burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Duckbill Cap

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 23 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Duckbill Cap

4.2/5
Kinda Small
July 30, 2022

Super breathable hat

Tons of mesh make this hat great for hot weather. The bill is a little on the small side.

July 21, 2022

I never take it off

Just ran a 100 miler in mid-July wearing this the entire time. Didn't feel like I was wearing anything on my head, but it was perfect for wicking sweat, deflecting the sun, and stuffing full of ice. I'm also an entomologist, and I can say that it serves as a pretty good insect net in a pinch while out on a hike or run.

July 18, 2022

Good looks, great ventilation

The perfect mesh hat for keeping the sun out of your eyes on a hot day. Bill holds its shape in both the duckbill and 'regular' configuration. Thanks Patagonia!

July 17, 2022

Perfect Cap

The cap is amazing. It is incredibly comfortable and versatile. The material is very soft and durable. I love the darker grey color, it stays cleaner than the white caps I have owned.

July 15, 2022

Bring back the pre-2018 version please

I'm not sure the exact year or product-cycle when the design of this hat changed. But the two hats that I have from around 2017/2018 are way better. The older version has a longer bill that is stiffer, and the hat itself has a larger maximum cinch size. This newer version however, while cute, has a small totally floppy bill (worthless when we... Read Moret or sweaty), and I have to keep the hat adjustment at maximum all the time (and my head circumference isn't even that big). Looking on eBay, it's clear that there's a lot of buyers looking for the old-style, so why doesn't Patagonia just officially release the old version (perhaps as its own product, in addition to this newer smaller floppier version?) Please bring back the old duckbill cap! :D As a longtime Patagonia customer: most of my favorite Patagonia items were pre-2018. It really seems like something changed around then, and I rarely see items that compel me to make a purchase now, compared to in that earlier product paradigm of the brand. Not sure if something changed within the company, who knows. Seems like Patagonia is more interested in marketing now than product; to be blunt.

July 8, 2022

Light and packable, brim still to big and gets floppy when wet

Light and packable, brim still to big and gets floppy when wet. Haven't worn this through a wet season yet, but the brim starts to get floppy when sweat has moved out of the internal headband. I love that I can crush this down and flip the brim up when its not needed or the hat is on backwards, but I do wish it was somehow less prone to flop w... Read Morehen wet and also if was smaller, like a cyclists cap. Either way, its super rad and I wear it almost every day during the warm months!

July 7, 2022

I use this cap for

I use this cap for running and it keeps my head much cooler than other hats and does a good job of absorbing sweat. Highly recommend.

July 5, 2022

Brim too soft!!!!

I have the circa 2016 version of this hat and the brim has way more structure. I love the 2016 version. I just got the 2021 version as a present and I unfortunately noticed the brim is so cheap and floppy. Did Patagonia do this to reduce production costs? If so, not worth it in my opinion!!! I won't be buying an extra if they continue to mak... Read Moree the brim too cheap and soft. Sad but this WAS my favorite has. Or at very least Patagonia sell two versions; one brim from 2016 with more structure and the soft brim.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2022

Hi Dan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hats brim. We have made some changes throughout the years, however these changes shouldn't effect the durability. That said, we truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 5, 2022

I wear this sailing, the

I wear this sailing, the shorter bill makes it easier to see to sails and the mesh top allows a close fitting cooler cover

June 13, 2022

Best outdoor activity hat!

I LOVE this hat. I have worn it to Europe and Peru and its my main go to hat for running. The band absorbs sweat and the mesh keeps it light and cool. It also packs flat into a suitcase! Highly recommend!

June 9, 2022

Can't wear if you have curly thick hair

So frustrating, finally a cute hat that is super breathable but it only fits if you have a smaller head or minimal hair. Make a deeper version!

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2022

Hi Kristina, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the Duckbill Cap. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at you earliest convenience.

June 7, 2022

Great little hat for under helmets to have a bill.

Got a few of these hats to wear under my climbing helmet . The lack of button on top, mesh ventilation and small bill makes them perfect for that. I have problems with the adjustment buckle, it comes undone with even the slightest pull which is a pain if I need to reposition it on my head. The buckle strap also does not hold when you cinch it down ... Read Moreso it is pretty much stuck at one size. I think I will super glue the buckle and sew the strap in place but not stoked on having to do this to remedy a poor design.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2022

Hi George, we're so sorry to hear about the trouble with the cinch on the Duckbill Cap. Altering the hat will void the warranty, so we'd be happy to help with a [warranty return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if that would work out better for you. We'll reach out to you as well just in case you need further assistance.

May 25, 2022

Comfy and sustainable!

Was amazing to read this had is made from recycled fishing nets! Its got the cutest design and fits really comfortably. Provides enough shade while still being breathable so your head doesnt get too sweaty. Love this hat!!

May 14, 2022

Kinky and curly hair.

Please make all of your hats in s/m and l/xl or bring back the high crown. If you have a large head or thick kinky and curly long hair you cannot wear your hats. Running and cycling is not only for folx with shaved heads or silky straight hair. I have one of these that I love. It barely fit when I have a shaved head. I grew out my hair and now I do... Read Morent have a chance of getting it on. I do wear the visor. But Id prefer the cap.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hi Christopher, thank you for submitting this review. We're sorry this lower-crowned cap doesn't work for you! You might be happier with a mid-crown cap, like the [Duckbill Trucker Hat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/duckbill-trucker-hat/28757.html?dwvar_28757_color=BLK&cgid=mens-hats-accessories-hats-caps). And please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service Team if you'd like to return something that isn't working for you.

April 22, 2022

Lightweight cap

Great for sun protection and dries fast.

April 22, 2022

Not quite the same, but still very good.

Like a few other reviewers, I own another version of this hat that I purchased several years ago. I thought I had lost it - panicked - and decided I would order a back-up as soon as they were back in stock on the website. (Thankfully I found the original) I ordered the Tea Green and the Sedge Green 2022 version of the Duckbill Cap. The Sedge green... Read More was the typical greyish green you would think of and my kid liked it so much I gave it to him. The Tea Green isn't green at all. It's more of a coral/orange sherbet color for the bill, with a cool pattern on the front. The mesh part of the hat, along with the adjustable band and sweatband lining feel much the same as my old hat. The main difference is in the bill. As others have noted, it's thinner and a little flimsy compared to my other one. I held them side by side and the older one is about 1/4" wider, but otherwise it's the same shape and profile. I like these hats for their portability and the ease with which you can just throw in the washing machine with a load of clothes. Thin/flimsy bill aside, I would still recommend them.

April 12, 2022

Nice light hat

Perfect bill length adjustability is perfect

March 1, 2022

Wish the brim had a bit more structure.

I was very excited to see these caps back in stock after being sold out for quite a while. I bought this cap to have as a backup for my older (2017) model, which is still going quite strong after hundreds of miles of wear and many trips through the wash. The current version has a very flexible brim -- it's basically just a piece of cloth. Whil... Read Moree the brim is still able to hold its shape when you are wearing the cap, and the increased flexibility improves packability over the older model, I personally prefer the extra bit of rigidity that the brim of the older model has. The additional structure helps to ensure that the older model's brim maintains its shape all day long without the need for adjustment, even in tough conditions. I would love it if Patagonia brought back the older style brim in future versions of this cap. Floppy brim aside, the current version is still a very good option for people looking for a lightweight, packable, and durable cap.

February 24, 2022

Running hat perfection

I've owned multiple Patagonia duckbill caps over the years. This cap is far and away superior to any of the competition out there. The versatility is unparalleled. I've worn this hat in mountain races in temperatures from 20 degrees F (with lots of climbing) up to 90 degrees F. It is amazing that even though it is mostly mesh, turned arou... Read Morend with the bill in front, the hat can provide warmth, reversed, it provides all the ventilation you need on hot and humid summer days. The fit is perfect. A well engineered loop ensures excess pull tab (from the sizing system) is secured in place with no flopping whatsoever. Worn reversed, it has fit perfectly (and comfortably) with three different models of headlamps that I've used. Let's talk packability. This hat is so light and flexible, I'm able to stuff it into running vest side mesh pockets and even into running shorts side pockets. When you pull it out, it magically returns to it's normal position (the bill isn't weirdly warped). I can't say enough good things about these hats. As long as Patagonia keeps making the duckbill cap, I won't ever need to search for another cap.

February 24, 2022

Almost the same.

I have the last version of this hat and love it. Unfortunately so did my wife. So I ordered this one for myself. The fit isn't the same as the other one, and the bill is softer/more flexible. Although I like the hat, it feels like a cheaper version of the previous one.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2022

Hi Vincent! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the quality of the cap. This feedback is greatly appreciated and we'll pass it along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 18, 2022

Great Hat for Running

This is a great hat for running. Everything about it is great. The adjustment strap instead of a snap back is perfect and the brim is nice and floppy so you can wear it up or down. It's very comfortable. My only minor quibble is with the color description. It is listed as Sumac Red and looks reddish on the website but it's really more o... Read Moref a salmon or peach color. That is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

February 18, 2022

Great hat for hot days.

I need a hat that wasn't your typical baseball cap (I have too many of those). I wanted a hat that I can use for my walks when it is warm and not make it hotter when wearing it. This is a great hat. I like that you can easily pack it in your bag/backpack if you no longer need it . And that it is made from recycled materials. I got both colors ... Read More(black and red)

February 7, 2022

Best warm weather cap

I have owned six of these caps. Some lost some worn out. I presently have three different colors...charcoal gray/black/light gray. The light gray is shredded. I was patently waiting a year to buy another only to find two colors. Ugh. Patagonia sure is lean in their release of these caps. People want them so much that you will find them used onlin... Read Moree for more than $100.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2022

We appreciate your feedback William! Know that we are working hard to release more colors for this style later in Spring 2022. We hope you love them, so keep an eye out for more on our site. Thanks for submitting a review!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches