Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka

Write Your Review

4.74 /5

Filter Reviews

All 90 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka

4.74
True To Size
July 24, 2020

Love this Coat!!!

I have been eyeing this coat for a while, I was hoping it would go on sale, but eventually decided just to make the purchase. Let me tell you, NO REGRETS! I love this coat! It is well made, nice weight, and super cute. The internal waist band gives it more definition at the waist, which makes it more stylish and cute. Love it!!!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Coat

This will make the winter that much sweeter.

February 2, 2020

I want to move back to cold weather just to wear this again

Bought this parka in 2014 after moving to Massachusetts and having gone a year without one. 100% worth the money. I wore this, no joke, every single day that it was cold... and in 2014/2015 it snowed from Halloween to April 28th. The pockets are large, easily fitting my phone, wallet, and keys daily, in addition to stuffing in my gloves or hat when... Read More not in use. The length allows for you to sit down with it on without having to unzip, and it zips up high enough to protect you from wind and snow going down your shirt, without being too close to your neck. The inside drawstrings allow for a flatting fit, without being tight or restricting. It was easy to get on and off when going from inside to outside, but just a little bulky to carry around. Most days, I wore this with a sweater or Patagonia Snap-t pullover underneath, or on colder/snowier days I would wear this with my Nano-puff and a scarf. The hood is a little bit large for me (although I do have a small head), so it was comfortable and stayed on in regular cold weather, but if there was wind I would need to wear a hat to get the hood to keep from falling off. I did not find the drawstrings easy to tie in order to keep the hood on. Now having moved back to California, I look for reasons to go to cold weather so that I can wear this parka. I have washed it maybe twice since getting it (whoops) but has never smelled and it has held up extremely well. The only thing that I have noticed after 6 years is that the fleece has flattened out on the backside (from sitting in it) but it does not affect the warmth or the feel of the jacket. 10/10 would recommend. 5'5, 120, size small. Size small in most other Patagonia items.

January 1, 2020

I’ll be using this jacket for a VERY long time!

The prairie dawn jacket is a perfect casual jacket for winters in the PNW. It’s warm on its own but also slides on super easily over other layers when it’s chilly out. I have the dark blue color which I love because it can be casual or dressy! I love this jacket!

December 31, 2019

The wife loves it!

My wife loves this parka. It was a perfect gift for the holidays and with the two day shipping it arrived right on time!

December 30, 2019

Love the jacket/suggestions on lining

Love this jacket! It’s also super warm! I really wanted the brown one, but after a few considerations I went with the green. The reason is the lining! The brown and the grey should both have the white/cream lining the green one has. It would look so much better! Honestly it’s needs some contrast with the brown. It would be so perfect with that upda... Read Morete. Otherwise the jacket is awesome! Can you make me a custom jacket?!?!? I can be your test subject:)

December 29, 2019

I love the jacket. It’s

I love the jacket. It’s so comfortable and I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it so far.

December 27, 2019

I just wish that it

I just wish that it was waterproof

December 27, 2019

Perfection

This coat is everything. People constantly compliment me on it and I have a friend that immediately went online and bought one after seeing it on me. It feels so well made and every detail is so nice down to the buttons. It's warm but not suffocating. the cut of the back is so nice and even after sitting on it doesn't look bad or wrinkled... Read More. I can see this coat being a part of my closet for a VERY long time, especially if I buy the other colors which I fully intend to do. I'm 5'6", ~135 lbs. and purchased a medium so that I can layer and still be comfortable and move. No regrets on the sizing. The sleeves are a touch long, but it doesn't bother me. Oh and within a month of having it I wore it in some heavy rain and it still kept me warm and dry!

December 25, 2019

Love!

Love this coat so much. Such a perfect knock around a ski town coat and a nice alternative to the typical down walking coat. Super warm - great for the Mom running around town or sitting in a hockey rink!

December 24, 2019

Runs large

I kept the jacket because it is very warm, but when it’s zipped up it looks like in wearing a potato sack. It is very unflattering. I guess that’s function over style?

December 22, 2019

LOVE my jacket!

Cozy, warm, comfortable, and looks good too! I'm 5 feet and in my 2nd trimester of pregnancy (130lbs) and wanted a jacket that was a bit more cozy for my growing belly. I absolutely love this jacket! I wear it all the time and I have a 2 hour commute into chilly Philly 2x a week and I'm very thankful to have this jacket! I bought a Medium... Read More and its roomy which is great because I can layer a sweater under there. Relaxed fit. Goes down to above my knees. Can't love it more! Great job, Patagonia on this jacket!

December 22, 2019

Best parka

This parka is the most comfortable and warm jacket I’ve ever had. It’s definitely my favorite! I’m 5’2” 160lbs and I normally wear a large. This large is a little big but I tighten the waist draw cords and it fits perfectly! I have room to layer however I want.

December 21, 2019

Love the coat!

I have wanted this coat for a couple of years, and I'm really glad I bought it. It's comfortable and really warm. The cord that cinches the waist makes it flattering. I normally wear a medium or large sweater. I have broad shoulders so ordered a large. It fits great. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that after wearing for a week, th... Read Moree inside pocket lining ripped. The only thing I had put in my pocket was a pair of gloves and my car key which should not have caused the rip. I chose to repair the rip myself instead of return the coat. It's reinforced now and should last for years.

December 19, 2019

Really well made

This coat is really durable, heavy and warm. Originally I ordered a small because I like to wear a lot of thick sweaters, and it was absolutely huge on me (I am 5ft and 128lbs). I knew it would be long but was surprised just how large it was. I exchanged for an XS and it’s perfect even with a sweater underneath. There is a big difference between th... Read Moree S and XS, but I was glad that the XS wasn’t still too large. The length is fine too- it comes midway to my knees.

December 17, 2019

Perfect Parka

I’m always skeptical about buying clothing online without trying it on first, but I’m glad I took the chance on this parka. I love it! The fit is great. I love the drawstring around the waist. It gives the coat a different look. It’s super comfortable and although it’s a heavier coat, I still feel comfortable enough to drive in it. It looks nice wi... Read Moreth jeans and I also feel like I can wear it with a nice pair of dress slacks. I’m 5’ 4” so the back of the coat hits right above my knees. It’s a little longer than I expected, but I think it’ll be good for winter. I have to walk outside a lot for work so I’m looking forward to the extra protection on the cold, winter days.

December 16, 2019

Love it!!!

Love it!!!

December 16, 2019

i love it!

I got this jacket to replace one that i loved but had outlived its days. I wasn't expecting to like my new jacket as much but i do! Its rugged, comfortable & warm.

December 13, 2019

Great coat

Wonderful coat. Warm, cozy, and looks very nice in a rugged way. I get lots of compliments on it. FYI - the sleeves are a little long and it seems to run a bit big overall. I'm 5'4" and weight 120 lbs. I usually get size small in Patagonia tops and close jackets, and medium in outerwear because I like to be able to layer other clothe... Read Mores underneath. I live in Montana and winters can be very cold. This medium is a little bigger than my Patagonia shell, long down coat and down sweater. I live in coats and jackets in the winter so have a lot - almost all from Patagonia - best company ever!

December 13, 2019

I’m 5’10 so the sleeves

I’m 5’10 so the sleeves hit right at my wrist, wish they were just a tad bit longer. It’s a super warm, and cute! Can’t wait to wear it more!

December 12, 2019

Nice solid coat

This coat is very well made and comfy. Its not the most flattering, but cinching it in the waist gives you a little curve. I haven't tried it in super cold weather, but so far its great for kind of chilly and drizzly days. The hood is nice and large - room enough for a ponytail which I always appreciate! I feel like the armpits are a little ti... Read Moreght (and I'm kind of skinny) and movement is restricted a bit. Other than that I really like it. Also I ordered a medium and it was huge, I returned it for a small (I'm 5'7" and 135 lb)

December 9, 2019

Perfect casual coat

Great alternative to the puffy. The fleece lining is super warm so you can wear it open even in the wintertime. It’s best worn unzipped, uncinched, and with the sleeves unsnapped. It hangs nicely this way and gives a more laid-back look, especially with a thick sweater, jeans and Chelsea boots. I bought the Sage Khaki color and it's the perfec... Read Moret casual coat.

December 9, 2019

Almost Perfect Coat

This coat is warm, true to size, and is comfy. I got the coat in Sage Khaki which is a neutral color. The hoodie size is not too big and not too small. The only hang up I have are the pockets, the hand pockets are made of a silk like material that does not provide warmth and pockets are not that deep so when I sit down, things sometimes fall out of... Read More my pocket. Also, there are no inside pockets for convenience or safety.

December 8, 2019

Quick and dirty review

It’s heavy which makes it super warm. Pockets don’t zipper so things can fall out but the pockets are pretty deep. The sleeves are a bit short- I like to hide my hands in my sleeves and this coat will not allow that. Big hood allows for a stocking hat. I’m 5’5 and 125lbs. The small is great. I can even fit my nano puff under if needed.

December 7, 2019

Exactly what I was looking for!

I am so pleased with this coat! It is warm, roomy, but not bulky and can be feminine or more androgynous thanks to the adjustable waist. The recycled fleece is cozy and the outer cotton performs well in the snow. I love the adequately sized pockets and the fact that the coat hits just above the knee to keep my legs warm.

December 5, 2019

Yaaass!

I’m somewhat of a minimalist so I wanted to invest in a solid winter coat as seattle winters are bringing in more snow and I travel to philly for the holidays. No regrets! This thing’s everything i need it to be. Rain proof, super warm, not too heavy/bulky, can fit layers underneath. I almost got an xs (im 5’2, 110lb) but i went with a small to be ... Read Moresafe and its just a tad long but thats all good in the rain or snow, and sleeves are good length. If its too big you can always exchange the size for free! Highly recommend, worth the money. And the color (sage) is soo cute

December 2, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

December 1, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 29, 2019

6' female slender build

I struggled over what size Prairie Dawn Parka to buy for my 6' slender build daughter, based on reviews of 5'10 - 6', I went with M - it fits everywhere except the sleeves are too short for someone that tall. Exchange process is very easy - L is on its way, hoping the difference in size is not a big jump, since the M did fit perfectl... Read Morey everywhere but the arms.

November 28, 2019

Love it!

slim enough to be convenient but still super warm

November 27, 2019

Nice warm jacket

Very warm, nice length. I like the waist cinch to make it more feminine, without it it is pretty bulky/manly looking. I am between sizes. Medium is too small but the large is a little too big. I went with a large because I like my jackets to be looser but because of that I have to cinch this as much as it can and roll the sleeves up to make it look... Read More more flattering. Aside from the slightly awkward fit for my body, it’s a really nice jacket and keeps me very warm.

November 24, 2019

Love it

The coat fit me perfectly, is warm but not heavy and looks super cool! So happy with it!

November 22, 2019

Love this coat!

I got the dark blue color and absolutely love it. The quality is really good. The pockets are big and the coat has plenty of room for layers. Very happy with my purchase.

November 21, 2019

LOVE!

I have been wearing my ski jacket and puffy jackets for far too long for casual wear and to work . Got this jacket and it is absolutely perfect! The jacket is SO warm ( the fleece lining is AMAZING), it's really cute (love the drawstring to cinch the waist) and overall its the perfect winter jacket for freezing winters in Minnesota. My only ho... Read Morepe is that someday Patagonia might offer this in the Patagonia slim fit and maybe with slightly more length in the arms!

November 20, 2019

Great Biking/Hiking/Working/Shoveling/Composting Coat- Kind of frumpy.

This coat is warm, it's very long which keeps my behind covered as I bike around town, and its got great movement and flexibility for doing outdoor chores. It does run a bit on the big size, so I'd size down- I wear it with a thick sweater underneath and it's still baggy and a little frumpy, even when I pull in the elastic waist cord... Read Mores. It's a great piece of durable, functional attire.

November 19, 2019

Excellent from ordering to delivery.

Excellent from ordering to delivery. My wife loves her new coat.

November 18, 2019

Don’t hesitate!

I wasn’t sure if I would like this because it’s heavier than my usual nano-puff hoody but I am so glad I bought it!! I took it on a road trip to the mid-west the day after I got it and it was the perfect coat for my trip. It stops the wind like nobody’s business, I love the color (I got the smolder blue) and it’s easy to layer under. I’m 5’6” and 1... Read More60 and got the large. It’s also great now that I’m back in the northeast. Can’t recommend it enough!

November 18, 2019

Warm and Cozy

I purchased this coat Nov 2018 and it got me through the cold Minnesota winter and polar vortex 2019. I like that the coat is fleece lined throughout the entire body as not all coats do this. I do wish there were cuffs to keep the wind out at wrists, just be careful to shove gloves up sleeves. Fleece lined pockets would be a bonus. Will be purchasi... Read Moreng one for my daughter to stay warm on campus. For reference I am 5'5", 132 lbs and the medium is perfect on me with room for a sweater (which I never need as the coat keeps me warm) . Hits about 1" above the knee.

November 17, 2019

Perfection!

This is by far my new favorite! Being 5’3” longer coats can swallow me, however this parka sits just right! Very cozy, warm and not to heavy to carry around. Cant wait for the winters snow to come!

November 17, 2019

Fits well—very warm and practical

Fits well—very warm and practical for wearing to work as well as casual activities.

November 16, 2019

Everything I wanted it to be!

It’s so warm, comfortable and soft, I love the drop down back and the option to bring the waist in.

November 13, 2019

Love my jacket! Runs a

Love my jacket! Runs a little small, had to go with an XL.

November 13, 2019

Nice parka but...

I was super excited about this parka however when it showed up I was a little let down. I feel that the lining is fragile and I would have liked to see more of a collar. There is absolutely no collar on this beautiful parka...and I like my neck protected. So, this parka is not for me.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, Hannah! It's a bummer this parka isn't what you were looking for, but we can totally see how having no collar would be inconvenient under some circumstances. We've emailed you with your refund details just in case you need them. Thanks again.

November 12, 2019

Warm, comfy, and not precious

This is a warm, casual coat that fits true to size if not a little large which is nice in sweater season. I am happy with it. It's doing the job and feels like a workhorse that I don't worry about getting messy no matter what I happen to get into. I will say that the pockets are made of a silky material that I fear will wear quickly. I do... Read Moren't put my keys in them to protect them just in case but we'll see how it goes. I am sure they can be repaired if they do snag or tear. Though, at this price point, I hope they hold up. Fingers crossed.

November 11, 2019

Love this nice and warm

Love this nice and warm coat. Great for casual and work wear. I usually wear S but I got XS for this coat and it's fit perfect..

November 10, 2019

Love the fit

Patagonia’s clothing and gear is always spot on.

November 10, 2019

So so warm! Great fit,

So so warm! Great fit, super cute!

November 9, 2019

Quality Coat

I love the coat. It almost makes me sad to go inside and have to take it off! It’s wonderfully made, and stylish too! Highly recommend.

November 7, 2019

Exactly What I was Looking For!

Love it! I live in Northern MI and had been looking for a good warm coat for fall/spring. I'm 5'7" 145lbs, I went with the small and love the fit. The arms could be just a tad longer, but they're almost perfect and not a true complaint. Although I'm not generally into the sherpa lined look, I don't mind it- it's a... Read Morectually nice and cozy. If there was a flannel lined or smoother option I would have chosen that. I've had this coat for a few weeks and I'm still remarking daily to my husband about how much I love it!

November 7, 2019

So beautiful!

I love this jacket. I have yet to wear it in a true New England cold and am slightly worried that my wrists will be cold, but otherwise this jacket is great! I have broad shoulders so its a tiny bit tight when I wear an additional jacket, but otherwise the sizing is awesome. Would definitely recommend as a medium-heavy winter-jacket.

November 7, 2019

Warm and practical

My work is in the city and I have worn this couple of time when temperature dropped below 40 (Philly), it is so warm! The size, recently I gained weight...130lbs, 5.2ft, little getting tighter as I ordered xs after reading review. kind of tight to layer inside..(used to be 120lbs..but wide shoulders). All good!

November 6, 2019

Down Parka

Don’t want to take it off. Bought the light blue color instead of my usual safe black and I adore it. It goes with everything much to my surprise. So warm and soft and lightweight. Not going anywhere w/o it this winter :)

November 6, 2019

This coat is so cozy

This coat is so cozy warm without looking like a traditional parka or ski jacket! Absolutely love it.

November 5, 2019

Prairie Dawn Parka Rocks!

Living in the CO mountains, this is the PERFECT “around town” jacket! SO cozy!

November 4, 2019

Comfy coat that is warm and durable

I originally ordered an XL, which is my typical size in Patagonia-wear, however, it was too big, even with a heavy sweatshirt underneath. So, I would recommend sizing down on this item. But once I got the large, I really liked the way it fit while still being warm and functional. I work in construction and although I will not let this coat be my da... Read Morey to day, I could get by on a cold day that didn't require too much work that could jeopardize it's life (glue, saws, etc.) The coat allows you to cinch it at the waist as well, which can make it a little more flattering when wearing it around town. I love the long length for colder days and the big hood to fit over my hat with a pom-pom when it is snowing.

November 4, 2019

Floridian Moves North, Takes Up Winter Adventure

I've always been an outdoors(wo)man, but being from Florida I've been slow to get on the "really good winter coat" scene. As I'm adjusting to more frigid adventures, I've realized how incredibly important a thick coat with resilience and toughness is. This coat is heavier than my more formal coats, but it's warm a... Read Morend cosy. I ordered a Medium (recommended size for my body type) and have a bit of space for layers underneath (thick sweaters, even a compressable down fits under). Zipper is sturdy and not giving me any trouble. Love the drop in and needle pockets (perfect for extra handwarmers or mylar blankets). Would buy again, but doubt I'll need to! This one will see me through many years, and as a canvas I can add my patches <3.

November 4, 2019

Great for layering

I'm 5'7, 165, and was torn between the S and M sizes for this coat. I went Medium, despite most of my Patagonia tops and jackets being smalls, because I wanted to have plenty of room for thick layers underneath. The result is exactly what I was hoping for: it's comfortable with a thin layer or with a thick sweatshirt underneath. The ... Read Moreshape/drape is stylish and warm. I was able to walk around in wildly varying weather (sun, wind, cold) and be happy and comfortable zipping up or loosening layers. The olive color is classic and a great neutral that will work with most of my wardrobe. Very happy with this purchase!

November 4, 2019

I’m glad I didn’t listen

I’m glad I didn’t listen To reviews to size up because I got my normal size and it was still a little big! It worked though because I can wear a chunky sweater underneath it without any problem but definitely don’t size up! Anyways it’s obviously so well made and keeps me warm and it’s so cute and comfortable!

November 3, 2019

Very warm and cute

Very warm and cute

October 31, 2019

Heavy

I bought the Prairie Dawn Parka. I am 5'6" and 155. The Large was a bit big but the medium was to small when I tried to cross my arms. The jacket is great quality I just am used to the light weight of the down jackets. I know if I had to carry it on my arm that it would feel very heavy after awhile. So I returned it for the fuzzy short ja... Read Morecket which I love!

October 30, 2019

Winter Jacket

Love, Love Love! This is a great jacket as far as looks and feel. I have yet to test it out in the winter temps but I love the fit and color. I am 5'1' and 120lbs and got the XS. I live in upstate NY where we have long cold winters. It seems perfect for layering a heavy sweater underneath. I will only be using it to go to town and out and... Read More about not extended outdoor time which it may not be suitable for that sort of work.

October 30, 2019

Most Practical, Stylish Parka!

Love the color Owl Brown of this Parka. The material is excellent and looks super stylish!!

October 28, 2019

Absolutely gorgeous jacket. The insulation

Absolutely gorgeous jacket. The insulation was incredibly soft & the jacket was very warm but I decided to return it because it was simply too bulky. I felt little comfort with the mobility. I would love this exact jacket without insulation or a thick lining.

October 25, 2019

Great coat. Usually wear medium.

Great coat. Usually wear medium. Bought a medium and found fit perfect. However, this is a very heavy weight coat. Just FYI if concerned about baggage weight.

October 24, 2019

It’s a classic, must have.

It’s a classic, must have.

October 24, 2019

Great coat!

I love my new coat. I find myself wearing it all the time - to walk the dog, to run to the store and even go out with friends. It's very versatile and can easily be "dressed up" or "dressed down." It's also much warmer than I anticipated. Size-wise, I am usually around a S - M and initially bought a M and it was a litt... Read Morele too big. Even with a S, I can fit a sweatshirt and some thinner layers under the coat with perfect comfort.

October 18, 2019

Montana go to jacket.

California kid here who spends a lot of time in Montana and Idaho, this jacket is the best. I can wear it in 40 degree weather and in -20 degree weather, depending on my base layers. I love that the exterior material is a bit more sturdy than the down jackets, I tend to be pretty hard on them. I am normally a size Large in jackets, but a Medium/8 i... Read Moren shirts. I appreciate the extra room for base layers and sweaters, the hood is also nice and roomy to accommodate beanies. Im 5'7" and the length hits just right above my knee and keeps my tush and upper legs nice and warm. Two thumbs up from me.

October 16, 2019

Love it.

I'm so glad I bought this jacket. It's perfect for New England fall. I bought in a M so I could wear a sweater underneath. I love the size of the hood, it's just right. The fleece lining is cozy and I love the green color. Nice big pockets and a great length. I've gotten several compliments on it. Look forward to wearing it for ... Read Moreyears to come.

October 11, 2019

Great jacket for cold commutes!

I'm only 4'10" and 110 lbs, so I was afraid that this jacket would swallow me whole. But it actually fits really well. It's definitely longer on me than the model, but it doesn't look oversized because it fits everywhere from my waist to my arms to my shoulders. My commute looks like walking in 20 degree (Fahrenheit) weathe... Read Morer from a dirt lot to a train station and then taking said train for a forty minute ride. And this jacket keeps me incredibly warm even without a sweater underneath. And it's not excessively warm, either. So, in short, it's cute, incredibly cozy and warm without being hot. I strongly, strongly recommend it; it's worth every penny.

April 10, 2019

Great in-between-seasons jacket!

Bought this jacket as a water resistant option for the cold weather of late fall and late winter/early spring in the Northeast. I love it! It’s been warm, comfortable, and fashionable. I’m 5’6”, 125lbs with a more athletic build and purchased an XS after debating between XS/S (I have a puffy vest from Patagonia that is a S and fits well). My should... Read Moreers are slightly broad and my arms are a little long so the only thing I’ve noticed fit-wise that a S might have changed is that the sleeves are a little short for me. This hasn’t been a problem though with sweater and shirt sleeves that adequately cover any gap caused by reaching my arms out etc. I like that this jacket covers your bum and cinches at the waist to give some shape. The hood has been great in this spring’s cold rain. All around extremely happy with my purchase!

February 15, 2019

Solid Jacket

I would change is the sleeve length. It's on the short side which is only okay because I tend to layer with a sweater underneath anyway. The breast pockets are kind of awkward ... I didn't even realize they were there at first and I rarely use them. But I really like the overall fit and look of the jacket.

February 2, 2019

Women's Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka

I bought this for my daughter & absolutely she loves it! Recommendations for future, do not tie tails together, include 2 way zipper on all longer coats, fleece inside pockets would be a nice addition!

January 31, 2019

Love it!

Do not listen to other reviewers when they say they sized up and it’s perfect! I struggled with deciding on a size because I worried about being able to layer underneath. Ultimately, I listened to other reviewers and sized up and holy moley, it look like I was a child dressing up in mommy’s clothes. Generally I’m a M (broad shoulders, muscular arms... Read More, and 36d) but went with L. I could have fit another parka underneath in the L so I ordered a M and it’s just right. I wore it on holiday in the UK and Iceland this January and it kept me warm without the bulk. I live in Hawaii and haven’t been in extreme cold weather for a very long time. We complain here when it drops to 70F, so going to places that were 30-40F, I worried about finding the right jacket. This parka did the job. I was able to layer a sweater and long sleeve with no problem. A chunky sweater would have worked, too. Though this jacket didn’t really fit what I needed (waterproof), I made it work because my body type never looks flattering in anything puffy and shapeless. Though the lining is DWR taffeta, the canvas is not at all water repellant. On my last day in Iceland it rained so the parka got a bit heavy and the wet sleeves started to give me chills(it was also the coldest day). However, I understood this when I bought the parka so I can’t blame the product. There are also a few design features that I wish the parka had like zipper or button flap hand pockets, an interior pocket, double zipper, and faux fur hood. Other than the button flap pockets, the other things I plan on altering myself then checking out weather proofing the canvas as well. Even with all these things, I still think the parka is excellent. I chose it specifically because it fits my style body shape.

January 29, 2019

bomber winter coat

Yup - I echo all of the good stuff here. I live in northern New England where winter can be brutal and this puppy blocks wind like a champ, doesn't show the salt and mud stains from my car and is styley enough in an urban setting. I add a scarf when it's most cold (we're talking negative temps) and I can stay comfortable walking arou... Read Morend town. I owned a Downtown Parka for years and then decided to replace it with this after looking at it for months. I'll have this for a long, long time...

January 7, 2019

Exactly what I was looking for...

I absolutely love this coat and all that it entails. I tried a down puffer coat from Patagonia and it was just not a flattering look on me, I needed something with more shape to it. I had my eye on this parka for a long time and was hesitant because of the price. Let me tell you, it is worth every $$. It is warm, stylish, comfortable, but not too b... Read Moreulky. It is feminine yet casual. I chose to go with the brownish color since I thought it was a little more unique. I love the cinched waist option and all of the fabric. I can see the sizing being tricky on this one. I am typically a M in Patagonia jackets, so I decided to stick with the M. I am glad I did. I wear a S/M on top, have a small waist, but curvier hips. Typically a 10/12 bottoms. If I would have sized up, it would have been to large up top. The M fits my liking, except sometimes the bottom snap comes undone when I sit if I have a thick sweater on underneath. I would rather it be a little more fitted on the bottom than large and bulky on top! Thank you Patagonia for making such a high quality product! Once again, I am very impressed!

December 22, 2018

Patagonia Prairie Dawn Parka

I just received my package today and absolutely love this parka. I bought the brown color and am very happy with it. This shade of brown reminds me of the traditional Carhartt brown, but it is a deeper and much more vibrant color. I am about 5'4" and 158 lbs. I bought the large, and it fits perfectly. I can't attest to how warm this ... Read Morecoat will be, but I think it will be adequate for a winter where I live in Oklahoma.

December 21, 2018

Great jacket!!

I LOVE this jacket. I needed a good winter jacket and I probably spent two or three weeks looking for one. Every time I kept coming back to this one. It’s a little pricey but I decided to go ahead and buy and I do not regret it. It fits great, you can dress it up or down and it’s so warm. It’s so cute and so worth the price!

December 12, 2018

Pleasing Patagonia Parka

I fell in love with the Patagonia brand when I read how outspoken the CEO has been defending public lands. I fell more in love when I read how they make a lasting, durable product that can be mended and passed down. So, naturally when I was looking for a winter jacket I checked out the Patagonia website. I wanted a green parka but the price was mor... Read Moree than I’ve spent on a jacket, so I hesitated and checked out reviews. I’m a typically a size M/L 38D up top and a size 10/12 in bottoms with stretch. I purchased size Large *hoping* it would fit. Even with the drawstring waist cinched a bit I can zip it all the way up. I love the cinched waist option as it is most flattering to my curves. The coat itself is nicely made, a good weight, and warm. I will definitely be keeping.

December 11, 2018

Great coat, wonderful length

My only qualm is that it’s heavy and bulky. You’re not going to squish it into a tiny stuff sack for a train ride, but it’s warm and long and for that it’s great. I can wear a hoody under it when the temps drop to the teens, and it’s still comfortable.

December 3, 2018

So happy I finally bought this jacket!

I had been eyeing this jacket for over a year before I finally bought it. I was always unsure if it could be worth the price. I had a trip planned for Iceland in September and wanted to bring a jacket that was warm and I could still fit a sweater underneath. I felt like my down Patagonia jacket would have been too bulky/warm. I was so happy I final... Read Morely caved and bought this for my trip. It was perfect for me to wear on warmer days with just a shirt underneath but I could also fit a heavy sweater under it when it got cold at night. I've worn this jacket so many times since my trip because it is a great in-between jacket when transitioning from autumn to winter in the Northeast US. I've always struggled to find a jacket that would keep me warm but not be too heavy for 40 degree weather. I definitely recommend this jacket if you live/are spending time anywhere where the temperature drops below 50 degrees. It runs a little big and looks a bit bulky but I don't mind since the overall shape is cute and it allows me to layer.

November 23, 2018

Favorite fall/winter/spring apparel

I bought this coat as a more stylish alternative for my puffy jacket. I live in Colorado, but I also took this coat to Western Europe during the month of November. I LOVE this jacket. It's comfortable, does well in wind & rain, and very warm. I found that it fit me as advised. I am 5'8", 135 lbs., and a 34B so I ordered a medium ... Read More[for a more descriptive depiction of sizing- I generally wear a 2 in pants and a medium in tops]. It's got a slim cut, but I don't find it too tight anywhere. I am able to wear layers underneath it, which definitely adds to its versatility for fall/winter/spring seasons. I also love the thickness of the hood. I hate having cold ears and wind hitting them. Most hoods I've found to be useless without a hat, but the weight of this hood successfully keeps them warm and protected. Overall, I am so happy with my purchase and would recommend to anyone looking for a warm, fashionable coat. My only critique is that it would benefit from an internal zip chest pocket.

November 15, 2018

Love it but not for an XL woman with hips

I saw this coat and it was my dream come true. SO HAPPY. In reality it doesn't fit my kinda apple/pear shape. ( I know what am I doing on this website right?) Couldn't wear a sweater underneath. I was surprisded by a long coat with no double zipper It really helps when sitting or driving or just moving around. Then I thought Oh! I will ju... Read Morest use the snaps. 9trying to justify keeping it) There's only 3 snaps so nope. And no interior pocket. So even if I had a lovely figure and had all the room in the world, this coat fit me, I probably would send it back for those functional design issues. In general the coat is so cool, colors rock, so well made of course and I am officially jealous for those people who get to where it. If I had a ton of money to spare maybe I'd keep it but I have a budget and need to find that coat that is warm and NOT puffer, mini puff, chevron pufffffffff

November 11, 2018

So glad I got this coat.

Was going back and forth between this coat, and a slightly less expensive coat. I’m so pleased that I spent the extra money and invested in this one. Nice and warm, comfy, and stylish. I got the small. I’m 5’2”, 105 lbs. love the fit. I can fit very bulky sweaters underneath, but I think the shape is also flattering.

October 29, 2018

High Quality Coat, Perfect for Casual Winter Wear

I'm thrilled with the quality and warmth of this coat! I was looking for something casual and warm to wear when I'm walking to and from class on a college campus in the cold, rain, and snow. I used the Patagonia size calculator and a L fits great! For reference I am 5'5", 155 lbs, and a 36 C. This coat leaves plenty of room in t... Read Morehe shoulders and back and allows for sweaters to be worn underneath it. All of the pockets are deep, but only the breast pockets snap and zip closed. Overall, I am thrilled with the durability and fit and would recommend this coat to anyone looking for casual fall/winter outerwear.

October 24, 2018

Great for Winter - both city and county

I LOVE this coat. I bought it in the brown color, which is true to the color shown online. For reference, I am 5'5, 120lbs, 34B, with sort of long arms and torso (nothing crazy). I was choosing between the small and x small (tried both on in the store). Both fit (I'd say I typically am a small/medium in Patagonia for fleeces, vests, etc.)... Read More, I ended up going with the xs which was a bit more "form fitting". I can still wear a sweatshirt comfortably underneath but if you want lots of room, I'd say go with the small. The small was still flattering. I can see myself wearing this in both the city and the country -- to the gym, work, etc. It is long, so not great for actual work or activities, but cozy and warm for walks. I love the hood.

October 21, 2018

Different Fit Than Last Year

I'm 5'5" and 120lbs. Last year I got a small and it was the best coat I've ever bought. Durable, practical and looked good. This year it is a much baggier fit from the midsection down. Looks like a dress. I would maybe fit an XS but the shoulders and chest would be too tight. Sadly I had to return.

October 16, 2018

Slightly obsessed

Love, love, love this coat. Bought the smoulder blue last spring (had navy interior then) and couldn't wait for fall to wear it again. Perfectly warm, great hood that stays up, and perfect pockets for stashing a phone and keys. Cinched waist keeps it looking too slouchy. A great mid-season coat that I plan to layer with and wear in the deep wi... Read Morenter. I am 5'10" and slender build, usually wearing a size 6-8 and bought a medium. It is perfect, not too tight, not too baggy and hits me mid-thigh. One of my favorite purchases in years!

October 4, 2018

Classic mid season coat

I’ve been eyeing this since it came out, and I’m so glad I got it. 5’5, 135lbs, the medium fits well with room for a sweater. Could have gone with the small, but the shoulders would have been a little snug with any layers. Well made, looking forward to using this as a mid season coat for many years to come. I love that the hood is big enough to cov... Read Moreer my whole head even with a hat on.

September 4, 2018

Nice!

This is a really nice parka. It is thick and heavy, and it seems very durable - but also very comfortable/cozy with the fleece inside. I think it will keep me warm this fall/winter, maybe even into mid-winter. I am 5'9, 140 and the medium is perfect. I am average build with normal hips/bust/waist.

August 6, 2018

Love my Prarie dawn.

Warm, perfect for, xs. I'm 5'3" 115 lbs. Fits perfect room to layer if needed. Cozy soft, great. Can't wait to wear it this fall and winter!!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches