Back to Product

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Bibs

Write Your Review

3.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Bibs

3.8/5
True To Size
October 14, 2021

Best bibs Ive owned.

I have had these bibs for 4 seasons now and theyre still holding strong. 400+ days of resort skiing and backcountry guiding and theyre still solid. They might have a couple pieces of gorilla tape, but that only adds street cred. Same goes for the pow slayer jacket!

March 2, 2021

Great bibs- questionable durability

These bibs fit awesome, they're almost more like high-waisted pants with suspenders than true bibs which I love. They keep me warmer than my old pants did, but also have great venting four touring / warm ski days. Dropper seat is great. Got them right before 10 days of 12+ inch pow days, kept me dry despite several falls. Durability is suspect... Read More though - I found a small tear thru the first layer of fabric after 1 day of skiing right on the knee - not caused by a ski edge or anything. After ~15 days of skiing, there are multiple other small tears through the surface level of the pants. I know these are meant to be lightweight, but I would expect more durability from a 600 dollar product. Feel good because of Patagonia's warranty, but annoyed they deteriorated so quickly.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

We really appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback on the fit, features, fabric and performance of these bibs, but we're very sorry they aren't holding up, Ryan! Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to return under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

February 22, 2021

Suspenders are not secure and pants aren't that durable

The bibs fit fine and do very well for water and snow resistance. I like the vent options on the bibs themselves. The issue I have is the way the suspenders connect is poorly designed. The suspenders constantly come unhooked, which is a huge pain to fix when you're touring and have on a backpack, multiple layers, a beacon, etc. Not only that, ... Read Morebut the loops for the suspenders also has ripped in less than a season of wear. Also, the ankle gaitor is pretty useless. The elastic is so loose, the second you step into deep snow, the gaitors ride up your boot and then you have snow in your ankles. Completely worthless if you need to bootpack anything in the snow. Finally, I ripped the pants on the leg on one of my first outings from a relatively minor brush with a tree branch. I personally would not recommend these bibs.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hey there! Thanks for leaving this valuable feedback and we are so sorry you had such an unfortunate experience with these Bibs. Of course, we stand by everything we make under our Ironclad Guarantee so feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these at any time for warranty evaluation.

February 4, 2021

Good Construction, but Im swimming in the XLs

Bought the XLs for the length (I wear 32x36 Pant) and it feels like im swimming in the bib

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the poor fit on these bibs. We do offer additional length (up to 4 inches) on certain styles for a fee. Please reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team for assistance to get the right size for your waist and then set up for the alteration through our expert sewing technicians!

December 13, 2020

Runs large, not completely compatible, otherwise great

CONS: Sizing---Had to exchange size M for S as these run large. I am just between 6'0"-6'1" and weigh 160-165 pounds. Smalls fit much better, especially around the torso, but worried they might be a touch short in the legs now. But that is better than feeling like I am swimming in the Mediums. Compatibility---I have the SnowDri... Read Morefter jacket and expected the integrated snow skirt snap loop at the back to line up on the bibs. It doesn't. The loop on the PowSlayer bibs is much higher than the SnowDrifter bibs, which is annoying and makes the snow skirt ride up too high and fold under. Seems like a design oversight there for sure (I thought we could mix and match snow jackets/bibs?). I may have to modify the bibs and put a smaller loop lower down on the back to get the snow skirt to lay where it is supposed to. PROS: ---I use these for steep open and gladed runs, silly lines deep in the trees, and short up/down backcountry day missions. Haven't put a ton of drops or hours on them yet but so far they feel well suited to the task. ---Comfortable, good pockets and breathability with vents/zips. Fairly easy to adjust suspender straps.

March 7, 2020

They Need To Make XS

5/5 if not for the following: 1. Size: I am 29x30 pants size. Per the size chart, a size small should fit me perfectly. However, I had to return what was an otherwise stellar pair of S bibs because they were way too baggy. Please offer sizing options that accomodate me! 2. Pockets: I also want to echo the sentiment expressed in other reviews. Po... Read Moreckets that sit on the top of the thigh rub against your leg and simply don't make sense. I don't know why people are complaining about not being able to put their beacon in there, since that's not what AIARE recommends. @Patagonia, please fix the sizing and the pockets and I will immediately purchase a pair.

January 13, 2020

Nice pants, but I can't breathe!

Wow this is constructed really well! Fabric is amazing and all the components that create the product are on point! The Bibi part is constrictive, and the sizing is for a very slender person. Nice item, but I can't wear it!

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Erwin! Sorry the design of these bibs didn't work for you. Don't hesitate to reach out to us for any product recommendations or [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with sizing or to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) these PowSlayer Bibs.

December 17, 2019

Great design and fit, But Loud

I like everything about these bibs, except that the fabric is quite crinkly/ noisy. I must be used to my old old stretch triolet pants !

December 17, 2019

Sizing is off

More like a XXXL

November 25, 2019

Just completed a 3 day

Just completed a 3 day snowshoe hut trip in these pants. The fit was great, not to tight and not too baggy. They breathe very well and move with you to the point they are almost unnoticeable.

November 9, 2019

Great

They are perfect for just everyday skiing

October 11, 2019

Bullet Proof Bibs

They come up higher than pants, but just the right amount. Not like other bibs that come up nearly to the neckline. The suspenders are easy to adjust, and that they're removable is a nice added feature. I've also been in many situations were I expect them to be damaged but they come out clean. The zips dump heat, the pockets are nice and ... Read Morespacious. Mine fit pretty true to size though based off the other comments you might want to try them on before you take 'em up the hill. We also have horses on our property and I'll wear these when I'm working with horses in the winter.

September 20, 2019

All time favorite bibs

I love these bibs. You get what you pay for. Most ski pants/bibs start to feel like they are creating resistance as I walk while ski touring. These bibs feel absolutely effortless. Have keep me warm and dry in the PNW. I want to buy an extra pair and stash them away in case they change the design!

February 10, 2019

Really nice features - Pockets need refining

This is a follow up to my original review (not sure why it isn't shown?) - As I've used them now for more tours I wanted to follow up on the pocket design and placement. For myself the main two items I like to carry in my pants are my beacon and phone - having quick draw access to each of these I feel is essential and keeping them in my p... Read Moreants pockets allows for that. Again this is where this bib lacks - but that being said I'm finding a system that is working. The right interior beacon sleeve (inside the right thigh pocket) is, as I had previously mentioned, too tight to easily insert and remove my BCA Tracker3, especially with gloved hands - so instead I am putting my beacon in the left thigh pocket (with my lanyard clipped to my belt loop - out through the zipper)... previously I had mentioned the issue with this set up is that the beacon swims and becomes awkwardly positioned across your thigh restricting leg movement. To mitigate that movement I now keep my goggle cloth and buff also inside the pocket - placing the the beacon to the outside of my thigh. A refined fix would be to have each thigh pocket have an interior mesh sleeve - but place it as far to the outside of the thigh as possible - it's restrictive to place ridged items on top of your thighs. My phone slips nicely in to the right beacon sleeve - but again since this existing sleeve (inside the right thigh pocket) is placed on top of your thigh instead of to the outside of your thigh - it creates a restriction of movement... works, but not ideal - for a $600 bib - this should of been thought through. And again I'll mention the third small pocket that sits above the right thigh pocket- it doesn't open wide enough for how deep it is and also because of its depth, anything placed in it sits right on top of the right thigh pocket which creates binding issues - how about a full size rear pocket instead? These need refinements. A few of the bib's highlights: The two way zippered thigh vents which are very easy to operate and don't have any interior material/mesh to get stuck in the zipper; the two way zippered fly is very handy - easy to find with a jacket on; the bib torso length is perfect - not too high (which can be restrictive and too warm) but long enough to protect from those deep days; the boot gator is perfect they removed the annoying metal lace clips so now its just an elastic seal - easy and doesn't get hung up. These bibs are very light weight and with the GoreTex Pro breath very well while keeping you totally protected from wind and wet weather. And the styling and craftsmanship is what you'd expect from Patagonia - top notch! PLEASE re address the pockets - a super critical component in a backcountry bib/pant and then you will have the best lightweight backcountry bib on the market.

February 4, 2019

Really sweet but poor pocket design

overall the material, quality and detail are what you expect from Patagonia - top notch! I'm 6' - 0", 165lbs, first I ordered a medium and they were huge - way too baggy, returned and went with a small and the fit is perfect. I use them for touring in the BC and a baggy fit does nothing but get in the way, hinder movement and can b... Read Moree downright dangerous. But again the small fits perfect, and I can still fit my slim down puffies underneath as well as my heavier puffies over for those unexpected extended stays out in it. But the pockets... darn, not so well designed. The two large thigh pockets are awkwardly placed the leg, the beacon pouch is too small - I have a BCA Tracker3 which fits tightly - over stretching the very light mesh, impossible to put beacon in with gloves on and once in hard to remove - bummer... it does works great to hold my iPhone with room for a snack and cloth in the remaining pocket space. But now the beacon has to go in the other thigh pocket and it just swims and gets uncomfortably twisted sideways, don't like. The small zippered pocket above the right thigh pocket is too small in opening for how deep it is (gloves) and its depth takes you right on top of the lower thigh pocket - it does fit my beacon however but since it sits on top of the lower thigh pocket it binds with my phone (if I have my phone in the lower interior beacon mesh sleeve), and if I put my phone in the left thigh pocket it swims and twists too. A phone and a beacon are fairly common to have with you touring and having easy access is essential. With these bibs that combo is awkward at best. I'll probably end up modifying them with another glued in mesh sleeve so one thigh pocket can hold my phone and the other can hold my beacon. It seems this important combo was left out of this bib's design. If Patagonia refines the pocket design these bibs will be some of the best. I'll hold my breath...

December 10, 2018

True Ski Pants for the True Skier

100% perfect fit and design for alpine ski pursuits or resort shredding for that matter. Especially if your the person who hikes the goodness. Waist fits...legs roomy. Belt loops and suspenders let you fine tune. Multiple pockets on the legs hold all the stuff you need quick or often. Stuff like chap stick, map......gummies. Leg zips let you dump h... Read Moreeat on long solar blasted slogs. Cut is def roomy in the legs, but that is why these are great for skiing and hiking. They let you flow. If you have a beard, a mun, plaid flannel, jeans that look like they may potentially belong to your sister some unscuffed logger boots and like to drink a working mans Pabst while you talk of the bad things your co-worker does to the tea station at your office then these might not be for you. If you ski and love skiing and usually have a beacon and some skins stuffed in your pack then I’m guessing you’ll like these. If you ski with that stuff and a harness and small diameter rope in your pack then just buy em. So good. Im 6’3”, 195-215 depending on how happy I am. At 205 Size XL felt huge to me at first, but then they felt perfect once I understood. I usually wear a 36 waist so I sized up. Suspenders and belt make the fit however you want. Go bigger in size if concerned. Can’t go wrong.

November 21, 2018

Phil

Bought these in a size Large. Pant legs are roomy , but the waist up is not (I don't have a belly). Weird fit. Inseam is way too long. For the price, as in other products, not sure who these are size for.

August 27, 2018

Best Backcountry Bibs

I hit a tree and they did better than I did. Durable, waterproof, and fairly breathable on hard climbs. Drop seat and suspenders are well designed. Sized up to a Large as the waist was too tight on the Medium even though I'm a 32.

February 20, 2018

dry in the PNW

These bibs are fantastic. I sized up this year due to the change in fit from a season or two ago and they don't disappoint. 5'11",200lb,athletic build,36W. The pockets are great. The smaller pocket-in-a-pocket on the right leg is great. Sounds silly,but my vehicle keyfob fits in there perfect and doesn't move. The real treat tho... Read Moreugh is the 3L GTXP and it gets tested often here in the PNW. I've never gotten wet in these--ever. I think the only thing I'd change is maybe make the upper portion above the waist a little boxier and add a couple pockets up there. Nothing fancy,could even be velcro flapped or one big pouch. Guessing labor is the issue there. Overall a fantastic piece. Please bring back Yosemite Yellow in the jacket. You didn't make enough!

January 18, 2018

Bad luck or poor quality

These pants fit great and have some smart features and with Gore-Tex Pro I thought I would get a top-notch ski bib that would last a bit longer and can handle some tougher use. I returned the first pair after less than two weeks because the pocket seam on the inside of the front pocket delaminated. I received a second pair without problems and luck... Read Moreily my size was still available. Unfortunately

December 9, 2017

Nice styling,torso closure too tight w no adjust

These are nice pants with a lot of potential. Overall not too baggy,but they do bell out at the leg opening a bit. They feel more durable than last year's but I dont have on hand for direct compare. Belt loops and shoulder straps are nice. But,some caveats: "Cargo" pockets are awkwardly placed in mid/lateral thigh position (they a... Read Morere not true cargos),which makes objects press down on your thighs when bending knees/crouching. Either put in the normal hand pocket position,or keep them to the side. There is a zippered hand pocket on the right (above the cargo pocket),which is too small to comfortably insert an ungloved hand into. The pseudo-deal breaker: the waist/torso button closure is too tight and there is no adjustment. I have the the size small and am SLIM (140lbs,5'8),but they are very tight. Uncomfortably tight,especially when leaning forward. The only option is to leave it unbuttoned/unzipped. They could have easily made it a double button closure to allow for different size torsos,or simply made them larger (you dont need a snug fit with bib pants). Really not sure why a pant of this caliber wouldn't accommodate a little size variation,especially to modify accordingly when youre layering up or down. Hopefully future versions will take this into consideration. I will try the medium,but am worried I will be swimming in it.

October 20, 2017

Best bibs I have ever owned

Simply put these are the best bibs I have ever owned. I live in Big Sky Montana and ski 90-100 days per season. I purchased these prior to the beginning of last season and the bibs exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches