Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Mountain Utility Ski/Snowboard Pants

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Mountain Utility Ski/Snowboard Pants

4.3/5
True To Size
April 12, 2022

Stange Fit

Wanted to love these pants. Upside: Bomber materials. Great pocket lay out. Downside: Weird fit. I'm frequently in-between sizes. Small is typically good in the waist but short, medium is good in length, big in waist. These went beyond that. Small was actually fine in length but they fit like low-rise jeans in the waist, hips. Gimme some room.... Read More..I'm on the mountain, not in da club. If they work for you, great. Maybe it's me, my fit.

March 25, 2022

Good product

Works great. Inseam is a little long for me, but I have short legs.

March 11, 2022

Lives up to the name - Utility Pant

A great shell pant. Lives up to the name. Comfortable to wear. Breaths well. Good pockets. Boot gaiters functional for a wide range of boots. Downhill & tele. Grommets would help for x/c. Only two things I would change. Offer in a short size. Exterior knife pocket is just right for a Swiss knife. Could be slightly larger to fit a Leatherman . ... Read More First rate product. Just an aside. I have Patagonia gear that is 30+ years old and still functional.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the durability, fit and various features of these pants, Lee! Note that we do offer hemming services for our technical pants for a small fee. Reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team to place your order next time so you can be sure to get that benefit, or we would be happy to recommend some very good gear repair shops in your area.

February 25, 2022

These pants make me sad

I truly love Patagonia and am very grateful to the company however this specific pant is horrible. The sizing issue has been covered in other reviews. I use these pants every day and cant come close to a full season out of them before the materials break down and lose there waterproofing. The side vent zippers wont stay up then they blow out. Same ... Read Morewith all zipper on them. Sorry for the harsh review.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

We're very sorry for the disappointing durability of these pants. For daily use, we would recommend switching between pairs and making sure they get the [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) they need to stay waterproof. They're covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so we welcome you to return them for repair or credit. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like assistance. We'll be happy to help!

February 23, 2022

Well Designed

These pants fit well, are comfortable, allow for excellent mobility, and kept me dry when sitting on a snow covered chairlift. The outer fabric is robust but not stiff. It lies well and is pretty quiet. The over-the-boot area sports a tough fabric to take a beating and should provide adequate protection from a ski edge or crampons. The snow gaiter ... Read Morefit easily over the boot and remained in place. The ample zippered thigh vents shed heat as intended. The mid-thigh pockets are well-designed, lie flat with no bulk, have a flap to cover the zipper, and in my judgment are perfectly sized. They functioned to protect contents from any snow intrusion and were pretty nice as an augment to 2 zippered hand warmer pockets and 1 zippered rear pocket. Thumbs up for the external, quick access, utility knife pocket but note that this pocket is modest in size and is not designed to accommodate a full size multi-tool.

February 19, 2022

Too long

Size large came only in 33 inseam. I am 57 and wear 30inseam. Pants are well made but too long. Disappointed they do not come with shorter inseam.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

Hi Dick, thank you for this review. We're sorry the inseam of the Large size wasn't right for you! Our product designers see this feedback, and it's very helpful for future product offerings. In the meantime, if you would ever like to get your Snowboard Pants altered we can do that for you, though there's an additional fee. You can contact our Customer Service Team about sending them in to be shortened if you like.

February 14, 2022

Odd fit

I am a pretty average build. 510 and 165 pounds. The pants sit low and tight on the thighs. Also the flaps on the pockets flip backwards. The pockets dont have any bellows. Basic cargo pockets would be better but its the fit thats really disappointing. The quality is the usual very good fit and finish you expect from Patagonia.

February 5, 2022

Cut For Skinny, Tall People

High hopes dashed I am 59; 185 lbs, athletic build. The Large Size were tight in the crotch, hips, and thighs making climbing, skinning, hiking, dynamic skiing not possible. Additionally, I have a 31 inseam and these pants were ~ 4 too long. I would have had to roll the cuffs twice to walk / ski in them. The concept was what I needed, but sadly, t... Read Morehe cut / fit was the untenable.

Response from Patagonia
February 7, 2022

Hello Greg, we are very sorry that the fit of the M's Mountain Utility Pants did not work out. You can certainly [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our warranty. We also offer alteration services and can shorten or lengthen ski pants. In addition, the M's Powder Bowl Pants is available in a Short length with an inseam measurement of 30 1/2".

January 26, 2022

I'm curvy, pants arnt

I read in past reviews that these have no room for skiers legs... I disregarded the warnings.. for the size medium I imagine you'd have to be 5'10" and rather thin. I'm 5'6" and a stout 176 lbs but I wear size 32 pants so medium was supposed to be correct. The build and composure was very nice. The material is strong, ... Read Moreand I liked the layout. But that's the problem, they have no butt. If you have more legs and hips than a stick. They probably won't fit you. But they were very nice pants

January 25, 2022

Nice Patrol Pant - A few critiques

Purchased this for Ski Patrol work. Overall I am happy with the pants but I do have a few critiques. 1) No Suspenders or at least provisions for suspenders. Even with a belt I have a hard time keeping these pants up (I have no hips). My solution right now is pair of suspenders clipped to the belt because they would not stay clipped to the pants. Lo... Read Moreng term I think I am going to sew some suspender loops into the pants. 2) Material has a tendency to get frayed/fuzzy at the seams and along the pocket flaps. Every place else the material seems to be holding up great but it is kind of annoying to have all these little fuzzies forming and I am a bit concerned some of the higher stressed seams may come apart at some point. If it were not for these two critiques I would have given them 5 stars.

January 21, 2022

Good Oants

I bought these to replace ski pants that I had for over 10 years. They fit well around the waist. They are a tad long but that isnt a problem for me. They look and feel durable. I expect they will last me several years.

January 10, 2022

Heavy Duty

I had a similar pair of pants from a competitor that I only used as a ski shell, but I saw these in a lift line and asked the owner about them. He was a big fan. Now so am I. I skied with them the first weekend I got them and was very pleased. They have an excellent and adjustable fit in the waist. The length is great and the snow skirt at the ankl... Read Morees can easily slide over my ski boots and then cinch tight without any problems - which I can not say for my old pair. In addition, these are seriously heavy-duty pants. The fabric is thick, the seams are burly and the extra fabric around the bottom cuff seems indestructible. We had a foot of snow in Boulder last week and I was dying to get out for a walk. I decided to try these as a shell with liner pants beneath and that worked great. They seem designed to accommodate both long johns and a liner but still fit like jeans in the waist. Then yesterday after skiing the morning at our local hill I got home and did some work outside with them on, something I would have never done with my old ski pants. I am really pleased. These are very comfortable and darn near bullet proof. I limited my old shell to just skiing because I was afraid to damage them. Let's just say I'm no longer afraid. Good luck damaging these pants while doing yard work! So yeah, I recommend them, I'm glad I bought them and they make fantastic ski pants!

November 29, 2021

Wonderful Ski Patrol Pant

Due to the supply issues I waited 1 year to purchase these pants for patrolling. The functionality and design is wonderful and it's easy to see the thought that has gone into the pant. Patagonia's customer service is outstanding! I was contacted by a representative when they arrived back in stock (phone call and email).

November 5, 2021

Not sized for athletic an athletic body

I have 'skiers legs', so I often struggle with things fitting my thighs properly, but I'd expect Patagonia to factor skiers legs into designing their ski pants designed for pros. XL was way too baggy around the waist, and the L fits snugly on the legs (and I still tightened the waist tabs), but I don't know how comfortable they ... Read Morewill be with some puffy pants on underneath later in the season. The waist also seems a little high to me? Also, I believe old versions of this had reinforced knee pads. As a patroller I do wear through knees, so that would have been nice to have. I think the knife pocket could also be a little bit wider, my flick knife only just fits in, and its a relatively small one. Finally, and this sounds a little silly, all three zippers are quite close together, and I'm finding it hard to know which I'm grabbing without looking at them directly (even without gloves on) To be honest though, these are all niggles, and are more than made up for by the excellent design. They are surprisingly comfortable to move around in, and very breathable for how heavy the material is.

December 14, 2020

Nearly indestructible....

I use these for mountain rescue work, resort skiing, snowblowing/shoveling/yard work, and sledding with my kid. Have used them almost daily last winter and 2 months of this winter with almost zero wear to show. The medium fits me a bit loose at 510 160 with room for puffy pants underneath for colder days up here in Alaska. Minor manufacturing defec... Read Moret (stitched too close to the edge of the fabric in the crotch, but it was an easy fix so I chose not to send them back even though I know for sure Patagonia would have taken care of it) The outer material is super durable and has not worn at all despite multiple days of shovel hits during avalanche trainings and hard core sledding crashes in the yard with my 4 year old. I Do have to cover the Recco for my purposes, but thats typical. Note: - A bit heavy for me for backcountry skiing, but could certainly do it. -wetter snow does stick to the outer material so some extent. These things are an all around go-to for me and virtually bombproof.

March 13, 2020

Bomber on the slopes

Super dry, dry, dry.... warm, indestructible so far.

March 2, 2020

Too Long

These pants seemed like a perfect replacement for my 16 year old Primo pants. My normal pant size is 36"W X 32"L. The large size in these pants was too tight in the waist. The XL fit in the waist but were about 4 inches too long - they fit more like a 36" inseam. The internal gaiters were a little tight going over the top of my boot... Read Mores and the back of the waist seemed to ride a little low when bending over. Some provision for suspenders would be nice given the weight of the pants and the added weight of items likely to be carried in the pockets.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2020

Hi Rich, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the pants fit. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 29, 2020

so far so good. beefy

so far so good. beefy snow pants with good vents. the crotch is a bit tight when you squat down....maybe a refined gusset would help. also, if the thigh pockets were more of a cargo type (sewn onto outside of pant legs) it would help the over tight crotch issue a bit, cuz its definitely worse when these pockets are full. I miss the season pass pock... Read Moreet w/ a lanyard and the mini phone pocket on my old pants.....those two features were primo.

January 18, 2020

Fit could use some help

Pants are great. Built strong and easy to wear. Fit is a bit odd though. Tried a pair of mediums which is my normal size. They were too tight so I went to a large which looks like I’m a little kid in my dads pants. Would easily be 5 stars is the sizing was a little more consistent.

January 4, 2020

Great fit, super burly

These pants are built tough. They fit well and they pockets are in all the right places.

December 21, 2019

Bomber Ski Pants

These pants are super heavy duty. They're built to last, not built to be lightweight. I expect them to hold up to at least 10+ years of resort use and snowmobiling (350-400 days for me). I would not use them for hiking, snowshoeing, or any other highly aerobic activity. I'd also be hesitant to purchase them if warm, wet ski days were a re... Read Moreality for me (looking at you PNW). There are better lightweight, Goretex options for those activities. Fit, materials, and construction are all top notch. A+ product.

December 9, 2019

Thanks for bringing back the best pants!

The mountain utility picks up where the old Rubicons and Primos left off. The only pants needed for patrollers and guides. Burly fabric holds up. Waterproof, tough with great features. I did need to go up one size To M and my old pair are smalls which still fit fine.

December 8, 2019

Perfect ski pants

I’ve been skiing for 35+ years and have never had a pair of ski pants that fit better than the Mountain Utility Pants. Love the pocket placement, the adjustable waistband, and the fit. I have a great range of movement without the pants feeling baggy. Absolutely love them.

December 1, 2019

Narrow in hips/long in legs??

I purchased these for work as a ski coach. Love the durability and pockets put into these pants! What I'm not getting is the fit... I'm 140lbs, 5'8" and generally wear a 29-30 in. pant. I'm in decent shape for a 54 year old, but certainly not an Ironman athlete. I tried on the Medium and not only was it really big in the wa... Read Moreist, but the legs were REALLY LONG. Maybe 2 inches past my heals. Bought the Small and the length is great, but the hips are kinda tight. Not uncomfortable but just snug. I recently spent a week in Panorama, BC coaching for a week and wore my Nano Puff pant under them in 10F temps. These will be nice in warmer temps, but the fit is kind of strange. Really wondering what the designers were thinking here...

November 18, 2019

Awesome pants

Good to see P making these pants again!!! Loved mine for 13 years and looking forward to another 13 with these new ones!!!

November 14, 2019

Bomber Construction.

Amazing material for these pants, they fee incredibly durable. However, they just don’t fit me. I am 5’9” 165# with fairly muscular legs. I couldn’t choose between sizes so I ordered both the Small and the Medium, unfortunately neither was just right. The S was too short and too tight in the legs and the M was too long and baggy in the legs. I hi... Read Moreghly recommended these pants to a colleague and the fit him perfectly. I am stoked for him to have pants that seem like they could withstand anything you can throw at them. Thank you for building some pants with real substance to them.

September 13, 2019

Good idea but poor execution

I really wanted to like these pants but the quality and craftsmanship wasn’t quite what I’ve come to expect from Patagonia. I have an old pair of the Primo pants that these were going to replace. The cargo pockets are kinda small. My pocket knife doesn’t fit in the utility knife pocket. I would like to see side zips on the lower legs and a separati... Read Moreng internal gaiter. I don’t particularly care for the material but they are undoubtedly bomber pants, especially the scuff guards! I’ll keep my old Primos in good shape (thanks to Worn Wear) and I’m trading the Utility Pants in for the Triolet pants.

May 9, 2019

Tough Pants for downhill skiing

Durable pants with some features orientated towards snow professionals. At 5'10" and 160 lbs, the mediums fit fairly well and only drag a little without boots. There is no stretch and the inseam cut feels a little restrictive for all day skinning or backcountry use. I also worry about blowing out the leg vent zippers if skinning with them... Read More open. Some mesh here would prevent the zippers from getting stretched while open. As a ski patroller, these pants will be my 70/30 front/backcounty pants. As a mountain guide, these pants feel too ski orientated for climbing use. Overall, they feel like a good winter work pant that will last many seasons.

May 8, 2019

Bomber pants

The Mountain Utility Pants are exactly what I was looking for, and I was right. Heavy duty for working and playing in the mountains. Heavy duty for crawling around in the snow and ice, bushwhacking and ripping on the sled. Big side zips for cooling fast and I really like the knife pocket. Easy adjust waist, heavy duty material, stitching, cuffs, ... Read Morebelt loops etc. These should be in the Work Wear line. Should be great on winter SAR missions as well!

April 18, 2019

Suspenders

Great pants, everything I was hoping for. The elastic gaiter's circumference appears to be a little smaller than the pant making it thigh to fit when the boots are in climbing mode. Would appreciate a larger gaiter circumference to match the pant. Need suspenders for ventilation when going uphill. Doug from Iowa - where did you put the suspen... Read Moreders buttons in the front? Could you share a picture please?

February 22, 2019

Damn near perfect

I purchased these 6 weeks ago to replace a 20 year old pair of Patagonia ski pants. Not sure they could be any better made. The fabric is super-durable- like synthetic Carhartt canvas almost, with scuff guards more durable than the mudflaps on my truck! I bought these to ski in, but once I saw them, they've become my go-to work pants in cold w... Read Moreeather. The pockets are large, zippers excellent, and the vents are huge. Honestly, I can't think of anything I'd do differently in these. I have no doubt they'll last 20 years! I'm a 36x32 in pants, and these fit well. Velcro tabs let you customize the waist.

February 7, 2019

Excellent in every regard

My beloved White Smoke pants finally went south last year, after protecting my tuchas for 20 years of skiing, sledding, and cutting timber (with saw chaps!). I bought a pair of Mountain Utility Pants 3 weeks ago, and have worn them almost nonstop since. In a word: EXCELLENT. Every aspect of these pants is designed to be functional, and comfortable ... Read Morefor all day wear. I'm a 35x32 in normal pants, and the large is a great fit. The articulated knees and gusset crotch makes full motion a non-binding event. The fabric and construction is beefy, to say the least. The scuff guards are a perfect example- I'm not sure what miracle fabric they're made of, but I doubt it could be worn thru in 20 years. The vented thighs make heat management easy and fast. Pockets are big and accessible with gloves on. During the "Polar Vortex" of last week, I wore these with a pair of lightweight wool tights. Plenty warm, and very windproof. I spilled a beer on them and the DWR beaded it right up. Hard to imagine fabric this beefy would ever lose its waterproof-ness. My only recommendation for a change in these pants would be to add suspender buttons to them (logger buttons). I dislike having to wear a belt when working outside, as a more loose waist allows heat to escape upwards. I added a set myself (from Whites Boots in Spokane) and just use standard suspenders with them. If indeed these were designed by the Repair Dept, as the description says, many kudos to them. I see 20 years of hard service from these.

January 29, 2019

Good Winter Work Pants

These replaced an old and separate pair of winter work pants that finally wore out. They are good to very good so far (could be great but time will tell). Plenty of pockets and in the right place for all the junk I carry while working outdoors in winter or full conditions, usually grooming with light, snowmobile equipment for nordic skiing. An exce... Read Morellent touch is the lining on the inside of the pants and on the inside of the pockets keeps layers from binding or gloved hands and pocket contents from getting stuck, snagged, or jammed. I like the sturdy material because it allows me to bring objects--heavy or abrasive--up against my legs in order to handle the object against my legs. The gaiters are good and preserve body heat. Pocket placement on the front of the legs makes things easy to get while my hands are full or occupied or if I'm sitting. It's nice to have a bomber pair of winter work pants. Only thing I'd like is if they made a bib overall version.

January 8, 2019

Winter Winners

Stylish tough skins! I wear a Crosstrek bottom under these. I am 5' 10" 190 and a 36" waist. The large move nicely and the adjustments I can make with the waist band allow using a comfy layer like the Crosstreks. You will never be able to destroy the scuffguards btw! These pants work hard and play everyday.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches