Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Silent Down Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 145 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Silent Down Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
April 14, 2021

Lovely!

I love this jacket sooooo much! It's great for most weather types that require a jacket. I can even throw on a t-shirt with it and run out the door if need be. I would totally recommend this and I feel very comfortable knowing this jacket will stay with me for a number of years.

March 27, 2021

Very cozy.

Sleeves are long enough for my long arms. Thin down, so I put a shell over it for cold weather. But also thin enough to wear inside. So cozy.

February 23, 2021

Fantastic Jacket!

Ive never worn such an amazing jacket. I love the softness, its so light-weight, and the warmth is superb. I honestly dont want to take the jacket off. Im now buying as much of my gear as possible from Patagonia.

February 12, 2021

Everything and more

This is literally the best article of clothing that I own! Super lightweight, warm, water resistant , ample pocket space... high quality zipper and the hood are my fave features. I own the khaki color and I constantly get compliments on it. This jacket is a jacket your have your whole life.

February 4, 2021

Warm and Versatile Down Jacket

I purchased this jacket for more warmth in winter than the down sweater provides me. The jacket has a hood which is concealed in the collar but easily accessible. Down in the jacket has been recycled from other outer wear. My only objection is the outer material which I don't care for as much as the outer material used for the down sweater.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Thanks for the excellent feedback, Chris! The outer fabric of this jacket is what gives it the "Silent" name. You may appreciate a warmer winter down jacket like our Jackson Glacier, Hi-Loft Down Hoody, or Fitz Roy Down Hoody. [Reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) if you have questions about returning, exchanging or trading in your jacket.

February 3, 2021

Quiet Insulation for Archery

511 245; this is a great piece - looks great for casual; can be compressed and easily kept in a dry bag for cold weather fishing; was a KEY part of my late season tree stand archery layering this past year. The silent down is vastly more quiet than the typical swishy material on, for example, my down sweater. I used a base layer, thermal layer, thi... Read Mores jacket and a specialized hunting fleece over it and was comfortable while stationary in sub 15F degrees in windy conditions for 3-5 hours at a time. Wonderful insulation piece.

January 31, 2021

Perfect puffer

Awesome! Fits perfect, very warm but dont get too hot as the temp warms. Love the matte finish!

January 27, 2021

Light but warm

I just wore it once but I really like it. It was light and I could not feel the cold.

January 26, 2021

Perfect Fit

I gave this jacket to my brother as a gift. He loves it and said that it fits perfectly.

January 25, 2021

Perfect!

Perfect Jacket for PNW late winter

January 21, 2021

Awesome jacket

I love that the jacket is lightweight, but yet super warm. I love the feature of the hood and that you stowaway in the collar. The jacket looks cool either way with the hood and without the hood. I hike a lot and this jacket has perfect mobility that I need on cold hikes. Doesnt look bad either when hanging out in town.

January 21, 2021

Just right

So far, so good. The jacket is comfortable and warm. The weather has been cold, but not very cold. I'm looking forward to seeing how it does then. I like the jacket a lot.

January 15, 2021

Warm enough for 5-10F

My main jacket is a park from LuLulemon but wanted something lightweight with the same effect. This jacket is perfect. Thin- but, dont let that fool you.

January 8, 2021

Great down jacket

Love it! Looks and feels great! Super soft and warm.

January 5, 2021

Performance Highlight

Awesome coat, lightweight, warm, very comfortable, easy to move while wearing it, wind doesn't cut through you, pockets work well, Superb!

January 3, 2021

Very Warm

Bought this jacket for my husband. He is 6'3" and wears an XL size. This jacket fits him perfectly. He wears it without a sweater - only a long sleeve shirt. He is happy with the jacket as it keeps him warm but not overheated.

January 1, 2021

Fabulous and warm and the hood is awesome!

Love the coat and its warm and perfect for an upgrade from my other Patagonia jackets

December 31, 2020

Warm winter jacket

Bought as a gift for my husband. He loves it. Something nice to wear to work when its cold out. We had the thinner version of this jacket. He wanted the next thickness up to keep him warmer on the really cold days. He is often in freezers for work. This keeps him warm when he is in one or just out on the street.

December 30, 2020

Pure comfort

Warm fit comfort Truly the best

December 29, 2020

Light weight warm

Jacket is light weight but warm and wind blocking.

December 29, 2020

My dad loves it

This was a gift to my 72-year-old dad. He absolutely loves it. The material is super soft to touch, light and warm.

December 23, 2020

Not as warm as hoped

I purchased this jacket because I was looking for something warmer than my Nano Air Hoody. Unfortunately, on the first time wearing it for a short walk in semi windy 40 degree (F) weather, it wasnt nearly as warm as I had hoped. In fact, I think the nano air may be warmer due to the ability to more tightly sinch its hood. (I switched back to the ai... Read Morer and took the same walk and felt warmer). That said, it seems like a nice jacket. I appreciate the ability to tighten it around the waist. I am 6 foot 2 inches, 175 lbs and usually buy a medium or large in Patagonia products. For this jacket, the large seemed just a tad too big for me, but the medium probably would have been too small. I think, if I didnt already own the Nano Air, I would have been perfectly happy with this jacket. But I dont really need two jackets in the same warmth class. Sadly, Ill be returning this garment and looking for something a bit warmer.

December 19, 2020

Nice jacket but...

This jacket would be fine if you only plan on wearing it to the store in cool weather. It's very soft, the fit and look are excellent and it feels weightless. I like it has ample pocket space, the cuff design is great and I certainly appreciate recycled materials being used. But this jacket is only going to keep you warm to possibly 40 degrees... Read More, it's not going to survive a winter in the Finger Lakes region of Upstate NY. I have a high metabolism and don't need a heavyweight parka to keep warm even in the coldest weather. I was just out in 16 degrees and you could feel the cold cut right through this jacket. I'm not a fan of hoods, even my ski jackets have removeable hoods and are only attached when the weather on the slopes is really nasty. So, I liked this jacket had the option of tucking the hood in the collar. The hood in this jacket is insulated so once it's tucked away, the collar is overstuffed, firm and feels like you have one of those travel pillows people have around their necks on air flights. It's rather annoying even when the jacket is not zipped up completely. The collar should be larger to accommodate the insulated hood. The outer shell feels flimsy and I have my doubts it would hold up well. And as others have indicated, I had to pluck a feather sticking out shortly after I unpacked the jacket. I have always been of the opinion you pay a little more for Patagonia products as they are well designed, of the highest quality and will be serviceable for a long period of time. I think they missed the mark on this one, particularly at this price point.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable and insightful thoughts with our team. Reviews are one way that we work on improving our designs, so we appreciate this feedback. For an alternative, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Tres Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-tres-jacket/26790.html?dwvar_26790_color=NENA&cgid=mens-jackets-vests). Not only does it come in at 177 g's of down insulation versus the Silent Down's 109 g's, it also has a removeable hood and outer shell which will do great at preventing drafts.

December 18, 2020

Excellent Soft Down Jacket

I love this jacket. It is so soft and warm.

December 11, 2020

Warm and comfortable

My husband LOVES this jacket. He had been hinting that he needed a new jacket that wasnt too heavy or too light that he could wear everyday. This jacket ended up being perfect. He really loves it, and gets compliments all the time. He said it keeps him warm without feeling too bulky, but its also not thin so you get the perfect amount of warmth fro... Read Morem it. Highly recommend for an everyday coat in winter.

December 10, 2020

Perfect jacket

My husband love it,perfect for this weather! Snow here He goes!

December 7, 2020

Patagonia Men's Silent Down Jacket

We have been big fans of Patgonia for years. Great product with equally impressive customer service.

December 3, 2020

Luxurious

I will start this by saying it is easily the most comfortable jacket Ive tried on. I say tried on because ultimately I return the jacket, BUMMER!!! I purchased this jacket originally in XXL which had a perfect fit across the chest and shoulders but the midsection was just too big, lots of empty space and room for air to get in. I got the XXL becaus... Read Moree I have a Down sweater in XXL and that fits great but it is a much slimmer fit on the midsection than usual, I buy XL jackets and L in the Workwear line. So, I got the XL silent down which fit perfect in the midsection but left the shoulders too tight and the arms too tight(couldnt really wear a ling sleeve shirt under it). WHATTA BUMMER! Did I say that already? If Patagonia could make me this jacket with an XXL top with an XL midsection I would buy two of them, even if it had the down sweater cut I would be golden. I kept the down sweater because it was just a better fit overall but I really wanted to keep this silent down jacket. This is mostly a problem with me and not the jacket, I have larger lats and shoulders so its been difficult finding the right cut. Patagonias workwear line in size L fits me great every time. Make this silent down in the workwear cut even! :)

December 3, 2020

Tight small fit

All my other Patagonia jackets I own are between a L - XL. This jacket felt like the sizing was between a M and a L. Ran very small and I had to return it.

November 25, 2020

Cozy warm

Very comfortable and with the hood and waist cinch straps you can make it snug so no drafts. That is key !

November 23, 2020

Didnt Love

I had high hopes for this jacket especially after the representative on the phone told me how great it is. I tried it on when I received it, its not too heavy, perfect weight, nice and warm but wish the black material looked nicer instead of dull and lifeless. I need a two-way zippier when I drive so I ended up returning it unfortunately. I have a ... Read Morewonderful Patagonia fleece jacket to tide me over until I can find a better winter jacket. Hopefully I can soon.

November 23, 2020

Jacket review

You get what you pay for..jacket is worth the money. Warm and not bulky

November 23, 2020

Warm and comfortable!

My favorite thing about this jacket is that it is can be worn when it is either cool out or extremely cold. Unzipped, the jacket is great for morning walks in the low 60s. Zipped with the hood up, its delightful in the 40s (I havent tested it in even colder conditions). I also really love the cuffs, which hug your wrists and keep cool air out. The ... Read Morehood zips into the collar, which looks great when wearing the jacket in warmer weather. One of the primary reasons I purchased this jacket is because it is made from recycled down, which makes me happy both as an animal lover and especially as someone conscious of our environmental footprint.

November 23, 2020

My New Standard

This is my new go-to jacket. Its versatile, super warm and super lightweight. Keeps me cozy in the 50s and toasty all the way into the low 20s. Throw a sweater under there and I bet this thing will perform well into the single digits. Lots of big pockets for everyday use. I love wearing this with a t-shirt - the fabric feels super refreshing on my ... Read Moreskin. I like this jacket so much, Ive got it in two colors. Highly recommended, 10/10.

November 20, 2020

Exactly What I Expected

Great quality, stylish look. Fit is perfect for me... I ordered size L and Im 6 feet and 200 pounds. Fill / warmth is good, but not great. I purchased knowing it wasnt going to be as warm as my Patagonia bivy down jacket (which I continue to wear after four years of heavy use). This new silent down jacket is a nice alternative for me to switch to f... Read Moreor late fall / early winter. The sage khaki color is fire! And I love the hood, which is a feature my bivy does not have. I definitely recommend!

November 14, 2020

Great jacket .. great color.

My son loves his new coat .. fit is perfect .. he is excited for cold weather now

November 11, 2020

Loving this jacket.

Super warm. Looks dope. The brown color is awesome!!

November 10, 2020

Love this coat.

My last down coat was stolen from my car. It was my favorite coat, made me so sad when it was gone. My friend bought me this coat as a gift and it is so comfortable and warm. As the days are getting colder the coat keeps getting better.

October 31, 2020

Amazing!

Very warm but not heavy or restricting.

October 25, 2020

Soft, warm, and very comfortable

Great old-school styling! I love wearing it with just a t-shirt..... this jacket is extremely comfortable. Good for the mid 30s to the 40s with a regular or long sleeve t-shirt. 20s to mid 30s with a warm base layer. I'm glad it's not shiny. The matte finish fabric is really soft. Kudos for the recycled down, the quality of materials, and... Read More the excellent craftsmanship.

September 9, 2020

Nice jacket

I bought this jacket for my husband. He lives in everything Patagonia. He loves everything they make. I think the jacket could be a little more full of down. Maybe tougher shell as well. But he loves it.

June 14, 2020

Perfect Jacket

I was looking for a replacement jacket to be waterproof, light but warm, easy to pack while traveling to cold areas such as Minnesota where I visit in the winters. Overall best jack I have ever purchased . I recommend this jacket for true to size, comfort, water proof, and style. Thank you for designing a jacket that met my needs. JN

March 11, 2020

I never want to take it off

I just bought this for walking around NYC in the cold. I was out last week with a t-shirt on underneath in 20-30 degree weather and I was perfectly warm wearing the jacket. It's extremely comfortable and love the option of folding in the hood or having it out

February 22, 2020

Size is very large

I wear a medium in everything that I have bought from Patagonia, but his jacket (which was labeled as a medium is really Large (chest, waist and arms). So if you are a big medium bordering on Large it may fit you, otherwise size down.

February 18, 2020

High-quality warm down-jacket

This jacket is soft, warm, and of medium bulk, which is nice so it can be worn as a thick layer under a hard-shell, when the weather is under subzero temperatures, otherwise, it can handle 0 temperatures with only a t-shirt underneath, blocking the wind well, and with a layer and a hard-shell, it can handle subzero temperatures easily, keeping you ... Read Moretoasty warm.

February 15, 2020

Outstanding & Versatile Jacket

Just got the logwood brown version. Looks like it was made in Vietnam. Medium fits me well, maybe a slight tad larger than expected. I'm 5'9, 150lbs, athletic build. Jacket is extremely soft and comfortable as well as light. Love the inner elastic cuffs on the arms. Love the hood and the ability to tuck it away. Love the inner pocket. Hop... Read Moreing the durability and longevity is up to par but not worried if it isn't as Patagonia truly stands behind their products.

February 9, 2020

Perfect!

Thus jacket is perfect for cold windy conditions. I love soft feeling of the jacket and that the inner sleeves wrap snug to avoid wind going in. I also love that the hooded is insulated which is very important.

February 5, 2020

Nearly Perfect, just a bit light

This jacket is great in almost all ways, unfortunately it is just too light (not warm enough). I love the fabric, it is truly silent. The fit is nice, roomy without being too bulky. Unfortunately I would deem this more of a light jacket or even sweater. In spending good money on a down jacket, I had hopes of it being a truly warm jacket, which it i... Read Mores not. I desperately they could make its fill more along the lines of the Fitz Roy jacket. That would make it nearly perfect.

January 23, 2020

BEWARE black is not black

Its a nice coat. warm but not suffocating. I ordered black but it's more of a dark chocolate. Not a deal breaker but its kinda disappointing.

January 21, 2020

My "Unicorn" winter coat!

I have been looking for the perfect jacket. One with all the adjustments with and being wind and water-resistant wind that I wanted. Hence, the unicorn jacket. I did not think it existed. I've been trying on jackets for a month with the features I wanted. Draw hem, adjustable Hood at least 700 down, water-resistant wind resistant etc. This jac... Read Moreket not only met my requirements but exceeded them. When putting on this jacket bear armed, you are instantly surprised by how freaking soft and comfortable the inside of the jacket is. It's like wearing an ultra soft fleece. It's unbelievable that they accomplished this with nylon, that and the very subtle stretching action in the material is just splendid. If I were going to say anything negative, which does not reflect in my five star review, it would be the hood is kind of a novelty, that, and I was looking for something a little more trim. This is by far the best "grab-and-go"winter jacket I have ever owned! Thank you Patagonia.

January 6, 2020

Bought for boyfriend, and he

Bought for boyfriend, and he won't take it off! Feels like the softest down comforter

January 5, 2020

Love it!

Love it!

December 30, 2019

Perfect jacket

Perfect jacket

December 29, 2019

Looks great!

Looks great!

December 27, 2019

Great fit and warmth!

This jacket fits perfectly, is true to size, and keeps me warm. It's just what I needed for watching soccer games this winter.

December 26, 2019

Not as good a Sweater Jacket

I was not impressed with the Silent Down Jacket as much as I was with the Down Sweater Jacket. The Silent Down's Jacket material was to loose and the collar would not stand.

December 26, 2019

The jacket is very good

The jacket is very good looking and warm. The delivery and notifications were top notch.

December 25, 2019

M’s Silent Down Jacket

Amazing jacket! Sizing for medium size was a bit off but my son loves it! Great for MN winters!

December 23, 2019

Very narrow in shoulders

I'm 6-0, 170 lbs and needed an XXL because of the extremely narrow shoulder and back width, but as I bought it on sale and use it only indoors for lounging around and sleeping, it's fine. Much too wide in the rest of the body for stylish street wear, and not especially useful in freezing weather owing to the odd overall fit . But very sof... Read Moret, quiet and comfortable, with a pleasant "sage khaki" color.

December 23, 2019

Great light weight coat with

Great light weight coat with lots of warmth!

December 22, 2019

Color was a little off

I ordered black, but it is closer to a charcoal, or a brown rather than a jet black.

December 22, 2019

Great jacket for winter

Great jacket for winter

December 21, 2019

Jacket

Very nice and we’ll constructed. Giving as an Xmas gift.

December 20, 2019

Tear once I got it! :(

Amazing jacket, light and warm, but once I got it somehow it got a little hole on the sleeve... fragile? I love it.. but I guess I have to wear it like that...

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2020

Hi Gerardo, we're sorry to hear that your jacket has a hole. We'd be happy to do a complimentary repair for you. You can start that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=repair.

December 19, 2019

Warm without bulk

Purchased for my finicky college son who hates puffy jackets, but complains of being cold. He absolutely loved it. He is 5’10” about 160, got a medium. Fit was perfect and he loved how warm it was without the bulk of most puffies. And yes it was silent too. No swishing sounds with arm movement. Unfortunately he wore it for just about a week before ... Read Moreit went missing. He is so bummed about it as am I. :/

December 19, 2019

Great jacket. Keeps me warm

Great jacket. Keeps me warm and it’s not as bulky as it looks in the photo. Very pleased with my purchase.

December 18, 2019

Outer shell is not durable

We ordered this coat a couple weeks ago. It has been worn twice. On the second wear, the outer layer was easily snagged and ripped while walking in the woods. I would not recommend using this coat for outdoor activities other than traveling to the office on city streets.

December 17, 2019

Jacket colors are wide open,

Jacket colors are wide open, seems like they will never get closer to the neck unless you zip them

December 16, 2019

Outer shell is fragile

The coat is nice and warm however the second time the jacket was worn it snagged down the front. Shell is too fragile for active outdoor wear. The jacket may be good for just going to work in an office. Nice jacket with a duct tape patch the second time it was worn :(

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that the jacket snagged so early into owning it. We'd recommend that you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us as we are sure you aren't loving the look of the duct tape patch. We are happy to help with this and appreciate the feedback.

December 16, 2019

Great

Great

December 16, 2019

Great jacket

This is my first puff-style jacket so I can’t compare it to anything else but I love it. Very comfortable and keeps my body at a great temperature regardless of what the temp outside is

December 16, 2019

Loved the coat, hated the holes

I bought one for my husband and one for me, it is light weight, toasty warm, beautiful colors and modern looking. Within the third wear, my coat sprouted two holes in the arm and my husband had a hole on his within the first week. Sad because Patagonia usually has durable long wear products.

December 16, 2019

Perfect coat

Lightweight, surprisingly warm and comfortable.

December 15, 2019

GREAT JACKET!!!!

Perfect down jacket - not too puffy and fits perfectly - super warm and not shiny !!!

December 15, 2019

great customer service

got me into what I really wanted very helpful

December 15, 2019

Awesome jacket

Lightweight and very warm! The built in hood is nice because you can zip it up or have it hanging. Wore it in big bear with freezing temperatures and was cozy. Great jacket as always!

December 15, 2019

Awesome Jacket, proper fit, good insulation for 20-40 degreen

Great jacket for around 10-50 degrees Fahrenheit for a decent amount of time. Think you could rock it for taking pictures or being outside for 30, don’t know if I would do hours in the jacket at 10 degrees

December 14, 2019

Great fit and comfort

Great fit and comfort

December 14, 2019

Very warm, very comfortable!

I just shoveled for an hour in -9° F temps (-29°F windchill) in my silent down jacket and I was perfectly warm the entire time. The fabric is quite soft inside and outside with good fill that doesn’t look excessively puffy. I have no complaints at all with this jacket and it is truly the winter coat I have been searching for for many years. Highly ... Read Morerecommended to manage bitterly cold northern plains winters in one of the coldest parts of the US.

December 14, 2019

Great product!

Great product!

December 14, 2019

Silent Down

Fit is right on and the warmth surprised me. Heavier than my puff coat and warmer in colder winter weather. I also was impressed with the wind resistance. The wind is always swirling in Michigan.

December 14, 2019

Warm Jacket

Very warm jacket. I live in the upper Midwest and our temperatures have dropped into the single digits since I bought my jacket. Haven’t felt cold in my upper body once. Would purchase again.

December 14, 2019

Silent Dowm

My new favorite jacket immediately

December 13, 2019

Great coat, works for NYC

Great coat, works for NYC winter.

December 13, 2019

Amazing jacket...Keeps me way warmer

Amazing jacket...Keeps me way warmer than I thought it would

December 13, 2019

silent down jacket is rad

very happy with this jacket. keeps you warm when it's cold out and doesn't make you sweat when it's in the 50s. makes for a nice insulated layer under a shell for skiing/snowboarding/making snow angels, and also makes for a good camping pillow.

December 13, 2019

Warm jacket

Bought for my husband. He wanted a warm jacket that wasn’t his ski jacket. He loves it! True to size.

December 13, 2019

Great Jacket !

Down jacket is very comfortable, light and packs well

December 12, 2019

Better than I could’ve hoped

I was disappointed no local stores had this style in stock to try on, so I took a risk on an online purchase. It fits better and is more comfortable than I could have hoped for; feather light and pillow soft.

December 11, 2019

Overall, I really like the

Overall, I really like the jacket. Super light, fits well, but It's not quite as warm as I thought it would be so I layer with a vest.

December 11, 2019

Comfortable, quiet, warm

I was surprised at how soft and comfortable this is! Silent down in more ways than one. The fit is a tad more reg than slim, which is nice as this is more of a around-town piece. Recommended.

December 11, 2019

Best Winter coat I've ever owned

This coat is everything I'd hoped it would be and more. The insides of the sleeps are very soft and the warmth is wonderful. Overall design of this coat is great. Definitely a step above the Down Sweater. I echo all of the other reviewers - this is well worth the money

December 11, 2019

Patagonia never disappoints!

I’ve owned the same Patagonia jacket for years now and it’s made winters so much more enjoyable. So I figured I’d take a risk and buy one as a gift for my super picky husband since he has almost NO appropriate winter clothing. He loves everything about it!! The color is nice, the fit is perfect and it’s lightweight but sooo warm. I was a little ner... Read Morevous when I saw how thin it was but he’s worn it comfortably in temperatures down to about 10 degrees. With a base layer underneath it would probably be warm in temps much lower than that - though we haven’t had cold enough weather to test that theory out yet. I don’t think I’d ever buy a winter jacket from any other store honestly. Patagonia is the best!

December 11, 2019

Toasty and Perfect

As with most Patagonia products the silent down jacket is fantastic. Warm, cozy, and versatile for most cold weather situations you can encounter in urban or great outdoors setting. For reference I am 6'2" 185 lbs; the medium fit perfect for me from arm length to shoulder spread. Even with several layers on underneath. I really like the f... Read Moreinish of jacket, I'm not a fan of the sheen on nano puff jackets, this jacket has a more matted look. Which by the way, looks great on the forge grey color. Highly recommend this jacket, this will be your new cold weather staple!

December 11, 2019

Very warm but with some flaws

The jacket is light and warm but the back side of the jacket should have more sections for the down. The down is pushed to the sides every time you rest your back on a chair or wall. The down also forces its way out of the jacket more frequently than my other down jacket from Columbia in everyday activity.

Response from Patagonia
December 29, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on the Men's Silent Down jacket, Haolin. We're sorry to hear how the down is shifting and escaping through the fabric. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns) the jacket at any time for either a replacement or a refund.

December 11, 2019

In Love

By far the best winter jacket I’ve ever owned. It is so soft and warm and ETHICAL. Love it. 👍

December 11, 2019

It’s a “Must Have”

I love this jacket. The material is much softer than the typical nano puff or other down jacket materials I have felt from Patagonia. The extra elastic/felt lining around the wrists is also a great feature. The jacket is very warm. I like the felt lining in the pockets on one side to keep the top of my hands warm while hands are in the pockets. ... Read MoreOne of my favorite features is the ability to hide the hood. Going into the office or wearing the jacket around the office it is great to be able to have the hood hidden for a more “appropriate” look while I can always pull the hood out when on my various out door adventures. The only reason I gave the jacket 4 stars rather than five is because of how “poofy” or “puffy” the hood collar gets when the hood is zipped up and closed. Not sure that is something that can be easily fixed. I imagine it’s not but none the less it is the aesthetic pitfall. Overall I would recommend this jacket to anyone who wants a very warm dry weather (Okay in the snow) down jacket. Great for in the office, in the woods or in the mountains!

December 5, 2019

Best in class

Love this jacket. Soft. Warm. Moves well. Typically a large is too small and xl too big this large fits perfect. 5’11 210 lbs 17” arms 44” shoulder 36” waist

December 4, 2019

Best down coat out there

Never had much care for down filled garments or pillows. This coat is amazing because it’s light, soft and quality is %100.

December 1, 2019

Love it

Light weight and warm.

November 30, 2019

Patagonia hit a home run with this jacket

This is the perfect cold weather jacket. It’s much warmer than my nano puff and down sweater. I’m 5’11” and 190 lbs and it fits like a glove.

November 26, 2019

Simply the best!

This jacket keeps me warm on the street and I don’t overheat in it when I’m riding on the subway. Only thing it’s missing is a second inside pocket, but otherwise it’s the best winter coat I’ve owned. Thinking of moving towards a synthetic filler but I appreciate the recycled down. Looking forward to wearing it all winter long.

November 26, 2019

Silent Down Jacket

I returned my jacket because i figured out it was going to be to heavy duty for what I will be using it for, as I live in Houston TX I decided it would not get cold enough down here often enough. Another thing, what I originally thought was the coolest part of the jacket that being the tuck away hood ended up being something I actually didn't ... Read Morelike because the collar became way to enlarged and made the top part jacket look kinda weird.

November 24, 2019

Silent down jacket, best puffy ever

I have been wanting a windproof down jacket for years, it is better than I expected. It is the most comfortable down I have worn. The material is soft and the fit is very comfortable. I spend most of my work and free time in the elements and have had all sorts of jackets. I highly recommend this one!

November 22, 2019

Great Fit

Perfect jacket for winter, warm and comfortable with a great look. The sleeve cuff adds to the versatility.

November 22, 2019

Amazing Jacket

I was looking for a jacket to wear when it’s cold when I don’t want to layer. Something warm and comfortable. This jacket is perfect! Really comfortable to wear and the liner isn’t really slick like other puff jackets. Unqualified recommendation from me.

November 21, 2019

Great Versatile Jacket

Very lightweight, but keeps you warm. Also, very breathable for not so cold days :)

November 18, 2019

Perfect!

Love the fit, love the style, love the color! Bought a medium for my husband in the brown color and it is so rich looking.

November 17, 2019

Very well-made but not as

Very well-made but not as warm as I had hoped. Comfortable with sweater or fleece to 40°

November 16, 2019

My previous one was very

My previous one was very bulky, I’m delighted to get the same good warmth with a much more comfortable jacket.

November 16, 2019

Perfect fit!

This jacket is perfect for winter. Love the fit, the comfort level and flexible material. Keeps me warm!

November 14, 2019

Warm & Quiet

To start, I’m not on the puffy jacket hipster movement. I recently left Northern California and moved to a colder climate. My fleeces were no longer doing the trick. I took a chance with this jacket because it was down, but didn’t look over the top. I was right and this jacket is awesome!! Super warm and comfy. Quiet and looks great. I especially... Read More like the sleeve gussets that seal the jacket around your wrists. Once again Patagonia... you have made something I will have for years!!

November 12, 2019

Wonderful warm jacket!

I have been using this jacket for a few weeks and it has kept me warm in temperatures down to the low 40's so far (haven't had any colder weather). It feels well worth the price, especially knowing that it is made of recycled materials and is from a company that has a strong record of sustainable practices.

November 12, 2019

Silent Down Jacket

So far, so good. Really like the material but I can see the potential for snags and not holding up as well as a heavier nylon. Hopefully, the durability is as good as most Patagonia stuff. I've worn it down to as low as single digits with a heavy sweater and it's great. Not sure I'd spend hours outside in it at that temp but at 15-2... Read More0 it'd be fine. Patagonia sizing is always a challenge for me being that I have longish arms and need the sleeve length of an XL. This leaves the body of the jacket a bit large and slightly baggy. It is easy to layer under but this jacket might be a bit too big to fit under my normal shell. I typically wear a down sweater under my shell when there is snow. I think this jacket is warmer than the down sweater, which is what I was hoping for. Jury's still out on durability but this jacket has the same zipper pulls that I have on a pack which I've broken a couple of pulls on.Hope they've made some improvements in the material. I've never been a fan of zip-in hoods and this one is no exception. They tend to bulk up the collar too much but at least this one seems to be nicely stuffed with down and can serve in an emergency over a beanie. Overall, I like it so far. Nice, soft down jacket good for temps down to around zero if you layer underneath. Colder than that and I break out the heavy duty.

November 10, 2019

Small Shoulders

This jacket is great in many ways, and I really wanted to like it. However, the shoulders were just too tight, and I returned it. I am 5'8" and 160 and have always purchased size medium from Patagonia since their cuts are generous in the shoulders and tapered in the waist to accommodate a climber's build. Well, this jacket is a tube ... Read Moreand even the arms were too tight. Based on the narrow shoulders and tight arms, it would seem they designed this jacket for a distance runner, not a climber, paddler, surfer, etc.

November 9, 2019

super soft, great fit

love the jacket warm, fits great, down is super soft. not bulky either

November 9, 2019

Great jacket

Perfect medium weight jacket

November 8, 2019

me

very comfortable, light weight but warm.

November 7, 2019

Favorite jacket

6’2 180lbs large fits perfect. Love this jacket. Really comfy and warm. Tested it in some single digits and so far so warm. The convertible hood is bulky when stored but doubles as insulation so not a bad thing. My lady friend bought the women’s version and is in love as well.

November 7, 2019

Too light

I was looking for a good cold weather coat. The temps have been into the 20’s, the coat was not warm enough

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Perry, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment. The Silent Down Jacket isn't the warmest coat we offer. If you're looking for something that provides a bit more warmth we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's Hi-Loft Down Sweater Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-down-sweater-hoody/84701.html?dwvar_84701_color=CAN&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-insulated#tile-1=&start=1&sz=24).

November 4, 2019

Is it normal for feathers to pop out?

I bought my Silent Down jacket last week, and it is the first down jacket I have ever owned. It is really warm and a really nice looking jacket. I have only worn it three times, but I noticed after birding today that a feather was showing in the arm. I started inspecting the coat more and noticed another feather sticking out of the shoulder too. Is... Read More this expected with down jackets from Patagonia?

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Thanks for your feedback and we glad to hear you've been enjoying the jacket. As far as those feathers, yes, this is normal for the jacket to shed. From time to time, the quills from the feathers can create tiny punctures that can result in a feather sneaking out. We advise carefully trying to push the feather back in, or gently removing the feather while being careful to not make the hole bigger. This shouldn't affect the warmth or performance of the jacket, but if you ever feel it has, or you are unsatisfied in any way, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us.

October 1, 2019

Feels great, keeps you warm

No complaints, it's exactly what it advertises to be. It's been keeping me warm in below-freezing weather, I'm very satisfied. Very comfortable fit!

August 10, 2019

Great Coat

Warm, well made and the brand that fits!

May 9, 2019

Down coat (silent)

Handsome, comfortable, works well in the wet cold we have in SE AK

May 8, 2019

I love everything you make

I love everything you make and how you make it.

April 1, 2019

excellent

great

April 1, 2019

excellent

great

March 16, 2019

JUST BUY IT.

This is by far the best jacket I've ever owned. I live in Wisconsin and this was one of our coldest winters yet with temps reaching -50, no joke. This jacket has completely blown me away, it keeps your body just the right temperature and the inside pocket is really helpful as well. I can literally wear a t-shirt underneath it and be completely... Read More warm in 20 degree weather. It's one of those jackets you put on and don't want to take off. Having a hood was a huge deciding factor for buying this jacket and the hood is phenomenal, as soon as you put the hood up your head is warm. I use to have to wear layers under my previous jackets and I would find myself still feeling cold, now my upper half is always the warmest part. I am now a Patagonia customer for life. The ONLY drawback to this jacket is that the neckline gets dirty pretty easily from wear. Do yourself a favor and get this jacket, it will be one of the best purchases you've made. Ps- I'm 5'8" at 145 lbs and the small fits perfectly.

March 12, 2019

Please make a LT and XLT size

Love this jacket except that it doesn't fit my XLT frame. I am 6’5 XL in the shoulders and arm lenth and M-L in the waist. This means if I wear a M or L its good in the torso but tight around my shoulders and short on the arms. It also means if I wear a XL its fits my shoulders and arm length but also has way too much material in the torso and... Read More belly Making me look like I'm wearing hand-me-downs. Please make an LT and XLT size!

February 27, 2019

Like my favorite comforter in jacket form

I’m 5’9” and 200lbs and the Large size fits me perfectly. I’m really impressed with this jacket. To be honest I initially blew off the “silent down” line name as a gimmick (despite the fact that I’ve been a Pata customer for over a decade and should know better than the fact that they don’t do gimmicks for sales numbers, so far as I can tell). I b... Read Moreought the jacket as a solution for when I don’t want to layer under a Down Sweater, it’s too cold for just a shirt under a Down Sweater, but not cold enough to warrant my circa 2006 Nanuk Arctic-temperature-level jacket (that jacket is great but only useful if the temperature is below 25F). This jacket really is much quieter than traditional materials that are used on other down outerwear and I was surprised at how much I enjoy the soft hand of the materials used for both interior and exterior construction. It seems to be at least as water resistant as my Down Sweaters but is much warmer. Patagonia changed their fits a few years ago to be more athletic, which is great for some folks but as a dude on the shorter and thicker side, with arm lengths proportionate to height (I wear a 33” dress shirt) this jacket is cut perfectly for me. The arm lengths are right on and it has the older boxier cut I like, however if you are on the thinner side or have an athlete’s V-shaped torso, you may find it not trim enough for your taste. It is roomy enough I can still wear a sweater or fleece if I want and still be comfortable. It has excellent wind stopping ability and the recessed soft cuffs on the sleeves really keep in the warmth on the arms. The storable insulated hood is a really nice touch in cold, windy conditions and is a great option if you want to be prepared for cold days but don’t want a hood flapping around all the time. It’s my favorite winter piece I’ve picked up in quite awhile. I bought the cargo green color (which on the website appears more brown than in person) and I like that it pairs well with jeans, khakis, or navy blue pants, which what I usually wear. I feel like Pata really hit it out of the park with this jacket.

February 23, 2019

Great!

I love my new Silent Down Jacket. Already had a Nano Puff and this is a nice step up for cold, windy days. Bulky, but not obnoxiously so, actually a slimmer profile than I expected. Medium size, 5'10" 155lb, can have a vest or sweatshirt layer under with no trouble. Great for dawn patrol dog walks. :-)

February 4, 2019

Great jacket

I spent about a month in Europe during January where the weather was between 37-46 degrees and drizzling and this jacket kept me really warm. Not to mentioned how comfortable it was. Another thing I really liked was the interior zipper pocket that allowed me to securely store my important travel documents such as my passport. A must have.

January 30, 2019

Excellent with a minor suggestion

I bought this jacket after several send backs to Patagonia because of the constant inconsistent sizing with everything Patagonia. This Medium jacket fits me perfect. I live in Bozeman MT where it can be bone chilling cold and this is my go to piece when I don’t want to be cold. There’s plenty of room for a heavy sweater and layering underneath. My ... Read Moreonly compaint is the hood. I wear it out because when I roll it up and zip it in to the jacket it feels cumbersome and like I’m wearing a neck brace. I’d eliminate that feature and the hood or just make the hood premanently outside the jacket. I have yet to wear the hood because if I need something on my head I wear a baseball cap or if its cold enough a stocking cap or knit beanie.

January 11, 2019

Super comfortable

For noodling around town or for "easy" camping and hiking, this jacket can't be beat. I wore it when last December throughout the Southwest, when it got down into the 20s at night and with an ooold Capaline thermal weight, it was plenty warm. The most comfortable Patagonia I've owned.

December 28, 2018

Justin

I've also received one in Forge Grey medium that has the duck/goose filling coming out of it on the first day. It's like some one poked a bunch of. micro holes in the outer fabric. I'm going to give Patagonia one more chance and exchange for one that's hopefully not defective. If the exchange is defective as well, I'm afrai... Read Mored this product isn't going to work out. Agree that the fit, comfort and look, however, are spot on. If I this filling issue can't get resolved I'll be pretty damn happy. Finger crossed. Can't recommend until after exchange.

December 25, 2018

Just not warm enough.

I purchased this as a daily wear jacket for winters in Fairbanks, Alaska. Tried it on over a long sleeve cotton shirt and walked down my driveway in -15 degree weather. Total fail for this type of use. Definitely need layers for anything below 0 and the slim fit will make that tough. I love Patagonia but this is not a good choice for my needs. Will... Read More return and maybe try the Fitzroy.

December 18, 2018

Truly silent

I tried this jacket on in-store, so this review is for those who don't have easy access to try Patagonia items locally and are thinking of taking the plunge online. The fit is true to size for Medium - my Ultralight Down Hoody in Men's Medium is a snug trim fit, and this in Men's Medium was a comfortable fit, but not like some of Pa... Read Morety's other med. jackets that have a big poofy space in the midsection. The material was truly silent; it feels like the shell fabric on the Nano Air jacket line. I like to think of the jacket as "Silent Down" also because of the silent impact the recycled down has on the environment, i.e. much less impact. The hood folds away which is nice, but amazingly the hood also still has down in it (I've had other brand down jackets with fold away hoods that were non-insulated). The forge grey is a nice, muted, goes-with-anything shade of gray. And the flat color aesthetic does lend the jacket to, again, be more "silent" and not be loud on the eyes like my ultralight down hoody. Overall this is on my to-buy list. Hope this helps, esp. since there were on other reviews on this yet.

December 18, 2018

Silent warmth

The jacket is warm. After walking a few blocks with a sweater underneath, I was almost sweating on the train. The jacket is so light that you wouldn't believe how warm it is. In addition to the fabric not making that swishy sound, the fabric has more of a matte finish, which I think makes it look more luxurious versus the shiny alternatives. I... Read More've only worn this jacket a few times so I can't speak to the durability of the fabric, but it's Patagonia, so I trust that we'd work something out if need be. I like that you are able to conceal the hood, however I wish the zipper appeared in a more hidden fashion when the hood is tucked away. Not a deal breaker, but just a suggestion. All in all am happy with the purchase.

December 18, 2018

Awesome Jacket

Have only used jacket in 40 degree weather so far in Las Vegas, NV. Quality and design elements make this jacket from Patagonia my favorite go to jacket when it is cold. Yes, I have been in sub freezing weather for extended periods of time. Having Retired from the U. S. Army. The only modification I would possibly add would be small pit zips under ... Read Morearms. Love the use of recycled products and awareness of improving our Community. Great uses Hiking Red Rock Canyon, Camping, and Travel to exotic cold locations. The Patagonia Silent Down Jacket is also very light.

December 17, 2018

Patagonia Hits The Mark

Purchase X-Large in Forge Grey from REI at Boca Park in Las Vegas. The jacket keeps me warm with just a Patagonia Undershirt on all day at 40 degrees. Looked at REI Stormhenge 850. However, no place to put the hood and the Cooper Spice looks dirty! REI technical specs on the date I purchased my Patagonia Silent Down stated no hood at all. Which was... Read More a mistake on REI's info.

December 7, 2018

Light, warm and comfortable

It's been only a week since I purchased this jacket and it only took 1 full day for me to fall in love with it. I'd say I have a stocky/slim figure but still have plenty of room for layering. You probably won't need much layering due to the amazing insulation the jacket provides. The handwarmer pockets are also incredibly warm and so... Read Moreft on the hands. Overall the jacket is great, but my only issue is that I have already started to notice that the duck/goose feathering has already started to find its way out. I've only used the jacket for commuting, so I'm shocked. Not even my old Uniqlo jacket has done that and it has 2 years worth of wear. I hope Patagonia addresses this issue because the jacket overall is a steal for casual wear.

November 22, 2018

So comfy and warm

Jacket is super soft, warm, and light weight. I can move around easily while wearing it. Also, it keeps me warm in the Mid Atlantic cold weather. GO FOR IT AND BUY IT

November 11, 2018

A hidden gem

5’ 9” 155 lbs - medium fits perfectly as usual. I bought this for Minnesota winters. A layer or two underneath and this thing will probably handle -15F with no problem. I’ve been wearing a better sweater and a button down for most of the last few winters and decided to step it up. What I did not anticipate was that this would become my 100% GO-TO c... Read Moreold weather fly fishing outer layer. It’s got the hood/pockets/cuffs engineered perfectly for dead of winter fly fishing, the 0 degrees, ice in the guides, -15 wind chill variety. Way more appropriate than a down sweater but not as bulky and absurd as a Himalayan style parka, which would keep you warm but just is a bit much for a few hours standing in the river. Additionally, the quiet fabric, hi loft/low weight, and DWR finish just make this thing a no brainer. It also seems like it could triple as a rest parka for Rainier in June. For heavens sake even the stow away hood has down in it. And the color is low-key and muted so when walking around town, you just look like a normal human. They thought of everything. Perfect fit and and perfect finish.

November 5, 2018

Silent down jacket

Wore this jacket to Sierras for fishing it was in low 40 degrees under neath I wore a t shirt and thermal top was not cold but would like to find out to what degree this jacket is rated, is very comfortable, wish it was a couple ov inches longer I am 5’ 10” 210 I bought it in x large good fit,it feels that material is not to strong. Please rate tem... Read Morep.

October 31, 2018

Great Value Coat

When my coat came in, it felt very light. I Thought it would be super heavy seeing that it was 700 down and polyester fill. The design is really nice and fashionable but I am not sure its gonna last me this coming winter considering how light and thin it is. This is a great jacket for light use , hopefully it will be warm for New Yorks rough winter... Read More winds and blizzards.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches