, 2019

Awesome Jacket, proper fit, good insulation for 20-40 degreen

Great jacket for around 10-50 degrees Fahrenheit for a decent amount of time. Think you could rock it for taking pictures or being outside for 30, don’t know if I would do hours in the jacket at 10 degrees

December 14, 2019

Great fit and comfort

Great fit and comfort

December 14, 2019

Very warm, very comfortable!

I just shoveled for an hour in -9° F temps (-29°F windchill) in my silent down jacket and I was perfectly warm the entire time. The fabric is quite soft inside and outside with good fill that doesn’t look excessively puffy. I have no complaints at all with this jacket and it is truly the winter coat I have been searching for for many years. Highly ... Read Morerecommended to manage bitterly cold northern plains winters in one of the coldest parts of the US.

December 14, 2019

Great product!

Great product!

December 14, 2019

Silent Down

Fit is right on and the warmth surprised me. Heavier than my puff coat and warmer in colder winter weather. I also was impressed with the wind resistance. The wind is always swirling in Michigan.

December 14, 2019

Warm Jacket

Very warm jacket. I live in the upper Midwest and our temperatures have dropped into the single digits since I bought my jacket. Haven’t felt cold in my upper body once. Would purchase again.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches