Back to Product

Patagonia Duckbill Running Cap

Write Your Review

4.27 /5

Filter Reviews

All 74 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Duckbill Running Cap

4.27
True To Size
July 13, 2020

AWESOME HAT!

Love these hates. They breath, they are light weight and they are comfortable.

July 13, 2020

So Steezy

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. best thing for anything anywhere steez

July 13, 2020

Wow! Light weight;Breathable;Fun Design.

I am amazed that I can actually carry it with me in the smallest pocket. The hat is perfect for hiking and usable with a face mask! My grand daughter keeps looking at it so guess; I will have to buy Her one too. Great for multigenerational usage.

July 13, 2020

Good hat for big noggin

Always have trouble finding running hats that actually fit. I wear a 7 5/8 in fitted hats if that helps. This thing is adjustable and fits me well. It could probably go for someone with a bit larger head as well. Stays on well even in heavy head wind. Wicks sweat well and the visor does well to keep sun out. I would definitely buy again.

July 13, 2020

Hat with a breeze

Great hat for hiking when its hot. The material breathes and helps you stay cool.

July 13, 2020

light and airy

This hat is super light weight and breathable. The brim provides just enough protection from the sun and rain. The hat is super flexible and can be folded and packed down to a small size

July 13, 2020

The Perfect Cap

Hat fits snugly to my head, blocks the sun and absorbs sweat. So light weight I hardly feel it on my head. Easily adjustable and washable too.

July 11, 2020

Hat with a breeze

Great hat for hiking when its hot. The material breathes and helps you stay cool.

July 10, 2020

Wow! Light weight;Breathable;Fun Design.

I am amazed that I can actually carry it with me in the smallest pocket. The hat is perfect for hiking and usable with a face mask! My grand daughter keeps looking at it so guess; I will have to buy Her one too. Great for multigenerational usage.

July 10, 2020

light and airy

This hat is super light weight and breathable. The brim provides just enough protection from the sun and rain. The hat is super flexible and can be folded and packed down to a small size

July 9, 2020

The Perfect Cap

Hat fits snugly to my head, blocks the sun and absorbs sweat. So light weight I hardly feel it on my head. Easily adjustable and washable too.

July 9, 2020

So Steezy

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. best thing for anything anywhere steez

July 9, 2020

AWESOME HAT!

Love these hates. They breath, they are light weight and they are comfortable.

July 9, 2020

Good hat for big noggin

Always have trouble finding running hats that actually fit. I wear a 7 5/8 in fitted hats if that helps. This thing is adjustable and fits me well. It could probably go for someone with a bit larger head as well. Stays on well even in heavy head wind. Wicks sweat well and the visor does well to keep sun out. I would definitely buy again.

July 3, 2020

Great cap for hiking/running/etc

I love this little cap. Use it mostly for sun shield/sweatband on runs and hikes. Its super packable and can be machine washed easilygiven how much sweat I dump into this thing thats probably once a month or more often in the summer. Its held up extremely well. Colors fade but the material itself has not suffered after 3+ years of heavy use. It als... Read Moreo dries super quick which makes it great for overnight trips. I was tired of waking up to soggy baseball caps hanging from tree branches while backpacking and that is a thing of the past! Awesome cap, durable and lightweight, comes with me everywhere.

June 30, 2020

Perfect for running

I love this cap! Fits perfectly and looks super cool. Lightweight and good shape.

June 25, 2020

So nice!

This is my second Duckbill running cap. I lost my first to my wife immediately after taking it out of the package upon its arrival. We both wear them often (even under our bike helmets) and are super pleased with the quality, comfort, and appearance.

June 24, 2020

My new best running friend

Gone are the branch gorings I suffered regularly on my trail runs; who knew a shortened bill would so totally change my range of vision? (Well, the designers of this hat, clearly.) Never leave home without it now! Love the featherweight and super-adjustable fit.

June 21, 2020

Light and Comfortable

Perfect hat for running, walks, and other activities where you need some cover, but don't want a thick hat. I have no fear of overheating in this cap - which is a huge problem with most other hats. Cleaning is a breeze as well. Highly recommend!

June 17, 2020

Best Hat I've Owned

This hat is so lightweight, flexible, and comfortable. I wear it throughout the day, not just for running. It can be put in your pocket, taken out and worn, and thrown in the wash with the rest of your clothes. I highly recommend it for anyone that wants a high quality, durable hat!

June 17, 2020

Great, but a little floppy when wet

I love this hat. Compared to other ventilated running hats I prefer this one. I like that the mesh is more open. The bill is easily rung out when wet. My only suggestion is to add support along the edge of the bill. When it is wet it droops into my eyes allowing sweat to run directly into my eyes. I would also like to see a piece of velcro on top ... Read Moreof the brim/bill to hold it up when it's dark and I don't need it. I usually add a piece of velcro to my bill to hold it up when I need it up. Thanks Patagonia. Luv ya!

June 17, 2020

My go-to hat!

This is a spectacular hat, through and through. I love the design, it fits perfectly on my head, looks good, and doesn't smell, exactly how the description says. I wear it almost every day. It's durable and I plan to use it my whole life.

June 17, 2020

My favorite hat failed on me

The hat fits nice. Fits comfortably and cool looking. The mesh top allows for great air circulation, great for hiking, running, and cycling when I use it for. The only thing that made me rate it 3/5 is the plastic buckle on the strap. I have long hair and I normally tie it and it fits perfectly inside the strap and hat in the back, but while I was ... Read Morehiking, the hat got caught on a branch and my hair prevented it from falling off my head, instead the plastic buckle snapped and broke which really surprised me. It feels nice and sturdy so I was not expecting it to break that easily considering I normally buy stuff I know I'll use for a lifetime. Great product, not so great quality

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about the strap on your hat! Please know, we guarantee everything we make so if something like this is to occur, we will get you taken care of. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

June 17, 2020

Great for running - a tad loose fitting

I got this hat to wear for my long training runs. It is nice and light, and is easily foldable. I can toss it in the wash and its back to new! The back of the hat has a strap to tighten it a bit. The only 'issue' I have is that sometimes my hair in a ponytail through the back can tug on the hat, and repositions it. So I often will wear th... Read Moreis hat with a braid to make the fit right. Could be that my hair is just long and heavy. But love this and would definitely recommend!

June 17, 2020

Improved over 20th century version

- Fits larger heads more comfortably - Headband doesn't shrink like the old braided cotton one - Fabric panels don't wet out with sweat - Duck bill still the right size (for running, for me) - Bill is stiff enough, doesn't sag in sweat, rain - Little clip prevents loose strap end tickling back of your neck

June 17, 2020

Versatile

The hat is perfect for what I use it for - primarily long-distance trail running. The adjustable strap makes it super easy to tighten or listen while on the move. If I don't need it, I just take it, bunch it up, and stick it in my running pack. On hot days, it's great to soak with water to keep cool. Only one drawback; if it's an ext... Read Morera windy day, the bill flips up.

June 17, 2020

Works well for mw

Ive ran in the texas heat with 90 plus humidity, it works for me! I like it alot!

June 17, 2020

Light and Comfortable

Perfect hat for running, walks, and other activities where you need some cover, but don't want a thick hat. I have no fear of overheating in this cap - which is a huge problem with most other hats. Cleaning is a breeze as well. Highly recommend!

May 28, 2020

Mango = yellow

The mango color is really closer to a yellow than orange. Im still satisfied with the purchase, just not exactly what I was expecting. The fit seems similar to my version from two years ago, but the bill is noticeably more flexible than in the past.

May 16, 2020

Favorite Hat !

Love these so much I had to write a review. They do run a bit smaller than usual hats but thats why I love them! The hat does provide an adjustment strap in the back and it also unclips, which I love because I can put my hair thru the back of the hat and pull the strap to tighten it on your head. I do EVERYTHING in this hat, which is why I bought ... Read More3 of them! No other hat like them! Thanks Patagonia! Please make more colors!!!!!!

May 4, 2020

I have the original! LOVE THIS HAT!

I am so psyched to see Patagonia brought this back! My all-time favorite sweaty-sport hat, just terrific. Just be careful if you are bald, the sun protection is not great without a full head of hair, due to the mesh top.

May 2, 2020

Bad Changes and no color for dark days

I bought this back in 2014. There were 2 sizes back then, not a onesize. I bought the S/M and it was perfect (my head is not big). Now i kinda want another fresh one, but i hear it is not the same anymore. It just makes me sad when brands have to change good things just to do something new. So... Please, PLEASE bring back the older version, and may... Read Morebe also make a black one with black mesh, because then its more casual for those who like to wear it when there is no sun and for everyday life as well. I like the navy blue and white version, it's the one i own, but i don't want to look like a little kid everyday. and when its not summer the white mesh is just too eye catching. Hope i got your attention!

May 1, 2020

Bring back 1990s in Kids sizes!

3 stars because the re-issued Duckbills dont come in my size, even though its my most favorite hat of all time. I first stated buying duckbill caps in the 2990s and owned several. I have a small head and bought the Kids size M. I have 2 left and hang onto them for dear life! For 25+ years, every Marathon, Ironman race and all training has been done... Read More wearing my Duckbill! When it first was taken off the market, I bought what I could, sadly ad years passed, I lost a few with only 2 left. I was so excited when it was brought back and immediately bought again even though not in my size, Kids M. However, sadly the new ones just dont fit.. waaaaay too big! They dont adjust small enough! Can you please bring back Kids sizes? PLEASE!!!

April 21, 2020

Please bring back the old version.

The Duckbill Cap is one of my all-time favorite pieces of gear. I am not a fan of the new lightweight model. The fit is too shallow and the bill is too flimsy. The fit and bill were perfect on the model before. Please bring back the old version!

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you're not loving the revisions made to this and we appreciate you taking the time to voice this to us. Your satisfaction with us is always guaranteed, and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us, please feel free to do so.

February 19, 2020

Please bring back the stiffer longer bill

I have two of these hats from 2016 and 2017 and they have served me well for many athletic endeavors. I recently found a 2018 version which is apparently when the style changed to a shorter bill that is less stiff. While I have yet to experience the 2018 bill to droop as some have mentioned when getting very sweaty, I absolutely prefer the slightly... Read More longer (we're talking like half an inch longer) bill with whatever the stiffer inside material is. I hope Patagonia reverts to the pre-2018 design (longer stiffer bill). Otherwise, these hats are fantastic!

January 25, 2020

I have three of these

A great hat for work. Easy to clean. Small bill. The custom designs can be very cool. (I wish there were dark colors for the mesh.)

December 7, 2019

Bought this hat as a

Bought this hat as a replacement for a Patagonia duckbill hat I bought years ago. Bummed out to find that although it has the same name, this is a different hat (smaller flimsier bill).

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these new revisions aren't working for you and we appreciate your feedback on this. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us for a credit.

December 1, 2019

A little cap

I love this hat. I first bought one in the early 1980’s and have used it ever since. It folds up into itself and takes up virtually no space and weighs practically nothing. A great cap to cover your head on the beach or in the pool. Get it wet and it dries almost instantly. I bought a new one because I gave mine away to our guide on Easter Island, ... Read MoreGino, who also fell in love with my hat 🧢. It seemed like an appropriate place to gift a new friend. My original was two tones of blue, and the new one is one tone of blue, and the bill is a bit larger. I only wish the new one was two colors! Otherwise it’s the same great Patagonia product.

October 24, 2019

The perfect cap for hot weather!

I absolutely love this cap and everything about it. I have owned many through the years. I have lost a few while boating and others mysteriously disappeared. Presently, I have a white/grey and a white/black. I just wish Patagonia would offer a plain white one. It seems they never will go back to basics. Instead, they make them in limited wild color... Read Mores accents.

October 21, 2019

GREATEST HAT TO EVER EXIST

THIS HAT IS INCREDIBLE. FITS GREAT, SNUG TO THE HEAD, DOESN'T HAVE A HUGE CROWN. YOU COULD SIT ON THE BRIM FOR 5 HOURS AND IT WOULD STILL FLEX ANY WAY YOU WANT. I USE IT FOR HIKING, AND EVERY DAY USE. I THROW IT IN THE WASH WHEN IT'S DIRTY... GOOD AS NEW. PLEASE MAKE MORE UNIQUE FLAVORS SO I CAN BUY THEM ALL!!!!

September 16, 2019

Works great for 90-100+ degree

Works great for 90-100+ degree temps...my application is ultra running training/racing.

September 13, 2019

The perfect hat!!

This is the best running hat ever made! Lightweight, the mesh is perfect for letting air through so your head stays cool and the bill doesn’t obstruct your peripheral view. Love it!!!

September 11, 2019

Perfect

Light, cool, breathable, comfortable & washable. The bill is just right for getting sunrise/set eye protection (I don’t wear glasses) without being cumbersome.

September 8, 2019

Too Large

I have MANY of these from past years when they came in a size medium. I tried the ONE SIZE for all and it does NOT fit all. I had kept it thinking it would work, so had to give it to my daughter. I'd LOVE to see Patagonia make some more caps that are low profile with short bills in SIZES! Thank you.

August 15, 2019

Great Mixed Use Sport Hat

Great hat for Running, and Biking. Very comfortable fit.

August 12, 2019

Excellent hat

Maybe not the most stylish hat, but it keeps the sun out of my eyes, and dissipates heat. If I lost it today, I would buy another one tomorrow.

August 10, 2019

Great hat

The duckbill hat with the mostly mesh top was exactly what I was looking for. I love the fact it folds so nicely it’ll fit in my pocket. At first I was worried the short bill was to short but after wearing it extensively on a trip to the Badlands, my fears were unfounded. The length is just right.

August 10, 2019

Bill too small

Bought a mesh hat to stay cooler which sort of assumes use in sunny conditions, however the bill is so short it affords nearly no sun/glare protection. Returned.

August 10, 2019

Great hat, wicks the sweat

Great hat, wicks the sweat on a long run and just enough bill to keep the sun out of your eyes. Wish it came in different colors though. The white top mesh can get pretty brown fast

August 10, 2019

unparalleled functionality... just looks a bit silly

The duckbill hat is an amazing piece of functionality. It weighs nothing, blocks the sun from my eyes, provides some sun protection for my forehead, is cool, keeps the sweat out of my eyes, and is comfortable. It just looks a bit silly if I am not wearing it for an actual run (or sail, which is what I wear it for the most). The cinch strap is great... Read More but challenging to adjust to perfection.

July 17, 2019

My "Do it all everything every time" hat.

I have tired to find a hat that I felt comfortable in for every adventure I take. I initially bought this hat to fit under my climbing helmet, especially with its breathability, no button, and shorter brim. However, I have used it for everything. I have used it for climbing, swimming, paddle-boarding, kayaking, hiking, running, and traveling. This ... Read Morehat will do it all, every time.

June 23, 2019

Love this hat

This is my go to hat for running! I love the fit and despite what some people say about the shorter bill, it is one of the things I like about the hat. It keeps the sweat out of my eyes. I just wish there more colors available.

June 22, 2019

wish the mesh was black

great hat! black mesh on the black hat would make the style a lot better. Also the white mesh is gonna get so dirty hiking and running and from hair oil and sweat. Please make a all black version for us!

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

Thanks so much for the feedback on this! If you find that you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that because of any staining/discoloration, please reach out and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

May 20, 2019

Breathes well.

Main purpose for my buying this cap was to run it. I like the mesh material to help off-gas heat/sweat from my dome with a non-structured crown and bill for comfort. i also like the short duck bill for some reason. Travels great too. It's a little funky looking compared to other "regular" caps, but works well for my purpose.

May 8, 2019

it's hot

Not a technical hot weather cap! There was a hat you made years ago that was a light grey with a small inside hatband that was perfect. Patagonia has lost it's ability to repeat it's good products. Change every year and keeplosing customers!

May 8, 2019

Excellent hat!

I love this hat. It helps keep me cool in the sun and the flexible material doesn't rub like other caps.

May 8, 2019

Best running hat I've ever owned!

I love this hat! It's comfortable, stylish, and extremely functional. I wear it on all my trail runs and it keeps me cool and the sweat from my eyes. Sometimes I wear it when I'm just gallivanting around town, because it just looks that good!

May 8, 2019

Love this bad Larry

This hat is great. Running, at the beach, mowing the grass. It covers my dome and breathes. Dries quickly whether wet or sweat.

March 24, 2019

Great Breathable Hat

I impulse bought this hat right before a backpacking trip on the AT. I wanted a breathable hat for my sweaty head and I thought this would fit the bill. Overall, this is an amazing hat and has become my go to hat for the outdoors. It is very breathable, dries quickly, and the buckle on the back allows me to clip it around my man bun. In regards to ... Read Morethe many other reviews on this hat, I have not had the previous version of the hat, however the brim on this hat it ample size. Yes it is smaller than the trucker hats, or a classic baseball cap, however any five panel hat it extends about the same distance as a five panel hat, it just is narrower on the sides. For a very sweaty head I did not have any problems with sweat build up on the brim or the trim around the hat. The high winds did not move the brim around while I was backpacking, and the mesh kept my head cool. I also enjoyed that the whole hat packs down small and you don't have to worry about the brim getting bent in an odd way. I got the parrot design and was a little bummed that no parrots were on the front of the hat but the inside, other than that, a fantastic breathable and cool hat.

February 14, 2019

I love this hat!

I have the cycling cap version of this hat that I have worn quite a bit for running. I liked the way this one is more breathable for running esp in the warm season. It arrived yesterday and I am very happy with it. It is nice looking and fits nicely and securely. I like the way the bill is small - I think it is good for trail running since it incre... Read Moreases your field of vision. You can flip the bill up and out of the way on the climbs. Nice looking hat.

February 14, 2019

Perfect under a helmet

I've been wearing this cap for years under a climbing helmet for alpine missions. It fits well under the helmet straps and buckles and the short brim is ideal for blocking sun on low angle faces and ridges. It's also super light and durable. It also provides enough sun protection to hike in, especially when coupled with a sun hoody or Hou... Read Moredini.

February 10, 2019

Bring back older version

The older version was perfect. The brim on this newer version soaks up sweat and just sags down offering no protection and/or sweat absorption. Take note Patagonia

November 8, 2018

new version sucks

I have the last version of this with the longer brim. this new version is basically a cycling cap. what good is it for keeping the sun out of your face? bring back the old version!

August 21, 2018

Amazing Cap

I absolutely love this cap so much so that I bought it in three different colors. I've been using it for running lately, and here are some of the things that I like about it: 1. It's light, flexible, and can be stored anywhere such as in a pocked or a small zipper in a pack. 2. Size, it fits my gigantic head perfect 3. I really like the s... Read Moreubtle details such as the small reflective logo on the front, as well as the snap buckle on the back. 4. Probably my favorite thing about the hat is that I have been going on runs and I can come back with the hat completely soaked and sweaty, and I can quickly rinse and wash it off in my shower/sink and then I use the snap buckle to hang it up and it's dry by the next day for me to use it again. It's amazing!.

August 11, 2018

Bring back the original version

The original hat was my go-to hot weather trail running hat. Now it's got a tiny brim and wears like a cycling cap - much reduced sun visor protection. Call this version by a new name and bring back the original version!

August 9, 2018

Changed the product!

This used to be my favorite hat however, they made the brim even smaller so it's practically a cyclist cap instead of a hat. Very disappointed with this change and can't seem to find the older model anywhere!

June 26, 2018

Don't Run Without It

I bought this not expecting much. Thought I would use it occasionally on really hot days. But I now find that I run every time with it every day. The bill is just the right size in my opinion,not big enough to get in the way,but enough to keep the sun out. The hat is comfortable and the I find the sweatband inside is what I functionally enjoy most.... Read More It keeps the sweat out of my eyes and my hair from flying around. The hat is cool and breathable. Its not heavy and I can mash it up in bag at the end of my runs. My only wish would be to have more solid color options available.

April 27, 2018

Cap depth in 2018 version too shallow

I purchased a duckbill cap in the fall of 2017 and absolutely love the breathable fabric. I decided to order a second cap for the upcoming trail running season. I have a small head circumference,and while this hat has always run large on me,I have been able to get by with the 2017 cap fit if I cinch it all the way. In ordering the 2018 version of t... Read Morehe duckbill cap I discovered the cap is too shallow to fit securely down on my head. The circumference was not too small,but the cap depth has changed significantly. The bill is also now very flexible with no structure,but I don't think that will greatly change the performance of the hat. I returned this product.

April 27, 2018

Limited colors

I have owned a total of five of these caps. I had three white ones that one-by-one lost. Patagonia discontinued them for a while. When they brought them back,they did not offer the white version. I was perplexed why that would be. Seems to me that would be the most popular. Patagonia never brought back the white one,so I was forced to buy a white... Read More and gray one. Soon after that,I feared Patagonia would discontinue the caps again so I bought another one. This time the white/gray was not available anymore,so I got a white/black one. It did not seem to feel the same on my head. I don't where that one as much. Hey,Patagonia,bring back the white cap,please! And let it be always available. I like these caps because they are light in weight. They breath nicely. They float. The underside of the brim is black to reduce reflected glare. It's packable. One size fits all with an adjustable clip in the back. It separates so you can clip then hat to something to store it. It's Washable. And they are cool looking.

April 26, 2018

Not bad for big heads!

I own the version available in 2015,and while I just bought this one,I felt the need to leave a review for anyone concerned about it not fitting their big noggin,especially considering the review below claiming the sizing is smaller. Mine is rather large (7 3/4) and the old version just barely fit at the largest setting. With this one,I've got... Read More room to spare. If it performs like the old one did,then I know I'm going to love it. I'll come back and update once I get some miles in.

April 9, 2018

All day every day

Bought this hat a year and a half ago.. or the previous model. Very good for every type of activity. Fits great under bike helmets. Dries quickly. Throw it into the wash with the rest of your clothes. Perfect quality. Highly recommend

February 21, 2018

2018 version: Much lighter,much better!

I own the previous version of the cap,here are the changes: * The brim is much lighter,it's literally two layers of thick fabric. There's no plastic or a reinforcing structure,but it's still functional. * The forehead is now a single layer of fabric,the previous version has two (heavier). * The fit is a bit smaller,so this is a wa... Read Morerning for people with bigger heads. This is not an issue for me,actually an improvement because I'm a small person. * The brim can be turned up as like cycling caps. I've tried to use the cap with a cycling helmet,it's pretty okay,but not the best. * The colors are kinda meh,it's not flashy like Ciele caps,but the duckbill cap is much lighter and more breathable than Ciele GoCap.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches