Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka

4.3/5
January 11, 2022

best coat i have ever owned

the title is pretty self-explanatory. i got this coat as a christmas present and it is literally the best coat i have ever owned. its super warm and blocks any breeze from sneaking under the coat, and its long enough that it covers my bottom and even some part of my thighs. it was originally purchased for me in a size small, which was wrong so i ... Read Morehad to exchange it for a medium, but patagonia sent my exchange size super quick, especially considering it was over the holiday break. so, if you have broad shoulders or longer arms, i would suggest sizing up like with any other long-sleeved item; but other than that, it really is the best coat.

January 9, 2022

Good casual coat

Ive been wearing this in subzero temperatures and it is keeping me warm. Relatively lightweight too, a good coat for every day wear

December 29, 2021

Stylish and durable

Great midweight layer. Can dress up or down. Was exactly what I was looking for.

December 14, 2021

Not warm

Ive had this coat for a year but only wore it for the first time today. It was around 30 degrees at dawn when I went out to walk the dogs. I was wearing a heavier wool Norwegian sweater underneath and I could feel the cold on my arms. The jacket looks like it would be warm with its Sherpa lining and fuller coverage but thats not the case. I think t... Read Morehe outer material lets the cold seep through if there is just a bit of wind, and the silky arm lining does not help. Also I found the pockets to be cold feeling as well, they have the same silky lining. A lot of coats have the soft brushed flannel type lining in the pockets to keep your hands warm . Pockets are nice and big though and I like the upper pockets as well. I feel like the coat does not have a good weight to warmth ratio. Its heavy, but is more suited to the 40ish degree days where Id rather wear something lighter (but equally warm) like my favorite Patagonia Fjord quilted flannel.

December 13, 2021

Nice but runs small

I am an extra small in all things Patagonia. An XS fit in the torso but was too tight in the chest/shoulders. The fabric doesnt really stretch. Otherwise a very nice casual coat.

Response from Patagonia
December 15, 2021

Hey Melissa, thank you for the review. If you decide you'd like to exchange for the next size up you're welcome to begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 29, 2021

Warmer than expected

I purchased this coat because I was looking for something with a bare minimum of synthetic materials that still had a chance of standing up to Inland Northwest winters. I was a little skeptical when it first arrived that it would be warm enough, but it is much warmer than expected. I particularly like how long it is, the wind hasn't yet found ... Read Morea way to sneak past the hem on this coat. I will need to waterproof it before the real snow hits, but so-far I'm very satisfied with the quality.

November 18, 2021

Love This Jacket

I ordered the Burnished Red in a Medium from Backcountry.com, as Patagonia website is out of stock. This is a warm, cozy jacket and I love the color. The inside waistband adjustment allows a custom fit. The hidden snaps are a nice addition to the zipper. As always, Patagonia delivers excellent quality.

November 17, 2021

Nice weight and great fit

I love the color of this coat and the weight. It has a nice hood and is very warm. The only thing I would change is the pockets open in a weird direction which can be cumbersome with mittens on.

November 15, 2021

Kookie

I like a removable hood & cuffs under my sleeves.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2021

Hi Betsy, thanks for your feedback. We have a few parkas that offer removable hoods, though sadly the Insulated Prairie Dawn Parka is not one of them - we're so sorry about that! We'd be happy to help you find the perfect parka for you when you call us at 800-638-6464 or chat with us live on patagonia.com. In the meantime, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if you aren't satisfied.

November 9, 2021

Warm and Attractive

Love the fit and color. Warm so far in a MN fall and I anticipate it will be great in the winter.

November 7, 2021

Warm and stylish

This coat is so warm and comfy! Heavier weight because of the canvas but not stiff. Hits a few inches above my knees and I sized up for a more oversized fit. Purchasing a second color because I love it so much. Highly recommend!

October 28, 2021

Cute, but too long for short people.

I really wanted to like this parka. Style and color is cute (nest brown), but I'm 5'1 and it was just way too long. The parka hit at my knees. Too bad there isn't a petite version. Must return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches