Back to Product

Patagonia Duckbill Trucker Hat

Write Your Review

4.03 /5

Filter Reviews

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Duckbill Trucker Hat

4.03
True To Size
July 13, 2020

Awesome hat!

I love this hat and it gets plenty of compliments. Alas, I have a very large head and it wasn't quite tall enough to be a perfect fit unfortunately.

July 13, 2020

good all synthetic trucker hat for running

I was hoping this would be more form fitting on my head but I felt that it was king of sitting on top of my head. I tried it around the house but my head was just to big for it. I used two snaps which made if fit around but it almost didn't feel deep enough for my head. I ended up gifting it to my sister-in-law and she loves it. Just not the r... Read Moreight fit for my head. All synthetic is nice so you don't need to worry about stink as much as a cotton hat.

July 9, 2020

Too Hot

This hat looks good and I like the soft(ish) bill, but has a few flaws: It is hot. I was hoping for a good warm weather hat, but the front is really warm and makes my head sweat. However, it isn't showing any sweat stains yet. The smaller size and soft structure of the hat makes it so you have to wear it fairly tight, otherwise it kind of cre... Read Moreeps up to the top of your head and the front liner folds/bulges out. The strap in the back slips, so you need to adjust it nearly every time you put it on.

Response from Patagonia
August 6, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that it didn't end up working out for you. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back, please feel free to.

July 3, 2020

Cool.

Best hat ever. Pretty please, some better colors. Black is hot and sea foam is lame.

June 26, 2020

Cool hat!

Well made, good fit! Love the style!

June 20, 2020

Funky & Fast

The trucker front is actually a great sweat sponge (come on runners you get it.) The duck bill folds up and out of the way. But what sold me was the alligator and cotton pattern. Love the fit, love the style and it stays through all conditions.

June 19, 2020

More sizes please

One size fits all is not a great plan for headgear. I like these truckers for running because they are pretty absorbent, do a good job of channeling sweat off of my head, don't get smelly super fast and hold up to washing really well. However, I'm a smallish guy and this hat looks ridiculously huge on my head. The crown swells outward giv... Read Moreing me a bulbous, "Mars Attacks" profile and the basket of the hat is deep enough that the hat sits down on my ears and pushes them outward in a Prince Charles kinda way. C'mon, you're Patagonia for God's sake! Offer S/M/L choices or something.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the sizing isn't working out for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

June 17, 2020

Runs very small

Doesn't fit my head at all even fully extended, wish it came in a couple sizes or even just Small/Large. Sad I'm forced to return as I love it otherwise.

June 17, 2020

Runs small

The details on this had a great call and it is lightweight, Bremmer is very flexible without bending, works sweat very well. The only drawback is that it runs small, specifically from the base of the head above the ears to the crown of the head. I really have to pull it down far and since the back very tight to make it feel like it is not going to ... Read Morefall off. However I do have a large head, typically wear anywhere between 7 3/8to 7 3/4 hat size.

May 21, 2020

Runs very small

I love the idea behind this hat... the materials and style are great. But... I have a normal sized head (I'm 5'10" and wear a medium everything) and I had to loosen the back strap all the way in order to put the hat on, and it's so shallow that it won't even pull all the way down onto my head. The hat that I received absolu... Read Moretely does not have the same dimensions as the one in the listing (unless the guy in the pics is very small).

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Thank you for providing your comments toward the fit of this hat and we are sorry to hear that this didn't work well for you. Please feel free to send this back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 1, 2019

All hail the duckbill

Best trail running hat on the planet

October 22, 2019

Best Running Hat Hands Down

The bill is super absorbent and does a fantastic job keeping sweat out of my eyes, and the hat is light and comfortable. Can't ask for much more!

October 10, 2019

Great hat, Wish it was floppy

This hat is incredibly comfortable! It's great for casual wear wicks sweat, and breathes pretty well. It does sit a little tall on you're head just because the foam front is quite large. I also wish it was a little more similar to the traditinal duckbill hat from patagonia, a little more on the floppy side so you could shove it in your po... Read Morecket and not worry about bending/creasing as much. But over all its awesome for running, casual wear, or anytime you need to shield your eyes from that fiery ball in the sky.

September 28, 2019

Modify!

Dude, I look awful in trucker hats. But, I love the material of this hat, especially the breath ability of the vented mesh area. So, i removed the trucker padding with a razor blade and scraped any remnants with a butter knife. The hat slouches just a little but on the front panel but I’m so glad I did it. Great fit, so breathable, great fabric for... Read More trail running. Washes well which is good because it takes on sweat. Can’t say enough about this hat. Will purchase another and modify again.

September 13, 2019

Nice hat

Is a little on the smaller size. Great material I've been wearing it for golf and it doesn't show all the sweat stains like other hats. (Arizona heat)Nice color but the little zip clasp on the back does move the size every time you put it on.

August 28, 2019

Go-To Hat

Functional and good looking. Highly recommend!

August 24, 2019

This is the best!

I've been looking for a cap which i can use for running, cycling and just for casual wear. I've spent a lot of time searching in the web and patagonia caught my eyes. I watched 2 youtube reviews of their duckbill and duckbill trucker from their customers. This trucker cap is fashionable and has plain and simple designs. So, crossing my fi... Read Morengers with closed eyes, i punched in my orders on their online shop, this one and 2 duckbills(not trucker) knowing that the sizes of those might not fit my big head haha.. Package arrived in my doorstep in just 3 days here in singapore(amazing!).. Unboxed. Fitted. And yes!! It is a perfect fit for my big head. Actually it is still roomy maybe because im hairless. Just for reference, i am M-L or in some cases L in cap sizing. I think my head size is within 59-61cm if i remember it right. To you reading this. This trucker hat is awesome!

August 19, 2019

Great hat

Lite weight and very breathable. Just what I was looking for!

August 15, 2019

Duckbill Trucker Hat

Awesome hat, fits great and breathes well. Love it!

August 15, 2019

Great hat - very tall on the head

I like this hat. I have the unstructured duckbill running hat and this structured one. It absorbs sweat really well, is light on the head, and keeps its shape well. However, it is crazy tall - I feel like I'm wearing a firefighting helmet. I would love to see a middle ground between the unstructured head-hugging duckbill cap and this tall one.... Read More

August 10, 2019

Duck bill trucker

Lightweight, comfortable and allows good vision with sun protection... just ran an ultra and it never annoyed me during the 13 hrs...

August 10, 2019

Duckbill Trucker Hat

The hat is great, sits up off my head to provide ventilation underneath the non mesh portion. The melon heads complain about it being too small, but I could go a bit smaller. I must be a pea head. I have trucker and regular duckbill, like and use both, depending if I want to put in pocket during run or not. Great for diverting sweat and blocking su... Read Moren on the trail or road.

August 10, 2019

Duck bill trucker

Good sun protection. Stays cool. I like the glare reducing black underside on the brim. I don’t have a big head and it fits snug when strap is all the way loose. Do not get this style hat if you have a large head.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, Jeff! We've passed it along.

June 22, 2019

The best hat so far

I’ve has this hat for many years now, I use it and throw it in the washing machine, air dry and still look and feel as the first day. I have a “big head”, so yes indeed, it runs small, but not crazy small just a little bit tight, mine is adjusted all the way to the end and it still tight. Long story short, I’ve ran many marathons with this hat and ... Read Morestill love it!

June 21, 2019

Best Hat!

This hat is so comfortable. Great for adventuring or casual wear. The brim is not stiff, which tends to bug me with other hats during activities. The hat stays on while skiing fast too! It can also be shoved into a backpack without loosing its shape!

June 14, 2019

Too shallow

Looks sharp and I like the material, but it's somehow simultaneously too shallow and too tall. It feels small and rides high & vertical on my head. As a result i'm mostly wearing it backwards during runs to keep the sun off of my head and as a sweatband.

May 9, 2019

Runs too small

Many, many reviews have the same complaint. They run small.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

Hello Mike. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit of this hat. Please don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you would like to return it.

April 2, 2019

Tough to beat

Great hat. Nice and light. Fabric handles sweat better than most.

March 27, 2019

My absolute favorite!

I find it very hard to find a hat that looks good on me, but no issues with the duckbill trucker. I'm 5'6" and don't have a massive head, and I LOVE this hat. I'm just sad that the "wish tails" design isn't available anymore.

March 20, 2019

Nice hat too small

Agree with the other reviewers. I typically wear a L/XL hat or 7 1/2 fitted cap. This hat is too small and my wife is now a proud owner of a duckbill trucker

February 8, 2019

Nice hat... Too small :(

Like the hat, however it's uncomfortably small for my head and has been handed down to my wife (who wears it all the time). Please consider making a large size!

August 8, 2018

Love the hat, not the sizing

I gave the updated version a try for a few days and to my dismay, the sizing was not updated and it still runs too small for anyone with a larger head. At a 7 5/8s hat size this hat creates uncomfortable pressure on the forehead making it too uncomfortable to wear anywhere outside of the water. The elastic band does not stretch far enough to accomm... Read Moreodate the stretch required to fit right. Please make this hat in a S/M, L/XL like so many other hats you offer......... Otherwise great hat

August 3, 2018

...anyone with a bigger melon...

I've always wanted one of these hat and while i was in NYC i got to grab one for the sweltering summer sun. My only wished there was an additional size (larger) for this design. Unfortunately , i'm always left out on the one size fit all hats. They're always too small. So, if you have a big ol' noggin- this might not work for yo... Read Moreu. Otherwise go for it. PLEASE MAKE A LARGER SIZE?

July 5, 2018

Perfect Trail Hat

I've had this hat for a month and plan to buy a few more. It has been soaked with copious amounts of sweat and countless hours on the trail,yet no sweat stains or smell and still looks brand new! Adequate brim for shade or flip it backwards for additional air flow.

March 27, 2018

Best Active Flat Bill Hat Ever

I've had two of these hats since they first came out and can say they are my go to hats from anything from trail running to whitewater rafting. Breathes and dries incredibly well. Even the bill has wicking material,which is amazing! I would ask the designers to come out with a grey or black mesh. Also a wide range of colors solid earth tones a... Read Morend bright colors would be awesome! Outstanding product and will be adding more of these to my collection.

January 9, 2018

Excellent for warm weather activities

I've used mine for two years,mainly when I run to keep sweat out of my eyes. It's easily washable in the washing machine to keep it fresh,breathes really well and is super comfortable.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches