Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6"

Write Your Review

4.41 /5

Filter Reviews

All 80 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6"

4.41
True To Size
September 6, 2020

Best so far

I tried multiple underwear brands at once (meundies, CK, etc), the 6 pategonia are my favorites.

September 6, 2020

Comfortable

Very soft and comfortable. They dont run up your leg like other briefs do.

September 6, 2020

Just right

These get used for everything - backpacking to work meetings. Comfy and light.

September 6, 2020

Awesome in hot weather

Best underwear period. In hot weather they still keep things cool.

September 5, 2020

Great fit, support and comfort.

Nice quality underwear. Fit is spot on. Provides excellent support. Washes well and retains shape. Will buy more.

September 5, 2020

Super comfy

Super comfy, fun pattern, good fit.

September 5, 2020

Great product

These are my go-to underwear, and I buy a pair or two whenever they go on sale no matter how silly the pattern might be. (Ive been married for so long Im not trying to impress anyone with how cool my underwear look not that these dont look plenty cool.)

September 5, 2020

Great

I use these for about everything- really comfortable. You can wear for a few days without issue if needed, and they clean really easily. Several months in and some slight fading is the only wear Ive noticed. But who cares, a few actual washes in they get really comfortable. The black pair took a few more washes than the other couple I purchased to ... Read Morereally lock in

September 4, 2020

Gf likes em

I thought they would be a cool and comfortable additive to my garment collection, and my girlfriend thought they were as well !!!

September 2, 2020

Excellent fit and moisture management

Supportive and soft with an excellent fit. Material does a great job of moving moisture from the skin side to outer layers of clothing.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great underwear!

August 14, 2020

Very Comfortable Underwear

Quite possibly the best mens underwear on the planet. Flexible, great against the skin, not too tight, not too loose, holds things where the should be without pinch, launders up great. Forget that I have them on most of the time. Great product from Patagonia. I now have a drawer full!

July 22, 2020

MUGA

In an effort to MAKE UNDERWEAR GREAT AGAIN, Patagonia has nailed it. These rule. The 6 are a perfect fit with keeping everything snug, but comfortable. So so soft and breathable and good for just about every activity (except skinny dipping).

July 19, 2020

not long lasting

The rest of my underwear is synthetic Patagonia boxers that are at least 10-12 years old and still going strong. But I was pleased to see these come out in a natural fabric. Unfortunately after about two years they are already beginning to rip in multiple places, so I think there's more research to be done here. And I know Patagonia will crack... Read More it.

July 18, 2020

Super soft, but the non-tear-away tag is a crime against underwear design

Please Patagonia, please!!! Change the care label to either a printed one or tear-away! I love your products but spending 10 minutes to try to unravel the stitching to remove a non-tear-away tag is not part of a great "unboxing" experience.

July 17, 2020

Light, Breathable, Roomy

Purchased size L with a 34in waist and seemed to run a bit large. Waistband is not as tight hugging as I would have expected. Would recommend a M size for anyone with a 34in waist or smaller to get a snug fit. Would like to see more variety in graphics and options, especially in the shorter length version of the 6in briefs. Overall very soft, breat... Read Morehable, and comfortable. Will be purchasing more if they go on sale!

July 14, 2020

Yes, but!

Great quality! Soft and very comfortable. The label inside is very annoying and hard to remove. I wish it was printed or an easy removable label. Got few pairs, all consistent with sizing and quality

July 13, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 13, 2020

super comfortable, but starting to fray!

These are by far my most comfortable and breathable underwear. That said, they are starting to fray at the seam in the crotch, after only a month of ownership. I've worn them for work, mountain biking, bike commuting, swimming (after work and biking), and running. I'm hard on clothes, but was hoping they would hold up a bit longer.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the seams are fraying after just one month. This is definitely covered under warranty so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for a new pair.

July 13, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 13, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 13, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 13, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 10, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 10, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 10, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 9, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 9, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 4, 2020

Follow Up Essential Boxer Brief Review

Pros: The most comfortable boxer briefs ever. Cons: Material appears to not be a as durable as it use to be. I am a long time Patagonia advocate. I love the mission, the material sourcing and all the good that comes with the generous guarantee. It does feel like maybe the clothing isn't as "bombproof" anymore due to all the changes ... Read Morein how the material is sourced? Or perhaps the types of material now being used? I am not an expert textile sourcer, so I am just guessing. I have 3 pairs of these essential boxer briefs. The first pair my wife bought me from our local gear shop because my other brand X under garments needed replacing. Theses underwear were love at first fit. 4 months in with handwashing, line drying I thought I had put them on backwards since they looked so worn out. Now, the material towards the inside leg area has sprouted holes away from the stitching on both legs and the stitching is coming undone. ¯\_()_/¯ I know there are a ton of variables to consider. But for what it's worth, the stuff just doesn't seem to be made as well.

July 2, 2020

Not well made

For the price of these boxer breifs I am surprised how quickly they developed a hole and started getting thin. It took about 4 months of irregular wear to develop a whole.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hi William! Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the hole that developed in your boxer briefs. Please note, your purchase is protected under our Ironclad Guarantee. You are welcome to initiate an online return here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 28, 2020

Just What I Need

Soft, comfortable fit, I've got a couple pairs. I've some others that ride up my thighs, I've got bigger thighs, but these stay in place all day no matter the activity.

June 26, 2020

ESSENTIAL BOXER 6"

Other than running a little large, they are comfortable and well made. Next time I'll try a medium.

June 26, 2020

So comfortable - best underwear ever

These dont ride up. They are super comfortable. They are everything I have wanted in a boxerbrief. I didn't know underwear could be this great! They are perfect for casual wear, but I often work out in them and they stay pretty dry if you're working out for 45 minutes or less. If you are doing long sessions, probably best to stick to sh... Read Moreorts with liners or some wicking materials.

June 25, 2020

Nice material runs large

Havent had these for too long but right out of the bag they felt way too big for mediums. I own multiple other pairs of Patigonia boxer briefs and medium is always my size, the waist band feels like a large and then some in both of the mediums of this style I got. Im 6ft 175 athletic and my old mediums are still perfect. Material wise these feel gr... Read Moreeat and dry nice.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

Hi Brett, thank you for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the sizing was off on the boxers. We truly appreciate the feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 25, 2020

Most Comfortable

The single most comfortable pair of underwear I've put on

June 25, 2020

Very Comfortable

I love these underwear! They are the most comfortable Ive ever had. The only problem is that I need more!

June 23, 2020

Great comfort and fit

I really like the comfort and feel of these Boxer briefs. They maintain me nice and cool and wick away sweat pretty well. All day comfort is great and have bought several them already and plan to buy more. I wear the mostly for hiking but have begun using them for everyday wear as they are extremely comfortable. I do prefer the 3 inch inseam length... Read More and hope they bring more colors in that size.

June 21, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 19, 2020

Comfy but not durable

Bought two pairs of these last summer and unfortunately had to retire both of them this spring. Large holes appeared in both pairs with normal wear. Wish they were more durable because they were very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

easy fit and soft material

Love my boxers fit and soft material. A must have!

June 19, 2020

Best Patagonia Underwear Yet

I love this Tencel fabric and the fit is mostly nice; great for athletics. My favorite Patagonia underwear of any kind, and I've been buying/wearing Patagonia boxers and variations of underwear for 20 years. If I want a little more loose, the boxers are better, but these boxer briefs usually feel great. I run in them if I am wearing shorts tha... Read Moret do not already have a built-in brief liner.

June 18, 2020

Very comfortable and soft

Nothing more comfortable to wear underneath your clothes than these boxers

June 17, 2020

Stupid comfy

These are by far the most breathable undies Ive ever owned. They hug the body, but not the boys - perfect design. I own three of these now, will continue buying when I see em on sale!

June 17, 2020

Perfect fit and fabric

I'm a devoted Patagonia underwear-er, and these are the best pair I've ever had. The fabric is soft, without feeling flimsy. Strong recommend.

June 17, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 17, 2020

The best!

Hands down the best underwear I have ever had!

June 17, 2020

comfy underwear

These are very comfortable and light fitting. I do not like tight fitting anything, so I get large and hardly even notice I am wearing. Actually feel good while mountain biking, though have not used on a long, technical ride as yet. Great for backcountry skiing and hiking.

June 17, 2020

(almost) perfect boxer briefs

My boyfriend loves these boxer briefs! He wants to wear them everyday so he needs to get more. Pros: length, fit, material, prints/design Cons: decided to cut the tag out. In the scheme of things, not a big deal. Perhaps the tag can be printed onto the fabric instead of having a physical tag..

June 17, 2020

Very soft!

Absolutely soft material and incredible feeling against the skin. Wish it had more support for the Crotch area.

June 17, 2020

Material

Good underwear, very comfortable but easy to get lint after Just one wash.

June 10, 2020

poor quality

The boxers are super comfy (I have no problem with the tag) and fit well, so I bought three. Unfortunately, the seams of one already start to unravel after a few weeks. It seems silly to send a pair of underwear all across the country for an exchange so I patched it myself (which works but looks like ...). I expected better quality.

June 3, 2020

Very comfy, zero durability

I want to start off by saying I really wanted to love these boxers. After deciding I needed to upgrade my 10+ yr old underwear set, and given that they no longer existed for purchasing, I started buying one-offs of all different brands/materials. After months of searching and many dollars later, I bought one of these, and fell in love. The tag is h... Read Moreuge and uncomfortable like other people say, but with a few minutes of patience and tiny nail scissors, you can remove it. I was so excited about finding a new brand of daily-wear boxers that I bought a handful more. I started recommending them to everyone I knew, and half of my family now owns these. They are so damn comfortable! Now, the bad. Two things I want to address: Inconsistent fitting, and durability. Fitting: I have bought many of the same "Patagonia Essential Boxer Briefs - Men's 6" Inseam" boxers, but only three of the variations fit the correct way. Three other colors/patterns I bought fit differently. The one's the fit me were the black, red, and blue pattern.. a bit longer and almost feels like different material. The ones that don't fit me (yes I went guns blazing and bought a bunch of these) have different patterns, and the material feels a bit different. They just sit in my drawers now unused.. would have returned them but can't with COVID going on. The biggest issue: durability. This is pretty straight forward.. after around 9 months from purchasing and daily use/wash + drying, the material started to ware badly and holes began to form near the crotch area. I noticed one day after I started getting rashes on my junk, and realized it was because my skin was rubbing against my jeans.. This has happened to my 4 boxers I have been cycling as my daily underwear, and am torn to shreds about my perfect boxers being flawed. I otherwise would have given these a gleaming 5 start review, but cannot recommend it given its short working lifetime. The tag is manageable, but cheap material is not. I will say though, I will still wear them, holes and all, until I find a better pair of boxers. I guess it's back to the drawing board..

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2020

Thank you for providing us with all this feedback and we are very sorry to hear about the troubles. Please note, you are now able to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) items back to us as we slowly and safely bring our returns team back on.

May 27, 2020

These are the BEST boxers i have ever worn

They are so thin and lightweight but substantial, they are formfitting but leave room where its needed. They feel like a million bucks basically.

March 7, 2020

Comfy, except for the tag

These boxer briefs are super-comfortablewell shaped, soft materialbut the tag scratched my behind all day, so I cut it out (not easy!). Please print what you must on the fabric and forego the tag; or sew it on with contrasting thread and big stitches, so it could easily be removed.

February 23, 2020

Terrible fit/loose in the thigh

The legs of these boxers are loose fitting causing the legs to roll up to the top of your leg. Terrible fit. Been really unhappy with a lot of Patagonia clothes lately.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hi Joshua, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit you've experienced. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 13, 2020

Comfortable and worth the money

I was skeptical on the essential boxer briefs 6" being worth the money but I took a chance and bought a pair...(actually 5 pairs to qualify for the free shipping). After wearing a pair - I'm keeping all 5 pairs! The material is very comfortable, the whicking feature is excellent and proves its value when exerting outside in winter cond... Read Moreitions. Whether shovel the driveway from another storm, skiing or hiking up to the ridge, or long hikes with fido in the woods, these puppies dry out very quickly after you work up a sweat. Unlike cotton briefs which stay wet and cause a chill factor during your cool down, there is no chill with these briefs. Worth every penny! I have a 34" waste and the mediums fit a little snug but still comfy....the large would most likely be too large for me. So the fit is "kinda large". Thye 3" inseam was sold out...so I went for the 6" and no problem. (I was planning to cut the legs back to 3" if the 6" was a drag)

January 17, 2020

Insanely comfortable

The fit is great and they're comfortable at my desk or during a long ski.

December 15, 2019

men's boxers

it would be helpful for the web page to make clear which pairs have flys and which do not. i liked the old capilene with 4 1/2 inch in seem. 3 seems too short and 6 seems to long

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Thanks for your review! You can find whether a pair has a fly or not by looking at its listed Features. If you're not satisfied with the fly or the length, please [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them as soon as possible.

December 12, 2019

Love these but the tag is super annoying

Such comfortable boxer briefs but the only reason I give it 4 stars is the tag is huge, itchy and hard to remove. I removed it on one pair and the boxer ripped. Had to send it back. Haven’t we moved past this in 2019?

December 7, 2019

Husband loves

Bought large for my size 34 husband. He loves them. Soft, great fit and funky designs.

November 23, 2019

Super Comfort

These boxers have now become by daily fav’s. Having massive thighs, I was worried about the fit or them ‘riding up’. Neither were a worry. Fits great and have all day comfort. Only complaint is with fabric quality. A few pairs have developed small holes. Not sure if they are caused by my pants or something else. Regardless, the fabric should hold u... Read Morep to a few months of normal wear.

November 5, 2019

Love them

Love them

November 1, 2019

Boxers vs boxer briefs???

Could not tell the difference between boxers and boxer briefs in the pix or description. Had to send boxer briefs back and re-order boxers. Also, patterns and color scheme not as fun as they used to be.

October 31, 2019

I like these

I recently got rid of every boxer I own and bought 5 pair of these. I have been through a lot of brands and styles; these are the only ones that fit me the way I want and can be worn on the trail or in the office. I would recommend trying some on before purchasing if possible; I had a few brands all in the same size and they all fit differently.

October 5, 2019

Seems as though I have

Seems as though I have have been wearing these for 2 decades. Great loose fit, funcky colors, last forever.

September 30, 2019

Comfortable for everyday use

I bought a couple pairs of these and I am really happy with them. They are comfortable and soft.

September 3, 2019

Comfortable but quality won't last

They are extremely comfortable and fit well, but after only 3 wears, already a small hole in the crotch at a seam.

August 23, 2019

Great fabric, a little smooshy

I love the length and color and style and fit of these everywhere but the crotch. The fabric goes flat across from leg to leg, and it can get kind of cramped in there. It would be better if there was a little extra fabric sewn in to create a pouch or something, because right now brand new they can feel a little...ahem...constricting. Everything els... Read Moree about them is very comfortable though, the fabric, the waistband, they're great.

August 22, 2019

Like the way they fit.

Disappointed that one had a hole in it right away. This happened after 2 to 3 times wearing. Like the other ones I have are comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about the hole in your boxer briefs. Feel free to give one of our customer service representatives a call at 1-800-638-6464 so we can look into setting up a replacement. You can also start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 17, 2019

Great briefs!

They fit well and are very comfortable. Would buy again.

August 16, 2019

Essential boxer briefs 6 “

Best version in a long time. They’re extremely comfortable and I love the fit. I’ve worn them for over 2 months now and the only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is that they don’t seem to dry as quickly as the older capilene versions from over 10 years ago. This is from wet wading while fishing and also from hand washing on the road.

August 15, 2019

Comfy undies

Just a nice pair of comfortable boxer briefs. The material is stretchy, soft, and breathable. The medium size fits me well (I have a size 32 waist).

August 15, 2019

Better if they were shorter, like the discontinued briefs

I don't know what demanding outdoorsperson/athlete wants excess fabric bunching up into an articulating, high friction joint, but you know your customer market better than I do.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear that the new fit on these boxer briefs aren't working for you like the discontinued option! If you're not satisfied with an item you are welcome to return for a refund. You can get started on a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-essential-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32560.html) or bring those boxer briefs into one of our Patagonia retail stores.

August 12, 2019

cool & comfortable

Cool, comfortable, fast-drying and lightweight, Great for active days or everyday, will be getting a few more pairs

May 9, 2019

Not as good as the older capiliene but an improvement

As another reviewer has noted, the older capiliene boxer briefs (circa 2013-15ish) were incredible. The fit was subsequently altered and the Ms that I had always worn no longer fit properly and rode up. I tried going up a size but that didn't change anything. I've been the same weight, give or take a couple of lbs. for 10+ years. The prod... Read Moreuct was completely ruined and many reviewers, I recall, had the same complaints. The fit on these is much better, though I find them to be a little longer for boxer briefs, less athletic and the material doesn't feel quite as breathable as the capilene. Maybe a 5 inch inseam would be better. The fly hole, which is a huge selling feature for me, is a little weird as you have to really reach in there and pull aside 2 levels of fabric to take your guy out and then have to go through a similar operation to put him back in, if you catch up drift. Again, the capilene were perfect in this area as well. (Side note: when did it become ok to not have a fly hole on mens underwear, let alone boxer briefs?) These will do fine until my dozen pairs of old capilenes disintegrate, but fortunately, because they are the best underwear I've ever owned, that does not seem like it will be the case anytime soon. BOTTOM LINE: find it in your hearts to bring back the original capilenes. Had I known that they would be discontinued and/or ruined 5 years ago or whatever I would've bought at least 100 of them...

May 5, 2019

Great underwear - Tag comes out easy!

I have the older capiliene boxer-briefs I love. These a the perfect replacement. Soft and stretchy fabric. The stitching on the tag is separate from the stitching of the waistband. Just get a stitch remover, remove the thread from the tag and tag falls right off.

April 7, 2019

Top tier boxer brief

Absolutely the best underwear Patagonia makes. SO soft and stretchy I have no doubts these will last just as long as my old capilene one boxer briefs. Great job, perfect garment.

March 20, 2019

Fit Like the Capaline Daily from 2017ish

I wear nothing but Capaline Daily briefs. Because the fit is so great and the fiber feels so good against my skin I have overlooked the MANY shortcomings of them. At least they fit well, until last year when the sizing got changed on the Daily rendering them useless. These fit just like the old daily and this new fiber feels maybe even better than ... Read MoreCapaline. I have not even washed them yet so this really is only a review of the fit. Unfortunately, they still come with 1 square meter of tags sewn into them. If the waistband gets all scrunched and shrunk up like on some of my old pairs of Dalys, I’m going to come back and remove a bunch of these stars.

March 3, 2019

Super comfy

I usually wear the Patagonia boxers but bought these for gym... I did not think it was possible but these might b even more comfortable than the boxers. The material is softer than cotton and great to read how it is developed. Feels great all the way around. I’m a big guy and 2xl fits perfect!!!

March 2, 2019

Magic underwear

Hands down the most comfortable boxer briefs you’ll ever wear. Period. Light, airy, so so so soft yet give the support you need for day after day of activity. I don’t think I’ll be able to wear any other underwear

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches