Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Switchback Sports Bra

Write Your Review

3.74 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Switchback Sports Bra

3.74
True To Size
May 29, 2020

Great Sports Bra

I really love this bra. I was a bit hesitant about the wide open back and it not staying in place during high output activities, but this is definitely one of my favorite sports bras that I own. I wear it for everything!

May 1, 2020

Great bra - not for running!

I love this bra for it's comfort and shape. It's really great for everyday wear. I would NOT wear it for running or even mountain biking. I'm a D cup and it is no where near the level of support I prefer for high impact activities. But it is great for yoga!

March 9, 2020

Nope

The chart said a medium would fit a 34d but the fit runs small. Also, I don't think this is for "medium impact", it really isn't doing much to hold. I've tried to like it due to its awesome design but I'm going to have to hold on to it and return it next time I'm in the city. Sad.

December 31, 2019

Great Except for the Tag

I really like the way this bra fit, and the design on the back is appealing as well! However, the tag on the inside is very itchy and I had to rip it out. I wish Patagonia would print their labels onto the fabric, at least for next-to-skin products. I think it does run a little bit small, but its not too bad! Otherwise, I've loved this sports ... Read Morebra; I wear it while hiking and climbing!

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2020

Hi Rachel, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the discomfort with the tag. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so it's much appreciate.

December 21, 2019

Fits well, great support for small ladies

Reading these reviews, I can tell designing bras is hard! I am petite (5'1", 125 lbs), 34A bra size, biggish lats from climbing, and generally have a really difficult time finding bras that fit. I ended up getting the size small in the Switchback. Most of the time, I cannot find bras small enough. In general, I find the Patagonia bras t... Read Moreo actually fit, and I've been buying bras from Patagonia for 13 years. The Switchback fits well for me, provides plenty of high-impact support without suffocating, and I like that the pads can be taken out (I usually do not wear the pads, but can see myself putting them back in based on the top I'm wearing). I use this primarily for running. Highly recommended for smaller ladies!

December 20, 2019

Sized up

I wear a 34A but sized up to a Medium because everyone mentioned these ran small. I definitely should not have gone a size up. The medium gives me a lot of movement. This bra does have a great shape, is well constructed, and will last a long time. I just wish I would have looked at the size chart.

December 16, 2019

Not for larger than a B cup.

I wanted to love this bra so much!! I'm a 32C++, 130 lbs, 5'7" for reference, Small or size 2 in everything. I ordered a Medium and feel like it's squeezing the girls to death, and pushing them out the top of the bra. No way could this be comfortable for anything I do. For a B cup or smaller, I think it would be PERFECT! The mat... Read Moreerial is amazing and I love the cut, just not the right style for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

We are sorry that the cut didn't work out for you in this. We'd suggest you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this to us and try out our [Wild Trails Sports Bra](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-wild-trails-sports-bra/32045.html?dwvar_32045_color=SPDO&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-5=&q=women's%2Bbra&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24) instead as this should have a different fit and some more coverage.

November 18, 2019

Comfortable and supportive

I find this bra to be true to its description- supportive enough for trail running for B size (but probably not for bigger). The straps are comfortable, and seem to put less stress on my neck than other crossback bras. I haven't tested it long enough to know if the stretchy straps will keep their elasticity in the long run, but for now its gre... Read Moreat. It will also make a nice stand in for a swim top when I run to a lake to swim. It could probably work well for other activities, but since mine fits snugly I'm only using it for running (but I think this is just a function of the fit for me).

November 17, 2019

Took the padding out; cup

Took the padding out; cup size a little smaller than I thought. Gives decent support for working out.

November 6, 2019

Really cute but had to

Really cute but had to return bc medium was too small. I am sm or extra sm in shirts but bras are tough bc of lg rib cage

November 3, 2019

Perfect and comfy for long

Perfect and comfy for long trail runs under a tank or longsleeve. Just wish the manufacturing label wasn't so big - it chafed on the first few runs and I ended up ripping it out.

November 1, 2019

Minimalist bra with recycled fabric

I own two of these bras in M (5'7", 140 lbs, 34B) and use them for all activities high or low impact - hiking, mountain biking, running, skiing etc. I am a fan of basic bras without a lot of bell and whistles and this one fits the bill - supportive but minimalist. I also appreciate the odor control treatment. My only complaint is that I d... Read Moreespise the removable pads that are in this sports bra (I also hate the removable pads in bathing suits). I immediately removed them because they are annoying - they make the bra much less quick drying and move around in unfortunate manners. I was returning other items in my order so I enclosed the removable pads, too. Hopefully Patagonia will reuse them and they won't go to waste. Maybe offer tops with or without the pads when you are ordering?

October 31, 2019

Works well enough

I was looking for a sports bra that has padding to hide my "headlights," but not to make my boobs look bigger, and this bra is great for that. The pads, however, fold up, move around when putting it on, so that kind of annoying. Also, it has started to pucker along the top seam in the middle of my chest (I'm guessing from stretching ... Read Morewhen putting it on and taking it off). Not the quality I would expect from Patagonia, but it does the trick for me.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

We appreciate your valuable feedback, Amanda! If you decide to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you.

October 17, 2019

switchback sports bra

I like the softness of the band and it is wide enough to not bind.

September 27, 2019

Great support

I wear a 34B size and for me this bra was perfect. I usually do weight lifting and box jumps and I feel wearing this piece I have the support that I need. Love the fabric!

September 23, 2019

Overall it gets the job

Overall it gets the job done for trail running. Nice support. Still not sure how I feel about the straps. They look cute but it hits the shoulder blades and takes some getting used to. I do like the fit of the band.

September 23, 2019

My favorite bra

I bought two of these and they are my everyday go to, not just for the gym. Comfortable fit.

September 22, 2019

Comfortable

It does the job without being too much of a bra. I like the look of the straps, too. I wish they were adjustable, or just a little longer for me, but the fit is still comfortable. I own three. This is my go-to workout/outdoor life bra.

September 20, 2019

Worth buying, but...

This bra is awesome in the cups, neck and shoulders-only complaint is that sometimes rides up or pinches in the sides/back area after long (and I mean loooooong) day of wear. Not enough to stop me from wearing it.

September 18, 2019

Great for everyday wear & running

I bought this bra to run in but love it so much that I mostly wear it for daily wear. I love that the back is minimal. I did just buy 2 more so that I can use them for running. I'm a 36/38 b/c cup and I find it supportive enough when I do wear it running. I even bought one for my sister-in-law and she reports that it worked great on her long r... Read Moreun.

September 18, 2019

happy

I often size down to ensure adequate support (34B) but went with Medium and am happy with the fit and support.

September 18, 2019

Supportive and comfy

I'm 32C and size S fits me perfectly.

September 12, 2019

Stylish, sporty, does the job !

Very comfortable bra for rowing and yoga; soft material! Bought one and then ordered another.

September 9, 2019

Terrible

I am an A/B 34. This bra gives barely enough support to go for a hike and I couldn’t even wear for yoga or a swim top because as soon as you bend over your boobs fall up and out of it.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2019

We're sorry to hear you are unsatisfied with the Switchback Sports Bra! You are welcome to return anything that doesn't work for you for a refund. To get started on a return, please visit our [Returns and Repairs page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 9, 2019

Great for running!

This is my 3rd switchback sports bra and definitely my favorite model for running and cross country skiing. It’s very comfortable, even for those hot weather longer runs.

September 8, 2019

Small

Im 5'6" 120.The medium size is much more what I would consider small. It was not just the circumpfrance but the band width too. The fabric and shape was cute.

September 6, 2019

Does the job very nicely

Does the job very nicely and extremely comfortable

September 6, 2019

Pads don’t stay in place

Pads don’t stay in place

September 5, 2019

Too tight!

I am a petite 5’3” and 125 pounds barely a B cup and the Switchback bra size medium way is too tight. Disappointing because otherwise comfortable and cute, will return the unopened one and buy something else.

Response from Patagonia
September 18, 2019

We're sorry this was too tight! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding our return process.

September 3, 2019

My favorite sports bra

I'm 5'6 127 pounds 34B/C. I wear the medium. This sports bra is super comfortable. I wear it for everything now,all my outdoor fun as well as work as I have a few. If its "super impact" like running, I'll wear another sports bra but otherwise this is the only one I wear for everything. I'm not a fan of bra's, espe... Read Morecially the little wire clasps closures and underwire, so I was happy I found this one that has become my "pseudo" bra. As the added bonus, I have a cast on my arm right now and its easy for me to put on and off.

August 28, 2019

I love it.

I bought this bra about a year ago and it has held up well. I'm 5'9, 160lb, and usually wear a Patagonia medium, so that's what I bought. Bust size 32D. I wear it all the time and just bought another on sale because I'm afraid I'd wear mine out! I see other reviewers said the elastic band around the ribcage didn't hold... Read More up well, but mine has. I probably wear this bra 4-5 times a week on runs, hikes, and bike rides, or working outside at my job. It is cute and supportive. The fit is snug and kind of flattens my boobs, but I like that in a sports bra- I'm able to run in it without bouncing around. The large would probably work for me as well, but I like the support of the medium. So, while it may not work for everyone it definitely works for me!

August 19, 2019

Great Sports Bra!

I love the sports bra. It gaps a little at the top on me, but it's super comfortable and so cute.

August 15, 2019

Sports Bra Review

Not nearly enough support for size DD, was very disappointed in the bra because I read reviews that seemed to indicate it was pretty supportive. Disappointing.

August 15, 2019

Keeps the girls in place - will repeat purchase for sure

Love this switchback sports bra. Not only does it keep the ladies in their place, but it switches up the potential chafing areas with the unusual strap orientation. I really love it and plan to buy another one!

August 12, 2019

Sports Bra

sports bra - I bought a M and the Size is true. I am 5'4 130 size B. If the straps were adjustable that would help with the fit being perfect. Great material moves with your body.

July 15, 2019

Nice design

The design looks great for this bra, but as mentioned by others the elastic doesnt seem to be robust. It has already started disintegrating after a couple of wears.

Response from Patagonia
July 18, 2019

We're sorry to hear the elastic has started to disintegrate. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

July 12, 2019

Supportive and flattering

I've only worn this once so far for a weight lifting workout. Will see how it holds up during a run but it felt very secure and made the girls look 👌

June 21, 2019

i flex a busted right outta this... sorta

I love my barley bra, and cross beta for climbing and yoga and wanted something with a little more support for running. The switch back seemed to fit the bill, but apparently not my lats. About half way over my shoulders something felt wrong... and as I pulled it all the way on the back of the elastic began to rip like i was the incredible hulk get... Read Moreting angry... The room went silent with the dreaded sound of new fabric tearing my best friend and I locked eyes... I was trapped. I tried to persevere through the colonial corset flashback this sports bra elicited and go run anyway. If there was a song for that run it would have been Last resort by Papa roach. You know it "Suffocation... no breathing." It didn't go great, it just wasn't meant to be. I am 5'4 125 a 36A and a small in all Patagonia clothing, I passed this poor lil guy beaten and tattered on to a friend a good size smaller than me who loves the thing, so there is also that :)

May 9, 2019

Well... I’ve had better

For several years I have had a variety of Patagonia sports bars in regular rotation. This one is not my favorite, the elastic band around the base of the bra rolls and as a result gets uncomfortable with wear.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the bra's elastic band. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you'd like to send that back for a refund.

May 9, 2019

Works great for me

I am an athletic 34B and the M fits me well for both low and high impact activities. The Switchback is comfortable - no digging into my shoulders and not excessively tight around the chest. I love the Polygiene as I have had other Patagonia bras that I loved and were still functional but I had to get rid of due to extreme odor. The crossback design... Read More is cooler and very comfortable. I am going to purchase another.

May 8, 2019

A new favorite!

Supportive and cute, I don't know what more I could ask for in a sports bra. I haven't purchased a bra from Patagonia in quite some time and this one is pure gold. Infinitely superior to their Active Mesh Bra that I was used to. Perfect for running and hiking. I normally wear a 34C and bought a small, its tight but I like it that way.

April 15, 2019

Runs small

I'm 5'3", 1/45 lbs, 36A typically a medium in Patagonia sizes. I found this bra difficult to put on and uncomfortably tight

April 14, 2019

New Style Doesn't Hold Up

I absolutely loved the style of the old switchback bra, with the straps that wrapped around from the back and fit into little claps in the front towards the bottom. I have five of those bras and they remain to be the only bra that fits my 28F chest and actually gives me real support. It was something special. This is just like every other sports br... Read Morea that offers no customization or increased tightness over time.

April 12, 2019

Cute design but not enough support

I did have a slight uniboob when I purchased and wore this bra. My complaint is the strap around the back - It's the same thickness as the straps that go over the shoulders. It's fine in the shoulders but more support is needed in the back. I LOVE the barely bra and returned this bra to get a second one of those.

March 9, 2019

Bras are no longer the sizes they used to be.

I bought this bra in Large as I have many times in the past.. Your bras are now made differently, THE SIZES ARE NO LONGER ACCURATE. You must have changed who you have produce these items.. I went up to a XL and it too fit terrible.. Not even comfortable any more..

March 8, 2019

Sizing Request!!

This bra is super. My only request is to add a "busty" version to each of your sizes and up the cup capacity in this size. For those with narrower chests but larger breasts, it's so hard to find the right size! I'm 5'6, 125lbs, and the medium is slightly big around the ribs, but slightly small in the cups. Thanks for your a... Read Morewesome clothing!

February 23, 2019

Straps are strangely placed

This bra gave me uniboob and flattened me out-- not really a big deal. The biggest issue though, is that the straps are very thick and cross right over my shoulder blades. Most cross-back bras don't do this, but this one crosses higher than most bras because of where the straps are sewn on the band. I don't have alot of back fat, but the ... Read Moreopen back style of this was just not flattering on me.

February 12, 2019

Wish I loved it more!

I REALLY REALLY wanted to love this bra but I've had poor experience with the odor control. I wouldn't consider myself a smelly lady and sweat an average during strenuous activities, but after a high cardio session, the bra is super sweaty and retains odor. I usually have to wash after wear--even if I let it dry out in an open space. Othe... Read Morer than that, the fabric is soft, the compression holds well, and the design look great!

December 11, 2018

Cute, Well-Made... runs large

I love this bra, & wear it day-to-day for casual activities like hiking and walking, but I do think it runs a bit big so I wouldn't wear it for high-impact activities. I love the cross straps and coverage in the front, but the cut and larger fit means I won't wear it for running. I'm 5'3", 123lbs, and a 34c; I ordered a... Read More small and will size down to XS next time for better support.

June 9, 2018

Perfect fit and support

I love this sports bra. I am a long-distance trail runner. I can run in this bra all day with no or very little chaffing. Support and fit is perfect- I am a 36B and 5'3" I bought a size M. Being 5'3",sometimes it difficult to find a sports bra that stays up- I often have to shorten the straps- not with this bra! I bought my firs... Read Moret one last fall and now I own several and it's the only bra I run in!

May 9, 2018

Love this! Great support and coverage.

I bought my first Switchback a few months ago and fell in love. I plan to keep buying this style and replace my old sports bras! The back is sassy and the front provides coverage and lift. I am a 36C in a size medium.

April 27, 2018

poor fit,poor functionality

I am 34 D,size medium. This bra provides pretty good coverage. The open pattern in the back is attractive. However,it makes a major uniboob and does not offer much support. The straps could probably be adjustable and this might provide a better fit. The material feels on the lower end of quality for a Patagonia product. I returned the product.

March 24, 2018

Excellent!

I wish I had bought five of these. I absolutely love this sports bra. Super comfy,very supportive; I'm a 34C and got a Medium and it fits perfectly. Use this for running and hiking I will definsee felt be buying this again and would highly recommend!

March 6, 2018

Can't be bothered to make a high-impact bra B-D+?

It's really disappointing that Patagonia can't be bothered to make a high-impact bra for anyone above a B cup. I'm a 34D and I got a medium. It's good for yoga...that's about it. I'd like to support environmentally responsible companies like Patagonia,but I guess I don't have that option when it comes to bras.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches