Back to Product

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.54 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 28 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.54
Kinda Large
July 9, 2020

Solid winter jacket

This jacket is warm and soft but has a great outer shell. It's tough and looks to last a long time. I love it.

June 23, 2020

Everything I Expected In Patagonias Best Ski Jacket

First off, I want to say that my expectations are extremely high for this jacket. It should be able to brush off the kitchen sink if it were thrown at you. I've owned the powslayer for a few months and have been able to ski, fish, and hike with it through nasty snow storms, rain storms, and beautiful sunny days. I can definitely say I wouldnt ... Read Morechange anything about this jacket, its the perfect shell. It is a simple yet very functional, lightweight, and invincible jacket. Overall, it has met my expectations and I love this jacket, but time is the true test so I shall report back in a few years. As for sizing, I am 6ft 165 lbs. I usually buy Large for patagonia stuff but a Medium is perfect for me with this ski jacket. I put down that the sizing is just right but thats cuz I think most other stuff Patagonia makes runs small. I was hesitant to get the medium but I definitely recommend it if you're my size. Its perfect

May 27, 2020

Way Too Large

I really wanted to like this jacket and it's definitely a quality product, but the fit was really off for me. I'm 6'5" and 200lbs (42 inch chest) and typically wear a L or XL for Patagonia clothing/jackets. The large was way too big for me, in both the chest and arms. The length was even slightly longer than I would have wanted ... Read Morewhich surprised me. Part of me wonders if the label was wrong on the jacket because of how big the jacket fit, although based on other reviews this jacket just seems to run really large. I exchanged for a Medium but that was too small in the shoulders which caused the sleeves to fit oddly and dig up into my armpits. The length was a little short for me too, but at my size I would never expect to fit into a medium. I'm not used to finding jackets that fit perfectly at my size, but the fit of this jacket really seems to be off.

December 23, 2019

Bulletproof Jacket but Not Without Issues

After two ski days of cold powder skiing, the 2019 PowSlayer seems solid, but I had some issues: 1) vertically the hood seems a little short, so when and I pull it over my helmet and stand up, I feel the weight of the jacket hanging on the top on my helmet/head, and this makes things tight from my shoulders up and resistant turning head; 2) the hoo... Read Mored is short from front to back too, so the visor does not extend over my helmet, it ends about 2 inches short of the front with all the cords loose or tight (all around bigger hood and having the cords to tighten and make it smaller as needed would be better); 3) the material is stiff and crunchy, so it's very loud, especially under the hood and annoying to ski with the hood up; 4) the main and two chest zippers (watertight coated ones) are a challenge to open close, and I thought the other zippers are watertight and durable too (they were fine after 20 years on my Super Pluma), so not sure why they went with this new style; and 5) I found the cord-lock system behind the hood, and in general, a bit hard to fully release after it was pulled tight, but hopefully I'll figure this out as I used it more. I wish there was a video showing how to use the cords, not just a video with a model pointing at them, that's not helpful. One more small thing: when I unpacked it and put it on for the first time, I pulled on the two hood cords hanging down in front, and one of the plastic tabs came off in my hand. I glued it on with Gorilla super glue and it's fine now, but not the best first impression. Overall though, I'm giving this jacket 4 stars for it's quality and since I've only used it twice. It seems like very waterproof durable material, which is ultimately most important skiing in powder and storms, but the hood design is not making me happy at the moment, so we'll see how that goes. I'm 5'11,165 lbs.

December 19, 2019

Awesome Jacket

Patagonia nailed it with the Powslayer: a minimalist jacket that strikes a balance between being lightweight/packable while providing some nice features for the slopes. Three features differentiate the Poweslayer from my other minimalist 3L shell: (1) Extra length to cover your butt and extra width in the chest for layering. The extra length really... Read More helps keep heat in and snow out. (2) The draw-cord system is better than any other type I have used. The hood compatibility with my helmet is excellent. (3). Extra packets. Most light weight minimalist jackets are really short on pockets. This has a couple extras to help keep your pass or transponder away from other items. There are only two things I would suggest as improvements: (1) I really wish the front zipper was 2-way allowing it to partially unzip from the bottom when you need to duck behind a tree to pee. (2) The material is ‘crinkly’ compared to my other 3L nylon shell. My other shell is a different brand and has seen a lot of use. I don’t remember the material ever being this stiff and noisy but I am hoping the Powslayer will break-in and become more limber with wear. Overall it’s a great product. Time will tell on durability but I have had great luck with 3L 40-denier nylon in the past. If you need a versatile shell with the distinctive features above and minimal bulk, the Powslayer is tough to beat.

December 7, 2019

Awesome Jacket so far

I've only worn the jacket twice, but so far I really like it. I am a ski instructor and was looking for a jacket that would accommodate thick layers for really cold days of -10 F and below. I am 72 and have a bit of trouble staying warm on those days using a down sweater and vest, so I decided to get the big gun and ordered a Fitz Roy down jac... Read Moreket and it did the trick (even though the Patagonia rep said it wasn't designed for that purpose). The only problem was, the big puffy Fitz Roy wouldn't fit well underneath my Powder Bowl jacket. Then I found out that the Powder Bowl Jacket is a slim cut, that the Untracked jacket was a bit bigger and the PowSlayer jacket was the biggest across the chest. I can comfortably fit the Fitz Roy under it, but haven't had a chance to wear that combination in really cold temperatures. I'll be interested to try it under those conditions because the shell jacket itself is super thin and super light. I'll also be interested to see if the Gore Tex Pro actually feels more breathable than regular Gore Tex - I have never really felt that the regular Gore Tex kept me from feeling clamy on warm days involving lots of effort. I read several reviews about the sizing being an issue, but to me it fit very well and looks good. I am 5' 7" and weigh 135, and bought a small. The fact that the arms may be a bit long is no issue for me because I just use the cuff closure to keep the end of sleeve from going too far over my hand, and I like having a bit of slack in the sleeves. Also, using the cuff closure allows me to easily get my gauntlet style gloves on.

November 29, 2019

Slayed it

Flawless execution and delivery

November 29, 2019

Nice Shell but Sizing was Large

I actually returned this jacket after trying it on and realizing it was cut very big. I had a live chat with a very helpful Patagonia rep who compared the shell to several others and confirmed that it was about 2” longer . I own several other Patagonia jackets and down sweaters all in large and they fit great, but the Powslayer was almost mid thigh... Read More and fairly large through the chest and waist. I also tried it on with my nanopuff jacket as I planned to layer the two and while it fit better through my torso, it was still too big and much longer than I typically wear for a ski jacket. I’m ordering the Triolet instead. Thanks

November 28, 2019

Positive Initial Impressions, Think About Size Before You Order

I saw several reviews here mention sizing being an issue––if you can, try the shell on before you order online, or order a couple sizes and return those you don't like. The sizing isn't off, so much as your preferences on how it should fit may differ from the product's intended use. I typically order Medium, but ordered a Small as w... Read Moreell when I saw reviews saying this jacket was too big. I found the Medium was perfect, and similar in sizing to Patagonia's discontinued Refugitive hard shell jacket. This jacket is sized to allow flexibility of multiple layers underneath without becoming uncomfortable or restricting articulation. I'm 5'9 with an athletic build (broad chest, narrow waist) and long arms. The sleeves are ample to allow articulation with layers on underneath, no sleeve retreating up your arm and exposing your skin to the snowy elements when reaching with an ice axe. Wearing the jacket with my Patagonia Descensionist Pack 32L, I am pleased by the two massive chest pockets––their zippers are in the right places and fall underneath the chest clasp of the pack, so I can access them easily with the pack on. The same goes for the hand warmer pockets. This jacket is long and the hand warmer pocket zippers are positioned such that they aren't covered up by my pack's hip belt––fantastic. Pit zips could be a bit longer to allow dumping of heat. Waterproof zippers frequently require a little more effort and finesse to open and close, and the Powslayer has as bunch of zippers like this––I'm ok with this provided they don't break. That's TBD. I had durability problems with the C-KNIT Gore Tex Refugitive jacket, as well as complaints about that jacket's lackluster hood. I returned that jacket and Patagonia honored their guarantee, which is why I'll always go to them first for gear. They take care of us. The Powslayer's hood is excellent compared to the Refugitive, with three points of adjustment. The Powslayer is an expensive piece, but if it holds up durability wise, it'll be a great investment. This is an early impressions review that I'll update after a season skiing and climbing in this jacket in the backcountry.

November 26, 2019

it's a bit crunchy and

it's a bit crunchy and the fit tends to be on the bigger side.

November 22, 2019

Love this Jacket

This has become my favorite jacket for snowboarding. The internal pockets are great for stowing gloves/extra gear and the chest pocket is perfect for keeping your phone close at hand. I've been wearing this jacket in all types of conditions and it has always done me right.

November 12, 2019

Perfect fit

I went by the size chart and got the correct fit. Plenty of room for layering too!

November 8, 2019

great item and great service!

great item and great service!

November 8, 2019

Great piece

after reading a lot of comments lamenting the fit of this jacket, I had some fears when I ordered the medium (6'2" `180lbs). The fit is great, and I'm usually one of those the medium is a little small and the large is kinda big types. Love the generous allowance of pockets while maintaining a light weight. The construction on the pow... Read More slayer series is bomb proof.

November 4, 2019

Love it

After reading a bunch of reviews and looking at the size guide I was sure I was a medium after seeing other people with similar weight and height (180lb, 5’10) but when it got here it was boxy and it looked like I was drowning in it - my wife’s words. I reordered a small and it fits terrifically! I guess I was looking for a tighter fit but I’m wear... Read Moreing this with the nano air light jacket underneath and it feels great. Some people mentioned it’s a noisy jacket and it is. I’m hoping it gets worn in a bit so I can wear it off the mountain but I’m excited to try it out this season

October 24, 2019

Have not slayed any pow yet but...

the fit is killer! This jacket comes highly recommended from several sources so I have no doubt that Patagonia will prevail here.

May 8, 2019

PowSlayer is an Outstanding Rain Jacket

I have purchased a number of rain jackets over the last few years for trekking only to find them too heavy or too light. The PowSlayer is outstanding because it feels more like a cloth jacket rather than a stiff, noisy jacket. The cut is ample and it drapes well. I wish Patagonia would make the chin area on all their garments a little bigger. Still... Read More, I rate this trekking rain jacket outstanding.

April 13, 2019

Jackes run way big

Jacket features are awesome, but the size is way too big. I am 6'4 225#/46L and an XL is usually spot on for most patagonia jackets and fleece. However, this XL was way to big for me in arm length, chest/shoulders, and overall length. Unfortunately it is going back.

March 5, 2019

Excellent!

This jacket has a great balance of features. I've been blessed to own too many snowboarding jackets over the years from a number of brands, particularly Arc'teryx. This PowSlayer piece just works best for me. Long and roomy enough without being bulky and can easily work as my rain shell as needed. The hand warmer pockets can be overlooked... Read More in more technical pieces and I appreciate that this has 'em. Also, a plus is having a phone pocket that I can access through the front without having to unzip the main zipper. I'm not in the backcountry, but I do try to keep things as light/minimalist as possible. The Gore Pro is strong and breathes so well that you stay warmer than you'd think because you're just getting that moisture to the outside. Paired with an active mid layer on the cold days or just a base layer on the warmer ones and you're good to go! I'm 6'0, 175 lbs. 42" chest/ 35 sleeve. Medium is perfect.

February 11, 2019

Fantastic quality but the sizes are huge !

I purchased this as I wanted to upgrade my snowboard outerwear. I was specifically looking to go with Gore Tex Pro . I’m a small guy at only 5’5” but I have a fairly large chest 39” so I’m a medium in most outdoor brands. Anyway, this jacket arrived today (11Feb) and I couldn’t wait to try it on. Man was I disappointed. The jacket is beautifully m... Read Moreade, the colour (Big Sur Blue) is amazing but the sizing is was way way waaay off for me. I measured the main zip on my size Medium and it’s 80cm long. Unfortunately the jacket is being returned tomorrow and I will have to try another brand.

January 13, 2019

love this jacket

I've been skiing hard in Utah wearing this coat since 2013 and it has stood up to everything I've thrown at it. It's warm, dry, easy to layer under, resistant to snags and tears, good storage and venting (even with the touring pack on), and a good hood that fits over my helmet. Then I picked up the 2019 version of the coat, and som... Read Moreehow it got even better. The breathability is up without compromising warmth, and while i never got wet in the old coat, the new outer layer seems to work even better in keeping me from getting soggy and ruining a storm day. I hear what the other reviewers have said about the zippers, but they've never bothered me. This is a good coat for a serious skier.

January 4, 2019

Best ski jacket I’ve had

I just picked up the powslayer in textile green (medium), and I have the untracked and a few Arc’teryx shells. I absolutely love the powslayer. Pockets are awesome and the fit is perfect. I also love goretex pro - totally bombproof and releases heat better than the untracked when you warm up. The untracked is also an awesome jacket. For touring an... Read Mored hard/active alpine skiing I’ll wear a light merino baselayer (haven’t tried cap air yet but that’s next up) and the nano air light hoody. Perfect setup for temperatures from 10F to 35F. If colder or if I’m not working as hard, I’ll switch the nano air light for the regular nano air hoody. The textile green color is the best color jacket I’ve seen in a long time. I’m 6’2”, 185 pounds, athletic, and the medium fits perfectly. The large was too big.

December 10, 2018

Amazing light weight and extremely techinal handfeel

I was lucky enough to catch opening day at Mt.Baldy here in Southern California. When you think Gore-Tex pro, Southern California and jacket called Pow Slayer I doubt you'd ever think they all need to live in the same sentence. Well - Dec 8th was POWDER and packed powder on trail. Good news is down low it was a bit warmer so the jacket had awe... Read Moresome breathability. Up high is was aroubn 28 degrees and I was able to wear a t-shirt under it and was plenty warm. I also have the Nano-Air in my back pack to layer up but never had to bust it out. Attention to detailed was not spared on this coat - you'll see that no extra treads hanging around, zippers work flawless and it just fits good. I'm 6'1" and have the size L in the rad Yellowy green colorway.

December 7, 2018

Waterproofing

I've skied the jacket for 5 years. The waterproofing has dwindled. Is it possible to re-proof the jacket?

October 11, 2018

Bring yellow back!

Been using these model for a few seasons and would love to buy a new one. Devastaded the yellow one does not exist, Will prob make me go for another brand for now... but i general, these jackets have been a 5 star for sure.

December 11, 2017

The BEST!!!!

Bought this last year. Super coat.... light,durable,lots of pockets - and they are the right size,great color -(miss yellow this year). This is a world class coat.

December 6, 2017

I liked the old one better

I have skied in a PowSlayer for 5 seasons,and that version was an absolutely phenomenal jacket. Really intelligently designed pockets,length in all the right places without being huge,as breathable as a hardshell can be,and awesome looks. After several years of use,the jacket was overall in great shape,but the Gore-Tex in the hood area started to... Read More delaminate at the end of last season - Patagonia was absolutely fantastic about doing an immediate warranty replacement,and thank you,thank you for that. I would have been more than fine with a durable repair. So,onto this jacket: The new recycled fabric is very cool and the zippers and cords are now better. The soul of the jacket is the same,but there are three meaningful drawbacks for me that make this one less than perfect: 1) Patagonia changed the sizing this year,going from a Relaxed Fit to a Regular Fit. That means that the S that I used to wear is now too small at the bottom hem for my (admittedly ample) thighs,but going up to an M results in a jacket that really is just too big everywhere else. I'm typically an M in Pata Regular Fit stuff. Note that overall measurements haven't changed that much,but for me there really isn't a PowSlayer that fits properly now. 2) The old pockets were incredible for me - I loved the velcro flap pockets on the front of the jacket for keeping a snack handy to eat on a lift or going uphill,but those are now gone. This was one of my favorite features of this jacket,because I always had everything exactly where I needed it,without having to dig around in a pack. Presumably removing them saved some weight and bulk 3) I don't think the current design/colors are as good as in past years,although the Paintbrush Red is a pretty sharp look In the end,I switched to the Pluma jacket this year. The PowSlayer is still a great jacket with incredible fabric,but it wasn't my best option.

November 9, 2017

fantastic hard shell - but I'm holding back 1 star

I'd love to give this 5 stars and if I could give 4.5,I would,but I've got a gripe with this new design. Others may find this trivial,but why on earth would you eliminate the dual front zip Patagonia? I get that this jacket is a minimalist bombproof piece of technical gear where weight and pack-ability is a major priority,but the new zipp... Read Moreer pulls on this shell are already so tiny to begin with,I can't for the life of me understand why it wouldn't be a two-way zip. I'm sorry,but I don't get it--especially at the price and as one of your flagship outerwear snow products. On the positive side,and outside of that nitpick the jacket is nothing short of fantastic. It's the second one I now own. My first,which is 3+ years old is still going strong along with the bibs,but I wanted to try the redesign and sized up after they tweaked the sizing on it (I own a size medium in the older version). For what it's worth,I'm 5ft 11in and a little over 200lbs with an athletic build,big arms and broad shoulders. The large in this is perfect for me. It's roomy and still has a bit of that freeride fit,which I love because there is zero restriction in movement. I can easily layer with the nano-air jacket or nano-puff vest underneath. Lastly,this jacket is loud and crunchy,but I'm betting it mellows after it's broken in. My older one did.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches