burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Powder Bowl Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 53 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Powder Bowl Ski/Snowboard Pants - Regular

4.3/5
Kinda Large
July 19, 2022

Workhorse

I have had two pairs of the Powder Bowl pants in past 15 years, one of which was warranty since repairs were not possible. I have put them both through the ringer and back with no complaints . Have never had any issues with waterproof and have used them in many deep days. Simple capilene layer underneath is all that I have ever worn with them and e... Read Moreven tried them on a -20 day in the San Juans and was warm. Great for skinning and leg thigh zippers really help with the breath ability. Only gripe I would have would be the inner calf/ankle section can wear out after a couple seasons and for those wearing knee pads you will most likely need to send them in after a few seasons since that area wears down more so than others. Highly recommend them for anyone looking for bombproof ski pant that are not overkill in weight and warmth.

March 25, 2022

Wont hold up in colder weather

Felt the chill with a base layer in 26°F. Keeping the old pair from another brand as back ups for colder days.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Hi Jessica! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the pants didn't hold up in the cold weather. If you're interested in taking a look at some pants that would offer more warmth we'd suggest our [Men's Insulated Powder Bowl Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-insulated-powder-bowl-ski-snowboard-pants/31458.html?dwvar_31458_color=BLK). Also, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these pants to us.

March 24, 2022

Dry All Day

As a Ski Patrol (boarder) working 12 hr days, I needed gear that would keep me dry. Not once did I get damp when kneeling in slush or sitting on wet lifts, hour after hour. The pants run a tad big/baggy, but I also had plenty of room for full extension. Next time around, I'll get something insulated for those single digit days, but I was plent... Read Morey warm with my thickest base layer. Very breathable yet blocks wind, never had to dry them after long days like cheaper pants that trap moisture. Exceeded all expectations.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

We appreciate your detailed and thoughtful feedback, Mike! With the right [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html), these pants should keep you comfortable on the slopes for many years to come. Thanks for the review!

March 14, 2022

Great snowboard pants

Pros: They move really well, offer GoreTex protection, leg vents for warm days, and extra pockets. One small thing I dislike is that the zipper is short and runs to the top of the waistband; so if you wear these with a belt, you have to undo the belt to unzip for bathroom breaks. Also, the legs are a bit baggy compared to other Patagonia snow pants... Read More I've owned (Snowshot and Triolet).

February 19, 2022

Great gortex

Love the weight, fit and vents. Very pleased overall

February 12, 2022

Great pants!

Wore these pants on two ski trips so far in deep powder in Colorado. Held up great in very cold conditions. I would recommend these pants 10/10 times.

February 3, 2022

Heavy duty!

This is the fourth pair of powder ski pants I have owned. I snowmobile , hike ,skin and backcountry ski in them. The abuse I put them threw is impressive! Would recommend them to anyone!

January 30, 2022

Too large

Sizing is off on these. Run really large and long.

January 30, 2022

Capable

These pants do everything theyre supposed to on the mountain. But leaving the mountain and exchanging your ski boots for walking boots, the pants run long and there should be a Velcro strap to tighten the bottoms so they dont drag.

January 4, 2022

Waterproof and good fit

These pants kept me dry in constant rain throughout 8 hours of skiing. Fit was spot on, but I'm taller and lankier than most people.

December 21, 2021

So far so great!

A lot of reviews state these run large, and they do, but have waist adjustments and have plenty of room and don't restrict movement up or down hill. I haven't had them in any kind of weather but have performed perfectly for the first few runs of the year.

December 21, 2021

Comfortable and practical

After years in my regular gear, it was time for a change. These ski pants are comfortable, durable and a great addition to my ski day.

December 18, 2021

Good Pants

Quality pants as I expected. They are a little large. I'm 6' 230lbs and had to go with the XL, the large was too tight in the waist. They are a little long and baggy-ish. Above 15 degrees I wear base layer pants below 15 degrees I wear fleece sweat pants, never been cold.

December 5, 2021

Great product

Super warm. Great for outdoor activity 30 degrees or below

November 18, 2021

Great Ski pant!

The Powder Bowl ski pant is a great classic, I say this because the last pair I had for 13 years and they have been great! As far as I can see they are pretty much the same design, although the water proof material has been up graded and some other small improvements made.

November 17, 2021

Quality ski pants!

This season isn't here yet so I have yet to try them on the slopes but these ski pants fit well, have great features (like the side vents, the cuffs, fitting adjustments, etc.) and I'm sure they're last a long time like everything else Patagonia produces.

February 15, 2021

Nice pants

Functional features, dry and wind proof. They are a little baggie, but otherwise a great product.

February 1, 2021

Great ski pants

It was what I was looking for a new set ok ski pants I do run warm so I only wear a light base layer and ski the northeast only and keep me perfectly comfortable

November 21, 2020

Built to last

I had my powder bowl pants for 8 years. The water repellent finally gave out after 8 years and Patagonia gave me a deep discount on a new pair.

March 22, 2020

Worn over 100 days with 0 complaints

I just finished my first season working at Snowshoe Mountain Resort in West Virginia where I wore the Powder Bowl pants every day I rode for just over 100 days this season. 2019/2020 was not a great snow year where we had A LOT of rainy days. This was never an issue having the powder bowl pants because they kept me warm and dry everyday I was on th... Read Moree slopes. Even in a complete down pour sitting on lifts they never soaked through, which is exactly what I was looking for in a ski pant knowing what weather is typically like in West Virginia. With this season being cut short due to COVID-19, I look forward to having these snow pants to keep me dry and warm when I need them to for another 100 days next season!

February 26, 2020

Resort skiing/Backcountry/Waist Deep Pow!

It was time to replace my old pants, like many of you, I tried a few brands and sizes. I am 6'2" and 185lbs, 34x34 size. I went with the M as the L felt too big. Trialed these great pants with resort skiing in the Northwest, then off to the land of powder in Hokkaido. They were great on chilly days with one layer of long underwear, also g... Read Morereat on 2 hour ascents while skinning up to find the good stuff. Highly recommend these pants all around. The thigh pocket is very useful for maps/quick needed items.

February 26, 2020

A bit too tight in the hips / thighs

I was looking for gore-tex pants for snowboarding and these are great quality, the fabric feels super durable, and the red color looks amazing in person. Unfortunately I ended up returning these because they felt a bit too tight in the hips/thighs. I'm 5'10" 140lbs and the S fit me perfectly lengthwise and in the waist but when squat... Read Moreting and moving around, it felt a bit constricting. Maybe I should have sized up to M or started skipping leg day but I found nice pair from a company that specializes in snowboarding gear and they're much more comfortable. Too bad, I really wanted to like these.

February 4, 2020

Blair M

Very nice pair of pants, does everything that they boast. Very comfortable and range of motion it great. All the pockets are well though out and in the right places. My only suggestion (that keeps it from being 5 stars) would be to make the boot cut a little bigger or have a zipper to accommodate ski/snowboard boots a little better. I found the f... Read Moreit around my snowboard boots when they are in the bindings to be a tight fit. I could never get my pants over the boot/binding without taking off my gloves and working them down.

February 4, 2020

Terrible fit

I tried size S and M, bother were really bad fits. Now I have to return them. The size small is too long, and also too tight. The size medium is comically baggy everywhere and I'd trip on the the pant legs. Background: I'm 5'8 and 31" waist. 1/3 of all men are shorter than me. So that's not super short. Nor is that a str... Read Moreange waist. Who can fit in size small?? 6" tall sticks? It's not like you can easily hem snowboard pants. And the "short" Aka normal sizes only are black. What gives?? Size medium is what I'd expect a size large to be, but at least some part of the population can probably fit. And your review is asking me "How would you rate the overall fit?" but How do I mark "Runs Big" and "Runs Small" when it's both and varies between S and M. Overall this fit is bad and inconsistent.

February 4, 2020

Disappointed- poor waterproofing and fit

I ski 30+ days a year and I’ve owned two generations of powder bowl pants. I’ve owned a lot of Patagonia gear and these pants are my least favorite. The fit on the new generation is too tight in the seat of the pant for anyone with skier leg muscles and makes it very hard to achieve more than 30deg of hip flex. They look stylish, but you’ll want mo... Read Morere flex if you’re skiing hard or doing a steep boot pack. It was very hard to lift my leg up in these. The waterproofing on these pants does not hold up well (even after reactivating the fabric and applying nikwax spray). I would not recommend the powder bowl pants.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Matthew! Thank you for your feedback on this item. We're sorry to hear the fit and waterproof finish did not work out for you. If you would like to initiate a return, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). In the meantime, we might recommend checking out the [M's PowSlayer Pants](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-powslayer-ski-snowboard-pants/30335.html?dwvar_30335_color=PSS&cgid=mens-snow-pants#tile-1=&start=1&sz=24), as this style features GORE-TEX PRO fabric for optimal waterproof and windproof protection without compromising breathability. This style also has an articulated patterning for increased range of motion.

January 30, 2020

Ajax Timberwhistle

Love these Powder Bowl pants!! Need more colors in the "short" option. I would buy a few more pairs!

January 23, 2020

Excellent Ski Pants - Need Short Size in More Colors

The size medium were way too long. Had to return and order the short size medium. Wish Patagonia made shorts in colors other than black. Other than the length really happy with the pants. Light and fit well.

January 6, 2020

Amazing

Didn't expect anything less...great product! Spent the last two weeks in a cabin in Teton Valley with backcountry days, resort days at Targhee, and even snowman building days in 0 degree weather. Great pants for all activities! Only thing is they are very long for me...which is fine with ski or snowboard boots on but I end up stepping on the b... Read Moreottom of the pant with regular snow boots on.

January 2, 2020

Men's Powder Bowl Pants

Good fit, true to size, very comfortable and kept me dry all day!

January 2, 2020

Amazing and Perfect fit

Ok I am a pretty big guy and it is hard to find the right fitting ski pants but these are perfect! They fit not snug but a little loose it is so perfect.

January 2, 2020

Love 'em. Use them for

Love 'em. Use them for FAST free skiing and also as my go-to pants as a ski instructor.

January 1, 2020

Great Snow pants

These snow pants are very well made. They run a little bit on the large size so I got a size down from what I typically buy

December 23, 2019

fly design is too short

fly design is too short and then extends to top of waist band under button closure. not sure why, but would have prolly kept them otherwise. work/utility pants have a proper design in the fly/waist. otherwise seemed like good pants.

December 21, 2019

normal Patagonia quality

I'm 5'11" male, 175 lbs. Size Medium in regular length fits me well. Skied with them today for the first time and it was raining at the base. These kept me dry. Good mobility, nice pockets. Does the job.

December 11, 2019

Adjustable fit. Perfect length.

Adjustable fit. Perfect length.

December 7, 2019

Very Good, Almost Great

My primary reason for only 4 stars is the lack of colors in size Short. Regular length is just a bit too long affecting the look and feel of the pants. Also, while there is a full strength tab in the thigh pocket, it would be nice to have something easier to attach the cord on my avalanche transceiver to; a larger tab would be easier to work with c... Read Moreold fingers. That said, the pants have performed well in wet cold and dry cold conditions. Overall, I am pleased with the performance of these ski pants.

November 23, 2019

Ski pants

Fit is fine for 34+34 if waste is larger you may want to order L . I have the medium stretched out to the fullest

November 10, 2019

Powder Bowl Pants

Awesome pants, great features throughout with one exception...the zipper length is too short. Layering underneath creates the need to undue my belt and the zipper to get through the layers when a bio break is needed. It would be nice to just be able to unzip instead of undress! Thanks

November 6, 2019

Regular pants were way too

Regular pants were way too long, returned for the short version, great fit and great pants. 3rd pair of Patagonia ski pants and first that I had to return for being too long, normally a 32" inseam

November 1, 2019

Powder Bowl Pants

As usual - Patagonia hit it out of the park. Great fit and anxious to wear them on the mountain.

August 30, 2019

Simple and functional

These have everything you need and nothing you don't. They have a clean design and excellent materials, and get the job done on the mountain. I really like the venting, athletic fit, and know I can count on them keeping me dry during a long day.

May 8, 2019

Slim fit

Could use a little more slack in the crotch area, but manageable.

May 8, 2019

powder bowl pants

good pants, but need suspenders

March 4, 2019

Great all around ski pants

The Powder Bowl pants fit well. Not baggy like the Snow Shot pants but not slim like other pants. The knee articulation point seems to line up better with my knee when compared to the Snow Shot pants. I appreciate the fact that the hip vents are now on the outside of the legs versus on the inside of the legs like some pants. I use Capaline in diffe... Read Morerent weights based on temperature, these 2ply pants are warmer than the 3ply options due to the mesh fabric liner. I do like the mesh lining on the vents on my ski pants (but not on my jacket), this helps keep excess snow from coming in the pants if you happen to unexpectedly hip check the slope. The fabric is nice and smooth and doesn’t bind with your jacket. I have used the clip between my jacket and pants a few times in powder days and it didn’t interfere or feel like the jacket or pants were restricted in the back. The pant bottoms are nicely reinforced, but it seems like they are a bit wide when compared to boot sizes. I bet an inch or so could be removed from the pant bottoms to fit a tad trimmer on the boots. I do wear these in the short length, so colors are limited to black which is unfortunate. I think more people should explore the short length versus dealing with their pant cuff getting stuck in bindings or stepping on them when hiking, etc. Durability seems good and there is no wear or tear visible. Hip pocket lines up well with resort RFID readers.

February 27, 2019

Made of Kevlar

I grabbed a pair of these for my last trip and they worked out better than expected. I was getting off of a lift and attempted to pass a group of skiers when instant karma struck. As i tried to quickly skate past the skiers, I caught an edge and broke my fall with my face. In doing so, my board flung up and took a chunk out of my shin, however ther... Read Moree was no damage done to the pants! Not even a scuff!! It seriously looked like there was a chunk of bone taken out of my shin, but absolutely nothing with the pants! These pants are lightweight, breathable, and waterproof like Gore-Tex, but protect like Kevlar!

February 9, 2019

Fit well, all the features ya need.

Replaced an old pair of Spyder pants with these, and if you spend most of your time at ski resorts, this is an obviously winner. They are very comfy with a slightly loose fit but don’t look baggy at all. At my height and weight (6ft1 / 210) , these were a great fit for me in size L. You may need to size down or try the “short” version. The pock... Read Moreets are well placed and don’t bulge too much. The gaiters and air vents do their jobs well. This feels like a product with exactly what you need and no waste on extras. The simplicity makes is beautiful.

February 4, 2019

Good Pants

I have worn these pants everyday so far this season pretty much. They have kept me dry in all conditions and breath well. I deducted one star cause the loop that connects to the powder skirt of my jacket came un-sewn from one side even though I don't use it. I'll get it fixed once the season is over. They have snap closures like the previ... Read Moreous reviewer said, but I wear a belt and haven't had any issues. I don't think they're very baggy, that's just how the cool kids wear em these days.

January 13, 2019

So Far So Good

I purchased at REI. I tested at Tahoe. No problems. Good enough fit. True, long. Color pops like the moss on the tall pines up the lift. I believe in the guarantee. Patagonia brand fan. May they serve me well.

January 10, 2019

Sediment Color Not Really Accurate

I absolutely love all of my Patagonia gear. However, these pants are definitely more green than brown in-person. They don't look good with my navy blue shell. Will be returning. I had the same issue with the North Face Freedom pants.

December 24, 2018

Disappointed

Worn these maybe 5 times and when it snows I’m wet. Product does not work.

December 24, 2018

Tear in pants after wearing six times

I was enjoying these pants but there is already a tear in them after wearing only six times. The tear is located on the right pant leg in the area that Patagonia advertises as 'tough scuff guards'. I haven't even worn these through glades or challenging terrain yet as there isn't enough snow at my home mountain this early in the... Read More season. Pretty disappointed as my last snow pants lasted me 5 years and I thought I was buying a quality product with the same expectation if not more. I sized down and got a Small as I typically do with Patagonia gear.

November 16, 2018

Too Baggy

Good: Quality build and feel that you would expect from Patagonia. The length was perfect for someone in the 6' range. Bad: These pants are extremely baggy and the waist is larger than the sizing chart indicates even with the adjustable tabs. I was looking for a replacement for an older pair of Patagonia Slim Powder Bowl Pants and this is n... Read Moreot it. I will be returning these ski pants. Bring back a slim cut ski pant!

November 7, 2018

Great but LONG

Great pants, light, great side vent zippers but really long. I got a large, I am 5’10 about 200 LBS and they are quite long, even with my boots on. I have the same comment I have on the powder jacket, is Patagonia using basketball players as models? They could be shorten up by 3/4 inches. Other than that, great pants.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches