Back to Product

Patagonia Wavefarer™ Bucket Hat

Write Your Review

3.88 /5

Filter Reviews

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Wavefarer™ Bucket Hat

3.88
Kinda Large
July 13, 2020

Great hat

I say this hat rubs a little big because for me , the usual L/Xl sized hats are slightly tight. This is slightly loose which I love. If you compare to a fitted baseball Cap it's probably like a 7 3/4

July 9, 2020

Great hat

I say this hat rubs a little big because for me , the usual L/Xl sized hats are slightly tight. This is slightly loose which I love. If you compare to a fitted baseball Cap it's probably like a 7 3/4

June 25, 2020

Too big

Great color in the pink but overall sizing was just way too big/too wide in the upper head space of the hat. Should be adjustable and more fitted if possible.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2020

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and appreciate the feedback on that. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us if you find it's not working out for you.

June 22, 2020

Super comfortable!!

This was the first hat that Ive ever gotten that hasnt been a hassle to keep on for a long time! It has a super comfortable fit while still protecting my face and skin from the sun which I love!!

June 17, 2020

Didn't work for me

I returned this sweatshirt. The color was lovely and the cut was great, but it was way too big and the fabric was disappointingly thin.

June 17, 2020

Cute and cool

Overall I really love this hat; bought the one with the alligator print. The fabric is very light-weight so it is great in hot weather. Also it is nice because there are no worries about crushing the brim. As for sizing, I have the S/M size and it fits a little loose if you have very straight hair (like me). The only shortfall about this hat is bec... Read Moreause of the small brim, it does not give your nose sun protection like the older style large bucket hat Patagonia used to offer. I wish Patagonia would bring the large bucket hat back in some cute colors so I can replace my old faded one. You cant beat the fabric of the bucket hat for comfort in hot conditions.

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2020

Thanks for the great detailed feedback, Donna! You might appreciate the [Women's Stand Up Sun Hat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-stand-up-sun-hat/33455.html) or [Women's Hike Hat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-hike-hat/22340.html?dwvar_22340_color=PGBE&cgid=womens-hats-accessories#start=1) for a larger brim.

June 17, 2020

Runs big!

I have a small head, but swam in this!

June 11, 2020

Love it!!!!

Love this hat! I bought it for the beach and pool!

June 5, 2020

Comfortable but not practical

I like: the way it fits, can be folded, funny pattern, finishing. I do not like: being bald (!), the material doesn't absorb a drop of sweat, which in my case literally drips out. I need to wear a bandana beneath. I would suggest a band of thick cotton inside the rim to retain the sweat. SP20 is also a bit on the low side.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

Thanks for the feedback! If you find the lack of absorption to be a dealbreaker, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

June 1, 2020

HUGE (and I measured first)

I have a big head. I have always had a big head. I gave birth to two little boys with 97th percentile heads. No one around here buys hats in size small. I measured my head for this hat to make sure- since it appeared to be unisex. My head circumference put me at the larger size. It just arrived and it is so cute but it is ENORMOUS. I'm going t... Read Moreo try the smaller size but I am concerned it will be too small. (I have this problem in other Patagonia clothes as well- medium will be too small, large will be ridiculously huge- seems like there needs to be another size in between.)

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2020

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. We really appreciate the feedback as its crucial to improve things for future seasons.We'll pass this along to our desing team.

May 18, 2020

Does what it's meant to do

Fits great and blocks the sun during a long day hiking with the kids - foldable when not in use which is a nice perk. Washed nicely too.

March 10, 2020

Didn't fit

I love the color and shape but I had to return it because it's way too big. I got a s/m but it's too loose and there's no way to tighten the hat. Also it's not very deep so it doesn't stay on your head....please make an adjustment and then I'll buy it!

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hi Jessalyn! Thank you for your review. We are really sorry the fit didn't work out. You may always contact one of our [Customer Experience](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) channels and we will be happy to provide with any item's measurement chart so you can feel more confident in your next purchase.

December 22, 2019

I like it.

Comfortable, convenient, good-looking, well made and, best of all, it keeps the sun, rain and other assorted elements off my big, bald head. Bravo!

December 10, 2019

Perfect bucket hat

So first off yes I AM a Dad so I can totally rock a "dad" hat. Seriously this thing is a perfect fit and shades my ears which my dermatologist says is good. My favorite aspect though is unlike baseball caps I can cram it into my pants pocket when not needed.

November 22, 2019

I purchased this hat for

I purchased this hat for a 12 day sailing trip off of Belize and Guatemala. It is awesome! Lightweight, easily packable, fits well, comfortable and dries fast. It’s become my new favorite sun/fishing hat.

September 27, 2019

It is what it is

I wish a cotton or hemp version was an option, but the hat is very good. Sizing seems large, but it still stays on well.

August 15, 2019

John

I have worn these hats for years and currently have several colors. The brim is moderately wide. It keeps the sun off your head and ears without looking like a gardening hat. I really like the way it folds up small enough to fit in a jacket pocket. It only comes in 2 sizes which could be an issue for some people. I wear a 7.5 hat size and the L/XL ... Read Morefits me.

August 15, 2019

Not as good as the older ones.

These hats have changed from the ones once sold. Material in thinner the size is not accurate. The older model was cotton with a stretch band inside and much sturdier. Not a fan of these so I sent it back

August 11, 2019

awesome bucket.

very fresh, comfortable and packable piece of equipment. Used mostly pre-during-post ultrarunning and fly fishing

August 10, 2019

Bucket hat

I love the hat. It is what I was searching for. It could use some more vents up top. Other than that, I love my hat! Thanks.

August 10, 2019

Great hat

Packs well, wears well, looks good.

July 18, 2019

Great hat, but colors too dark

I love this hat and wear it constantly: it's durable, comfortable, compact, and protective. Only problem: the color is too dark and (minor) not neutral enough to go with everything. I often wear it when it is hot enough outside to smelt copper, and dark colors absorb heat (see Ben Franklin's experiment, etc). How about a plain very light ... Read Moregrey / off white with a dark grey band?

May 13, 2019

Sizing issues

ordered a small and it's so big that even in a breeze it blows off. this is hat that has been available for years and a small has always been the right size. Why change the sizing now?? would have been a 5 star if not for the sizing,

April 23, 2019

Nice looking but makes me look like a child & sizing is weird

I really want to like this hat but the colors and the small brim make me look like a toddler when I wear it. The sizing of these hats is weird too. The small is too snug and the large is too loose.

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this hat didn't work out for you. You are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. If you need [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact), feel free to reach out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches