Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stormstride Backcountry Ski Pants

Write Your Review

4.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stormstride Backcountry Ski Pants

4.0/5
True To Size
April 28, 2022

Everything I needed in a backcountry pant

Lightweight, stretchy, breathes well and is durable. Fits pretty true to size. Im 5ft9in 160lbs and went with the medium for a little baggier fit. The waist strap works great to tighten and dial in the fit you want. Overall very happy with these pants (also got the jacket to match, highly recommend it). Looking forward to putting hundreds of BC day... Read Mores in them and if they rip after extensive use, I know Patagonia will patch them right up!

March 15, 2022

Great looking but functional issues

Wanted to love these pants. Fit is true to size and the cut is terrific. Two problems:1) the waist cinching system is very odd and only impacts the front right quarter. When cinched..theres lots of bunching. 2) theres a gap just above the fly hole that will certainly allow wind/snow to enter. Strange. Im a huge Patagonia fan and own many many piece... Read Mores. This one just needs some tweaking in my opinion. Perhaps its right for others, but I sadly had to return.

March 14, 2022

Fit, color, fabric

The length was too long for me. Otherwise, the fit was good. Also, the fabric was stiff and the color was a little off what i wanted. I know that I could have taken the pants to the Patagonia store and paid $50 to get them shortened. Just was not quite right for me.

March 7, 2022

3 months and these pants fell apart

As a professional guide I am very picky with my clothing systems. After 3 months of use the zippers on these pants failed me. I am very disappointed in the quality of this product.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

Thank you for this review, Buster. We're so sorry to hear those zippers have failed! We'll be happy to help here. If you wish, you can [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our warranty, or if you prefer, you can send them to us for a free repair. Please let us know how we can help!

February 16, 2022

Great ski pants

Like all my Patagonia gear, this worked perfectly. My waist and thighs float right between a medium and a large. I went with the medium and the slight stretch in the fabric made for a perfect fit for a week of skiing.

February 4, 2022

Bunching

Very cool pants, like the slim fit and the color. However, they seem to bunch at the knees because of the slight angle cut.

January 29, 2022

Super Warm & Comfortable

These pants were warm and comfortable. I wore patagonia long underwear under them and these fit very well. Normally I would wear medium, but large size allowed layering for cold weather.

January 21, 2022

Tricky sizing

Really great ski pants but tricky on the sizing. I am 61 185 lb. I bought the large. They were a bit long. No problem. The waist fit perfectly when I first put them on but by the end of the day the pants were falling off me. I returned them for a medium and had a real struggle (over a minute) getting them snapped. By the end of the day they fit per... Read Morefectly and still do a week later. Great pants!

January 19, 2022

Comfy but the makes my butt look huge

Good fit for my height fits great everywhere but the butt the area, the portion where the butt is sticks out a lot like I could fit a small pillow in there looks really unusual and funny:)

January 17, 2022

Great weight and stretch

Been looking for a ski touring pant that does it all with minimal weight and complexity. These seem to fit the bill nicely. The fabric has great lightweight and stretch, but feels strong enough to deal with real weather and use. The vents are great, pockets are ample and cuffs fit the boot perfectly. I think the waist cinch needs work, it loosens i... Read Moretself easily and is not sufficient to keep the pants around my waist. With the addition of a belt, these pants are perfect for me, but without one, there's room for improvement.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2022

Hi Scott, thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review! This kind of feedback is very helpful to both our customers and our design team, who are always looking for ways to improve our products. Cheers!

December 15, 2021

Rear Pocket

This is a great pant for Back Country skiing. I really like the overall function and its light weight . I would recommend adding one rear pocket.

November 15, 2021

Big Butt

Really nice I love it but I cant believe how much room is in the rear trunk, especially for an XS. Im 511 130lbs and it fits wonderful except for the baggy bum.

October 8, 2021

Good Quality, Too Long!

Very good quality touring pant. They are lightweight, waterproof and I love the soft fabric; they articulate very well for a hardshell pant. However, they are just too long. I really want to love these but I'm 5'5in and have to roll them up even with ski boots. A 31in inseam on an XS is way too long; a lot of people are less than averag... Read Moree US height!

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Tanner. We do offer alterations to hem length on all technical ski pants.

August 22, 2021

Cheap

Not the quality I expected. The buttons are not high quality, it takes a near Herculean effort to snap them closed, and the they dont seem like they will last the season. The draw tab is a joke. Im not impressed. Patagonia has gone down hill from the once great brand.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Thank you so much for the feedback Ty. We're so sorry they didn't live up to your expectations. You're more than welcome to return them. You may prefer our [PowSlayer Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-powslayer-ski-snowboard-pants/30335.html). They my be easier to fasten, still have all the properties of a good back country ski pant being lightweight and breathable, but the fabric package may be more up to your liking.

July 19, 2021

Great quality and utility

This item is of the highest quality, storage potential via pockets, fit, and so far, durability and water resistance. I highly recommend it.

June 13, 2021

Great material, good fit and engineered well

Hi Premium product with good fit and runs true to it's size. I like the cloth and snow details are well thought through.

April 4, 2021

Light and comfortable

I'm on the heavier side and the XL fit me perfectly. Pants stayed up, fit was great. Super light, great articulation. Used them in the teens with a basic base layer and was comfortably warm on the front side. Only complaint was that they were rather long, a bit too snug around the boot, and cuff zippers were tight to pull up. Otherwise really ... Read MoreHappy!

March 21, 2021

Great touring pant

Well thought out. They fit well. Have a lil stretch to them and they are quite too. The waterproofing seems impressive after the first few weeks of use and several storm tours. The zippers are a big improvement over the previous version of these pants. I dont find that the little waist pull tab actually does anything. So I added an arcade belt whic... Read Moreh works great. The gators fit over my 32 Jones MTB splitboard boots. Only quibble is that the cargo pockets are sort of large and dont have organization to them. The predecessor pants had both a dedicated smaller pocket above the cargo pocket on one side that I miss (Was perfect for easy access to a phone for referencing Gaia, or to take a photo). As well as a few little mesh pockets within the cargo pocket, which was great for securing your car keys, or a snack, or whatever. If I didnt have these before I might not know to miss them. But I did. And I do. One other note: I run hot. These are awesome in winter. But on spring days above freezing, even fully vented, and pulled up above my boots, these are too warm for me (on the up). Come spring time, I just need to switch to a soft shell pant. Only mentioning because these are listed as being very breathable. They are definitely more breathable than other heavier duty pants. But for any ogres like me that generate a ton of heat, dont expect these to be magically cool.

February 11, 2021

I havent worn them yet . Fit is great and looks great.

I think they will be best for spring skiing as I have your powder pants

February 1, 2021

Great trekking pant

Today was my second day with the Stormstride pants. They are comfortable, light weight, and have great venting for the backcountry. Am hoping they last a long time.

January 12, 2021

perfect pant

Loved the pants. Great fit, great quality, great style. Love Patagonia- very reliable product and love the customer service.

January 3, 2021

too long

Love the general fit and quality, but the pants are way too long (I'm 5'6" and ordered a small).

December 21, 2020

Great ski pant!

Ive skied these pants three days and am very pleased I purchased them. I am 6 - 1/2 and 165 lbs and medium is a perfect fit. The fit is slim but doesn't restrict movement - very comfortable. The two pockets are positioned slightly lower and more toward the top of the thigh than I prefer. But I typically dont use them when skiing anyway. The si... Read Morede vents are nice and the zippers/snaps on the bottom cuffs provide multiple adjustment options. This is great ski pant!

December 18, 2020

Great with one minor flaw

These are very well designed, fairly lightweight ski pants for backcountry/uphill use. Fit is excellent - I'm 6'1" 155, 33"waist/32" inseam pant size and wear medium in all things Patagonia - the medium in these fits well. Not too baggy, not too slim - just right. Minor nitpick: The waist adjustment could be a bit more robu... Read Morest - it seems to loosen up a bit over time but overall it works and so far I haven't needed to wear a belt. Thigh pockets work well, the one on the right thigh has a loop to clip the beacon to and so far seems to work well with my BCA Tracker 3 in the pocket (no binding etc). I'd prefer another pocket on the back for ID etc, but that's not a dealbreaker. For me the main flaw with these is that the snow gaiters are barely large enough to go over my ski boots (Dynafit Hoji free tour). It works, but they are pretty much stretched out to the max. Will keep using them and see how it goes - have only used them twice so far. But they could do with another inch or two of material there to make it easier to pull the gaiters up/down with ski boots.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches