Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 3"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 77 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 3"

4.5/5
True To Size
October 17, 2021

Super Comfortable but not very long lasting

Purchased a few pairs of these on sale about 4 months back. The fabric is super comfortable and light although it doesn't seem to be too durable. After regular use, a few pairs have already developed holes in the fabric.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2021

Hey Nate, thank you for the review on the Essential Boxers, we're sorry to hear about the holes. What you're describing would be considered a warranty issue, we've emailed you with more information to see if you'd like to return.

September 28, 2021

Comfy

Bought a pair in California and when I got home from that vacation I bought 3 more pair online. Im throwing out the others. Soft comfy no tugging Im impressed. Just pricey

September 27, 2021

Best fitting underwear!

I've bought several of these for my husband--they are his favorite underwear. They are super soft, breathe well, and slim-fitting without being tight. The 3" length is perfect under shorts and outdoor pants. Great quality. Highly recommend these!

September 25, 2021

Excellent fit, not bulky, extremely comfortable ...

The fit is excellent. They are not binding, but provide support and room where needed. They are extremely comfortable. They are ideal to wear with stand up shorts, as well as long pants or suits. The cloth feels good next to the skin. I like the colors and designs -- the wilder the better.

September 21, 2021

Exceptionally Comfortable

Really loving these new Patagonia Essential Boxers. I have been trying different brands seeking a new go-to pair and have loved the quality and fit of these so far. They don't ride up on bike commutes and stay comfortably in place all day long. 10 outta 10 would / will buy more.

September 20, 2021

Didn't hold up

Here's the email I sent to Patagonia when every pair I bought failed. To Patagonia's credit, they made it right. They also asked me to post a review, so here it is. --- Dear Patagonia, I write to you with a sad tale of underpants. Some time around 2015 you made what I consider to be the perfect pair of underpants, the Capilene Daily B... Read Moreoxer Briefs, Mens if I read my REI purchase history correctly. Style 32477 Fall 15. I bought several pairs of these and if you had kept making them, I would gladly keep buying them until the end of my days. Eventually my older, lesser pairs of underpants began to wear out and I said to myself, self I said, imma buy some more of those awesome STY32477 Patagonia boxer briefs, because they may be pricy, but they are the shiz. To my sorrow, I found that you had stopped making them. But OK, fine, said I. Patagonia makes good stuff, I trust them. I shall buy whatever it is that replaced my beloved STY32477FA15 in their product line. So, I took myself to REI and I bought five pairs of Essential Boxer Briefs, Mens, STY32555. This was in 2019. Fast forward to the spring of 2021. To make a long story short, every single one of those pairs of STY32555 failed in exactly the same way the waistband tore away from the briefs, on the right hand side above my hipbone. My older STY32477 from 2015 are still going strong, theyre like new! But every single pair of their STY32555 brethren has failed ignominiously. The first couple pairs I threw away, before I realized over the course of a couple months that this was a trend, not a fluke. Ive saved the last three pairs to fail, in case you want to do an autopsy. So now I have finally made the time to write to you about it. I dont know what your warranty policy is on underpants one doesnt expect them to last forever. Still, I hope you will agree that something is wrong here, considering the coordinated failure of these bad boys and the fact that their older brethren are still fine. Im not sure what remedy to propose, since I imagine you will not be interested in restarting production of STY32477 (although I encourage you do to so, did I mention that they were the perfect underpants?). Thanks for reading, John

Response from Patagonia
September 30, 2021

Hi John! Thank you for providing feedback on these. We've looped in the design team.

September 3, 2021

nice underwear

normal

August 24, 2021

High Quality Underwear

Just good underwear. Good longevity so far for the 3in boxer brief. Had the 6in and there was wear pretty quickly in the crotch. Absolutely love these. Came back for more.

August 24, 2021

Kind of flimsy

There isnt much elastic in the legs so they tend to ride up. The fabric feels kind of cheap, disappointing for such expensive underwear. I was surprised after seeing all the glowing reviews.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2021

We're so sorry that you don't love the fit and fabric of your new underwear. Please feel free to send them back for a warranty return.

July 21, 2021

Perfect All-around

Really pleased with this underlayer short: fabric feels like soft cotton, perfect leg length, and great to have a fly designed in.

July 21, 2021

Great fit

Comfortable and easy to wear all day long, great for daily use in a variety of activities.

July 13, 2021

Best boxer on the planet?

I think these are the best boxers on the planet. I can do anything in them without getting in a bind. I've worn them for years and know they will last, which is why I keep buying more after I do finally wear them out.

June 30, 2021

Perfect everyday underwear

I'm 5'11", 155 lbs, 30" inseam, 31" waist patagonia pant and 30"-31" waist for other brands, but wear my pants on my hips, not at my waist. Thigh diameter 20". I could probably wear small or medium but I just got a couple pair of the Men's Essential 3" in small. The fit is great for my current body.... Read More By that I mean I'm not doing much cycling right now. If I was, I might upsize to a medium since the legs would probably be a tad too tight.

June 30, 2021

Absolutely Terrible Huge Hole After A Few Months

Well I have been purchasing these boxers over the years in the same style as Patagonia has updated the design to make these worse and worse over time. I wont go into all the negative things Patagonia did to these underwear but this version is the worst yet. The material is now much more fragile and ripped in the crotch area so so easily its unreal.... Read More There is a massive hole in the crotch area after just three months. They used to last for years and years and years. Honestly dont buy the navy blue as they will just rip on you. They are not worth the price anymore. Its such a bummer because they used to be the only underwear I would wear.

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Thank you for this valuable detailed feedback! We're very sorry to hear about the lack of durability, especially in comparison to your previous product experience. Please reach out to our Customer Service team for a return under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 30, 2021

wish they were a tad shorter

love them, but wish they were maybe 1/2-1 inch shorter. otherwise, they're great.

June 23, 2021

Very comfortable

Size and fit is great, comfort is excellent. These are now my favorites.

May 21, 2021

Comfortable, but durability issues

Could be the most comfortable boxer briefs I've ever worn/purchased. The only issue is the durability, where holes and tears appear after 1-3 uses. The most recent pair I purchased had a tear after only 1 use and I'm unsure about repair or return since they're underwear.

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the untimely wear and tear of your Men's Essential Boxer Briefs, Patrick. You're welcome to return these under our Ironclad Guarantee, just be sure to launder all garments before sending them back. If you need any assistance with your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) just reach out to our Customer Service team.

May 9, 2021

Tighter fit than last version

I bought several pairs of the 3' Essential Boxer briefs a fews years back and am still wearing them--they were the perfect fit. The new ones I bought to replace the 2-yr old boxer briefs run smaller and tighter than the original so they are not at comfortable. I would not buy these again. My weight or waist size has not changed so I feel the b... Read Moreoxes briefs are slightly different rather than caused by my size changing. Right now I am wearing the old ones more as they are more comfortable.

May 8, 2021

Unfortunate New Material?

Okay, Ill start by saying I hate to give these a 2 star review because I own seven pairs and have worn them for two years with nothing but great things to say about them: theyre extremely comfortable, they keep their shape very well, they look and feel very premium, and after two years of washing and tumble drying, they still look practically new. ... Read MoreI would have worn these for the rest of my life. However, I recently bought three more pairs because my size and color finally came back in stock, and something has definitely changed. Theyre still very comfortable, but unfortunately after only two washes, they look absolutely horrible: extremely pilly and faded. Im scared to see how theyll look even a month from now. Now, this may sound silly, but if you had experienced how perfect they were before, you'd also be terribly disappointed. And yes, I bought these with a Pro account, but I would be far more disappointed if I paid full price for even a single pair of these and after two washes they looked like a year old pair of cheap cotton underwear. Im uncertain if its just the black color, or if the batch I got was a fluke, or if every pair will look like this, but Patagonia, please, please, please return these to their former glory.

May 6, 2021

Best Brief Ever

Love these briefs. There is quite a difference in size between the small and medium - I like some of each. They are breathable, durable and comfortable. What more can you ask for?

April 29, 2021

Built to Last

Very soft and confident that they will hold up well.

April 27, 2021

Comfy Fit

Great briefs, I have multiple pairs. Wonderful for and comfortable fit. Good length and do not slide up.

April 27, 2021

Best in the biz

These are a dream come true. The anti roll waistband is legitimate. The butt doesnt stretch and sag throughout wear time. The leg hem is a wonderful detail; robust enough to mitigate some of the natural rising up/bunching. Havent had long enough to speak to the quality of its longevity. But Im really hoping these will last a long long time. Thats t... Read Morehe most important thing to me; to find the toughest of undies. Ive tried probably over half of the other top ten mens boxer brief brand options in the US. Their claims are just unsubstantiated marketing. Finally went back after a decade and tried Patagonias option. Doesnt disappoint! Hopefully stocks remain stable so I can get more.

April 25, 2021

faves

just wish they had a xs, but still awesome.

April 25, 2021

Incredible boxer briefs ruined by tag.

These are probably the best boxer briefs Ive ever worn, but I cant wear them because of the tag. Other companies print the information on the fabric or make tags that are easily ripped off. You cant even remove these tags with a seam ripper because they are sewed into a main seam. Tried cutting the tags down but youre left with a sharp stubble of t... Read Moreag that scratches your skin. Please fix the tag issue. Just make them so we can rip them off, and print the care instructions on the product page online so people can reference the information if they need to.

April 22, 2021

Best Brief Ever

These are amazing underwear. I wear them every day... super soft, breathable, stay in place, and have cute patterns and basic solids to choose from. I have some in small and others in medium - I like the variety depending on the fit of the clothing I'm wearing over them. Also, as a woman wearing them I appreciate that the pouch isn't too... Read More big...

April 22, 2021

Great pair of drawers!

I have always liked Patagonia underwear, and these are no different. Great material. Solid waistband. What else could you ask for?

April 13, 2021

Light, soft, and great fit!

Soft, light, and a great fit! Very breathable, and have a fly. I've only had them for a few weeks, so we'll see how they last, but very happy with them so far!

March 31, 2021

It's the best underwear I have ever owned

What more can I say than the title? Love these briefs. I hope Patagonia comes up with some more graphics.

March 31, 2021

super soft

initial thoughts when putting them on was nice fit, not too tight not loose, and super soft. However these boxer briefs will ride up at times.

March 27, 2021

comfortable and stylish

comfortable fabric and nice classic pattern - recommend

March 23, 2021

max comfort

This is the only underwear I have worn since they came out a few years ago. I always buy when new colors come out, so please keep adding new designs and I will keep buying. Great product!!!

March 20, 2021

Very comfortable

Very comfortable, absolutely perfect

March 16, 2021

Perfect everyday boxer briefs

I bought these originally for wearing under running tights. They don't work for that purpose. At all. However, they work just fine as everyday underwear. I'm typically a medium in most Patagonia gear, but I sized up for these thinking they'd be a bit too snug. As is they're juuuust a tad roomy. Not noticeable everyday, problemat... Read Moreic running. I also bought a 6" inseam pair and would recommend these over the 6", but that's just my personal taste. The 6" feels much longer than that for some reason. These are perfect.

March 16, 2021

Super comfortable

Love these. Great fit, great material, expensive, but worth it.

February 28, 2021

Great undies

Best undies i own, perfect length, no bunch, super soft, 2 year thick thigh durable.

February 9, 2021

So soft

I bought my first pair because it was on sale, and OMG, it was the best decision I made. Now I won't buy any other brand.

November 8, 2020

Unreal how comfortable they are

These are by far the most comfortable underwear Ive owned. Nice and soft, stay in place and breathe on warm or active days.

November 1, 2020

Bad quality

I've had these for just over a year and they are falling apart. Super expensive for such poor quality.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hi Matthew, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the boxers haven't held up very well over the last year. We definitely expect these boxers to be much more durable. With that said, you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

September 23, 2020

Very Good

I like that this underware is not made out of Capilene, which usually requires some sort of oder control. I prefer less additives on clothing. The TENCEL lyocell material is soft and comfortable. Lyocell is a great fabric and a favorite in the garment industry. The design of this product is well thought out and constructed.

September 4, 2020

Super underwear!

Underwear for my68 husband . He loves them and the prints are fun!

September 3, 2020

Comfortable Briefs

Fit well and are very comfortable.

August 5, 2020

I have switched to men's undies!

I am a 60 year old woman who finally got fed up with tight, itchy women's underwear. My husband wears Patagonia boxers and I have been eyeing them for awhile as an alternative to what I have been wearing. Bought my first pair a week ago and was instantly in Heaven. I am 5"2, 100 pounds with an athletic build and these fit me a bit like co... Read Morempression shorts, but not tight. I immediately bought 3 more pair and intend to buy all Patagonia's inventory. I highly recommend these gems to women. Love, Mrs. Carter Faber P.S. Both me and hubby are 30 year customers!

July 13, 2020

almost there

I approached this new underwear with some trepidation, it doesn't look like the boxers or briefs that I normally wear. However, these are great, super comfortable, supportive, you forget that you have them on! (Due to the soft ply of the fabric, they are even more comfortable than going commando! :-) ) Only thing is that after a couple of wash... Read Moreings, I appear to have a small hole in the fabric in a non-stress area. A little disappointed, but, just monitoring right now. And, I have bought some more....

July 13, 2020

great underwear!

After trying numerous brands, I bought two pairs of these for golf, walking and hiking. These are the best I have owned. They wick moisture away and keep you cooler. I wish they weren't so expensive. Maybe Patagonia will run them on promotion on occasion.

July 10, 2020

great underwear!

After trying numerous brands, I bought two pairs of these for golf, walking and hiking. These are the best I have owned. They wick moisture away and keep you cooler. I wish they weren't so expensive. Maybe Patagonia will run them on promotion on occasion.

July 10, 2020

super dooper

only less than awesome until you rip the tag off the back. once you do that these are nearly perfect

June 25, 2020

Nailed it

I love these essential boxer briefs. With the Patagonia 3" boxer briefs, I can pretty much wear these all the time and nothing else that I have tried compares. If only the tag was printed and not sewed on, perfect.

June 17, 2020

Favorite underwear

The material is very soft and doesn't bunch up. The 3 in. inseam provides enough fabric for modesty, but not too much ballast. Highly recommend.

May 5, 2020

Almost Perfect

No doubt the softest pair of underwear you'll find. It's worth the price tag. The garment itself is flawless, with my favorite part being the incredibly stretchy yet thick waistband. However, that doesn't stop it from having some cons, namely the giant tag sewn to the right of the printed-on sizing indicator and Patagonia graphic. Ot... Read Moreher reviews have mentioned this issue. Someone might find this helpful, as there aren't pictures readily available in the product page to indicate that there's a large tag here. I have two pairs of these boxer briefs, yet one has a smaller tag and the other has a very large tag that it incredibly noticeable in day-to-day wear, sometimes feeling a bit sharp against the skin. And that's it. This beautiful garment has one flaw. Tags seem to be tricky in terms of legal issues but if Patagonia is able to implement a printed-on QR code in order to see washing and legal information, I know I'd buy five more pairs ASAP. Even just having the information on the tags printed out onto the garment in tiny writing (similar to how the Patagonia graphic and sizing indicator already are done) would be better. Really love these things but right now they're in the 'A' tier. If this one issue were fixed they'd easily be in the 'S' tier. Thanks for considering my feedback. P.S. If you're in between small (29 waist) and medium (waist 31) sizing, and have about a size 30 waist, go for the small. The waistband will fit WAY better. Thanks to Connor on the support team for talking with me about the issue. Keep making great stuff guys!

April 24, 2020

Forgot they were there

I wore these under a pair of running shorts as a bit of a test and honestly forgot that I had them on. Very light feel to the fit (larger than average thighs) and barely any friction felt while running. Definitely buying more.

March 21, 2020

Nice Boxer Briefs, yup.

I like these boxer briefs. The material is very soft and the fit is great. I did stray from the sizing chart with these and ordered Smalls when a Medium was recommended (all of my old Patagonia underwear were smalls... so I just went with that). No complaints with these boxers at all. I haven't worn them for a long time so I can't attest ... Read Moreto their durability, but they seem pretty tough for being so very soft and cozy. On a side note: where have all the briefs gone? I love my stockpile of Patagonia briefs from a couple years back, the ones before that (5-10 or so years back, I'm not sure) were great too but slowly shredded over time - after surpassing any expectation on how long a pair of briefs should last. Maybe these new pairs will convert me to the boxer camp, but I assume there are still some brief folks out there :)

February 21, 2020

I wore these 2 times and got a hole in crotch area. Disappointing

Wore twice and got a hole in crotch.

December 31, 2019

Great!

Great!

December 28, 2019

Boxer Briefs

Fit and feel are both great.

December 27, 2019

A Good One.

Really comfortable. Was bummed when the old(not recent) black capilene briefs were discontinued. Although these short boxers aremore substantial in length, thickness and weight, they are amazingly comfortable and I hope Patagonia keeps them going. Have not had chance to travel and wash/ hang dry them on the go yet.

December 17, 2019

Great feel, prevents chafing/rubbing.

Great feel, prevents chafing/rubbing.

December 9, 2019

Most comfortable briefs I have

Most comfortable briefs I have ever worn.

December 5, 2019

An upgrade from briefs

Have worn Patagonia briefs for years. Decided to try these when briefs were no longer an option. I bought one pair, loved them, and ended up buying three more. I buy them larger then I need, so they are roomy and non-constricting.

November 22, 2019

Boxer Briefs

You Finally brought back the proper cut of boxer briefs and not those flared of the last couple of years.

October 14, 2019

Need more pairs!

Bought one pair as a try-out and I am extremely pleased. Super soft, comfortable and supportive. I have worn them a few times during some volleyball tournaments as well and they have held up to the task. If I had to pick something out I would say they have ridden up on occasion, but definitely not a deal breaker.

October 5, 2019

Essential Boxer Briefs

these are definitely some of the most comfortable boxer-briefs I've ever worn. they're soft, quick-drying and hold their shape well. my only issue with them (and a lot of other Patagonia products) is the garment tag. it's unclear to me why Patagonia would go to the lengths they do to make a wonderful product and then sew a 4" lo... Read Moreng tag to the waistband. i was able to remove the tag with some work and sewing tools. but still, these garment tags are something Patagonia should consider. especially in their undergarments.

October 1, 2019

Go to boxer briefs

After wearing both the 3" and 6" the 3" is now my go to pair ! They fit and feel great for all day wear. Unlike other boxer briefs they seldom ride up and feel like new with regular wear when on trips. The tag is a bit long and can be a bit annoying but either cutting it out or just living with it works for me. Overall will definitel... Read Morey recommend these to others looking for all day comfort!

September 10, 2019

Breathable, comfortable, best pair of briefs

Love these, they breathe and are extremely comfortable. Bought 4 additional pairs :)

September 9, 2019

Soft materials

The material is super soft very comfortable underwear. Love em'.

September 4, 2019

Comfortable & perfect fit for active wear

I like the comfortable wide elastic band, fit and length. They don't crawl up on a long day of hiking etc Tags were a little uncomfortable so I cut them off. Otherwise perfect

September 3, 2019

Great, they are comfy and fit.

Comfortable boxer briefs. They have a nice feel and don't ride up.

August 31, 2019

Boxers

They are comfortable and do not ride up or down. Good underwear.

August 30, 2019

Great Boxer Briefs

Comfortable, durable and just snug enough for briefs

August 28, 2019

Great fitting boxer briefs

These are really comfortable boxer briefs that aren't too baggy. Really nice fit and style!

August 27, 2019

Love these!

These are great boxer briefs. Snug but not tight and super soft!

August 21, 2019

Silky and supportive

I found the Essential boxer brief's to be very soft and providing support or a secure feeling. They fit snug but are just right and/or not to tight. I would prefer if they didn't have a tag but still give them the highest rating or a 5.

August 10, 2019

I’m a happy convert to

I’m a happy convert to boxer briefs. Very comfortable and NO chafing anymore (as with just briefs) while hiking.

August 10, 2019

Best underwear ever

In a time when underwear designers are doing away with an access slit in the name of fashion. Thanks for choosing functionality and sustainability instead! I’m a customer for life.

July 23, 2019

Not that comfortable

Hate to sound a bum note, but I'm unconvinced this is one of Patagonia's better products. Had a friend buy a couple of these in HK (incidentally, there were no Essential Boxers in ALL HK stores). Been wearing them for the past two months, and still trying to tell myself it can probably get better. Some grouses: - rides up on the legs, suc... Read Moreh that it gets quite uncomfy at the crotch - material is not smooth to the touch, unlike Capilene - does not dry out as quickly as Capilene I am still keen to try the Essential Boxers, that is if I can find them. Which brings me to another question - why are Patagonia products so hard to come by in Singapore? Apart from some t-shirts and jackets, the range is really quite non-existent.

May 8, 2019

Like these boxer briefs.

I ordered an assortment of the Patagonia boxer briefs. Some have no fly. Those are a little harder to wear when in the rest room. The ones I like best are the ones with a fly. I have several each of the 3 inch and the 6 inch inseam. My favorite are the 3 inch inseam. Comfortable, light weight, breathable, fit well. These are what I will order more ... Read Moreof. Thanks.

February 26, 2019

Amazing 👌

I love the capline everyday boxer briefs the feel and the booty short fit please bring it back I will buy 100 more!!! That being said everything is great for this boxer briefs , only thing I would change is the inseams are bigger than 3inches and I like smaller inseams for that trunk booty short fit. Please make a 1 inch inseam capline everyday box... Read Moreer briefs !!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches