Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Active Hipster Underwear

Write Your Review

2.94 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Active Hipster Underwear

2.94
True To Size
March 21, 2020

Love these!!!

My oldest pairs are several years old and have outlasted ALL my other underwear!!! Ive replaced my old, other undies with these because these dont tear, run, stretch, or wear out for years!!!

March 11, 2020

Favorite underwear

I love the fit and comfort, and just ordered the other colors offered tonight.

January 7, 2020

Poor fit

I've been buying these for 10 years. Recently bought a pair and the cut is terrible. They are constantly either riding up or slipping down. Unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to wear them! Disappointed in the latest version.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Steph, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the hipsters. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Comfortable and reliable. I love

Comfortable and reliable. I love them.

November 18, 2019

Frustrated

I have been wearing this style for years, purchased several pairs and find that they are stiffer, and roll down while walking. Just found out new fabric may fit different... Why fix a great product?

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2019

Sorry to hear the hipster isn't fitting well, but we really appreciate the feedback, Kim! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 18, 2019

Hiking Undies

I'm not familiar with the "old version" people keep referring to, so I'm quite pleased with these! Fit great, felt "clean" for 13 hours of hiking!

November 15, 2019

Great fit

Great fit

November 7, 2019

Disappointed

I've been buying this style of underwear for years and LOVE IT but the style/fit recently changed to be a tiny piece of underwear with little coverage. Please bring the old fit back!

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi there, we're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the coverage of our Women's Active Hipster. If you are looking for a something with more coverage, check out our Patagonia Women's Active Briefs, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-briefs-underwear/32396.html?dwvar_32396_color=SSPP&cgid=womens-socks-underwear-underwear#tile-2=&start=1&sz=24.

October 30, 2019

Firm grip around the hips

Fit nicely

October 19, 2019

Not as durable as before, but still the best-fitting undies

I have to agree with Chelsea L's review below. I went through the process of ordering my normal size, finding out it was way too small, and then ordering the next size up. Although I lament that the undies are not as durable as the previous iterations (I've been ordering this style the last 15 years), I appreciate that they're made o... Read Moref recycled materials. The sizing is still good (order up!), the material still wicks well, and they still stay in place (order up!).

October 2, 2019

important info about The Undies

Like you, I've been wearing the old style geo-pattern Patagonia undies for a decade. Like you, I've read the scary reviews the rest of the internet has posted. UNLIKE THEM: I have nothing but good things to say about these undies, with one caveat. yes!! The fabric is different. That's because it's recycled now. THAT'S GRE... Read MoreAT! It just means they aren't identical. The first pair that I purchased, I got in the same size as my old style undies. XS. This pair was...uncomfortable, like everyone says here. It rides up! I get wedgies! The gusset doesn't cover my, uh, stuff! BUT WAIT: These are things you would say about a piece of clothing you bought in the wrong size....so I got a pair in the next size up to see if that made a difference. Let's face it, my old ones are probably stretched out from being worn for a literal decade, and I don't wear the same size of anything else from 10 years ago. WOW CAN YOU BELIEVE IT THEY FIT NOW. They stay in place in my most grueling workouts, they cover everything properly, and the new slightly wider waistband is actually an improvement. yes! The fabric is different. It's not quite as lightweight, but I still don't notice I have them on. yes! You have to pull the tag and accompanying stitches out. my god, I can't imagine wearing them with that 3 inch long piece of paper in there. it's obviously made in such a way that you'll know to remove it. Anyhow, be brave. Try the new version. Get a size up from your old ones. Even with the changes, they are STILL better than any other underpants you can buy. Trust me--I'VE TRIED ALL OF THEM.

September 20, 2019

Don’t hold up

I’m jumping in here with my review to say the newer generations of this under garment doesn’t hold up very well. I don’t mind spending good money for underwear, but when I do I expect it to outlast its competitors. Sadly, these don’t anymore. I have a couple pairs from 2012 that I’m still wearing, but they are obviously getting pretty “worn out”. H... Read Moreowever, they are not unraveling like my less than a year old ones are! My newer ones are all coming undone at the top, where it’s folded over the elastic. Major disappointment! Hopefully y’all are listening and getting this issue taken care of. Thanks!

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear your newer pairs aren't holding up. If you feel they are a warranty related issue, you are more than welcome to send them in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We just ask that you wash them prior to sending them in.

September 7, 2019

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia had more white or beige somI could wean more frequently

August 16, 2019

Great base layer undies

Lightweight and breathable and stay snug without digging in. I mostly like wearing these with a riding chamois, as they just do a nice job of adding a little bit of a layer without affecting the performance of the chamois.

August 15, 2019

Lose elastic, not the same

Lose elastic, not the same as older pairs. Disappointed in quality. Will look for alternative options.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

Hello Julia, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the elastic! You are more than welcome to return at any point if you are not satisfied. [Click here for the Returns page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 10, 2019

Active Hipster

Great active underwear for running and classes Holds up well with repeated washes

August 1, 2019

Underwear falls apart but I buy it anyway

I have been purchasing Patagonia underwear for almost 20 years. In the old days, the underwear lasted forever. I just tossed a pair from 20 years ago. Now, the underwear is lucky to last me 1 year. I have returned several pairs over the years even though it seems odd to return used underwear. I thought I'd go elsewhere and find another better ... Read Morepair. So far, I have looked but not found anything as comfortable as the Patagonia underwear. Yes, it falls apart at the seems and develops holes. But, I can't find anything better nor a company that I, in general, trust. So, here is my unlikely to be heard request to Patagonia, please fix this so I don't have to keep throwing them away!

July 15, 2019

OK material

Material is ok but as mentioned the fit is not great. Can Patagonia make boy/boxer short style of these? Wouyld prevent the 'wedgie/riding up'? Boy shorts please!

June 18, 2019

New fabric and cut is disappointing

I have been wearing these for more than a decade, but over the last 5 years the sizing has shrunk (I promise I didn’t gain weight, I’m pretty consistent) and the fabric has gotten cheep and flimsy. I have a couple of pairs left from more than ten years ago and they are in better shape than my newer pairs. These underwear are all I have worn for the... Read More last 15 years and now I am thinking I will have to seek out something different. So disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the newer design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us under warranty.

June 2, 2019

Not like the old style

These used to be the best underwear made! I had purchased these for years. Now as many others have said they come apart or wear out in a matter of months. Even though I never put them in the dryer. Also the fit has changed. Now they ride up and are not as seamless as the previous style because they have made the waist band narrower. And the materia... Read Morel is much thinner. I NEVER write reviews but I felt I needed to. And to ask Patagonia to PLEASE PLEASE bring back the old style! I am in desperate need of some new pairs but I refusing to pay another $24 for the same quality I could get at Wal-Mart for $5 for 3 pairs!!

April 10, 2019

Mountainlady1

Wow! The reviews I have been reading have been sadly so reaffirming. I have been buying your underwear products (the various types (barely bikini, active hipster etc) literally for years because they were so amazingly comfortable, soft and the fit was always right on.. I am an active rock climber, backpacker etc. During your last product sale, I bo... Read Moreught several pairs. What has happened???? No longer comfortable, the sizing is way off and not durable. PLEASE please bring back the “old” style.

April 10, 2019

Bring back the old style

I'm still wearing active hipsters from 2014 that I've sewn back together. Yes, I know I can warranty them, but the fit isn't the same, so there's no point. The new cut is tighter and gives me a wedgie. Read the reviews below Patagonia, you have a loyal following, just bring back what we loved! PLEEEAAASSSE!

March 15, 2019

don't hold up over time

Used to be that these were my go-underwear. Owned many over the years and they last and last, but over the past few years the quality has gone down the tubes.... I have to replace every year now because they stretch out. They are great-only for the first few months of ownership. I line dry all of my clothes, never use the dryer.

March 7, 2019

Comfy, but sizing/durability has changed

These are still mostly comfortable, but this style has changed over the years (and not for the better). As others have already written, the sizing is smaller (comparing the current ones with pairs I got 4 years ago), and they are not as durable as they used to be. I sized up on my latest order, and they do fit a bit better, but I feel like maybe th... Read Moree size chart should have changed along with it (or maybe it did, and I didn't notice!). I'll still be buying these as they still fit better than other undies out there. But I wish the design had not changed.

March 2, 2019

Ruined a perfect design

I have been wearing Patagonia underwear for 20 years and the new design is terrible. They fall apart after a short time, holes, folded top seam un-ravels and lower seams always comes apart. Why have you changed this perfect piece? I have old pairs from 15 years ago that are still holding up perfectly and ones that aren't even a year old that a... Read Morere complete garbage. Breaks my heart, please bring back the quality underwear we know and miss.

February 9, 2019

Great Fit, Poor Durability

I am 5'-2" and 115 lb and wear a size XS. I love these for every day wear, climbing, and yoga. However I hang dry these and after less than one year of use they are falling apart. The tag is huge and annoying.

February 2, 2019

Great underwear, disappointing after washed

I absolutely loved these underwear, until I washed them. They're really comfortable and great for working out/ hiking/ climbing, sweating in general. However, after a couple of washes they became threadbare in the crotch and the seam began to unravel around the top. Disappointing, particularly given the price.

October 22, 2018

meh....

I hiked the AT this past year and had a great time, the TAG tho is a whole other story. I cut it off and it still eritiated my skin, that did not go well with me because my pack would rub agients my back and it would make it worse. But the fabric is great and the elastic is too. the only thing the tag.

October 17, 2018

Bring back the wide band

The older version w the wide band was so much better. Stayed up better. Flattered the female form better. These are terrible. I’m only rating them a 1 bc I can’t give a zero. Which sucks bc I love your company and continue to be a loyal customer of various items. Xo

August 9, 2018

Huge tag

Huge tag in the back is annoying. Wish they could just print their tags directly onto the fabric. Also, the fit seems a little different than their previous style. I bought these a few years ago and they were perfect. They're a little different now.

May 4, 2018

Wonderful fit,bad tag

These underwear are great. I love the fabric,fit,and how they feel on my body. I don't understand why there are big tags sewn into the waist band. After cutting the tag out,there is a little bit left which irritates my skin. These would be perfect without the tag. I feel a little redesign is necessary to eliminate the tag.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches