Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Thong

Write Your Review

4.0 /5

Filter Reviews

All 35 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Thong

4.0
True To Size
September 21, 2020

Excellent Quality and Fit

These are about the same thickness as the other undies I bought same time - Active Hipsters. I was not expecting them to feel robust and thick! High quality and no problem with the tags. Just use sharp (fabric, if you have) scissors to cut as close to the stitching as safely possible. Then gently remove the remaining portion by tearing away. There ... Read Moreis separate thread holding down the tag. They are tear-away tags - but I'd be careful not yanking and tearing them away like you can on cheap tees you don't care about! Overall, these fit true to size and are definitely not shear or thin.

September 7, 2020

The best underwear

These are my all time favorite underwear. I wear them for everything! Super comfy, Breathable. Im a bigger girl and the XL fit perfect!

August 19, 2020

Hugs the Hips

I'm always searching for great undies that work for everyday wear, but also activewear. These are so great, slightly narrow in the front, but the best part is they don't have that extra piece of fabric inside. The waistband is stretchy enough that it doesn't dig into the hips either. I'm 5'4 and 145lbs so the part about the... Read More hips is usually an issue. The mediums are the perfect fit for me! I'll definitely be buying more, wish they came in more colors!

August 10, 2020

Best Underwear Ever

Didn't think I would ever like wearing a thong, but this underwear proved me wrong. Amazing in every way! So comfortable that I can no longer wear any other underwear. (Please get more black XS in stock, I need more!)

August 7, 2020

Falling apart after 2 weeks

Was excited to get these and found they fit like described - unfortunately after only wearing a handful of times there are two holes in the band. I cant recommend these as they fell apart so quickly after everyday use.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2020

Hello Molly, we're so sorry to hear these are already falling apart. That is definitely disappointing so please don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us under warranty. Thanks so much for your review.

August 7, 2020

Love the Fabric not the cut

The only thing I don't like about these underwear are that they are super low rise. I'd prefer something that is a higher rise so that they don't squeeze into my hip flesh. Because of this they show underwear lines in yoga pants.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2020

Hi Holly, thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback regarding the rise of this thong. If this becomes too bothersome you are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Thanks again.

July 20, 2020

Far preferred the diamond version - but these are fine

I was a diehard fan of the last version (the ones with diamonds) - the cut and fit was just so much better - slightly higher rise, thinner strap. I'd buy a million pairs of them if I could. But these are fine - I've adapted to wearing them. Compared to the Barely Bikini debacle (the diamonds were perfect, the new ones are unwearable) th... Read Moreese get a pass.

July 13, 2020

Medium My Butt

So weird that the thong runs super small but the Patagonia shorts I just bought are way too big. The sizing seems way off? I am a pretty standard body type. LOVE your company and want to love your clothes. Thank you for listenting!

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2020

Hi Ara, we're sorry to hear this ended up being too small. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this for a refund if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

July 13, 2020

Comfortable

Love the feel and quality. Being 5ft 2 and 114 lb, size S feels loose. Perhaps I should have taken into account no bum to hold. Thongs in general does not work for me while doing Yoga. But for the other activities, this is the best of the crop out there. Will order XS next time.

July 13, 2020

All I can say is...

Oh yeah, you need these!

July 10, 2020

All I can say is...

Oh yeah, you need these!

July 10, 2020

Comfortable

Love the feel and quality. Being 5ft 2 and 114 lb, size S feels loose. Perhaps I should have taken into account no bum to hold. Thongs in general does not work for me while doing Yoga. But for the other activities, this is the best of the crop out there. Will order XS next time.

July 6, 2020

Outdoorsy Lingerie

Well, I ordered this a bit skeptically, looking for a lightweight barely-there feeling but never had a thong, and wondering if it would do my 40-something bod right. I can't report a lot of field experience with it, but it's super comfy, and my husband jumped my bones when I tried it on with the new Patagonia bra, so that's a win. So... Read More far so good!

June 17, 2020

finally

...a thong that stays put, doesn't carve canyons into my hips, and doesn't get too familiar. Love these.

June 17, 2020

Worth the price

These are the most comfortable thongs I've ever worn. They are sooooo soft and and stay that way no matter how many times I wash them. They are so good that I have tossed out all of my other underwear and these are the only kind I wear.

June 17, 2020

Comfortable

Best thong ever! I finally found a thong I can wear everyday and hiking.

June 14, 2020

Disappointed

Like other reviews, I'm disappointed in the new design. I have several pair in the old style purchased several years ago and think they are absolutely perfect - most comfortably undies I have ever had and well worth every penny. I was ready to purchase new ones and noticed when I came to the site that they did not look the same and saw some re... Read Moreviews that were less than flattering so purchased ONE pair to try them out before replacing all. Glad I did because I will not be purchaing any more. The crotch is too narrow, the waist band is uncomfortable and the fabric does not feel the same. Very disappointing. PLEASE go back to the old style.

February 9, 2020

My go to undies!

Love! have had older style of these and bras for more than 15yrs so feel like worth the investment. Aside from 'everyday', worn for yoga, cycling, hiking great for travel too, they dry quickly. Flattering fit, no lines, lay flat on the body. Only complaint is that I feet that stretch out! I am 5'8 140 w athletic build and am ordering... Read More a Small this time around, feeling like Med have stretched and move around a little more than I'd like - which is very disappointing. Fingers crossed these are bit better!

January 7, 2020

By far the most comfortable thong I have ever worn!

I wear these thongs to jiujitsu, trail running, work, school, everywhere! They are so dang comfy they're so soft and I will never go back to wearing any other brand. The price is steep but after a year of eyeing them because I just couldn't buy a pair of 22 dollar underwear on principle I decided to give them a try and I ultimately bought... Read More 10 pairs.

December 29, 2019

"Barely" says it all!

With the weightless softness of the fabric & the flexible construction -this thong feels like wearing nothing, yet is the exact coverage I need. Love it!

December 28, 2019

Perfect!

Love these. Have many pairs. They last forever and I find that I don't want to wear anything else. I wash them in a laundry bag and air dry (never dryer) and the oldest pair is in as good of a condition as the newest. True to size. 5'9" 127 slim build and I wear a small

September 29, 2019

Not the same

I never write reviews, but after seeing that I was not the only one who has been totally disappointed with the new design I had to add my own. The previous style was perfect. I 'barely' felt like I was wearing anything at all, which is exactly what I want from a thong. I do not want to feel it riding up and pulling in areas it shouldn&#x2... Read More7;t be. The width of the crotch on the new style is way too narrow and the low rise combined with thick band requires constant adjustment. I was and continue to be really disappointed every time I wear them. Wishing I could track down the old style. If I could I would order all of them.

Response from Patagonia
October 10, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the fit. We understand that it sadly does not accommodate to some of our customer's needs and expectations. We've emailed you regarding a possible return if you remain unsatisfied with its performance.

September 6, 2019

THE BEST

This is the most comfortable underwear/thong I've ever owned. I like to throw away all my undies and replace them all with this. I've worn them hiking, running, daily and you forget you have them on. 👌🏻

August 22, 2019

barely thong

Each time I order these, they are a little bit different, but are still my go-to. They are very comfortable and breathable. I just wish there were more colors!!

August 12, 2019

Favorite

I love the Barely Thongs. I recently bought one and came back to buy two more!

August 12, 2019

My fav underwear!

These thongs are super comfortable and are absolutely my go to underwear. Soft material, and a thicker waistband so they don’t cut into your hips. I can wear them under anything and I’m not concerned about them showing through my clothes. Love them, will definitely be buying more.

August 7, 2019

Cut of the underwear is totally off.

After reading the comments and agreeing with the ladies who disapprove I knew I had to show my support. This design needs to change. When I first saw Patagonia roll out this item I was super excited. Halfway through the first day of wearing I felt like the underwear were racing up towards the sky to touch my bra. WHY?!? "I shouldn't have ... Read Moreworn them to work!" I was constantly pulling them down and out of areas they didn't belong. I thought perhaps the cut was just a one off mistake, so I tried another pair. Same thing. Very disappointing. I won't be recommending or purchasing these until they're redesigned. Please make the fabric in the crotch area wider and shorter in the back. Thanks!

July 16, 2019

Quality not as good

I've been wearing these Patagonia thongs for the past couple of years. When they came out with this updated version, I decided to order four more a couple weeks ago. The new ones are smaller in the crouch area. It's not noticeable when wearing, but just know that so you don't size down or anything. But the thing I don't like is ... Read Morethe meshy part of the fabric. It's considerably more fragile! I've only worn the nude pair once and it feels like a hole is going to form soon. They look so worn already. The older version is much more stretchy and forgiving. I will not be buying more.

Response from Patagonia
July 17, 2019

Thanks so much for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear about the disappointment. We guarantee everything we make and if you are unsatisfied, we are happy to help. Please [contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us!

June 4, 2019

All time fave

I recommend these underwear to everyone. They are soft, lightweight, and are really flattering. I love how comfortable these are while also looking really good. Only request if more fun colors please!

May 27, 2019

Bring back older style!

I absolutely agree with a few of the reviews that the previous style was perfect and this new style is undesirable. I loved the material and they used to fit perfectly. They were the most comfortable underwear I have ever owned and was so excited when they were brought back. I bought multiple of the new style but was very upset when I noticed the s... Read Moretyle and fit had completely changed (and not for the better). They are now my most uncomfortable pair of underwear and are saved as back up pairs before laundry day. It is almost like there isn't enough fabric to cover your important parts and they always ride up, causing lots of awkward crotch picking throughout the day. Patagonia, PLEASE bring back the previous design. It was perfect!!! I will happily trade every pair of underwear in my drawer for the previous style. They truly felt barely there but had the perfect amount of coverage which was great for any activity.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the new design and fit. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) those back to us if you haven't already and let our Customer Service team know if you have any questions.

May 3, 2019

So comfortable!

By far my favorite thong out of all the brands I've ever tried. So soft, great fit, and never rides up. I'm normally a size 6 in pants and the Medium fit perfectly.

March 20, 2019

Bring back the prior version!

I loved the version before this one (purchased 2016/7 I believe). This updated version isn’t so great. Doesn’t fit comfortably, doesn’t stay in place, rides uncomfortably. The old version is my favorite line of underwear, and truly felt as though it was barely there, so I bought three pairs of these. Sadly I’ll be returning the other two (unworn) o... Read Morenes as even half a day in the first pair has proved this version is far inferior to the original (perfect) version from 2016-2017. Please bring back the original design, and more colors.

March 15, 2019

The best underwear out there

So glad these are back! The barely bikini and barely thong are my favorite underwear. Super comfortable, fits well, stays in place, breathes, and washes well and dries fast (I line dry them). More colors please!

March 3, 2019

BLESS YOU PATAGONIA

I have been waiting a full year for these to make a comeback. Please don’t get rid of them again. I love the new design with the thicker waist band. I rave about this product to everyone. Ask how their day was then casually transition into, “do any of you wear thongs? You MUST try Patagonia’s!” I’ve even recommended it to men. I’d submit a photo re... Read Moreview too if it wasn’t frowned upon. HAHA THANK YOU PATAGONIA !!

February 8, 2019

Keep things the same

Please bring back the old W’s Barely thong. It was perfect the way it was.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches