Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Hipster Underwear

Write Your Review

2.67 /5

Filter Reviews

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Hipster Underwear

2.67
Kinda Small
July 23, 2020

Sadly disappointing

I must agree with other reviewers who complain about decline in product quality. And for the same reason: there's inadequate backside coverage. Sadly disappointing, as two earlier versions were very good indeed. I will not be purchasing underwear from Patagonia again.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hi Liz, we're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with this new design's cut and quality. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

July 23, 2020

Love the fit

This is a daily use underwear for me. I have the previous diamond patterned Barely Hipster also and the current style is a better fit for me, but I'm rotating both through the week. I'm lean and have narrow hips, and this undie wears well under my tights, yoga pants, and thin office pants without any panty lines! Need to buy more colors, ... Read Moreand looking forward to taking them with me when we can safely start traveling again!

June 21, 2020

Perfect Active Undies!

These aren't my daily undies, but they are my go to for anything active - all day hiking, backpacking, river trips, etc. They stay put, wash and dry well and last for years! Love these!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Active Undies!

These aren't my daily undies, but they are my go to for anything active - all day hiking, backpacking, river trips, etc. They stay put, wash and dry well and last for years! Love these!

May 15, 2020

Not All Colors Are Cut the Same

I know this year's hipster is getting lots of mixed reviews. While I am a fan of the diamond etched hipsters I bought the rose-colored version of this season's underwear as well as a black pair. I loved the rose-colored one and it fits just the same as my diamond-patterned one. Because everyone is quarantined, by the time I wore my black ... Read Moreone I figured I just gained some added butt. Turns out, when comparing the black hipster to the barely bikini that I have - the cut is identical. I can't vouch for the other colors, but the black is not hipster cut. It's bikini cut, and perhaps it's a factory error or a one-off. I'm not sure. The rose fits as expected, covers my bottom and doesn't ride up at all whatsoever. For reference Im 5'7" 135lbs and bought a size small.

February 23, 2020

Pretty please bring back the old style

Please go back to Cut: 190069 Style: 32355 Fall 2014 They were perfect- the best! The new style is not nearly close. I will buy many more if you do!

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hello, thanks so much for your feedback! We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with this design. We've passed your message along to the appropriate team. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

February 10, 2020

Not as good as they used to be...sorry!

I have loved the Patagonia women’s underwear and have worn them for the past 15 years. I bought a bunch about ten years ago at a time when they were made in Israel. The material was nicer (stretchier and longer lasting), and they fit better. The new ones cinch up on my derrière, and they are tighter around the leg holes. The new material is not as ... Read Moresoft or stretchy. Please, Patagonia, go back to the other ones!!! I really can’t buy any more of these the way they are...

February 6, 2020

The dreaded wedgie is real!

I decided not to heed the other reviewers who said this version of the undies didn't measure up, and try them myself (because I wanted to love them just as much as my older pairs, and need a few more for my PCT trip this year). Within the first 10 minutes of a 10 mile hike the back of the undies were annoyingly sliding across my butt cheek int... Read Moreo a wedgie position, not staying put like the old version. I was keenly aware of my underwear for all 3.5 hours of my hike :( I won't be wearing them for hiking or anything active going forward which sucks!

December 19, 2019

Great for running

Just took a pair on their first run, wondering how they'd perform. Would they ride up? get damp and cold? be otherwise annoying? After reading all the reviews pining for a prior version of this underwear, I was hesitant about this purchase. No longer! I am delighted to report that within a few strides I forgot all about my underwear. It was on... Read Morely after logging my miles and heading for the shower that remembered that today had been a 'test run'! The hipster style stayed in place and remained dry; so dry in fact, that one could keep on wearing them even after a sweaty run (but no one does that, right? ;).

November 24, 2019

Fit has changed

I loved the version of this underwear Patagonia made a few years ago. I purchased again recently and the fit has changed...it doesn’t quite have the same amount of coverage on the butt. I wish it had a little more coverage. I confirmed it was the same size and type of Patagonia I purchased before. I still have those older pairs of underwear, and th... Read Moreey are my go-to for exercise, work, and casual.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

Hi Kathleen, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the revisions. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 17, 2019

Bring back old version!

I think it's safe to say I'm an expert on these undies because they have been the only ones I have worn for at least five years. The ones I got in 2015 were made in Israel. Those were the best. Then they started making them in Brazil. The insane way they started sewing in the long scratchy tags so you have to cut them out drove me bonkers... Read More, but at least the Brazil ones were still the same fit and pretty good. I was still willing to pay the steep $22 for them. But trust me, if you have any kind of a derriere (and I'm just a medium but athletic derriere), these latest panties -- now made in Sri Lanka -- will ride up your cheeks and the material feels cheaper and rougher. Maybe if you have no butt at all these will work. That's the only way I can understand how others say they fit. I can't buy these any more and I am SO disappointed because I love Patagonia as a company and feel good shopping there because of their eco-attitude. Please hear my howl to bring back the earlier model -- particularly the one without the sewed-in tags!

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Mary, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the hipsters. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 9, 2019

Nice fabric

I am going to try a size up. I wear a size medium pant, so that is what I ordered. I think I need a size large to get better coverage. I do like the style so will try again.

November 5, 2019

best undies ever

i love this pair of undies, the are the most comfy and well-fitted pair i've had in a long time. sadly, the price point is prohibitive of enjoying multiples.

November 5, 2019

perfect fit

When I saw the bad reviews for these, I ordered just a couple pairs to try them out. They're awesome: fit perfect and are comfortable - and I've since ordered several more. Not sure what sort of heaven the old style must have been for folks to be so upset, but these are the best underwear I've worn. And the sugar on top is that they&... Read More#x27;re Patagonia-quality, and I won't have to buy new underwear for awhile!

November 4, 2019

Annoying Tag...

There didn't used to be tags on the underwear, however the 2 pairs I recently purchased has large white instruction tags sewn in to the seam of the underwear - it was a pain to remove the large itchy tag (I now have a hole in one of them from trying to remove the seam that was holding the huge tag in place). I recommend going back to whatever... Read More method was used to communicate whatever is on that tag (does anyone even read them?) before and not sewing in that huge thing in to the seam of the underwear.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Thanks for your review, Meredith! We're sorry to hear the tag has caused you some discomfort. We're always redesigning our products based on many factors (including customer feedback), so this helps us immensely. Please note you can [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them as soon as possible if you find that they're not working out even after removing the tag.

October 28, 2019

Nice soft undies

So comfy and last forever. I know other reviewers say they don't like the thinner fabric but I do, nice and soft and light and if its more ecofriendly than all the better

October 24, 2019

Bring back the previous cut!

The new barely hipster cut is smaller and constantly rides up. I even tried sizing up but these still don’t fit as well as the previous cut. The previous geo cut was my go-to everyday undie, great fit and stayed in place. This new cut is really disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Melissa! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the cut. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 27, 2019

Great fit

Very happy with the size and fit of the underwear. Saw many complaints that they aren't as good as the old ones, but I like them both. Nice variety.

September 3, 2019

Rising up my cheeks

Nothing to keep them rising, they need something to prevent it, I’m returning them.

August 31, 2019

So much worth spending $

So much worth spending $ on quality

August 26, 2019

Excellent size great workmanship

This 55 is the perfect size for a couple days travel. Workmanship is solid. Love the colors.

June 19, 2019

Please bring back the old cut

When I first tried the Barely HIpster, they immediately became the only underwear I can tolerate. They are so soft and they handle all my little disasters. Then you changed the cut. This happened when the pattern went from diamond to floral. There is less coverage in the seat. I still need these for the amazing fabric, but the smaller seat makes th... Read Moreem less comfy and also creates lines under clothes that should not be there. When they cover your whole seat, the (already very subtle) line disappears. Please, please, please bring back the old seat. All other undies are inferior and I want my dream undies back. It was such a short shining time in my life. Thanks for listening! (P.S. To the gal who doesn't like the tag--I just tear them out. But yes, tagless would be better.) (P.P.S. I did not check the radio button for running because I don't run so I don't know, but I imagine they're fine for that too.)

May 8, 2019

Miss the old days

These are not as beefy or sturdy as they were a few years ago. The fabric feels flimsy as it will not hold up over time. I will be searching for another brand.

May 8, 2019

Change the tag, and it would be almost perfect.

I like the Patagonia underwear a lot. But the one thing I don't like is the scratchy, sewn-in tag at the back. If you could do away with that and, instead, simply print the tag information directly on the fabric, that would be a big improvement for me. I cut the tag out but there's no way to cut the entire thing out without cutting the st... Read Moreitching that holds the garment together.

April 12, 2019

Bring back the previous cut and fabric

Like the other reviewers, I am a big fan of the old geo fabric and fit. They are perfect - great for exercising and every day. Thie new fabric is rough, and the fit isn’t good. If they aren’t riding up, they are falling down! Really dislike the new ones.

April 3, 2019

Go back to the old style

This new fabric/ cut doesn't even compare to the old one. The original material was heaven and this material doesn't feel nice next to skin and doesn't fit the same.

March 26, 2019

Very disappointed. Not the old design.

I bought about 10 pairs from Patagonia in 2015-16. Now I want to replace them. I read the reviews and thought Nah maybe they are wrong. I bought 6 pairs from REI and I'm returning 5 bc I wore 1 pair and threw them away. These do not cover the entire rear like the old design. On top of that, they slide up and do not stay in place. I guess I&#x... Read More27;ll continue to wear the old ones (which were PERFECT!!) until I find a substitute. Patagonia, please, please bring the old design back and email me when this happens. Until then, don't waste your money. The other reviews are truthful.

March 9, 2019

why change (fix) something that is not broken?

I only wear Patagonia under garment and have done so for many years. My favorite, is the hipster, I don't notice that I have them on, because they are lighteweight and soft. They stay in place, they pack nicely for trips and after hand handwashing them on the go, dry quickly. Underwear is a very personal thing and finding the perfect underwear... Read More is often times a lengthy and costly process. When I discovered these perfect underwear many years ago, I new that my search was over and many times I just purchased the exact same style when it was time to replace worn-out ones. The last couple of new underwear have been a great disappointment, the fit is totally off and the fabric feels like the first polyester way back when it was first used for clothing. I and I am sure, so many other woman would like to see the original style come back, not another altered version but the exact same style.

February 11, 2019

Old style please!!

I have to agree with so many others—I loved and relied on the old style hipster. I’m a guide in remote Alaska. Based on how well the old style worked, I bought 5 more pairs. Totally different fit and design. Not at all what I need.

January 17, 2019

BRING BACK OLD STYLE - THEY WERE THE BEST

Bring back the old style please! They were brilliant for many reasons. Why mess with perfection?

January 15, 2019

Mrs.

Barely Bikini Underwear: The new fabric is terrible compared to previous fabric. The fit is different and it is stiff, scratchy and nothing like the silky, soft previous material. I wish you would not have changed what was the only underwear I bought. Sorry to have to search on for that perfect fabric.

November 7, 2018

Oh Patagonia, what have you done!

I didn't want to believe that Patagonia could mess up a design that has been so spectacular for so long. I read the reviews and even talked to a product expert before ordering. I knew I would have to size up, but neither the sizing nor the big tag were at issue. The design is dreadful, unless you enjoy underwear that sits atop your bottom chee... Read Morek, like a pair of fancy french panties. The problem is, I want my Patagonia undies to go with me everyday, whether I'm working or exercising. I want them to stay put, regardless of activity, and to never show a panty line. This design is so wrong on so many levels. Here's the challenge ladies, Patagonia says they don't plan to "fix" the design until the Spring of 2020. Thus, if you're like me and have a nice quiver of Barely Hipster's, protect them. Hand wash them and save them if you must.. search the internet for retailers that still have the old style. For Patagonia, this is an urgent matter and one that deserves your best operational team... please bring back the old Barely design as soon as possible, and please never let your young fashionistas take over underwear design again!

October 24, 2018

Seriously My Favorite Undies

I honestly have gotten rid of all of my other underwear and have switched to wearing these everyday. I absolutely love them.

October 21, 2018

Bring back the old geo design

Wow...I absolutely LOVED these undies before the new design/print/fabric. Loved them so much so that I bought 3 new pairs from a Patagonia store while on vacation. How disappointing! I bought the same size and they DO NOT fit the same at all. They are so uncomfortable that I might as well just toss them out. What a waste of money. Please stop chang... Read Moreing a good thing when you have one.

October 8, 2018

Bring Back Old Design

I recently bought the barely hipster in the new design from REI and immediately returned them. The old design always stayed in place and the new design rides up. When I compared the two there was no elastic in the legs of the new design. I have over 20 from previous years and will sadly have to look for another brand. Bring back the old.

August 31, 2018

Favorite Everyday Panty!

I seriously own 10 pairs of these. Once I started wearing Patagonia underwear I never looked back. Super comfortable and durable. Would have been 5 stars, but there's a HUGE issue is with the tag- make sure to cut it out fully to avoid constant annoying rubbing.

June 24, 2018

The enemy of good is not always great

Had to throw away my new and expensive barely bikini and barely hipster: indecent exposure in the front and inadequate won't-stay-put coverage in the back. Can't size up or down since the issue is with the apparently new cut/style/material. Had planned to try the briefs but now I'm afraid to do so in case Patagonia changed that too.

May 22, 2018

Bring Back Old Design!

Please revert to the old design! I absolutely RAVE over my patagonia undies to all of my lady friends-I just bought a new pair today and the cut of these is VERY different. Skimpy on the booty and lower cut. PLEASE BRING BACK OLD DESIGN! These just don't fit well,I constantly have a wedgie. Lame sauce. Please help us out Patagonia.

May 16, 2018

Bring back the old!

I agree with the other reviewers,with the new cut (lower on top,skimpier on the bottom) I might as well shop at Victoria's Secret. Another vote to bring back the old please!

April 5, 2018

Why the change?

I own over 20 pair of the hipsters,bought over the last several years. Patagonia has clearly restyled the hipster and the fit is now poor,including a much lower cut. I'm hoping sizing up from S to M will fix the problem but I don't have high hopes. Too bad they went and changed what worked so well.

March 18, 2018

New Design is Awful

I generally loved the prior designs from Patagonia,but this new design is not at all up to your quality standards. These do not stay put on a run or hike. Please please please go back to last year's design. For those of us outdoor gals we depend on your stay put designs.

February 27, 2018

Not my favorite

These just don't compare to the active hipster. The fit & cut are extremely different.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches