Back to Product

Patagonia Sun Mask - Fishing Sun Mask

Write Your Review

4.05 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 59 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Sun Mask - Fishing Sun Mask

4.05
Kinda Large
June 25, 2020

Fishing Sun Mask

Beautiful colors and design. It complements the appearance of a person of any gender, and is a work of art on display to bring joy in any time or place.

June 23, 2020

S&P (sun and pandemic cover)

I have been using it everyday as a face cover as I walk around the neighborhood or go on hikes. Easy to pull it up and down if needed. Its thin so it's not good enough coverage in an indoor so I put on a mask and have this over it for more protection. Good face cover from the sun when hiking for sure.

June 18, 2020

Does the trick

Using it mostly as sun protection when working outside or as a mask when needed. Anticipate using it at the beach

June 17, 2020

Very functional !

I use the sun mask for work and comfortable all day.

June 17, 2020

very comfortable

purchased for sun protection but also use for Covid 19 mask. pleased with purchase very breathable and comfortable

June 17, 2020

Works well as facial covering

Better than a mask for my warehouse work.

June 17, 2020

Nice,but kinda large

Very nice ,but little large

June 17, 2020

"Mask" that keeps you cool

I use this mask for COVID-19 protection while farming- it runs a bit large, but it is soft and comfortable and breathes a lot better than some masks made of heavier materials

June 17, 2020

Comfortable shade

Works well on the beach and Bay when fishing or hiking. Breathes easy and it's cool against the face even when hot.

June 17, 2020

great quality

The product was made with quality in mind. I would suggest making a smaller size because this sun mask ran large. I had to adjust too often as the mask kept sliding down my face.

June 17, 2020

Best in class

Superb product as usual. Longer back a big plus. Goods are comfortable all day in Florida summer sun!

June 17, 2020

COVID Mask

I am wearing the sun mask in public during this pandemic. I like that it can be washed and reused. Forever...

June 17, 2020

Lightweight

The sun mask is lightweight and easy to take on and off

June 17, 2020

Massive

It is shocking how large this sun mask is. Even wrapping around entire head, it slips down. I had to remove the seam and take out 4 inches of material not being used. After sewing it back up, it's great, but plan on doing some DIY fitting with this unless you are in the 99th percentile of head size.

June 17, 2020

An Adequate Face Covering

I got this sun mask thinking it would be a comfortable alternative to a face mask for use during the pandemic. Its certainly sufficient face covering to protect against the transmission of any airborne participants. However, I found it difficult to keep in place as it slipped down off my nose and I was constantly readjusting it.

June 12, 2020

Cool Cloth

Great look; great fit overall, a little large when used just for face..............the shirt is great enjoy the fit and feel

May 28, 2020

Neck/Ears/Face Sun Protection +cooling effect in heat

I got this neck gaiter for a hiking fitness challenge that started the first week my region went into quarantine. I did over 200 miles in a month hiking in our national forest wearing this buff. It protected my neck from an epic sunburn in the snow at 8,000 feet. It's kept me cool on really hot mid-day hikes. It's super easy to flip up an... Read Mored down if passing anyone on a single track trail. I wash it daily and it's held up just fine. Just two side-notes: I wish the print were double-sided as the white interior is always exposed and I want the orange and blue stripes to remain on the outside. The other weird thing is that I cannot get the smell of garlic out of this fabric. I may end up dropping some fragrant oil on it soon.

May 25, 2020

Good quality, but runs large.

I bought this sun mask as a lighter-weight option for urban biking during shelter-in-place for COVID-19. It's good quality material, comfortable, and certainly more reasonable to wear while biking than something heavier like an N-95. Breathing is still a bit more difficult than normal, but not bad except when working harder (e.g. riding up a s... Read Moreteep hill). It'd be a good choice for hiking, as well. This sun mask does run large, though. I'm 5'9" and would wear a size "medium" bike helmet and this sun mask is just barely snug enough to stay up while cycling. Looking down to check my phone, it can easily fall down around my neck. That's manageable enough for me, and easy to pull back up, but I wouldn't really call this one-size-fits-all.

May 18, 2020

TOO Large : my solution

Like many others I bought this for using as a covid mask. It was so large it kept falling off my nose even if I wore it around the back of my head. Solution.... I bought a .99 cent sewing kit and watched a three minute youtube video and faster than you can say antibody testing my mask was the right size! So Easy!

May 16, 2020

Didn't think I would like the color

I purchased the 'Dan Sharley (FFSM)' design. It was not my first choice but these were selling fast after the store opened during COVID-19 and this was the only design remaining in stock. I love it. I wear it in the garden on hot, sunny days in North Carolina and it never makes me feel uncomfortable. I am more than adequately safe from th... Read Moree sun and bugs wearing this around my neck and ears. Highly recommend for sports and outdoor work.

May 13, 2020

COVID and Sailing

I purchased several of these as COVID-19 masks that I rotate during the week. I find them more comfortable than a traditional mask. Yes, you need to put on the larger end at the bottom. Will use them for sailing sun protection. Excellent solution for COVID protection.

May 6, 2020

Great for Sun protection and for COVID face covering requirement

We recently moved to from the Mid Atlantic to ABQ (5300-6000 ft above sea level) and needed something to protect our neck from the sun here in NM as well as a face covering for outings during COVID 19. The Sun Mask provides great coverage for our neck and face, and we do not find this to be too big and have not had a problem keeping this on our f... Read Moreace. As mentioned in another review, it helps to keep the back of the mask behind the head as opposed to the neck, and it will keep it from falling down. The fit is great for me, and keeps it from fogging glasses.

May 6, 2020

Run large

Too bad this product is too big for my face. The problem is there's no size or measurement show in their site.

May 5, 2020

Wish It Was Smaller...

I loved everything about the sun mask...other than its size, which unfortunately leaves it around my neck more often than on my face. As a two time melanoma grower who spends his summers on the water I own piles of sun protection clothing, with some favorite pieces of my collection coming from Patagonia. Sadly this one just doesn't fit well at... Read More all and my head is not small. I've been tempted to cut it lengthwise and have it re-sewn but it's been easier and cheaper to just purchase gaiter style sun shields from other makers. Patagonia...please listen to these reviews and narrow the tube on these or offer two sizes; I have no clue how women or kids could ever wear this, unless maybe as a tube top!

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this thoughtful feedback. We are so sorry to hear that this is too large to be practical for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

May 3, 2020

Solution to sizing issue

As many have described, this item runs large. One solution I have found is to roll the excess material on the leading edge until it reaches the desired length. This added bulk should be enough to retain it on the bridge of your nose while still providing enough material to protect your neckline... but then again... I just may have a huge noggin...... Read More

May 2, 2020

Nice colors

The sun mask constantly slips off my nose, making it rather inefficient The elastic at the top is rather loose even after washing the item.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2020

Hi Lawrence, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the mask. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html)

May 2, 2020

yep, got it for COVID19 protocol

I have a narrow head (if that is such a thing) and I do not find this item to be too large. The best way to keep it above your nose (and yet below your eyes without causing any annoying tension on your nose) is to use sunglasses to hold it in place on the bridge of your nose, which works perfectly.

April 26, 2020

COVID crusher

Like many during the COVID outbreak I needed a mask to use while on the trails as recommended/required by our local authorities. This worked well during my MTB rides. It is tapered. larger at the bottom and then slimmer at the top. If you put it on upside down it is way too big. Put on right it is slightly big. If you have the back pulled up, not j... Read Moreust around the neck, it is a nice fit.

April 24, 2020

Too Large

I have a large head but still too big for me.

Response from Patagonia
April 24, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this is fitting too large and we thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

April 23, 2020

too big

I'm pretty sure it will work for my wife because she can loop the top over her ponytail to help keep it in place. But broadly, the thing is way to big around the top for any normal sized skull. The choice of a smoother/slicker fabric (vs a buff) probably won't help either, though it does feel nice. The bottom portion is also loose and fla... Read Moreres a bit, but that we like because it is nice to prevent neck burn (we like that part of the design better than a buff).

April 22, 2020

Fantastic for hiking or groundswork

I spend many hours outdoors working on my property, and have lesions on my face from previous sun damage. I prefer to avoid sunscreen when possible, and this has served the purpose tremendously well. I find that I'm cooler wearing it than I am without it, and it works as a filter for dust from weedeating/brush cutting/etc. Additionally, I&#x27... Read More;ve used it for sun protection while hiking and it was just as unobtrusive and comfortable.

February 17, 2020

For more than fishing

I love this piece for fishing, biking, skiing, and running. Its versatile and works on many sports for me. I am pleased to have one piece that I can easily hand wash and use for multiple outdoor activities.

January 18, 2020

Huge

This was beautiful but it was so big on me (I'm not a small person). It fell off every way I tried wearing it. The quality is great just not going to work for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

We are sorry to hear the size didn't work out for you in this and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us for a credit.

December 30, 2019

awesome "fish" buff

this was a hit with my 27 year-old nephew who likes to fly fish. wish i had a photo. :(

December 27, 2019

Beautiful sun mask

Gave this to my brother for Christmas and he loves it! Beautiful fish pattern. Getting its first use on a fishing trip in Argentina right now.

November 12, 2019

Sun Mask

The best , making a long run from Punta Rassa to Boca Grande , I felt great that evening . Wasn’t beat up by the sun . The fabric breaths as well. From a guides prospective I’d suggest lining the bottom inside with a material to clean lenses

September 21, 2019

My lucky buff

I wore my new buff during a week of fly fishing n Baja. It’s not just a pretty neck cover - I used it every which way and caught lots of fish, so now it’s my lucky buff. Lightweight, breathable and flexible even in the Baja height. One day I put it on my head and wore it swimming. It slipped off but my captain dove in a rescued it! Love it!

September 21, 2019

Helpful in the Tahoe Sun!

This piece is just an awesome red neck protector, in the most literal sense.

September 2, 2019

Sun Mask

The perfect accessory for fishing to keep you from getting sunburned.

August 15, 2019

One piecer

Love it. Super comfy. And love my necky. Use it on the trail to shield from the sun.

August 11, 2019

Great product

I am in the sun 80% of my working day, great product wish I found this years ago so I could save my skin.

May 8, 2019

Excellent Product

This neck gaiter stays in easily and functions well. I use it every day on the river and it holds up to the abuse of every day wear and tear. My favorite part about the product is how the back is a little longer which protects the nape of the neck even when you are moving around for hours.

April 17, 2019

Fourteen Fish Sun Mask is the Bomb

Bought one of these as soon as available then bought five more for friends and family. Fit is perfect unlike the neck choking, head crushing generic buffs. It's comfortable on and breathes great. Highly recommend the pattern and the product.

April 10, 2019

Disappointed with my first Patagonia purchase

Hi, I want to get prepared with Sun protection products for this summer but this Patagonia Sun Mask is to loose for the purpose, my neck will be burnt immediately if I want to wear it. I am fully disappointed :( .

August 23, 2018

Cozy, comfy, practical

I love these things. This is my 3rd purchase. I treat these as an accessory to my outfit. The gator is super light weight so easy to forget you have it around your neck. Yes to providing excellent protection from the sun but also a great insulator under the ski gear, as a make-shift hat when it's cold, as a dust mask when riding horses, and to... Read More keep one's ears warm in any occasion. Everyone who borrows mine ends up buying one. LOVE these! There's enough stretch and fabric to accommodate most any style of wearing it.

July 6, 2018

DO NOT BUY THIS SUN MASK

I got this delivered yesterday. I did read the horrible reviews below before,but thought,how bad could it be. The answer is,IT IS WORSE. I have many many Patagonia items,and love them. This mask does not work,it is all too loose. it comes in ONE size. I can never use it. It is far far away from Yvon Chouinard visions. I am serious. DO NOT BUY this... Read More.

March 5, 2018

Horrible!

I am not sure how this is supposed to stay up to serve the purpose it was intended to be used for...unless you hook it on your ears,it will not stay up!! The material is not stretchy...I thought I had a "big" head,but this is huge on me!!

January 17, 2018

Best ever for fishing.

For fishing in SW Florida heat you can't beat this. Extra long so your neck gets zero sunburn. Has enough stretch to keep your baseball hat on while on plane in a flats boat. Most comfortable neck gaiter I've found.

November 7, 2017

Too Stretchy

I purchased a few of the fish patterns to wear while out fishing in AK. Overall appearance was great,but the material is made of lycra which tends to stretch way too much after you put it on over your head and around your neck. As someone had stated before in a previous review,there is no breathability once this is placed over your mouth and nose r... Read Moreesulting in a big wet cloth.

August 26, 2017

Makes ugly good lookin

We fish on our boat off Maui a lot and are trying to protect our face from the wind and sun. These masks fit perfect dry fast and are comfortable to wear. For its purpose this is a great product

August 26, 2017

Indispensable

Don't know about sun blocking,as we saw no sun on our ten-day float down Alaska's Kisaralik River,but this modest little item provided a whole lot of mosquito protection for the back of my neck and top of my head under a thin hat,blocking inquisitive flies seeking to climb into ears,and even offered much needed wind protection. Such a sma... Read Morell item,but soooo appreciated. Forgot I had it on,until I noticed raft mates slapping themselves silly.

July 31, 2017

most comfortable "buff" I've found

Finally,an ergonomically shaped buff that is relatively comfortable to wear. The fabric is very nice as well. Breathing holes would make it perfect.

April 23, 2017

Light weight,good sun protection

Used it while fishing,works well. I will use it skiing next year

April 8, 2017

neckie

Awesome sun protection! Worked great for fishing !

March 26, 2017

Too bad the material changed!

I loved the sun masks of a few years ago. I just recently had to purchase a new one and found out that it was a completely different material. It's more like Lycra than anything. I use these sun masks for all kinds of outdoor activities including skiing. This mask material freezes and makes impossible to breath through. It had a nice pattern b... Read Moreut the older material was way better in every way. This is a product downgrade.

January 28, 2017

Fantastic Neck Gaiter

Highly recommended for the avid fisherman. 50 UPF the material is smooth. No pilling what so ever. They designed the base wider for better neck coverage.

January 12, 2017

Beautiful colors

The fabric and the colors are great but the mask is too large too have the necessary fit. Even on my head under a ski helmet the mask has too much fabric to stay in place. It was too large even for my husband and since there is only one size I think there is a mistake in the design.

August 5, 2016

Runs Loose

I am giving this a two star rating because it does not fit to my neck at all. I do like how the bottom portion fans out so it can be tucked under my shirt; however,the top portion is far too loose. It will not stay up on my neck unless I bring it up over the crown of my head to my jaw line. I do love the SPF aspect and the material is comfortable a... Read Moregainst the neck,but it needs to be tightened up or come in various sizes. I am 6'0" 195 lbs. to gauge the body type.

July 30, 2016

Not like it used to be!

As a professional fishing guide in the Florida Keys I've depended on this product for years to protect my face,improve my bonefish sighting ability,and keep my hat on my head while running my flats skiff at 30mph. It also serves as a good no-see-um insect blocker when your launching your boat at daybreak. I recently purchased a new one as ever... Read Morey year the old one gets stretched out and needs replacement. Much to my surprise the "new" version is 25% larger in each dimension and has no stretch to it so the fit is poor. I'm assuming the factory sourcing of this product has changed and therefore fit and finish are different. I'm hoping that can be resolved so I can continue to purchase this important piece of fishing equipment. Thanks.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches