Back to Product

Patagonia Airshed Cap

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Airshed Cap

4.5/5
True To Size
August 11, 2021

The best hat I've ever owned

I searched high and low for a light, moisture wicking, athletic hat that didn't stain or fade. I purchased one from Lulu L*m*n and the shape was awful and generally very uncomfortable. The Airshed cap is everything I was looking for in a hat. The quality is impeccable, it is comfortable enough to wear anywhere, and it dries very quickly (I swe... Read Moreat a lot). I will buy this hat for as long as they make it.

July 5, 2021

Well-designed cap

I love this hat its well-designed, fits perfectly and comes in handy in any occasions (hiking, casual walks, etc)

June 30, 2021

Fade to Brown

Great hat overall. Breathable fabric, standard ball cap fit. Velcro closure allows for tightening down in windy conditions. Beware however, the black fabric does fade to a brownish/black relatively quickly.

June 26, 2021

lightweight and breathable

this hat is a dream come true and is comfortable as well as very lightweight and perfect when working outdoors or out hiking on the trails

June 24, 2021

Great gym/warm weather hat

Great hat for the gym, casual, or any sweaty pursuit. I have a "small" head, not medically confirmed but hats run large on me if its a high crown. This fits more like a classic Dad hat but made out of great athletic material

June 14, 2021

Love this hat

I bought the Airshed hat for the color. Most of my backpacking gear is gray to blend in with the Sierra granite but some time you might want or need to be found, so I needed something bright. But I am loving the hat in general too and I am not a hat person at all, preferring visors. Air just seems to flow through this hat and it is light, almost u... Read Morennoticeable, to wear. It's a one-size-fits-all and so a little loose on the smallest setting but it stays put anyway and there is no constriction. I'd definitely recommend it and might even have to buy another in the blue.

June 13, 2021

Perfect for every activity

I originally bought this hat for running. Turns out its light and looks great unlike most super flimsy running hats. So its now my daily wear and running hat. More colors and patterns please :)

June 3, 2021

Very light, breathable and comfortable

I needed a new hat and this one looked good. It is light, pleasant to wear and comfortable. I would definitely purchase one of these again .

May 18, 2021

Lightweight

Feels like I'm not wearing a cap!

May 16, 2021

Very stiff front, too much volume

Not sure why this is called 'low crown.' I'm an average size dude and found this to have too much volume, i.e. the hat sits on my ears when pulled fully on. I also don't care for the very stiff front panels.

May 16, 2021

Very Comfortable

Very comfortable and dries quick. Have used it while surfing and would be more awesome if had a strap like the surf brim or make a surfing hat like this.

May 8, 2021

GOAT hat

The best hat I've ever worn. It looks awesome, it feels comfortable, and it stays in place. I initially purchased to use as a running hat but I've adopted it for daily wear. Head never gets itchy with it on and I can wear it all day with no discomfort. More colors and patterns would be cool!

May 1, 2021

Fantastic daily cap

Other than the logo being too small and to high on the front substrate of the cap, it fits well, breaths well, and cleans well. I bought it because of its use of recycled plastics and I dont know if I will ever buy another cap other than this one again. Recommendation: make a five panel version and you would have a ton of orders for this fantastic ... Read Morecap material line.

April 30, 2021

Looks sharp

The silhouette of this hat is gorgeous. Simple but elegant. Kind of hope the design of the adjustable strap is not a velcro tab. I always ended up with an extra strap hanging by my ear.

April 29, 2021

breathes better than any other hat

I wear this hat mainly for beach volleyball and hiking. hands down best hat for breathability and comfort during any kind of active pursuit.

April 28, 2021

My favorite

Ive long been wearing the trucker and switched to this for better sun protection. Its now my daily and its fantastic.

April 27, 2021

not mid crown

I've worn the mid crown mesh back for dunno how many years, and before that the one similar to this one. This has a too small of crown fit for my man sized melon.

April 11, 2021

New favorite hat

I barely notice this hat on my head. Great fit and adequate adjustment for a comfortable wear. I can tell this will be my new go to for years to come. Hope to buy more soon. Thanks!

April 10, 2021

Fly-fishing Hat

I got this hat to wear for trail running and fly fishing here in Washington. The quick-dry feature is what I was looking for, along with it being lightweight so I don't overheat. Perfect fit for me and has become my go-to hat here in the Pacific Northwest.

April 8, 2021

Versatile and Fits Perfectly

This is my go to hat for whenever I go out. The material is light and durable which allows for lots of breathability. I definitely recommend if you tend to sweat a lot.

April 5, 2021

Great Hat

This hat has worked great for running, keeping the sun and my hair out my eyes, it is breathable comfortable and light, the only improvement I can think of is to somehow make it more washable, with sweat it get mucked up after 6-mos or so and it does not come out of the washing machine well, or maybe I just need better instructions for washing

April 5, 2021

Love it! Light and Airy

I use this for casual wear, playing tennis, and riding. I love that it lets air flow, cooling my dome during activities. I have a big head and it fits well.

March 9, 2021

great comfortable fit

This hat is as described - an easy fit and great for heat and heated exercise. I wear it mainly for golf to protect from the sun and yet stay cool.

February 26, 2021

Best

One of the most breathable stylish caps there is. I have tried other brands and none compare in breathability. Highly recommended for running, hiking, etc.

February 17, 2021

Running Hat

A comfortable hat for running. It dries quickly and I wear it around.

February 7, 2021

Nice looking soft

Excellent hat

September 27, 2020

Nice Fit, Breathable, but Color Fades Fast

I purchased this cap in black. It was great for long runs. I noticed the black began to fade after only a couple of weeks of sun exposure. After hand washing a few times with mild soap, I have noticed the black has faded into a dark brown hue. It is fine for running but will not match other garmets that are closer to true black. For the price, I wa... Read Mores hoping the aesthetics would last longer. I still love Patagonia, but this product wasnt a win for me.

September 10, 2020

Great hat, except...

I love everything about these hats (I bought all the colors), but the cinch tab in back is about 1 too short. Great material, solid color choices, well constructed. I wear a 7 5/8 hat and while the rest of the Airshed Cap fits beautifully, I get barely 1-2cm of the Velcro on the fit-tab at the rear. Amateur design flaw Patagonia...such an easy fi... Read Morex!

September 4, 2020

Very comfortable Hat

I judge hats by comfort. This hat is easy to wear and feels good on my head. So I enjoy the quality. Other makers don't come close. I also purchased one for my Grandson Jake, he put it on and very soon said "I like it"

September 3, 2020

Limited circumference adjustment

Overall this is decent hat. It's volume is somewhere between the full on trucker and the low profile options. As others have mentioned, the available circumference adjustment is quite limited towards the larger size. I've had to extend the velcro closure to the last few strands to get the thing on, and at that, it's still a tight fit... Read More. Thanks.

September 1, 2020

Perfect for hiking

Keeps the sun out of your eyes without making your head super sweaty. Perfect hiking hat!

August 27, 2020

Great hat

This is the first Patagonia hat I have purchased from the website. The hat breathes well and dries quick. It is very light, and I cant wait to take it on more adventures. I am a big fan of Patagonia for many reasons, and this hat makes me happy to have bought it. The only problem I have with it is that it is slightly too big, but that could be be... Read Morecause of my head shape. It would be awesome to see Patagonia bring back the sized strapbacks like they had in the hats in the late 2000s (Ex. size Sm, Md, Lg strapbacks) as well as those basic dad styles as well! Looking forward to see what Patagonia has in store in the future!

August 10, 2020

Fantastic Cap!

After buying the black, I bought the rest of the colors. Great fit & breathability. Thanks in advance if you please consider adding Fire Red & Pure White to the color line-up!!

August 1, 2020

Great all-arounder.

Great all-around tech mountain cap with a classic look. Very breathable and easy to adjust. Great item from Pata.

July 24, 2020

Not for larger heads

Was a nice enough hat, but didn't fit. I wear 7 5/8 size hats and like them slightly loose. Hat barely fit even with the strap all the way loosened. Also that while the fabric is lightweight, it didn't have much in the way of ventilation aside from a few small holes. Wasn't really able to evaluate breathability though because of sizi... Read Moreng. Patagonia, as another review noted, please consider a longer strap or larger size.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on sizing; we'll definitely pass this along to our product designers, Mike! As this Airshed Cap is a "low crown" fit, you may prefer the slightly roomier "mid crown" fit of some of our other [hats](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-accessories?prefn1=fit&prefv1=mid-crown). Please reach out to our Customer Service if you'd like assistance to return your cap.

June 30, 2020

Great hat

As soon as I saw this online I purchased it. I have to wear hats that do not have mesh in the back as I shave my head and get sunburn. But my other hats are heavier material and I sweat like a pig. NO MORE! Honestly though. If you want a nice lightweight hat that breaths extremely well and looks good this is it. I have also cleaned it a few times a... Read Morend it has held up well. You do have to force the strap through the tiny hole a bit to hide it. That and the price (but you get what you pay for) are my only small gripes.

June 18, 2020

Top Coverage

Tried this cap after being impressed by the utility of Patagonia's Airshed pull-over and found it also to be a valuable addition to my gear inventory. The adjustable sizing allows the cap to be worn tight enough for cycling activities and running in windy conditions. It provides useful sun protection without blocking ventilation or accumulatin... Read Moreg perspiration.

May 23, 2020

Very good hat, could use a longer strap

Very good hat for warm weather, dries quickly. Good for high exertion activities. Recommend making the adjustment strap longer for those of us with a big ole grape. For sizing reference, I wear a 7 1/2 or 7 5/8 in a fitted hat.

May 19, 2020

Impressed

I've never written a review before but am very impressed with this hat. I bought it to replace a cotton ballcap for running... the cotton hat was a stinky mess, not matter how it was "cleaned." I've used this Airshed hat now for ~2 weeks straight, in 60's to mid-80's F temps, and no smell, wicks nicely, and breathes...... Read More it's great.

May 17, 2020

New Go To

I have a TON of hats from active-wear to more dresses up needle point caps. This Airshed cap is something else. It breathes better than other athletic hats I have and keeps it shape like a trucker cap. I purchased this model in black because I feel the smaller box logo isnt as in your face as other Patagonia hats and the color goes with everything.... Read More This hat has become my new main stay. It is definitely worth the price. Only problem is my girlfriend keeps stealing it because she likes it so much too. I guess Ill have a to get her one now!

April 14, 2020

Extremely comfy and big plus for able to fit smaller head

I used to wear my trucker all day everyday and love it (Casual, hiking..). However, the crown is still a bit too big for my small head and it is not the most breathable when my head is heating up. Saw this airshed cap came out recently and decided to give it a try. It is super comfy and fit my head perfectly. Also love how they use the soft, moist... Read More wicking material on the adjustable strap instead of the plastic one which is not the best when sweating. I definitely will recommend this wonderful piece to all who love running, hiking with a cap on! Good job patagoina !

March 21, 2020

This cap killed my airshed pro pullover

This is a cool cap. Easy fitting, good looking and super breathable. I pair it up with my airshed pro pullover for my everyday wear and running. They work so well together at the first week. Then in one warm day I try to take off my airshed pullover with my airshed cap still on. The magic tape hooks at the back of my airshed cap scratched along the... Read More capilene cool material sleeve of my airshed pro. Causing several lines coming out of my sleeve. I was so disappointed. If the magic tape of this cap is replaced by other kind of fitting system in the future, I will rate it 5 stars.

March 2, 2020

A Trail Runners dream hat

Patagonia once again blows me away. Ran with this hat during my first 100 miler this past weekend. From the light material yet sturdy fit, this is the best hat I have ever ran with. Patagonia takes pride in their products and it shows. Incredibly functional. Dont waste your money on other hats, this is all you need.

February 16, 2020

Great stretch fit cap replacement

I was very bummed that Patagonia discontinued the P-6 Stretch Fit Cap a couple of years ago. I’ve been looking for a replacement since then and I think I’ve found it! This hat is more comfy than the discontinued stretch fit hat and the low profile shape on this one looks and feels better, IMO. The material also seems like it would be a much better... Read More option for adventure seekers who sweat in their hats and want to wash it off without ruining it. Honestly I feel like I could duck dive a wave in this and it would stay on but amazingly it doesn’t feel too tight. That’s a well designed hat. Now we just need some more traditional colors like tan, navy, or forest green!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches