Back to Product

W's City Storm Parka

Write Your Review

4.33 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

W's City Storm Parka

4.33
True To Size
February 19, 2020

Mixed Feelings

I love Patagonia as a company, so will support them whenever I can. As far as this coat, there's so much that I like: the placement of hand warmer pockets is perfect; the magnetic flap closures of the patch pockets; and it has an internal zip pocket (not having one would have been a deal breaker for me). The sage khaki color is meh, and fabric... Read More does attract lint, but it also doesn't snag easily, so I'll use a lint roller as needed. I do wish it were warmer., but for reference, I'm in one of the coldest areas of Colorado, with overnight lows sometimes in the -30s. I also naturally run cold. So unless I buy something too large and wear multiple layers, I'm not going to stay as warm as I'd like. This coat is not my dog-walking-in-the-winter coat; it's something fairly stylish and fairly warm to wear to work.

January 25, 2020

I really wanted to like it....

Sadly this cost did not meet expectations. The shell collects too much lint and dust. Everything clings to it and it always looked dirty. If the shell material changes, I will gladly buy it. As far as the warmth it was great.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Melissa. We're really sorry to hear this is collecting lint and dust. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the parka if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

January 3, 2020

Changed Winter for me!

I really adore this coat and it is so worth the investment. I live in Chicago and so far it has kept me warm on 15 degree days with just a layer or two underneath. When I wear it on 40 degree days I sweat and have to unzip it. It is AMAZING. Pockets are great, zippers are sturdy. Sometimes it gets a little wrinkled and can collect dust but I do not... Read More care at all considering the warmth it provides. I will wear this forever if I can. The hood confuses me a little bit but I don't really use it!

December 17, 2019

Comfy

The jacket is comfortable without being suffocating. I got this for wet winter weather where I walk my dog and have to be outside but am on the move. So far, I have only worn it a few times it has done what I wished. It is not too bulky or heavy either. It also doesn’t have a tight fit like some of the other jackets. I like the placement of the han... Read Mored warming pockets.

December 12, 2019

Great winter coat

Very happy with this coat’s warmth, the way the hood cinches, its multiple pockets, and waterproofing. Only thing I would change is the external material’s look - it is dull and matt, and looks a bit old and used. I had hoped for a slightly ‘fancier’ look. In general, very happy.

December 10, 2019

This coat is remarkable

I love everything about this coat - the arrangement of the pockets, the ease of the zipper (bottom up essential on a longer coat), the fabric, the warmth and fact that it is truly waterproof. I put it to the test, walking a mile in gale-force winds and driving rain - I was completely dry, as was everything but the beads of water on the exterior of ... Read Morethe coat. It's exactly what I was hoping it would be, and highly recommend it.

December 5, 2019

Warm and functional!

I'm a Southerner who just moved to New England, so I'm weary of winter, and was so glad I had this coat before the first big snowstorm last weekend. I typically wear a medium, sometimes large if I want a comfier fit, and I went with a medium for this and am glad I did. It kept me nice and cozy, even without many layers underneath. I love ... Read Morethe magnetic pockets - they have already proven to be surprisingly useful, easy to drop keys into or grab you wallet with gloves on. The hand warmer pockets are high, near the ribcage, which I like but is good to know in case that will bother you. As other reviews noted, it does gather lint/get dirty on the outside, but I've found it easy enough to wipe off if I care to.

December 3, 2019

City Storm Parka...Great Coat

Headed for London in January and needed a waterproof, longer coat than I have in my closet of Patagonia jackets...this coat is fabulous. Excellent pockets...warm, waterproof, comfortable! I did order both a M and a L...I have never in my live worn a Patagonia L; the choice between the M and L was very close, but the L gave me a bit more room in the... Read More shoulders and sleeves...all-in-all, given the puffy lining, the coat is sized a bit small.

November 27, 2019

City Storm Parka

Love this jacket!! It’s perfect for those cold, rainy, winter days so that I don’t have to wear 5 layers to keep warm!!

November 25, 2019

Excellent quality - too short

Bought this for my daughter who is moving back East soon. Terrific coat, but she is tall (5’10”) with long arms and slender. Sleeves were too short.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Elizabeth! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear the sleeves of this jacket are too short for your daughter. If you'd like to initiate a return, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 23, 2019

commuter coat--the raw rain the creeping cold in Cambridge

Love the high neck, double zip, hood, cuffs are not binding. Others commented on the odd placement of the pockets--which seem to be better for items than hands.

November 22, 2019

Very Warm

So far in temps of 40’s I am perfectly toasty with just a T-shirt and sweatshirt on underneath. I will say when it was in the high 30’s my arms did get a bit cold so suggest wearing a long sleeve under layer. The Large fits me well and not too snug at 165lbs.

November 20, 2019

Cozy and well fitting

Warm, great pockets big enough for mittens and phone! Perfect fit and stylish.

November 17, 2019

City Storm Parka

This parka is amazing! I honestly thought it was more jacket than I needed but I love the length, warmth, and water-proofing. I'm living in northern New England again after being in NC and Colorado for the last 20 years or so and I have full confidence that City Storm parka will improve my experience here. I bought the large because I figured ... Read MoreI would want to have room for layers underneath, but honestly, I can wear this thing out in 20 degree weather with just a t-shirt on, so I probably could have gone with a medium.

November 14, 2019

Pros and Cons

I will start with the positives. Yay--it fits! I am a solid size 16 (on bad days 18) and the size XL just fits. The cut is flattering and not your typical sleeping bag coat (big and puffy). So far the jacket has help up in chilly weather with temps in the teens and with not much layering underneath. This is especially important because for me there... Read More is not much room for additional layering. Which brings me to my cons. I wish there was a slightly larger size available for women. Larger mens coats don't fit the same as women's coats. Yes, I would like to be smaller and have been and probably will be again at some point, but I still need a great winter jacket, even at this size. Also, on the con side is the pockets. These are not meant for your hands. They are in a weird place. And the last con is that the coat attracts lint like crazy, which makes it look dirty. I like the coat enough to keep it. It is too much hassle to return and not sure I could find anything better. With a couple tweaks this coat could be the best ever. Maybe its next iteration will be better. I would recommend this coat to friends after alerting them to the cons.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Lynn, thanks for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. It's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons so we really appreciate it. We'll pass this all along to our design team!

November 14, 2019

Not the winter coat for me

Noisy fabric and unflattering fit.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Miriam, thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the parka, but we'll pass it along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 10, 2019

Beautiful but light weight

I love the style of this parka: beautiful made, light weight, and elegant. But it doesn’t serve me as a winter coat in Upstate New York. In my opinion, this beautiful light weight parka is for temperature above 20 degrees.

November 8, 2019

Warm

Coat is warm and I do like it. The one improvement you can make is to have side openings on the pockets. That definitely bothers me, but not enough to return.

November 8, 2019

W’s city Storm Parka down coat

The coat is beautiful! Elegant and warm. The fit is perfect and I love wearing it. I love the magnetic pockets, and the big mesh inside pocket holds my scarf. No more stuffing it inside a sleeve. It is warm! The hood covers my entire head. The zipper works so good. I’ve had many coats, and the zipper does not work!! This is like a dream! It’s slimm... Read Moreing, while keeping out the cold. This is the coat I was looking for! Thank you Patagonia, for making this down coat! Bring on the winter, I’m ready!

November 6, 2019

Great Purchase!

I just moved to Milwaukee from Texas so I have been so nervous about a cold weather climate until I purchased this parka. It is everything I wanted and more.

November 5, 2019

Womens City Storm Parka

I LOVE EVERYTHING about this coat. Warmth, waterproof, windproof, length, rugged, plenty of pockets. I take my dogs out all year long to play at my friends farm, and it’s cold out there. I’m toasty warm! The magnet pockets are perfect for balls, treats, super easy to get things in and out!

November 3, 2019

best i've found

I live near Lake Ontario where we get a lot of snow and wind. I've been trying on a lot of parkas over the past year and this is the only one that works in every way. I agree that the pockets are oddly placed but I actually kind of like that. The coat comes to my knees; it's wider around the bottom, which isn't super flattering but m... Read Moreakes walking easy. Other commenters have noted a lint problem; I have not noticed that at this point. The hood is comfortable, and unlike some parkas isn't going to block visibility. The neck has a fleecy lining. Sleeves have comfortable interior cuffs. I would give it a 5 but I don't yet know how it will perform in our harshest weather. Very happy though- ordered one for my daughter who is in college in an even harsher climate.

October 24, 2019

Absolutely perfect!

I am so happy with this coat. It is expensive, but it comes through on all points of the description. I did a LOT of comparing and research and had some requirements in addition to warmth, fit, style, and materials (happy for the recycled down). I had to have LOTS of pockets and snaps as well as a good zipper. Thank you P!!!! On the negative points... Read More others have mentioned, yes, I could imagine it attracting some lint, but I have not experienced it and wouldn't be happy about it if I did, and the warmth factor is perfect. It is warm and windproof yet amazingly lightweight/non-bulky. As far as fit, I appreciate the length of the coat and sleeves. I'm generally a medium (5'8) and it is TTS. I will wear this for years.

October 23, 2019

Another Win

I am a huge fan of Patagonia products. I have several coats/jackets from them, and they are all wonderful. This is yet another comfortable, stylish, well made coat. The material is excellent, and it is true to all of the details provided on the site. So excited I decided to add this to my closet! It is certainly worth every penny!

September 20, 2019

Excited for the winter!

I just moved to a much colder climate and bought this in anticipation of the winter. So, I haven't tested it in the elements, but am very pleased with the fit and features of this jacket. I'm not sure I would wear this skiing, but it will definitely come with me on my next trip as a casual, warm jacket! I'll review again when it&#x27... Read More;s cold enough!

August 26, 2019

Best Parka Ever

I bought this last year as I deal with NYC and Upstate NY winters. It's seriously the best jacket, keeps me so warm and I get compliments constantly. I love how streamlined the jacket is, definitely worth the purchase as I know I'll have it for many years!

February 26, 2019

Great parka, awkward pocket placement

I wanted this parka the moment I tried it on... until I tried putting my hands in the zipped pockets. They are located awkwardly high on the parka so that my elbows stick out at uncomfortable angles. The snap pickers are too low to be comfortable for resting my hands in while walking. Would be a great coat if I didn’t need to spend any time, say wh... Read Moreen I’m in bad weather, with my hands in the pockets. Had to give up on this one.

February 9, 2019

Love this coat!!

I work at a Waldorf school in Colorado..... so I'm outdoors a lot! This Parka is wonderful! I am So Warm!!!! I also Love the Pockets!!! Working with children you always need pockets! Thank you ! This is my first long coat! I have a short Patagonia jacket that is at least 25 years old.... but in great condition..... Still love it!!! Thank you f... Read Moreor great products that last....A happy loyal customer.

January 30, 2019

Lint magnet

Jacket collects more lint and dirt than you could ever imagine, buyer be warned. The outer layer material of the coat appears to always be dirty and is extremely high maintenance. I returned the jacket after three days of normal wear. Overall, I enjoyed the warmth of the jacket, the appearance/detachable hood and all of the additional utility featu... Read Moreres but couldn’t justify keeping my purchase after how filthy the coat seemingly appeared after minimal wear.

January 15, 2019

Almost perfect

I love almost everything about this jacket except that the outer shell fabric is made from this material that attracts lint and General dirt from everywhere. I live in Boston and I wear this jacket back and forth to meetings, but it was very apparent to me when some of the executives literally pointed out how much lint (feathers, and wool from my s... Read Moreweaters) was on my jacket. Hope to contact Patagonia about maybe something that I can do to fix this lint problem, but otherwise, I am in love with this jacket. It’s honestly great to have a super warm jacket that has so many useful pockets and an amazing hood!

January 7, 2019

Best Coat I Have Ever Owned

I bought this coat because its warm and waterproof. I work in athletics, and I spend a lot of time outside at sporting events and for leisure. After having it for a month, I can genuinely say that I've never had a better coat. It's warm and cozy and DRY! One of my favorite parts are the magnetic pockets! I had no idea that I needed them u... Read Morentil I had them!

December 7, 2018

Warm and Stylish

So far, this seems to be a nice warm parka, much warmer than my two year old duete parka. It has down in the hood, unlike the duete and a cozier neck closure. It has 700 fill down which feels much fuller than the duete's 600. Additional pockets are very functional. A better fit, because I had to size up with the duete parka to make room for la... Read Moreyering. Am waiting to see how it is when the temperatures are in the teens.

November 21, 2018

City Storm Parka!

I ordered this parka in the Black L but had to exchange it for a medium in the forged grey (gorgeous color, btw). I’m 5’2”, 150 lbs, petite/athletic build. I found the large to be bulky all over the torso, shoulder and arm area so back it went. The medium in forged grey is a winner! It’s snuggly warm but not overly tight. The hood is a game changer... Read More with the bill, cords and adjustability. The details on this parka are smartly designed and simplify everything! The ease of cinched drawstring on the hood is so smart. The magnetic flap closures on the pockets! Smart again. The pull cords inside the hand warmer pockets are amazing. It’s toasty warm with the recycled down and waterproof for Boston winters. I’m ready for coastal New England nor’easters. Bring on the weather.

November 17, 2018

Ready for anything

Another reviewer was concerned that this parka was too thin, but I do not share that sentiment. Because it is windproof and the down is so high loft (also yay for being recycled!), I have found it to be very warm. It is not a technical piece, but it is wonderful for frigid everyday. We’ve already had some temps in the teens this winter. Room to lay... Read Moreer underneath, but still pretty flattering as far as giant winter parkas go.

November 16, 2018

Good quality but very thin

Bought this coat for a New England winter expecting it to be much thicker and warmer. It is way thinner and more flimsy than it advertised in the photos. Will be returning it for a thicker down coat.

November 15, 2018

Ashley P.

I was nervous to buy this coat because I didn't see any reviews for it. I bought it anyways and I'm SO glad I did. I was tired of my winter coats not being warm enough and that encouraged me to seek out a better coat. I live in Michigan so it gets very cold and wet in the long winters. This coat so far has been amazing. The many pockets a... Read Morere extremely useful. The magnetic flaps are PERFECT, and I never knew I needed them until now, then the smaller higher up pockets are warm and in a perfect spot for my hands. The coat does not absorb any water which keeps me entirely dry. The hood is warm, the double zipper is very useful. And best of all the coat is SO warm. It is snug but not tight on me, I tend to layer anyways and it fits well over my layers. I'm very excited to have this coat for many years to come. It is extremely well made and it shows in the many perfected details. The one thing that I noticed is that the coat is relatively noisy. The waterproof material causes the coat to make some noise when I move. Very minor setback that I gladly will accept due to the large benefits of this coat.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches