burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Baggies? Brimmer Hat

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S/M
  • L/XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Baggies? Brimmer Hat

4.7/5
True To Size
September 25, 2022

Extremely Convenient

Bought this hat for hiking and working in the garden. Love it! I am bald and it covers my head and neck perfectly. It's also very, very comfortable. I bought the S/M size but I would have like it a little bit smaller. However, it still works very well! Love it!

September 25, 2022

River sun protection

I hate wearing hats, but trying to keep sun safe. This hat was nearly unnoticeable while wearing it while fly fishing. Looks kinda dweeby on me, but I love its functionality - the chin strap was clutch in some mighty big winds.

September 24, 2022

Normally I find Patagonia clothes

Normally I find Patagonia clothes to run small, this hat fits true to size.

September 22, 2022

Great Fit.

The Patagonia Baggies Brimmer Hat was purchased for primarily for hiking, but it is also great for everyday use for hot sunny days. Great fit and light weight.

September 21, 2022

Great hat

I had a similar product from a competitor. The brim in this hat is wide so it will keep the sun off. The brim feels stiff enough that it wont collapse when it gets wet.

September 21, 2022

Great hat

Love this hat although even the S/M is a bit loose on my head. Great coverage from the sun and its lightweight also. Just wish it came in a lighter color as my husband has a similar one and I don't like to look like twins!!

September 20, 2022

Nice to Wear

Gives sufficient shade and so far, the brim does not seem to blow around in the wind as do another broad brimmed hat I own. It is a keeper.

September 19, 2022

perfect fit and great ventilation!

this is just the perfect hat. i feel protected from the sun, and the mesh makes it incredibly breathable! its now my favorite hat!!

September 19, 2022

My new adventure hat.

This hat is stylish and I love the color! It fits my small head and I can easily adjust it for a snugger fit. I have worn this hiking and water parks at xCaret Mexico. I love that this hat is easy to travel with. It is flexible so I can fold it and stuff it in my carry on with ruining it.

September 19, 2022

Wonderful packable coverage

Very much pleased with this hat, own in two colors. Packable with wide coverage of fac, ears, and chest.

September 18, 2022

I bought these hats for

I bought these hats for my daughter and her husband! Its a Christmas present!

September 18, 2022

Light-weight, good sun protection and

Light-weight, good sun protection and love how you can adjust how tight the fit can be.

September 18, 2022

great hat

great hat

September 17, 2022

Awesome hat, thank you for making two sizes!

Thank you Patagonia for making two sizes! The S/M hat fits me and my mom. I have a kind of small head, and she's a very small person with a proportionally small head. I'm so glad this wasn't a "one size fit's all" kind of thing because those typically don't fit me. Great construction, nicely adjustable, and stays... Read More on my head! Perfect for beach days.

September 16, 2022

Finally

After several trips to multiple stores only to be disappointed with the size/fit and look i went ahead and ordered this one on faith that it would be the right choice. It was.

September 15, 2022

Perfect Fit

This wide brim version of a boonie hat suit my needs perfectly. Fits well and provide excellent sun protection foe my fair skinned ears and balding head. Wore it paddling my lake kayak, and look forward to taking it to Mexico. Crushable cap area is excellent for flat packing in my luggage.

September 15, 2022

Great coverage, secure fit w/ chin strap

The Patagonia Baggies Brimmer Hat is great for a day on the trail, the beach, working in the yard, or strolling around the neighborhood. The chin strap provides a secure fit in the event of a windy day.

September 15, 2022

I have enjoyed the look

I have enjoyed the look of the hat. Functions well to keep sun off me.

September 14, 2022

Love it

Very comfy fit. If its a little loose you can tighten it, which I did when it was windy. But the string around your neck helps prevent it from flying away. Shape stays even after getting it wet in the pool. I bought the dark grey color and its a good color. Not too dark or light. True to the photo.

September 14, 2022

Lots of coverage

Brim give lots of shade. The vents are very breathable more so than my Tilly. Have become more concerned about sun damage so hats are a must, bought 3 of the 4 colors and rotate depending on mood.

September 14, 2022

Big Head

Overall I really like this hat. It has all the features I need. My head is on the large side of normal. So I ordered the L/XL, and had to do a bit of cinching to get it to feel like it would stay on in the wind. It was very comfortable, but if youre searching for the most attractive hat, this aint it. Would buy again.

September 14, 2022

excellent hat. protects the back

excellent hat. protects the back of my neck, sheds water well and the brim doesn't fold up in the wind like other hats i have had. chin strap very comfortable

September 12, 2022

attractive and functional

I like the design of the hat. Protects my face from the sun. It light weight, and comes in an attractive color of orange/coral that I happen to like a lot.

September 10, 2022

Nice hat

I wore my new hat to a swim party and got lots of compliments. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. Thanks. I plan on wearing it to Maui this fall.

September 9, 2022

Super Comfy

Perfect for everyday wear. My wife and I both have one and it is a must at the beach!! Perfect size, lightweight, and lots of compliments.

September 9, 2022

Perfect material

I live in the Deep South where it is very humid and hot in the summer, this hat is very breathable and best of all it shades my entire neck and face

September 6, 2022

comfy

its very nice and adjustable. wish there was a fir green color or dark brown. wish the brim covered my nose better from the sun

September 6, 2022

Great sun protection

Just wore this backpacking in the Glacier Peak Wilderness and this hat offered great sun protection, did not feel too hot and did not sag when I dipped it in a stream to dump water over my head.

September 6, 2022

Great shade

A little heavier material than I like, but is great for keeping the sun out of my eyes. I only wish there were more color choices.

September 6, 2022

Light and comfortable

Works well, not tight, good color. I was worried the brim would flip up too much in the wind but it doesn't. I love it is made from recycled rope as one of my activities is beach walking and picking up plastic and rope that has washed up.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2022

Thank you so much for everything you're doing for the shoreline, Deborah! Well, and for this review.

September 5, 2022

Just right

I wanted a good outside sun hat for walking. This is it!

September 5, 2022

Not my first Patagonia hat.

I needed a hat with a wider brim for sun protection. I've been wearing Patagonia since 1981, so it was an easy choice.

September 4, 2022

Great hat

Had to wait long for this to be back in stock. Summer is almost over and just got it . Its a great hat , great color , great fit , always gets compliments. Love this company and many of its products .

September 4, 2022

Wonderful

The best all around hat, for almost any activity. So well made and very comfortable for all the wearing.

August 30, 2022

Great all around

Great quality, great look! Bought this for our son who is on the tennis court sometimes 9-10 hours a day outside. He said once he started wearing the hat it was like night and day and he hasnt taken it off since. Would recommend this for any outdoor activity

August 30, 2022

Love This Hat!

One feature of this hat is that the brim is perfect size without being oversized and annoying to wear as many other hats I've had. I was between sizes and went for the larger size which works fine as the toggle allows for adjusting up and down in fit for comfort. This is an attractive hat to wear as well as being very comfortable and the color... Read More works well with most everything. While I am not a fan of logos, I see this logo a being educational rather than brand promoting.

August 22, 2022

Great

It fits just right! Plus the quality is amazing!

August 22, 2022

Nic but too snug

I had purchased this hat in gray. It's a nice hat, but it's a bit too snug on me. My only suggestion would be to offer this hat in a 2XL.

August 15, 2022

Just Right

I think Patagonia got this boonie (aka bucket hat) just right. I have a whole collection of hats for long days on the water (fishing, canoeing or in rafts or powerboats), and this one is best. Your favorite trucker hat sacrifices you ears so you need a boonie when in all day sun. But most boonie's are too heavy and too hot. This light combinat... Read Moreion of poly and nylon, all from recycled fishing nets, stays cool, with a wide enough brim to protect from the sun. The brim is stiff enough to hold its shape and yet flops up with a strong wind so as not to pull it off your head.

August 13, 2022

Perfect!

I am picky about my hats. This one is comfortable and gives the perfect amount of protection!

August 13, 2022

The Baggies Brimmer hat fits

The Baggies Brimmer hat fits well, has a chin strap for an excellent fit. Protects my face from the sun. Its also beautiful.

August 12, 2022

Well designed hat.

Well thought out hat. Great sun protection. Front brim wont flop easily in the wind. Nice feel on head. Well made and should last many years. Another great Patagonia product.

July 31, 2022

Shade Provider

Excellent manufacturing makes for a high degree of sun blockage during activities.

July 2, 2022

Terrific Hat

I bought two of these and have recommended this hat to several people. They are comfortable to wear, even on hot Summer days in the South. The fit is adjustable for windy days. During a recent cruise to Greece and Croatia, I wore them everyday during our numerous excursions. They travel well too, fitting easily in luggage and not losing its shape.

June 30, 2022

Great fitting and functional hat

I love that these hats come in different sizes because it is such a (good) snug fit. The adventure strap and adjuster are great for making sure the hat doesn't come off in windy weather. This is and will be my go to hat when boating and keeping the sun off my face on hikes and at the beach.

June 27, 2022

Really the best hat

The hat of all hats. I find myself reaching for this one come summer time I've any other hats. The black underside of the brim is amazing for glare reduction. It's a wide enough brim for all around coverage but not too big. It's packable, washable and looks good too.!

May 15, 2022

Bucket

Great bucket hat. It is bigger and provides more coverage than most bucket hats I have worn before

May 5, 2022

Functional hat!

Will use at the beach, as well as golfing. Light weight and the large brim helps keep the sun off the face. Well made, just like all Patagonia products.

May 5, 2022

Too floppy for hiking----OK for beach

Not as it appeared online---I love color but too floppy so will only wear it at beach when I don't have to see in front me of all the time like hiking on uneven trail.

Response from Patagonia
May 9, 2022

We are so sorry to hear the Baggies Brimmer Hat did not meet your expectations. With this hat's core purpose to be extra sun protection while out on the water, the extra wide brim can make it difficult to have a good view while hiking. You may find a better match in the [Wavefare Bucket Hat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/wavefarer-bucket-hat/29157.html?dwvar_29157_color=SUMR&cgid=mens-hats-accessories-hats) as it has a similar, all around head coverage with a smaller bill which can provide more visibility on the trail. For more suggestions or help in finding a more suitable tail hat for you, reach out to our customer service team and we will be happy to assist you. Agents are available Monday-Friday, 6 am (PST) - 6 pm (PST) and Saturday and Sunday, 7 am (PST) - 3 pm (PST).

April 28, 2022

Nice hat but the shipping

I like this hat. It is a fun, visible color. It has venting and two adjustments for fit. The problem? It was folded in half for shipping and the brim is now permanently creased at odd spots. Im returning to my local Patagonia store to see if I can exchange for one that still had a flat brim.

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the creases caused by shipping conditions and we appreciate your feedback. We recommend either a gentle hand-washing of the hat, or you can machine wash in cold water on a gentle cycle with a mild detergent and no fabric softener, then hang or lay flat to air dry naturally. We hope [this](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) helps, but if not, please do reach out to your Patagonia-owned store or contact our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help!

April 20, 2022

Great sun hat

This is the perfect sun hat - it's light weight, has good sun protection, has vents for hot days, and has an adjustable chin strap so it stays on if it's windy. I would definitely purchase again. I typically wear a size small/medium bike or ski helmet and the small fit perfectly.

April 5, 2022

Great hat ! It floats !

Love this hat for rafting! having lost hats before this one takes away the worry. It is also light weight !

March 23, 2022

Very well made

This brand new hat is more glowing orange that tiger lily but it is safer than being in the woods in green or brown. The fit is such that I wont be able to wear a beanie under it. Its a very well made hat, and it goes well with my light gray rain jacket. It is also a very functional hat with a wide brim that does not get in the way, and a very well... Read More-sewn cinch strap. I look forward to wearing it as a sun and rain hat. I think its classic style is beautiful - not too slouchy. Im definitely going to buy more from Pategonia. :)

March 9, 2022

Plenty of shade while not folding in wind

Since buying Ive taken this out on sunny beach walks, some with breeze to test out and it performs flawlessly. The brim provides lots of shade, it doesnt fold in regular breeze, and surprisingly the air vents really work. Seems it will perform better in more difficult weather than other sun hats.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches