burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Barely Hipster Reviews

Write Your Review

3.1/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 107 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Hipster Underwear

3.1/5
Kinda Small
January 25, 2023

perfect fit!

These are the best underpants I own, use them for rowing, bike riding, gym workouts and everyday wear. No obvious lines under tights, yay Patagonia for making pants that fit small hips and butts!

January 23, 2023

Perfect!!!

I love these!!! Bought several! Wicks away sweat. Not stinky! I sleep in them and then get up and exercise in them (not with leggings but shorts). Great fit too. No pinching or rubbing. Very soft. No issues. Keep making them!!! Thank you!!!

January 18, 2023

Perfect Underpants

I am actually shocked at the poor reviews. This was my first time buying Patagonia undies (I bought these and the hipster) and I am thrilled at the decision. No unsightly lines, no riding up, no wedgies - no matter what Im doing or wearing. I have a straight/lean figure. I think part of the issue is that underpants need to be fit for different figu... Read Moreres, perhaps, because that will factor into how the garment moves when worn. For me, this design is perfect; I would not change a thing! Perhaps expanding the line based on product testing with different body types might make more people happy? Having 2-3 different cut options might go a long way. Anyway, thanks Patagonia!

January 10, 2023

Comfortable all around underwear

I wear this and can go from work to gym. Very comfortable. I see myself getting many more pairs.

January 8, 2023

Only underwear I wear

Seriously, only brand of underwear I've bought for 10+ years. They are super comfortable, stay in place, last for years. Why change?:)

January 1, 2023

Super comfy

No seams make them very comfortable. Despite that they are not cotton, they are not sweaty at all.

November 8, 2022

Great fit

I am very happy with how these fit. Comfy and great for anytime wear.

October 24, 2022

tag inside is long and irritating

I didn't pay much attention to the tag inside when I tried them on in a store because I had my own underwear on underneath. When I first wore them at home, I noticed that the tag was very long and was made from a plastic product that stuck to the skin. The panty would move but the tag wouldn't and it caused an unsightly bulge. I tried cut... Read Moreting off the tag as close to the seam as possible, but then the sharp edge of the plastic scraped my skin every time that I moved. I want desperately for you to understand that panties shouldn't have anything extra inside. Patagonia and the size are already printed on the fabric, so the rest of the information should also be printed on the fabric for maximum comfort. I purchased these at an REI store and I'm not sure if they're returnable because I cut off the inside tags.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2022

Hi Barbara! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the irritation that the tag caused. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 21, 2022

Please bring back the old 'barely there' style

I'm regularly a size 6/small, but a size L in this is too tight! Please bring back the old 'barely there' style. No one needs tight elastic around their legs and waist. These are not an upgrade, they are so uncomfortable! I love Patagonia and am a loyal fan, but this one doesn't work.

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Beth. Our product designers pay attention to customer reviews when making revisions for future products. We're so sorry the elastic in this style isn't working for you! We will reach out to you about [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) options.

September 14, 2022

Disappointed

Like many others have stated, these simply are not the same. I had some that were several years old that finally needed to be replaced. This newer style is not nearly as comfortable and they also ride up terribly! I bought 1 pair and I hardly ever wear them. So disappointed as these used to be my go to underwear. They were the best. I will say, the... Read More active version is better. It doesn't ride up as much but they are simply not what they used to be. If the old style came back, I would buy several pairs

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hi Sarah, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the Barely Hipster Underwear. We want you to feel comfortable and since this item is not working out, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

September 11, 2022

Perfect

Perfect! Work on a 5 day hike on Salkantay trail to Machu Picchu. No wedgies. YAY! Fast drying.

September 2, 2022

Please make a cotton underwear

Would love to buy some Patagonia underwear that were developed with a Gynecologist. I have all patagonia underwear, but need to switch to a healthier cotton underwear per vagina health. But, I really like the way your underwear fit and do not show through pants.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2022

Thank you for sharing these thoughts, Caressa. That's an excellent point. We appreciate your feedback, and we'll share it with our product team.

August 29, 2022

So comfortable, the best undies ever!

These are so soft , comfortable and breathable. I live in an extremely humid climate and work as a bartender. These are perfect for work and everyday. Absolutely loves these!

August 24, 2022

Another vote for the old fit

I echo the sentiments of others who miss the old fit. I loved all of Patagonia's Barely undies and bras and fortunately I had stocked up some years ago. I purchased more in the last year and the fit was intolerable in that they ride up to the point that I want instantly out of them and the barely bras just are uncomfortable or don't hold ... Read Morewell. The sports bra feels now heavier and tighter (no, I didn't gain weight since) and the lighter bra just doesn't hold well enough that it was awkward to wear.

August 19, 2022

Ugly

Very unattractive product, no shape, no nothing, ugly

August 18, 2022

Too loose around the legs

I despise underwear that rides up and these do that in the first few steps of walking. At least the pair that I got. I did like the feel and lightness of the material though. Had to return them.

August 11, 2022

Was really hoping but its not

I have Patagonia underwear from about 6 years ago that I LOVE. I was hoping these would be the same but they seem to be cut a bit different. Tend to ride up a bit. Not sure a larger size will fix that. I am 5 ft 2 in and 110 lbs. Small should work. My old ones are size small. Material is great and like the color. Also the east tip off tags are grea... Read Moret (noticed a lot of reviews about the tags- guess people dont know they tear away).

July 26, 2022

Great, but inconsistent sizing and bad colors

I love all of Patagonia's women's underwear. Unfortunately the sizes are not consistent. I have the Barely Hipster in a M that fits, then 2 pairs of L and only 1 fit. Additionally, Patagonia has not updated their underwear colors/patterns in years and nearly half of them are ugly. Who wants brown underpants?! Patagonia, please please upda... Read Morete colors and patterns!

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about this sizing inconsistency in our Women's Barely Hipster. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 6, 2022

These used to be my favorite underwear, but

I bought a batch of these back in 2014 for a backpacking trip in Iceland. They have been my favorite underwear since. No matter the activity, be it hiking, skiing, rock climbing, sailing, or doing high intensity interval training (hello lunges!) - these panties stayed put! I forgot I was even wearing them. But this new design? Terrible. Instant wed... Read Moregie. I first ordered my recommended size, XS, and went for a modest hike. The panties kept riding up and I found myself having to adjust them every few steps. It was not an enjoyable hike. As suggested by Patagonia in response to a previous review, I sized up and got another pair in size S. This only made the problem worse. Im quite disappointed as I was looking forward to stocking up on my favorite underwear. Patagonia, if youre listening, please, please bring back the old design. It really was the perfect underwear.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear that the revision has taken us a step backward for the Women's Barely Hipster. We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 4, 2022

Love the Barely line

I love the entire Barely line. I have the Barely thongs, Barely Bikinis and Barely Hipsters and they are my favorite underwear no matter what Im doing. They dont get sweaty and stay in place. They are true to size and dont show huge panty lines under your clothes.

May 1, 2022

Bring the old design back!

I spent hundreds of dollars on the old design of these undies as they were the best underwear, anywhere, ever! I couldn't tell I was wearing them and could do any activity in the without them budging. The newer design is overall smaller and gives me a wedgie 150% of the time. Please bring back full coverage!! We have booties!

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2022

Hi Shelby, thank you for this feedback. We're sorry to hear this revised model was a disappointment! The current cut does have a smaller profile than the previous model, so some customers find going a size larger works for them. You might also check out the [Women's Active Hipster](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-hipster-underwear/32410.html?dwvar_32410_color=SSWA&cgid=womens-socks-underwear), which is cut with a little more coverage and stretch, and should be less prone to wedgies. In the meantime, you can absolutely return the pair you have. Please just launder them if they've been worn, and reach out to our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 and they'll be happy to help.

April 5, 2022

Missing the old design

I fell in love with Patagonia underwear Winter 2017, right before the redesign. I've been hoping they return to the style I fell in love with so long ago. Every spring a purchase a few just hoping they are better but they continue to ride up giving me wedgies and fall down on the sides. I honestly want to know what body type works for this pro... Read Moreduct and meet the designers. What's the reason a product went from perfection, to let me pull this out of my butt multiple times a day. I can live with the new fabric and the addition of tags but the design continues to miss the mark on comfort. If you need someone to test new designs give me a call. I've also taken the suggestion to buy a size bigger and that just adds more fabric to the problem.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2022

We appreciate the feedback Leslie and are sorry to hear that these underwear are not living up to what they once were. The good news is that our designers do look to reviews for ways to improve on current designs, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. If you'd like to give the underwear a wash, you're welcome to send them in for a credit. To begin the return process click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2022

Super comfortable, great fit

These are so nice! Material is super soft and stretchy, but also durable. Great fit, I want to wear them everyday!

March 30, 2022

So soft

This is the best pair of underware I've ever had. Super soft, comfy and still feels sexy. To the people who had a hard time removing the giant stack of tags, it's actually really quick to take off. Look closely and you will see a thinner thread sown on separately only along the tags. With a pair of manicure scissors or seam ripper it take... Read Mores on two minutes and there s no damage done to the underware.

March 20, 2022

Like it

Breathability is exactly what I was looking for. But please: do something about those tags.

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Lynn! If you're having any trouble removing the irritating tags, we recommend reaching out to your local Patagonia dealer or check this [tag removal guide](https://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Clothing-Labels). Please contact our Customer Service team if you have any additional questions!

March 17, 2022

Not the same brief

I have been purchasing these underwear for over 10 years and they were the most comfortable panties that did not ride up or move around under my clothing. However, something changed. The fabric is thicker and the fit is completely different. They ride up on the butt cheeks and down on the hips. It is not the size but the new design. I am so sad bec... Read Moreause no one ever made a pantie that was quite as comfortable and I have purchased many different brands.

March 4, 2022

So that tag

I've had patagonia underwear before and never had a tag issue. This product arrived with a three inch long tag that was four layers thick. Cutting it out leaves a thick tag at the seam and since the tag is sown in as part of the seam you either have to leave the tag end in (and it is thick/somewhat sharp) OR you end up wrecking the seam.

February 1, 2022

Very comfortable and stay put!

I love Patagonia underwear, they are comfortable and Inever have to worry about them riding up! I also love all of the colors.

January 17, 2022

Adventure Panties That Feel Sexy

They feel great when you're on the move! They look sporty sexy!

January 12, 2022

No fabric tag, please.

The fit and feel are great. However, the fabric tag sewn onto the back waistband is unnecessary and scratchy. Ive tried to cut it off as much as possible without cutting into the fabric. You already have the info stamped onto the back fabric, as all other companies do without the addition of the scratchy tag. Perhaps you could consider not sewing o... Read Moren the extra tag.

January 2, 2022

Favorites

These are my go to undies. The feel invisible!

December 14, 2021

Every day essential

I have been wearing this product every day for the past 5 years ( I have many pairs) I dont like to wear any other underwear. The are comfortable, they stay in place, they dry quickly

December 11, 2021

My favorite

These undies have a no nonsense fit. They are my go to.

December 2, 2021

Poor Quality Fabric and Uncomfortable Cut

I have been wearing these same brand/style of underwear for years and loved them. I bought 4 new pairs just recently and assumed they would be the same great fabric and fit. They arent. The fabric feels much less soft and very thin. So thin that I question if these underwear will last very long, something you expect if you pay $20 for a pair of... Read More underwear. The cut also seems different. I went rock climbing in them and found myself with a constant wedgie. Not good. What happened, Patagonia? I loved these! Please make them good again!

November 7, 2021

Comfortable and easy wash

Comfortable in wash so easily and dry quickly. They were first to travel now I bought for every day.

November 6, 2021

Perfect undies

Love the fit- undies of choice for 4+ years. Best for travel-quick hand wash and dry- even if hung in -25 below tent for a few hours then in foot of bag- no issues

September 23, 2021

Nice fit.

Definitely worth the money. May change future underwear purchases from here on out.

September 19, 2021

Wedgie alert

I love the fabric but somehow I had a wedgie all day. Maybe its me but this didnt happen with my other undies from Patagonia.

August 25, 2021

This is not my 1st rodeo but My 3rd order

As I got into hiking in 2016 I watched other videos and got another pair of exercise underwear. They were ok until they started stretching out. I had bought the Patagonia bra which I loved. Then ordered another bra as I started running too. The origin bra had changed and at 1st I didnt like it. But now love love them. And decided to order the under... Read Morewear. Love love love them. My daughter asked for more exercise bras so I also bought her the underwear too. Great products!

June 22, 2021

Great pair!

These are so good, I did recommend to a friend! I wash them in cold and hang dry.

June 3, 2021

Mourning the loss of what use to be the best underwear

I have been buying Patagonia underwear for probably 25 years. They had always been the best - nothing could compare. I usually purchase 5-10 pair every couple years, and not because the fabric failed, it was usually just the stitching after 4-5 years of use. Last month I purchased 4 pair (would have bought more, but they were out of style/size colo... Read Morer). The first time (and last time) I wore my new pair was at my son's baseball game, they initially felt like all of the 100+ pairs I've purchased over the years...then about two hours into the game they started to slip down, I had to run to the park bathroom and pull them up...which happened at least 5 times during the game. After the game we walked to the parking lot that was approx 1/2 mile from the field. Within minutes they started to slip down. I tried to pull them up, but I had multiple gear bags, and stadium chair in my hands. They slipped all the way down under my bum, bunching at my lower thigh....and the only thing that kept them from slipping to my feet was the inseam of my sweatpants. I was so embarrassed...my 11 and 13 year old boys were mortified. I'm truly saddened that Patagonia changed their underwear.

June 1, 2021

Great underwear

They fit well and are durable

May 7, 2021

Soft on the skin

I was looking for a comfortable panty. I chose a size to big for me, but the fabric is wonderfully soft. The narrow band at the top did not stay flat and created a pressure point around my body. I have since ordered a different style with a wider band and in a correct size for me. I love it.

April 19, 2021

I wear these every day

I have been buying this style from Patagonia for 10 years now and just love them. The material seems a little bit thicker than the ones I bought in 2016 and probably are made with more recycled material than the previous ones I purchased. I love the feeling of the seamless leg and waist areas and will buy these again, next time I need some (probabl... Read Morey at least another 5 years from now!). I have tried other brands on occasion and have found the waistband on other brands are not as comfortable. Thanks for making such great products all these years.

April 7, 2021

The Perfect Panty!

Love these panties! Lightweight, good wicking, invisible panty lines, barely know I'm wearing anything. Dry super fast so would be perfect for backpacking.

April 1, 2021

Great panty except for the tags

The fabric, style, fit, and value are all great. Love the company's ethics. Sadly, I cannot tolerate the tags--even with as much as possible cut off, I have to fold over the top seam to avoid irritation.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

We're so sorry to hear about the tags! Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we'll pass the word along to our design team. If you find you'd ultimately like to do a return, give them a good wash beforehand and start [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2021

Bring back the old fabric!

This has been my go-to underwear for years, but most of my collection was purchased many years ago in the old fabric composition. I recently purchased a few new pairs and they pale in comparison. The old fabric felt like nothing (in a good way), never gave me wedgies, and I love the quick-drying fabric. The new fabric fits smaller and rides up cons... Read Moretantly. It looks deceptively similar but does not perform as well!

March 16, 2021

The best underwear!!

These are the best pairs of underwear I have ever owned! They are definitely worth the price. I bought them right before a week-long backpacking trip and they were amazing, so much more comfortable than cotton underwear especially when you're active! I absolutely recommend buying them!

March 16, 2021

Horrible fit; bring back old style

I have bought these underwear for years, so ignored the negative reviews about the change in cut and thought theyd fit great like my old ones. Not so, these are horrible! Theres so much less coverage in the rear that they ride up constantly. Bring the old version back, please.

February 22, 2021

too low rise

I bought these bc the fabric is wonderful. I have an older pair (from 2014) where the rise is higher. These cut across my stomach so are not so comfortable. It is disappointing because the are pretty and the fabric is still really nice. Had to send the ones I didn't try on back.

February 15, 2021

Exceptional

Best undies ever! Cant fell them on you stay in place all day long.

February 11, 2021

Grief Stricken

Patagonia, why? Why would you take something so perfect and alter it out of all recognition? The old version was perfect in every way: stayed put, dried fast for travel and held up through multiple washings. Having read the reviews, I tried many other brands that claimed to "stay put" but nothing was as good as my old Patagonia favorites... Read More. So I bit the bullet, crossed my fingers, and hoped that the negative reviewers were a different body type or used to something different. Nope. This new versions is a full inch shorter in back from the top of waistband to crotch, half an inch lower in front and an inch narrower in the hips. The leg holes are cut in such a way to give a more "cheeky" fit, which on me equals, "instant wedgy" the minute I move. The size is still an okay fit, but is way less flattering, rides up constantly and just makes me sad. Since you can't really judge underwear until you wash them and wear them at least once as a "test drive" I am literally going to grin and wear it until I can find a new solution. Anybody out there have suggestions?

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

We're really sorry to hear that the newest iteration of our Women's Barely Hipster Underwear are not living up to what they once were. Luckily, our customer reviews are one of the many ways that we improve our designs so we appreciate this feedback. With that said, if you give them a good wash beforehand, you're absolutely welcome to [send them back in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 26, 2021

fabric change made a huge, sad difference

These used to be the best underwear ever, seamless lightweight and stayed put. Then Patagonia changed the fabric (more nylon version) and they just don't hold up, literally and figuratively. Sad

January 24, 2021

Super disappointing

These used to be the greatest pantie of all time. It fit perfectly, the fabric was soft and wicking, the elastic was strong but not too tight. Now the underwear doesn't stay up, the elastic around the leg is too tight and the fabric is not soft and doesn't wick well. What have you done to your underwear? It is completely different, cheapl... Read Morey made and cheap fabric. I just can't imagine how you have turned such a great pair of underwear into a sub par pantie?! I will not be wearing these, buying these or recommending these. Patagonia is a great company but you have missed the mark on these. Its a shame.

January 19, 2021

Barely hipster underwear.

I was expecting these to fit the same as a previous pair I had purchased. They didnt They were more skimpy.

January 17, 2021

Did not budge!

No panty lines and they stayed put for 11 miles!

January 14, 2021

They've changed the cut!

I have been wearing these for years but the ones I bought last year are unwearable! I compared measurements and the new ones are a full 6" shorter in the back than the old ones. The new ones can be laid flat on a surface for measuring but the old style has curve built in that makes it impossible to smooth them out completely flat. I think this... Read More is why the new ones are receiving so many complaints. Patagonia saved some money but they are losing customers.

December 19, 2020

Design changed, huge disappointment

Man I am so devastated over this! Patagonia underwear is the only underwear I've worn, 24/7 for 10 years +. Their products have always been so amazing that I only have to buy new ones like every 5-10 years! I bought 3 pairs of these underwear replacing some of my old pairs and they are horrible (bought the same exact style in the past)!! They ... Read Morecompletely changed the cut of these and I can't wear them at all. They now fall like midway on your butt cheek instead of full coverage, and it feels like a persistent wedgie PLUS riding up in the front as well. I can't understand at all why they would have changed the design to this cut. For active people this is the opposite of what we need, I hate when companies take a great formula and mess it up!

December 8, 2020

Really Impressed

I was a little nervous to purchase my first Patagonia undies because of the mixed reviews, but I went ahead and got a few pairs of the Barely Hipsters and a few of the Active Briefs. Both have been exactly what I was hoping for! I love wearing the Barely's pretty much every day, for everything. They are super comfy. They look really small, but... Read More when I put them on they are perfectly soft and stretchy. They don't show too much under my pants, and they stay in place surprisingly well. The Active Briefs are perfect for when I want extra coverage and stay-power for when I am doing something super active or just want the extra support. The Active Briefs do show a line under tighter pants, but they are great under my Baggies. I have been wearing them now for several months, and they are held up really well. I wash mine on cool and air dry them, and they are still just like new. Highly recommend both!

November 21, 2020

Ridiculously comfortable, if you buy large enough

I typically wear a 4/6 in pants or medium in underwear, but bought a large pair of these underwear after reading the reviews that they run small. The large is perfect. This is the most comfortable pair of underwear I have ever owned, due to the lack of seams. Somehow they stay put- it's magic. I just bought four more pair- it's going to b... Read Moree hard to wear my other undies now.

November 18, 2020

Don't bother

Please bring back the rose diamond pattern from 2015. These ride up, and don't fit over the entire rear. Why Patagonia changed the style 5 years ago I'll never understand. There are so many women that have requested the old style be brought back. These are terrible.

November 16, 2020

Fit is weird-- more like boy shorts

They ride up because they don't "cup" your butt. I loved the underwear made in Israel. The Sri Lanka sewn underwear seems less well constructed and definitely less well fitting. A real disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Hello Dianne, we're truly sorry about the disappointment with the fit. These underwear were redesigned in the Spring of 2018 and went from a 94% polyester (73% recycled) with 6% spandex fabric to an 89% nylon (66% recycled) with 11% spandex fabric. We also added a bit more room to the leg opening so this could also be why they are riding up. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to the Design Team.

November 10, 2020

ditch the label

I love Patagonia underwear. It fits well and breathes well and dries quickly when I hand wash it. However, I HATE the sewn in labels and wish Patagonia would use a label printed on the fabric. The labels are really irritating on my skin, and even when I cut them off, a small piece remains, which is still irritating to my skin. Also, as careful as I... Read More am when I cut them off, I have cut a hole in the fabric multiple times. Please switch to a printed label!

October 29, 2020

Wasted money

I love the old barely hipsters. This new model is a disappointment and waste of money. Fortunately I only bought one pair after reading other reviews. The problem is that they ride up in the back because the back bottom seam fits too loosely-- much too loosely. Bring back the old model, or at least make it available as an alternative.

August 28, 2020

Coverage

Love these! Awesome wicking! Fit might be be a 1/2 size large and for myself not enough coverage on the backside.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on our Patagonia Women's Barely Hipster Underwear. If you're interested in a pair of underwear with a little bit more coverage please feel free to check out our [Women's Active Briefs](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-briefs-underwear/32396.html?dwvar_32396_color=BLK&cgid=womens-socks-underwear).

July 23, 2020

Love the fit

This is a daily use underwear for me. I have the previous diamond patterned Barely Hipster also and the current style is a better fit for me, but I'm rotating both through the week. I'm lean and have narrow hips, and this undie wears well under my tights, yoga pants, and thin office pants without any panty lines! Need to buy more colors, ... Read Moreand looking forward to taking them with me when we can safely start traveling again!

July 23, 2020

Sadly disappointing

I must agree with other reviewers who complain about decline in product quality. And for the same reason: there's inadequate backside coverage. Sadly disappointing, as two earlier versions were very good indeed. I will not be purchasing underwear from Patagonia again.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hi Liz, we're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with this new design's cut and quality. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

June 21, 2020

Perfect Active Undies!

These aren't my daily undies, but they are my go to for anything active - all day hiking, backpacking, river trips, etc. They stay put, wash and dry well and last for years! Love these!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Active Undies!

These aren't my daily undies, but they are my go to for anything active - all day hiking, backpacking, river trips, etc. They stay put, wash and dry well and last for years! Love these!

May 15, 2020

Not All Colors Are Cut the Same

I know this year's hipster is getting lots of mixed reviews. While I am a fan of the diamond etched hipsters I bought the rose-colored version of this season's underwear as well as a black pair. I loved the rose-colored one and it fits just the same as my diamond-patterned one. Because everyone is quarantined, by the time I wore my black ... Read Moreone I figured I just gained some added butt. Turns out, when comparing the black hipster to the barely bikini that I have - the cut is identical. I can't vouch for the other colors, but the black is not hipster cut. It's bikini cut, and perhaps it's a factory error or a one-off. I'm not sure. The rose fits as expected, covers my bottom and doesn't ride up at all whatsoever. For reference Im 5'7" 135lbs and bought a size small.

February 23, 2020

Pretty please bring back the old style

Please go back to Cut: 190069 Style: 32355 Fall 2014 They were perfect- the best! The new style is not nearly close. I will buy many more if you do!

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hello, thanks so much for your feedback! We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with this design. We've passed your message along to the appropriate team. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

February 10, 2020

Not as good as they used to be...sorry!

I have loved the Patagonia women’s underwear and have worn them for the past 15 years. I bought a bunch about ten years ago at a time when they were made in Israel. The material was nicer (stretchier and longer lasting), and they fit better. The new ones cinch up on my derrière, and they are tighter around the leg holes. The new material is not as ... Read Moresoft or stretchy. Please, Patagonia, go back to the other ones!!! I really can’t buy any more of these the way they are...

February 6, 2020

The dreaded wedgie is real!

I decided not to heed the other reviewers who said this version of the undies didn't measure up, and try them myself (because I wanted to love them just as much as my older pairs, and need a few more for my PCT trip this year). Within the first 10 minutes of a 10 mile hike the back of the undies were annoyingly sliding across my butt cheek int... Read Moreo a wedgie position, not staying put like the old version. I was keenly aware of my underwear for all 3.5 hours of my hike :( I won't be wearing them for hiking or anything active going forward which sucks!

December 19, 2019

Great for running

Just took a pair on their first run, wondering how they'd perform. Would they ride up? get damp and cold? be otherwise annoying? After reading all the reviews pining for a prior version of this underwear, I was hesitant about this purchase. No longer! I am delighted to report that within a few strides I forgot all about my underwear. It was on... Read Morely after logging my miles and heading for the shower that remembered that today had been a 'test run'! The hipster style stayed in place and remained dry; so dry in fact, that one could keep on wearing them even after a sweaty run (but no one does that, right? ;).

November 24, 2019

Fit has changed

I loved the version of this underwear Patagonia made a few years ago. I purchased again recently and the fit has changed...it doesn’t quite have the same amount of coverage on the butt. I wish it had a little more coverage. I confirmed it was the same size and type of Patagonia I purchased before. I still have those older pairs of underwear, and th... Read Moreey are my go-to for exercise, work, and casual.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

Hi Kathleen, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the revisions. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 17, 2019

Bring back old version!

I think it's safe to say I'm an expert on these undies because they have been the only ones I have worn for at least five years. The ones I got in 2015 were made in Israel. Those were the best. Then they started making them in Brazil. The insane way they started sewing in the long scratchy tags so you have to cut them out drove me bonkers... Read More, but at least the Brazil ones were still the same fit and pretty good. I was still willing to pay the steep $22 for them. But trust me, if you have any kind of a derriere (and I'm just a medium but athletic derriere), these latest panties -- now made in Sri Lanka -- will ride up your cheeks and the material feels cheaper and rougher. Maybe if you have no butt at all these will work. That's the only way I can understand how others say they fit. I can't buy these any more and I am SO disappointed because I love Patagonia as a company and feel good shopping there because of their eco-attitude. Please hear my howl to bring back the earlier model -- particularly the one without the sewed-in tags!

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Mary, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hipsters. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 9, 2019

Nice fabric

I am going to try a size up. I wear a size medium pant, so that is what I ordered. I think I need a size large to get better coverage. I do like the style so will try again.

November 5, 2019

perfect fit

When I saw the bad reviews for these, I ordered just a couple pairs to try them out. They're awesome: fit perfect and are comfortable - and I've since ordered several more. Not sure what sort of heaven the old style must have been for folks to be so upset, but these are the best underwear I've worn. And the sugar on top is that they&... Read More#x27;re Patagonia-quality, and I won't have to buy new underwear for awhile!

November 5, 2019

best undies ever

i love this pair of undies, the are the most comfy and well-fitted pair i've had in a long time. sadly, the price point is prohibitive of enjoying multiples.

November 4, 2019

Annoying Tag...

There didn't used to be tags on the underwear, however the 2 pairs I recently purchased has large white instruction tags sewn in to the seam of the underwear - it was a pain to remove the large itchy tag (I now have a hole in one of them from trying to remove the seam that was holding the huge tag in place). I recommend going back to whatever... Read More method was used to communicate whatever is on that tag (does anyone even read them?) before and not sewing in that huge thing in to the seam of the underwear.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Thanks for your review, Meredith! We're sorry to hear the tag has caused you some discomfort. We're always redesigning our products based on many factors (including customer feedback), so this helps us immensely. Please note you can [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them as soon as possible if you find that they're not working out even after removing the tag.

October 28, 2019

Nice soft undies

So comfy and last forever. I know other reviewers say they don't like the thinner fabric but I do, nice and soft and light and if its more ecofriendly than all the better

October 24, 2019

Bring back the previous cut!

The new barely hipster cut is smaller and constantly rides up. I even tried sizing up but these still don’t fit as well as the previous cut. The previous geo cut was my go-to everyday undie, great fit and stayed in place. This new cut is really disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Melissa! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the cut. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 27, 2019

Great fit

Very happy with the size and fit of the underwear. Saw many complaints that they aren't as good as the old ones, but I like them both. Nice variety.

September 3, 2019

Rising up my cheeks

Nothing to keep them rising, they need something to prevent it, I’m returning them.

August 31, 2019

So much worth spending $

So much worth spending $ on quality

August 26, 2019

Excellent size great workmanship

This 55 is the perfect size for a couple days travel. Workmanship is solid. Love the colors.

June 19, 2019

Please bring back the old cut

When I first tried the Barely HIpster, they immediately became the only underwear I can tolerate. They are so soft and they handle all my little disasters. Then you changed the cut. This happened when the pattern went from diamond to floral. There is less coverage in the seat. I still need these for the amazing fabric, but the smaller seat makes th... Read Moreem less comfy and also creates lines under clothes that should not be there. When they cover your whole seat, the (already very subtle) line disappears. Please, please, please bring back the old seat. All other undies are inferior and I want my dream undies back. It was such a short shining time in my life. Thanks for listening! (P.S. To the gal who doesn't like the tag--I just tear them out. But yes, tagless would be better.) (P.P.S. I did not check the radio button for running because I don't run so I don't know, but I imagine they're fine for that too.)

May 8, 2019

Miss the old days

These are not as beefy or sturdy as they were a few years ago. The fabric feels flimsy as it will not hold up over time. I will be searching for another brand.

May 8, 2019

Change the tag, and it would be almost perfect.

I like the Patagonia underwear a lot. But the one thing I don't like is the scratchy, sewn-in tag at the back. If you could do away with that and, instead, simply print the tag information directly on the fabric, that would be a big improvement for me. I cut the tag out but there's no way to cut the entire thing out without cutting the st... Read Moreitching that holds the garment together.

April 12, 2019

Bring back the previous cut and fabric

Like the other reviewers, I am a big fan of the old geo fabric and fit. They are perfect - great for exercising and every day. Thie new fabric is rough, and the fit isn’t good. If they aren’t riding up, they are falling down! Really dislike the new ones.

April 3, 2019

Go back to the old style

This new fabric/ cut doesn't even compare to the old one. The original material was heaven and this material doesn't feel nice next to skin and doesn't fit the same.

March 26, 2019

Very disappointed. Not the old design.

I bought about 10 pairs from Patagonia in 2015-16. Now I want to replace them. I read the reviews and thought Nah maybe they are wrong. I bought 6 pairs from REI and I'm returning 5 bc I wore 1 pair and threw them away. These do not cover the entire rear like the old design. On top of that, they slide up and do not stay in place. I guess I&#x... Read More27;ll continue to wear the old ones (which were PERFECT!!) until I find a substitute. Patagonia, please, please bring the old design back and email me when this happens. Until then, don't waste your money. The other reviews are truthful.

March 9, 2019

why change (fix) something that is not broken?

I only wear Patagonia under garment and have done so for many years. My favorite, is the hipster, I don't notice that I have them on, because they are lighteweight and soft. They stay in place, they pack nicely for trips and after hand handwashing them on the go, dry quickly. Underwear is a very personal thing and finding the perfect underwear... Read More is often times a lengthy and costly process. When I discovered these perfect underwear many years ago, I new that my search was over and many times I just purchased the exact same style when it was time to replace worn-out ones. The last couple of new underwear have been a great disappointment, the fit is totally off and the fabric feels like the first polyester way back when it was first used for clothing. I and I am sure, so many other woman would like to see the original style come back, not another altered version but the exact same style.

February 11, 2019

Old style please!!

I have to agree with so many others—I loved and relied on the old style hipster. I’m a guide in remote Alaska. Based on how well the old style worked, I bought 5 more pairs. Totally different fit and design. Not at all what I need.

January 17, 2019

BRING BACK OLD STYLE - THEY WERE THE BEST

Bring back the old style please! They were brilliant for many reasons. Why mess with perfection?

January 15, 2019

Mrs.

Barely Bikini Underwear: The new fabric is terrible compared to previous fabric. The fit is different and it is stiff, scratchy and nothing like the silky, soft previous material. I wish you would not have changed what was the only underwear I bought. Sorry to have to search on for that perfect fabric.

November 7, 2018

Oh Patagonia, what have you done!

I didn't want to believe that Patagonia could mess up a design that has been so spectacular for so long. I read the reviews and even talked to a product expert before ordering. I knew I would have to size up, but neither the sizing nor the big tag were at issue. The design is dreadful, unless you enjoy underwear that sits atop your bottom chee... Read Morek, like a pair of fancy french panties. The problem is, I want my Patagonia undies to go with me everyday, whether I'm working or exercising. I want them to stay put, regardless of activity, and to never show a panty line. This design is so wrong on so many levels. Here's the challenge ladies, Patagonia says they don't plan to "fix" the design until the Spring of 2020. Thus, if you're like me and have a nice quiver of Barely Hipster's, protect them. Hand wash them and save them if you must.. search the internet for retailers that still have the old style. For Patagonia, this is an urgent matter and one that deserves your best operational team... please bring back the old Barely design as soon as possible, and please never let your young fashionistas take over underwear design again!

October 24, 2018

Seriously My Favorite Undies

I honestly have gotten rid of all of my other underwear and have switched to wearing these everyday. I absolutely love them.

October 21, 2018

Bring back the old geo design

Wow...I absolutely LOVED these undies before the new design/print/fabric. Loved them so much so that I bought 3 new pairs from a Patagonia store while on vacation. How disappointing! I bought the same size and they DO NOT fit the same at all. They are so uncomfortable that I might as well just toss them out. What a waste of money. Please stop chang... Read Moreing a good thing when you have one.

October 8, 2018

Bring Back Old Design

I recently bought the barely hipster in the new design from REI and immediately returned them. The old design always stayed in place and the new design rides up. When I compared the two there was no elastic in the legs of the new design. I have over 20 from previous years and will sadly have to look for another brand. Bring back the old.

August 31, 2018

Favorite Everyday Panty!

I seriously own 10 pairs of these. Once I started wearing Patagonia underwear I never looked back. Super comfortable and durable. Would have been 5 stars, but there's a HUGE issue is with the tag- make sure to cut it out fully to avoid constant annoying rubbing.

June 24, 2018

The enemy of good is not always great

Had to throw away my new and expensive barely bikini and barely hipster: indecent exposure in the front and inadequate won't-stay-put coverage in the back. Can't size up or down since the issue is with the apparently new cut/style/material. Had planned to try the briefs but now I'm afraid to do so in case Patagonia changed that too.

May 22, 2018

Bring Back Old Design!

Please revert to the old design! I absolutely RAVE over my patagonia undies to all of my lady friends-I just bought a new pair today and the cut of these is VERY different. Skimpy on the booty and lower cut. PLEASE BRING BACK OLD DESIGN! These just don't fit well,I constantly have a wedgie. Lame sauce. Please help us out Patagonia.

May 16, 2018

Bring back the old!

I agree with the other reviewers,with the new cut (lower on top,skimpier on the bottom) I might as well shop at Victoria's Secret. Another vote to bring back the old please!

April 5, 2018

Why the change?

I own over 20 pair of the hipsters,bought over the last several years. Patagonia has clearly restyled the hipster and the fit is now poor,including a much lower cut. I'm hoping sizing up from S to M will fix the problem but I don't have high hopes. Too bad they went and changed what worked so well.

March 18, 2018

New Design is Awful

I generally loved the prior designs from Patagonia,but this new design is not at all up to your quality standards. These do not stay put on a run or hike. Please please please go back to last year's design. For those of us outdoor gals we depend on your stay put designs.

February 27, 2018

Not my favorite

These just don't compare to the active hipster. The fit & cut are extremely different.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches