burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Active Hipster Reviews

Write Your Review

3.8/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 135 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Active Hipster Underwear

3.8/5
Kinda Small
January 21, 2023

Fits right and stays put

Love these. No bagging or sagging. Moves with me. Fabric is soft and breathable.

January 19, 2023

Stripped hipsters are perfect the others with flowers not

I have worn the hipsters for decades - the stripped remain great - my recent hipsters with the flower design are falling apart within weeks -

January 11, 2023

XL doesn't mean just adding fabric

I LOVE PATAGONIA! I love what they stand for. What the do for the environment. And also their inclusivity of everyone in the outdoor/athlete world. What I don't love is their concept on XL for women. They seem to just make it a little bigger in places they think are correct, but do they truly have someone that is trying it on or giving them id... Read Moreeas on larger female athletes? The fit on the bottom is nice, but they need some more fabric at the tummy area. Sometimes bigger tummies in the garment are what xl women need. Let me know how else I can help with how these should fit the amazing athletes that need a bit more coverage and fit!

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Sarah! We truly appreciate your feedback on the sizing on these underwear and we will ensure it is passed along to our Product Designers so they can take a deeper look into the fit of this product. Reviews like yours definitely help us make the necessary changes to our products, so once again, thank you!

December 14, 2022

Not what they used to be

So disappointed with my new undies. Seriously I have had some for 18 years and they are still wearable. These are smaller and you don't offer the same styles and various colors and patterns.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2022

We're sorry to hear the fit of these hipsters doesn't work for you! We'll reach out to you about return options. Thank you for sharing this feedback, Bonnie!

December 10, 2022

Too thin and flimsy for me

I have a pair of these from years ago. Normally I feel fabrics improve, but I have to say this time I really don like the change. The waist is so thin and the whole garment. Cannot wear these. t

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2022

We're sorry to hear the fabric these Hipsters was a miss for you! Thank you for returning items that weren't going to make you happy, and for sharing this feedback, Eloise; we will pass it along to the right team.

November 19, 2022

Runs small, but who cares?!

I am usually a medium in most things. I wear the XL in these underwear--I like that they are not too tight, so it keeps my bulges from bulging too much on my belly and leg openings like other underwear. They dry quickly and are great to bring when I travel. I like the removable tag, but it is stubborn to remove and often feels like I'm going t... Read Moreo rip the underwear. Hoping Patagonia will come up with a different solution.

October 29, 2022

The tag needs to go!

These are the first Patagonia underwear I have bought (purchased 3). Like the fit and fabric, but the dang tag is ridiculous! Why can't it be fully removed or the info printed. I don't plan on buying them in the future until the tag issue has been fixed.

October 16, 2022

Perfect

These are true to size, feel great, and do exactly what they're supposed to.

October 9, 2022

"I wear this product for"

"I wear this product for" underwear(!) I have wanted to write about this product for a long time. In recent years there have been many regretful posts about its poor quality compared to the past. It has bothered me that we are asked to review after a couple of weeks, at which time we can't discuss quality/longevity. So ... my most ... Read Morerecent purchases are (so far) just fine ... but the ones before are AWFUL. I can't remember if I bought them at the Patagonia site, or my local REI store, or the REI site ... but the waistbands quickly become loose and baggy, and the stitching on the binding around the leg openings is unraveled, and the workmanship is (or should be, for you) embarrassingly awful. I have photos I can upload on request. I WANT to love these. I WANT to love the Patagonia company. I am happy to pay $25+ for a premium product from a company which pays its workers well and looks after the environment. I'm definitely NOT happy to be subsidizing bad workmanship and bad quality control. from a Patagonia fan You insisted on an Overall Rating - as I explained above, I don't feel I can adequately rate the most recent purchase - but I'll give it a 3 (for now). And I'd like a "maybe" option re recommending to a friend. But I wrote yes so as not to be mean.

October 8, 2022

Best underwear I own

I was hesitant to purchase these online with all the comments, but wow, these are seriously the best underwear I own. Absolutely love them and that's kind of weird to say about a piece of clothing, but they're so much better than the others.

October 6, 2022

My Favorite Undies

Underwear is important and if you are like me, once you find a brand, you commit. I have been wearing these for years (not the same pair) and really love these undies. I feel like they are back to the original fit, which is fantastic. You know what else is important, making sure your underwear is not too tight. I am typically a medium in most pants... Read More, but I definitely buy a large in these. I have wide hips and a big booty, the large gives me great coverage without digging in. These also dry quickly, which is something I especially love when hiking, biking, or at yoga (or honestly day to day).

October 5, 2022

Mixed Feelings about wicking

I love cotton but I've been told many times cotton kills. I am all about wicking shirts and pants and layering. But I was on the fence about underwear. Living in arid Ca I never really switched for underwear until a backpacking trip to the humid wet smokey mountains. I read reviews and people had mixed reviews about wicking underwear. I got co... Read Morencerned so I bought this underwear along with other wicking brands. I also took 2 pairs of cotton. This underwear itself seemed to stay dry but I felt very damp all day and night. The sweat was not going anywhere :( The other brands were a mix blend so didn't feel as damp. At the end of the day, I prefer cotton. I will just have to make room in my backpack for extra undies!!! This underwear fit well and stayed put. My only complaint was the wicking but it seems to be with all wicking undies. Hope this helps!

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and we're sorry that our hipsters didn't work well for you. Your purchase is absolutely covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so please don't hesitate to return them. We'll reach out with further assistance. Thanks for your review!

September 7, 2022

End of an era

I bought my first Patagonia active hipsters 15-16 years ago ? I cant even remember what I wore before them. It was love at first wear. I replaced all of my undies with them right away, and they proved incredibly comfortable and wash hardy year after year. Running, climbing, hiking, camping, mountain biking, casual wear 24/7. After 6-7 years of freq... Read Moreuent wear, a pair would show some fatigue, and I would replace it happily with a new color or print. Then the first sign of trouble appeared. 4-5 years ago, the waistband seams started coming undone after only a month or two of wear !!! I even sent 4 pairs back for repair. Instead I was given a refund for new pairs. Hmmmmm. These too unraveled rather quickly, but I either sewed them myself or learned to just wear them with the messy unsewn waistband. I am nothing if not a die hard. But finally my first generation died an honorable death with stretched out dimensions, no longer able to stay up. And generation #2 was showing similar inclinations. So I went online to order up a new crop. I was dismayed to see a significant drop in the star rating, but determined to make my own decision. I ordered several pairs and awaited their arrival with a mixture of hope, curiosity and concern. Well..the truth is, this new version is made of a much thinner and more fragile material and is a significantly smaller size. Yeah, I can fit into the new version but why ? That just means it will stretch the same amount of material thinner over your bootie. The product simply no longer was the product I knew and loved. I sent the last batch back and have started the search for a replacement. Bummed.

Response from Patagonia
September 16, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Julie. It sounds like these lighter Hipsters just aren't going to work for you. We're sorry you've been disappointed with the changes, and we're sharing this feedback with our Design Team. Thank you for trying to get your clothing repaired, but our Repair Team cannot repair underwear for safety reasons. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance with your returns.

September 6, 2022

Love undies, Hate tag

I love these underwear. Why do they need the big paper tag in the back. It bothers me so much to have the paper tag rub on my skin. When I cut it out, it always leaves a hole. A hole in brand new expensive underwear. How sad is that?!

September 3, 2022

My one and only

Patagonia has been covering my butt for well over 20 years now, they are literally the ONLY underwear I ever wear. Like many reviewers, I was a big fan of the original version of the Barely there, and they lasted a REALLY long time. When they started to fail I tried the new Barely version and found them to be too light and loose for my active life.... Read More I was forlorn, I was holding onto my tattered old pairs with abandon. I had tried some iteration of this style years ago and didn't love them but I am so glad I tried again, these active hipsters are perfect. They are still light, fit well, stay put and are comfortable all day. Yes, the tag is MASSIVE but I found it tore out easily and never damaged the brief. Once again my drawer is full and I am set for the foreseeable future. Thanks for always having my back (and butt) Patagonia!

August 21, 2022

Bummed !

Well I had to find out for myself if my favorite briefs for the last 15+ years were really retired. Several of my oldest pairs are stretched out and wont last much longer, so despite many negative reviews logged recently, I ordered 3 pairs in my usual size. Unfortunately, I too found them to have significantly less material than older models and th... Read Moree material itself is thinner. I cant imagine it can hold up to the big adventures and zillion washes that my older pairs have endured. I also found the multiple long tags sewn to the back inside band to be ridiculous. Im returning all three pairs.

Response from Patagonia
August 25, 2022

Hi Julie, thank you so much for writing this review and we are very sorry to hear these underwear did not work out for you. Please feel free to let our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) know if you have any questions or concerns returning those items and we will be more than happy to help!

August 20, 2022

Comfy undies

Great for everyday wear. They fit well and stay put and feel almost like nothing is there which is good especially on hot or active days. I have seen some comments about the tags - yes they are long but can be taken out if annoying.

August 18, 2022

Too low cut

I have worn Patagonia undies for over 15 years, and the current version is very disappointing. The cut is at least 1 inch lower than older versions - uncomfortable and barely covers the privates. I'd return them, but have already washed and cut off the tags.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the newer designs are disappointing. We'll reach out to you privately to discuss your options. Thanks for the review, Kathleen!

August 4, 2022

Very comfy

I've been on a long-time search for breathable underwear that do not creep up while I'm hiking or working out at the gym. I finally found them! I can hardly tell that I'm wearing them except that they do run a little small and are snug around my hips. I typically wear small size clothing from Patagonia, but I will order more of these... Read More in medium.

August 2, 2022

MS

wonderful underwear. please sew care instruction labels so they can be completely removed instead of in the seam where they always irritate no how much trimmed.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2022

Hey Darcy, we appreciate the feedback. We'll share this with the team. We're glad to hear that you're still enjoying the underwear despite the tag situation.

July 16, 2022

Love these undies!

I have finally found a pair of undies that may just hold up, that are comfy, and that are sustainable! I now have 6 pair. Taking 5 on our East Africa trip and will wash and air dry when need be.

July 8, 2022

Love it, but the tag is annoying

I love the fit and material. My only complaint (and its a big one) is the tag. The tag is HUGE. I clipped it down and then it was super itchy. So, I tried removing it completely and ended up putting a small hole in the fabric. I would have ordered several more of these, but am worried about removal of the tags.

July 3, 2022

Perfect!

I like the material and design. I would like to have more color options like grey, blue, green.

June 26, 2022

Super comfy except for tags

Love this underwear. It is very comfortable and stays in place with the wider waistband. Super breathable. Fit is true to size. The only reason for 4 star versus 5 is the annoying tags as others have mentioned. Super long tags that are itchy and even when you cut them super short they are annoying.

June 22, 2022

Super comfortable

I bought these for running and they are great. You don't know they are there. I sized up to a large even though I'm a medium on the size chart. Very comfortable. I would purchase more.

June 20, 2022

Great fit and stay put

These underwear are amazing! They are great for active days and travel. They stay put and dont ride up. My only complaint is they are a little less comfortable for sitting at a desk all day at work.

May 9, 2022

Posting for a Friend...

...Well actually my 14 year old Daughter. She says they rock! We bought 6 pair this go around. Everyday wear includes nordic ski racing, yoga, cross training. Buy 'em.

May 7, 2022

Lose the tags

These are great except for the tags, which are super annoying. I cut them off, but the remnants are still scratchy, so I wear the underwear inside out. Otherwise, they are extremely comfortable and last forever.

April 30, 2022

Comfortable, No Matter What You Are Doing

I have worn these for years, doing everything from work to play, and everything in between. I have used them on two through hikes for hundreds of miles, and they have not let me down. They don't ride up, they don't bunch up, and they stay true to form after hundreds of washes. I won't wear anything else.

March 31, 2022

Patagonia Briefs

I have never been disappointed in any of your products, at least until now. The briefs are uncomfortable, the elastic cuts into the leg. I don't know the name of the of the prior style but I will continue to use them since they are the my best option.

March 24, 2022

comfy comfy comfy

These undies are lightweight, look great, don't give me wedgies, and did I mention they're comfy comfy comfy?! I'm 5'3" and weight ~140ish lbs and the mediums are perfect.

March 19, 2022

Absolutely the best!

Patagonia underwear is the only underwear that I will wear forever! Best fit, breathable, durable, quick dry. My only complaint is the little white tag. It is totally annoying and difficult to remove.

March 14, 2022

Minimalist undies

I like these minimalist undies. They do get stretched out eventually, after a few years of hard living.

March 14, 2022

Comfy

Comfy briefs, but the tags! Neither comfy nor brief! Fortunately, a pair of scissors takes care of that.

March 11, 2022

I Finally Found Them!

After finding these amazing undies at one of the stores I tried to find them online. Unfortunately, the first two pair I bought online were not the right ones (W's Barely Bikini) and I returned them and was out more than $10 on shipping (by the way, please look into shipping alternatives as there are some much more reasonable ones out there wh... Read Moreere you get good rates and are able to pass the savings onto your customers). These undies are the holy grail of comfiness for me! They just fit right (even though I'm thin, I have a very curvy bottom) and are super breathable. And unlike the previously mentioned panties, these ones allow liners and pads to stick. (The unfortunate "side-effect" of the other ones was pads and liners that migrated to my skin instead.) Please never change a thing with these!

February 20, 2022

Very Disappointed

I have been wearing your underwear for over 30 years, maybe a little less. I have repaired the stitch many times, good as new. The issue is that the old underwear was soft, no rubbing, no itching, they were NOT tight. I bought three new pairs recently and returned them. They were elasticized, rough, tight and awful for me. I am an older woman and n... Read Moreeed much more comfort. I have been so disappointed because most of my wardrobe is from Patagonia. I live in Boulder CO and in this town Patagonia rules...I cannot recommend your underwear anymore, but more than that I feel I have lost an underwear friend.

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2022

Hello Judy! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with our hipster underwear. This feedback is greatly appreciated as its how we improve products for future seasons. We'll share this with our product team!

February 19, 2022

Way too small - not for women with round butts

I am a consistent large in all Patagonia bottoms (my measurements are a curvy-fit 38-32-41). I had high hopes for these underwear as they're my favorite material for traveling/backpacking, but holy moly is this sizing weird. They run 2-3 inches smaller than advertised in the sizing chart at least, are they NOT built for women with round butts.... Read More they cut off at least ~2 inches below my hip. Returning both pairs I purchased and would not recommend for women with my measurements/curves.

February 18, 2022

A good product

The pants seemed small, but I find that they are very comfortable with active wear and move around much less than pants I've been wearing. It is early in my experience, but so far, so good.

February 10, 2022

Great fit!

I love the design and fit of the Active Hipster, the perfect underwear that I can wear XC and BC skiing, whether on my own adventures or teaching kids of all ages. Quick-drying, never riding up or slipping down, they are the longest lasting underwear I have ever owned!

February 5, 2022

Comfy

The only reason I didnt give these 5 stars is the crazy long multi-layer tag!! Why does a pair of underwear need 3 tags that are 2 inches long?? Otherwise I love them. They fit great and after removing the tags I forget Im wearing anything!

Response from Patagonia
February 7, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Deanna! Happy to hear you love the product, but our designers will take note of the tag issue. Thanks for submitting a review!

February 4, 2022

My favorite underwear

These are my favorite underwear. They last long, they hug the curves, and don't creep up into the crack. Highly recommended.

February 1, 2022

This A$$ is happy!

I am an active person. From the work that I do to the after hours playtime... I am loving these Patagonia Seamless Panties. I have a bit of a booty so the Medium gives me a cute, cheeky fit and holds me tight without it wearing me down. As in, I like being able to wear my underwear and not notice them! These are the best Patagonia under-roos that I... Read More enjoy wearing on the daily!

January 23, 2022

Back to what they used to be

I still have Patagonia undies that are 15+ years old. They are the greatest! Somewhere along the way they got off track & quality really declined. Im excited with this purchase. They fit great & the Patagonia quality we love seems to be back!! Time will tell.

January 7, 2022

No old lady panties for this senior

I was gifted a pair of these underwear 3 years ago. I have since splurged on 3 more pairs and was given another. I challenge anyone to tell which pair is older than the other. They fit great, don't ride up, wash like a dream (I air dry) and make me feel younger than my 65 years. Who wants old lady panties?

December 28, 2021

Comfortable

I ride horses & needing something true to size & doesnt bunch up!

December 23, 2021

Wide waistband

Very good quality.

December 14, 2021

IUnderwear

I love the pattern on the white - I wish there were more patterns on the colored

December 10, 2021

Tag Fail

I love Patagonia underwear. I would love them better if they ditched the sewn-in tag. I bought a pair several years ago and they didn't have the tag. I cut the tag out, but you really can't get it all the way out without cutting the fabric. Love them, but ditch the sewn-in tag.

November 30, 2021

Comfortable!

Great fit and doesnt shift!

October 26, 2021

Comfy!

I'm a big fan of all of Patagonia's panties, and these are no exception. They work great for casual wear, running, climbing, you name it. I own another pair of this style, and while they are both XS, this particular pair (the light blue with floral) is a tad smaller. It still fits well, but I do notice a slight difference between this and... Read More a pair that I purchased about 18 months ago.

September 13, 2021

Product quality has deteriorated significantly

Ive worn the active briefs and hipsters for over 15 years. I have pairs still from 10 years ago. The last 3 years not so much. They last one year now, consistently break at the waistband threading, the new material is not as thick and durable as the old material. BOOO Patagonia! This is not sustainable to replace clothing annually

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hello Wendy, we appreciate you leaving a review regarding the quality of the underwear. We are sorry that they are meeting your expectations and will certainly evaluate for future improvements. Please feel free to send them [back](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

September 9, 2021

Only underwear I will wear

Love love love these briefs. I've slowly weeded out other "prettier" underwear in favor of these. I've been wearing them for years and am at the point now where they are all I will wear. Anytime I order anything from patagonia I throw a pair of these in my cart. They don't ride up, they don't fall down, they stay in pl... Read Moreace and I never even know I'm wearing them.

August 24, 2021

Underpants

I wear these most of the time. I wore them for 6 days crossing the Beartooth Wilderness and they were great.

August 22, 2021

Love them

They are very comfortable and dont ride up

August 19, 2021

Light & easy

Smooth, no panty lines; light, cool & easy fitting fabric. Love them!!

August 17, 2021

Cute lasts forever

Ive always worn Patagonia underwear, when I could get them. Easy to wear, lasts forever and are good looking. Never ride up! Im so glad youre not going to discontinue them. Love the new ones!

August 16, 2021

Fave underwear

Have lots of the Active Hipster undies and they are really comfortable and functional for everyday and workout wear. There seems to be two textures to them - a silky finish, which I prefer but seems harder to find these days, and a slightly more textured finish, which is fine but I still like the finer, silky feel. Good comfortable choice of unde... Read Morerwear

August 16, 2021

Ditch the label

I have had Patagonia underwear in the past that I really liked. They were comfortable and durable. The product info was printed on the fabric. These have 2 attached labels that are very uncomfortable. I have tried cutting them to different lengths as well as leaving them in place. In all cases they are very irritating especially when I'm activ... Read Moree.

August 12, 2021

The best underwear

Ive been wearing these for over 20 years and these new ones are wonderful. They fit perfectly, cover my whole hip, never ride up and stay comfortable when sweating while horseback riding.

July 12, 2021

Best fit ever

I hope you never stop making these. The fit is perfect, comfortable and last a long time.

June 30, 2021

Comfy, no wedgies and great smell control

I work on the river full time in the summer. I love these underwear because they really don't smell bad after a full day of sweating and peeing in the water (with the undies on). They are durable (I have had several pairs for years and there is no wear visible). My underwear drawer contains only the active hipsters. Also, no wedgies!

June 30, 2021

not holding up like they used to

I've been wearing the active hipsters for years and they have generally held up pretty well for a two to three years at least. the last few pairs i purchased have lasted less than a year. the waistbands are stretching out in strange ways that i've not seen in prior years' models. i love the fit of these, and am so disappointed they a... Read Moreren't holding up like they used to.

June 16, 2021

Really great panties

I love these and have numerous pairs. They are expensive but worth it. There is no panty creep up the bum so no need to fix a wedgie on the sly.

May 31, 2021

Great Active Undies

I own the Active Hipster and the Barely Thong. I haven't tried the Active Bikini. Despite the reviews, I am really happy with the Active Hipster - sizing, fit, material, weight and overall feel. They are great as active undies when skiing, hiking, running etc. Patagonia - keep on making these please! And would love to see other colors!

May 16, 2021

Hipsters Like I Remember Them

I know other reviewers voiced concern about changes to the fit of these activewear hipsters. If there were problems, they have been solved. I love the broad band at the top &the fit feels right. I would say that several years back (12?) they were a bit more generous in the butt and rise. About 8 years ago I noticed a slimming down of the style ... Read Morebut nothing that affected the fit drastically : I'm 5'5", 128 lbs, and ordered a medium. Waiting for new colors and designs so I can buy more. Please Please Please bring back matching camisoles with shelf bra.

April 27, 2021

Super comfy

I've recommended these to friends because they have been so comfortable while backpacking, hiking, etc. The wide band ensures that they do not leave skin raw and angry from sweat, backpack load or pinching.

March 26, 2021

Worth Every Penny

Been getting these for years. Seems that they are not available any longer. Pretty bummed about that. Would give it 5 starts if I could get more.

March 20, 2021

Skimpy

Just ordered 2 pairs in the small the size Ive always worn. The were smaller and there is less bum coverage. I would try a medium but its out of stock.

March 5, 2021

over the last 18 years I have loved Patagonia underwear.

Over the last 18 years I have loved Patagonia underwear. last years I ordered my usual size, Medium, and they were too small. I weighing the same. What is going on?! I do not get why you would keep changing the size; making them smaller and not the same quality as passed years. I am so disappointed to find that my new underwear did not fit. Now I a... Read Morem stuck with underwear that is to small. NOT HAPPY!

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We are so sorry you're not happy with the new version. Please feel free to send them back for a refund.

February 28, 2021

Returned it - the tag is obnoxious

I love the design and was looking forward to receiving the same product I had ordered last year. They seem to have changed things around, and now not only use a thinner fabric, but they placed a large tag in the stitch line. It used to be tagless. Ended up returning it

February 24, 2021

Underware is important!

Comfortable and stays in place. Slides over my clothes easily, so basically these are perfect. I like black because it is less noticeable when I change clothes, but black always sells out!

February 20, 2021

Not so Great

Do not fit like previous versions, a real disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 6, 2021

Thank you for the feedback and we are sorry to hear that the item did not work out for you. Of course per our Ironclad Guarantee you are of course welcome to wash and [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

February 18, 2021

Not like they used to be!

Fabric is thinner, cheaper, and the cut is different than older underwear, which I still have!!!!

January 31, 2021

What happened to tagless?

These fit fine...I was so disappointed when they arrived to see they have labels hanging down the back. Absolutely cannot to stand that on underwear! Prior to this Patagonia underwear were my faves....please please go tagless!!

January 30, 2021

Please dont discontinue these!

The fit is great, but the Barely styles rides into my private area, which is super uncomfortable. Ive relied on the Active style for decades.

January 24, 2021

Most comfortable underwear out there

Ive had one pair of this style for about 5 years now. Other underwear has come and gone, but my Patagonia is still going strong. Still moisture-wicking, still not stinky, still comfortable. I have now replaced ALL of my underwear with Patagonia in a variety of styles, and this is my favorite style. It stays in place exceptionally well and doesnt ri... Read Morede up or roll down when Im active.

January 22, 2021

underpants.

fabric flimsy, not like previous Patagoia briefs I have had and am still using after restitching seams.

January 18, 2021

Not the same

Over the years I have loved this underwear. A few years ago I ordered my usual size, small, and they were too small. So I switched to a medium. Now, weighing the same, the medium is too small. What is going on?! I do not get why you would keep changing the size; making them smaller; never bigger. The only reason I can think of is you charge the sam... Read Moree price for less material! I packed my new underwear for vacation without trying them on, assuming the medium would be the same size. After removing the tags, I was so disappointed to find that my new underwear did not fit. Now I am stuck with 9 pair of underwear that do not fit. Really not cool. Not a good way to run your business.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2021

Thank you so much for your honest feedback regarding the sizing. Please reach out to our Customer Service team regarding a warranty return for these as they don't work for you, and your satisfaction is always guaranteed.

January 11, 2021

Finally found a pair that doesn't drive me crazy

Since I'm not a "thong" person, I've been trying to find a pair of underwear that I can wear casually and actively that are comfortable and don't ride up . This is the pair! I'll be loading up on these :)

January 8, 2021

Need to improve product

The underwear is poorly made from past years. I finally took off the tags as they were itching when I wore them. Will wait before I purchase any more underwear until they improve the product line.

January 7, 2021

Super comfortable yet pretty underwear

I love the fit and feel of this underwear. Its very comfortable for an active lifestyle and pretty too.

January 1, 2021

Favorites

Love these underwear. My only complaint is the label. It is difficult to cut to the seam and it is annoying. Would love it just imprinted into the clothing

December 13, 2020

Love the Active line

No lines when active. Stays in place. Really nice quality fabric this year. Love the Brief but the hipster runs a great second. Quick dry. Nice wider waistband that lays flat. Stays out on the rear when moving too. Love the active line

December 2, 2020

Disappointed

I am disappointed w/this product. I have worn the Patagonia Hipster daily for years. Because they hold up so well, its been awhile since I have ordered any replacements, maybe 2-3 years. The size that I have worn has always been a Medium. When I ordered 2 mediums, they were way too small. I had to exchange for a large. Even that is a little snug so... Read More potentially, next time I would order an Xlarge to see if that fits more comfortably. Im 52 and weigh 110 lbs., so an XLarge?? Really?? Next, the fabric is not of the same quality as what I am used to w/this product. This new one seems more flimsy and less soft. Frankly, although I am a reliable Patagonia customer, Im probably done w/this Hipster product. So, there you go.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

We're really sorry to hear that these didn't work for you and that the sizing was inconsistent. We appreciate you passing this valuable information on to us so we can inform our design teams. If you haven't already made a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), you're welcome to do so, we just asked that you wash well before sending in. Note that our customer service team is always happy to provide measurements.

November 27, 2020

My faves

I've been wearing Patagonia undies for years. After a few years I find the stitching tends to wear out where I grab the on the sides and pull them up, but overall I think they are worth the cost and hold up pretty well. These are the only ones I will wear anymore. The fit is perfect for me. They don't ride up and I barely notice them. I h... Read Moreave tried the other styles and don't like them as much. For me the active hipster is the way to go. 100%

November 6, 2020

fabric has gone way downhill

The quality isn't worth the money anymore. I bought a few pairs 10 years ago and they are just wearing out. I bought a few pairs over the last 3 years and have thrown them out because of holes and poor quality. What's the deal? Why is the product getting worse over time?

September 21, 2020

Excellent Quality and Fit

I am curious how the regular Active Briefs compare (to the Active Hipster Briefs I bought) - these sit fairly high (not low at the hips despite the name?) and the cut is not high up the leg. The back is FULL coverage. More than I thought it would be. But for perfect-fitting, full coverage undies for active or casual use - these are high quality mat... Read Moreching the price. They are thicker than I expected too. I thought they would be thin and sheer, but are a lot more robust - which is good! I had zero problems with the tags. Take a pair of sharp (fabric, if you have) scissors, cut carefully as close to stitching as possible. And then gently pull to remove the remaining portion. They are tear-away tags - you just gotta be careful removing them. I wouldn't just yank and tear away the tag. Great undies!

September 5, 2020

Perfect fit

Stays in place even while I am lifting weights!! Looking forward to buying more.

September 5, 2020

Perfect

Very comfortable

September 3, 2020

doesn't ride up

super comfy, washes well, doesn't ride up. Would definitely buy again. Love the skin tone color for wearing under white pants.

September 3, 2020

Only Pair I will wear

I love Patagonia underwear. I get the Active Hipster and the Active Brief - it is not your granny briefs.

August 14, 2020

nice minus the large annoying tags!!!

Love the feel and fit of these underwear, perhaps I am doing something wrong because the tags are not fun. This is my second batch of this great product. I have tried to leave the darn big tags on, that bothers my skin. I have tried to cut them, even worse. I even tried to remove them entirely not a good idea it made holes.. Not sure why they even ... Read Morehave to be there, I love them other than this part and just wish they were made minus the huge not so nice to my skin large tags.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hello Julie! We are so sorry about all the trouble you've experienced with the tags. Our designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team.

August 8, 2020

Tags Tags Tags - Great fit and great product

I love this product except for the 2 plastic like tags I had to partially remove - which leads to my issue. The 2 plastic like tags on the left back inside are sewn into this lovely garment. You cannot remove the entire tag- Why? The plastic like tag remnants poke me with any movement. The logo is pressed on vs. a tag - Why the 2 plastic like tags?... Read More If you can make this item without the Plastic like tags I would buy many more and give 5 stars.

July 13, 2020

comfortable

Never have to adjust while hiking, Which is amazing. All others I have tried will inevitably need fixing throughout a hike.

July 12, 2020

comfortable

Never have to adjust while hiking, Which is amazing. All others I have tried will inevitably need fixing throughout a hike.

June 27, 2020

Next best thing to being naked

Followed the size guide for a perfect fit. Super comfortable. Completely non-binding, no VPL. Toss in the wash with similar fabrics, line dries quickly. No snagging. Backpack ready, wear one wash one, 2 pair is all you need.

June 26, 2020

Not my favorite cut

Agree w other reviews that the fabric in 2020 is different than in the past. I prefer the old fabric but this version breathes well. I was able to completely remove the tag without damaging the stitching. This cut hits me in an odd place and I prefer the bikini cut. I wouldnt mind a higher waist version either.

June 21, 2020

Highly recommend

I highly recommend these underwear! They stay up, no wedgies, stay in place! Been searching for a long time. Happy to find it!

June 21, 2020

Fit has changed

I have a dozen pairs purchased a long time ago, the most comfortable underwear I've ever owned. They are starting to show some wear so bought two new pairs. Fit has changed, they creep up in the back and are lower waisted than before. Not comfortable. I'd return them but I've already washed them.

June 21, 2020

Invisible

These underwear fit seamlessly. One day, I had to remind myself that I was even wearing them under my work pants - no joke!

June 17, 2020

Invisible

These underwear fit seamlessly. One day, I had to remind myself that I was even wearing them under my work pants - no joke!

May 7, 2020

Unbeatable undies

I bought 10 of these in 2005, and they have been worn daily and still look nearly new! Haven't had to retire a single pair. Amazing!

March 21, 2020

Love these!!!

My oldest pairs are several years old and have outlasted ALL my other underwear!!! Ive replaced my old, other undies with these because these dont tear, run, stretch, or wear out for years!!!

March 13, 2020

Oh, Patagonia . . . .

I love Patagonia. I love the company; I love the products; I love the philosophy behind everything they do and make. But PLEASE, Patagonia, I beg you. STOP sewing labels into your underwear!! They cannot be entirely removed because they are sewn straight into the band, remove the thread from the label and you remove the thread from the band. Cuttin... Read Moreg them out leaves an itchy irritating stump. NOT what we want in comfortable underwear!

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hey there Jody, thank you for taking the time to write a review on this product. We rely on feedback like this to make improvements on our products. If you are not satisfied with the product you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our [Ironcald Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee)

March 11, 2020

: (

My favorite active underwear have CHANGED! Not for the better! I loved my 3 pairs from 2014. Just got my new pair and was so sad. Im super pregnant and just wanted comfy underwear!!!! The fabric, cut and waist band are not the same. They ride up my cheeks and the waist is so uncomfortable. Even if I was not pregnant, these would still be uncomforta... Read Moreble : ( Why is it so hard to find good underwear? At least I got these in sale, so it was not too big of a waste. And I doubt I would return used underwear...

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hey there Janel, thanks for your feedback on the new design of this product. We are sorry you are experiencing issues with them. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you are not satisfied with the fit.

March 11, 2020

Favorite underwear

I love the fit and comfort, and just ordered the other colors offered tonight.

January 7, 2020

Poor fit

I've been buying these for 10 years. Recently bought a pair and the cut is terrible. They are constantly either riding up or slipping down. Unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to wear them! Disappointed in the latest version.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Steph, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the hipsters. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 28, 2019

Comfortable and reliable. I love

Comfortable and reliable. I love them.

November 18, 2019

Frustrated

I have been wearing this style for years, purchased several pairs and find that they are stiffer, and roll down while walking. Just found out new fabric may fit different... Why fix a great product?

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2019

Sorry to hear the hipster isn't fitting well, but we really appreciate the feedback, Kim! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 18, 2019

Hiking Undies

I'm not familiar with the "old version" people keep referring to, so I'm quite pleased with these! Fit great, felt "clean" for 13 hours of hiking!

November 15, 2019

Great fit

Great fit

November 7, 2019

Disappointed

I've been buying this style of underwear for years and LOVE IT but the style/fit recently changed to be a tiny piece of underwear with little coverage. Please bring the old fit back!

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi there, we're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the coverage of our Women's Active Hipster. If you are looking for a something with more coverage, check out our Patagonia Women's Active Briefs, https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-briefs-underwear/32396.html?dwvar_32396_color=SSPP&cgid=womens-socks-underwear-underwear#tile-2=&start=1&sz=24.

October 30, 2019

Firm grip around the hips

Fit nicely

October 19, 2019

Not as durable as before, but still the best-fitting undies

I have to agree with Chelsea L's review below. I went through the process of ordering my normal size, finding out it was way too small, and then ordering the next size up. Although I lament that the undies are not as durable as the previous iterations (I've been ordering this style the last 15 years), I appreciate that they're made o... Read Moref recycled materials. The sizing is still good (order up!), the material still wicks well, and they still stay in place (order up!).

October 2, 2019

important info about The Undies

Like you, I've been wearing the old style geo-pattern Patagonia undies for a decade. Like you, I've read the scary reviews the rest of the internet has posted. UNLIKE THEM: I have nothing but good things to say about these undies, with one caveat. yes!! The fabric is different. That's because it's recycled now. THAT'S GRE... Read MoreAT! It just means they aren't identical. The first pair that I purchased, I got in the same size as my old style undies. XS. This pair was...uncomfortable, like everyone says here. It rides up! I get wedgies! The gusset doesn't cover my, uh, stuff! BUT WAIT: These are things you would say about a piece of clothing you bought in the wrong size....so I got a pair in the next size up to see if that made a difference. Let's face it, my old ones are probably stretched out from being worn for a literal decade, and I don't wear the same size of anything else from 10 years ago. WOW CAN YOU BELIEVE IT THEY FIT NOW. They stay in place in my most grueling workouts, they cover everything properly, and the new slightly wider waistband is actually an improvement. yes! The fabric is different. It's not quite as lightweight, but I still don't notice I have them on. yes! You have to pull the tag and accompanying stitches out. my god, I can't imagine wearing them with that 3 inch long piece of paper in there. it's obviously made in such a way that you'll know to remove it. Anyhow, be brave. Try the new version. Get a size up from your old ones. Even with the changes, they are STILL better than any other underpants you can buy. Trust me--I'VE TRIED ALL OF THEM.

September 20, 2019

Don’t hold up

I’m jumping in here with my review to say the newer generations of this under garment doesn’t hold up very well. I don’t mind spending good money for underwear, but when I do I expect it to outlast its competitors. Sadly, these don’t anymore. I have a couple pairs from 2012 that I’m still wearing, but they are obviously getting pretty “worn out”. H... Read Moreowever, they are not unraveling like my less than a year old ones are! My newer ones are all coming undone at the top, where it’s folded over the elastic. Major disappointment! Hopefully y’all are listening and getting this issue taken care of. Thanks!

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

We're sorry to hear your newer pairs aren't holding up. If you feel they are a warranty related issue, you are more than welcome to send them in for a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We just ask that you wash them prior to sending them in.

September 7, 2019

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia

Great fit for me....wish Patagonia had more white or beige somI could wean more frequently

August 16, 2019

Great base layer undies

Lightweight and breathable and stay snug without digging in. I mostly like wearing these with a riding chamois, as they just do a nice job of adding a little bit of a layer without affecting the performance of the chamois.

August 15, 2019

Lose elastic, not the same

Lose elastic, not the same as older pairs. Disappointed in quality. Will look for alternative options.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

Hello Julia, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the elastic! You are more than welcome to return at any point if you are not satisfied. [Click here for the Returns page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 10, 2019

Active Hipster

Great active underwear for running and classes Holds up well with repeated washes

August 1, 2019

Underwear falls apart but I buy it anyway

I have been purchasing Patagonia underwear for almost 20 years. In the old days, the underwear lasted forever. I just tossed a pair from 20 years ago. Now, the underwear is lucky to last me 1 year. I have returned several pairs over the years even though it seems odd to return used underwear. I thought I'd go elsewhere and find another better ... Read Morepair. So far, I have looked but not found anything as comfortable as the Patagonia underwear. Yes, it falls apart at the seems and develops holes. But, I can't find anything better nor a company that I, in general, trust. So, here is my unlikely to be heard request to Patagonia, please fix this so I don't have to keep throwing them away!

July 15, 2019

OK material

Material is ok but as mentioned the fit is not great. Can Patagonia make boy/boxer short style of these? Wouyld prevent the 'wedgie/riding up'? Boy shorts please!

June 18, 2019

New fabric and cut is disappointing

I have been wearing these for more than a decade, but over the last 5 years the sizing has shrunk (I promise I didn’t gain weight, I’m pretty consistent) and the fabric has gotten cheep and flimsy. I have a couple of pairs left from more than ten years ago and they are in better shape than my newer pairs. These underwear are all I have worn for the... Read More last 15 years and now I am thinking I will have to seek out something different. So disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the newer design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us under warranty.

June 2, 2019

Not like the old style

These used to be the best underwear made! I had purchased these for years. Now as many others have said they come apart or wear out in a matter of months. Even though I never put them in the dryer. Also the fit has changed. Now they ride up and are not as seamless as the previous style because they have made the waist band narrower. And the materia... Read Morel is much thinner. I NEVER write reviews but I felt I needed to. And to ask Patagonia to PLEASE PLEASE bring back the old style! I am in desperate need of some new pairs but I refusing to pay another $24 for the same quality I could get at Wal-Mart for $5 for 3 pairs!!

April 10, 2019

Mountainlady1

Wow! The reviews I have been reading have been sadly so reaffirming. I have been buying your underwear products (the various types (barely bikini, active hipster etc) literally for years because they were so amazingly comfortable, soft and the fit was always right on.. I am an active rock climber, backpacker etc. During your last product sale, I bo... Read Moreught several pairs. What has happened???? No longer comfortable, the sizing is way off and not durable. PLEASE please bring back the “old” style.

April 10, 2019

Bring back the old style

I'm still wearing active hipsters from 2014 that I've sewn back together. Yes, I know I can warranty them, but the fit isn't the same, so there's no point. The new cut is tighter and gives me a wedgie. Read the reviews below Patagonia, you have a loyal following, just bring back what we loved! PLEEEAAASSSE!

March 15, 2019

don't hold up over time

Used to be that these were my go-underwear. Owned many over the years and they last and last, but over the past few years the quality has gone down the tubes.... I have to replace every year now because they stretch out. They are great-only for the first few months of ownership. I line dry all of my clothes, never use the dryer.

March 7, 2019

Comfy, but sizing/durability has changed

These are still mostly comfortable, but this style has changed over the years (and not for the better). As others have already written, the sizing is smaller (comparing the current ones with pairs I got 4 years ago), and they are not as durable as they used to be. I sized up on my latest order, and they do fit a bit better, but I feel like maybe th... Read Moree size chart should have changed along with it (or maybe it did, and I didn't notice!). I'll still be buying these as they still fit better than other undies out there. But I wish the design had not changed.

March 2, 2019

Ruined a perfect design

I have been wearing Patagonia underwear for 20 years and the new design is terrible. They fall apart after a short time, holes, folded top seam un-ravels and lower seams always comes apart. Why have you changed this perfect piece? I have old pairs from 15 years ago that are still holding up perfectly and ones that aren't even a year old that a... Read Morere complete garbage. Breaks my heart, please bring back the quality underwear we know and miss.

February 9, 2019

Great Fit, Poor Durability

I am 5'-2" and 115 lb and wear a size XS. I love these for every day wear, climbing, and yoga. However I hang dry these and after less than one year of use they are falling apart. The tag is huge and annoying.

February 2, 2019

Great underwear, disappointing after washed

I absolutely loved these underwear, until I washed them. They're really comfortable and great for working out/ hiking/ climbing, sweating in general. However, after a couple of washes they became threadbare in the crotch and the seam began to unravel around the top. Disappointing, particularly given the price.

October 22, 2018

meh....

I hiked the AT this past year and had a great time, the TAG tho is a whole other story. I cut it off and it still eritiated my skin, that did not go well with me because my pack would rub agients my back and it would make it worse. But the fabric is great and the elastic is too. the only thing the tag.

October 17, 2018

Bring back the wide band

The older version w the wide band was so much better. Stayed up better. Flattered the female form better. These are terrible. I’m only rating them a 1 bc I can’t give a zero. Which sucks bc I love your company and continue to be a loyal customer of various items. Xo

August 9, 2018

Huge tag

Huge tag in the back is annoying. Wish they could just print their tags directly onto the fabric. Also, the fit seems a little different than their previous style. I bought these a few years ago and they were perfect. They're a little different now.

May 4, 2018

Wonderful fit,bad tag

These underwear are great. I love the fabric,fit,and how they feel on my body. I don't understand why there are big tags sewn into the waist band. After cutting the tag out,there is a little bit left which irritates my skin. These would be perfect without the tag. I feel a little redesign is necessary to eliminate the tag.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches