Back to Product

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Pants

Write Your Review

3.38 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 8 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's PowSlayer Ski/Snowboard Pants

3.38
Kinda Large
May 9, 2020

Difficult fit, great build quality, pockets could be better

I'm 6'1" and 185# with athletic build, size 33.5 waist. I ordered both the medium and large sizes and tried both, frustratingly I'm in between and neither pant fits well. The medium fit snug on my waist, are long enough but are also snug in the legs which renders the pockets somewhat useless since they don't have a baffle t... Read Moreo allow for expansion. Couldn't fit a beacon, even a phone would feel bulky. Could fit credit cards/cash in the upper small pocket and a clif bar in the lower one but that's about it. The L pants felt great in the legs and had more room to move and had more space in the pockets, but the waist was huge even when cinched down with the interior elastic waist band. I'd estimate the size L pants fit like a 36" waist at minimum with the elastic all the way engaged. I tried them with a nylon or elastic belt but that led to way too much bunching around my waist and was immediately uncomfortable. They seem like great pants, well built and very packable with the GT Pro material just couldn't get the right fit for me. If you're my size/dimensions be sure to try on both sizes to see which one (if either) will work. We need a size M/L Patagonia!

December 16, 2019

Powslayer Pants

I finally got out to ski in these pants. They are nice and light. They are easy to move in. My legs are short, I'm 5' 6" and ordered a small, and the inseam seems a little long. The boot opening is a little generous. I don't need that much fabric over my boots. The mens fly opening could have a button on the inside to hold the f... Read Morely closed while you pull up the zipper but it isn't a big deal. Overall I'm very happy with the pants. The best part is the light weighted how they move with your legs instead of restricting movement.

December 2, 2019

PowSlayer Pants

The pants are very comfortable and light. I'm disappointed in the durability of the material especially the reinforcement panels on both legs. Both sides have multiple slits caused by an upper ski edge. It happens way too easily for a premium brand. I've never had this occur with other brands of ski pants. This has occurred on two sets of... Read More pants. Finally, availability of multiple colors should be made on short sizes. Not everyone likes just black. Fix these issues and I'll be back.

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2019

Hi Dean, sorry to hear about the issues with the PowSlayer Pants. Per our Ironclad Guarantee, if you're unhappy with the performance of our gear you're welcome to repair, return or exchange it. You can start that process by following this link, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

November 22, 2019

Great Pants

I've been using these snowboarding and skiing a love them. I really like the pocket positioning - it makes it easier to get things when sitting on the lift.

May 8, 2019

Powslayer is the best!

I've been wearing Patagonia clothing -- both casual and technical -- since the mid 1980's. So when I say that in over 30 years the single best Patagonia product I have ever owned is my Powslayer Men's jacket purchased in 2012, it means a lot! Now, 6 years later, I also purchased the Men's Powslayer pants this season, and I love ... Read Morethem just as much! I've been wearing the Men's Powder Bowl pants since 2012 (the same year I purchased the Powslayer jacket), and they have been really great. But I love the Powslayer pants even more, because: they are extremely lightweight compared to the Powder Bowl pants; they fit me just right (I'm 5'10", 180 lbs., 32" waist, and I bought Men's medium; the Powder Bowls are much baggier and less form fitting); they are very well made (I have not so far had a de-lamination problem as described by another reviewer); and I love their dark orange color. Also, I find the pockets to be fine (and don't care much about pockets on pants anyway). So I would HIGHLY recommend the Powslayer pants (and jacket!), and wear them now every single time I snowboard (and will now never wear any other outer shell layer). The only downside, of course, is the very high price.

April 11, 2019

They overthought these

Bring back your simpler mid rise bibs from yesteryear. I am usually a huge fan of all my Patagonia purchases; these miss the mark. I’m 5’8” and usually medium is a fit. The legs are too long and even with the additional inch or two ski boots give you, these drag lower than ever. I’ve had three crashes due to the cuff getting caught up in the brakes... Read More of the ski. I have tried buckling them into the boot buckle to keep the excess cuff snug against the my boot. I’ve had to adjust the tension on the suspenders four times already to keep the straps snug against my shoulders and the clip has twice come undone from the pant. The pockets look and feel like the designer was attempting a challenge for Project Runway. The two main pockets are on the quads(some mention of being place their to avoid climbing harness but in reality what percentage of us are roping in to go skiing?) and are not easily reached unless you have extra long arms. The zippers in these pockets have gone back in time and don’t glide easily(both angle and zipper tooth size). The inner pocket on the right pocket is useless and only serves to jam your fingers or have you grabbing at the wrong item if you can actually ski with anything on this part of your leg. The other small right pocket is too small for anything useful and also in an awkward place. On a positive note, they have kept me dry.

February 28, 2019

Look good but lack function

Look great on but pockets are too low profile (no extra material to lessen the tension put on you’re legs when items like a beacon are in them). Also, the stretch inner pocket is too small for any beacon. I was told when returning these to the store that it’s not marketed as an inner beacon pocket. It would fit a phone, but you would never have a p... Read Morehone in the same pocket as a beacon. Strange since they have the beacon loop in that same right pocket. If the pockets had more material and were shifted more towards the outer thigh they’d be perfect. These need another year of product testing to iron out the kinks.

November 19, 2018

They nailed the Guide Pant and this is a poor substitute

I had the Guide's and a seam gave out and they replaced them with these. These are well made but the pockets are on top of the quad - no one wants to put a phone or really anything but maybe some cash or a hanky on their quad. Pockets on functional pants for movement go on the side of the quad where they had them on the Guide and other pants. ... Read MorePut a phone or keys or much of anything on top of your quad and every step you tension/bind the pants which is tiresome, will wear the pants and eventually cause them to fail at seams. These pants also tend to bind on high steps or long strides anyway compared to others i've worn (stickier material inside?) which makes matters worse. High stepping in a climbing situation in these would be scary. Especially for the price something seriously was missed in the design of these.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches