Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Silent Down Parka

Write Your Review

3.68 /5

Filter Reviews

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Silent Down Parka

3.68
True To Size
January 30, 2020

Not that silent or warm

My husband and I both had to order the silent coats because our autistic daughter can’t take the swish noise in regular down coats. Mine is not that silent, and not real warm. The noise is barely acceptable for our sound sensitive daughter, so we are keeping them. However, I am disappointed that such an expensive coat isn’t really warm, and hardly ... Read Moresilent. We have to keep them though, for the sake of our daughter.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Mary, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear that the Parka is too loud for her and for the disappointment this causes. Just know that your satisfaction is always guaranteed so in the future if you decide you need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) you're welcome to.

December 17, 2019

Even with a Cairn

I walk my Cairn terrier three times a day. She loves the snow and temps down to 10 or so. This coat is warm, comfortable, and fits. I love it!

December 16, 2019

Nice and silently soft

Nice and silently soft

December 16, 2019

Amazing jacket

Such a warm jacket, just perfect for cold Ohio winters. Fit is a little smaller than I expected even for slim fit, but still ordered normal size. Sleeves are a little short, but there is elastic closure so no fear of cold wrists.

December 16, 2019

Nice warm coat. Snug fit

Nice warm coat. Snug fit but also flattering. Glad to have this as an option for a cold Maine winter coat.

December 16, 2019

Nice

Nice

December 15, 2019

Fast service great quality 👌

No problems. Great service. Very nice coat.

December 13, 2019

I love this parka. It

I love this parka. It is soft and warm and easy to wear. It makes up for the fit, which feels a little snug around the hips and looser on top.

December 12, 2019

okay parka

It seemed like it would be fine, but I didn't like the look of it - seemed kind of unpolished, too outdoorsy - and wasn't sure it would be warm enough for me.

December 4, 2019

Too small

I’ve been wearing a size small in Patagonia for years, so felt confident that this size would work for this parka. It should have fit according to the chart. However, as another reviewer experienced, I could barely zip it up and the sleeves are also short. I had to check the size again to make sure it wasn’t an XS! I’m really sad about this because... Read More it seems like a really nice coat otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi Catherine, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the trouble with sizing. The Silent Down Parka is a slim fit so it will fit a bit more tight than our regular fit items. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Beautiful and warm!

Beautiful and warm!

November 23, 2019

Nice

I purchssed this coat recently and have not had the chance to wear it yet. The weather here in the northwest has been mild, but suppose to get much colder next week. So I am sure that I will be wearing it soon. Looks to be a very nice coat, fits well and well made. I like that it has a nice looking hood. It is not snug liks some on Patagonia jacket... Read Mores. I like that the hood can be tucked into a zipper collar when not needed. The cuffs are very nice, with the knit inside the outer cuffs, which make it easy to slip on & off. I wish the Jackets were made the same way. Nice length....just above the knee. I think it will be a great coat and I like the style.

November 1, 2019

Loved the jacket, but too small

I fit the profile on the size chart of a size 8 Medium exactly - yet I could barely zip the jacket up and no, my hips aren't enormous! They measure 38.5 just like the chart. I am returning which I'm super sad to do but there's no way it would be comfortable. A large would be too big based on their size chart, and I'm not wearing... Read More a LARGE. Would be nice if the size chart was correct for the garment and better yet, making the jacket so it fits the size chart! Color was great, fabric great.

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Thanks for this valuable and detailed feedback Lisa! We're sorry the sizing was a disappointment and We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the parka to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

September 15, 2019

Perfect jacket for fall

The fit and feel of this jacket makes it perfect for fall temps. It's a flattering cut, and not as bulky as other long parkas. Runs a bit small (I had to exchange for one size up, and I'm nearly always an XS), especially if you plan to layer.

May 8, 2019

I love this coat as

I love this coat as others said there is a slight shedding problem. Wish they could fix it. I was told to put it in the dryer and that did help. That being said I would buy it again.

April 10, 2019

Feathers started leaking immediately

Love this coat, color, fit, etc., but the feathers we’re leaking through (without my pulling or otherwise) almost immediately after purchase. For the price this is unacceptable.

March 13, 2019

Love, but a little frustrating.

I got this jacket in December 2018, so I've had three months. This jacket keeps me warm, and fits nicely. I love the hood. However, I have feather leaking EVERYWHERE. I never pick or pull them. I've had a lot of other down products from Patagonia I love that hardly come out. I honestly feel like this is due to the outer material making it... Read More silent. Almost like the outer material it's not as thick as say my down vest from Patagonia(which hardly EVER loses feathers). If I had known a month in it would be leaking like this, it would have been harder to pay $349+tax for this jacket. I wish all these reviews were here before I ordered this jacket.

March 9, 2019

Patagonia long parka winter jacket

I got this as a Christmas gift. I really love this jacket, but i'm worried that the quality (at least of the zipper) is questionable...I've had it for a little over a year, and when I went to zip it up the other day, the zipper broke off in my hand. I can post pictures if anyone needs, but basically now it's a sharp shard which I&#x2... Read More7;m worried will cut my hand. I'm going to write to the company today and see if they can repair or replace it, and I'll let you know what happens! :)

February 27, 2019

Wanted to love it...

I wanted to love this coat so much, but just couldn't. Was looking to upgrade my 10-yr old 'Down With It' parka and thought this would be a winner. I normally wear XS in Patagonia but this XS was way too snug in the hips. Thought maybe I could skip heavy layers since the coat would keep me so warm in NYC winters. Wrong again. I could... Read More actually feel the wind/cold traveling through the material. And finally, down feathers everywhere! Poking out from all over the coat. For the price you pay, this is unacceptable. A few pros: very soft material, love the soft layer at the wrist for extra warmth, and cute overall design. Good news is I returned it without hassle and upgraded to a new Down With It parka that I'm in love with.

February 15, 2019

Loses feathers on a daily basis

So first, the positives: I love the color (and fact the coat isn’t shiny), it’s warm, it’s quiet and fits TTS (I’m 5’8”, athletic 140# bought M and didnt have an issue with sleeve-length). I also appreciate the hood. But the feathers. Feathers leaking through the seams. Feathers pressing through the fabric itself (followed, of course, by more feat... Read Morehers unless you can push the escapee back into the coat). Feathers every single day. I’ve had the coat for about a month and a half and initially hoped the feather leakage was due to packing/shipping, but it’s proving to be an ongoing issue which is disappointing. As desperately as I wanted to keep the coat as I love it otherwise, this is likely going back for another solution.

January 10, 2019

Pros and Cons

I really like this jacket. It is warm and it fits me well. I got it for Christmas and it is already shedding feathers everywhere. It looks like a black jacket with white dots. It is very disappointing because this is a quality product from a quality company. I have not owned a down jacket before but I feel like the amount of feathers coming out of ... Read Morea brand new jacket is not normal.

January 9, 2019

Sleeves!

5'5", 125 lbs I received this coat for Christmas, size small (and according the size chart this is accurate). It fits snugly and keeps me warm due to the snug fit, and the fabric is beautiful, but the arms are 2-3" too short!! I don't have abnormally long arms and this has never been a problem with any other patagonia coats I ow... Read Moren (down sweater, windbreaker, butter fleece, better sweater), but this coat stops well before my wrist and looks ridiculous. I ordered a medium to see the difference--sleeves fit better, but the body is so loose that cold air gets in and doesn't keep me as warm as the small. I also don't have to have to layer underneath all the time. This coat is too pricey to not fit well. I'll likely be returning.

January 6, 2019

Beautiful but porous

I love this coat. I agree that the fit around the hips is too tight. I feel comfortably free in the shoulders, but not so much in the hips, especially if I'm wearing a tunic top or work jeans. Feels a bit prissy, so tight around the hips. The one sad thing about this coat is that the feathers poke out occasionally. Just the big feathers, appar... Read Moreently, and then you have to wonder about pulling them out, risking making a bigger hole in this lovely silent fabric, or stuffing them back in, which rarely works. So now I'm walking around with 4 or 5 little white dots on the coat which ruins the elegant look. Got any suggestions, Patagonia?

December 27, 2018

Great down coat...perfect length...easy to layer...but...SLEEVES TOO SHORT

I love the silent! I love the warmth...but I had to buy a size large to get the sleeves down to my wrists...And usually I LOVE Patagonia long sleeves. Upside...I can wear a nano puff jacket underneath even tho' it's rarely necessary

December 9, 2018

Warmth without looking like the Michelin man!

I’ve been looking for a down coat that would keep me warm in Boston winters while waiting for the bus and walking to work. This one is perfect! It truly is ‘silent’ without that swish sound, it’s super warm without feeling huge and puffy and it has the perfect amount of stretch to make it comfortable. I did size up (5’2”, 120 lbs, usually a small b... Read Moreut bought a medium) and I’m glad I did.

December 1, 2018

Slim fit

I have a couple Patagonia down jackets, including this one. I love them all. But be careful to check whether a jacket is “slim fit”. I was a better slim fit 20 years ago than I am now....

November 26, 2018

WE LOVE IT

Haven’t even used it yet but from trying it on in the store I can tell this is a 5 STAR jacket

November 19, 2018

On the fence

This jacket has a hood which is not shown on the model. I love that it has a hood so that was a pleasant surprise. The fit is different. I am 5'7 130 lbs, bought the medium. The hip area is more fitted than the top part of the jacket. I am a 4/6 on the bottom or a 28-29 waist in denim and feel this jacket is not proportionate to the top. In th... Read Moree shorter version of Patagonia jackets I take a small most of the time and a medium on occasion. Just feel this fit is off. Took a walk with it on, temperature was 17 degrees F, and honestly this jacket did not keep me very warm. Temps above 25 its fine. Really on the fence with this jacket.

November 17, 2018

Too slim

5'4" 145lbs (pear shape) this coat is beautiful. I wanted to like it so bad. It's just too slim fit. I could zip up a large, but it hugged my hips in a way that made the look unflattering. The 'puffiness' of this coat was perfect. Didn't make me feel like a marshmallow woman. If you have a slim figure and can wear this... Read More coat I'm so jealous!

November 2, 2018

Too small!

Absolutely love everything about this coat - the fold away hood, the style, the warmth. I am 5’ 10”, 160 lbs. and the extra large was too snug! No room for a sweater underneath. Have other “slim” fit coats from Patagonia in extra large that are plenty roomy, especially for wearing bulky winter sweaters. Was very disappointed to have to return this ... Read Morewonderful coat. Maybe Patagonia could be more consistent with their sizing. Maybe loosen up this style for next year? Would definitely purchase!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches