Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.49 /5

Filter Reviews

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.49
True To Size
November 24, 2020

Excellent Jacket

Love this jacket - the cut allows some flexibility in base layer choices (i.e., you can go with a standard tighter-fitting base layer, or opt for a vest or sweatshirt without issue), and the attention to detail (pocket placement, powder skirt, adjustability of hood) put into the jacket's design are subtle yet noticeable improvements to most gr... Read Moreipes I have about snowboard jackets. Will easily help you navigate colder, windier days, and warmer, wetter days on the mountain without issue.

July 9, 2020

Another great piece from Patagonia

Have not had a chance to put it through its paces. Last Patagonia shell saw Jackson Hole and performed flawlessly , this will likely be paired with a fleece when I get a chance. Admittedly got on sale so even though I would have preferred a L size but being tall and with layers an XL for physical activity gives arm length for climbing and great for... Read More ski season.

July 3, 2020

Please do not include my name in the review

The jacket is well made.You can layer underneath. I only wish there was a two way front zipper....Maybe the next model!

June 21, 2020

Nice and dry!

Very happy with the jacket. It has kept be dry in rain and snow. I very much appreciate the pockets and the powder skirt. I personally really appreciate inside pockets for the added security. Great jacket!

June 17, 2020

Nice and dry!

Very happy with the jacket. It has kept be dry in rain and snow. I very much appreciate the pockets and the powder skirt. I personally really appreciate inside pockets for the added security. Great jacket!

April 24, 2020

Fit Review

Haven't had a chance to wear on the mountain, so this is a fit review. I am 6'2", 205 with 34" waist and 47" chest. Fits well over my nano puff and micro puff. Arm length comes just past the wrists. Glad I bought XL. Large would have been tight on the chest.

February 15, 2020

Hood no longer Zips off. Otherwise great jacket.

Great Jacket. Generally well thought out. One gripe is that I purchased this based on how much my wife liked hers, which she has had since 2016. Her Powder Bowl has a hood which zips off. This was really handy in that probably 90% of the time I'm skiing, I don't use the hood. Part of the reason for purchasing this jacket was this feature.... Read More Apparently during one of the product revisions (upgrade?), this feature went away. Hopefully on the next product revision, they bring it back. The rest of the jacket is great. My wife has probably 200 skiing days on hers and with the exception of some of the velcro coming off (which was fixed), the jacket has served very well. We spend most of the winter skiing Alta powder and that silly attached hood fills up with snow when its not in use.

January 24, 2020

Nice shell; smart functional design,

Nice shell; smart functional design, tough durable finish, performs exactly as expected. It’s worn daily skiing New England mtns.

January 21, 2020

Medium or Small?

I really struggled between the M and the S. I am 5'10" and 175lbs. Neck 15.5". Arms 32/33. Waist 32-34. I tried both on. The small fit snugly but was just too tight around the waist and mid-section. I had to suck it in a bit to zip and then it sat really tight on my hips. It would have been hard to add layers. This may not be a probl... Read Moreem if you have more of a flat stomach. I went with the medium which was a slightly looser fit, although still comfortable. But, it took some going back and forth. If you are on the slimmer side the small may work. Medium fit great and made me feel I'd have room to layer up and move around while skiing. The jacket itself is a great shell - well designed, great pocket space, well thought out. Once you nail the fit you'll love it.

January 13, 2020

Great Jacket, handled well while touring

Fits great and kept me warm at 11,000 ft in a snow storm. Little tight with my beacon underneath, but I could use to lose some holiday weight.

January 6, 2020

Amazing Product

Spent the past two weeks in Teton Valley with a mix of skiing and snowboarding, both backcountry and resort riding at Targhee, as well as plenty of time just playing in the snow in 0 degree weather. Great product, great fit, easy access to pockets and all your needs, hood is fantastic with a helmet on...no complaints!

December 19, 2019

No idea -

Bought the medium - length ok, body too tight. Got the large, body ok, length too much, body ok. I’m normal - not fat, not skinny; but Patagonia just doesn’t fit. Quality and features looked good, but I’ll never know - returned both.🙁

December 17, 2019

Best Shell for the Slopes

Great piece, very versatile. Wear as either a shell over a warmer layer, or on it's own on wet warm days. Can be worn over a helmet, roomy pockets are conveniently placed.

December 16, 2019

New ski jacket

nice and toasty great fit and a great jacket.

December 11, 2019

powder bowl jacket and pants

Great items.....love how technical these garments are....great pockets, well thought out.

December 9, 2019

Bomber shell!

This jacket is awesome. Outer fabric is soft yet feels like it can take a beating. Well thought out design. No moisture is getting through this thing. Only used it for two days on the mountain so far, but I am looking forward to years of use with this thing. It will definitely be my “go-to” for all things snow for years to come. Bomber!

December 9, 2019

Powder Bowl Jacket

Sleek and functional pocket locations. The perfect outer layer for snow sports.

December 2, 2019

Powder Bowl horrible zippers!!!

I bought this coat based on peoples reviews. I am guessing most people don't really use these jacket the way they are intended. I did see a review and the person said the zippers on these coats are junk and I ignored it and now I am going throw this in the back of the closet because of the cheap zippers!!!! I hardly ever write a review but whe... Read Moren you pay a lot for quality and I barely lasts a season. I am going to spend the extra money for a coat with infinite guarantee because the cost is worth it and you get great service.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Kirmet! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your troubles with those zippers! Please note, all Patagonia items are covered under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee#searchterm=ironclad), and we are always happy to accept warranty [returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or offer complimentary [repairs](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) for the lifetime of the product. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

November 25, 2019

Good so far

Really excited about the features of this coat, looks like it will be used for many years to come. Per the other reviews, we sized down to a M, for our son a tall 6' but skinny and it fits generously. Normally we would go for a L but this fits good as a M.

November 22, 2019

Awesome jacket

Great build and weight

November 22, 2019

Ms Powder Bowl Jacket

Quality I have come expect from Patagonia. Fit and finish ate excellent!

November 17, 2019

Great fit and Look

I haven’t had an opportunity to ride yet this season and put the jacket to the test. I have worn it around locally and it is extremely comfortable and warm paired with the micro fleece hoody.

November 5, 2019

Nice jacket the sleeves are a bit long.

Been wearing Patagonia gear for 30 years. In the last few years it seems that the fit is changing. Not sure why that is. The product is rock solid but I find I need to make sure and try it on first. This sounds like an obvious statement but with so many purchases being made on line buying a similar garments from the same manufacturer is a bit of a ... Read Morecrap shoot.

October 31, 2019

Awesome jacket

This jacket has everything you would expect from Patagonia, quality material, well thought out functionality at a very good price. In the short time having this jacket I really like wearing it. I’m looking forward to using it this winter with all my different Patagonia base layers, nano puffs and down sweaters better sweaters.

October 15, 2019

size problem

I already have a jacket size large that fits perfectly. So when I needed a new one ordered another large. It was so big I swam in it and the sleeves were 3 inches too long. I exchanged it for a medium only to find the sleeves fit but the body was too tight to fit any thing under it. I am 5-9 and 170 pounds which is pretty average. I was very dis... Read Moreappointed that you had no size to fit me.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Sorry the sizing was off for you, Tom! You might prefer the slightly more generous fit of the [Snowshot](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-snowshot-ski-snowboard-jacket/30942.html?dwvar_30942_color=BWCM&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-4=&q=snowhot&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24) or the [Departer](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-departer-ski-snowboard-jacket/29400.html?dwvar_29400_color=HAGO&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=departer&lang=en_US&start=1) Jackets. Hope you have a great ski season!

October 13, 2019

GM, Michigan

I'm using and appreciating my new rain jacket (the dog has yet to rip it to shreds). It seems a little large compared to my last Patagonia Rain Jacket however different styles, different cuts and time - things change.

October 9, 2019

Its a slick shell that

Its a slick shell that is well constructed and handsome. Arms and torso are a bit long for my size, but otherwise fit is good. Idk what I was expecting but its a little underwhelming. I hope that the stoic design lends itself to durability. Time will tell. I am currently happy with my purchase.

July 27, 2019

So Good So Far

Half a season in and no complaints. Good fit, pockets, and venting. I went with Powder Bowl for thicker fabric as I spend most of my time in the trees. Already had a few jousting blows taken in stride. No reason to think it won't last as long as my last Patagonia jacket, which was an insane 15+ years.

February 28, 2019

I almost died in this

I have a special bond with this jacket because of the closed double black I skied on accident with demos while hungover. Lost my poles, dinged the demos to hell, almost died. The jacket worked well though, feels like a big blanket and the insulation is great. Nothing brings you closer with your gear than being scared shitless.

February 27, 2019

Great Shell for resort and backcountry

Great weight, zippers, neck and hood combination. Pockets are functional. Sleeves are a great length for winter sports (no one wants snow in their wrists). Room to layer underneath, but not too baggy - good for British Columbia in the negatives and California skiing as well. Hood is perfect - no need to bother with extra zippers to zip it off or tu... Read Moreck it in and is just adds weight and extra fabric.

January 28, 2019

Zipper and dirt

Wore this from Antarctic to Ladakh, keep warm (need to add a down vest at time); shell water repellent but get dirty easily and hard to clean (black). The worst is the zipper (seems to be my common problem with all recent P products), it is hard to engage or even zipper up when you need to.

January 14, 2019

AWESOME Jacket

I’m 5’ 11” at 170 lbs and wear a medium — the jacket fits perfect over a nano puff or down sweater along with two thin layers of wool or synthetic shirts. This is a super durable high quality jacket. I Love it! I wish it came in a few more colors - the offering is limited.

January 11, 2019

Great Jacket - Poor Fit

5'9" - 215# - 38" waist - 46-48" chest - right in the size chart - XL - Unfortunately the arms are about 6" too long and the length goes below my butt. Makes a great rain tarp/tent, but doesn't fit "regular". Not everyone in an XL is Tall.... Even with a Patagonia Down Sweater underneath it is too loose. I&#x... Read More27;m good with the pockets, zippers etc. Hood is HUGE if you DON'T have a helmet, but bungees make it use-able. I got this as a rain jacket for Early and Late Skiing in Michigan, but I also got it to wear as a wind stop layer on extreme cold days. Even bulky insulation isn't enough to fill the excessive space. Large would have been ample space for insulation without excess flapping in the breeze. I still give it 4 stars because it is a great piece. But I should have tried the Large. Maybe re-evaluate what "regular" means or re-assess the population for size norms. Most of my skiing / hiking / biking crew are shaped more like short football players - under 6 foot but over 200# - In Sci-Fi Fantasy terms - Think Gimli the Dwarf instead of Legolas the Elf....

December 27, 2018

Fantastic Ski Jacket

This is an amazing ski jacket. The fit is almost perfect - not too big and baggy, but there's enough room to comfortably wear a warm insulating layer. My only issue is that the arms run a little long (I've noticed this with most, but not all, Patagonia jackets). So far the jacket has held up really well in 10 days of skiing. It's bee... Read Moren pretty much bombproof against the harsh East Coast ski conditions. I highly recommend this jacket if you're looking for a stylish top-of-the-line ski shell that does everything need.

November 7, 2018

Almost perfect jacket

Don’t let the title lead you the wrong direction, this is a solid jacket. The materials are great, fit is almost perfect and even the color is better than expected. I am 5’10, about 200lbs, stocky and a large fits almost perfect, I’ll get to the almost in a second. I have only 3 issues with it, that I’d hope Patagonia could fix. First, not sure... Read More if Patagonia is fitting their jackets to basketball players, but the arm length is too long. I’ve had this issue with the R1 techface jacket also. Just seems odd. I am not small or short armed by any means and It is inches too long. Now it’s so long that it can’t be worn, but with a glove that goes over the cuff, it bunches up plenty. Two and I knew this when I bought it, the hood. Not sure why the insulated version gets the zip off hood but the shell, the “cooler” version does not. If not zip off let it roll up under the collar. If you are not wearing your hood, it tends to fill up with snow and flop around. The design is already made, why not give the shell the zip off hood also. Third and lastly, add one more cheat pocket. There is no reason there shouldn’t be a second chest pocket. Now, even with those 3 short comings this is a sweet jacket. I got the “textile green” which I was a little afraid would be too yellow and it’s great. A strong green color, not sure why they couldn’t have the “sprout green,” but it works.

October 26, 2018

WOW WOW POW...DER

I love this jacket. It is great skiing shell. I wear the Nano Air Puff jacket underneath and it is perfect for the Pacific Northwest winter weather. It fits loose enough to put a layer underneath it, but not too baggy to get in the way of skiing. It feels like very quality stuff, even though I haven't worn it in the snow on the mountain, it ha... Read Mores been used as a rain jacket in Portland, and I have stayed dry. It fits true to size, I am 5'10, & 165lbs and a medium is PERFECT! It looks stylish and I cannot wait to test thins bad boy on the mountain.

October 13, 2018

Really really great jacket

Just got this jacket, just great job from patagonia. Ofcourse it's still waiting to be used for snowboarding. Size could run for somebody a bit large but for me with long arms and back it fits perfectly.

October 8, 2018

Where is the ZIP OFF HOOD!

Great Jacket..... BUT.......BRING BACK THE ZIP OFF HOOD! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm not buying another one until you do. Is that so much to ask?

September 10, 2018

Incredible Jacket

This jacket is simply the best. The goretex covers the entire jacket and allows it to be as light as possible, while insulating and cooling. The outer shell is so tough and durable, ive had plenty of knife drops on it and nothing has torn. The removable hood is a great feature as I normally wear a cowboy hat. The pockets are in all the right places... Read More and this jacket has so much movement, it allows for it to be a work jacket as well. Chopping wood, skiing, snowmobiling, survival and hunting, this jacket can survive it all. For a 5'6" broad shoulders, id say get a large. Its made to have layers under as well, so its roomy in the right spots

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches