Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
November 17, 2021

Great Jacket

I am a soccer coach and we train and play in terrible weather. I read Reviews that the jacket runs a bit small so I went with XXL and it is perfect for my 6 2 225 lbs body. I can be activate and the jacket doesnt restrict mobility! Perfect for a rainy day!

November 3, 2021

Nice but not for larger guys

The body was snug to slender along with the sleeves. I like to layer and there was little room to do so.

September 23, 2021

Just what I wanted

I was looking for a jacket for the transitional season in the Northeast. This is just what I wanted. Cold, rainy days of Fall or early Spring will be handled. Adjustable hood and good pockets! Love it!

September 10, 2021

Good for campus life

Purchased this jacket for my son as he walks across campus in all sorts of weather. The hood and outer material should be perfect for rainy weather.Just wish it came a zip in warmer lining also.

September 5, 2021

Perfect raincoat for winter

In the climate I live in, we get a lot of rainy, cold days rather than snow during winter. This coat is nice and warm, yet waterproof. It also has a more sleek style than other similar coats for a more polished look, which I appreciate for city life.

September 3, 2021

Super Versatile

Love this jacket! Runs perfect and I can wear a layer underneath with no problem such a crewneck or sweatshirt. Also very simple and looks sharp with any outfits.

September 3, 2021

Perfect Rain Jacket

Spent a lot of time researching rain jackets as I live in Florida. Works well, comfy, great quality construction. Would buy again.

June 12, 2021

Pit Zips

This jacket lacks pit-zips. Just to save Patagonia costs. Not a good decision for the consumer

March 26, 2021

Dry and warm, but check the slim sleeves!

This fabric is great: almost no saturation during a long day of mist and wind. Pockets are useful, warm and dry. Some really nice features like concealed cord locks for the hood. However... The sleeves are very narrow and set high in the armpits. This means that some of my mid-layers simply do not fit under the jacket. Even a regular flannel shirt... Read More will bunch in the upper arms or cause the jacket lining to pull out at the wrists. The jacket isn't too small; it just doesn't fit well. Try before you buy!

February 26, 2021

Super comfortable

This jacket is a great fit, and a beautiful color. I like the pockets and a soft feel .

January 29, 2021

Gets the Job Done and Protects you from the Elements

I got this as a shell to go over my puffy on super windy and rainy days out at the crag. It definitely does the job. I wear it over my base layers and puffy and it's the perfect combination. It's also great to belay in when it's not super cold but the wind is heavy. Hasn't let me down and it's made of a durable material.

January 28, 2021

Warm

Love this jacket

January 27, 2021

Best outdoor jacket

I love climbing and outdoor activity. This jacket fits true to the size and I especially love little details to it. For example, it has a soft cushion on the neck area so the softshell fabric does not touch your skin directly.

January 24, 2021

Keeps you dry

This is a great rain jacket. It has a nice lining that helps wick moisture. This is a tough jacket that will keep the rain off you and blocks a cold wind. As with all Patagonia products, it is well made.

January 12, 2021

Nice

Good to wear late fall and early winter. Makes you look skinny

January 8, 2021

Great everyday coat

Really enjoy coat, goes great as waterproof jacket, and is warm. Would recommend.

January 4, 2021

Super breathable

Really breathable, doesn't feel heavy.

December 2, 2020

Awesome Jacket

This is by far my favorite jacket! Water beads up and runs right off. The fit is perfect. Arm length is enough to give coverage while riding a bike or reaching overhead and there is just enough room to add a layer when the temp drops. Awesome jacket!

November 5, 2020

Good cold/wet weather jacket

Kind of a slim fit. Excellent in rainy weather. Pretty good wind and cold protection even with just a tshirt on. Another reviewer mentioned it, and I agree, the right collar just doesnt fold down well. When its not zipped all the way up, it kind of rubs on your chin. Minor flaw, but worth noting. Overall, its a quality jacket and Id recommend it.

November 3, 2020

Quandr is a good description

Love the material. Sizing is the quandary. Should be labled a trim fit. If the pits were a little bigger it would be the ultimate for me but as it stands you won't get much more then the shirt on your back under it. Does provide a certain warmth factor on its own. Like that it is soft enough that you don't get that noisy crinkly sound. Th... Read Moreink it will be good for high output with thin baselayer for moderate cold temps. Half price makes it worth it.

October 18, 2020

Reasonably stretchy, breathable, warm, protection from weather

This is a good balanced versatile jacket. The jacket is double layered and holds in some warmth from cold wind while being somewhat breathable and stretchy. Repels wet but the surface does absorb some water. It's not like wearing an uncomfortable clammy rain tarp, it's more comfortable, but Patagonia has more rain proof jackets and warmer... Read More insulated jackets if that is what you want. This current Quandary offers a balance between wet barrier, activity, comfort, and some warmth.

September 3, 2020

seems well made however runs small had to order 2 sizes larger.

Seems small for size rating. Glad I ordered an xxl instead of a large whioch would have been very tight.

September 2, 2020

Excellent foul weather protection

I use the jacket for foul weather protection on a sailboat. It out performs foul weather jackets made specially for sailing, and is also excellent for casual wear.

July 10, 2020

Excellent in almost every way

Living in the PNW, I bought this as an everyday jacket. As titled, it is excellent in almost every way. The fit is fantastic. The feel of the fabric is super nice and quiet while wearing it. It repels the rain and breathes nicely. There is a catch - the one I have may be mis-sewed. The right collar angles in and irritates my chin unless it's z... Read Moreipped to the top. No amount of adjustment of the drawcords has corrected it. That bums me out, but I still wear it all the time. And I would highly recommend this jacket.

April 9, 2020

Great Ski Jacket

While not labeled as a ski jacket, it actually worked surprisingly well for me with a nanopuff hoodie underneath and wasn't too tight (size Med, 5'8, 160lb). It has got a bit of stretch to it, which is nice. Water proofing was more than a match for the snow and water dripping off the chairlift on me, and the draw cord on the bottom kept t... Read Morehe powder out. The hood is obviously not meant to fit a helmet, but with the nano hood under my helmet I was happy. Wouldn't want to use it skinning up as it is on the heavier side and lacks pit zips, but is a perfect resort jacket!

April 5, 2020

Almost the perfect jacket

Semi-tailored or slim cut jacket, a little too tight (not wide enough) on the shoulders and under arms, not much room for layers, and the hood does not stow-away in the collar for a more formal and sophisticated look, and there are two annoying plastic pieces that stick out from inside the collar (to tighten the hood I guess) when is open, otherwis... Read Moree, the perfect rain-snow jacket with dual utility for the city and trail. I like that fact that it does not have the informal shinny-nylon fabric look of a rain-snow shell, but it is one. This jacket has the potential, after fixing the above flawed designs, to be the perfect and stylish multi-use winter jacket.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Thank you so much for the product feedback! We appreciate your detailed review. We have passed this along to our Product Design Team.

March 6, 2020

Sizing inconsistencies

I love Patagonia - fantastic company. My gripe with them is their sizing can be pretty off. My 15 year old is 5'5, about 115 lbs, and thin, muscular build. I bought this because we have been striking out on ski jackets this year. My thought was that my kid runs hot so this with the nano puff underneath and a hoodie would probably work as a ski... Read More jacket for the remainder of the season. It fit ok with the hoodie underneath but adding the nano puff made it too tight for skiing. I had his twin brother try it, who is 5'6 and about 105 lbs - a string bean, with long torso and long arms. This did not work for his build either - just because the arms weren't long enough. This was with only a hoodie underneath - no nano puff. I had previously bought the Snowshot in boys - XXL (or whatever the largest kids' size Patagonia makes) and it was too small as well. The quality of the coat and the color - fabulous!

January 1, 2020

Great Coat!

I really like the style, pockets, and water resistance of the coat. It is not insulated, which I knew, so a shell underneath helps. The coat is a little larger than I expected from the sizing chart, particularly the arms are longer than I thought they would be.

December 26, 2019

Excellent Shell

I am very happy with my jacket , I have used it on a hike and worn around town and to work .

December 21, 2019

An unexpectedly new favorite

Despite wearing Patagonia Snap T fleeces for my entire adult life (40 years) I have not owned any of their jackets other than a rain shell. I don't really like shells without lining, so prior to a 2 week trip to England, I bought this jacket. It felt substantial, the hood adjusted well and had the lining which I wanted. It fit small so I went ... Read Moreup an extra size from what I normally wear. Newer rain jackets I have noticed tend to fit tighter and longer in the sleeves which I wasn't initially very comfortable with but got used to. I always wear a fleece under my rain jackets. After walking around London for 2 weeks in 40's weather with rain and wind all day, I fell in love with this thing. I always stayed warm and dry, it covered everything and sealed up tight enough to never need an umbrella. It never hinted of soaking through the fabric and I never got excessively sweaty inside so it breathed well yet shielded the wind. The pockets were amply large so that I didn't need to carry a backpack for a large guidebook and camera. Pockets had a nice lining and left room to stick my hands for warmth even with my other stuff in there. My son is buying one now as well. Excellent product.

December 21, 2019

Great replacement for my old Storm jacket

I like a lining in my hard shell, especially the hood. Outside and inside chest pockets are nice. To make this perfect for me, would be drop in pockets on the inside. Great crossover jacket for urban to the trails when rain is in the forecast. Thanks Patagonia.

December 9, 2019

Nice Coat but arms kinda tight

This is a great coat for casual wear. I wanted a coat that was light weight when out walking the dogs. This is perfect! But I gave it 4 stars because the arms on the coat get tight between the elbow and wrist.

November 28, 2019

Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile Shell

I’m always on the go for work and play with lots of climates & continents and the Quandary Jkt is the solo piece of outerwear in my carry-on. The understated styling, slim fit and host of pockets make for a perfect combination of technical jacket that moves fluidly from outdoor activities to social affairs without missing a beat.

November 23, 2019

Solid Shell so Far.. I´ve only had for a day.

See title. Comfy shell. Got a medium but was definitely tight and traded back for a L. I like it a little loose so I can deal with my layers underneath.

November 14, 2019

Solid city option

Needed a jacket that could straddle any combination of wind, rain or snow on my city commute and weekend travels. The shell is sturdy enough to stop wind, tight enough to retain some body heat for warmth, and it sheds rain and snow with ease. Solid construction for use in active pursuits, but understated enough to wear into a professional office en... Read Morevironment. Perfect.

November 13, 2019

Go to jacket

I love this jacket! You will use this for everything. Well built, tons of features, and looks nice! I use this jacket year round. Highly recommend

November 11, 2019

love it thank you!

love it thank you!

November 7, 2019

Great jacket

Warm for what it is, a rain jacket, with sturdy construction. I'm 6' and slim (155 lbs) and I like things to fit slim. I got a small and it's perfect. If you like things a little baggier keep in mind that a small fit my height and weight close (which is what I like). I'd consider this "true to size"

November 7, 2019

Great Jacket

Love all things Patagonia

November 5, 2019

perfect

Love it. Warm enough for temps over 40 for me. Like most Patagonia gear, runs a little small. I'm usually an XL but XXL with Patagonia.

November 1, 2019

Thanks

Thanks

October 31, 2019

Great Jacket

Kept me dry at the UM vs ND game on my top half, worked like a charm.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches