Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Insulated Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Insulated Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
April 24, 2021

Great jacket

Love this jacket. Got the bright color and love it. Fit is great for me. Always found Patagonia a bottle on the large side. Not this one! Im looking forward to wearing it.

April 19, 2021

Nearly Perfect

Love this jacket. I upgraded mine which wasnt snow specific and I have to say the pockets alone sell the whole jacket. I would agree that if you have wider hips, sizing up could benefit you. Im fairly narrow so didnt have a problem ordering my regular size. Only criticism is that the vents for the arms do not have additional mesh so your under laye... Read Morer is fully exposed.

March 4, 2021

Love the insulated powderbowl

I love this jacket!!! I have both insulated and non insulated powderbowl jackets. Great cut/fit (regular cut) - please dont change it! But my ONLY complaint to Patagonia is PLEASE bring back more bright colors to the line! The bright ones are always the first to sell out. Patagonia Im REQUESTING Maraschino cherry back to the womens Powderbowl line.... Read More My old one is getting too beat up to wear!!

February 20, 2021

Super warm, size up!

This jacket is almost perfect. If youre looking for a jacket the will keep you warm and dry this is for you! I wore it yesterday for resort skiing (mid-20s F, steady snowfall) and with only a base layer underneath and I was almost too warm. I could have stayed out all day and wouldnt have been cold. The outer layer keeps the snow off and the inside... Read More dry. The only downsides are the sizing and the pockets and pulls. I originally ordered my normal size according to the size chart but returned for a size up. I found it to be tight in the hips and with a jacket this long I was worried the zipper would split with movement or a fall. The larger size is great and has ample room and doesn't feel too big or let cold air in. There are a number of pockets (forearm, inside chest), but only on the left side. I would have loved the same pockets on both sides. The pulls on all the zippers are also small and hard to grasp with gloves on. Ill likely add my own but for a technical jacket like this I would have expected stronger pulls. Overall I love the jacket and Im super happy with it! Even with the minor size and pocket/pulls issues its well worth the investment for a warm/ dry jacket.

February 14, 2021

Perfect fit

I was a little nervous when ordering XS as I often find clothes are made for mini women versus women who do sport hard! I swim a lot so have a small mid body but wide shoulders. This jacket fits perfect AND I was able to fit a another warm jacket layer underneath for those extra cold days. The bright yellow will be a great standout in the back bowl... Read Mores.

February 8, 2021

Great jacket for skiing & outdoor wear.

I bought this jacket to go underneath my ski patrol vest, and I am 100% content. The jacket fits well, has a slimmer profile, and is very warm. The liner clips right into the patagonia pants as well to keep snow out. I wear my clothes HARD on the slopes (skiing 20+ days a year), and it's 3 years in with no problems.

January 2, 2021

Super Warm - XL

At 54 and 220lbs, Ive had a lot of trouble finding a ski jacket. Im on the shorter side and I have large quads/wider hips, so most jackets are a tight zip or they dont zip at all. This jacket zipped with no problem, and I had plenty of room to move my arms/body comfortably. The jacket feels light but is warm - definitely not as bulky as other jacke... Read Morets out there. Its a flattering fit, which will be nice for a change. Wish I had tried the jacket sooner! With the XL the sleeve might be a tad too long for me (so Ill give it a 4), but Im willing to deal with that for a good fit otherwise!

November 23, 2020

super warm. super bright..great for cold walks along the ocean here in Rhode Island ..wet cold windy

True to Patagonia - made well. Every pocket , every toggle to tighten hood...every detail thought of

November 16, 2020

A little disappointed.

So I should have read posted reviews....I bought a large which I thought would be a good fit with some room. Fits on top, snug across the hips :( If I go to XL then top/shoulders/waste will be huge. I really wanted the length below my hips, like the weight of the jacket, but just right across hips. Kept it but not completely thrilled

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2020

We're sorry that the fit wasn't right for you, we're grateful that you've given us your thoughts so we can work on improving the design. We want to ensure that you're satisfied so please give us a [call](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can talk about your options.

November 6, 2020

Hood is way too big

Color is unique, fit is true to size. For people like me, who do not ski, do not wear a helmet, the hood is way too big. Since the hood is removable, should have designed an alternative small hood for those who do not wear a helmet .

August 30, 2020

Good jacket for skiing.

Keeps you warm on the slopes, but has enough venting that you're able to keep from overheating.

August 26, 2020

Good jacket for skiing.

Keeps you warm on the slopes, but has enough venting that you're able to keep from overheating.

February 4, 2020

Best skiing jacket

Took me 2 months to decide on this jacket to replace mine of 10 years. This is my best purchase from Patagonia. This jacket is warm enough on the ski lifts and has enough air vents to keep you in a happy medium on the way down. Super water proof, love the over the helmet hood, and great size for layering and being long enough in the sleeves.

January 12, 2020

Great jacket, but needs some design changes

I've had Patagonia ski jackets for 15+ years now, I love them. This jacket could easily be 5 stars, but the designers need to make a couple of (very) easy changes. There is no soft, fleece lining on the inside of the collar at the chin - their other ski jackets have this feature, why not this one? No fleece at the chin results in a very chappe... Read Mored chin! Also, the zipper pulls don't have a rubber tip to them which make them very hard to grab, especially with gloves/mittens on. Again, the other ski jackets this season have the rubber-tipped zipper pulls, no idea why this higher-end offering doesn't! Otherwise, this is a great jacket. It has kept me nice and warm so far, and there are plenty of useful pockets (when I can get them open/closed) plus the underarm vents. I had been debating between this jacket and the Snowbelle jackets - I have relatively broad shoulders, and this jacket fit so much better in that area (I couldn't raise my arms past a certain point in the Snowbelle size M, and sizing up made the jacket overall too large). Overall, I would recommend this jacket if you ski with a neck gaiter each time, or else be prepared to sew in your own fleece lining to the collar.

January 6, 2020

Nice Jacket

Fits perfect only it would be better if the high neck was a little smaller. It's somewhat uncomfortable.

December 30, 2019

Warm without Bulk

This jacket was exactly what I was looking for, providing good insulation for skiing and allowing full range of movement. If you are, like me, at the cusp between the L and XL, this jacket fits well in a size large. As expected, it is well designed and will definitely serve it's purpose for a very long time.

December 20, 2019

Just the insulation I was looking for!

As a person who runs cold I was looking for a jacket that would keep me warm while also protecting me from the wet days on the mountain. This jacket does it all! Definitely a great investment.

December 16, 2019

Loving it!

This is a high-quality jacket and the color is great. Warm and windproof on the slopes.

December 12, 2019

Awesome

I love, love, love this jacket!! Lots of pockets and super warm.

December 4, 2019

Great fit, nice and warm

Great fit, nice and warm for skiing on windy days.

November 22, 2019

Love it

Very warm and lightweight.

November 17, 2019

Love it

I'm always cold. This is warm enough to wear in 30 degree windy weather with a long sleeve underneath if you're moving. I've been in rain and it's totally dry. I've been scratched at / jumped on at the dog park and it's durable. Hood is big but not bulky. I'm 5'7" and 125lb and the XS fits me perfectly. ... Read MoreI usually wear XS. Highly recommend.

November 11, 2019

I love the fit

I love the fit

October 30, 2019

Insulated Powder Bowl Jacket

I have not worn the jacket yet because I am not sure if I will keep it. It is described as insulated, but there is not much insulation. The arms do not have much insulation in them at all. I am not sure if I will be warm enough.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hey Autumn, thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback on the Insulated Powder Bowl Jacket. The jacket features 60 grams of Thermogreen insulation in the arms and 100 grams in the body. This helps with range of movement when you are on the mountain while keeping your core warm. Depending on the area that you are in and personal preferences you may need to layer more underneath. With all that being said you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket if you find that it's not warm enough.

October 8, 2019

The Insulated Powder Bowl jacket

The Insulated Powder Bowl jacket fits like a glove. The blue color is awesome!

August 11, 2019

Great if you are tall

I am 6ft tall with really long arms and wide shoulders. Women's jackets Never fit across my shoulders. While not perfect, it is as close as I have ever found. Ordered a large and fit well enough to keep. Sleeves hit just past my wrists. Excited to try it this ski season.

May 8, 2019

great jacket but not true to size

I bought it on-line, great looking and functional jacket but the sizing seemed very large. Medium usually fits me but this jacket was way too big.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2019

We are sorry for the troubles with sizing and would be happy to [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) you with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Please reach out if you need assistance with that.

May 8, 2019

Too big!

I really wanted to love this jacket, but couldn't. The product is really well made, but the sizing is crazy. I'm 5'7, 140 lbs and got a medium. I felt like I was wearing Dad's coat. The sleeves were 3-4 inches too long and overall, it was big and roomy. Perhaps a small would have worked, but when I tried to exchange it, the othe... Read Morer sizes were completely sold out. I hope other people had better luck with this jacket!

April 12, 2019

Three years later, still love it

I've worn this through three seasons and while it's not great as an everyday winter coat in really cold temps (only due to it's being too short), it is perfect for skiing. Great pockets, keeps me warm and dry, not bulky at all.

March 13, 2019

Waterproof but not warm...

I have a powder bowl from a few years ago... so maybe it has improved since then. I am a big Patagonia fan and have A LOT of Patagonia clothing... and this jacket is my most disappointing piece. It is essentially a heavy duty rain jacket. Any temp below 40F and this jacket is not warm... it actually weirdly amplifies the cold. I really wish it was ... Read Morea warm jacket... I bought it for snowboarding but it doesn't cut it on cold New England mountains. Super bummed. Hope this new version is better... wish I could trade it in and give it another go!

March 10, 2019

Great Jacket - well done!

Love this jacket! Used it in Montana for a week of skiing where temps hovered around zero with wind and even without heavy layering stayed warm and dry with no problem! Superior wind and waterproofing without bulk. Hood and collar work well with a helmet. Velcro cuffs seal out cold. Lots of well placed pockets. Only drawback - zipper pulls are wimp... Read Morey and hard to close with gloves on! Best cold weather jacket I’ve ever had. Also own the uninsulated version for warmer conditions, so all bases are covered!

February 22, 2019

Perfect

My wife got this coat, I comendered it (we are the same size; 5’7” 130#) for my winter bike commuting. 1. The fit is great; roomy enuf to accommodate bike helmet, reach drops w/o pulling or binding and traffic head checks. 2. Warm & waterproof for all conditions. We live in northern Utah - this winter has given me rain, snow, hail and temps f... Read Morerom 30°- 12°. I have been comfortable in descents and climbs. 3. Pockets galor, in just the right places. 4. I like that the hood zips off, the adjustable cuffs and bottom skirt. All in all I could not be happier!

December 24, 2018

Could be perfect but...

I really want to love this jacket and it is a great quality (material, helmet fit, sizing) but there are two design elements that need rethinking. I took this out on a snowy day on the slopes and the first pain point (literally) is that the collar is not lined, while the height of the collar is perfect for protecting the face on a cold lift, even w... Read Moreith a gator, the inside of the collar rubbed my face raw after a day on the slopes. The lesser cost Patagonia jackets are lined on the collar, so not sure why this one doesn't have that feature. The other design element is the zipper pulls. They need a rubber or plastic pulls to make it easier with snow gloves. I had to continually take my gloves off to unzip my jacket or tighten down the hood. So very close to being a truly awesome jacket and I've considered how I can modify but that seems silly at this price point. I likely will return.

October 16, 2018

Warmest jacket I’ve ever had!

I bought this because I work outside all winter, and needed something truly warm, waterproof and wind resistant. Today I wore it to work. It was 18 degrees and I didn’t so much as shiver! I was 100% comfortable all day.

October 11, 2018

Safety Security Protection

While wearing this jacket I have very good feelings of comfort, safety, security, and protection. I am sheltered from the natural elements. I feel brave, empowered, and confident. The waterproof jacket is "elwa blue" in color with a padded navy blue lining. The many pockets are welcomed and very useful. I purchased this jacket in November... Read More, 2017. A navy cashmere scarf and tam often are worn by me with this jacket. Daily I appreciate being able to walk in any weather. This jacket is thoughtfully designed with high quality fabrics. I am grateful to own this item.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches