burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's SnowDrifter Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's SnowDrifter Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.1/5
Kinda Large
January 1, 2023

Perfect Resort/Backcountry Hybrid

Fantastic jacket. Do not understand why people are marking it down for having a baggy fit, it is a pure shell designed for layering underneath. For me, this thing is perfect. Enough room to layer heavily if needed (capilene + R1 + R2 fits just fine, with room for a nano puff if its totally brick outside.) Water protection + wind proofing is bomber,... Read More wore it through a 2 day blizzard (3 feet of snow + total whiteout conditions) inbounds at Mammoth last week and was warm and dry the whole time. Great alternative if you cant rationalize the cost of the pow slayer. Have not yet used it for BC, but given its shell performance and lightweight I think it will do just fineeeee. Pair it with the matching pants and you look sick too. Do not have intel on durability since I have not worn it long enough, but given that it is a Patagonia piece, that isnt really a concern.

December 30, 2022

Odd fit

My guess is that I bought the wrong coat for my intended use. I just wanted a snowboard shell that could be used in all sorts of conditions, but this may be designed with a more particular back country use in mind. I almost always wear size small in Patagonia stuff, and their fit chart put me in that size. When I received it I loved the quality and... Read More the color, and it seemed ok, but once I started using it I noticed that the fit was kind of weird. Some people say it's big, which I can understand because the chest, shoulders, and arms are kind of baggy (not a bad thing), and the selves are very long. The coat itself is very long (parka-like), but it's quite narrow in the waist and leg area (maybe for deep powder; which I never get the chance to ride in). I have longer legs and a shorter torso, so this thing almost comes down to my knees, and because it is so narrow at the bottom, when I sit or strap into my board, I have to lift the coat up so that it doesn't restrict my legs. Also, there is very little room left for layering, and I can't imagine putting gloves or goggles in the pockets without it looking totally weird. Perhaps I should have gotten a size up so it would be wider, but if the small is that long I feel like I'd be swimming in a medium. Consider sizing up if you buy this, and if you have a shorter torso, consider a shorter shell.

December 16, 2022

Great cut for mobility, pockets

Great cut for mobility, pockets where you need them, cool color combo!

December 11, 2022

Returned, runs big

Weirdly large sleeves and shoulders. This model runs big.

October 29, 2022

Perfect

Havent fully tested it but so far so good. Keep me dry in torrent downpour. Light

October 7, 2022

Bomber Jacket

Fit is a little loose, but perfect for layering. I sized down from my normal medium to a small. I prefer this shell style outerwear to insulated jackets for the customization options. The built in/removable Snow Skirt is awesome. Hood is large enough to wear a helmet. Going to be my go-to snow shell for the upcoming season. Excited to give it some ... Read Morerun.

April 1, 2022

Excellent but needs more pockets

As I dont have it with me, I cant remember exactly what is needed. I know another inside open pocket would be very useful. And there were one of two other outside pockets that would have been useful also.

March 31, 2022

Dry and Breathable

This jacket is dry, like humorously dry. I went for a long day of bad amateur sledding (snow machining for those in AK) and had to dig myself out upwards of 10 times, and stayed dry through it all even while working up quite a sweat in the colorado sun. Will keep, will ride again.

March 15, 2022

Works Great for Me

Was looking for an uninsulated jacket for resort use as I tend to run a bit hot and like being able to adjust my layers accordingly. So far I've used the jacket in the low 20s to mid 30s and it's worked great. Fit-wise it worked out quite well. I'm about 6' 220lbs. I tried the XL which was way too big and the L fit almost perfe... Read Morectly. It was a bit loose, but not overly baggy. It allowed for nice amount of room for layering. Overall I'm very happy with the purchase.

February 20, 2022

The fit is delusional

@Patagonia PLEASE have someone try on your jackets before you mass produce and sell them. I'm 5'7" 140 lbs with normal/athletic body dimensions. I just wanted to buy the least environmentally damaging ski jacket I could find. I got this jacket size small. The arms are absurdly long, my fingertips barely pop out. The bottom drawcord o... Read Moref the jacket sits on my mid-thigh very tightly (when it's as loose as possible) so it's hard to even sit down on a chair indoors never mind walk or ski. From the bottom of the jacket to the armpits is dramatically too tight. Even with just a t-shirt underneath, it's way too tight - ever mind layering - I'm not fat at all, I'm small. If I got a medium it would still be too tight and would be down to my knees and the sleeves would completely envelop my hands. The hood is amazing - make all your hoods like this. Give a little more collar room so when the hood is up and collar zipped fully, theres more space in front of your face for your neck warmer. Also the chest pocket is hideous - figure something else out. Please make the front bottom pockets bigger (for food or water bottle while skiing). Your 3l torrentshell jacket size small fits dramatically better for skiing but the hood cant go over a helmet, doesnt have enough pockets, no powder skirt, collar not high enough. It's just so depressing that Patagonia does all this amazing sustainability work in manufacturing, supply chain, materials, and recycling, then just designs and produces garments that aren't even close to fitting 90% of the end users and have to be returned and force us to buy from other brands that just completely trash the environment for profit.

February 8, 2022

Almost Perfect, but Not. Too Long/Narrow

At 5'8 and 175 pounds, the Medium I tried just isn't a great fit. It's too tight in the chest area for layering more than a merino hoodie. In the store I could fit an Atom LT jacket as well as the merino hoodie but when I left the store and wore it for a little while (walking/driving) I fount it too restrictive. I'd guess anothe... Read Morer half inch in the chest would work to make it possible to keep warm and actually comfortable. The length is also a little problematic because it comes down just low enough to interfere with leg movement at my hips, walking feels restrictive. I wish Patagonia would fix their sizing so that it was accessible, most of their stuff fits like this. The materials, powder skirt, pockets, and cinch straps all seem really nice, it's what I'm looking for in a layering system, something to cut the wind a little and keep me dry during activities like snowboarding, hiking and mountain biking. Because the fit isn't right, I cant layer enough to be safe though, what happens if I'm 5 miles or more in the middle of nowhere and hurt myself enough to not be able to get out on my own? If I layered only enough to keep warm during exercise I'd quickly be dealing with hypothermia along with whatever other problems I've got. If I was a millionaire, I'd live near a ski resort and keep this jacket for those warm spring riding days because that's about all I'd be able to do with it. I need one shell to rule them all.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Hello Charles, thank you for taking the time to share the detailed review on the M's SnowDrifter Jacket. We are sorry that the fit is not working out. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at your convenience under our Ironclad Guarantee. You may want to take a look at the M's Stormstride Jacket in a Size L as it offers a slimmer fit.

January 21, 2022

Truly windproof. Keeps you warm when you layer

Fantastic Jacket. Long enough for my arms and torso. Taped seems work great. Only think missing is adjustable snow skirt. Top quality overall

January 15, 2022

Love the jacket, but couldnt get the size right.

The jacket is great. Looks, finish, specs - however, I could not find a size that fit. Its too narrow in the shoulders for me in a medium and too long in a large. Sadly I had to return it. I am 58 and 180 lbs, with fairly large shoulders.

January 10, 2022

Should have upgraded sooner!

Man have things changed for the better. My previous jacket/shell was about ten or so year old, and the difference between the two is amazing. The GORTEX seams on this jacket have been streamlined, the zippers function easily and can be operated with a glove on no issues. The jackets skirt alined really well with my Patagonia pants and kept the snow... Read More out all day. This shell is pulling double duty these days as my primary hiking shell as well. Well done Patagonia.

December 27, 2021

Little to tight in the waist, long sleeves, well built

Was really hoping this jacket would have more of a loose fit in the waist and sleeves that fit shorter skiers. IMO Patagonia designs jackets for people over 5'8" with a slim build.

November 9, 2021

Super Shell

I've only worn this out a few times but so far I've been able to depend on the H2NO to keep me dry from rain and snow and comfortable at the same time. I've layered with a Nano-Air and feel there is room for a thicker layer without restricting movement.

March 19, 2021

Great jacket

Its a looser it which I really like. The effect for snowboarders who have to bend down to buckle up and find most jackets snug in the shoulders. This jacket is also great in really wet snow kept dry all day!!

March 18, 2021

Fit around my hips was the issue.

I have an "athletic" physique. The fit for me was too tight around my hips. XL was a little too tight and XXL too big. I really wanted the fit to work as I liked the item was good for what I wanted to use it for. It will be better when I can go to a Patagonia store to try items on before purchasing. That said, I use my gear until it'... Read Mores really worn out. One of the reasons I do own a lot of Patagonia gear.

February 28, 2021

Wetted Out

Brand new jacket wetted out after 30 minutes when snow turned to rain. Very poor vapor permeability.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Hi Richard, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your jacket wet through within the first 30 minutes of being in the snow. That is not the quality that we expect out of our waterproof jackets so we'd consider this a warranty issue. We've reached out to you directly with some further assistance!

January 6, 2021

Great shell

Excellent shell, seems well made and fits as it should. Only used it several times, but has been great so far.

December 28, 2020

Great jacket

Bought this for snowboarding. When it arrived the sleeves felt a little long. Once I added some layers for the mountain it fit great. Plenty of vents, great fit over my helmet on a cold and snowy day. I looked at over 100 jackets before deciding on this one. Its just about perfect.

July 13, 2020

Well made

The Mens SnowDrifter jacket is put together beautifully, with tight stitching seams from the outside and fully taped seams on the inside. I like that I can depend on the H2N0 fabric for keeping me dry in wetter snow flurries without sounding like a trash bag. The fabric is soft to the touch without feeling delicate and even feels comfortable when f... Read Moreully zipped against your neck and chin. Im happy with the size and location of all the pockets. Im not a weight snob and prefer the options when it comes to stowing away gloves, hats, gaiters, or other accessories. As for the fit, Im a hair under 6 165lbs, 41 chest 31 waist and 19.5 shoulders with a long torso. The medium fits me well around the upper body with room to layer an r2 fleece or other lightweight warm layer. Although I havent, it feels as a thicker layer of down wouldnt fit the upper body too well and would make for restrictive movement of the arms and chest. Generally, I dont wear thick layers when active in the snow so I dont think this should be an issue. The body I found a bit baggy and think it could use a diet. Even with layers it leaves a lot of room around the waist and stomach. The length feels long, although I realize this is to keep the snow skirt lower on the torso which ends right at my waistband with the end of the jacket about 6 lower. The sleeve length is good for activities where arms are out in front and dont pull away from gloves because of being too short.(they end middle knuckles when not cuffed) The sleeve openings are fairly large. They are big enough to throw the jacket on over a gloved hand when Velcro is undone. I tried the small because of the issues I mentioned and quickly realized the medium was a much better fit for me. If this jacket was offered in a slightly athletic fit (less room around the waist, and less volume around the lower arms it would be perfect. I cant really recommend this jacket to a stocky build since a Large on a shorter person would probably have the bottom of the jacket around mid thigh. Overall, I like the jacket and am happy to find a solid shell for the backcountry at a more reasonable price than many of the competitors. I expect to put this thing through the ringer this next season while splitboarding the Sierra.

June 6, 2020

Simple, clean, functional

I got a full snowdrifter kit this fall (bibs and jacket) and rocked em all season on the resort and in the backcountry. Can't find a thing I dislike about this jacket. At 5:11 155 lbs with a slim, athletic build the medium fits exactly as I wanted. The jacket has a great cut, falling down below my hips and the sleeves are long enough to cuff o... Read Morever my gloves. If I wanted a smaller fit I could swing a small, but I prefer to have some room for layers and comfort ( I rock the snowdrifter bibs in a small and they fit perfect) . The jacket is simple, but super functional. Great adjustable hood, nice high collar, and pockets where ya need em. The fabric on the snowdrifter kit this year is lightweight, super waterproof, and drys quickly. 10/10 for a waterproof shell. Its even replaced my rain jacket.

February 29, 2020

Decent Jacket, Could Be Better

I'm a fit 6'0, 170lbs and ordered a size L. Jacket fits great, but is a little long on length. Went to REI and tried on a M, but it was too tight in the torso. Pros: good material, good design, pocket placement, and features, large hood will fit easily over any helmet. Cons: surprisingly doesn't have thumb loops to keep jacket in pl... Read Moreace and snow out, the drawstring loops on the hood are easy to tighten but a pain in the ass to loosen since the release button is INSIDE the hood, there is no soft material to protect your chin rubbing on the jacket when zipped up, the jacket is pretty flexible so it digs into your neck at high speeds, the hood is definitely too big for everyday use not on the slopes, fit is off.

January 2, 2020

Great protection

I am really skinny at 5' 7" 130LBS and a small fits me great. I wear a synchilla sweater for my mid layer. The protection while on the mountain is excellent. You will stay dry and warm with this jacket. Best snow jacket I have ever owned. Really impressed with the quality and performance.

January 1, 2020

Awesome coat...

Awesome coat...

January 1, 2020

Made for snowboarding

I was amazed over the first 3 days at how well it works, starting from the top The cut of the face mask is incredibly accurate for snowboarding. The height of the chin protection is perfect. You also perfected the helmet tightening system sooo nice The body fit is great as well. I would like bigger zipper pulls, but I bet I can get them from a s... Read Moretore

December 14, 2019

Perfect Lifestyle Fit

Great jacket, I use with a base layer and my nano air hoodie. Completely comfortable from 40° down to 0°.

November 27, 2019

Great Jacket - Fits BIG

Awesome Jacket, once I sized down from what I normally purchase. The small fit gigantically.

November 1, 2019

SnowDrifter Jacket

Lightweight, comfortable range of motion in the arms and shoulders, nice length for snow coverage past the hips, functional wrist width for easy wrap around warm gloves, nice facial coverage when zipped up leaving enough comfortable room for the underlayer when zipped up too, a perfect shell for in resort, around town, or touring the back country. ... Read MoreOverall, a very well planned design.

November 1, 2019

Great, lightweight jacket

This jacket is lightweight, functional as a ski or backcountry layer. Fits great. Love it.

October 10, 2019

Ridiculously over-sized.

I guess Patagonia has adopted the Fat American sizing standard. I've always been a size Medium. 6' tall and 165lbs. This jacket in a Medium absolutely drowns me - like down to mid-thigh and sleeves to my fingertips. They didn't have one at my local Patagonia store so I tried on the PowSlayer and the Medium in that fit as expected. So... Read More either something's weird with this jacket's sizing or the quality control is garbage. Seems like a nice jacket, and I really wanted to support Patagonia because I like their ethos, but I'm not going to bother re-ordering a different size and will just go with Arc'teryx since their sizing is rock-solid consistent.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches