Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Bikini Underwear

Write Your Review

2.67 /5

Filter Reviews

All 57 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Bikini Underwear

2.67
True To Size
September 3, 2020

Comfortable

Soft, doesn't ride up or down, smooth fabric, washes well.

September 1, 2020

Two thumbs up!

I really love these underwear! I wear them for everything. They're super comfy, flattering, and stay put, even while running. I've been wearing Patagonia undies for a long time, and I've taken to usually sizing up bc I don't like them pulling at all on my hips/love handles. I wear a L in most Patagonia bottoms but went with an X... Read MoreL in these, and they're great. For a more snug fit, stick with your normal size. I'm 5'6", 165# with an athletic/curvy figure. I have 4 colors of these already and will probably purchase a couple more before long.

August 25, 2020

Favorite underwear

I love these underwear. They are comfortable, lightweight and especially great for hot days.

July 27, 2020

The only underwear in my drawer

I have been wanting to write about your underwear for a while now....I have been wearing whatever version is available at the time of purchase since 1990ish....as they have changed over the years I think Im not going to like the new ones but that is not the case....I love love Patagonia underwear (bras and bikini). The ONLY ones I will buy!!!

July 27, 2020

Sizing changed this season - boo.

I have a pair from last season that I loved, so bought two more of what I thought would be the same. Unfortunately the cut and sizing changed and these are no longer my "go-to" underwear. Less coverage, thinner fabric, less comfortable. Bummed.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Rachel, we're sorry the new sizing isn't working out for you. Our designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future and please feel free to return these for a refund. https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html Thanks for your review!

July 23, 2020

Doesn't even compare to the old style

I am deeply saddened to see the old style of the barely bikini no longer being made! Everything is wrong with these underwear- they chafe, they ride up, the panty lines show, they are just plain uncomfortable!! Please bring back the previous style with Uber soft fabric that truly felt like wearing nothing at all, and the invisible lines, the statio... Read Morenary no-wedgie fit, and the ease of packing because they scrunch down so small. I will be upset about this for a long time because it's IMPOSSIBLE to find good underwear. Just when I thought I had it made with the perfect pair, they were whisked away without a thought to their fans. Patagonia I thought you cared more about us! :(

Response from Patagonia
July 24, 2020

Hi Jennie. We're really sorry that the new design and fit isn't what you expected. Please don't hesitate to return that back to us under warranty and let our customer service team know if you have any questions. https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html Your feedback has been passed along to our Design Team. Thanks for your review!

July 15, 2020

Bring back diamond style please!!!

I have a hard time finding underwear that doesnt ride up. The diamond version of these were the holy grail: cute, quick drying, breathable, and didnt ride up. Oh how I wish I had bought 30 pairs!! This newer style fits differently and rides up instantly. I cant wear them. Please, please, please bring back the diamond style! You will have many peopl... Read Moree clamoring to buy them in quantity!

July 15, 2020

Lasts forever

I still have this or similar Patagonia underwear I bought about 4 years ago and decided to treat myself to a few more.

July 14, 2020

Love these

Im 54 125 pounds I love the way these fit and stay put! They dry quick and I simply love them!

July 2, 2020

please bring back old cut

I have faithfully worn these underwear for around 10 years. They used to fit great and didn't ride up. I agree with other reviewers the new cut has changed and the no longer fit my body type. The new style is baggy and are cut skimpier in the rear; less material. I am 5'3" and 115 pounds and wear an xs. I am athletic and petite with ... Read Moremore in the thighs and rear. I also had the same problem with the new design of the hipster undies as well; less material offered in the rear. Perhaps offering two styles in this cut one with a full coverage bottom and one with a medium bottom similar to bathing suit offerings; but until then I am off to find another brand of underwear.

June 25, 2020

Lightweight & Just enough coverage

I have been searching for lightweight running underwear since my faves were discontinued. I have purchased and thrown away more than I care to think about! Finally, I found these!! I was skeptical to purchase bc of the price and assuming I'd be tossing them as well. These are great!! I live in SWFL where it's 90 degrees plus all year roun... Read Mored. I run and workout everyday--it's hot and I sweat. These are so light and they don't create extra heat like thicker underwear do. Also, they stretch nicely but not too much. I prefer my leg holes up high (like a hi cut panty) but don't like them to go halfway up my back. These panties stretch just enough to accommodate my fit! They do create a slight panty line but it's less visible than anything else I've found.

June 18, 2020

Moves with you very comfortable, AND cute!

I've been wearing these panties for 8 years now. Recently the design changed slightly and they are a little looser on my bum, but they still feel fantastic, move with my activity, dry quickly, and never pinch or pull. I am 138lb and wear the Large because and they fit me great!

June 17, 2020

Super comfy

Finally real coverage thats cute and give all day comfort no matter what Im doing.

June 17, 2020

Not my best Patagonia purchase

First, let me say, I love Patagonia as a company and I appreciate the high-quality clothing they produce. However, the fabric used for the "barely-there bikini" underwear does not stand up to even a little wear. I wore these three times and the integrity of the underwear seems to decrease rapidly, to the point where the underwear was fall... Read Moreing down under my jeans and saggy. I have retired the two pair I bought to the pile of underwear I don't like.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2020

Hi Shauna, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the underwear. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 14, 2020

My favorite underwear ever

So light and comfortable. They stay put and dont ride up, while still being minimalist. I love them so much, they are becoming the only underwear Ill wear, no matter what the day has in store.

May 19, 2020

Yeah, the latest reviews are right on...

Unfortunately. Definitely bring back the last version - any of the last versions - but the diamond pattern fabric was definitely a favorite. Heres the thing with the newest one: while I do think its a cut issue, I think the bigger issue is the fabric. Its not the same. It went from the smooth silky feel, to something more like pantyhose that remind... Read Mores me of the little disposable slip-socks you use when you forget socks at a shoe store. Sorry Patagonia. I love you all. I also had half a dozen+ pair of these over the years and havent restocked my holey ones because these fit and feel so poorly.

May 2, 2020

BRING BACK THE OLD!

Just wanted to add to the long list of sad customers that had the previous diamond material version of this underwear. I had two of the originals, and then bought this newer version with the EXACT SAME complaints! The underwear rides up and doesn't stay in place. Please consider bringing back the favorite! This is the only underwear I ever wea... Read Morer and I need more of the old style! Thanks a million!

April 17, 2020

PLEASE bring back old diamond design

These underwear were the BEST (the older diamond pattern design). I have so many pairs and was so disappointed when I came back to buy a new set and the new design is horrible. The fit is horrible and the material isnt silky anymore, its scratchy. Please, please, please bring back the former design, fit and fabric!

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2020

Hi Julie! We're sorry to hear the re-design isn't working out for you. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fits/designs as favorable as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to this if you were looking to do so and haven't already. We're currently offering free return labels on our website.

March 7, 2020

Terrible fit

Like so many reviewers, I am heartbroken that the excellent, comfortable, fit was eliminated when the design was changed from the diamond pattern. Sadly, I ordered 10 new pairs that have gone to waste - after wearing one new pair for a single day, I havent even opened the packaging on the others. PLEASE BRING BACK THE WONDERFUL FIT!!

Response from Patagonia
April 8, 2020

Hi Ellen! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry to hear the new fit isn't working out. Customer satisfaction is a priority so product feedback like yours is greatly appreciated. Please know all our garments are under our Ironclad Guarantee and you are always welcome to place a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 3, 2020

The new(ish) cut is no good

These used to be the only underwear I wore (no joke), but the new cut has too little coverage in the back and rides up horribly. Sizing up makes them too baggy. I know it’s silly to be crushed by having to find a new underwear brand, but...I’m kind of crushed.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that this new cut isn't working for you and we appreciate you taking the time to express this feedback. We know comfort is important, especially in undergarments, and we are bummed to hear that these missed the mark. Please know, your satisfaction is always guaranteed and you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us.

January 14, 2020

Fantastic

It really feels like you’re not wearing underwear at all with these. Plus I wore them on a trip, traveling in airports, airplanes, trains, and cars for over 24 hours straight and they still get relatively fresh when I finally made it to my destination. Absolutely recommend for long travel days.

December 29, 2019

My fave

Best underwear I own! They wash well and work for anything from work to working out!

December 3, 2019

Best Underwear!

I wear these all the time. They are great for an active lifestyle and everything in between. Super comfortable and long lasting.

November 21, 2019

The new style falls short

I forget how many years it's been since Pata changed the fit of these undies but, man, do I wish I could go back in time and get a few more of the old version. I've got three pairs of the old style and four pairs of the new style, and three days of my week are spent in bliss. The other four are spent either pulling them up, pulling them d... Read Moreown, or just accepting the plight of a permanent wedgie. I do love the lightweight, quick-drying feel that Pata kept in the new style (and the waistband is still as comfortable as ever without leaving indentations), but I feel like Meredith from The Office on Casual Friday — if I pull my underwear up to the right position on my hips, my cheeks are more or less fully out and about; and if I pull them down to cover my cheeks, I've got a real nice plumber's crack happening. And if I'm out running in the neighborhood or on the trail, I've frequently got both hands shoved down the back of my leggings in front of God and everyone, adjusting my underwear back into its proper place (where it will stay for about five minutes before returning either into my butt or down towards my thighs). There is simply less fabric in the booty area to provide adequate coverage. Pata, I love you, but the new style has got to go!

November 17, 2019

So disappointed!

I recently bought one pair because I was desperate to get another pair of underwear before leaving for a trip. I have worn the previous diamond design for years and refuse to wear anything but. The old design fit perfectly, coverage is excellent but still cute, and they are so thin and comfy you don't even notice them. I can wear them under ti... Read Moreghts with NO panty lines that's how good they are. I couldn't stand the new design- way too thick of material, not as soft, and fit is really uncomfortable. I am so bummed that the old one has been discontinued. Please bring it back, Patagonia! Women need quality active undies we can count on!

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Jennie, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 14, 2019

Dries fast, super comfy

These move with you and feel good against the skin. Great cut and coverage, modest but not matronly.

October 13, 2019

soft as kittens, perfect for a long day

I love these for hiking, backpacking, traveling, or just a long day on my feet all day at work. They are soft and stretchy and fit my full hips very well. Several of my fellow outfitting friends love them as well and I recommend them to hikers/backpackers and travelers regularly. They stay comfortable all day even when sweaty, plus they dry quickly... Read More if you need to wash them while on the road or on the trail.

October 1, 2019

W's Barely Bikini

These are underwear are so soft and fit perfectly. Very comfortable. I can not wait to get more.

August 29, 2019

I ordered both small and

I ordered both small and medium underwear. I usually wear a small. There was absolutely no elastic near the bottom of your rear so the underwear would not stay down.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

We're sorry this bikini didn't work out. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

August 22, 2019

Rides up

I loved these in previous styles but the current cut rides up. I did purchase one size up per the instructions, but they are uncomfortable. I'm sorry to give negative reviews. Customer service at pats

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these are not comfortable for you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us. We are happy to offer some [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) if you need it.

August 18, 2019

Bring back the old cut

I have several of these panties in my wardrobe that I am very happy with. However, I recently ordered some more and the butt is cut in a different way that is much less flattering. They are skimpy at the side-butt and saggy at the same time, and they just don't fit right. Please bring back the old cut that covered the but and fit well.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

Our apologies that the new design isn't working well for you. Thanks for the feedback on that and we hope we can offer something that works better for you in the future. Please let us know if we can help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on these.

August 15, 2019

Best undies I have ever had

Fit is super flattering, best material ever (comfy, durable, breathable, easy to wash), my favorite undies hands down. I bought one in every color and wear then for sport and everyday.

August 7, 2019

Nice material, not 100% on fit

Please can you make a boy short/boxer style brief? Much needed to prevent these riding up during sports/gym/running etc. Material is nice though!

July 9, 2019

Please bring back the diamond pattern fit

I agree with many of the other reviewers. I loved the previous version of the Barely Bikini, with the geometric pattern. I don't even know I have them on when I wear them. These, however, are incredibly uncomfortable. So much so that I almost took them off midday to go commando, as they say. You'll be relieved to know that I didn't, ... Read Morebut I did toss out the underwear that same night. Unfortunately I bought a couple of colors, thinking they'd fit like the previous iteration. So sad.

July 2, 2019

Why do they change it?!

I would have given it negative 5 stars if it is an option. I have been wearing wearing the barely hipster and barely bikini for years and find them to be the most comfortable underpants than expensive brands. After reading reviews left by others, I still decided to take a chance and order more. Well, I should have listened. The new ones are horrib... Read Morele that I couldn't even stand wearing them for even half a day because the top band keeps falling off and the back keep going up. The fabric is very strange that it just doesn't move with your body like the old ones do. There is something very wrong with the pattern making of the design. Why do companies always kill the good things and replace them with bad ones?!

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2019

Sorry to hear that the Barely Bikini has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

June 21, 2019

Not the same!

I'm with the other recent reviewers. The new cut just doesn't fit as well. They creep and don't cover and the fabric is not as soft. Bring back the previous version, please. I've happily worn those for years and I don't want to have to start searching for new undies!

May 12, 2019

Not the same

Loved the old underwear which actually covered your bum. Now it cuts up high which rides up while doing athletic activity. Might as well buy underwear at a lingerie store.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

Hi Deborah, we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the new design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that and contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions.

May 10, 2019

Lite n' comfy

Great for travel! Light weight and comfy!

March 27, 2019

:(

I too came on to buy a million pairs of the old style underwear to replace all my others, but I see now that that style has been discontinued? Please bring back the other style!

February 7, 2019

End the search: Finally a super cute pair of activewear undies!!!

I backpack and travel often and have been forced to use some horrific granny panty looking undies for the longest time because honestly, that was all that was out there that could be sink (or river, or bucket) washed, would dry quickly, and would work for high intensity multi day activity without riding up or falling down or smelling like a wet soc... Read Morek. These are super duper cute, fit comfortably, wash up well, and look mostly hidden under tights and pants. I’m honestly surprised to see the negative reviews here because these really are my new favorite undies of all time. For reference, I used to be an exofficio low lacy bikini loyalist and am petite but very hourglass shaped (ie I definitely have thighs, hips, & a tush) . These fit my body type perfectly and I’m never going back.

February 3, 2019

PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD STYLE

I’m absolutely obsessed with these underwear. They are perfect for the active female. I went back to your site to buy in bulk and in preparation for throwing away all others. But the new style is not the old. Why would you change what is perfect? Please let me know if/when you switch back and I’ll buy a bunch. Please bring back the diamond style.

January 11, 2019

I was once a devotee... now?

Help, Patagonia... I miss my old barely there bikinis... these just don't work! the fit is all wrong, the tag is brutal-- why... :(

January 9, 2019

Not the same as the Diamond pattern

I fell in love with the diamond pattern you had last year, please go back to those! These crawl up my butt...not very comfortable.

December 31, 2018

TOTAL TRAVESTY

The diamond underpants from last year were perfect! Bring them back! These fit terribly and aren't soft. The tags can be removed with a seam ripper, but why put them in in the first place?!?

December 13, 2018

Rides up like crazy

These fit weird -- the sides go way up over the hipbones but the front is really low. Also it's very skimpy in general so what little fabric there is offers little coverage and rides up at the same time. The fabric also stretched way too much, like there's no structure to it at all so it just feels kind of gross on. The hipsters are sligh... Read Moretly better but still not good, so that's why I thought I'd try the bikini. What was I thinking?? After examining both styles I think a basic problem with Patagonia underwear is that the angle of the cut on the leg holes is just wrong, it's too steep and thus makes it feel too large. And also, tag is obnoxious large and scratchy.

November 9, 2018

What are these?

Is it possible to bring back the old Barely There Bikini Bottoms? These fit differently, and not in a good way, and simply put are so less comfortable. My daughter, who loved the one olds, refuses to wear these : (.

November 4, 2018

PATAGONIA PLEASE FIX THIS!

I have had these since, oh at least ten years. Back when they didn't have a sown tag, and didn't bunch up, sat perfectly 100% of the time. They're still going strong, except for a bit of pilling. I have tried to stock up again now and then, only to find that they got progressively worse. WHY, Patagonia, I'm literally begging you... Read More, PLEASE RESTORE THESE TO THEIR FORMER GLORY. These btw, were my gateway Patagonia product. I believed any company that made such perfect underwear surely made great base layers/pants/etc too. I understand products change, I understand everyone has preferences and all bodies are different.. but sown tags are objectively terrible. NOBODY likes them. And getting an all day wedgie is no good either. I am indescribably saddened that I cannot stock up on these again :( It took me SO LONG to find the perfect panties, but it was just too good to last, apparently– Patagonia giveth and it taketh away for no blasted reason at all.

September 9, 2018

SO DISAPPOINTED, style and sizing changed again!

Dear Patagonia, If you have a good thing that people love, DON'T CHANGE IT. Especially the sizing and fit of women's UNDERWEAR. Patagonia seems to tinker a lot with fit and sizing. If something works, why not leave it alone and let customers enjoy it? Like the other reviewer, I looked long and hard for a perfect bikini. I thought I had ... Read Morefound it with the previous barely bikini, which I LOVE. Then I ordered a new one from this season's colors, and it was COMPLETELY DIFFERENT IN SIZE AND FIT and is NOT the same. Details: Smaller all over; skimpier; does not stay in place and rides up; less front coverage; more fragile fabric. Also, take note, a chemical is added to this version to make it odor free. Even if Patagonia checks it out and says it is safe, for some of us, that is not enough. We are in a toxic chemical cocktail every day, and don't need to add more without our own choices. I am chemically sensitive and have an autoimmune condition, like millions of other americans, and regardless of the assurances on the website, would opt out of using extra chemicals in my underwear to avoid odor. That is not the place I would want to subject my body to more chemical exposure, no matter how safe it is assured to be! There should be a CHOICE with a product like this- I have seen the tops treated with this fabric, but then I don't buy them, and choose other tops. But if I like this specific underwear, I can't choose another one that's not treated. (I guess it may not matter, however, because the fit is no longer desirable.) Patagonia, I am so disappointed in you right now. I have a lot of brand loyalty to this company, have promoted it tirelessly among peers and friends, and work outdoors, so am constantly testing out gear. This product is a fail, because it was so great before and has these unnecessary changes, PLUS adds more potentially toxic exposure to our bodies. Not green enough for Patagonia's ethics, so I am very disappointed. I will go elsewhere for underwear from now on. ps- You guys should warn us if you are completely changing the fit of something on your website so people don't order it expecting the same thing they had before.

August 31, 2018

Love!

I'm confused as to why there are so many negative reviews on these. I love them! They're really comfortable and I actually use them as backpacking underwear. I'd highly recommend these to anyone.

August 6, 2018

inconsistent sizing

I ordered one pair and liked it. Then I ordered 4 more in large. They were all marked large but were completely different than the first pair. Some were larger (much larger) than others. Also, the elastic around the seat was looser and generally less substantial. The new pairs don't stay put like the first one did. I'm returning, and tryi... Read Moreng the hipsters.

August 4, 2018

Please bring back the old cut!

I agree with the previous reviewer...the Patagonia Barely Bikinis (with the diamond pattern) WERE my favorite undies. For some reason they changed the cut which left with me with a wedgie the entire day. I actually threw my new pair away at the end of the day because I was so infuriated by the uncomfortable fit! Patagonia, you don't need to fi... Read Morex something that wasn't broken :(

July 3, 2018

Patagonia Ruined The Perfect Underwear

This was my favorite underwear ever and it took forever to find it. At least it was when it was made with the diamond pattern (which I have purchased fairly recently). It used to be made from very soft fabric and was well cut. Now the fabric is scratchy and terrible and the cut has been changed. The back sits two inches lower than it used to and no... Read More longer covers the top of the behind. Also,the waistband is now wider than it used to be,which was unnecessary. (Not wider as in the measurement of the hips,wider as in taller). The length of the leg hole has decreased by over _ inch and the width of the leg hold has increased an inch. That means the front of the underwear is a lot smaller than it used to be. What a complete disappointment.

May 26, 2018

Disappointed

When I found these last year I was so excited to find soft and comfortable underwear. I ordered a few more pairs this year,just as excited only to be let down by the quality and cut. Please bring back the old ones!

May 10, 2018

What happened to the old cut?

These were perfect,my go-to pair for the past few years. I tried to stock up this year and the cut is so different'MUCH lower rise'that I thought I'd ordered the wrong style. Same problem with the hipsters. Not sure what went wrong here...

May 5, 2018

So disappointed with the change

After much trial and error,Patagonia's Barely Bikini and Thong became my beloved go-to underwear for the last 3 years. Now: the new iteration did away with everything good about the old version. Old version: rise perfect in front and back,good quality fabric,stretchy,comfortable. New version: rise too low in both front and back,fabric qualit... Read Morey poor without good stretch (I can hear tiny fibers tearing as I put them on). Similar disappointment with this year's version of the Barely Bra. If it's not broke,PLEASE don't fix it. Can you consider bringing back the old versions? I'll love you forever.

March 11, 2018

Bikini Champ!

Super-comfy,quick drying and minimal...perfect for travel and daily use. So great,that I stocked up in a big way. #thebest

February 27, 2018

Comfortable and durable

Really like the FITB and feel. I will be getting more!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches